翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書

5:1-5:21

效法神,在光明埵

像神的兒女那樣去生活

5:1 所以你們該效法神,好像蒙慈愛的兒女一樣。
5:2 也要憑愛心行事,

正如基督愛我們,為我們舍了自己,
當作馨香的供物和祭物,獻與神。

5:3 至于淫亂,并一切污穢,或是貪婪,
  在你們中間連提都不可,方合聖徒的體統。

5:4 淫詞、妄語和戲笑的話,
  都不相宜,總要說感謝的話。

5:5 因為你們確實地知道,
  無論是淫亂的,是污穢的,是有貪心的,
  在基督和神的國堻ㄛO無分的。
  有貪心的,就與拜偶像的一樣。

5:6 不要被人虛浮的話欺哄
  因這些事,神的忿怒必臨到那悖逆之子。

5:7 所以你們不要與他們同伙。

像光明的子女那樣去生活

5:8 從前你們是暗昧的,但如今在主堶惇O光明的,
  行事為人就當像光明的子女。

5:9 光明所結的果子就是一切良善、公義、誠實。
5:10 總要察驗何為主所喜悅的事。
5:11 那暗昧無益的事,不要與人同行,倒要責備行這事的人。
5:12 因為他們暗中所行的,就是提起來,也是可恥的。
5:13 凡事受了責備,就被光顯明出來。
  因為一切能顯明的,就是光。

5:14 所以主說:
  “你這睡著的人,當醒過來,從死奡_活,
  基督就要光照你了。

像智慧人那樣去生活

5:15 你們要謹慎行事,不要像愚昧人,
  當像智慧人。

5:16 要愛惜光陰,因為現今的世代邪惡。
5:17 不要作糊涂人,
  要明白主的旨意如何


5:18 不要醉酒,酒能使人放蕩,
  乃要被聖靈充滿。

5:19 當用詩章、頌詞、靈歌彼此對說
  口唱心和地贊美主。

5:20 凡事要奉我們主耶穌基督的名,
  常常感謝父神。

5:21 又當存敬畏基督的心,彼此順服


主線
以弗所書 5:1-21

像神的兒女那樣生活 1-7 (盡你的心)


像光明的兒女那樣生活 8-14 (盡你的良心)


像智慧人那樣生活 15-21 (盡你的悟性)


問題討論

  • 第1-3節 命令我們過愛和聖潔的生活。你在應用這兩個概念的時候有沒有發現它們有沖突?
  • 第3-4節 應該由誰來給我們定義什麼是合宜的?是神還是文化?
  • 第5節 似乎是說得救基于行為。這與以弗所書 2:8,9羅馬書 4:1-5矛盾嗎?
  • 第10節 你發現哪些事是“主所喜悅的”?
  • 第11-14節 這一段告訴我們做什麼?做它的正確與錯誤的方式各是什麼?
  • 第15-16節 你從聖經堭o出哪些“像智慧人”那樣去生活的基本原則?這與世人的“智慧”有什麼不同?
  • 箴言堣@些關于智慧的經節

  • 箴言 1:5 使智慧人聽見,增長學問。使聰明人得著智謀。
  • 箴言 3:7 不要自以為有智慧﹔要敬畏耶和華,遠離惡事。
  • 箴言 6:6 懶惰人哪,你去察看螞蟻的動作,就可得智慧。
  • 箴言 8:33 要聽教訓,就得智慧,不可棄絕。
  • 箴言 9:9 教導智慧人,他就越發有智慧。指示義人,他就增長學問。
  • 箴言 10:5 夏天聚斂的,是智慧之子﹔收割時沉睡的,是貽羞之子。
  • 箴言 10:8 心中智慧的必受命令﹔口媟M妄的必致傾倒。
  • 箴言 10:14 明哲人嘴埵陷撮z﹔無知人背上受刑杖。
  • 箴言 10:19 多言多語難免有過﹔禁止嘴唇是有智慧。
  • 箴言 11:30 義人所結的果子就是生命樹﹔有智慧的必能得人。
  • 箴言 13:1 智慧子聽父親的教訓﹔褻慢人不聽責備。
  • 箴言 13:20 與智慧人同行的必得智慧﹔和愚昧人作伴的必受虧損。
  • 箴言 14:1 智慧婦人建立家室﹔愚妄婦人親手拆毀。
  • 箴言 14:16 智慧人懼怕就遠離惡事﹔愚妄人卻狂傲自恃。
  • 箴言 15:7 智慧人的嘴播揚知識﹔愚昧人的心并不如此。
  • 箴言 15:31 聽從生命責備的必常在智慧人中。
  • 箴言 17:28 愚昧人若靜默不言,也可算為智慧。閉口不說,也可算為聰明。
  • 箴言 18:15 聰明人的心得知識﹔智慧人的耳求知識。
  • 箴言 20:1 酒能使人褻慢,濃酒使人喧嚷:凡因酒錯誤的就無智慧。
  • 箴言 20:26 智慧的王簸散惡人,用碌碡滾軋他們。
  • 箴言 21:20 智慧人家中積蓄寶物膏油﹔愚昧人隨得來隨吞下。
  • 箴言 21:22 智慧人爬上勇士的城牆,傾覆他所倚靠的堅壘。
  • 箴言 24:5 智慧人大有能力﹔有知識的人力上加力。
  • 箴言 24:23 以下也是智慧人的箴言:審判時看人情面是不好的。
  • 箴言 26:12 你見自以為有智慧的人嗎?愚昧人比他更有指望。
  • 箴言 29:11 愚妄人怒氣全發﹔智慧人忍氣含怒。
  • 更多的問題討論

  • 第17節 神是不是在聖經堛滬些地方說到他的旨意?(帖撒羅尼迦前書 4:3帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:18彼得前書 2:15
  • 第18節 除了酒以外,還有什麼不合宜的東西能充滿我們?
  • 第19節 音樂的目的是什麼?
  • 第20節 為什麼感謝神能使我們得益,而不這樣做會使我們招損?(羅馬書 1:21
  • 第21節 這一節是理解下面兩段的關鍵,我們將在下一個查經媕侜蝔鉿U種解釋。


  • 注釋

    效法神

    以弗所書 5:1-2 所以你們該效法神,好像蒙慈愛的兒女一樣。也要憑愛心行事,正如基督愛我們,為我們舍了自己,當作馨香的供物和祭物,獻與神。

    若要效法某個人,就必先知道那個人,他們是如何對待各種情形的,他們的目標和愿望,他們的態度和美德,他們的態度和性格。這正是學習聖經的功用之一。發現神是什麼樣子的,這樣我們才能效法神。

    神的一個性質就是他的愛。神的愛反映在他的兒子耶穌基督的身上。神把他的兒子獻上為祭,使罪人能夠與他和好。神是如何表現出他對我們的愛呢?“惟有基督在我們還作罪人的時候為我們死,神的愛就在此向我們顯明了。”【羅馬書 5:8】注意到在這樣做的時候,他沒有降低他的聖潔或公義的性質。同樣我們也不能因為愛而損害我們的道德品質。神的愛在很大程度上不為熱衷于物質上的事的世人所珍視,世人對聖潔和公義的事以及他們的罪漠不關心。同樣,基督徒的愛會受到類似的回報也不奇怪。在與人分享福音的時候基督徒將受到敵對。事實上,基督徒的犧牲往往是遭受在那些他們極力要拯救的罪人的手堙A很像基督是被那些他要為他們而死的罪人殺害的。

    保羅還寫到:“所以弟兄們,我以神的慈悲勸你們,將身體獻上,當作活祭,是聖潔的,是神所喜悅的。你們如此事奉,乃是理所當然的。”【羅馬書 12:1】敬拜神不只在言語。那是一各活著是為了事奉他的生命。


    合宜的行為

    以弗所書 5:3-4 至于淫亂,并一切污穢,或是貪婪,在你們中間連提都不可,方合聖徒的體統。淫詞、妄語和戲笑的話,都不相宜,總要說感謝的話。

    注意保羅在這堜珝t示的動機。也就是說,行為要恰當因為那是相宜的和正確的。這與前面關于效法神的經文相一致。如果被問起為什麼你不參與淫亂或貪婪或污穢的事,你可以回答說:“因為那不是基督徒該做的﹔那不合適﹔那樣不對,因為神不是那麼做的。”這就是義的生活──做正確的事,因為那在神眼堿搢茯O正確的。


    不要受騙

    以弗所書 5:5-7 因為你們確實地知道,無論是淫亂的,是污穢的,是有貪心的,在基督和神的國堻ㄛO無分的。有貪心的,就與拜偶像的一樣。不要被人虛浮的話欺哄。因這些事,神的忿怒必臨到那悖逆之子。所以你們不要與他們同伙。

    同樣保羅說:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺:無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:9-10】約翰寫到:“小子們哪,不要被人誘惑。行義的才是義人,正如主是義的一樣。犯罪的是屬魔鬼,因為魔鬼從起初就犯罪。”【約翰一書 3:7-8】

    那些生活方式具有這些特點,以至給他們自己掙得這樣標簽的人是那些顯而易見不是由神生的,因此不能承受神的國。今天在基督徒中有屬于自由恩典神學的(Free Grace Theology),他們就在這一點上受了騙,有些人不但把他們自己而且把別人引入歧途。有几類人是不能承受神的國的,無論他們是不是稱自己為基督徒。所以保羅鑒于哥林多基督徒的行為給他們寫信說:“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H”【哥林多後書 13:5】


    光明的子女

    以弗所書 5:8-10 從前你們是暗昧的,但如今在主堶惇O光明的,行事為人就當像光明的子女。光明所結的果子就是一切良善、公義、誠實。總要察驗何為主所喜悅的事。

    考慮光明的子女的生活的這三個方面:

    1. 尋求做良善的事
    2. 尋求做公義的事
    3. 尋求和顯現出真理

    這些是你生活的特征嗎?別人會不會用這些事來描繪你呢?基督徒的生活不只是位置的事。這些應該是基督徒的態度和行為的特點。什麼樣的生活能使主喜悅就具體事情來說有時也許會難于琢磨,但信徒應該付出努力去尋求主的意愿。而且不要依賴教派的教條,那樣會排除思考,而要尋求真理,無論那意味著什麼。不允許置疑的真理是不值得信的。


    曝露黑暗

    以弗所書 5:11-14 那暗昧無益的事,不要與人同行,倒要責備行這事的人。因為他們暗中所行的,就是提起來,也是可恥的。凡事受了責備,就被光顯明出來。因為一切能顯明的,就是光。所以主說:“你這睡著的人,當醒過來,從死奡_活,基督就要光照你了。”

    也就是說,要曝露暗昧無益的事的真實面目。它們無益,因為沒有好的結果。那些喜歡行惡的人不想讓罪的真實面目被曝露出來。所以耶穌說:“光來到世間,世人因自己的行為是惡的,不愛光,倒愛黑暗。定他們的罪就是在此。凡作惡的便恨光,并不來就光,恐怕他的行為受責備。”【約翰福音 3:19-10】不是所有的人都想讓基督的光照在他們身上,使他們的行為曝光。

    “責備”譯自希臘文“ελεγχω”,意思是原因充分的、有效的責備,以使被責備的人承認或至少認識到罪。比如,保羅命令說:“犯罪的人,當在眾人面前責備他,叫其余的人也可以懼怕。”【提摩太前書 5:20】


    尋找機會

    以弗所書 5:15-16 你們要謹慎行事,不要像愚昧人,當像智慧人。要愛惜光陰,因為現今的世代邪惡。

    我們的時間、精力、資源都是有限的,“所以有了機會,就當向眾人行善,向信徒一家的人更當這樣。”【加拉太書 6:10】而且,“你們要愛惜光陰,用智慧與外人交往。”【歌羅西書 4:5】

    所以要尋找機會把你的信放在行動堨h。不要被生活堛漣x難過于分心,否則你就不能多結果子。耶穌在撒種的寓言婸﹛G“那落在荊棘堛滿A就是人聽了道,走開以後,被今生的思慮錢財宴樂擠住了,便結不出成熟的子粒來。”【路加福音 8:14】


    要明白主的旨意

    以弗所書 5:17 不要作糊涂人,要明白主的旨意如何。

    比如:“神的旨意就是要你們成為聖潔,遠避淫行。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 4:3】

    是的,主的意愿是可以明白的。雖然“愚妄人以行惡為戲耍。明哲人卻以智慧為樂。”【箴言 10:23】“心中智慧的,必受命令。口媟M妄的,必致傾倒。”【箴言 10:8】

    如果你在尋找神對你生活的旨意,首先考慮他在聖經堜確說的或暗示的他對你生命的目的的旨意是什麼。考慮經上所寫的意味著什麼。


    要被聖靈充滿

    以弗所書 5:18 不要醉酒,酒能使人放蕩,乃要被聖靈充滿。

    “放蕩”譯自希臘文“ασωτια”,意思是奢侈浪費地任意花費和揮霍,主要是為了感觀的欲望。醉酒是無益的。事實上今天我們說愛醉酒的人是頹廢的。那些以醉酒為生活的特點的人是不能承受神的國的。“偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:10】

    要被聖靈充滿與被酒灌醉是截然相反的。首現聖靈是與肉身的欲望相對的。“因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,使你們不能作所愿意作的。”【加拉太書 5:17】再者其結果是積極的而不是消極的。比如在五旬節上,使徒們被聖靈充滿,結果成千的人成了基督徒。事實上被聖靈充滿的一個重要效果就是能夠大膽地講神的道。“禱告完了,聚會的地方震動,他們就都被聖靈充滿,放膽講論神的道。”【使徒行傳 4:31】


    口唱心和地贊美主

    以弗所書 5:19-20 當用詩章、頌詞、靈歌彼此對說,口唱心和地贊美主。凡事要奉我們主耶穌基督的名,常常感謝父神。

    這與被聖靈充滿是手牽手的。“因為心堜狴R滿的,口奡N說出來。”【馬太福音 12:34b】所以,“當用各樣的智慧,把基督的道理丰丰富富地存在心堙]或作“當把基督的道理丰丰富富地存在心堙A以各樣的智慧”),用詩章、頌詞、靈歌彼此教導,互相勸戒,心被恩感,歌頌神。”【歌羅西書 3:16】用靈歌彼此對說通常在每禮拜教會的敬拜堻ㄦ|這麼做的,這也是有規律地與基督徒弟兄聚集的原因之一。“我要將你的名傳與我的弟兄,在會中我要頌揚你。”【希伯來書 2:12】

    而且,“凡事謝恩,因為這是神在基督耶穌埵V你們所定的旨意。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:18】

    要騰出時間來感謝神。


    彼此順服

    以弗所書 5:21 又當存敬畏基督的心,彼此順服。

    我把這一節放在這堙A因為一般是這樣划分的。但實際上這一節是這一章的後半部和第六章將要擴展的主要一節。“彼此順服”不是說每個人要順服其它的每一個人。因為除非有一個合法的、被認可的權威,就無順服可言。這堳的是基督徒弟兄堣H的權威。

    在欽定譯本塈漶妝憐僎隍A”翻譯成“Submitting yourselves one to another”(要一個順服另一個)。他接下來要在下面几節堜w義誰是“一個”,誰是”另一個”。因為“一個另一個”在希臘文堿O一個單詞“αλληλων”,這個詞還可見于【馬太福音 25:32】

    “萬民都要聚集在他面前。他要把他們一個與另一個分別出來,好像牧羊的分別綿羊、山羊一般。”【馬太福音 25:32】

    你可以看到這個詞在這堛磳雂嬰豕熁。在這一節堣]同樣。



    庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
    問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
    索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
    查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

    Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 5:1-5:21 (web)

Walking in the Light, Imitating God

LIVING AS CHILDREN OF GOD

5:1 Be therefore imitators of God, as beloved children.
5:2 Walk in love,
even as Christ also loved you, and gave himself up for us,
an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling fragrance.
5:3 But sexual immorality, and all uncleanness, or covetousness,
let it not even be mentioned among you, as becomes saints;
5:4 nor filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor jesting,
which are not appropriate; but rather giving of thanks.
5:5 Know this for sure, that no sexually immoral person, nor unclean person, nor covetous man, who is an idolater, has any inheritance in the Kingdom of Christ and God.
5:6 Let no one deceive you with empty words.
For because of these things, the wrath of God comes on the children of disobedience.
5:7 Therefore don't be partakers with them.

LIVING AS CHILDREN OF LIGHT

5:8 For you were once darkness, but are now light in the Lord.
Walk as children of light,
5:9 for the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness and righteousness and truth,
5:10 proving what is well-pleasing to the Lord.
5:11 Have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather even reprove them.
5:12 For the things which are done by them in secret, it is a shame even to speak of.
5:13 But all things, when they are reproved, are revealed by the light,
for everything that is revealed is light.
5:14 Therefore he says, "Awake, you who sleep,
and arise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you."

LIVING WISELY

5:15 Therefore watch carefully how you walk,
not as unwise, but as wise;
5:16 redeeming the time, because the days are evil.
5:17 Therefore don't be foolish,
but understand what the will of the Lord is.

5:18 Don't be drunken with wine, in which is dissipation,
but be filled with the Spirit,


OUTLINE
Ephesians 5:1-21

Living as children of God 1-7 (with all your HEART)


Living as children of Light 8-14 (with all your CONSCIENCE)


Living wisely 15-21 (with all your UNDERSTANDING)


DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

  • vs 1-3 command that we live a life of love and holiness. Have you ever found conflicts between these two concepts when you apply them?
  • vs 3,4 Who should define for us what is proper? God or the culture?
  • vs 5 seems to indicate that salvation is performance dependent. Doesn't this contradict Eph 2:8,9 and Rom 4:1-5?
  • vs 10 What have you discovered are some things that "please God"? (Heb 11:6)
  • vs 11-14 What is it that this section is telling us to do? What are appropriate and inappropriate ways of doing it?
  • vs 15-16 What are some foundational principles of living "wisely" that you have derived from the Bible? How does this differ from the world's "wisdom"?
  • A FEW IDEAS FROM PROVERBS ON LIVING WISELY

  • Pr 1:5 "A wise man will hear, and will increase learning; and a man of understanding shall attain unto wise counsels:"
  • Pr 3:7 "Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil."
  • Pr 6:6 "Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise:"
  • Pr 8:33 "Hear instruction, and be wise, and refuse it not."
  • Pr 9:9 "Give instruction to a wise man, and he will be yet wiser: teach a just man, and he will increase in learning."
  • Pr 10:5 "He that gathereth in summer is a wise son: but he that sleepeth in harvest is a son that causeth shame."
  • Pr 10:8 "The wise in heart will receive commandments: but a prating fool shall fall."
  • Pr 10:14 "Wise men lay up knowledge: but the mouth of the foolish is near destruction."
  • Pr 10:19 "In the multitude of words there wanteth not sin: but he that refraineth his lips is wise."
  • Pr 11:30 "The fruit of the righteous is a tree of life; and he that winneth souls is wise."
  • Pr 13:1 "A wise son heareth his father's instruction: but a scorner heareth not rebuke."
  • Pr 13:20 "He that walketh with wise men shall be wise: but a companion of fools shall be destroyed."
  • Pr 14:1 "Every wise woman buildeth her house: but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands."
  • Pr 14:16 "A wise man feareth, and departeth from evil: but the fool rageth, and is confident."
  • Pr 15:7 "The lips of the wise disperse knowledge: but the heart of the foolish doeth not so."
  • Pr 15:31 "The ear that heareth the reproof of life abideth among the wise."
  • Pr 17:28 "Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: and he that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding."
  • Pr 18:15 "The heart of the prudent getteth knowledge; and the ear of the wise seeketh knowledge."
  • Pr 20:1 "Wine is a mocker, strong drink is raging: and whosoever is deceived thereby is not wise."
  • Pr 20:26 "A wise king scattereth the wicked, and bringeth the wheel over them."
  • Pr 21:20 "There is treasure to be desired and oil in the dwelling of the wise; but a foolish man spendeth it up."
  • Pr 21:22 "A wise man scaleth the city of the mighty, and casteth down the strength of the confidence thereof."
  • Pr 24:5 "A wise man is strong; yea, a man of knowledge increaseth strength."
  • Pr 24:23 "These things also belong to the wise. It is not good to have respect of persons in judgment."
  • Pr 26:12 "Seest thou a man wise in his own conceit? there is more hope of a fool than of him."
  • Pr 29:11 "A fool uttereth all his mind: but a wise man keepeth it in till afterwards."
  • More Discussion Questions

  • vs 17 Are there any places in the Bible where God actually says what His will is? (1Thess 4:3, 1Thess 5:18, 1Pet 2:15)
  • vs 18 What other things besides wine do will fill ourselves with which are inappropriate?
  • vs 19 What is the purpose of music?
  • vs 20 How can giving thanks to God benefit us and not doing so be detrimental? (Rom 1:21)
  • vs 21 This verse is a key verse to understanding the next two sections and its various interpretations I will consider in the next prestudy guide.


  • Comments

    Imitating God

    Eph 5:1,2  Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

    How would you imitate anyone if not by first getting to know that person, how they react to circumstances, what are their goals and desires, their attributes and virtues, what are their attitudes and their disposition. This is one of the functions of Bible study - to discover what God is like so that we may imitate Him.

    One of God's attributes is his love reflected in the person of his Son, Jesus Christ, whom he gave up to be sacrificed to reconcile sinners to himself. How does God demonstrate his love for us? "God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us." Rom 5:8 Notice that in doing so he did not compromise his holiness nor judicial nature. Likewise with our love we are not to compromise our moral character. God's love is largely unappreciated by the world obsessed with material things and who care little for holiness and judical matters with regards to their sin. Likewise it should not be surprising that Christian love is treated much the same. In response to sharing the gospel Christians will receive hostility. In fact the sacrifices Christians make are often at the hands of the very sinners they seek to saved, much as Christ also was murdered by those he would die for.

    Also Paul writes, "Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God— this is your spiritual act of worship." Rom 12:1 Worshipping God is more than words. It's a life lived in service to him.



    Proper Behavior

    Eph 5:3,4 But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people. Nor should there be obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving.

    Notice the motivation that Paul alludes to here. That is to behave properly because is it the appropriate and right thing to do. This is in line with the previous verses talking about imitating God. If asked as to why you are not involved with sexual immorality or greed or obscenity, you may say, "Because it is not proper for a Christian to do so; it is not appropriate; it is not right because it's not the way God behaves." This is righteous living - to do what is right because it is the right thing to do in the sight of God.



    Don't be Deceived

    Eph 5:5-7 For of this you can be sure: No immoral, impure or greedy person— such a man is an idolater— has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God. Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. Therefore do not be partners with them.

    Likewise Paul says, "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:9,10 And John writes, "Little children, let no one lead you astray. He who does righteousness is righteous, even as he is righteous.  He who sins is of the devil, for the devil has been sinning from the beginning."1John 3:7,8

    Those who characteristically live in sin such that they earn these labels are those who have clearly not been born of God, and as such do not inherit the kingdom of God. There are those today in the Christian community of a Free Grace Theology who are deceived on this point, and some among them who lead others astray. There are categories of people who do not inherit the kingdom of God regardless of whether they call themselves Christians or not. Thus Paul writes to the Corintians in view of their behavior, "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you— unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Cor 13:5



    Children of Light

    Eph 5:8-10 For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord.

    Consider these three aspects of living as children of light.
    1. Seeking to do what is good
    2. Seeking to do the right thing
    3. Seeking and exposing the truth.

    Are these characteristic of your life? Are these the kind of things of which others would describe of you? The Christian life is not simply one of status. These should be attitudes and behaviors characteristic of Christians. What kind of life pleases the Lord may be elusive at times concerning particular matters, but the believer should make an effort to seek the Lord's will. And do not rely upon mere denominational indoctrination which eliminates reasoning, but seek the truth regardless of the implications. Truths which cannot be questioned are not worth believing.



    Expose the Darkness

    Eph 5:11-14 Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them.  For it is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret.  But everything exposed by the light becomes visible,  for it is light that makes everything visible. This is why it is said: "Wake up, O sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you."

    That is to expose the fruitless deeds of darkness for what they are. They're fruitless in that nothing good comes of them. Those who embrace the practice of evil don't want sin exposed for what it is. Thus Jesus said, "Light has come into the world, but men loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil.  Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that his deeds will be exposed <1651>." John 3:19,20 Not everyone wants Christ to shine on thema and bring to light their deeds.

    "expose" <1651> means to rebuke with sufficient cause, and also effectually, so as to bring the one rebuked to a confession or at least a conviction of sin.  In other words, it means to convince, also translated "rebuke". For example Paul commanded, "Those who sin are to be rebuked <1651> publicly, so that the others may take warning." 1Tim 5:20



    Look for Opportunities

    Eph 5:15,16  Be very careful, then, how you live— not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.

    We only have so much time, energy, and resources, so "as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers." Gal 6:10 and "be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity." Col 4:5

    So look for opportunities to put your faith into action. Don't be overly distracted by the difficulties of life else you'll not be fruitful. Jesus spoke of this is his parable of the sower, "Now the ones that fell among thorns are those who, when they have heard, go out and are choked with cares, riches, and pleasures of life, and bring no fruit to maturity." Luke 8:14



    Understand the Lord's Will

    Eph 5:17 Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.

    For example, "this is the will of God, your sanctification: that you should abstain from sexual immorality" 1Th 4:3

    Yes, the Lord's will is understandable. And while "A fool finds pleasure in evil conduct, but a man of understanding delights in wisdom." Pr 10:23  and "The wise in heart accept commands, but a chattering fool comes to ruin."Pr 10:8

    And if you're looking for God's will for your life, consider firstly what he said both explicitly and implicitly in the Bible as to what is his will and desire concerning the purpose of your life. Consider the implications of what has been written.



    Be Filled with the Spirit

    Eph 5:18  And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit

    The word for "dissipation" <810> means reckless and extravagant expenditure, chiefly for the gratification of one’s sensual desires. Drunkardness is unfruitful, wasteful work of darkness. In fact today we speak of getting drunk as getting wasted. Those who are characteristically alcoholics do not inherit the kingdom of God. "...  nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God." 1Cor 6:10

    Being filled with the Spirit is quite the contrary to being drunk with wine. First of all it is contrary to the desires of the flesh. "For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature. They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want." Gal 5:17 Secondly the outcome is productive rather than wasteful. For example on Pentecost the apostles were filled with the Spirit resulting in thousands of people becoming Christians. In fact the most effect associated with being filled with the Spirit is that the Word of God is proclaimed boldly. "After they prayed, the place where they were meeting was shaken. And they were all filled with the Holy Spirit and spoke the word of God boldly." Acts 4:31



    Singing Praise

    Eph 5:19,20  Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord, always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    These go hand in hand with being filled with the Spirit. "For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks." Mt 12:34 Therefore "let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God." Col 3:16 Singing to one another is generally practiced in the weekly church service, which is one of reasons to gather together with fellow Christianns on a regular basis. "I will declare your name to my brothers; in the presence of the congregation I will sing your praises." Heb 2:12

    And "give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God‘s will for you in Christ Jesus." 1Th 5:18

    Take time now to give thanks to God.


    Submission

    Eph 5:21 Submitting yourselves one to another in the fear of God.

    I include this verse here because of the the way the section is normally broken. But actually this verse is the main verse which will be expanded upon in the rest of the chapter and in chapter 6. "Submit to one another" does not mean for everyone to submit to everyone else. For submission cannot be applied unless it is done with respect to a legitimate recognized authority figure. And in this case it is referring to human authorities within the Christian community.

    The KJV has it "Submitting yourselves one to another."  He then goes on in the follow sections to define who the "one" is and who "another" is. For the term "one to another" is a single greek word, which is also used in Matthew 25:32

    Mt 25:32  And before him shall be gathered all nations: and he shall separate them one from another, as a shepherd divideth his sheep from the goats:
    Here you can see it being applied to mean separation into two categories. So also here in this verse.

    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


    Jul 29,2015