翻譯: English GB

懲罰與尊重

以賽亞書 52:3-5

耶和華如此說:“你們是無價被賣的,也必無銀被贖。”主耶和華如此說:“起先我的百姓下到埃及,在那堭H居,又有亞述人無故欺壓他們。”耶和華說:“我的百姓既是無價被擄去,如今我在這塈@什麼呢?”耶和華說:“轄制他們的人呼叫,我的名整天受褻瀆。

從神在這堥洏峈獄y氣,他似乎忘記了是他自己引著以色列被擄去的。因為他們的罪,他召亞述來把他們擄去,比如他甚至前面在以賽亞書堜蚖{了這一點。那麼為什麼他因以色列受欺壓而忿怒呢?難道不是他把這些帶給他們的嗎?他又暗示了受埃及的欺壓和受亞述的欺壓之間的類似之處。但神的子民被帶到埃及并不是因為他們的罪。至少神從來沒有明確地這樣說。反之,他們到埃及去是要躲過飢荒──如約瑟曾經預言的那樣。只有到了後來他們才受到欺壓,而且不是因為他們做錯了什麼。但被擄去亞述則遠不是出于自愿,而是因為他們違背了律法的約定,給他們自己帶來了審判。

但無論如何,根據以賽亞已經預言的,我要說亞述做得太過分了。比如,“呼叫”有嘲弄的意思,就太過分了。這遠不止是管教。在管教時,必須保持尊重。甚至小孩子都能區別管教和不公正的懲罰。考慮律法是怎麼說的:

“惡人若該受責打,審判官就要叫他當面伏在地上,按著他的罪照數責打。只可打他四十下,不可過數。若過數,便是輕賤你的弟兄了。”【申命記 25:2-3】

神懲罰──但尊重。
所以在你懲罰別人時,也要尊重。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Punish with Respect

Isaiah 52:3-5
 this is what the LORD says: "You were sold for nothing, and without money you will be redeemed." For this is what the Sovereign LORD says: "At first my people went down to Egypt to live; lately, Assyria has oppressed them. "And now what do I have here?" declares the LORD. "For my people have been taken away for nothing, and those who rule them mock," declares the LORD. "And all day long my name is constantly blasphemed.

Comment

By the rhetoric God uses here it's as if he forgot that He himself led Israel into captivity. He called upon Assyria to take them captive because of their sinfulness, as even He acknowledged previously in Isaiah. Why then is He offended at Israel's oppression, since He brought to upon them? Then he also implies a similarity between the Egyptian captivity to the Assyrian captivity. But the people had not been led into Egypt because of their sinfulness. At least God never said so explicitly. No, rather they went to Egypt to endure the famine - as Joseph had prophecied. It wasn't until later that they were oppressed and that not due to some fault in themselve. But the Assyrian captivity, far from being voluntary, was judgement upon them because of their violating the covenant of the Law.

However, taken what Isaiah had already prophecied, I would say that the Assyrians went too far. Mockery, for example, goes too far. It goes beyond simple discipline. When discipline is applied it must be applied with respect. Even children can distinguish the difference between discipline and unjust punishment. Consider also what the law says:

Deut 25:2,3 "If the guilty man deserves to be beaten, the judge shall make him lie down and have him flogged in his presence with the number of lashes his crime deserves, but he must not give him more than forty lashes. If he is flogged more than that, your brother will be degraded in your eyes."
God punishes - but with respect.
So when you must punish others, do so with respect

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources