翻譯: English GB

瞧我的財寶!

以賽亞書 39:1-8

炫耀

1 那時巴比倫王巴拉但的兒子米羅達巴拉但聽見希西家病而痊愈,就送書信和禮物給他。
2 希西家喜歡見使者,就把自己寶庫的金子、銀子、香料、貴重的膏油和他武庫的一切軍器,并所有的財寶都給他們看。他家中和全國之內,希西家沒有一樣不給他們看的。

3 于是先知以賽亞來見希西家王,問他說:“這些人說什麼?他們從哪堥茖ㄖA?”希西家說:“他們從遠方的巴比倫來見我。”
4 以賽亞說:“他們在你家堿搢ㄓF什麼?”希西家說:“凡我家中所有的他們都看見了,我財寶中沒有一樣不給他們看的。”

預言

5 以賽亞對希西家說:“你要聽萬軍之耶和華的話:
6 日子必到,凡你家堜狾釭滿A并你列祖積蓄到如今的,都要被擄到巴比倫去,不留下一樣,這是耶和華說的。
7 并且從你本身所生的眾子,其中必有被擄去,在巴比倫王宮媟矰蚨坁滿C”

回答

8 希西家對以賽亞說:“你所說耶和華的話甚好,因為在我的年日中,必有太平和穩固的景況。”

神給希西家的生命加了十五年,但從我們所有的對那些年的記錄,希西家的表現不如以前。他兒子瑪拿西出生在那些年堙A後來作了王,卻沒有效法他,反之,“他行耶和華眼中看為惡的事,效法耶和華在以色列人面前趕出的外邦人那可憎的事,”【歷代志下 33:2】我們還看到希西家顯然激起了巴比倫王的忌妒,這成了後來巴比倫擄掠猶大的原因之一。我們還在第8節堿搢鴔あ霈a以自我為中心,只顧自己的態度,他不顧將來的後代,甚至不顧他自己的後代。

應用:很多人今天醉心于給他們的生命加上幾年,但卻沒有想好在那幾年堸筐リ偵礡C你所擁有的越多,你就要負越多的責任──這包括多活的那幾年。

至于希西家炫耀他所有的好東西,聖經上說到這件事這個事實多少有點將其與後來被擄聯系起來,給人的印像是,這不是一件有智慧的事。我懷疑這很像大衛數點以色列人和猶大人,結果給以色列帶來審判。“耶和華又向以色列人發怒,就激動大衛,使他吩咐人去數點以色列人和猶大人。”【撒母耳記下 24:1】在這件事上,因神對猶大的忿怒,他通過妒忌來激起巴比倫反對他們,讓希西家把他的好東西給使者看。我不認為這些使者是探子。我也不懷疑米羅達巴拉但的動機。但我可以想見在聽到這些使者關于他們看見的這些財寶的匯報時就誘發了妒忌的種子,這顆種子後來逐年生長,想為他們自己斂聚財寶的君王都有這個特徵。

應用:不要不必要地給別人看你的好東西,以免誘惑他們的妒忌。事實上人們斂聚財寶的一個原因就是與別人互相攀比。一個鄰舍炫耀他的東西,造成別人的妒忌,于是想得到更好的東些來炫耀。因此隱私是基督徒生活的一部分。不要不必要地告訴別人你的薪水或存了多少錢這類的事。要指著基督夸口,而不是你物質上的東西夸口。

這甚至應該應用到康慨大方的事上。考慮使徒行傳第四章堛滷郱|,他們把所有的東西拿來大家共享。然而注意到巴拿巴把他的田地賣了,把價銀拿來,放在使徒腳前的故事(【使徒行傳 4:36-37】)。這件事被記錄下來表明當時大家都知道這件事。注意接下來發生了什麼。顯然,(在我看來),亞拿尼亞和他的妻子對巴拿巴所得的榮耀產生了妒忌,也想被大家看作是康慨大方的人。他們賣了田產,把所得的一部分獻給教會,卻說那是賣田產得到的全部銀價。撒這個謊導致了他們的死亡。當時的那個教會沒有遵守耶穌在這件事上的教導:

“你們要小心,不可將善事行在人的面前,故意叫他們看見。若是這樣,就不能得你們天父的賞賜了。所以你施舍的時候,不可在你前面吹號,像那假冒為善的人,在會堂堜M街道上所行的,故意要得人的榮耀。我實在告訴你們,他們已經得了他們的賞賜。你施舍的時候,不要叫左手知道右手所作的。要叫你施舍的事行在暗中,你父在暗中察看,必然報答你(有古卷作“必在明處報答你”)。”【馬太福音 6:1-4】

因此,要盡你的可能,不要人別人知道你的施舍──不但是為了你的緣故,也為了不要因為你而引起別人妒忌的緣故。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Look at My Stuff!

Isaiah 39:1-8

Exhibition

1  At that time Merodach-Baladan son of Baladan king of Babylon sent Hezekiah letters and a gift, because he had heard of his illness and recovery.
2  Hezekiah received the envoys gladly and showed them what was in his storehouses— the silver, the gold, the spices, the fine oil, his entire armory and everything found among his treasures. There was nothing in his palace or in all his kingdom that Hezekiah did not show them.

3  Then Isaiah the prophet went to King Hezekiah and asked, "What did those men say, and where did they come from?" "From a distant land," Hezekiah replied. "They came to me from Babylon."
4  The prophet asked, "What did they see in your palace?" "They saw everything in my palace," Hezekiah said. "There is nothing among my treasures that I did not show them."

Prophecy

5  Then Isaiah said to Hezekiah, "Hear the word of the LORD Almighty:
6  The time will surely come when everything in your palace, and all that your fathers have stored up until this day, will be carried off to Babylon. Nothing will be left, says the LORD.
7  And some of your descendants, your own flesh and blood who will be born to you, will be taken away, and they will become eunuchs in the palace of the king of Babylon."

Response

8  "The word of the LORD you have spoken is good," Hezekiah replied. For he thought, "There will be peace and security in my lifetime."


Comment

God had added 15 years to Hezekiah's life, but what record we have of those additional years does not reflect as well on Hezekiah as his former years. His son Manasseh, born during those years, who later reigned as king did not follow his ways but "he did evil in the eyes of the LORD, following the detestable practices of the nations the LORD had driven out before the Israelites." 2Chron 33:2 So also we find Hezekiah apparently provoked the king of Babylon to envy, being one of the reasons for the later captivity of Judah. We see also in verse 8 an attitude of self-centered self-interest in Hezekiah, unconcerned for future generations even of his own descendants.
Application: Many today are obsessed about adding a few years to their life, but haven't really thought through what they would do with those years. The more you have, the more you will be held accountable for - and that includes years.
Now as for Hezekiah exhibiting all his nice stuff, the fact that the Bible includes this account somehow linking it to the coming captivity gives the impression that it was not a wise thing to have done. I suspect that situation much like the census David took which brought judgment upon Israel. "The anger of the LORD burned against Israel, and he incited David against them, saying, "Go and take a census of Israel and Judah." 2 Samuel 24:1  So also in this case in His anger against Judah God incited the Babylonians against them through envy by allowing Hezekiah to show the envoys all his nice stuff. I don't think the envoys were spies. Nor do I question Merodach-Baladan's motivation. But I would imagine that upon hearing the envoy's report of the treasures they were shown induced a seed of envy which grew over the years as is characteristic of kings to accumulate better stuff for themselves, which led to war.
Application: Don't tempt people to envy by unncessarily exhibiting all your nice stuff. In fact one reason why people accumulates stuff is to "keep up with the Jones". One neighbor will boast about his stuff, causing the other to envy and get better stuff which he can then boast in. Privacy therefore should be part of the Christian life. Don't give out personal information like salary or savings unncessarily. Exhibit Christ, not your material things.
This should even apply when it comes to practicing generosity. Consider the church in Acts 4 in which they shared all things in common. However note the story of Barnabus selling a field and laying the money at the apostle's feet. (Acts 4:36,37) The fact that this is event is recorded indicates that it was public knowledge. Notice what happens next. Apparently (as I see it) Ananias and his wife became envious of the honor Barnabus recieved and wanted to publically be perceived as generous as well. For they sold a field and gave part of the money to the church claiming that they gave the whole sum. This lie resulted in their death. The church at that time did not practice what Jesus taught saying,
Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven. So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. Matt 6:1-4
Therefore to the extend in which you are able try to keep your acts of generosity anonymous - not only for your own sake, but also that you will not provoke others to envy.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources