使徒行傳 6:1-15

轉向俗人事工

6:1 那時,門徒增多,
有說希利尼話的猶太人,向希伯來人發怨言。
因為在天天的供給上忽略了他們的寡婦。

6:2 十二使徒叫眾門徒來,對他們說:
我們撇下神的道去管理飯食,原是不合宜的

6:3 所以,弟兄們,當從你們中間選出七個有好名聲,
被聖靈充滿,智慧充足的人,我們就派他們管理這事。

6:4 但我們要專心以祈禱傳道為事。”
6:5 大眾都喜悅這話,
就揀選了司提反,乃是大有信心,聖靈充滿的人,
又揀選腓利、伯羅哥羅、尼迦挪、提門、巴米拿,
并進猶太教的安提阿人尼哥拉。

6:6 叫他們站在使徒面前。使徒禱告了,就按手在他們頭上。

6:7 神的道興旺起來。在耶路撒冷門徒數目加增的甚多。
也有許多祭司信從了這道。

6:8 司提反滿得恩惠能力,在民間行了大奇事和神蹟。
6:9 當時有稱利百地拿會堂的幾個人,
并有古利奈、亞力山太、基利家、亞西亞,
各處會堂的幾個人,都起來,和司提反辯論。

6:10 司提反是以智慧和聖靈說話,眾人敵擋不住。
6:11 就買出人來說:
“我們聽見他說謗讟摩西和神的話。”

6:12 他們又聳動了百姓、長老,并文士,
就忽然來捉拿他,把他帶到公會去,

6:13 設下假見証說:
“這個人說話,不住地糟踐聖所和律法。

6:14 我們曾聽見他說,這拿撒勒人耶穌,要毀壞此地,
也要改變摩西所交給我們的規條。”

6:15 在公會塈今菄漱H,都定睛看他,
見他的面貌好像天使的面貌。


注釋

事奉:做這還是做那與兩者都做

“我們撇下神的道去管理飯食,原是不合宜的。”【使徒行傳 6:2b】

“我們就派他們管理這事。【使徒行傳 6:3b,4】

我的印象是,使徒們在此表現出的態度不太像基督,而是有點精英主義。不幸的是,神職人員歷來多少有這樣的特徵。這不是耶穌所教的。他難道沒有既事奉神的道,又管理飯食嗎?事實上,在最後的晚餐後,他給門徒們洗腳,教的正是這一點。他難道沒有說:“只是在你們中間不可這樣。你們中間誰愿為大,就必作你們的用人。誰愿為首,就必作你們的仆人。”【馬太福音 20:26,27】在面對五千餓著肚子的人時,難道耶穌沒有說:“你們給他們吃吧。” 【馬太福音 14:16b】傳講神的道是一回事。行神的道又是另一回事。注意到在司提反被選出來事奉實際需要後發生了什麼。

後來,我們讀到腓利,另一個在這堻Q選出來事奉的人,他給撒瑪利亞人宣講神的道。為什麼司提反和腓利能夠既“管理飯食”(如使徒們輕蔑地稱呼的那樣),又傳講神的道呢?

阻礙教會成熟的事有很多。其中一個就是“神職人員”的精英態度,在他們看來,會眾是由蠢笨的羊構成的,他們只能做些瑣碎的工作。另一個就是會眾的懶惰,他們甘心情愿地幫著壓制他們自己的有用之處,避免承擔責任,把自己看作不過是一群蠢笨的羊。但也有像司提反和腓利這樣的人,他們不但做那些居高臨下的神職人員分配給他們的瑣碎工作,還竭力地去完成大使命,雖然那些神職人員甚至都跟不上他們。

耶穌對使徒們說:“但聖靈降臨在你們身上,你們就必得著能力,并要在耶路撒冷、猶太全地和撒瑪利亞,直到地極,作我的見証。”【使徒行傳 1:8】然而,最先把福音傳到耶路撒冷之外的是其他基督徒。腓利是第一個給撒瑪利亞人傳道的人﹔“居比路和古利奈人”向希利尼人傳道,開始了安提阿的教會﹔保羅和巴拿巴是第一個給亞西亞的外邦人講道的。耶穌告訴他的使徒們去使萬民作他的門徒,但去的卻是其他人。事實上,十一位使徒過了很長一段時間才從耶路撒冷走出去。我猜想,那是神選擇保羅做第十二位使徒的原因,因為看到其他使徒在執行他的命令時太緩慢了。

如我們在前面提到的那樣,神用神蹟來肯定神的道。通常,只有使徒們行神蹟,因為只有他們的話需要得到肯定。但在這堙A我們看到神通過司提反行神蹟,雖然司提反不是使徒。為什麼呢?因為神在這媬嚝雈L,而不是使徒,因此用神蹟來肯定他的話。司提反將成為第一位基督徒殉道者。因為神常常舉起謙卑的仆人,這些仆人擔負起被別人輕蔑地拒絕掉的任務。司提反可以說:“傳道不是我的活,我是管理飯食的。”但他不只完成了機構的任務,還盡了他屬靈的職責。

基督徒中的偏見

猶太人是典型的種族主義者,抱持偏見和精英主義,更不用說與這些態度相隨的假冒為善。這在新約媥歷可見。通常,不但不信的猶太人如此,信主的猶太人也是如此。我們在羅馬書第二章,保羅給猶太人的信息堿搢麭o一點。我們從使徒行傳第十章,彼得對給哥尼流傳道的勉強,和第十一章堥銗L猶太人對此的反應,還有加拉太書第二章堳O羅甚至不得不斥責拒絕與外邦人一同吃飯的彼得,也可以看到這一點。

“說希利尼話的猶太人”是指“被希利尼化的猶太人”。他們是猶太人,大多出生在別的國家,從小說希臘文。“希伯來人”是自認為更純正的猶太人,他們排斥外來的希臘影響,認為這種影響是對他們文化的威協。要完成大使命,就必須破除這種排外的障礙。可嘉的是,使徒們至少認真地對待這件事,選擇有好名聲,被聖靈充滿,智慧充足的人來管這件事。當然,使徒們也許沒有太多的這種偏見,因為他們來自加利利,與耶路撒冷相比,那塈韟h地受到希臘文化的影響。但大家都懂得,善待遇到困難的寡婦是實踐宗教的一個重要部分,神在舊約堭j調了這一點。比如:

“你又要在耶和華你神面前說:‘我已將聖物從我家堮野X來,給了利未人和寄居的,與孤兒、寡婦,是照你所吩咐我的一切命令。你的命令我都沒有違背,也沒有忘記。’” 【申命記 26:13】

祭司信主

眾多祭司信主代表著基督徒中的人口結構的改變。從耶穌事奉的初期直到早期教會,基本上沒有高職位的宗教官員。門徒們主要是普通的猶太人,甚至那些被社會鄙視的人,比如以前的娼妓和稅吏之類。無疑,福音的傳講最後使許多祭司認罪,就如他們自己以前說的那樣。“你們倒把你們的道理充滿了耶路撒冷,想要叫這人的血歸到我們身上。”【使徒行傳 5:28b】也可能,很多人被司提反的護教說服,因為他對聖經很熟。但我們應該明白,路加是從記錄歷史的意義上說:“信從了這道”。指的是他們外在的行為。但我懷疑,根據後來的一些段落,有些人進入基督徒中是出于錯誤的動機,比如對眾人的懼怕,因為迎合眾人被証明通常是宗教精英的動機,有的是為了窺探,如保羅在加拉太書堜珨﹛G“因為有偷著引進來的假弟兄,私下窺探我們在基督耶穌堛漲菪恁A要叫我們作奴仆。”【加拉太書 2:4】

司提反被捉拿受審

司提反受審的一個非常重要方面就是後來將成為使徒的保羅在場,他贊成司提反被人用石頭打死。我們將在下一章堿搢麭o個事實。保羅來自大數,一個座落在基利家的城,我們在第9節堿搢鴞釣茼菾穨Q家的人與司提反辯論。無疑,保羅也在他們中間。有意思的是在使徒行傳快要結束的時候,保羅在幾乎完全一樣的情形下,因為類似的原因,站在司提反的位置,在公會受審。“他們聽見人說,你教訓一切在外邦的猶太人離棄摩西,對他們說,不要給孩子行割禮,也不要遵行條規。”【使徒行傳 21:21】

在此要學的一件事就是,不要低估傳講福音的效果。有些人也許會說,司提反不應該和這些人辯論。他們沒有信,而結果是他的死。但那是短視的。在他們回顧這件事時,誰能說這件事對像保羅和其他人的影響有多麼大,有多麼積極。至于他的死,耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,一粒麥子不落在地埵漱F,仍舊是一粒。若是死了,就結出許多子粒來。”【約翰福音 12:24】事實上,耶穌自己不是也在死後結出更多的果子嗎?甚至幾千年後的今天,也能從這場衝突中學到很多動西。

第10節堙A我們讀到,司提反是以智慧和聖靈說話,眾人敵擋不住。我們需要以令人信服的方式說話。不只是給出信息,還要給出其意義和應用,信息的靈。但要避免胡亂猜測。因為你的對手總會功擊你最弱的弱點。如果你的論証很強,他們要麼同意你,要麼誹謗你,故意曲解你的意思。我遇到很多懷疑的人,他們總是這樣對待聖經,有意曲解聖經,企圖抹黑聖經。但結果他們總是抹黑自己,顯示出他們要麼是誹謗者,要麼思想混亂,無法正確地解釋事情。

第11節 他們沒有自己告司提反謗讟,說明他們在政治上的狡猾。因為他沒有說任何謗讟的話。但他們引誘,甚至賄賂別人來誹謗司提反,這樣他們自己就可以說他們沒有誹謗。

在這個審判中,司提反一定能夠與耶穌感同身受,因為他遭受了一些類似的事。事實上在兩件事中,聲稱耶穌說他要拆毀聖殿的指控都浮出水面。這些指控只是為了在猶太人中挑起宗教的熱心,到了想要殺人的程度。有意思的是,宗教上最為熱心的人結果會成為最嗜血的人。

第15節他的面貌好像天使的面貌是什麼意思呢?今天,很多人以為天使是溫柔,美麗,女性化的被造物,長著翅膀。但在舊約堙A天使以男性形像顯現自己,而且在面對敵人時往往是致命的。司提反就像死神一樣。他的樣子庄重深沉,很嚴肅。他大膽地站在那堙A完全深信,就如在神的面前一樣,充滿聖靈,准備好了用聖靈的寶劍把他們削成碎片。他是神派來斥責宗教精英的使者。


2023年12月13日

Acts 6:1-15 (web)

A Shift to Lay Ministry

6:1 Now in those days, when the number of the disciples was multiplying,
a complaint arose from the Grecian Jews against the Hebrews
because their widows were neglected in the daily service. 
6:2 The twelve summoned the multitude of the disciples and said,
"It is not appropriate for us to forsake the word of God and serve tables
6:3 Therefore select from among you, brothers, seven men of good report,
full of the Holy Spirit and of wisdom, whom we may appoint over this business. 
6:4 But we will continue steadfastly in prayer and in the ministry of the word." 
6:5 These words pleased the whole multitude. 
They chose Stephen, a man full of faith and of the Holy Spirit, Philip,
Prochorus, Nicanor, Timon, Parmenas, and Nicolaus, a proselyte of Antioch; 
6:6 whom they set before the apostles. When they had prayed, they laid their hands on them. 

6:7 The word of God increased and the number of the disciples multiplied in Jerusalem exceedingly. 
A great company of the priests were obedient to the faith. 

6:8 Stephen, full of faith and power, performed great wonders and signs among the people. 
6:9 But some of those who were of the synagogue called "The Libertines," and of the Cyrenians,
of the Alexandrians, and of those of Cilicia and Asia arose, disputing with Stephen. 
6:10 They weren't able to withstand the wisdom and the Spirit by which he spoke. 
6:11 Then they secretly induced men to say,
"We have heard him speak blasphemous words against Moses and God." 
6:12 They stirred up the people, the elders, and the scribes,
and came against him and seized him, and brought him in to the council, 
6:13 and set up false witnesses who said, 
"This man never stops speaking blasphemous words against this holy place and the law. 
6:14 For we have heard him say that this Jesus of Nazareth will destroy this place,
and will change the customs which Moses delivered to us." 
6:15 All who sat in the council, fastening their eyes on him, 
saw his face like it was the face of an angel. 
 

Comments

Ministry:  Either/Or versus Both/And

"It would not be right for us to neglect the ministry of the word of God 
in order to wait on tables."Acts 6:2 (niv)

"We will turn this responsibility over to them 
and will give our attention to prayer and the ministry of the word." Acts 6:3b,4 (niv)

I have the impression that the attitude revealed by the Apostles here is not ideally Christlike, but rather communicates a bit of elitism which has historically been unfortunately somewhat characteristic of clergy. This is not what Jesus taught. Didn't he do both the ministry and wait on tables. In fact was that not his lesson when after the Last Supper he washed the disciples feet. And did he not say that, "whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave." Matt 20:26,27 And so also when faced with feeding the 5000 didn't Jesus say, "You give them something to eat." Matt 14:16 Preaching the Word is one thing. Doing it is another. Notice also what happens after Stephen is chosen to serve meeting this practical need. 
  • God works miracles through him
  • He preaches bodly. In fact Acts 7 is almost entirely a sermon Stephen preaches.
And later we read of Philip, another one chosen to serve here, preaching the Word of God to the Samaritans. So how is that Stephen and Philip were both able to "wait on tables" (as the Apostles contemptuously refer to it), and also preach the Word, seeing as the Apostle's themselves didn't seem to be able to do both? 

Many things have hindered the growth of the church unto maturity. One is the elitist attitude of the "clergy" who view their congregation as simply composed of stupid sheep incapable of doing nothing more than the most menial tasks. Another is the laziness of the congregation who are willing accomplices in suppressing their own usefulness, avoiding responsibilities by reckoning themselves as nothing but stupid sheep. But there are those like Stephen and Philip who go beyond the menial responsibilities assigned to them by a condescending clery, and press on to fulfill the Great Commission while the clergy can't even keep up to them. 

Speaking to his apostles Jesus said, "you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth." Acts 1:9. But in fact it was other Christians who first went beyond Jerusalem. For Philip was the first to preach to the Samaritans, and "men from Cyprus and Cyrene" preached to the Hellenists starting the church at Antioch, and Paul and Barnabus were first to the Gentiles in Asia. Jesus told his apostles to go and make disciples of all nations, but others were the ones to go. In fact it appears it took quite a while before the Eleven even got out of Jerusalem. I suspect that's why God chose Paul as the 12th Apostle - seeing as the others were simply too slow carrying out His orders.

As I mentioned previously God does miracles to affirm His Word. Normally miracles are done by the Apostles alone, for it is their word which needs affirming. But here we see God doing miracles through Stephen - not an apostle. Why? Because God chose him over the apostles to preach here and affirmed his words with miracles. He would become the first Christian martyr. For God often lifts up the humble servant, who takes up the responsibilities that others contemptuously reject. And Stephen could have said, "It's not my job to preach, but just to wait on tables." But he went beyond his institutional tasks to fulfill his spiritual responsibilities.

Prejudicial Treatment in the Christian Community

The Jews were characteristically racist, prejudice, elitist, and not to mention hypocritical which naturally follows such attitudes. This is seen throughout the New Testament. It was generally true both of believing and unbelieving Jews. We see it in Paul's message to Jews in Romans chapter 2. We see it in Peter's reluctance to preach to Cornelius in Acts 10 and the response of the other Jews in Acts 11, and in Galatians 2 where Paul even had to rebuke Peter for refusing to eat with Gentiles. 

