使徒行傳 5:29-42

公民抗命

5:29 彼得和眾使徒回答說:
順從神,不順從人,是應當的
5:30 你們挂在木頭上殺害的耶穌,
我們祖宗的神已經叫他復活。

5:31 神且用右手將他高舉
(或作“他就是神高舉在自己的右邊”),
叫他作君王,作救主,
將悔改的心,和赦罪的恩,賜給以色列人。

5:32 我們為這事作見証。
神賜給順從之人的聖靈,也為這事作見証。”
5:33 公會的人聽見就極其惱怒,想要殺他們。

5:34 但有一個法利賽人,名叫迦瑪列
是眾百姓所敬重的教法師,在公會中站起來,
吩咐人把使徒暫且帶到外面去。

5:35 就對眾人說:

“以色列人哪,論到這些人,你們應當小心怎樣辦理。
5:36 從前丟大起來,自夸為大。
附從他的人約有四百。他被殺後,
附從他的全都散了,歸于無有。

5:37 此後報名上冊的時候,
又有加利利的猶大起來,引誘些百姓跟從他,
他也滅亡,附從他的人也都四散了。

5:38 現在我勸你們不要管這些人,任憑他們吧,
他們所謀的,所行的,若是出于人,必要敗壞。

5:39 若是出于神,你們就不能敗壞他們。
恐怕你們倒是攻擊神了。”
5:40 公會的人聽從了他,便叫使徒來,
把他們打了,又吩咐他們不可奉耶穌的名講道,
就把他們釋放了。

5:41 他們離開公會,心媗w喜。
因被算是配為這名受辱。

5:42 他們就每日在殿堙A在家堙A
不住地教訓人,傳耶穌是基督。


注釋

公民抗命和遭遇逼迫

雖然所有的權威都是由神設立的,但在有的時候,公民抗命是必要的。因為這些權威有時試圖在他們的合法權威范圍之外行事。神命令把福音傳出去。但這些權威卻試圖壓制福音的傳播,在這樣做時,他們就越出了他們合法的權力范圍。如果人的規則與神的命令相反,基督徒就不需要順從。這個原則的應用當然是有爭議的,要運用智慧,給妥協留下空間。

這個記錄也使我們想起但以理書中,關于沙得拉、米煞、亞伯尼歌拒絕遵守人的權威要求人們敬拜偶像的命令,并且因為他們的不順從被扔在烈火的窯中,但神救他們脫離烈火。他們對王說:

“即便如此,我們所事奉的神能將我們從烈火的窯中救出來。王啊,他也必救我們脫離你的手。即或不然,王啊,你當知道我們決不事奉你的神,也不敬拜你所立的金像。”【但以理書 3:17-18】

在我們事奉神時,神不一定總會救我們脫離苦難。“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】 雖然使徒們這此免于被殺,可還是被打。但他們按照耶穌的話,以信作答。“人若因我辱罵你們,逼迫你們,捏造各樣壞話毀謗你們,你們就有福了。應當歡喜快樂,因為你們在天上的賞賜是大的。在你們以前的先知,人也是這樣逼迫他們。” 【馬太福音 5:11-12】而且,“不但如此,就是在患難中也是歡歡喜喜地,因為知道患難生忍耐﹔” 【羅馬書 5:3】

迦瑪列

迦瑪列是一位著名的律法教師,使徒保羅在信主前曾受教于他。“保羅說:‘我原是猶太人,生在基利家的大數,長在這城堙A在迦瑪列門下,按著我們祖宗嚴緊的律法受教,熱心事奉神,像你們眾人今日一樣。’”【使徒行傳 22:3】盡管如此,保羅沒有聽迦瑪列的勸告,因為我們發現保羅後來公開地逼迫基督徒。但在此時,人們還是在一定程度上聽取了迦瑪列的建議(如果你能把打他們,并要求他們不許講道,等同于不要管這些人的話!)然而迦瑪列的論點并不一定對。一場運動到目前為止的成敗并不反映出其是否出于神。因為如何解釋像伊斯蘭教和其它偏異宗教的成功呢?然而我發現有意思的是,他的論點引進了基督教是出于神的可能性。如果迦瑪列,一位甚至至今仍在猶太人中受到尊敬的猶太教師,愿意承認這個可能性,那麼所有的猶太人難道不應該嗎?因為神蹟,另一位猶太人的教師尼哥底母,來到基督。所以,我可以想象,像迦瑪列這樣一位理性溫和的猶太人,在看到這些行在他眼皮底下的神蹟後,很難輕易否認使徒們所說的。


2023年06月09日

Acts 5:29-42 (web)

Civil Disobedience

5:29 But Peter and the apostles answered,
"We must obey God rather than men
5:30 The God of our fathers raised up Jesus, whom you killed, hanging him on a tree. 
5:31 God exalted him with his right hand to be a Prince and a Savior,
to give repentance to Israel, and remission of sins. 
5:32 We are His witnesses of these things; 
and so also is the Holy Spirit, whom God has given to those who obey him." 
5:33 But they, when they heard this, were cut to the heart, and determined to kill them. 

5:34 But one stood up in the council, a Pharisee named Gamaliel,
a teacher of the law, honored by all the people,
and commanded to put the apostles out for a little while. 
5:35 He said to them, 

"You men of Israel, be careful concerning these men, what you are about to do. 
5:36 For before these days Theudas rose up, making himself out to be somebody; 
to whom a number of men, about four hundred, joined themselves: who was slain; 
and all, as many as obeyed him, were dispersed, and came to nothing. 
5:37 After this man, Judas of Galilee rose up in the days of the enrollment, 
and drew away some people after him. He also perished, 
and all, as many as obeyed him, were scattered abroad. 
5:38 Now I tell you, withdraw from these men, and leave them alone. 
For if this counsel or this work is of men, it will be overthrown. 
5:39 But if it is of God, you will not be able to overthrow it,
and you would be found even to be fighting against God!" 
5:40 They agreed with him. Summoning the apostles, 
they beat them and charged them not to speak in the name of Jesus, and let them go. 
5:41 They therefore departed from the presence of the council, 
rejoicing that they were counted worthy to suffer dishonor for Jesus' name. 
5:42 Every day, in the temple and at home, 
they never stopped teaching and preaching Jesus, the Christ. 
 

Comments

Civil Disobedience and Suffering Persecution

Although it is true that all authorities have been established by God, yet there are times when civil disobedience is called for. For such authorities will at times attempt to act outside their legitimate realm of authority. God had ordained the gospel to be preached, but these authorities attempted to suppress it and in doing so were acting outside of their legitimate realm of authority. Christians are under no obligation to submit to human regulations which are contrary to God's commands. The application of this concept is of course controversial and naturally leaves room for compromise as a matter of wisdom. 

This account also reminds us of the incident in the book of Daniel in which Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego refused to worship an idol under the command of the civil authority, and for their disobedience were thrown into the fire, but were miraculously delivered. Their declaration to the king was:

"If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up." Dan 3:17,18 (niv)
It is not guaranteed that we will be delivered from suffering when we serve God. Rather "everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 3:12 (niv) And even the apostles though delivered from death at this point were beaten. But they reacted in faith to the words of Jesus, "Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you." Matt 5:11,12 (niv) And besides this "we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance" Rom 5:3 (niv)

Gamaliel

Gamaliel was a well known teacher of the Law and who even taught the apostle Paul before he was a believer. (Acts 22:3) Despite this fact it appears that Paul didn't take his advice, for we find him later openly persecuting Christians. But at this time his advice was heeded to a degree (if you can reckon beating them and commanding them not to preach to be the same as leaving them alone!) However Gamaliel's argument does not necessarily follow. The success or failure of a movement does not necessarily reflect its validity.  For what of the success of Islam and other deviant religions? Yet what I find interesting in his argument is that he introduces the idea that it is possible that Christianity is of God. And if Gamaliel, a respected Jewish teacher even today among Jews, is willing to reckon this possibility, shouldn't all Jews? It was because of miracles that Nicodemus, another teacher of Israel, came to Christ. So also I would imagine it difficult for a rational moderate like Gamaliel to easily dismiss the claims of the Apostles in view of the miracles being done under his very nose.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015