翻譯: English 中文 GB

加拉太書
第一章

因信稱義的辯護

保羅的憑據

一、他的使徒職位

1:1 作使徒的保羅
(不是由于人,也不是借著人,
 乃是借著耶穌基督,
 與叫他從死奡_活的父神),

1:2 和一切與我同在的眾弟兄,寫信給加拉太的各教會:
1:3 愿恩惠、平安從父神與我們的主耶穌基督歸與你們。
1:4 基督照我們父神的旨意
  為我們的罪舍己,
  要救我們脫離這罪惡的世代。

1:5 但愿榮耀歸于神,直到永永遠遠。阿們。
1:6 我希奇你們這麼快離開那借著基督之恩召你們的,
  去從別的福音。

1:7 那并不是福音,
  不過有些人攪擾你們,要把基督的福音更改了。


1:8 但無論是我們,是天上來的使者,
  若傳福音給你們,與我們所傳給你們的不同,
  他就應當被咒詛。

1:9 我們已經說了,現在又說:
  若有人傳福音給你們,與你們所領受的不同,
  他就應當被咒詛!

1:10 我現在是要得人的心呢?還是要得神的心呢?我豈是討人的喜歡嗎?
  若仍舊討人的喜歡,我就不是基督的仆人了。


神給保羅關于恩典福音的啟示

1:11 弟兄們,我告訴你們,我素來所傳的福音,
  不是出于人的意思

1:12 因為我不是從人領受的,也不是人教導我的
  乃是從耶穌基督啟示來的

1:13 你們聽見我從前在猶太教中所行的事,
  怎樣極力逼迫殘害神的教會。

1:14 我又在猶太教中比我本國許多同歲的人更有長進,
  為我祖宗的遺傳更加熱心。

1:15 然而那把我從母腹堣嬪O出來,又施恩召我的神,
1:16 既然樂意將他兒子啟示在我心堙A叫我把他傳在外邦人中,
  我就沒有與屬血氣的人商量

1:17 也沒有上耶路撒冷去,見那些比我先作使徒的
  惟獨往亞拉伯去,後又回到大馬色。

1:18 過了三年,才上耶路撒冷去見磯法,
  和他同住了十五天。

1:19 至于別的使徒,除了主的兄弟雅各,我都沒有看見。
1:20 我寫給你們的,不是謊話,這是我在神面前說的。
1:21 以後我到了敘利亞和基利家境內。
1:22 那時,猶太信基督的各教會都沒有見過我的面
1:23 不過聽說:
  “那從前逼迫我們的,現在傳揚他原先所殘害的真道。”

1:24 他們就為我的緣故,歸榮耀給神。

問題討論

保羅的福音只是他自己的觀點,只是他自對耶穌的話的解釋,還是他直接從耶穌得到他的福音?
如果保羅沒有從神的啟示得到他的福音,那是不是就意味著他在撒謊?
傳一個與保羅的福音相反的福音有多麼危險?
你是不是知道或聽見有人今天在傳與保羅的福音相反的福音?
你有沒聽說過“解放神學”或“耶穌研究會”,他們提出福音大部分都是人編造出來的,他們自己也編造他們自己的神學?在保羅的時代有這樣的人嗎?
你對那些歪曲基督的福音的人應持什麼態度?
如果基督徒不管別人如何看待他們會有什麼好處?
在第11-24節堙A保羅為証明他的福音不是人造的例舉了哪些事實?
為什麼他要指出這一點?

