翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第六章

我們舉薦自己

傳道不白費

6:1 我們與神同工的也勸你們,不可徒受他的恩典。
6:2 因為他說:
  “在悅納的時候,我應允了你﹔
   在拯救的日子,我搭救了你。”
  看哪,現在正是悅納的時候,現在正是拯救的日子。

6:3 我們凡事都不叫人有妨礙,免得這職分被人毀謗﹔

以敬虔經受試煉
6:4 反倒在各樣的事上表明自己是神的用人,
  就如在許多的忍耐、患難、窮乏、困苦、

6:5 鞭打、監禁、擾亂、勤勞、儆醒、不食、
6:6 廉潔、知識、恆忍、恩慈、聖靈的感化、無偽的愛心、
6:7 真實的道理、神的大能﹔仁義的兵器在左在右﹔
6:8 榮耀、羞辱﹔惡名、美名﹔
  似乎是誘惑人的,卻是誠實的﹔

6:9 似乎不為人所知,卻是人所共知的﹔
  似乎要死,卻是活著的﹔
  似乎受責罰,卻是不至喪命的﹔

6:10 似乎憂愁,卻是常常快樂的﹔
  似乎貧窮,卻是叫許多人富足的﹔
  似乎一無所有,卻是樣樣都有的。

發自內心地自由事奉
6:11 哥林多人哪,我們向你們,口是張開的,心是寬宏的。
6:12 你們狹窄,原不在乎我們,是在乎自己的心腸狹窄。
6:13 你們也要照樣用寬宏的心報答我。
  我這話正像對自己的孩子說的。

命令:與不信的分別
6:14 你們和不信的原不相配,不要同負一軛。
  義和不義有什麼相交呢?
  光明和黑暗有什麼相通呢?

6:15 基督和彼列(“彼列”就是撒但的別名)有什麼相和呢?
  信主的和不信主的有什麼相幹呢?

6:16 神的殿和偶像有什麼相同呢?
  因為我們是永生神的殿。
  就如神曾說:
  “我要在他們中間居住,在他們中間來往﹔
   我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。”
【利未記 26:12】
6:17 又說:
  “你們務要從他們中間出來,與他們分別,
   不要沾不潔淨的物,我就收納你們。”
【以賽亞書 52:11】
6:18 “我要作你們的父,你們要作我的兒女。”
  這是全能的主說的。
【何西阿書 1:10】


問題討論

第1-10節 徒受神的恩典是什麼意思?
在一個事奉中,妨礙人對基督有真正的信的絆腳石是什麼?
在傳福音時,如何交流我們深深的信?
人們有沒有根據懷疑你只是想從中得到什麼?
你的事奉的代價是什麼?
第11-13節 如何使人把心與你一道敞開?
第14-18節 我們與不信的人有什麼不共同的地方?
我們應該以哪種方式與不信的人分開?
神是如何與我們生活在一起,與我們同行的?
神接受我們的條件是什麼?

注釋

不可徒受他的恩典

哥林多後書 6:1-2 我們與神同工的也勸你們,不可徒受他的恩典。因為他說:“在悅納的時候,我應允了你﹔在拯救的日子,我搭救了你。”看哪,現在正是悅納的時候,現在正是拯救的日子。

徒受恩典就是在接受恩典時沒有要把它放在實踐中的意愿,或在某個時候放棄它。保羅在給他們寫的第一封信婸﹛G“并且你們若不是徒然相信,能以持守我所傳給你們的,就必因這福音得救。”【哥林多前書 15:2】他指著他自己的例子說:“然而我今日成了何等人,是蒙神的恩才成的,并且他所賜我的恩,不是徒然的。我比眾使徒格外勞苦,這原不是我,乃是神的恩與我同在。”【哥林多前書 15:10】

現在正是拯救的日子引自【以賽亞書 49:8】。類似地,以賽亞還說:“當趁耶和華可尋找的時候尋找他,相近的時候求告他。惡人當離棄自己的道路。不義的人當除掉自己的意念,歸向耶和華,耶和華就必憐恤他,當歸向我們的神,因為神必廣行赦免。”【以賽亞書 55:6-7】他接下來說到神的道的有效性。“雨雪從天而降,并不返回,卻滋潤地土,使地上發芽結實,使撒種的有種,使要吃的有糧。我口所出的話,也必如此,決不徒然返回,卻要成就我所喜悅的,在我發他去成就的事上(“發他去成就”或作“所命定”)必然亨通。”【以賽亞書 55:10-11】

也就是說,神所說的話不會是徒然的。神從無戲言,他將使他所保証的得以實現。因此要相信神所保証的,按神所命令的去做。“所以,我親愛的弟兄們,你們務要堅固,不可搖動,常常竭力多作主工,因為知道你們的勞苦在主堶惜ㄛO徒然的。”【哥林多前書 15:58】


免得這職分被人毀謗

哥林多後書 6:3 我們凡事都不叫人有妨礙,免得這職分被人毀謗﹔

比如,盡管保羅有權利得到報酬,但他有意拒絕因他的事奉而得到報酬,而是靠做世俗得工作來掙錢,這樣他就可以免費傳福音。

“難道我們沒有權柄娶信主的姊妹為妻,帶著一同往來,仿佛其餘的使徒和主的弟兄,并磯法一樣嗎?獨有我與巴拿巴沒有權柄不做工嗎?”……“若別人在你們身上有這權柄,何況我們呢?然而我們沒有用過這權柄,倒凡事忍受,免得基督的福音被阻隔。”……“我雖是自由的,無人轄管,然而我甘心作了眾人的仆人,為要多得人。”【哥林多前書 9:5-6,12,19】“我因為白白傳神的福音給你們,就自居卑微,叫你們高升,這算是我犯罪嗎?”【哥林多後書 11:7】他告訴別人效仿這種生活方式。他對以弗所的長老們說:“所以你們應當儆醒,記念我三年之久,晝夜不住地流淚,勸戒你們各人。如今我把你們交托神,和他恩惠的道。這道能建立你們,叫你們和一切成聖的人同得基業。我未曾貪圖一個人的金、銀、衣服。我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人,又當記念主耶穌的話,說:‘施比受更為有福。’”【使徒行傳 20:31-35】可悲的是歷史上很少有基督教的領袖選擇效仿這個榜樣。“別人都求自己的事,并不求耶穌基督的事。”【腓立比書 2:21】他們拒絕犧牲個人的權利和自由,在基督教歷史上造成了很多絆腳石。是的,我們在基督堿O有自由的,“只是你們要謹慎,恐怕你們這自由竟成了那軟弱人的絆腳石。”【哥林多前書 8:9】


受試煉的舉薦

哥林多後書 6:4-5 反倒在各樣的事上表明自己是神的用人,就如在許多的忍耐、患難、窮乏、困苦、鞭打、監禁、擾亂、勤勞、儆醒、不食、

有幾件事可以表明一個人深深信的究竟是什麼。

如果出于自己的選擇,一個人不為自己的好處而強烈地勞苦,這就表現出深信。你在空閑的時間做什麼呢?保羅在前面說:“直到如今,我們還是又飢、又渴、又赤身露體、又挨打、又沒有一定的住處,并且勞苦,親手作工。被人咒罵,我們就祝福﹔被人逼迫,我們就忍受﹔”【哥林多前書 4:11】你的屬靈的領袖是不是盡管艱難和困苦仍然努力地工作呢?保羅對帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒說:“弟兄們,我們勸你們敬重那在你們中間勞苦的人,就是在主堶悸v理你們,勸戒你們的。又因他們所作的工,用愛心格外尊重他們,你們也要彼此和睦。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:12-13】注意到“我們還是又飢、又渴”這句話,將其與你牧師的腰圍(或你的腰圍)比一下。的確,事奉需要一個人控制自己的身體。因此保羅寫到:“我是攻克己身,叫身服我。”【哥林多前書 9:27a】,當然,不能過于從字面上理解這句話。但事實上很多基督徒或基督徒的領袖在很大程度上是他們肉身情欲的奴隸。這在像美國現在這樣尋求歡樂的富裕文化媯S為如此。

極大的忍耐暗示著兩件事。其一是時間。“我們行善,不可喪志﹔若不灰心,到了時候就要收成。”【加拉太書 6:9】另一件就是有敵對這個事實。正確的事奉會使你有在逆流奡慦a的感覺。對于我們的肉身正是如此,肉身的固有性質是與聖靈相對的。“因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,使你們不能作所愿意作的。”【加拉太書 5:17】敵對還來自社會和文化。“不要效法這個世界,”【羅馬書 12:2a】但你將發現今天每一個基督徒群體都有一些不合宜的文化因素,而很多基督徒對此沒有察覺。因此,另一個敵對來自基督徒群體本身。比如在加拉太書第二章和使徒行傳第十五章塈畯抩ヮ鴞b耶路撒冷教會堛囓X了一個異端,他們傳博假福音,保羅激烈地反對這個異端。今天也是如此。

教會領袖的資格主要不在于受教育程度,而在于一個人的經歷,其中深深的信不是由神學的文章衡量的,而是由面對試煉,在真理塈埻@衡量的。


好品格的舉薦

哥林多後書 6:6 廉潔、知識、恆忍、恩慈、聖靈的感化、無偽的愛心、

事奉不僅在于正確的教義,也不只在于從一個人面臨敵對時表現出的熱心。事奉在于所有的方面:一個人的態度,理解,我們對待別人的方法和我們的動機。

保羅告誡提摩太說:“不可叫人小看你年輕,總要在言語、行為、愛心、信心、清潔上都作信徒的榜樣。”【提摩太前書 4:12】因此,“你要逃避少年的私欲,同那清心禱告主的人追求公義、信德、仁愛、和平。”【提摩太後書 2:22】

比如,考慮無偽的愛心。雖然在成熟的基督徒看來事奉就是責任,但無偽的愛心卻不只是責任。這不是說那些熱愛事奉的人就有無偽的愛心,而有無偽的愛心的是那些盡管有困苦也真正關心別人的益處的人。關于提摩太,保羅寫到:“因為我沒有別人與我同心,實在挂念你們的事。別人都求自己的事,并不求耶穌基督的事。”【腓立比書 2:20-21】無偽的愛心的確是很罕見的美德,即使在事奉的人中。雖然他們從外表看來也許是真誠的,到最後才發現大多數都顯露出他們是多麼的膚淺和在乎自己的利益。甚至在保羅的同工堣]是這樣。


真理的舉薦

哥林多後書 6:7 真實的道理、神的大能﹔仁義的兵器在左在右﹔

伴隨著無偽的愛心的就是說真話。“虛謊的舌恨他所壓傷的人﹔”【箴言 26:28a】保羅從來不奉承人。他寫到:“因為我們從來沒有用過諂媚的話,這是你們知道的﹔也沒有藏著貪心,這是神可以作見証的。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:5】保羅還寫到:“惟用愛心說誠實話,凡事長進,連于元首基督。”【以弗所書 4:15】無論是不是出于“好”意,說假話從來就不是愛。今天有多少考傳道“養生”的人愿意效法保羅的榜樣,說真實但不受歡迎的話﹔說不奉承人的話﹔說可能有損于自己腰包的話?

“弟兄們,那些離間你們,叫你們跌倒,背乎所學之道的人,我勸你們要留意躲避他們。因為這樣的人不服事我們的主基督,只服事自己的肚腹,用花言巧語誘惑那些老實人的心。”【羅馬書 16:17-18】

仁義的兵器是用在思想范疇的。“我們爭戰的兵器,本不是屬血氣的,乃是在神面前有能力,可以攻破堅固的營壘,將各樣的計謀,各樣攔阻人認識神的那些自高之事一概攻破了,又將人所有的心意奪回,使他都順服基督。”【哥林多後書 10:4-5】我們的兵器是什麼呢?是“聖靈的寶劍,就是神的道。”【以弗所書 6:17b】而在左手上我們有禱告,就如以弗所書接下來說:“靠著聖靈,隨時多方禱告祈求,并要在此儆醒不倦,為眾聖徒祈求,也為我祈求,使我得著口才,能以放膽開口講明福音的奧秘,(我為這福音的奧秘,作了帶鎖鏈的使者)。并使我照著當盡的本分,放膽講論。”【以弗所書 6:18-20】


不同的印象

哥林多後書 6:8-10 榮耀、羞辱﹔惡名、美名﹔似乎是誘惑人的,卻是誠實的﹔似乎不為人所知,卻是人所共知的﹔似乎要死,卻是活著的﹔似乎受責罰,卻是不至喪命的﹔似乎憂愁,卻是常常快樂的﹔似乎貧窮,卻是叫許多人富足的﹔似乎一無所有,卻是樣樣都有的。

正如基督的敵人對他有完全不同的看法,他們對事奉基督的人也一樣。類似地,“因為我們在神面前,無論在得救的人身上,或滅亡的人身上,都有基督馨香之氣。在這等人,就作了死的香氣叫他死﹔在那等人,就作了活的香氣叫他活。這事誰能當得起呢?”【哥林多後書 2:15-16】因此在鑒定這樣的人時,不要靠眾人的觀點。而要按真理衡量他們。

一個有效的福音事奉者必須對敵對作出良好的反應。但在這堛熙\多對比中,我最感興趣的是似乎憂愁,卻是常常快樂的。因為那不只是關于遭遇,還在于態度。基督徒有可能在憂愁的同時又有喜樂,因為基督徒的喜樂不在于表面的情感,而在于內心的盼望。因此,關于耶穌經上寫到:“他因那擺在前面的喜樂,就輕看羞辱,忍受了十字架的苦難,”【希伯來書 12:2b】,但我們在那時堿搕ㄗ儦野@人那樣的喜樂。


坦率的關系

哥林多後書 6:11-13 哥林多人哪,我們向你們,口是張開的,心是寬宏的。你們狹窄,原不在乎我們,是在乎自己的心腸狹窄。你們也要照樣用寬宏的心報答我。我這話正像對自己的孩子說的。

換句話說,他們就像十幾歲的孩子一樣。因為在那個成長階段,一個很大的特點就是最不會回報他的父母。第十二節直譯過來就是:“轄治你的不是我們,而是你自身的情感。”有趣的是“轄治”在希臘文堥洏峈漪O被動語態。要當心你的情感。因為它們有可能會妨礙或限制你表達你應表達的愛。在這堙A他們應該回報保羅對他們的愛。

對于那些參與事奉的人來說,事奉的很大一部分是說話。保羅自由地說話,這不但指的是他給他們教的廣泛程度和他的直率,還指的是他給他們提供這些服務,不要求他們給他報酬。但好的事奉不止于言語。好的事奉還包括一個人對那些他所事奉的對像的情感。作為回報,事奉的人希望他的學生對他有同樣的情感。


避免與不義的人相交

哥林多後書 6:14-15 你們和不信的原不相配,不要同負一軛。義和不義有什麼相交呢?光明和黑暗有什麼相通呢?基督和彼列(“彼列”就是撒但的別名)有什麼相和呢?信主的和不信主的有什麼相幹呢?

“同負一軛”是種庄稼的一個術語,指的是把兩個動物的脖子套在同一塊木頭上,這樣它們就可以一起拉犁耕地。在這堳O羅指的也許是數種情形,但最明顯的是婚姻。

要避免不必要地與不信的人相交。“義人引導他的鄰舍﹔惡人的道叫人失迷。”【箴言 12:26】因此,比如:“與智慧人同行的必得智慧﹔和愚昧人作伴的必受虧損。”【箴言 13:20】還有,“好生氣的人,不可與他結交﹔暴怒的人,不可與他來往。恐怕你效法他的行為,自己就陷在網羅堙C”【箴言 22:24-25】雖然這些說的不一定是某種特別的關系,但與不信的人交往會招至虧損。那同時也是浪費時間、精力和資源,而你可以用這些為神的國結果子。

但顯然這不是說一個人要避免任何與不信的人的接觸。問題在于我們選擇與誰同負一軛。保羅寫到:“我先前寫信給你們說:不可與淫亂的人相交。此話不是指這世上一概行淫亂的,或貪婪的、勒索的,或拜偶像的﹔若是這樣,你們除非離開世界方可。”【哥林多前書 5:9-10】

然而關于相交會有些誤會。在有些文化堙A比如在美國,“相交”一般只是膚淺的相識而已。聖經堜珨〞漪菪甇n深于偶爾的相識。但顯然基督徒不應該與不信的人談戀愛,更不用說結婚。他們為什麼居然想這樣做呢?如果有人選擇這樣的關系,就令人猜測這種人是否真是基督徒。要效法耶穌和他的門徒的榜樣。把大部分空閑的時間用在與信徒在一起。


作神的殿

哥林多後書 6:16-18 神的殿和偶像有什麼相同呢?因為我們是永生神的殿。就如神曾說:

“我要在他們中間居住,在他們中間來往﹔
 我要作他們的神,他們要作我的子民。”
【利未記 26:12】
又說:
“你們務要從他們中間出來,與他們分別,
 不要沾不潔淨的物,我就收納你們。”
【以賽亞書 52:11】
“我要作你們的父,你們要作我的兒女。”
 這是全能的主說的。
【何西阿書 1:10】

在他的第一封信堨L說:“豈不知你們是神的殿,神的靈住在你們媕Y嗎?”【哥林多前書 3:16】他以此來說關于性的不道德,他說:“你們要逃避淫行。人所犯的,無論什麼罪,都在身子以外。惟有行淫的,是得罪自己的身子。豈不知你們的身子就是聖靈的殿嗎?這聖靈是從神而來,住在你們媕Y的。并且你們不是自己的人。因為你們是重價買來的。所以要在你們的身子上榮耀神。”【哥林多前書 6:18-20】因此這些教誨特別適用于戀愛關系。但還有其它的事情一個人發現在神的道、聖靈或自己良心的指引下分別出來。但分別不是孤立。因為基督徒從不是孤立的。其目的就是要去掉那些妨礙我們與神的關系的事。

記得在耶穌進神的殿時,他“看見殿埵魚璊、羊、鴿子的,并有兌換銀錢的人,坐在那堙C耶穌就拿繩子作成鞭子,把牛羊都趕出殿去,倒出兌換銀錢之人的銀錢,推翻他們的桌子。又對賣鴿子的說:‘把這些東西拿去!不要將我父的殿,當作買賣的地方。’他的門徒就想起經上記著說:‘我為你的殿心媯J急,如同火燒。’”【約翰福音 2:14-17】那麼誰是他的殿呢?“我們若將可夸的盼望和膽量堅持到底,便是他的家了。”【希伯來書 3:6b】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Corinthians 6 (web)

We Commend Ourselves

In Preaching not in Vain

6:1 Working together, we entreat also that you not receive the grace of God in vain,
6:2 for he says, "At an acceptable time I listened to you, In a day of salvation I helped you
." Behold, now is the acceptable time. Behold, now is the day of salvation.
6:3 We give no occasion of stumbling in anything, that our service may not be blamed,

In Enduring Trials with Godliness

6:4 but in everything commending ourselves, as servants of God,
in great endurance, in afflictions, in hardships, in distresses,
6:5 in beatings, in imprisonments, in riots, in labors, in watchings, in fastings;
6:6 in pureness, in knowledge, in patience, in kindness, in the Holy Spirit, in sincere love,
6:7 in the word of truth, in the power of God;
by the armor of righteousness on the right hand and on the left,
6:8 by glory and dishonor, by evil report and good report; as deceivers, and yet true;
6:9 as unknown, and yet well known; as dying, and behold, we live; as punished, and not killed;
6:10 as sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; as poor, yet making many rich;
as having nothing, and yet possessing all things.

In Ministering Freely from the Heart

6:11 Our mouth is open to you, Corinthians. Our heart is enlarged.
6:12 You are not restricted by us, but you are restricted by your own affections.
6:13 Now in return, I speak as to my children, you also be open wide.

Instruction: Separation from Unbelievers

6:14 Don't be unequally yoked with unbelievers, for what fellowship have righteousness and iniquity? Or what communion has light with darkness?
6:15 What agreement has Christ with Belial? Or what portion has a believer with an unbeliever?
6:16 What agreement has a temple of God with idols? For you are a temple of the living God. Even as God said, "I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they will be my people." (Lev 26:12)
6:17 Therefore, "'Come out from among them, And be separate,'
says the Lord, 'Touch no unclean thing. I will receive you. (Is 52:11)
6:18 I will be to you a Father. You will be to me sons and daughters,' says the Lord Almighty." (Hos 1:10)

Discussion Questions

vs 1-10 What does it mean to receive God's grace in vain?
What stumbling blocks might there be in a given ministry hindering some from coming to true faith in Christ?
How are we communicating our conviction when we present the gospel?
Is there a basis upon which people might question you as to what you get out of it?
What does your ministry cost you?
vs 11-13 How can you get others to be open with you?
vs 14-18 What do we not have in common with unbelievers?
In what way should we separate from unbelievers?
In what way does God live with us and walk among us?
Under what conditions will God receive us?

Comments

Receive Grace with Purpose

2Cor 6:1,2 As God’s fellow workers we urge you not to receive God’s grace in vain. For he says, "In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you." I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.

To receive it in vain is to receive it without intending to put it into practice, or otherwise to abandon it at some point. Paul wrote to them in his first letter saying, "By this gospel you are saved, if you hold firmly to the word I preached to you. Otherwise, you have believed in vain." 1Cor 15:2 And he points to his own example saying, "by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me." 1Cor 15:10

Today being the day of salvation is a quote from Isaiah 49:8. Similarly Isaiah also says, "Seek the LORD while he may be found; call on him while he is near. Let the wicked forsake his way and the evil man his thoughts. Let him turn to the LORD, and he will have mercy on him, and to our God, for he will freely pardon." Is 55:6,7 And he goes on to speak of the effective nature of the Word of God. " As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it." Is 55:10,11

In other words, what God says is not in vain. He means what he says and will bring about what he promised. Therefore be confident in what God has promised and carry out what God has commanded. "Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain." 1Cor 15:58


Be Reputable

2Cor 6:3 We put no stumbling block in anyone’s path, so that our ministry will not be discredited.

For example Paul, though he was entitled to it, intentionally refused payment for his services but rather earned money by working at a secular job so that he may offer the gospel free of charge.

"Don’t we have the right to take a believing wife along with us, as do the other apostles and the Lord’s brothers and Cephas? Or is it only I and Barnabas who must work for a living?" ... "If others have this right of support from you, shouldn’t we have it all the more? But we did not use this right. On the contrary, we put up with anything rather than hinder the gospel of Christ." ... "Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible." 1Cor 9:5,6,12,19 And "Was it a sin for me to lower myself in order to elevate you by preaching the gospel of God to you free of charge?" 2Cor 11:7  And such a lifestyle he instructs others to follow. To the Ephesian elders he says, "I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing. You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions.  In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’" Acts 20:31-35 Sadly to say an example of which few Christian leaders have historically chosen to follow.  "For everyone looks out for his own interests, not those of Jesus Christ." Php 2:21, refusing to sacrifice personal rights and freedoms resulting in many a stumbling block throughout the history of Christianity. Yes we have freedoms in Christ, "Be careful, however, that the exercise of your freedom does not become a stumbling block to the weak." 1Cor 8:9


The Commendation of Trials

2Cor 6:4,5  Rather, as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way: in great endurance; in troubles, hardships and distresses; in beatings, imprisonments and riots; in hard work, sleepless nights and hunger;

There are a number of things which reveal a person's convictions.

If out of free choice one labors intensely without personal benefit, that communicates conviction. What do you do with your free time?  Previously Paul said, "To this very hour we go hungry and thirsty, we are in rags, we are brutally treated, we are homeless. We work hard with our own hands. When we are cursed, we bless; when we are persecuted, we endure it" 1Cor 4:11,12 Would you characterize your spiritual leaders as working hard and inspite troubles and hardship? Paul told the Thessalonians, "Now we ask you, brothers, to respect those who work hard among you, who are over you in the Lord and who admonish you. Hold them in the highest regard in love because of their work." 1Tim 5:12,13 Notice also the phrase "we go hungry and thirsty", and compare that with your pastor's waistline. (or your own waisteline) (Or should I say wasteline?) Indeed the ministry requires one to exercise self-control over one's body. Thus Paul writes, "I beat my body and make it my slave". 1Cor 9:27, of course not to take this too literally mind you. But in fact many a Christian or Christian leader is largely a slave to the passions of their flesh. And this particularly the case in pleasure-seeking affluent cultures such as in the US presently.

Great endurance implies two things. One is time. "Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up." Gal 6:9 The other is the fact of opposition. Doing ministry properly should make you feel like you're swimming against the tide. And this is the case with regards to our flesh, which is by its nature opposed to the things of the Spirit. "For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want." Gal 5:17 And opposition comes from society and its culture. "Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world" Rom 12:2a Yet you will find virtually every Christian community today contains inappropriate elements of culture, of which many a Christian is not aware. Consequently another source of opposition is the Christian community itself. For example in Galatians 2 and Acts 15 we learn that a cult had developed in the church at Jerusalem which was spreading a false gospel, of which Paul greatly opposed. So too today.

The credentials of a candidate for church leader should primarily not consist of educational degrees, but rather of one's experience, where conviction is measured not simply by theological papers, but by one's endurance in the truth in the face of trials.


The Commendation of Good Character

2Cor 6:6 in purity, understanding, patience and kindness; in the Holy Spirit and in sincere love;

The ministry is not just about right doctrine, nor about being zealous as revealed by one's endurance in the face of opposition. It's about everything. One's attitude, understanding, the way we treat others and our motivation.

Paul advises Timothy, "Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity." 1Tim 4:12  So "Flee the evil desires of youth, and pursue righteousness, faith, love and peace, along with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart." 2Tim 2:22

Consider for example sincere love. Much as ministry can be viewed among the mature as a matter of duty, sincere love goes beyond duty. This is not to say that those who enjoy doing the ministry have sincere love, but rather those who take genuine interest in the welfare of others despite the hardship of doing so. Paul writes of Timothy, "I have no one else like him, who takes a genuine interest in your welfare. For everyone looks out for his own interests, not those of Jesus Christ." Php 2:20,21 Sincere love is indeed a rare quality, even among ministers. Though they may appear sincere outwardly, most recognize how shallow and self-serving their interests often end up being. And this was apparently the case even among Paul's team.


The Commendation of the Truth

2Cor 6:7  in truthful speech and in the power of God; with weapons of righteousness in the right hand and in the left;

Truthful speech goes along with sincere love. "A lying tongue hates those it hurts, and a flattering mouth works ruin." Ps 26:28 Paul never flattered people. He writes, "You know we never used flattery, nor did we put on a mask to cover up greed" 1Th 2:5 And Paul writes, "Speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ." Eph 4:15 Regardless of "good" intentions, speaking falsehood is never in love. How many ministers today who are financially dependent, are willing to follow Paul's example in saying things which are truth, but unpopular; things which are not flattering; things which would threaten their own pocketbook?

"I urge you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people." Rom 16:16,17

As for weapons of righteousness, they deal in the realm of ideas. "The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ." 2Cor 10:4,5 And what is in our arsenal, but "the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God." Eph 6:17b, while in the left hand we have prayer, as the quote in Ephesians continues. "pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints. Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should." Eph 6:18-20


Diverse Impressions

2Cor 6:8-10 through glory and dishonor, bad report and good report; genuine, yet regarded as impostors; known, yet regarded as unknown; dying, and yet we live on; beaten, and yet not killed; sorrowful, yet always rejoicing; poor, yet making many rich; having nothing, and yet possessing everything.

Just as Christ was viewed completely differently by his enemies, so also with ministers of Christ. And likewise with the message, "For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. To the one we are the smell of death; to the other, the fragrance of life." 2Cor 2:15,16 Therefore do not rely upon public opinion when evaluating such people. Rather evaluate them in accordance with the truth.

To be an effective minister of the gospel one much react well to opposition. But of the many contrasts given here what I find most interesting is sorrowful yet always rejoicing. For that is not about circumstances, but about attitude. The Christian can be sorrowful and yet rejoicing at the same time, for Christian joy is less about surface emotions as it is one's inner hope. Thus it is written of Jesus "who for the joy set before him endured the cross" Heb 12:2b and yet we don't see that joy during that time period as the world views joy.


Frank Relationships

2Cor 6:11-13 We have spoken freely to you, Corinthians, and opened wide our hearts to you. We are not withholding our affection from you, but you are withholding yours from us. As a fair exchange— I speak as to my children— open wide your hearts also.

In other words they were behaving like teenagers. For it is most characteristic of that stage of maturity that one is least likely to reciprocate the love of one's parents. More literally verse 12 says, "You are not restrained by us, but you are restrained by your own affections." Interesting that "restrained" is in the passive voice in the Greek. Beware of your own affections. For they may restrict or restrain you from expressing the love you should express, as here they should have reciprocated Paul's affection for them.

As for those involved in ministry, a significant part of the ministry is words. Paul spoke freely, and not only meaning the extensiveness of his teaching them, and his frankness, but also the fact that he didn't demand they pay him for such service. But good ministry goes beyond words. Good ministry involves one's affections towards those to whom we minister. And reciprocally the minister hopes to invoke like affections in one's students.


Avoid Ungodly Allegiances

2Cor 6:14,15 Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? What harmony is there between Christ and Belial? What does a believer have in common with an unbeliever?

"Yoked" is an agricultural term in which two animals are connected together at the neck by a block of wood so that both may be used to pull a plow. In this case Paul may be applying it to a number of circumstances,  the most obvious of which is marriage.

Don't make unnecessary allegiances with unbelievers. "A righteous man is cautious in friendship, but the way of the wicked leads them astray." Prov 12:26 So for example, "He who walks with the wise grows wise, but a companion of fools suffers harm." Prov 13:20 and "Make no friendship with an angry man, And with a furious man do not go, lest you learn his ways And set a snare for your soul." Prov 22:24,25 And while these might not characterize the particular allegiance in question, friendships with unbelievers will be detrimental. And it's also a waste of time, energy and resources of which you could be exercising fruifully for the kingdom of God.

But obviously this does not mean one avoids any contact with unbelievers. The issue as to whom we chose to be yoked to. Paul writes, "I have written you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people—  not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world." 1Cor 5:9,10

However there may be confusion concerning friendship. For in some cultures, such as in the US, "friendships" are generally so shallow as to be merely acquaintances. The Bible is speaking of friendship as something more than a casual association. But it should be obvious that Christians should not date non-Christians, let alone marry them. Why would they even want to? One wonders whether such people are Christians indeed if they chose such allegiances. Follow Jesus example and that of his apostles. Spend the majority of your free time with believers.


Be a Holy Temple

2Cor 6:16-18  What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols? For we are the temple of the living God. As God has said:

"I will live with them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people." (Lev 26:12) 

"Therefore come out from them and be separate, says the Lord. Touch no unclean thing, and I will receive you." (Is 52:11)

"I will be a Father to you, and you will be my sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty." (Hos 1:10)

In his first letter he said, "Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?" 1Cor 3:16 And he applies this with regards to sexual immorality saying, "Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a man commits are outside his body, but he who sins sexually sins against his own body. Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body." 1Cor 6:18-20 Consequently these instructions are particularly applicable to dating relationships. But there may be a number of other things one may find they must separate from as directed by the Word, the Spirit, and one's conscience. But separation does not mean isolation. For a Christian is never alone. The objective is simply to remove those things which hinder our personal relationship with God.

Recall when Jesus entered the temple in John 2:14-17 In the temple courts he found men selling cattle, sheep and doves, and others sitting at tables exchanging money. So he made a whip out of cords, and drove all from the temple area, both sheep and cattle; he scattered the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables. To those who sold doves he said, "Get these out of here! How dare you turn my Father’s house into a market!" His disciples remembered that it is written: "Zeal for your house will consume me." And who are his house? "we are his house" Heb 3:6b


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Sep 09,2010