The "Hellenists" or "Grecians" were "Greekish Jews". They were Jews generally born in foreign lands and speaking Greek as their native language. The Palestinian Jews saw themselves as more pure Jews and were somewaht xenophobic of Greek influences which threatened to overrun the culture. Breaking these xenophobic barriers was essential to completing of the Great Commission. And it is to their credit that the Apostles at least took this seriously and had men assigned to the task who were of good reputation and full of the Holy Spirit and wisdom. Of course the apostles were prehaps less prone to prejudice in this matter as most of them came from Galilee which was rather Hellenistic in comparison to Jerusalem. But also taking care of widows in their distress was understood to be an essential aspect of the practice of religion as God emphasized in the Old Testament, and as James, the brother of Jesus, later writes in his epistle.

"Religion that's perfect, God confesses, 
Is to help orphan and widows in their distresses, 
And to keep oneself from being polluted, 
For sin in the world is firmly rooted." Jas 1:27  (arv)

The Conversion of Priests

The conversion of a multitude of Jewish priests represents a signficant shift in the demographics of the Christian community. For both through Jesus' ministry and up to this point the early church had been relatively devoid of those of high religious office. The disciples had been mostly common Jews, and even those relatively despised in the society such as former prostitutes and tax collectors and such. No doubt the preaching of the gospel finally brought many priests to conviction of sin, just as they themselves had said before, "You have filled Jerusalem with your teaching and are determined to make us guilty of this man's blood."Acts 5:28 It is also probable that many were convinced by Stephen's apologetics as he was quite adept in the scriptures. But also we should realize that Luke is written in an historical descriptive sense when he says they were "obedient to the faith" referencing their outward behavior. But I suspect, based also on some future passages, that there were those who entered the Christian community out of false motives, such as fear of the crowd, as popularity had been shown to be a common motivation of the religious elite, and also to spy, as Paul mentions in Galatians 2:4

Stephen Brought to Trial

A very significant aspect of Stephen's trial, which I'll also bring up in the next chapter is the fact that the future Apostle Paul was present, consenting to his final stoning. Paul was from Tarsus, a city in Cilicia of which we see Ciliceans arguing with Stephen in verse 9. No doubt Paul was among them. It is interesting also that near the end of Acts Paul would stand in Stephen's place in almost an identical situation in which he was also judged by the Sanhedrin for similar reasons (Acts 21:21

One lesson to be learned from this is to not underestimate the effect of preaching the message. Some may say that Stephen shouldn't have bother to argue with these people. They didn't come to believe, and it only ended in his death. But that is short sighted.  Who can say how great and positive an impact this event had on people like Paul and others as they looked back at it. And as for his death, Jesus said "Unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds." John 12:24 In fact wasn't Jesus himself shown to be most fruitful after he died? And there is much to be learned in this confrontation which can edify Christians even today thousands of years later.

In verse 10 we read that they were not able to resist his wisdom and the spirit by which he spoke. We need to be able to speak in a convincing manner.  And not just giving out information, but giving the sense and the application, the spirit of the message. But avoid wild speculation. For your opponents will always attack your weakest point. If your argument is strong, they will either agree with you or end up slandering you, purposely misinterpreting your message. I've met many skeptics who do that with the Bible all the time, purposely misinterpreting it so as to discredit it. But they only end up discrediting themselves, revealing themselves either as slanderers or so deviant in their thinking as to render them incapable of interpreting things correctly.

vs 11 indicates some political slyness in that they didn't themselves accuse him of slander. For he hadn't said anything slanderous. But rather they induced, or perhaps even bribed, some others to slander him - just to make sure they wouldn't be accused of slander. 

In this trial Stephen must have really been able to identify with Christ, as He went though very similar things. In fact in both cases the accusation of claiming that Jesus said he would destroy the temple came up. These accusations were simply to stir up the religious zeal among the Jews to the point of murder. (Funny how the most religiously zealous can end up being the most bloodthirsty)

Touched by an Angel

vs 15 What does it mean by seeing his face as an angel. Today many think of angels as gentle, beautiful, feminine type of creatures with wings. But angels in the Old Testament revealed themselves as men and often deadly when facing the enemy. Stephen was like the angel of death. His look was grave and profound - very serious. He stood there boldly in full conviction of faith as if in the presence of God, full of the Holy Spirit, ready to wield the sword of the Spirit and cut them into pieces. He was God's messenger of rebuke to these religious elite.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015