注釋

獨特的資格

加拉太書 1:1-2 作使徒的保羅(不是由于人,也不是借著人,乃是借著耶穌基督,與叫他從死奡_活的父神),和一切與我同在的眾弟兄,寫信給加拉太的各教會:

如果人不尊重你,你說什麼他們是不會聽的。所以在保羅的許多信的開始,他都先說明他資格。在信中,他也常提醒讀者他的權柄和背景。對加拉太人來說更是這樣,因為他在與那些假教師竟爭加拉太基督徒的心和思想。

保羅的話的分量對我們來講為什麼重于別的那些傳道人和後來歷史上的神學家的話呢?他所具有的一個獨特資格就是他是直接被耶穌基督派為使徒的。他對這件事的見証被使徒行傳所証實。其它被人派遣的──比如奉教會所派去差傳的人──則不具有他這個獨特的資格。事實上,他的對手,這些奉割禮的人就連被教會所派的資格都沒有。雖然他們來自猶太的教會,但他們并沒有受到正式的派遣。

注意到不但他有這些資格,保羅還說到他的信是與那些與他同在的眾弟兄一起寫的──這更增加了他的話的分量。


福音的陳述

加拉太書 1:3-5 愿恩惠、平安從父神與我們的主耶穌基督歸與你們。基督照我們父神的旨意為我們的罪舍己,要救我們脫離這罪惡的世代。但愿榮耀歸于神,直到永永遠遠。阿們。

這是一個對福音的簡短介紹,讓我們來看一下其內容和重點。

第一節說到了基督從死奡_活──在講福音時總要包括這一點。【哥林多前書 15:3-4】給出証據來証明其真實性。在這堙A他稱耶穌基督為主──他為我們的罪而死,為了要把我們從這罪惡的世代堿@救出來。福音說的是把我們從罪堭洏X來。靠著基督的血,我們從罪犯在我們的帳上的罪行婺拲洏X來。既得以稱義,我們更要被從這個世代所固有的罪惡婺拲洏X來。也許保羅提醒他們這個事實是因為這些基督徒太過于被這個世代的事所糾纏,而看不到永恆的事。

所以你們若真與基督一同復活,就當求在上面的事。那埵陸繴坐在神的右邊。你們要思念上面的事,不要思念地上的事。【歌羅西書3:1-2】


一個不同的福音

加拉太書 1:6-7 我希奇你們這麼快離開那借著基督之恩召你們的,去從別的福音。那并不是福音,不過有些人攪擾你們,要把基督的福音更改了。

這是加拉太書的主要目的所在──面對假福音的攻擊,捍為真正的福音。有許多人因受教派的熏陶和出于對教派的效忠變得很輕易地就接受他們所聽到的,而不去檢驗和推敲這些說法。約翰教我們說:“親愛的弟兄啊,一切的靈,你們不可都信,總要試驗那些靈是出于神的不是,因為世上有許多假先知已經出來了。”【約翰一書 4:1】事實上,對教義的一個檢驗就是把它與使徒們所定的標准相比較,如約翰所說:“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們﹔不屬神的就不聽從我們。從此我們可以認出真理的靈和謬妄的靈來。”【約翰一書 4:6】所以在加拉太書塈畯戔N發現使徒保羅把他的福音與那些假教師的作對比。

我可以想像很多加拉太人并沒有意識到他們轉去跟從了一個不同的福音。事情往往如此。在那些甚至今天仍相信假福音的基督徒中,很多以為他們所信的福音是被使徒們証明了的。很多人沒有意識到他們已被引入歧途。保羅在這堥洏峞壯琝ぅ_”和“這麼快離開”這樣的字眼來讓他們醒悟過來。


讓他們被永恆地咒詛

加拉太書 1:8-9 但無論是我們,是天上來的使者,若傳福音給你們,與我們所傳給你們的不同,他就應當被咒詛。我們已經說了,現在又說:若有人傳福音給你們,與你們所領受的不同,他就應當被咒詛!

顯然,保羅再一次要使基督徒們醒悟過來,認識到問題的嚴重性。他的言語的沉重,以及他連續兩次重復這個咒詛,說明在他看來這個問題是多麼的嚴重。能否接受真正的福音是一個極其重要的問題,關系到人的靈魂的永恆歸宿將在哪堙C那些教導人的和傳道的人將受到更嚴重的判斷:“我的弟兄們,不要多人作師傅,因為曉得我們要受更重的判斷。”【雅各書 3:1】因為假教師不但使自己定罪,還把別人也一起拖下地獄,就像耶穌說法利賽人的那樣:“你們這假冒為善的文士和法利賽人有禍了!因為你們正當人前,把天國的門關了。自己不進去,正要進去的人,你們也不容他們進去。”【馬太福音 23:13】保羅在這婸〞熙o些假教師在教義上與那些法利賽人相似。“你們要謹慎,防備法利賽人和撒都該人的酵。”【馬太福音 16:6】


討人的喜歡

加拉太書 1:10 我現在是要得人的心呢?還是要得神的心呢?我豈是討人的喜歡嗎?若仍舊討人的喜歡,我就不是基督的仆人了。

有些講道的人因過于耽心大家對他們反應,不敢講他們該講的話。但如果你仔細看耶穌和保羅,還有其它人講的話,你會發現他們不顧忌是否能得到眾人的寵愛。他們不試圖討人的歡心。他們不在乎他們說的話會“得罪人”,因為他們知道那些喜歡真理的人是會聽的。

如果你的目標是討人的歡心,如果你是想讓大家都喜歡你,那麼你就不是基督的仆人了。


人造的

加拉太書 1:11-12 弟兄們,我告訴你們,我素來所傳的福音,不是出于人的意思。因為我不是從人領受的,也不是人教導我的,乃是從耶穌基督啟示來的。

保羅不是從其它使徒那婸漼到福音的。他不但獨特地被耶穌基督親自派為使徒,他還直接從耶穌基督領受到福音。其它使徒親眼看到了耶穌在世上的事奉和教導。所以馬太福音,馬可福音,路加福音和約翰福音含有大量的歷史記載。保羅與他們講的是同一福音,但他的書信的內容主要是神學方面的──由復活的基督授與他的命題式的真理。

他提到這一點的原因是把他自己與那些奉割禮的人作對比。那些人也許會假稱他們是從彼得和約翰那媔§策a領受到福音的,他們會說保羅沒有與其它使徒們有這樣的接觸。在接下來的几節堭N繼續講到這個主題。


保羅過去的生活

加拉太書 1:13-14 你們聽見我從前在猶太教中所行的事,怎樣極力逼迫殘害神的教會。我又在猶太教中,比我本國許多同歲的人更有長進,為我祖宗的遺傳更加熱心。

你大概會以為提起他罪惡的過去──特別是他對教會的迫害,會對他在面對這些假教師為自己辯護的時候起到反作用。但事實上,通過這些,他証明他知道他們是從哪堥茠滿A因為他自己曾與他們同樣對謹守割禮和律法之類的事有熱心。

所以,在評論你的對手的時候,說明一下你知道他們是從哪堥茠滿A你有與他們打交道的經驗,或至少你曾研究過他們的觀點。


將他兒子啟示在我心

加拉太書 1:15-17 然而那把我從母腹堣嬪O出來,又施恩召我的神,既然樂意將他兒子啟示在我心堙A叫我把他傳在外邦人中,我就沒有與屬血氣的人商量,也沒有上耶路撒冷去,見那些比我先作使徒的,惟獨往亞拉伯去,後又回到大馬色。

保羅在神的計划之中不是事後想起而添上的。他在母腹堹契N把他分別出來,在他轉變之前就為他日後的事奉培養他,作准備。當他在使徒行傳第九章被召之後,耶穌就開始住在他堶情A他還將在【加拉太書 2:20】奡ㄗ麭o件事說:“基督在我堶惇△菕他所受到的關于福音的啟示──他的福音的信息──來自住在他堶悸滌繴。他不需要到別的什麼地方去學習有關基督的事。他不需要到耶路撒冷去靠別的使徒給他講關于基督的事。因為無論他在哪堙A基督都住在他堶情C事實上他是在大馬色──在他與其它使徒們見面之前──開始宣講福音的。

他這麼說不只是把他的資格與那些與基督沒有個人關系的假教師作對比,這也是他的福音與那些奉割禮的人的“福音”一個重要對比──也就是說這個福音說的是與耶穌基督的個人關系,就如耶穌在他的禱告奡ㄗ鴘漕獐芊G“認識你,獨一的真神,并且認識你所差來的耶穌基督:這就是永生。”【約翰福音 17:3】他還邀請我們說:“看哪,我站在門外叩門。若有聽見我聲音就開門的,我要進到他那堨h,我與他,他與我一同坐席。”【啟示錄 3:20】


保羅的短暫訪問

加拉太書 1:18-20 過了三年,才上耶路撒冷去見磯法,和他同住了十五天。至于別的使徒,除了主的兄弟雅各,我都沒有看見。我寫給你們的,不是謊話,這是我在神面前說的。

這說的大概是使徒行傳第十一章堳O羅和巴拿巴把捐項送到耶路撒冷的聖徒那堻o件事。

他基本上是說,在他把交給他的福音傳了三年之後,他才短暫地訪問了耶路撒冷──在使徒之中,他只見了彼得。雅各雖然舉足輕重,但不是十二個使徒之一。不過他值得一提,因他是主的兄弟,與主一同長大,是耶路撒冷教會的領袖之一。這就是說,他們對他的福音沒有什麼影響──他後來還要講到這次訪問的細節。


前所未有的轉變

加拉太書 1:21-24 以後我到了敘利亞和基利家境內。那時,猶太信基督的各教會都沒有見過我的面。不過聽說:“那從前逼迫我們的,現在傳揚他原先所殘害的真道。”他們就為我的緣故,歸榮耀給神。

保羅又一次說明他的福音不是從猶太信基督的各教會那媔§絞o來的。不但如此,他現在所傳的是他曾經拒絕的信,這更表明他詳細地檢查了這個信,因為他很了解對這個信的各種可能的反對。在這種情況下信主的人結果往往會更信服他們以前曾敵對的這些概念。

不過遺憾的是猶太的各教會沒有能夠更好地接納保羅。盡管他們為他的轉變而歸榮耀給神,但卻沒有更接近他,原因之一是他們不太愿意去了解他。他們懷疑他的福音,因為他們對外邦人的偏見──(是的,對外邦人堳H基督的人)。他們可以從保羅那媥ヮ鴢雃h。基督徒的生活往往如此。一個人會出于對其它基督徒的某些不合法的偏見而錯過很多祝福。


教派的輕信

加拉太的基督徒走入歧途的一個原因就是他們的輕信,他們不加檢驗地聽從了別人。而在使徒行傳堙A庇哩亞的基督徒因考查保羅的教義而受到稱贊:“這地方的人,賢于帖撒羅尼迦的人,甘心領受這道,天天考查聖經,要曉得這道,是與不是。”【使徒行傳 17:11】但直到今天,很多基督徒仍然輕易地接受他們所聽到的,而不用聖經來檢驗所說的。他們以為既然某某聖經後的神學家或傳到者說了,就一定是對的。表示效忠于這個神學家過于另一個神學家,這個教派過于另一個教派。機夠化的基督教不准基督徒來檢驗教義,基督徒們只能被動地接受教訓,拌演輕信的棉羊的角色。而這正是許多教派分爭的根源。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Galatians 1 (web)

Justification by Faith Defended

Paul Credentials

I. His Apostleship

1:1 Paul, an apostle
(not from men, neither through man,
but through Jesus Christ, and God the Father, who raised him from the dead),
1:2 and all the brothers who are with me, to the assemblies of Galatia:
1:3 Grace to you and peace from God the Father, and our Lord Jesus Christ,
1:4 who gave himself for our sins,
that he might deliver us out of this present evil age,
according to the will of our God and Father--
1:5 to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen.
1:6 I marvel that you are so quickly deserting him
who called you in the grace of Christ to a different gospel;
1:7 and there isn't another gospel.
Only there are some who trouble you, and want to pervert the gospel of Christ.

1:8 But even though we, or an angel from heaven, should preach to you any gospel other than that which we preached to you, let him be cursed.

1:9 As we have said before, so I now say again:
if any man preaches to you any gospel
other than that which you received, let him be cursed.
1:10 For am I now seeking the favor of men, or of God? Or am I striving to please men?
For if I were still pleasing men, I wouldn't be a servant of Christ.
 

Paul's Gospel of Grace given by Divine Revelation

1:11 But I make known to you, brothers, concerning the gospel which was preached by me,
that it is not according to man.

1:12 For neither did I receive it from man, nor was I taught it,
but it came to me through revelation of Jesus Christ.
1:13 For you have heard of my way of living in time past in the Jews' religion,
how that beyond measure I persecuted the assembly of God, and ravaged it.
1:14 I advanced in the Jews' religion beyond many of my own age among my countrymen, being more exceedingly zealous for the traditions of my fathers.
1:15 But when it was the good pleasure of God,
who separated me from my mother's womb, and called me through his grace,
1:16 to reveal his Son in me, that I might preach him among the Gentiles,
I didn't immediately confer with flesh and blood,
1:17 nor did I go up to Jerusalem to those who were apostles before me,
but I went away into Arabia. Then I returned to Damascus.
1:18 Then after three years I went up to Jerusalem to visit Peter,
and stayed with him fifteen days.
1:19 But of the other apostles I saw no one,
except James, the Lord's brother.
1:20 Now about the things which I write to you, behold, before God, I'm not lying.
1:21 Then I came to the regions of Syria and Cilicia.
1:22 I was still unknown by face to the assemblies of Judea which were in Christ,
1:23 but they only heard:
"He who once persecuted us now preaches the faith that he once tried to destroy."
1:24 And they glorified God in me.

Discussion Questions

Is Paul's gospel merely his own opinion, his own interpretation of what Jesus said, or did he receive his gospel directly from Jesus?
If Paul didn't receive his gospel by divine revelation, would that make him a liar?
How dangerous is it to preach a gospel contrary to Paul's gospel?
Do you know or have you heard of people today that preach a gospel contrary to Paul's gospel?
Have you run across "liberal theology" or "the Jesus seminar" people who propose that much of the gospel accounts were merely manufactured by man and they themselves manufacture they're own gospel? Were there such people in Paul's time as well?
What should you attitude be towards those who pervert the gospel of Christ?
What benefits would Christians get if they simply didn't care what others thought of them?
In vs 11-24 what facts does Paul offer to affirm that his gospel was not man-made?
Why does he try to make this point?

Commentary

Unique Credentials

Gal 1:1,2 Paul, an apostle— sent not from men nor by man, but by Jesus Christ and God the Father, who raised him from the dead—  and all the brothers with me, To the churches in Galatia:

If people don't respect you, they're not going to listen to you. Thus in many of Paul's letters from the outset he establishes his credentials and often throughout his letters he'll remind his readers of his authority and his background with them. This is particularly the case in Galatians where he is in competition with false teachers over the hearts and minds of the Galatian Christians.

Why should we listen to Paul over that of the opinions of other preachers and theologians down through history? One relatively unique credential he had was being called as an apostle directly by Jesus Christ, his testimony of that event being affirmed in the book of Acts. And this in contrast to the lesser credentials of those who may be called by men - like missionaries sent out from a church. But in fact his opponents of the group of the circumcision didn't even have those credentials. For while they may have come from the church in Judea, apparently they had not been officially sent.

Notice also that despite his credentials, Paul also speaks of his letter coming from a fellowship of brethren - these also giving credence to his claims.



A Gospel Presentation

Gal 1:3-5 Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ, who gave himself for our sins to rescue us from the present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

Consider the content and emphasis of this brief presentation of the gospel message.

vs 1 spoke of the resurrection of Christ from the dead - which is always included in a gospel presentation. (1Cor 15:3,4) giving physical evidence affirming its truth. Here he speaks of Jesus Christ as Lord - who died for our sins to rescue us from the present evil age. The gospel has to do with deliverance from sin. Through Christ's blood we are delivered from the guilt which sin incurs to our account. But also having been justified we will be delivered from the evil inherent in this present age. Perhaps Paul reminds them of this fact because the Christians were getting too caught up in the things of this age and had lost perspective on eternal things.

Col 3:1,2  Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.


A Different Gospel

Gal 1:6,7  I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you by the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— which is really no gospel at all. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion and are trying to pervert the gospel of Christ

This is primarily what Galatians is about - defending the true gospel from false imitations.There are many who through denominational allegiance and indoctrination have been trained to gullibly accept whatever they hear rather than subjecting the ideas to scrutiny, as John instructed, "Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world." 1John 4:1 In fact one of the tests of right doctrine is to compare it against the standard set by the apostles, as John also said, "We are from God, and whoever knows God listens to us; but whoever is not from God does not listen to us." 1John 4:6 Thus we'll find in Galatians the apostle Paul contrasting his gospel with that of the false teachers.

I bet that many of the Galatians hadn't realized that they were turning away to a different gospel. That's the way it often is. Of those Christians who believe a false gospel even today, most think that they are believing the gospel testified to by the apostles. Most don't realize they've been led astray. Paul uses words here like "I am astonished" and "quickly deserting" to wake them up.



Let them be Anathema

Gal 1:8,9  But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach a gospel other than the one we preached to you, let him be eternally condemned! As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let him be eternally condemned!

Obviously once again Paul is trying to wake Christians up to the seriousness of this matter. The gravity of his words and the fact he repeats this curse twice shows just how seriously he takes this matter. Getting the gospel right is an extremely serious matter upon which the eternal souls of men hang. And thoses who teach and preach will be judged more strictly as James says, "Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly."James 3:1 For false teachers not only condemn themselves, but drag others along to hell as well, much like Jesus said of the Pharisees, "woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites, because you shut off the kingdom of heaven from people; for you do not enter in yourselves, nor do you allow those who are entering to go in." Mt 23:13 And the false teachers Paul was referring to were much like the Pharisees in their doctrine. "Watch out and beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and Sadducees." Mt 16:6



Pleasing Men

Gal 1:10  Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.

Some preachers are just too concerned about their popularity to say what needs to be said. But if you examine the rhetoric of Jesus and Paul, among others, you find that they didn't seem to care about issues of popularity. They weren't trying to please people. They didn't seem to care whether what they said would "turn people off" because they knew that those who appreciate the truth would listen.

If your objective is to please people; if your objective is to make people like you; then you're not being a servant of Christ.



Man-made

Gal 1:11,12   I want you to know, brothers, that the gospel I preached is not something that man made up. I did not receive it from any man, nor was I taught it; rather, I received it by revelation from Jesus Christ.

Paul was not taught the gospel from the other apostles. He was not only called uniquely and personally by Jesus Chris, he was also taught directly by Jesus Christ. The other apostles had been witnesses to Jesus' ministry and Jesus' teachings while on earth. Thus the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John contain a great deal of historic content. While Paul preached the same gospel as they, his content was primary theological - propositional truth told him by the resurrected Christ.

The reason why he brings this up is to pit himself against the circumcision who might falsely claim that they had second-hand knowledge of their gospel through Peter and John from the church at Jerusalem, whereas they may claim that Paul had no such contact with them. This will be an on-going subject for many verses.



Paul's Past Life

Gal 1:13,14  For you have heard of my previous way of life in Judaism, how intensely I persecuted the church of God and tried to destroy it. I was advancing in Judaism beyond many Jews of my own age and was extremely zealous for the traditions of my fathers.

