翻譯: English GB

提摩太後書 第三章

躲開不敬神的人

3:1 你該知道,末世必有危險的日子來到。
3:2 因為那時人要專顧自己,貪愛錢財,自夸,
  狂傲,謗讟,違背父母,忘恩負義,心不聖潔,

3:3 無親情,不解怨,好說讒言,
  不能自約,性情凶暴,不愛良善,

3:4 賣主賣友,任意妄為,自高自大,愛宴樂,不愛神。
3:5 有敬虔的外貌,卻背了敬虔的實意。
這等人你要躲開。
3:6 那偷進人家,牢籠無知婦女的,正是這等人。
  這些婦女擔負罪惡,被各樣的私欲引誘,

3:7 常常學習,終久不能明白真道。
3:8 從前雅尼和佯庇怎樣敵擋摩西,這等人也怎樣敵擋真道。
  他們的心地壞了,在真道上是可廢棄的。

3:9 然而他們不能再這樣敵擋,
  因為他們的愚昧必在眾人面前顯露出來,像那二人一樣。

與敬神的人認同

3:10 但你已經服從了
  我的教訓、品行、志向、信心、寬容、愛心、忍耐,
3:11 以及我在安提阿、以哥念、路司得所遭遇的逼迫、苦難。
  我所忍受是何等的逼迫,但從這一切苦難中,主都把我救出來了。

3:12 不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。
3:13 只是作惡的和迷惑人的,必越久越惡,他欺哄人,也被人欺哄。

3:14 但你所學習的,所確信的,要存在心堙Q
  因為你知道是跟誰學的,


3:15 并且知道你是從小明白聖經,
  這聖經能使你因信基督耶穌有得救的智慧。

3:16 聖經都是神所默示的(或作“凡神所默示的聖經”),于
  都是有益的,

3:17 叫屬神的人得以完全,
  預備行各樣的善事。


問題討論

人的什麼品質使得你愿意與他們作朋友?
人的什麼品質使得你想與他們分開?
第5節 你應該躲開什麼樣的人?用何種方式?
(參考【哥林多前書 5:11】【哥林多後書 6:14-18】
個人檢驗:如果人們檢驗你的一生,他們會把你歸于下面的一類嗎?
  • 專顧自己
  • 貪愛錢財
  • 自夸
  • 狂傲
  • 謗讟
  • 違背父母
  • 忘恩負義
  • 心不聖潔
  • 無親情
  • 不解怨
  • 好說讒言
  • 不能自約
  • 性情凶暴
  • 不愛良善
  • 賣主賣友
  • 任意妄為
  • 自高自大
  • 愛宴樂,不愛神
  • 有敬虔的外貌

  • (卻背了敬虔的實意)
    為什麼敬虔會招致逼迫?
    有哪些現實生活中的榜樣幫助了你把具體的應用放在你的基督徒信仰堙H
    第10節 個人檢驗:你是如何在下面各方面與保羅認同的?
    教訓
    品行
    志向
    信心
    愛心
    忍耐
    遭遇
    逼迫
    苦難
    我是不是在以真理教導別人呢?
    我是不是在得出個人的應用呢?
    我的志向是什麼?
    我的信有多麼深?
    我在幫助有需的人嗎?
    我能忍耐多久 ──
    面對人和逆境?
    如果我沒有遭受逼迫,那麼為什麼呢?

    第16,17節 如何概括聖經的各種功用?
     

    教訓
    教訓正確的教義
    督責
    判斷什麼是錯誤的做法
    使人歸正
    判斷什麼是錯誤的教義
    教導人學義
    教導正確的做法

    注釋

    末世

    提摩太後書 3:1 你該知道,末世必有危險的日子來到。

    這不是說“末世”本身在將來,而是說在末世必有危險的日子。因為早在使徒行傳第二章堙A彼得就把一節以“末後的日子”開始的經文應用到始于五旬節。同樣,在希伯來書堙G“就在這末世,借著他兒子曉諭我們,”【希伯來書 1:2】還有,這一章的上下文暗示提摩太會遇到這些事。

    彼得也表達了同樣的觀點。“第一要緊的,該知道在末世必有好譏誚的人,隨從自己的私欲出來譏誚說:”【彼得後書 3:3】而整個基督教歷史的確如此。類似地,保羅在接下來的幾節將要提到的那些特徵性的醜惡在整個歷史上也表現出來。

    注意到保羅沒有把“危險的日子”與自然災難聯系起來,而是歸咎于人的不義。時至今日,人們仍然沒有正確地看出世界的主要問題所在。世界的主要問題不在于環境或經濟。其解決也不在于更多的科學,更多的教育,或更多的資金。主要的問題在于人的不義。而其解決辦法就是福音。


    末日的醜惡──第一部分

    提摩太後書 3:2 因為那時人要專顧自己,貪愛錢財,自夸,狂傲,謗讟,違背父母,忘恩負義,心不聖潔,

    “專顧自己”
    就是“φιλαυτοζ”──直譯過來就是喜歡自己。這就是那些說愛人必先愛己的人。但事實上這往往演變成自我陶醉的一個借口。耶穌說:“愛惜自己生命的,就失喪生命。在這世上恨惡自己生命的,就要保守生命到永生。”【約翰福音 12:25】他還說:“人到我這堥荂A若不愛我勝過愛自己的父母、妻子、兒女、弟兄、姐妹和自己的性命,就不能作我的門徒。(“愛我勝過愛”原文作“恨”。)”【路加福音 14:26】專顧自己的態度是空虛的。那就是要顧好老大,就是他們自己。他們為自己活,為自己尋求快樂。他們生活的目的就是使自己歡心。其它所有都是第二位的。這是今天世界上大部分人的特徵。

    “貪愛錢財”
    就是貪婪,一個在今天世界上大多數人身上反映出來的一個特徵。“貪財是萬惡之根。”【提摩太前書 6:10a】“你們不能又事奉神,又事奉瑪門(“瑪門”是“財利”的意思)。”【馬太福音 6:24b】所以,“你們存心不可貪愛錢財,要以自己所有的為足,因為主曾說:‘我總不撇下你,也不丟棄你。’”【希伯來書 13:5】

    “自夸,狂傲”
    因為謙卑是所有美德中最重要的,驕傲是所有醜惡的基礎。它從一個人言行堛穛{出來,比如自夸。經上說:“要別人夸獎你,不可用口自夸﹔等外人稱贊你,不可用嘴自稱。”【箴言 27:2】關于那些自夸自己的美德的人,雅各寫到:“嗐,你們有話說:‘今天、明天我們要往某城堨h,在那埵矰@年,作買賣得利。’其實明天如何,你們還不知道。你們的生命是什麼呢?你們原來是一片云霧,出現少時就不見了。你們只當說:‘主若愿意,我們就可以活著,也可以做這事,或做那事。’現今你們竟以張狂夸口,凡這樣夸口都是惡的。”【雅各書 4:13-16】

    “謗讟”
    這個詞在希臘文堭q“傷害”和”名聲”兩個詞得來。比如謗讟神就是以傷害神的名聲的方式說話。在使徒行傳第六章埵酗@個雙例:“就買出人來說,我們聽見他說謗讟摩西和神的話。”【使徒行傳 6:11】這堙A他們聲稱司提反謗讟摩西和神,而事實上這些人自己這樣做是在謗讟司提反。

    “違背父母”
    自幼就不遵從權威不但本身是件壞事,而且使人長大後成為不遵從權威的人,這不但敗壞自己,也敗壞別人。

    “忘恩負義”
    對神忘恩負義導致思念和心靈的敗壞,如保羅在羅馬書第一章婸﹛G“因為他們雖然知道神,卻不當作神榮耀他,也不感謝他。他們的思念變為虛妄,無知的心就昏暗了。”【羅馬書 1:21】描繪這種品質的另一個詞就是“不感激”。然而基督徒不能以其人之道,還治其人之身,如耶穌說:“你們倒要愛仇敵,也要善待他們,并要借給人不指望償還。你們的賞賜就必大了,你們也必作至高者的兒子,因為他恩待那忘恩的和作惡的。”【路加福音 6:35】

    “心不聖潔”
    描述與神分離的生活,而不是與世界分離到神那堛漸肮﹞閬﹛C


    末日的醜惡──第二部分

    提摩太後書 3:3 無親情,不解怨,好說讒言,不能自約,性情凶暴,不愛良善,

    所有這些品質,與第二至五節堜畛羲熙ㄛO與基督徒的美德相反的醜惡。愛是最高的美德。不饒恕是一個人把自己看得過高,因此把對他們的過犯看的過高的結果,盡管別人愿意做出賠償。說讒言的就是那些作假見証的人,這是魔鬼的兒女的特徵,這個詞譯自希臘文“διαβολοζ”,在新約堨X現了38次,而35次都被譯作“魔鬼”。

    不能自約是惡人的特徵,這導致凶暴野蠻的行為,恐怖分子和其它施暴的人就有這種特徵。這些人恨惡并反對良善。耶穌和他的使徒所面臨的敵對就是來自恨惡并反對良善的人。


    末日的醜惡──第三部分

    提摩太後書 3:4-5 賣主賣友,任意妄為,自高自大,愛宴樂,不愛神。有敬虔的外貌,卻背了敬虔的實意。這等人你要躲開。

    猶大就是賣主賣友的最典型的例子。賣主賣友就是那些假作朋友,結果在背後捅刀子的人。任意妄為的人就做事衝動,或在沒有足夠的思考和調查之前就急忙做決定的人。那些活著就是為了享樂的人就是愛宴樂的。什麼事如果沒有樂趣,他們就不會去做。如果有樂趣,無論對自己和它人是否有負面的結果,他們都會去做。這個類別媮晱]括“敬虔的”人,但他們只是在名義上“敬虔”,就如唯名的基督徒一樣。他們喜歡背被稱作基督徒,卻不愿像基督徒那樣去生活。

    保羅告訴提摩太要避開這種人,指的是肯定他們的行為的友誼。因為這種人當然需要福音,所以不能排除與這種人有任何關系,但在基督徒中則不能這樣。因為保羅寫到:“我先前寫信給你們說:不可與淫亂的人相交。此話不是指這世上一概行淫亂的,或貪婪的、勒索的,或拜偶像的﹔若是這樣,你們除非離開世界方可。但如今我寫信給你們說:若有稱為弟兄是行淫亂的,或貪婪的,或拜偶像的,或辱罵的,或醉酒的,或勒索的,這樣的人不可與他相交,就是與他吃飯都不可。因為審判教外的人與我何幹?教內的人豈不是你們審判的嗎?至于外人,有神審判他們。你們應當把那惡人從你們中間趕出去。”【哥林多前書 5:9-13】


    易受騙的婦女

    提摩太後書 3:6-7 那偷進人家,牢籠無知婦女的,正是這等人。這些婦女擔負罪惡,被各樣的私欲引誘,常常學習,終久不能明白真道。

    雖然這樣說在政治上是不正確的,但女人,因為“是軟弱的器皿”【彼得前書 3:7】)具有比男人更容易受騙的特徵,因此,有比如不許女人教導男人的限制。“我不許女人講道,也不許她轄管男人,只要沉靜。因為先造的是亞當,後造的是夏娃﹔且不是亞當被引誘,乃是女人被引誘,陷在罪。”【提摩太前書 2:12-14】從另一方面講,女人在學習能力上與男人相比有差距。因此,隨著女權主義的影響日益泛濫,美國的教育標准和指數都逐步下降。

    夏娃是一個反映出女人易受騙性質的先例。保羅寫到:“我只怕你們的心或偏于邪,失去那向基督所存純一清潔的心,就像蛇用詭詐誘惑了夏娃一樣。”【哥林多後書 11:3】在提摩太前書堿陘偵羃“老婦荒渺的話”【提摩太前書 4:7】,而不是說“老夫荒渺的話”呢?因為女人易犯這樣的錯,編出荒渺的話,并輕信這樣的話,就像小孩一樣。還有,女人容易被惡人吸引,就如夏娃選擇魔鬼而不是亞當一樣。而且保羅在這婸〞熙o些惡人利用這些弱點。


    明顯的邪僻

    提摩太後書 3:8-9 從前雅尼和佯庇怎樣敵擋摩西,這等人也怎樣敵擋真道。他們的心地壞了,在真道上是可廢棄的。然而他們不能再這樣敵擋,因為他們的愚昧必在眾人面前顯露出來,像那二人一樣。

    傳統上認為雅尼和佯庇就是與摩西敵對的埃及博士和術士(【出埃及記 7:11,12,22】)。根據這一點,再加上前一章的上下文,他指的也許是假教師。同樣,彼得類似地寫到:“那些隨肉身,縱污穢的情欲,輕慢主治之人的,更是如此。他們膽大任性,毀謗在尊位的,也不知懼怕。就是天使,雖然力量權能更大,還不用毀謗的話在主面前告他們。但這些人好像沒有靈性,生來就是畜類,以備捉拿宰殺的。他們毀謗所不曉得的事,正在敗壞人的時候,自己必遭遇敗壞。”【彼得後書 2:10-12】他還說:“他們應許人得以自由,自己卻作敗壞的奴仆。因為人被誰制伏就是誰的奴仆。”【彼得後書 2:19】

    這種人根本的一個態度就是反對真理。真理對他們來說不重要。“他們既然故意不認識神,神就任憑他們存邪僻的心行那些不合理的事﹔”【羅馬書 1:28】

    這些人的愚拙過不了多久就會在眾人面前明顯地曝露出來。因此,他們對基督徒其實并不是太大的威脅。這不是最危險的那種狼。真正危險的是那些更狡猾,更會妝扮自己,用更陰險的方式引進異端的人。


    保羅是值得效仿的

    提摩太後書 3:10-11 但你已經服從了我的教訓、品行、志向、信心、寬容、愛心、忍耐,以及我在安提阿、以哥念、路司得所遭遇的逼迫、苦難。我所忍受是何等的逼迫,但從這一切苦難中,主都把我救出來了。

    帶門徒不只是要把信息傳遞下去,還要樹立起榜樣。對保羅來說,他最重要的經歷就是他遭受逼迫又得救的事,正像我們最看重的耶穌的經歷就是他被逼迫致死,又從死奡_活。保羅這樣寫很可能是要鼓勵提摩太,因為提摩太將要遇到逼迫,不但因為他與保羅的關系,還因為他的事奉包括與假教師對抗。

    保羅同樣給帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒寫到:“弟兄們,你們曾效法猶太中,在基督耶穌堹囿漲U教會,因為你們也受了本地人的苦害,像他們受了猶太人的苦害一樣。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:14】

    這埵酗@個問題,一個基督徒在沒有經歷逼迫的風暴時能夠真心地說他經歷了與基督的關系嗎?


    你要受到逼迫

    提摩太後書 3:12-13 不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。只是作惡的和迷惑人的,必越久越惡,他欺哄人,也被人欺哄。

    這個受逼迫的原理是立志敬虔度日的必然結果。為什麼呢?主要是因為敬虔的人指証出別人的罪。耶穌說:“世人不能恨你們,卻是恨我,因為我指証他們所做的事是惡的。”【約翰福音 7:7】若世人不恨你,其原因也可能如此。耶穌說:“世人若恨你們,你們知道(或作“該知道”),恨你們以先,已經恨我了。你們若屬世界,世界必愛屬自己的。只因你們不屬世界,乃是我從世界中揀選了你們,所以世界就恨你們。”【約翰福音 15:18-19】因此,如果你是真正的基督徒,要為受逼迫作好准備,因為耶穌自己預言說:“并且你們要為我的名,被眾人恨惡,惟有忍耐到底的,必然得救。”【馬太福音 10:22】但要鼓起勇氣:“人為人子恨惡你們,拒絕你們,辱罵你們,棄掉你們的名,以為是惡,你們就有福了。當那日,你們要歡喜跳躍,因為你們在天上的賞賜是大的。他們的祖宗待先知也是這樣。”【路加福音 6:22-23】

    有些人故意假裝信,假作信徒,以誤導基督徒。最後,他們相信了自己的謊言。保羅就對抗了耶路撒冷教會堛漱@個異端。他是這樣概括他們的:“因為有偷著引進來的假弟兄,私下窺探我們在基督耶穌堛漲菪恁A要叫我們作奴仆。”【加拉太書 2:4】有時整個教派會在假教義的基礎上出現,逼迫他們圈子以外的基督徒。雖然在其發展的早期很難看出來,但從他們所結的果子,你可以認出他們來。


    學習和應用神的道

    提摩太後書 3:14-17 但你所學習的,所確信的,要存在心堙Q因為你知道是跟誰學的,并且知道你是從小明白聖經,這聖經能使你因信基督耶穌有得救的智慧。聖經都是神所默示的(或作“凡神所默示的聖經”),于教訓、督責、使人歸正、教導人學義都是有益的,叫屬神的人得以完全,預備行各樣的善事。

    過基督徒生活主要是遵守神的道──學習神的道,把神的道付之于應用。提摩太很幸運,因為他自幼直到現在作保羅的學生和門徒都有生活中的榜樣。耶穌說:“你們若常常遵守我的道,就真是我的門徒。”【約翰福音 8:31】我們是通過神的道進入信堛滿C“信道是從聽道來的,聽道是從基督的話來的。”【羅馬書 10:17】而且,“你們蒙了重生,不是由于能壞的種子,乃是由于不能壞的種子,是借著神活潑常存的道。”【彼得前書 1:23】所以,“就要愛慕那純淨的靈奶,像才生的嬰孩愛慕奶一樣,叫你們因此漸長,以致得救。”【彼得前書 2:2】

    你計劃多麼知道聖經呢?為了造就你的深信和得出應用,你愿意在學習聖經上花多少時間、精力和努力呢?“因為這不是虛空與你們無關的事,乃是你們的生命,”【申命記 32:47a】


    Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Timothy 3:1-17 (web)

Separate from the ungodly

3:1 But know this, that in the last days, grievous times will come.
3:2 For men will be lovers of self, lovers of money, boastful,
arrogant, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,
3:3 without natural affection, unforgiving, slanderers,
without self-control, fierce, no lovers of good,
3:4 traitors, headstrong, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God;
3:5 holding a form of godliness, but having denied the power thereof.

Turn away from these, also.

3:6 For of these are those who creep into houses, and take captive gullible women loaded down with sins, led away by various lusts,
3:7 always learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

3:8 Even as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so do these also oppose the truth;
men corrupted in mind, reprobate concerning the faith.
 
3:9 But they will proceed no further.
For their folly will be evident to all men, as theirs also came to be.

Identify with the godly

3:10 But you did follow
my teaching, conduct, purpose, faith, patience, love, steadfastness,
3:11 persecutions, and sufferings: those things that happened to me at Antioch, Iconium, and Lystra. I endured those persecutions. Out of them all the Lord delivered me.
3:12 Yes, and all who desire to live godly in Christ Jesus will suffer persecution.
3:13 But evil men and impostors will grow worse and worse, deceiving and being deceived.

3:14 But you remain in the things which you have learned and have been assured of,
knowing from whom you have learned them.

3:15 From infancy, you have known the sacred writings
which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith, which is in Christ Jesus.
3:16 Every writing inspired by God {literally, God-breathed}is profitable


Discussion Questions

What characteristics in people make you want to be friends with them?
And what characteristics make you want to separate from them?
vs 5 From what kind of people should you separate and in what manner should you separate?
(xrefs 1Cor 5:11; 2Cor 6:14-18)
Personal Evaluation: If people were evaluate your life would they label you as one of the following?
  • narcissist
  • a lover of money 
  • boastful
  • proud
  • abusive
  • disobedient to parents
  • ungrateful
  • unholy
  • without love
  • unforgiving
  • slanders others
  • lacks self-control
  • brutal
  • no+t a lover of good
  • treacherous
  • rash
  • conceited
  • loves pleasure more than God
  • has a form of godliness 

  • (but denies its power)
    Why does godliness attract persecution?
    What role models have helped you put substance and application to your Christian faith?
    vs 10 Personal Evaluation: How might you identify with Paul in the following areas:
    Teaching
    Way of Life
    Purpose
    Faith
    Love
    Patience
    Endurance
    Persecutions
    Sufferings
    Am I instructing others in the truth?
    Am I deriving personal applications?
    What is my objective?
    How strong are my convictions?
    How can I meet the needs of others?
    How long can I tolerate opposition - 
    both from people and circumstances?
    And if I'm not experiencing persecution, then why not?

    vs 16,17 How might you categorize the various ways in which the scripture is useful?
     

    Teaching
    Instructing in what is right in doctrine
    Rebuking
    Convicting of what is wrong in practice
    Correcting
    Convicting of what is wrong in doctrine
    Training in Righteousness
    Instructing in what is right in practice


    Comment

    Last Days

    2Tim 3:1
    But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days.

    This is not to say that the "last days" themselves lie in the future, but rather that in these last days there will be terrible times. For all the way back in Acts 2 Peter applies a verse starting "In the last days" as beginning from Pentecost. Likewise Heb 1:2 "in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son" Furthermore the context of this chapter implies these are things Timothy would encounter.

    Peter follows the same sentiment. "First of all, you must understand that in the last days scoffers will come, scoffing and following their own evil desires." 2Peter 3:3 And such was the case throughout the history of Christianity. Likewise those vices Paul will go on to mention in verses that follow have been characteristically portrayed throughout history.

    To be noted that Paul associated "terrible times" not with natural disasters, but rather due to the wickedness of people. Even today, after so much history, people continue to misidentify the main problem with the world. The main problem with the world is not environmental or economic. The solution is not more science, more education, more funding, more regulations. The problem is the wickedness of people. The solution is the gospel.


    Last Day Vices - Part 1

    2Tim 3:2 For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

    "Lovers of themselves"
    is "philautos" - literally to like oneself. These are those who say to love others you must first love yourself. But in fact this often turns into a justification for narcissism. Jesus said, "The man who loves his life will lose it, while the man who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life." John 12:25 and "If anyone comes to me and does not hate his father and mother, his wife and children, his brothers and sisters— yes, even his own life— he cannot be my disciple." Luke 14:26 The attitude of the narcissist is that of vanity. It's looking out for #1, namely themselves. The live for themselves, seeking their own pleasures. Their purpose in life is to please themselves. Everything else is secondary. And such is characteristic of a good percentage of the people in the world today.

    "Lovers of Money"
    are the greedy and covetous, a vice reflected in most people in the world today. "The love of money is a root of all kinds of evil." 1Tim 6:10 "You cannot serve both God and Money." Mt 6:24 So "keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, "Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you." Heb 13:5

    Pride & Boasting
    As humility is the most essential of all virtues, so Pride is the foundation of all vices. It is reflected by all one does and says, such as in boastfulness. But it says in Pr 27:2 "Let another praise you, and not your own mouth; someone else, and not your own lips."

    Blasphemers
    This word in Greek is derived from a combination of two words "harm" and "reputation".  For example to blaspheme God is to speak of Him in a way that damages His reputation. A double example of this is Acts 6:11 where it is written that, "they secretly induced men to say (of Stephen), 'We have heard him speak blasphemous words against Moses and God.'" Here these claim Stephen blasphemes Moses and God while in fact these men themselves were blaspheming Stephen by doing so.

    Disobedient to Parents
    Non-compliance to authority figures at a young age is not only bad of itself, but leads to a person maturing to become on non-compliant to authority figures later on which damages others as well as oneself.

    Unthankful
    Unthankfulness to God results in corruption of the mind and heart as Paul says in Rom 1:21 "For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened." Or another word to describe this attribute is being "ungrateful". Jesus said, "Love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked." Luke 6:35

    Unholy

    A general term referring to a lifestyle separate from God rather than one separated unto God.



    Last Day Vices - Part 2

    2Tim 3:3  unloving, unforgiving, slanderers, without self-control, brutal, despisers of good,

    All these attributes, along with the others mentioned in vs 2-5 are vices opposite to Christian virtues. Love is highest of virtues. Unforgiveness is a result of one thinking too highly of themselves and therefore too highly of offenses brought against them, despite willingness to make restitution. Slanderers are those who bear false witness, which so characteristic of the children of the devil that the Greek word used is translated "devil" 35 of the 38 times it's used in the KJV.

    The lack of self-control is characteristic of the wick, which lead to brutality and savage behavior. Such is characteristic of terrorists and others who commit acts of atrocity. These despise and oppose the good. The hostility Jesus and his apostles faced was due to such people who despise and oppose the good.


    Last Day Vices - Part 3

    2Tim 3:4,5 traitors, rash, haughty, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, having a form of godliness but denying its power. And from such people turn away!

    Judas was a primary example of a traitor. Traitors are those who feign friendship and end up stabbing you in the back. A rash person makes a rush to judgment, or otherwise makes decisions quickly without sufficient thought and research. Those who live life simply for the purpose of "fun" are lovers of pleasure. If it's not fun, they won't do it. And if it's fun they'll do it regardless of the negative consequences on themselves and others. And this list includes "religious" people, but who are "religious" in name only, such as nominal Christians. They like to be called "Christian", but don't like to live like Christians.

    Paul tells Timothy to shun such people, speaking with regards to friendships which would affirm their behavior. This does not include relationships with those outside the faith. But to shun Christians who misbehave. For Paul writes, "I have written you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people— not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world. But now I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat. What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. 'Expel the wicked man from among you.'" 1Cor 5:9-13


    Gullible Women

    2Tim 3:6,7  For of this sort are those who creep into households and make captives of gullible women loaded down with sins, led away by various lusts, always learning and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

    As politically incorrect as it may be to say this, women, being the "weaker vessel" (1Peter 3:7) are characteristically more gullible than man, and thus, for example are restricted from teaching men. "I do not permit a woman to teach or to have authority over a man; she must be silent.  For Adam was formed first, then Eve. And Adam was not the one deceived; it was the woman who was deceived and became a sinner." 1Tim 2:12-14 And conversely women characteristically have a learning disability in comparison to men. Thus educational standards and statistics have been on the decline in the US in step with the increasing influence of feminism. 

     Eve was a precedent reflected the gullible nature of women. Paul writes, "I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ." 2Cor 11:3 And why the expression "old wives' fables" in 1Tim 4:7? Why not "old husbands' fables"? Because women are prone to such things, coming up with fables and falling for them much as young children do. Furthermore women are prone to being attracted to wicked men, much as Eve chose the devil over Adam. And the wicked men Paul is speaking of take advantage of these attributes.


    Clearly Depraved

    2Tim 3:8,9 Just as Jannes and Jambres opposed Moses, so also these men oppose the truth— men of depraved minds, who, as far as the faith is concerned, are rejected. But they will not get very far because, as in the case of those men, their folly will be clear to everyone.

    Traditionally, Jannes and Jambres were the Egyptian sorcerers who opposed Moses before Pharaoh. (Ex 7:11,12,22) And with this in mind and given the context of the previous chapter he may be alluding to false teachers. Like wise Peter writes of this sort, "They are presumptuous, self-willed. They are not afraid to speak evil of dignitaries, whereas angels, who are greater in power and might, do not bring a reviling accusation against them before the Lord. But these, like natural brute beasts made to be caught and destroyed, speak evil of the things they do not understand, and will utterly perish in their own corruption" 2Peter 2:10-12 And as he also says, "They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity— for a man is a slave to whatever has mastered him." 2Peter 2:19

    A fundamental attribute of such men is they oppose the truth. Truth is not their priority.  "Since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what ought not to be done." Rom 1:28

    These people don't get very far before their folly becomes evident to everyone. And as such they are not really that much threat to the Christian community. These are not the most dangerous type of wolf. The really dangerous ones are those far more sly to disguise themselves better, introducing heresy in a more subtle manner.


    Paul a Role Model

    2Tim 3:10,11 You, however, know all about my teaching, my way of life, my purpose, faith, patience, love, endurance, persecutions, sufferings— what kinds of things happened to me in Antioch, Iconium and Lystra, the persecutions I endured. Yet the Lord rescued me from all of them.

    Making disciples is not just about passing on information, its about being a role model as well. The experiences most significant to Paul were the times he suffered persecution and was rescued, much as Jesus' experiences we highlight His being persecuted to death and His resurrection from the dead. Paul is likely writing this as an encouragement insomuch as Timothy would be facing persecution, not only from his association with Paul, but because his ministry included confronting false teachers.

    Likewise Paul writes of the Thessalonians, "You, brothers, became imitators of God’s churches in Judea, which are in Christ Jesus: You suffered from your own countrymen the same things those churches suffered from the Jews" 1Th 2:14

    Here's a rhetorical question, can a Christian really say that have experienced fellowship with Christ without having weathered through a storm of persecution?


    You will be Persecuted

    2Tim 3:12,13
    In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil men and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived.

    This principle of persecution is an inevitable outcome of trying to live a godly life. Why is that? Primarily because the godly convict others of sin. Jesus said, "The world hates me because I testify that what it does is evil." John 7:7 And if the world doesn't hate you, that could likewise be the reason. Jesus said, "If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you." John 15:18,19 And thus if you are a genuine Christian, prepare to be persecuted, for Jesus Himself predicted, "You will be hated by all for My name’s sake. But he who endures to the end will be saved." Mt 10:22 But take courage, "Blessed are you when men hate you, when they exclude you and insult you and reject your name as evil, because of the Son of Man. Rejoice in that day and leap for joy, because great is your reward in heaven. For that is how their fathers treated the prophets." Luke 6:22,23

    There are those who intentionally feign the faith, posing as imposters for the sake of misleading the Christian community. Eventually they believe their own lies. There was a cult in the church as Jerusalem which Paul confronted. He characterized them in this manner, "This matter arose because some false brothers had infiltrated our ranks to spy on the freedom we have in Christ Jesus and to make us slaves." Gal 2:4 And whole denominations rise up built upon false doctrines, persecuting fellow Christians outside of their sect. Though in early stages of development it may be difficult to discern, but by their fruits you will recognize them.


    Learn and Apply the Word

    2Tim 3:14-17  But as for you, continue in what you have learned and have become convinced of, because you know those from whom you learned it, and how from infancy you have known the holy Scriptures, which are able to make you wise for salvation through faith in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

    The practice of Christian life is largely about abiding in the Word - learning it, and putting it into practice, and Timothy was fortunate to have role models abiding in the Word all the way from his youth to till now been Paul's student and apprentice. Jesus said, "If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed." John 8:31 We enter into the faith through the word. "faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ." Rom 10:17 And we were "born again, not of corruptible seed but incorruptible, through the word of God which lives and abides forever" 1Peter 1:23 So "like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation" 1Pet 2:2

    How well are you planning to know the scriptures? How much time, energy and effort are you willing to set aside to devote yourself to Bible study for the purpose of developing convictions and deriving applications? "They are not just idle words for you— they are your life." Deut 32:47


    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources



    Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 18:31:54 EDT