使徒行傳 7:1-53

司提反在公會說的話

司提反在公會說的是一個在當時被人們所接受的對舊約的概括。我在此只想說一說我認為是司提反的要點。對司提反的指控是關于摩西、律法和殿,聖所的概念。

一、神關于他的子民的模型是在世上寄居,而不是在世上安頓下來

  1. 亞伯拉罕、以撒、雅各和十二位先祖都是寄居的,住在帳棚堙A就連後來在成為以色列的地上也是如此。亞伯拉罕事實上是來自迦勒底的外邦人。摩西也是寄居的。以色列人在曠野徘徊時,也是寄居的。這就引入第二點。
  2. 神的殿本來是一個帳棚,而不是用石頭和木材建成的。因為交給摩西建造帳幕的樣式是帳棚。直到大衛王的時候,神才允許建殿宇。但事實上,神不把他的顯現限制在建筑堙C

更多注釋

這將是新約的一個主題,因為福音本身提倡不要把今生看作家,并且不要把福音限制在某個地方,比如以色列,而要把福音傳到全世界。這是一些關于義人在世上作為寄居的經文。

“你們既稱那不偏待人,按各人行為審判人的主為父,就當存敬畏的心,度你們在世寄居的日子。”【彼得前書 1:17】

“他因著信就在所應許之地作客,好像在異地居住帳棚,與那同蒙一個應許的以撒、雅各一樣。因為他等候那座有根基的城,就是神所經營,所建造的。” 【希伯來書 11:9-10】

“這些人都是存著信心死的,并沒有得著所應許的,卻從遠處望見,且歡喜迎接,又承認自己在世上是客旅,是寄居的。說這樣話的人是表明自己要找一個家鄉。他們若想念所離開的家鄉,還有可以回去的機會。他們卻羨慕一個更美的家鄉,就是在天上的。所以神被稱為他們的神,并不以為恥,因為他已經給他們預備了一座城。”【希伯來書 11:13-16】

他們不屬世界,正如我不屬世界一樣。”【約翰福音 17:16】


應用

1. 與耶穌同行的一部分就是不把這堿搷@是我們最終的歸宿和真正的家。因此,我們應該把我們所擁有的看作是從神借的。我們不應該用屬世的方式讓我們自己舒服,而要接受我們在世是在異鄉寄居的,我們的行為應像出生在天上的。

2. 教會不是建筑。然而為什麼“教會”這個詞往往與某幢建筑聯系在一起呢?基督徒并不是“去教會”,基督徒就是教會。“豈不知你們是神的殿,神的靈住在你們媕Y嗎?”【哥林多前書 3:16】教會不是座落在街角的一幢建筑。基督徒們在哪,教會就在哪。癡迷于教會的機構化方面是屬世的酵對基督徒們的影響,這帶來很大的敗壞,就如其在司提反與之講話的宗教精英堣@樣。但如果你置疑教會的機構化方面,你有可能會像司提反一樣被人用石頭打死。在歐洲的黑暗時代,的確時常發生這樣的事。


二、遠非獻身于神,以色列的歷史所表現出的特徵是悖逆和拜偶像,拒絕神的道和神的先知

1. 他們的祖先拒絕摩西,摩西象徵著被拒絕的基督

“那曾對以色列人說:‘神要從你們弟兄中間給你們興起一位先知像我’的,就是這位摩西。”【使徒行傳 7:37】

那位先知就是耶穌。

摩西
耶穌
他出生時法老要殺他
他把神的子民從埃及救出來
被神蹟証明
被他自己的人拒絕
說神的道
他出生時希律王要殺他
他把神的子民從他們的罪堭洏X來
被神蹟証明
被他自己的人拒絕
說神的道
如果把“摩西”換作“耶穌”,他的論點就可以更清楚

“他(耶穌)以為弟兄必明白神是借他的手搭救他們。他們卻不明白。”【使徒行傳 7:25】

“那欺負鄰舍的,把他(耶穌)推開說:
‘誰立你作我們的首領和審判官呢?’”
【使徒行傳 7:27】

“這摩西,就是百姓棄絕說:
‘誰立你作我們的首領和審判官’的。
神卻借那在荊棘中顯現之使者的手,
差派他(耶穌)作首領,作救贖的。”
【使徒行傳 7:35】

“那曾對以色列人說:
‘神要從你們弟兄中間給你們興起一位先知(耶穌)像我’的,就是這位摩西。”
【使徒行傳 7:37】

“我們的祖宗不肯聽從,反棄絕他(耶穌)
心娷k向埃及,”
【使徒行傳 7:39】

“對亞倫說:‘你且為我們造些神像,
在我們前面引路。因為領我們出埃及地的那個摩西,
我們不知道他遭了什麼事。’”
【使徒行傳 7:40】

“那時,他們造了一個牛犢,
又拿祭物獻給那像,歡喜自己手中的工作。”
【使徒行傳 7:41】

2. 就像他們的祖先一樣,他們的宗教活動其實是崇拜偶像
【使徒行傳 7:42】神就轉臉不顧,任憑他們事奉天上的日月星辰,正如先知書上所寫的說:‘以色列家啊,你們四十年間在曠野,豈是將犧牲和祭物獻給我嗎?
43你們抬著摩洛的帳幕,和理番神的星。就是你們所造為要敬拜的像。因此,我要把你們遷到巴比倫外去。’