You would think to bring up his sinful past - particularly his persecution of the church would have been counter-productive in his defense against these false teachers. But in fact by this he shows that he knows where they are coming from, having had the same zeal as they for things like circumcision and the legalistic keeping of the law.

So before criticizing your opposition, show that you know where they are coming from, that  have some experience dealing with them, or at least have studied their point of view.



Revealing his Son in me

Gal 1:15-17 But when God, who set me apart from birth and called me by his grace, was pleased to reveal his Son in me so that I might preach him among the Gentiles, I did not consult any man, nor did I go up to Jerusalem to see those who were apostles before I was, but I went immediately into Arabia and later returned to Damascus.

Paul was not an after-thought in God's plan. From birth God had set Paul apart, preparing him for his ministry even prior to his conversion. And after he was called in Acts 9, Jesus began to dwell in him, of which he'll also mention in Gal 2:20 saying "Christ lives in me." His revelation of the gospel - his gospel message - came from Christ who dwelt in him. He didn't have to go somewhere else to learn of Christ. He didn't have to go to Jerusalem to have the other apostles tell him about Christ. For wherever he went, Christ was with him. In fact he started to preach his gospel in Damascus - prior to even meeting to other apostles.

He says this not only to contrast his credentials with that of the false teachers who had no personal relationship with Christ, but also this was an important contrast his his gospel with that of the circumcision - namely that the gospel is about having a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, as Jesus also mentioned in his prayer in John 17:3 "Now this is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent." And in his invitation in Rev 3:20 "Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me."



Paul's Brief Visit

Gal 1:18-20  Then after three years, I went up to Jerusalem to get acquainted with Peter and stayed with him fifteen days. I saw none of the other apostles— only James, the Lord’s brother.  I assure you before God that what I am writing you is no lie.

This event probably corresponded to what was recorded in Acts 11, when Paul and Barnabus went to deliver a gift to the saints in Jerusalem.

Essentially he's saying that after 3 years preaching the gospel given to him prophetically, then he had a short visit to Jerusalem - of the apostles only seeing Peter. James, though a major player had not been one of the Twelve, but was worthy of note, being the half-brother of Christ, growing up with him, and being one of the church leaders in Jerusalem. This is to say that they had no impact on his gospel - as he will go into further detail later about this trip.



An Unprecedented Conversion

Gal 1:21-24  Later I went to Syria and Cilicia. I was personally unknown to the churches of Judea that are in Christ. They only heard the report: "The man who formerly persecuted us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy." And they praised God because of me.

Once again Paul establishes the fact that he didn't get his gospel second-hand through the churches of Judea. Furthermore the fact that he was preaching the faith that he once denied indicates that he seriously must have scrutinized the faith, being well aware of all the possible objections. People that come to faith under those circumstances often end up having well thought out convictions concerning those ideas of which they had formerly been hostile.

Though it's a shame that the churches of Judea hadn't taken to Paul. After all one of the reasons why they didn't know him personally was because, despite the fact they praised God for his conversion, they were reluctant to know him. And they were suspicious of his doctrine due to their prejudice against Gentiles - (yes, against Gentile Christians). They could have learned a lot from Paul. The Christian life can be like that. One can miss out on a blessing because of some unjustified prejudice one may hold against some other Christian.



Denominational Gullibility

One thing that resulted in the Galatians going astray was their gullibility. They listened to the wrong people without scrutinizing their dogma, whereas in Acts 17:11 the Bereans were commended for even scrutinizing Paul's doctrine. But even to this day many Christians gullibly accept whatever they hear without scrutinizing what is said in light of the Bible. They figure if such and such post-Biblical theologian or preacher said it, it must be true. Allegiances are made to one theologian over another, one denomination over another, institutional Christianity disallowing any scrutinizing of doctrine by individual Christians who are taught rather to play the role of stupid gullible sheep. And thus is the origin of many denomination divisions.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015