翻譯: English GB

歌羅西書 第四章

4:1 你們作主人的,要公公平平地待仆人
  因為知道你們也有一位主在天上。

用智慧禱告和行事

4:2 你們要恆切禱告,在此儆醒感恩。
4:3 也要為我們禱告,求神給我們開傳道的門,
  能以講基督的奧秘,(我為此被捆鎖),

4:4 叫我按著所該說的話,將這奧秘發明出來。

4:5 你們要愛惜光陰,用智慧與外人交往
4:6 你們的言語要常常帶著和氣,好像用鹽調和,
  就可知道該怎樣回答各人。

最後的問安

4:7 有我親愛的兄弟推基古要將我一切的事都告訴你們。
  他是忠心的執事,和我一同作主的仆人。

4:8 我特意打發他到你們那堨h,
  好叫你們知道我們的光景,又叫他安慰你們的心。

4:9 我又打發一位親愛忠心的兄弟阿尼西母同去。
  他也是你們那堛漱H。他們要把這堣@切的事都告訴你們。


4:10 與我一同坐監的亞媢F古問你們安。
  巴拿巴的表弟馬可也問你們安。
  (說到這馬可,你們已經受了吩咐。
  他若到了你們那堙A你們就接待他。)

4:11 耶數又稱為猶士都,也問你們安。
  奉割禮的人中,只有這三個人,
  是為神的國與我一同做工的,也是叫我心堭o安慰的。


4:12 有你們那堛漱H,作基督耶穌仆人的以巴弗問你們安。
  他在禱告之間,常為你們竭力地祈求,
  愿你們在神一切的旨意上,得以完全,信心充足,能站立得穩。

4:13 他為你們和老底嘉并希拉波立的弟兄多多地勞苦,
  這是我可以給他作見証的。


4:14 所親愛的醫生路加底馬問你們安。

4:15 請問老底嘉的弟兄和寧法,并他家堛滷郱|安。

4:16 你們念了這書信,便交給老底嘉的教會,叫他們也念。
  你們也要念從老底嘉來的書信。

4:17 要對亞基布說:“務要謹慎,盡你從主所受的職分。”

4:18 我保羅親筆問你們安。你們要記念我的捆鎖。
  愿恩惠常與你們同在。


問題討論

第1節 奴役是罪嗎?
第2節 你會如何概括一個恆切禱告的人的生活方式?
第3節 騰出時間來為傳福音的機會禱告,為你自己,也為傳道的人。
第4節 試舉一個福音被明確地說出來的例子。
第6節 言語好像用鹽調和是什麼意思(【馬太福音 5:13】)?
第7,8節 在你所處的境遇中,有什麼你愿意與別人分享的可以使他們的心受到安慰?
第12節 以巴弗在與誰掙扎?如何用你自己的話表達出他為歌羅西的聖徒禱告的三件事?

注釋

作主人的

歌羅西書 4:1 你們作主人的,要公公平平地待仆人,因為知道你們也有一位主在天上。

保羅繼續他關于縱向關系的教訓。雖然存在于當時主仆關系現在不再有了,但現在還是有很多類似的關系,比如雇主與雇員的關系。其區別只是程度的問題。

事時上我們作為基督徒已經自愿地進入了最終極的主仆關系──就是我們與主的關系,如這婸﹛G“我們有一位主在天上”。因為,“但現今你們既從罪堭o了釋放,作了神的奴仆,”【羅馬書 6:22a】

正像主所做的那樣,那些在權威位置上的人要恩慈地對待在他們權威之下的人。保羅在以弗所書堳教作主人的要如何對待他們的仆人:“你們作主人的待仆人也是一理,不要威嚇他們,因為知道他們和你們同有一位主在天上,他并不偏待人。”【以弗所書 6:9】因此我們有主耶穌的榜樣,有權威的人應該如何恩慈地行使他們的權威。


為神給我們開傳道的門禱告

歌羅西書 4:2-4 你們要恆切禱告,在此儆醒感恩。也要為我們禱告,求神給我們開傳道的門,能以講基督的奧秘,(我為此被捆鎖),叫我按著所該說的話,將這奧秘發明出來。

雖然神知道什麼是最好的,但為了讓我們參與他的事工,神往往等我們為之禱告只後才讓最好的事發生。因此,讓我們通過禱告在神的事工中參與神。

因為“信道是從聽道來的”【羅馬書 10:17】,所以讓人們聽到福音很重要。但要讓他們聽到,當然就需要傳道者,因此耶穌說:“所以你們當求庄稼的主,打發工人出去,收他的庄稼。”【馬太福音 9:38】再者,傳道者需要有傳福音的機會。要為之禱告。而第三就是人的心需要為接受福音而打開,因此當保羅與呂底亞分享福音時,“主就開導她的心,叫她留心聽保羅所講的話。”【使徒行傳 16:14b】

還有,傳福音的方式應該是大膽的,毫無對人的懼怕。不要在傳神的道時懼怕威嚇。為傳道者的大膽而禱告。因為勇氣顯示出深深的信。“我們既有這樣的盼望,就大膽講說,”【哥林多後書 3:12】“他們恐嚇我們,現在求主鑒察。一面叫你仆人大放膽量,講你的道,”【使徒行傳 4:19a】同樣保羅在以弗所書婼虼D到:“也為我祈求,使我得著口才,能以放膽開口講明福音的奧秘,(我為這福音的奧秘,作了帶鎖鏈的使者)。并使我照著當盡的本分,放膽講論。”【以弗所書 6:19-20】


要當智慧人

歌羅西書 4:5-6 你們要愛惜光陰,用智慧與外人交往。你們的言語要常常帶著和氣,好像用鹽調和,就可知道該怎樣回答各人。

歌羅西書又一次反映了保羅在以弗所書堛澈示:“你們要謹慎行事,不要像愚昧人,當像智慧人。要愛惜光陰,因為現今的世代邪惡。”【以弗所書 5:15-16】

注意到在歌羅西書的這個指示緊接著保羅關于為傳福音打開門而禱告的請求。關于機會,這在聖徒心中應該是主要的事。要充分利用機會來傳福音。

對有些人來說,機會以別人因看到我們在所遭遇的境況中的盼望和活出的深信來問我們的形式出現。彼得寫到:“你們就是為義受苦,也是有福的。不要怕人的威嚇,也不要驚慌(“的威嚇”或作“所怕的”)。只要心奡L主基督為聖。有人問你們心中盼望的緣由,就要常作准備,以溫柔、敬畏的心回答各人。存著無虧的良心,叫你們在何事上被毀謗,就在何事上可以叫那誣賴你們在基督埵釵n品行的人自覺羞愧。”【彼得前書 3:14-16】因為,“義人的心,思量如何回答。”【箴言 15:28a】


一個忠實的傳道者

歌羅西書 4:7-8 有我親愛的兄弟推基古要將我一切的事都告訴你們。他是忠心的執事,和我一同作主的仆人。我特意打發他到你們那堨h,好叫你們知道我們的光景,又叫他安慰你們的心。

除了這堨H外,【使徒行傳 20:4】【以弗所書 6:21】【提摩太後書 4:12】【提多書 3:12】堣]都提到推基古。在使徒行傳第二十章堙A我們看到他在保羅的第三次差傳中作為保羅的旅伴。以弗所書幾乎是與歌羅西書同時寫的,也說了幾乎同樣的事:“今有所親愛、忠心事奉主的兄弟推基古,他要把我的事情并我的景況如何,全告訴你們,叫你們知道。我特意打發他到你們那堨h,好叫你們知道我們的光景,又叫他安慰你們的心。”【以弗所書 6:21-22】保羅在【提摩太後書 4:12】提到派推基古到以弗所去,當時保羅在羅馬的監獄堙A接近他生命的終點。

在提摩太後書堙A保羅還提到很多關于與他在一起的人離棄他的事。“因為底馬貪愛現今的世界,就離棄我往帖撒羅尼迦去了。革勒士往加拉太去。提多往撻馬太去。”【提摩太後書 4:10-11】但推基古卻繼續與他一同事奉。那就是他說“忠心”的意思。一個忠心的事奉者在富有挑戰的困難中仍然繼續忠心地事奉。這樣的人自己受到了鼓勵,因此也能夠鼓勵別人。


其它忠心的弟兄

歌羅西書 4:9-10 我又打發一位親愛忠心的兄弟阿尼西母同去。他也是你們那堛漱H。他們要把這堣@切的事都告訴你們。與我一同坐監的亞媢F古問你們安。巴拿巴的表弟馬可也問你們安。(說到這馬可,你們已經受了吩咐。他若到了你們那堙A你們就接待他。)

阿尼西母以前曾是腓利門的仆人(【腓利門書 1:10】)他逃了出來,被保羅轉化。保羅勸他會到他的主人那堨h,但要他帶給腓利門帶去讓他自由的忠告。顯然腓利門接受了那個忠告。雖然神在摩西律法堣像\某些形式的奴役制,但很多人沒有意識到在律法之下,不能強迫從主人那堸k出來的仆人回去。“若有奴仆脫了主人的手,逃到你那堙A你不可將他交付他的主人。他必在你那婸P你同住,在你的城邑中,要由他選擇一個所喜悅的地方居住。你不可欺負他。”【申命記 22:15-16】還有他提到阿尼西母這個事實說明保羅當時已經是上年紀的人了,如他在在腓利門書奡ㄟ_阿尼西母時曾說:“然而像我這有年紀的保羅,現在又是為基督耶穌被囚的,寧可憑著愛心求你。就是為我在捆鎖中所生的兒子阿尼西母(此名就是“有益處的”意思)求你。”【腓利門書 1:9-10】

亞媢F古是另一個與保羅一道差傳,甘愿面對危險的人。在以弗所,他因為他的信被一群忿怒的暴徒抓住(【使徒行傳 19:29】)。亞媢F古還在保羅逃脫了猶太人在希臘的圖謀之後與他們同行(【使徒行傳 20:4】)。他還在保羅坐牢的其它時候與他在一起(【腓利門書 1:24】)。“朋友乃時常親愛,弟兄為患難而生。”【箴言 17:17】

有意思的是這奡ㄗ馬可。保羅曾因馬可的事與巴拿巴分開,因為保羅在他的第二此差傳時拒決要馬可同去(【使徒行傳 15:37-39】)。其原因可能是在第一次差傳時,馬可在旁非利亞離開了他們,也許是因為馬可不愿給外邦人傳福音。保羅對此很忿怒。然而馬可顯然在這個問題上改變了觀點,并成為保羅所信任同伴,直到最後。“獨有路加在我這堙C你來的時候,要把馬可帶來,因為他在傳道的事上于我有益處(“傳道”或作“服事我”)。”【提摩太後書 4:11】這是對神有能力恢復基督身體堛疑魒t的見証。


在禱告中竭力地祈求

歌羅西書 4:11-13 耶數又稱為猶士都,也問你們安。奉割禮的人中,只有這三個人,是為神的國與我一同做工的,也是叫我心堭o安慰的。有你們那堛漱H,作基督耶穌仆人的以巴弗問你們安。他在禱告之間,常為你們竭力地祈求,愿你們在神一切的旨意上,得以完全,信心充足,能站立得穩。他為你們和老底嘉并希拉波立的弟兄多多地勞苦,這是我可以給他作見証的。

有意思的是保羅說猶太人中只有這三個人(亞媢F古、耶數和馬可)是與他一同做工的。那麼其它的使徒呢?顯然他認為他的事奉與他們的很不相同,而他指的只是他自己的事奉堛漲P工。但事實上,由于偏見,很少有猶太基督徒參與外邦人的事奉。事實上彼得和其它的使徒──都是猶太人──基本上對外邦人的基督徒洗手不管。“那稱為教會柱石的雅各、磯法、約翰,就向我和巴拿巴用右手行相交之禮,叫我們往外邦人那堨h,他們往受割禮的人那堨h。”【加拉太書 2:9b】你有沒有注意到你周圍的任何群體因為偏見而被疏乎了呢?

以巴弗其實是最先給歌羅西人傳福音的人。他禱告的例子告訴我們虔誠的人竭力地祈求。禱告是件艱苦的工作。禱告時的壓力有可能會很大。耶穌在禱告時滴汗如血。然而我們注意到今天的禱告多是很方便的,大多是關于生活中的膚淺的事。這種禱告沒有深度,很不嚴肅。雖然今天的禱告大多是物質上的憂慮,而新約書信堛疑咩i則多為屬靈的事禱告,比如這堙G“愿你們在神一切的旨意上,得以完全,信心充足,能站立得穩。”現在就抽出時間來為此禱告。

另見新約書信堛疑咩i


不冷不熱

歌羅西書 4:14-16 所親愛的醫生路加和底馬問你們安。請問老底嘉的弟兄和寧法,并他家堛滷郱|安。你們念了這書信,便交給老底嘉的教會,叫他們也念。你們也要念從老底嘉來的書信。

路加當然是路加福音和使徒行傳的作者。事實上在第十一節埵b保羅說:“奉割禮的人中,只有這三個人,是為神的國與我一同做工的,”他沒有提到路加,這使人相信路加是個外邦人,但不能完全肯定。路加是對保羅最有忠心的人之一,甚至在此與底馬相比。因為看一看保羅後來在給提摩太的信堿O如何說到他們倆個人的。

“你要趕緊的到我這堥荂C因為底馬貪愛現今的世界,就離棄我往帖撒羅尼迦去了。革勒士往加拉太去。提多往撻馬太去。獨有路加在我這堙C你來的時候,要把馬可帶來,因為他在傳道的事上于我有益處(“傳道”或作“服事我”)。”【提摩太後書 4:9-11】

雖然“貪愛”和“離棄”只是不定過去時,說的只是發生在某個時刻的事件,而不是一個人生活方式的特征。但在壓力之下,底馬沮喪了,選擇了世界,指的很可能是害怕與保羅同死,因為他所遭受的逼迫。只有路加留了下來。雖然保羅叫馬可和提摩太到他那堨h。

第十五節和第十六節說到老底嘉。原來雖然我們把這封信稱作歌羅西書,它其實是給歌羅西和老底嘉的基督徒寫的。老底嘉後來在啟示錄第三章塈@為不冷不熱的教會而出了惡名。然而主對那個教會所說的話後來成為今天福音派堻戔`用的一句話:“看哪,我站在門外叩門。若有聽見我聲音就開門的,我要進到他那堨h,我與他,他與我一同坐席。”【啟示錄 3:20】


盡你的職分!

歌羅西書 4:17-18 要對亞基布說:“務要謹慎,盡你從主所受的職分。”我保羅親筆問你們安。你們要記念我的捆鎖。愿恩惠常與你們同在。

根據【腓利門 1:2】,亞基布在家媮|行教會的聚會。誰不需要受到激勵來繼續他們的事奉呢?我們出于本性都是懶惰的。我們總需要有人提醒我們和警告我們要完成我們的工作。要盡你從主所受的職分

“你卻要凡事謹慎,忍受苦難,作傳道的工夫,盡你的職分。”【提摩太後書 4:5】

按照他的習慣,雖然他的信大部分是由他口授的,他總是在最後親自簽上名。在你的生活中你是不是覺得被鏈子捆鎖了呢?那不能作為你不事奉的借口。因為保羅的很多事奉都是在他被捆鎖中進行的。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Colossians 4 (web)

4:1 Masters, give to your servants that which is just and equal,
knowing that you also have a Master in heaven.

 Praying and Behaving Wisely

4:2 Continue steadfastly in prayer, watching therein with thanksgiving;
4:3 praying together for us also, that God may open to us a door for the word,
to speak the mystery of Christ, for which I am also in bonds;
4:4 that I may reveal it as I ought to speak.

4:5 Walk in wisdom toward those who are outside, redeeming the time.
4:6 Let your speech always be with grace, seasoned with salt,
that you may know how you ought to answer each one.

Final Greetings

4:7 All my affairs will be made known to you by Tychicus,
the beloved brother, faithful servant, and fellow bondservant in the Lord.
4:8 I am sending him to you for this very purpose,
that he may know your circumstances and comfort your hearts,
4:9 together with Onesimus, the faithful and beloved brother, who is one of you.
They will make known to you everything that is going on here.

4:10 Aristarchus, my fellow prisoner greets you, and Mark, the cousin of Barnabas
(concerning whom you received commandments, "if he comes to you, receive him"),
4:11 and Jesus who is called Justus, who are of the circumcision.
These are my only fellow workers for the Kingdom of God, men who have been a comfort to me.

4:12 Epaphras, who is one of you, a servant of Christ, salutes you,
always striving for you in his prayers, that you may stand perfect and complete in all the will of God.
4:13 For I testify about him, that he has great zeal for you,
and for those in Laodicea, and for those in Hierapolis.

4:14 Luke, the beloved physician, and Demas greet you.

4:15 Greet the brothers who are in Laodicea, and Nymphas, and the assembly that is in his house.

4:16 When this letter has been read among you,
cause it to be read also in the assembly of the Laodiceans;
and that you also read the letter from Laodicea.

4:17 Tell Archippus, "Take heed to the ministry which you have received in the Lord, that you fulfill it."

4:18 The salutation of me, Paul, with my own hand: remember my bonds. Grace be with you. Amen.


Discussion Questions

vs 1 Is slavery sin?
vs 2 How would you characterize the lifestyle of a person you would consider to be devoted to prayer?
vs 3 Take time to pray for opportunities to evangelize, both for yourself and missionaries.
vs 4 Can you give an example of a clear presentation of the gospel?
vs 6 What does it mean for a conversation to be seasoned with salt? (Matt 5:13)
vs 7,8 What is it about your circumstances that you would like to share with others that will encourage their hearts?
vs 12 Who was Epaphras wrestling against? How would you put in your own words the three categories of things that he prayed for the Colossians?

Comments

Masters

Col 4:1
Masters, provide your slaves with what is right and fair, because you know that you also have a Master in heaven.

Paul continues his instructions concerning vertical relationships. And while master-slave relationships such as was present back then may not be the case today, yet there are many similar relationships, such as boss-employee. The distinction being just a matter of degree.

In fact we as Christians have willingly entered into the ultimate master-slave relationship - namely our relationship with the Lord, as noted here "we have a Master in heaven". For "you have been set free from sin and have become slaves to God" Rom 6:22a

And just as the Lord does, so also those in positions of authority are to be gracious to those under their authority. In Eph 6:9 Paul instructs masters concerning their servants, "Do not threaten them, since you know that he who is both their Master and yours is in heaven, and there is no favoritism with him." Thus we have in the Lord Jesus a model of how authority should graciously exercise their authority.


Pray for an Open Door

Col 4:2-4 Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful. And pray for us, too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ, for which I am in chains. Pray that I may proclaim it clearly, as I should.

Though God knows what is best, in order for us to be involved with Him in the ministry God often withholds doing what is best until we have prayed about it. So get involved with God in His ministry by praying.

Now as "faith comes from hearing the message" Rom 10:17, it is essential people hear the message. But for them to hear one, of course needs messengers, and thus Jesus said, "Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field." Mt 9:38 Secondly the messengers needs opportunities to share the message. Pray for that. And thirdly people's hearts need to be open to receive the message, such as when Paul shared the message to Lydia, "The Lord opened her heart to heed the things spoken by Paul." Acts 16:14

Furthermore, the manner in which the gospel should be preached is with boldness, free from the fear of man. Don't be intimidated when presenting the Word of God. Pray for the boldness of the messengers. For courage communicates conviction. "Therefore, since we have such a hope, we are very bold." 2Cor 3:12 "Now, Lord, consider their threats and enable your servants to speak your word with great boldness." Acts 4:29  And likewise Paul requests in Ephesians 6:19,20 "Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should."


Be a Wise Guy

Col 4:5,6 Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity.  Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

And again as Colossians is a reflection of Ephesians Paul instructs, "Be very careful, then, how you live— not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil." Eph 5:15,16

Realize here in Colossians this instruction follows Paul asking for prayer concerning an open door for evangelism. This should be the main thing on the mind of the saint with regards to opportunities. Makes most of opportunities for the purpose of evangelism.

For some, opportunities comes in the form of questions asked in view of our hope and our convictions lived in opposition to our circumstances. Peter writes, "Even if you should suffer for what is right, you are blessed. "Do not fear what they fear; do not be frightened. But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander." 1Peter 3:14-16 For "the heart of the righteous studies how to answer" Pr 15:28a


A Faithful Messenger

Col 4:7,8 Tychicus will tell you all the news about me. He is a dear brother, a faithful minister and fellow servant in the Lord. I am sending him to you for the express purpose that you may know about our circumstances and that he may encourage your hearts.

Tychicus is also mentioned in Acts 20:4, Eph 6:21, 2Tim 4:12, Titus 3:12 In Acts 20 we find him as one of Paul's traveling companions on his third missionary journey.  Ephesians, written almost concurrently with Colossians says almost the exact same thing. "Tychicus, the dear brother and faithful servant in the Lord, will tell you everything, so that you also may know how I am and what I am doing. I am sending him to you for this very purpose, that you may know how we are, and that he may encourage you." Eph 6:21,22 And Paul made mention of sending 'Tychicus to Ephesus in 2Tim 4:12, when Paul was in jail in Rome, near the end of his life.

In that same letter in 2Timothy Paul noted that many of his team has abandoned him. "For Demas has forsaken me, having loved this present world, and has departed for Thessalonica——Crescens for Galatia, Titus for Dalmatia. Only Luke is with me." 2Tim 4:10,11 But Tychicus had continue to minister with him. That's what he means by "faithful". A Faithful minister who one who continues to minister faithfully through challenging difficulties. Such a person has himself been enouraged and thus has the capacity to encourage others.


Other Faithful Brothers

Col 4:9,10 He is coming with Onesimus, our faithful and dear brother, who is one of you. They will tell you everything that is happening here. My fellow prisoner Aristarchus sends you his greetings, as does Mark, the cousin of Barnabas. (You have received instructions about him; if he comes to you, welcome him.)

Onesimus was formerly the slave of Philemon (Philemon 1:10). He had run away and was converted by Paul who advised him to return to his master, but with the advice to Philemon to free him, which apparently he did. While God allowed forms of slavery under the Law of Moses, many don't realize that under the Law slaves who escaped their master were not to be forced to return. "If a slave has taken refuge with you, do not hand him over to his master. Let him live among you wherever he likes and in whatever town he chooses. Do not oppress him." Deut 23:15,16 Also from the fact that he mentions Onesimus indicates Paul was an old man at this time, as he mentioned in Philemon where he mentioned of Onesimus. "I then, as Paul— an old man and now also a prisoner of Christ Jesus— I appeal to you for my son Onesimus, who became my son while I was in chains." Phm 1:9b-10

Aristarchus was another who had travel with Paul, willing to face danger. In Ephesus he was seized by an angry mob for his faith. (Acts 19:29) He traveled with Paul as they escaped a plot by the Jews in Greece. (Acts 20:3) And he had associated with Paul at other times when in prisoned. (Phm 1:24) Pr 17:17 "A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for adversity."

Interesting that Mark was mentioned. Paul actually had a falling out with Barnabus over Mark when Paul refused to take him along on his second missionary journey (Acts 15:37-39). What appeared to have happened on the first missionary journey was that Mark deserted them in Pamphylia, probably objecting to spreading of the gospel to the Gentiles. Paul was angry at this. However Mark appears to have changed his mind on the subject and became one of Paul's must trusted companions even to the end. "Get Mark and bring him with you, because he is helpful to me in my ministry." (2Tim 4:11). This is a testimony of God's ability to restore broken relationships in the body of Christ.


Wrestle in Prayer

Col 4:11-13 Jesus, who is called Justus, also sends greetings. These are the only Jews among my fellow workers for the kingdom of God, and they have proved a comfort to me. Epaphras, who is one of you and a servant of Christ Jesus, sends greetings. He is always wrestling in prayer for you, that you may stand firm in all the will of God, mature and fully assured. I vouch for him that he is working hard for you and for those at Laodicea and Hierapolis.

Interesting also that Paul says that these three (Aristarcus, Justus, and Mark) were his only Jewish colaborers. What about the apostles? It is apparent that he thought of his ministry quite distinct from theirs, and that he was just referring to colaborers within his own ministry. But in fact, due to prejudice, very few Jewish Christians got involved in ministry to the Gentiles. In fact Peter and the other apostles - all Jews - had essentially washed their hands of Gentile Christians. "James, Peter and John, those reputed to be pillars, gave me and Barnabas the right hand of fellowship when they recognized the grace given to me. They agreed that we should go to the Gentiles, and they to the Jews." Gal 2:9 Have you noticed any people groups around your largely neglected due to prejudice?

Epaphras was actually the one who had first preached the gospel to the Colossians. His example of prayer is instructive in that the devout pray laboriously. Prayer is hard work. Prayer can be stressful. Jesus sweat blood in prayer. Yet I've notice prayers today more a matter of convenience and dominated with the shallow concerns of life. There's no depth to such prayer and little seriousness. And while prayers today are dominated by material concerns, most all of the prayers found in the New Testament letters make requests concerning spiritul things, such as here "that you may stand firm in all the will of God, mature and fully assured." So take time now to pray this.

See also Prayers of the New Testament Epistles.


Luke Warm

Col 4:14-16  Our dear friend Luke, the doctor, and Demas send greetings. Give my greetings to the brothers at Laodicea, and to Nympha and the church in her house. After this letter has been read to you, see that it is also read in the church of the Laodiceans and that you in turn read the letter from Laodicea.

Luke, of course, wrote both the gospel of Luke and the book of Acts. The fact that in verse 11 he is not mentioned as among those of whom Paul said, "These are the only Jews among my fellow workers for the kingdom of God", would lead one to believe Luke was a Gentile, but not conclusively. Luke was one of the most faithful to Paul, even compared to Demas here. For look consider what Paul later wrote to Timothy concerning these two.

"Be diligent to come to me quickly; for Demas has forsaken me, having loved this present world, and has departed for Thessalonica——Crescens for Galatia, Titus for Dalmatia. Only Luke is with me. Get Mark and bring him with you, for he is useful to me for ministry." 2Tim 4:9-11

Though "loved" and "departed" are merely in the aorist, which only speaks of point in time events rather that characterizing one's lifestyle. But under stess, Demas broke and opted for the world, likely referring to being afraid to die with Paul due to the persecution he was suffering. Only Luke stayed. Though Paul called for Mark and Timothy to join him.

Verse 15,16 speaks of Laodicea. Realize while we call this the epistle to the Colossians, it was really written explicitly both to the Christians in Colossae and Laodicea. Laodicea later became infamous in Revelation chapter 3 as the luke warm church. Yet what the Lord told that church there later became one of the most utilized verses in evangelism today, namely, "Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me." Rev 3:20


Finish Your Work!

Col 4:17,18 Tell Archippus: "See to it that you complete the work you have received in the Lord." I, Paul, write this greeting in my own hand. Remember my chains. Grace be with you.

According to Philemon 1:2, Archippus was having church meetings in his home. Who couldn't use a good kick in the pants to get on with their ministry. We're all procrastinators by nature. And we always need to be reminded and warned to finish our work.See that you complete the work that the Lord has given you.

"You, keep your head in all situations, endure hardship, do the work of an evangelist, discharge all the duties of your ministry." 2Tim 4:5

And as was his custom, though he dictated most of his letters, he put his personal signurature on the end. Do you feel like you are in chains in your life? That's no excuse for not doing the ministry. For much of Paul's ministry he spent in chains.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015