在第43節堙A司提反引用了阿摩司關于以色列人被擄到大馬色的預言。

“以色列家啊,你們在曠野四十年,豈是將祭物和供物獻給我呢?你們抬著為自己所造之摩洛的帳幕,和偶像的龕,并你們的神星。所以我要把你們擄到大馬色以外。這是耶和華,名為萬軍之神說的。”【阿摩司書 5:25-27】

但這也是預言性的,因為在公元七十年,羅馬人擄掠了耶路撒冷,甚至毀壞了殿宇,與司提反對話的這些猶太人自己也被迫離開耶路撒冷。(這有點像他們誣告司提反說的話。)的確,如果我們繼續讀阿摩司的預言:“耶和華,萬軍之神說:‘以色列家啊,我必興起一國攻擊你們。他們必欺壓你們,從哈馬口直到亞拉巴的河。’”【阿摩司書 6:14】阿摩司指的是亞述人,但把這個預言應用到使徒行傳堛熊S太人,欺壓他們的國家將是羅馬人。我們在這堿搢鴗@個預言有雙重應驗的例子。


應用

這也是對基督徒的一個警告。雖然我們也許在做基督徒的事,就像猶太人在他們的殿媊m祭一樣,但事實上,如果我們不以正確的靈去做這些事,這些活動只被看作是在事奉撒但,而不是在事奉神。在拜偶像的人中,也有宗教人士在他們的廟宇媟q拜他們的神。保羅對他們說:“創造宇宙和其中萬物的神,既是天地的主,就不住人手所造的殿,” 【使徒行傳 17:24】如果我們把我們關于神的概念限制在人手所造的殿,或機構化的教會堙A那麼也許我們只是把神看作是一位假“神”,就像異教徒和摩門教徒看他一樣,而不是把他當作天地的主。讓我們不要像這些在宗教上狂熱,卻又不信的猶太領袖一樣,他們沉迷于字句,卻不得其精意。因為他們以他們所有的宗教熱心,抗拒聖靈,結果試圖親自毀壞神真正的殿宇。

最後一點:神住在哪堙H

“因為那至高至上,永遠長存(原文作“住在永遠”),名為聖者的如此說:‘我住在至高至聖的所在,也與心靈痛悔謙卑的人同居,要使謙卑人的靈蘇醒,也使痛悔人的心蘇醒。’”【以賽亞書 57:15】

神在你的心堙A有一個家嗎?


2023年05月28日

Acts 7:1-53

Stephen's Speech to the Council

Much of Stephen's speech involves an overview of the Old Testament as it was generally accepted at the time. What I would like to do is simply to give some hightlights which bring out what I think is Stephen's main points. The accusations against him had to do with Moses, the Law, and the Temple, the concept of a holy place. 

A. God's model for his people is one of sojourneying on the earth rather than one of settling down

1. Abraham, Isaac, Jacob and the twelve Patriarchs were sojourners, living in tents, even in what would later become the land of Israel. Abraham in fact was a Gentile from the land of the Chaldeans. Moses also was a sojourner. As was Israel when they were wandering through the desert. This leads to the second point.

2. God's Temple was originally a tent and not a building. For the pattern of the Tabernacle given to Moses in the desert was a tent. In was only in deference to King David that God allowed a Temple be built. But in fact God does not limit his presence to a building.

Additional Comments

This will be one of the themes of the New Testament as both the gospel itself advocates not viewing this life as home and also not limiting the gospel to one location, like Israel, but spreading it throughout the world. Here are some verses about the righteous being foreigners in the world.

"Since you call on a Father who judges each man's work impartially,
live your lives as strangers here in reverent fear." 1Peter 1:17 

"By faith he made his home in the promised land like a stranger in a foreign country; he lived in tents, as did Isaac and Jacob, who were heirs with him of the same promise. For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God." Hebrews 11:9,10

"All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers on earth.  People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own.  If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return.  Instead, they were longing for a better country-- a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them." Heb 11:13-16

 "They are not of the world, even as I am not of it." John 17:16
 

Applications

1. Part of walking as Jesus did is to view our lives here as not our ultimate destiny or our home, but we are simply passing through on our way to our true home. As such we should regard what we have as simply on loan from God. And we should not conform ourselves to worldly ways, but accept the fact that we are foreigners in a foreign land and behave as those who are born from above.

2. The Church is not the building. Yet why is it that the word "church" is often associated with a building? Christians don't really "go to church". They are the Church. "Don't you know that you yourselves are God's temple and that God's Spirit lives in you?" 1Co 3:16 The Church is not a building located on a corner of a street. The Church is wherever the Christians happen to be.  Obsession over the institutional aspects of the Church is a worldly leavenous influence in the Christian community which has led to a great deal of corruption, just as it had among the religious elite Stephen was addressing. But if you question the institutional aspects of the Church, you could end up being stoned to death. And this was quite literally the case in the dark ages. 
 

B. Far from being devoted to God, the history of Israel has shown it to be primarily characterized as rebellious and idolatrous, rejecting God's Word and God's prophets.

1. Their forefathers rejected Moses who was symbolic of Christ, whom they rejected

Moses said, "God will send you a prophet like me from your own people."
That prophet was Jesus

Moses
Jesus
The king tried to kill him at birth
Save God's people from Egypt
Affirmed by miracles
Rejected by his own
Spoke the Word of God
The king tried to kill him at birth
Saved God's people from their sins
Affirmed by miracles
Rejected by his own
Spoke the Word of God
His point is also made clear if we replace the word "Moses" with "Jesus"

Acts 7:25  Moses (Jesus) thought that his own people would realize
that God was using him to rescue them, but they did not.
27  "But the man who was mistreating the other pushed Moses (Jesus) aside and said,
‘Who made you ruler and judge over us?
35  "This is the same Moses (Jesus) whom they had rejected with the words, 
‘Who made you ruler and judge?’
He was sent to be their ruler and deliverer by God himself
through the angel who appeared to him in the bush.
37  "This is that Moses who told the Israelites, 
‘God will send you a prophet (Jesus) like me from your own people.’

39  "But our fathers refused to obey him. Instead, 
they rejected him and in their hearts turned back to Egypt.
40  They told Aaron, ‘Make us gods who will go before us.
As for this fellow Moses who led us out of Egypt— 
we don’t know what has happened to him!’
41  That was the time they made an idol in the form of a calf.
They brought sacrifices to it and held a celebration in honor of what their hands had made.

2. Just as their forefathers, their religious service is idolatrous
Acts 7:42 But God turned away and gave them over to the worship of the heavenly bodies. This agrees with what is written in the book of the prophets: 
"'Did you bring me sacrifices and offerings forty years in the desert, O house of Israel?
43  You have lifted up the shrine of Molech and the star of your god Rephan,
the idols you made to worship. Therefore I will send you into exile' beyond Babylon.

In verse 43 Stephen quoted the prophecy of Amos concerning the exile into Assyria. 

Amos 5:25-27  "Did you bring me sacrifices and offerings forty years in the desert, O house of Israel?  You have lifted up the shrine of your king, the pedestal of your idols, the star of your god—which you made for yourselves.  Therefore I will send you into exile beyond Damascus," says the LORD, whose name is God Almighty."

But this was also prophetic, for in 70 AD these Jews he was speaking to would themselves be exiled from Jerusalem while the Romans sack the city and even destroy the temple. (Which is somewhat along the lines of what Stephen was accused of preaching)  Indeed if we continue in Amos' prophecy we read in Amos 6:14 " the LORD God Almighty declares, "I will stir up a nation against you, O house of Israel, that will oppress you" Amos was referring to the Assyrians, but in applying this prophecy to the Jews in Acts this oppressive nation would be the Romans. Thus we an example here of the dual fulfillment of prophecy.

Application

This also is a warning to Christians. For though we may be doing Christian things, just as the Jews were carrying out their temple sacrifices, but in fact if we are not doing them in the right spirit, such activities may be reckoned as service to Satan rather than service to God. And there were religous people among the pagans who also worship their gods in their temples. Paul says to them,  "The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by hands." Acts 17:24  If we limit our concept of God to a man-made temple or an institutional church, then perhaps we're viewing Him more as a "god" as the pagans and Mormons view Him, rather than as the Lord of heaven and earth. And let us not be like these religiously zealous unbelieving Jewish leaders, who obsess over the letter and miss the spirit. For they resist the Spirit in all their religous zeal and end up themselves trying to destroy God's true temple.

A Final Note: Where does God really live?

"For this is what the high and lofty One says-- he who lives forever, whose name is holy: "I live in a high and holy place, but also with him who is contrite and lowly in spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly and to revive the heart of the contrite." Isa 57:15

Does God have a home in your heart?


Verses taken from the NIV


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015