翻譯: English GB

為神的名的緣故

以賽亞書 48:9,11

我為我的名暫且忍怒,為我的頌贊向你容忍,不將你剪除。……我為自己的緣故必行這事,我焉能使我的名被褻瀆?我必不將我的榮耀歸給假神。

神為他的名采取行動。他為他自己的名的緣故行事。注意到比如在十誡堙A大多數是關于尊重神的品德、他的權威和他的設計。而第三誡則特別地是關于尊重神的名,暗指的他的名聲。有意思的是,神耽心他的名被褻瀆。在第九誡堙A他還耽心別人的名被損。

神的名聲如何會被褻瀆呢?雖然以色列應當被剪除,但如果神毀滅以色列(將你剪除),那麼他就毀了他與亞伯拉罕、以撒和雅各立的約。記得比如摩西在為以色列代禱時向神提起這個約:

摩西便懇求耶和華他的神說:“耶和華啊,你為什麼向你的百姓發烈怒呢?這百姓是你用大力和大能的手從埃及地領出來的。為什麼使埃及人議論說:‘他領他們出去,是要降禍與他們,把他們殺在山中,將他們從地上除滅。’求你轉意,不發你的烈怒﹔後悔,不降禍與你的百姓。求你記念你的仆人亞伯拉罕、以撒、以色列。你曾指著自己起誓說:‘我必使你們的後裔像天上的星那樣多,并且我所應許的這全地,必給你們的後裔,他們要永遠承受為業。’”【出埃及記 32:11-13】

有意思的是神甚至關切不信的人和外人對他的看法。如果是這樣的話,我們應當注意別人通過我們如何看待神。我們有沒有維護神的名聲?我們有沒有給人留下神是信實的印像?


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

For God's Name Sake

Isaiah 48:9,11
For my own name’s sake I delay my wrath; for the sake of my praise I hold it back from you, so as not to cut you off. ... For my own sake, for my own sake, I do this. How can I let myself be defamed? I will not yield my glory to another.


Comment

God acts to preserve His reputation. He acts for His own name sake. Notice for example in the 10 commandments, much of them have to do with respecting God 's nature, His authority and design. But in particular the third commandment has to do with respecting the Lord's name, alluding to His reputation. It is interesting that God is concerned about being defamed. So also in the 9th commandment He is concerned that other people not be defamed.

How was God's reputation being threatened? Simply that while Israel deserved to be destroyed, if He were to destroy Israel (cut you off), then He would have broken his covenant with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob. Recall for example how in interceeding for Israel, Moses recalled to God the covenant:

Ex 32:11-13 But Moses sought the favor of the LORD his God. "O LORD," he said, "why should your anger burn against your people, whom you brought out of Egypt with great power and a mighty hand?  Why should the Egyptians say, ‘It was with evil intent that he brought them out, to kill them in the mountains and to wipe them off the face of the earth’? Turn from your fierce anger; relent and do not bring disaster on your people. Remember your servants Abraham, Isaac and Israel, to whom you swore by your own self: ‘I will make your descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and I will give your descendants all this land I promised them, and it will be their inheritance forever.’"
It is interesting that God is concerned about how He is perceived even by unbelievers or foreigners. If this is the case then we should also be concerned about how other people perceive God through us. Are we upholding God's reputation? Do we give the impression that God is faithful?


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources