翻譯: English 中文 GB

提摩太前書
第一章下

1:12 我感謝那給我力量的,我們主基督耶穌,
   因他以我有忠心,派我服事他。

1:13 我從前是褻瀆神的,逼迫人的,侮慢人的﹔
   然而我還蒙了憐憫,因我是不信不明白的時候而做的。
1:14 并且我主的恩是格外豐盛,使我在基督耶穌埵釩H心和愛心。

1:15
     “基督耶穌降世,為要拯救罪人。”

   這話是可信的,是十分可佩服的。在罪人中我是個罪魁,


1:16 然而我蒙了憐憫,
   是因耶穌基督要在我這罪魁身上顯明他一切的忍耐,
   給後來信他得永生的人作榜樣。

1:17 但愿尊貴、榮耀歸與那不能朽壞、不能看見,
   永世的君王、獨一的神,直到永永遠遠。阿們。

1:18 我兒提摩太啊,
   我照從前指著你的預言,將這命令交托你,
   叫你因此可以打那美好的仗,
1:19 常存信心和無虧的良心。

   有人丟棄良心,就在真道上如同船破壞了一般。
1:20 其中有許米乃和亞力山大,我已經把他們交給撒但,
   使他們受責罰,就不再謗瀆了。


問題討論

第12節  保羅是什麼時候蒙召的?參見【使徒行傳 9:15】
在那以前,保羅的忠心是如何表示出來的?

第13節  “因我是不信不明白的時候而做的。”
看來我們知道的越多,責任就越大。(【馬太福音 11:21-24】【希伯來書6:4-6】
但保羅作為聖經的專家(【使徒行傳 22:3】),
并且無疑像別的法利賽人一樣,對耶穌所的傳道和神蹟一向不是一無所知,怎麼能說他自己無知呢?(【路加福音 23:24】

第14節  “我來本不是召義人悔改,乃是召罪人悔改。”(參見【路加福音 5:32】
在耶穌傳道的時候,我想門徒們可能以為耶穌來不會去召喚那些反對他并且自已為是的法利賽人,因而他們對保羅不但成了基督徒,而且受耶穌揀選,去把福音傳給外邦人非常吃驚。
保羅與別的那些逼迫基督徒的法利賽人的區別在哪堜O?
“在罪人中我是個罪魁”──奇怪的是,他在這堨峈漪O現在時,而不是過去時。從哪種意義上說保羅是罪人中的罪魁呢?

第16節  “忍耐”(μακροθνμια)是克制自己,不急于懲罰惡行的意思。

第18節 保羅說“打仗”指的是什麼?我們是在跟誰打仗?

“你要為真道打那美好的仗,持定永生。你為此被召,也在許多見証人面前,已經作了那美好的見証。” 【提摩太前書 6:12】

“那美好的仗我已經打過了,當跑的路我已經跑盡了,所信的道我已經守住了。” 【提摩太後書 4:7】

“我們爭戰的兵器,本不是屬血氣的,乃是在神面前有能力可以攻破堅固的營壘,將各樣的計謀,各樣攔阻人認識神的那些自高之事一概攻破了,又將人所有的心意奪回,使他都順服基督。” 【歌林多後書 10:4,5】

第19節 許米乃是如何在真道上如同船破壞了一般?
“他們的話如同毒瘡,越爛越大,其中有許米乃和腓理徒,” 【提摩太後書 2:17-18】
第20節 這為什麼如此嚴重呢?你相信復活是怎麼回事?

注釋

1.神的揀選

貫穿于聖經之中,神樂于出人意料地舉起那些卑微的(那些或在他們自己的眼堜峖b社會的眼堻Q鄙視的),派他們來服事他。神常常選擇那些最讓人料想不到的人。

正像法利賽人沒有想到彌賽亞竟是一個住在希臘化的以色列省的一個窮木匠的兒子一樣,我懷疑使徒們也沒有想到神竟然會選一個逼迫神的教會的、墨守律法的法利賽人來把他的福音傳到世界其它地方的使徒。

你周圍的人是不是鄙視你呢?你是不是覺得神永遠也不會像任用保羅那樣的人那樣來任用你呢?那麼做好准備吧,因為神馬上就要任用你了!
“(因我們行事為人是憑著信心,不是憑著眼見。)” 【歌林多後書 5:7】

2.打那美好的仗


假教師

宣揚

他們的問題

他們的教訓助長

如何避免假教訓



附加注釋

有忠心就夠格事奉

提摩太前書 1:12 我感謝那給我力量的,我們主基督耶穌,因他以我有忠心,派我服事他。

保羅蒙召事奉神,因為神以他有忠心。這并不是說基督徒需要被個別地召喚才能事奉神,因為我們都是被召的。保羅在這婸〞漪O神召他去做的具體的事奉──作為使徒去彰顯福音,在這些事上他的話可以被認作是神的話。

是什麼使得保羅夠格去做這樣重要的事奉呢?接下來的幾節經文解釋了其中的原因。在這節經文塈畯怓搢麈型ㄔL去事奉是因為他有忠心。忠心?在神召他的時候,保羅不是正在去大馬色的路上,要去迫害基督徒嗎?這算什麼忠心呢?但神并不是在那個時候派他去事奉的。那是他轉變的經歷。是的,通過亞拿尼亞,神預言了保羅的事奉:

主對亞拿尼亞說:“你只管去。他是我所揀選的器皿,要在外邦人和君王并以色列人面前宣揚我的名。我也要指示他,為我的名必須受許多的苦難。”【使徒行傳 9:15-16】

但保羅并不是當時就被派去做這個事奉。我認為保羅開始那個事奉是在許多年以後,在安提阿,使徒行傳第十三章堸O錄著說:

他們事奉主,禁食的時候,聖靈說:“要為我分派巴拿巴和掃羅,去做我召他們所做的工。”【使徒行傳 13:2】

到那時,保羅已表現出了堅定持久的信。所以,如果你想要神多多地用你,必需要堅持你的忠心。


不忌先前的名聲

提摩太前書 1:13 我從前是褻瀆神的,逼迫人的,侮慢人的﹔然而我還蒙了憐憫,因我是不信不明白的時候而作的。

也就是說,保羅與離棄真道的人不同。他當時是真心地以為他迫害教會是在遵行神的旨意。他并不是把無知當作借口。而是把他自己與離棄真道的人作對比,這種人就不能再得到神的憐憫了。

“論到那些已經蒙了光照,嘗過天恩的滋味,又于聖靈有分,并嘗過神善道的滋味,覺悟來世權能的人,若是離棄道理,就不能叫他們從新懊悔了。因為他們把神的兒子重釘十字架,明明地羞辱他。”【希伯來書 6:4-6】

“因為我們得知真道以後,若故意犯罪,贖罪的祭就再沒有了。”【希伯來書 10:26】

注意保羅說的是“從前”。當一個人來到信堮氶A他的行為和態度就改變了。他還對哥林多的基督徒說:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。你們中間也有人從前是這樣。”【哥林多書 6:9-11a】


格外豐盛的恩

提摩太前書 1:14 并且我主的恩是格外豐盛,使我在基督耶穌埵釩H心和愛心。

保羅的轉變,以及後來蒙召作使徒去事奉,考慮到他作惡的過去,顯示了神的恩典是多麼格外的豐盛。伴隨著神的恩典的是信心和愛心。當神的恩典在做工的時候,與之相隨的是希望恩典會使人產生信心和愛心,就如我們在使徒保羅的身上所看到的那樣。

試想一想神的恩典是如何在你的生活中增進你對神的信心以及你對他人的愛的。


罪魁得救

提摩太前書 1:15 “基督耶穌降世,為要拯救罪人。”這話是可信的,是十分可佩服的。在罪人中我是個罪魁,

他不是說他仍然在作罪人中的罪魁。在他轉變後,他就不再屬于他在這堜畛羲熙o種意義下的罪人了。他在別處說:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?”【哥林多前書 6:9】

然而他過去是罪人中的罪魁這個經歷顯示了“基督耶穌到這個世界來拯救罪人”這句話的真正意義,這就是福音。這在保羅的頭腦堣ㄔu是神學的概念。這是保羅的親身經歷。保羅可以用親身的經歷充滿信心地說基督耶穌降世是為要拯救罪人。

你是不是也有這樣的經歷呢?


保羅──拯救的先例

提摩太前書 1:16 然而我蒙了憐憫,是因耶穌基督要在我這罪魁身上顯明他一切的忍耐,給後來信他得永生的人作榜樣。

神使保羅蒙憐憫,又使他成為向外邦人傳福音的發言人的原因是什麼呢?其原因之一就是這可以使人明白無論過去的罪是多麼的嚴重,都是有可能得救的。

如果一個人聽見福音不光是拒絕,還用暴力去迫害基督徒,并以其作為人生的目標。神會耐心地忍耐,并在他悔改的時候饒恕他嗎?保羅的轉變就是這種人的一個先例和榜樣。事實上,我們很多人難道不是或多或少地屬于這類人嗎?我們都悖逆了,但盡管我們悖逆,神還是把我們引向他。

可是那些輕看神的忍耐和恩慈的人要當心。“還是你藐視他豐富的恩慈、寬容、忍耐,不曉得他的恩慈是領你悔改呢?你竟任著你剛硬不悔改的心,為自己積蓄忿怒,以致神震怒,顯他公義審判的日子來到。”【羅馬書 2:4-5】

保羅的轉變也是那些將要信的人的榜樣,讓我們看到對信的人可以有什麼樣的期望──悔改,生活方式的改變,得救以後的樣子,使人得救的信的特徵,重生的樣子。


神的特性

提摩太前書 1:17 但愿尊貴、榮耀歸與那不能朽壞、不能看見,永世的君王、獨一的神,直到永永遠遠。阿們。

注意保羅在這奡ㄗ鴘滲姣P福音的有關特性:

1. 君王 ── 得救的先決條件是接受神的君主權──他是我們之上的主。

2. 永世的 ── 福音是關于永恆的事。

3. 不能朽壞 ── 福音將我們帶到不能朽壞的境界。

4. 不能看見 ── “信就是所望之事的實底,是未見之事的確據。”【希伯來書 11:1】

5. 智慧 ── “但你們得在基督耶穌堿O本乎神,神又使他成為我們的智慧、公義、聖潔、救贖。”【哥林多前書 1:30】我們還從神派保羅去事奉這件事上看到他的智慧。

6. 尊貴 ── 我們因為神拯救我們而尊貴他。

7. 榮耀 ── 我們透過福音看到神的特性。


打那美好的仗

提摩太前書 1:18 我兒提摩太啊,我照從前指著你的預言,將這命令交托你,叫你因此可以打那美好的仗,

什麼命令呢?就是他在這一節前後的命令。至于有關提摩太的預言,沒有什麼記載,只有在使徒行傳堛熙o句話:“路司得和以哥念的弟兄,都稱贊他。”【使徒行傳 16:2】這顯然促使了保羅選擇提摩太,因為“鼎為煉銀,爐為煉金,人的稱贊也試煉人。”【箴言 27:21】

保羅說:“因此可以打那美好的仗”是什麼意思呢?“此”指的是什麼呢?指的是他在這媯僑ˉ砟茠漫R令。試圖過基督徒的生活而在頭腦堥S有具體的命令和指示就像上戰場沒有帶武器一樣。事實上,聖經說神的道──聖經,就是聖靈的寶劍。(【以弗所書 6:17】)沒有它,我們就沒有賴以打仗的命令或指示。(雖然有些基督徒更喜歡那樣。)


常存信心和無虧的良心

提摩太前書 1:19 常存信心和無虧的良心。有人丟棄良心,就在真道上如同船破壞了一般。

為什麼船會觸礁呢?因為信心太淺。就像落在石頭地上的種子一樣,他們一開始歡歡喜喜地信了,但在為道遭造受苦難或迫害的時候,立刻就跌倒了。(見【馬太福音 13:5-21】)他們在淺水埵瘝謘A接果就觸礁沉沒了。

另有些人觸礁是因為不留意他們的良心,結果良心敗壞,不能有效地給他們導航,最後就沒能按正確的航線行船,撞到岸邊的礁石上。還有人會影響他人的良心。經上寫到:“你們這樣得罪弟兄們,傷了他們軟弱的良心,就是得罪基督。”【哥林多前書 8:12】也就是說,導致他們跌倒。


把謗瀆的人交給撒但

提摩太前書 1:20 其中有許米乃和亞力山大,我已經把他們交給撒但,使他們受責罰,就不再謗瀆了。

亞力山大究竟是誰不是很清楚,但我們的確知道許米乃, 提摩太後書堣]提到他說:“但要遠避世俗的虛談,因為這等人必進到更不敬虔的地步。他們的話如同毒瘡,越爛越大,其中有許米乃和腓理徒,他們偏離了真道,說復活的事已過,就敗壞好些人的信心。”【提摩太後書 2:16-18】

因為這種人不愿聽聖經的教訓,保羅就把他們交給撒但──我想這跟神把約伯交給撒但的意思相似,雖然其目的不盡相同。就連保羅都曾在某種意義上被神交給撒但:“又恐怕我因所得的啟示甚大,就過于自高,所以有一根刺加在我肉體上,就是撒但的差役要攻擊我,免得我過于自高。”【哥林多後書 12:7】,雖然我想許米乃和亞力山大的情況要嚴重得多。他們的情形就像耶穌在啟示錄婸”鴘滬C洗別那樣:“然而有一件事我要責備你,就是你容讓那自稱是先知的婦人耶洗別教導我的仆人,引誘他們行奸淫,吃祭偶像之物。我曾給她悔改的機會,她卻不肯悔改她的淫行。看哪,我要叫她病臥在床,那些與她行淫的人,若不悔改所行的,我也要叫他們同受大患難。”【啟示錄 2:20-22】

那麼許米乃的教義為什麼這麼可憎呢?我是這樣理解【提摩太後書 2:16-18】的:

我們要遠避世俗的虛談,但我們如何去識別它們呢?在提摩太後書第二章埵傢鬗_那些說復活的事已過的例子,無疑也有許多隨之衍生出來的關于末世的說法可算作是虛談。但作為一個一般性的原則,我們可以這樣來評價每個具體的說法:

1. 這個說法是不是有益于促進敬虔,清潔的心,無虧的良心,無偽的信心。

2. 這個說法是不是有益的,造就人的,并且與聖經所明確說明的相一致。我用“明確說明”一詞指那些不需過于摳個別字眼而得出的意思,這些意思要麼可以很清楚地從上下文看出,要麼可以根據參考聖經的其它部分很清楚地看出。不然的話,人們就會以摳個別的字眼來為他們自己的觀點辯護。

這樣就給查經的討論和聖經的應用加上了范圍。但這樣做會使查經更能造就人,從而得出符合神的旨意的應用。這也許不能滿足每個人虛浮的好奇心。聖經沒有清楚地回答我們想問的所有的問題。但聖經給了我們足夠的信息去過基督徒的生活。如果我們有時間來閑談,那麼我們也許太閑懶了。

“他們的話如同毒瘡,越爛越大,其中有許米乃和腓理徒,”【提摩太後書 2:17】

在別的地方,假教訓被比喻成面酵。比如,“你們向來跑得好。有誰攔阻你們,叫你們不順從真理呢?這樣的勸導,不是出于那召你們的。一點面酵能使全團都發起來。”【加拉太書 5:7-9】指著那些宗教精英堛滌盛衩v,耶穌對門徒們說:“你們要謹慎,防備法利賽人和撒都該人的酵。”【馬太福音 16:6】

面酵和毒瘡的一個共同特點就是它們都很能擴散。就如野草可以很快地漫延,而大樹卻需要很長的時間才能長成。為什麼假教義會傳得很快,很容易被人接受,而真理卻不然呢?我想其原因就是假教義迎合人的罪性。就拿伊斯蘭教來說,為什麼伊斯蘭教會如此漫延呢?其中一個在今天可以衡量的原因就是它迎合人們的仇恨,甚至人們對暴力的狂熱,還有對某些人──甚至有些自殺爆炸者──來說,他們的性狂熱。但我們必須看到即便在基督徒堙A假教義也會趁著人的罪性而得勢。比如借著人與人之間的仇恨,就常出現導致紛爭的假教義,給基督徒提供借口來互相仇恨。早在改教的時候,基督徒們因為對嬰兒受洗的教義或對三位一體教義埵b聖經上沒有說明的細微理解而殺害別的基督徒。

那些廣受大眾歡迎的東西很少是正確的,因為這些東西往往是因為迎合了人的罪性而廣受歡迎的。這也是對那些過分重視“擴大發展”而忽略造就人的教會敲的一個警鐘。只要種些稗子,加上些面酵,或染上些毒瘡,“擴大發展”是很容易做到的。然而造就人則是件很難做的事。真道是直的,窄的和困難的,很少有人在上面走。

“他們偏離了真道,說復活的事已過,就敗壞好些人的信心。”【提摩太後書 2:18】

首先,他們怎麼可能讓人相信復活的事已經過去了呢?說到頭,這不是一件很顯而易見的事嗎?

“因為主必親自從天降臨,有呼叫的聲音和天使長的聲音,又有神的號吹響。那在基督埵漱F的人必先復活。以後我們這活著還存留的人,必和他們一同被提到云堙A在空中與主相遇。這樣,我們就要和主永遠同在。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 4:16-17】

再者,復活是肉身的復活。耶穌復活之後,在墳墓奡N找不到他的身體了。同樣,在復活之後,你若挖開基督徒的墳墓,就再也找不到他們的身體了。保羅在哥林多前書堳出:“若死人真不復活,神也就沒有叫基督復活了。”【哥林多前書 15:16】哥林多前書堛漕漱@章書大多講的是肉身的復活。

而事實上,這些假教師正是在這堸壇鬙蕨D的。他們只相信“靈的”復活,而不相信肉身的復活。至今,仍有基督徒抱著這樣的觀點,認為“復活”只是基督徒死後進入天堂,而否認肉身將會復活。所以,這些假教師可以說“復活”已經發生了,但只是靈的復活,因而沒有被人察覺到。

就算他們錯了,為什麼這是一個如此可憎的觀點,以至于保羅把它稱作毒瘡,說它敗壞了好些人的信心呢?約翰講論到一個類似的異端,他說:“凡靈不認耶穌,就不是出于神。這是那敵基督者的靈。你們從前聽見他要來。現在已經在世上了。”【約翰一書 4:3】這個異端被稱作幻影說,它否認基督在道成肉身時具有真正的肉身。這兩個假教訓都受諾斯底主義(或稱靈知派)的影響,試圖滲透到早期教會堥荂C他們的基本信條是任何肉身的東西都是邪惡的,因而基督不可能曾經是有血有肉的人。在他們看來,如果復活是把我們帶到完美的境界,那麼復活也不可能是肉身的復活。

我想,這些假教義之所以這麼可憎是因為他們的基本信條意味著什麼。他們可以爭辯說,就如保羅指出的那樣:“因為死人若不復活,基督也就沒有復活了。基督若沒有復活,你們的信便是徒然。你們仍在罪堙C”【哥林多前書 15:16-17】同樣,如果基督到世上來的時候沒有肉身,他也就不可能為我們的罪而死。所以他們的基本信條就敗壞了保羅所傳講的信:“我當日所領受又傳給你們的,第一,就是基督照聖經所說,為我們的罪死了。而且埋葬了。又照聖經所說,第三天復活了。”【哥林多前書 15:3-4】


Sep 13,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Timothy 1:12-20 (web)

1:12 And I thank him who enabled me, Christ Jesus our Lord,
because he counted me faithful, appointing me to service;

1:13 although I was before a blasphemer, a persecutor, and insolent.
However, I obtained mercy, because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.
1:14 The grace of our Lord abounded exceedingly with faith and love which is in Christ Jesus.

1:15 The saying is faithful and worthy of all acceptance,

that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief.
1:16 However, for this cause I obtained mercy, that in me first,
Jesus Christ might display all his patience, for an example of those
who were going to believe in him for eternal life.

1:17 Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible,
to God who alone is wise, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.

1:18 This charge I commit to you, my child Timothy,
according to the prophecies which led the way to you,
that by them you may wage the good warfare;
1:19 holding faith and a good conscience;

which some having thrust away made a shipwreck concerning the faith;
1:20 of whom is Hymenaeus and Alexander; whom I delivered to Satan,
that they might be taught not to blaspheme.
 


Discussion Questions

vs 12 When was Paul appointed to his service? xref Acts 9:15
In What way had Paul shown himself to be faithful up to that point?

vs 13 "because I acted in ignorance and unbelief"
It seems the more we know, the more we will be held responsible. (Matt 11:21-24; Heb 6:4-6)
Yet how could Paul claim ignorance, having been an expert in the bible (Acts 22:3),
and having no doubt been aware of Jesus ministry and miracles all along as the other Pharisees were? (Luke 23:24)

vs 14 "I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance." (xref Luke 5:32)
During Jesus' ministry, I suspect the disciples had the impression that Jesus had not come to call the self-righteous Pharisees who opposed him and were no doubt surprised not only that Paul became a Christian, but the Jesus chose him to bring the gospel to the Gentiles.
What was it about Paul that may have set him apart from the other Pharisees that were persecuting Christians?
"of whom I am the worst" - strange that he uses "am" and not "had been". In what way is Paul the worst of all sinners?

vs 16. "patience" (makrothumia) = the self restraint which does not hastily retaliate a wrong.

vs 18 What does Paul mean by "fight"? Who are we fighting against? vs 19 How did Hymeneas shipwreck his faith? vs 20 Why is this so serious? What do you believe about the resurrection?


Comment

1. God's chosen instrument

2. Fight the Good Fight


False Teachers

Promoting:

Their problem:

What their teaching promotes:

How can you avoid false teachings?


Additional Comments


The Faithful are Qualified for Ministry

1Tim 1:12 And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord who has enabled me, because He counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry,

Paul was put into the ministry because God counted him faithful. This is not to say that each individual Christian needs a special calling to minister, for we are all called to minister. But Paul was referring to the particular ministry God called him to - namely to be an apostle in charge of revealing the gospel, his words being reckoned the very words of God on the matter.

What qualified Paul for this most essential of ministries? The next few verses reveal the matter. In this verse we see that God put him into the ministry because he was faithful. Faithful? Wasn't Paul on his way to Damascus to persecute the Christians there when God called him? What was faithful about that? But that was not when God put him into the ministry. That was his conversion experience. Yes through Ananias God foretold of his ministry.

Ac 9:15,16  But the Lord said to Ananias, "Go! This man is my chosen instrument to carry my name before the Gentiles and their kings and before the people of Israel. I will show him how much he must suffer for my name."
But that was not when Paul was actually put into that ministry. I think was constitutes being put into that ministry occurred many years later in Acts 13 at Antioch.
Ac 13:2  While they were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, "Set apart for me Barnabas and Saul for the work to which I have called them."
By that point Paul had demonstrated a persistent faithfulness. So if you want to be used mightily by God, be consistently faithful.


Former Reputation Disregarded

1Tim 1:13  although I was formerly a blasphemer, a persecutor, and an insolent man; but I obtained mercy because I did it ignorantly in unbelief.

That is, Paul was not like an apostate. He was sincere in his persecution of the Church. He thought he was doing God's will. Not that his ignorance was an excuse. But rather to contrast himself with apostates for whom the Lord doesn't have mercy.

"For it is impossible for those who were once enlightened, and have tasted the heavenly gift, and have become partakers of the Holy Spirit, and have tasted the good word of God and the powers of the age to come, if they fall away, to renew them again to repentance, since they crucify again for themselves the Son of God, and put Him to an open shame." Heb 6:4-6

"For if we sin willfully after we have received the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sacrifice for sin." Heb 10:26

Also note that Paul says "formerly". Once a person comes to faith their former behavior and attitudes change. Thus he also says of the Corinthian Christians, "Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor sodomites, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you." 1Cor 6:9-11a


Exceeding Abundant Grace

1Tim 1:14  And the grace of our Lord was exceedingly abundant, with faith and love which are in Christ Jesus.

Paul's conversion and subsequent calling to the mission as an apostle  given his sinful background, revealed just how exceedingly abundant God's grace was. Both faith and love accompanied God's grace. When God's grace is at work, there is an expectation that it would result in the person exercising faith and love, just as we see in the apostle Paul's life.

Consider how God's grace in your life has affected your faith in God and love for others.


Chief of Sinners Saved

1Tim 1:15  This is a faithful saying and worthy of all acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am chief.

Not that he's saying that he continues to behave as the chief of sinners. For upon his conversion he ceased being characteristically a sinner - in the sense in which he's speaking here. And he says elsewhere "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God?" 1Cor 6:9

Nonetheless his history as the chief, the primary example of sinners reveals what it really means that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, which is the gospel. This was not simply theological concept in Paul's mind. This saying was Paul's very real experience. Paul could say confidently from experience that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners.

Has this been your experience as well?


Paul the Precedent of Salvation

1Tim 1:16 
However, for this reason I obtained mercy, that in me first Jesus Christ might show all longsuffering, as a pattern to those who are going to believe on Him for everlasting life.

For what reason did God show mercy to Paul and then make him the spokesman for the gospel to the Gentiles? One reason is so that it might be understood that salvation is available to everyone no matter how sinful their background.

What if a person hears the gospel and not only rejects it but then goes on a rampage persecuting Christians even with violence - making that their objective in life. Will God be long-suffering with such a person and if he repents forgive him? Paul's conversion is a pattern, a precedent, for such people. But indeed don't many of us fall into that category to a lesser extent. We're we all resistant, but over the long term God drew us to himself despite our resistance?

But for those who take God's longsuffering for granted, beware. "Do you despise the riches of His goodness, forbearance, and longsuffering, not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance? But in accordance with your hardness and your impenitent heart you are treasuring up for yourself wrath in the day of wrath and revelation of the righteous judgment of God." Rom 2:4,5

Paul's conversion is also the pattern for those who would come to believe in that it shows what one should expect of believers - it shows the kind of repentance and changed life characteristic of salvation, characteristic of saving faith and regeneration.


God's Attributes

1Tim 1:17  Now to the King eternal, immortal, invisible, to God who alone is wise, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen.

Notice the attributes Paul mentions of God which relate to the gospel

1. King - Salvation is contingent upon accepting his Kingship - being Lord over us.

2. Eternal - The gospel is about that which is eternal

3. Immortal - The gospel brings us into a state of incorruptibility

4. Invisible "Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen." Heb 11:1

5. Wise - "It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God— that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption." 1Cor 1:30 We note also the God's wisdom in assigning Paul to the task.

6. Honor - We honor God for the salvation he has provided.

7. Glory - We note God's attributes revealed through the gospel.


Waging Good Warfare

1Tim 1:18  This charge I commit to you, son Timothy, according to the prophecies previously made concerning you, that by them you may wage the good warfare,

What charge? The commands he had given previous in this chapter and those to follow. But as for the prophecies made of Timothy we have no record other than "He was well spoken of by the brethren who were at Lystra and Iconium." Acts 16:2, which apparently influenced Paul to chose him as "a man is valued by what others say of him." Pr 27:21

What does Paul mean when he says, "by them you may wage the good warfare"? By what? By the commands he's giving him. Trying to living the Christian life without having specific commands and instructions in mind is like going into battle without a weapon. In fact the Bible says that the sword of the Spirit is the Word of God - the Bible. (Eph 6:17) Without it we have no commands or instructions by which to wage war. (Though perhaps some Christians find that preferable.)


Embrace Faith and a Good Conscience

1Tim 1:19  having faith and a good conscience, which some having rejected, concerning the faith have suffered shipwreck

Why do shipwrecks occurred? Because of shallow faith. Like the seed sown among stones they allegedly believe as first, and with joy, but when tribulation or persecution arises because of the word, immediately they stumble. Matt 13:5,21 Thus traveling on shallow waters they end up shipwrecked.

Others get shipwrecked by not taking heed to their conscience which corrupts it, causing it to lose its effectiveness in directing the person, so he ends up dashed against the rocks along the shore, not keeping to the course. Or one may have such an effect on the conscience of others. For it is written that "when you thus sin against the brethren, and wound their weak conscience, you sin against Christ."1Cor 8:12 which causes them to stumble.


Blasphemers Delivered to Satan

1Tim 1:20 of whom are Hymenaeus and Alexander, whom I delivered to Satan that they may learn not to blaspheme.

It is unclear who Alexander but we do know of Hymenaeus as he's mentioned in  2Tim 2:16-18 "But shun profane and idle babblings, for they will increase to more ungodliness. And their message will spread like cancer. Hymenaeus and Philetus are of this sort, who have strayed concerning the truth, saying that the resurrection is already past; and they overthrow the faith of some."

These kind of people, not being willing to listen to Biblical instruction, Paul hands over to Satan - which I take to mean in a similar sense as God handed Job over to Satan, though for a different purpose. And even as God had in a very limited sense handed Paul over to Satan at one point as he said, "a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure." 2Cor 12:7, though I take it in a much more severe sense in the case of Hymenaeus and Alexander, much as Jesus also spoke of Jezebel of Rev 2:20-22"By her teaching she misleads my servants into sexual immorality and the eating of food sacrificed to idols. I have given her time to repent of her immorality, but she is unwilling. So I will cast her on a bed of suffering, and I will make those who commit adultery with her suffer intensely, unless they repent of her ways."

But what was so upsetting about the doctrine of Hymenaeus? I comment upon 2Tim 2:16-18 in this way:

If we are to avoid profane and idle babblings how do we identify them? Of course we have the example here in 2Tim 2 of the notion that the resurrection has already taken place, and thus there are no doubt a number of eschatological viewpoints which constitute such idle babblings. But as a general principle we may evaluate particular notions as to whether
1. they promote godliness, purity of heart, a good conscience and a sincere faith.
2. they are otherwise wholesome and edifying doctrines conformed to what the Bible clearly states. And by "clearly states" I mean that they are not overly dependent upon the meaning of particular words, but rather just as I've cross referenced Paul's command here to other parts of the Bible, so also such ideas are clear either in the context or otherwise throughout the Bible. Else people end up arguing over words to defend their particular point of view.

As such this places limits on Bible study discussions and Bible study applications. But in doing so it results in more edifying studies which result in godly applications. It may not satisfy everyone's idle curiosity. The Bible doesn't clearly answer all the questions we might want to ask of it. But it gives sufficient information to live the Christian life. If we find we have time for idle babblings, then maybe we're too idle.

2Tim 2:17  "And their message will spread like cancer. Hymenaeus and Philetus are of this sort"
Elsewhere false teachings are illustrated as leaven. Concerning the false teachings of the group of the circumcision, for example, Paul writes to the Galatians, "You ran well. Who hindered you from obeying the truth? This persuasion does not come from Him who calls you. A little leaven leavens the whole lump." Gal 5:7-9 So also concerning the false teachings of the religious elite of Jesus' day, Then Jesus said to them, "Take heed and beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and the Sadducees." Matt 16:6

What's characteristic of leaven or cancer is its ability to become widespread. So also weeds grow quickly, but trees take time. Why is it that false doctrines tend to spread more quickly and are more readily accepted than the truth? I think it's simply because they pander to people's sinful human nature. You take Islam for example, if I may be so bold. Why has Islam become widespread? Among the many reasons, one reason which is measurably apparent today is because it panders to people's hatreds, even their violent passions, and for some - even among suicide bombers - their sexual passions as well.  But realize that even among the Christian community false doctrines arise which play on people's sinful nature. For example concerning hating one another there are often such divisive doctrines arises giving an illegitimate basis for one Christian hating another. Even back in the time of the Reformation, Christians were murdering Christians over such doctrines as infant baptism and particular nuances concerning the doctrine of the Trinity which are not clear in the Bible.

Whatever is popular is seldom completely correct, because things often become popular because they cater to people's sinful nature. This is a warning also to churches which place an emphasis on "growth" in contrast to edification. Easy enough to achieve "growth" by planting some weeds, some leaven, some cancer. Edification however is a different matter. The truth is straight and narrow and difficult, and not many travel there.

2Tim 2:18 "who have strayed concerning the truth, saying that the resurrection is already past; and they overthrow the faith of some."
First of all, how could they have possibly convinced people that the resurrection had already past? Afterall it's supposed to be a very visible event.

"For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And thus we shall always be with the Lord." 1Thess 4:16,17

Secondly it's supposed to be a physical resurrection. Just as Jesus was raised and his body was missing from the grave, so also after the resurrection if you were to dig up the Christian's grave you wouldn't find their body. Thus was Paul's point in 1Cor 15:16 "For if the dead do not rise, then Christ is not risen." And much of that chapter is devoted to the physical nature of the resurrection.

And in fact this is where these false teachers had gone astray. They believed only in a "spiritual" resurrection, not a physical one. In fact this is a belief held by some Christians today in which what constitutes "the resurrection" is simply the idea that when a Christian dies he goes to heaven while denying there be a physical resurrection to come. Thus the false teachers could have said that the "resurrection" has occurred but it was spiritual and so no one noticed it.

Much as they were mistaken, why was this such an abhorrent idea that Paul calls it a cancer and that it overthrows the faith of some. John takes note of a similar heresy in 1John 4:3 "every spirit that does not confess that Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is not of God. And this is the spirit of the Antichrist, which you have heard was coming, and is now already in the world." In this case, known as Docetism, there is a denial of the physical nature of Christ in his incarnation. Both of these false teachings give a flavor of the gnostic influences trying to infiltrate the early church. Their basic tenet being that anything physical is inherently evil and therefore Christ could not have been a physical man, nor the resurrection physical if it were to bring us to completion.

I think the basic reason why these doctrines are so abhorrent is because of the implications their basic tenet leads to. They could argue that, as Paul says, "if the dead do not rise, then Christ is not risen. And if Christ is not risen, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins!" 1Cor 15:16,17 So also if Christ hadn't come in the flesh, then neither could he have died for our sins. Thus their basic tenet destoys the faith which Paul preached saying, "What I received I passed on to you as of first importance: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures." 1Cor 15:3,4


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015