翻譯: English GB

聖哉!聖哉!聖哉!

以賽亞書 6:1b-4

1 我見主坐在高高的寶座上。
 他的衣裳垂下,遮滿聖殿。

2 其上有撒拉弗侍立,各有六個翅膀:
 用兩個翅膀遮臉,兩個翅膀遮腳,兩個翅膀飛翔。

3 彼此呼喊說:
 “聖哉!聖哉!聖哉!萬軍之耶和華,他的榮光充滿全地!”

4 因呼喊者的聲音,
 門檻的根基震動,殿充滿了煙云。

一個關于耶穌基督的啟示

約翰在約翰福音媦g到:“這是要應驗先知以賽亞的話說:‘主啊,我們所傳的有誰信呢?主的膀臂向誰顯露呢?’他們所以不能信,因為以賽亞又說:‘主叫他們瞎了眼,硬了心,免得他們眼睛看見,心堜白,回轉過來,我就醫治他們。’以賽亞因為看見他的榮耀,就指著他說這話。”【約翰福音 12:38-41】約翰在那堣犍峇F【以賽亞書 6:9-10】,表明約翰說這幾節婸〞漸D耶和華指的是耶穌基督。耶穌就是主耶和華。

主的衣裳

主的衣裳既然遮滿聖殿,走進殿奡N不可能不踩著他的衣裳。這描繪了主是整個聖殿的主。如在前面說到的烏西雅曾試圖篡奪聖殿祭司的權威,其實基本上就是把他自己當作聖殿的主。我們每個人和我們集體都是主的聖殿(【哥林多前書 3:16】【以弗所書 2:21】)。因此,讓我們的行為與此相稱。“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】

聖哉!聖哉!聖哉!

對三位一體的神的三重頌贊。這也許是對一個在神面前的人來說最顯著的特徵。啟示錄堣]記錄了一件類似的事:“四活物各有六個翅膀,遍體內外都滿了眼睛。他們晝夜不住地說:‘聖哉!聖哉!聖哉!主神是昔在、今在、以後永在的全能者!’”【啟示錄 4:8】聖潔不只是說神是無罪的或他恨惡罪的出現,而更一般地講他在所有方面都分別出來是傑出的。因此,比方說,獨有神才應該受到敬拜。唯有神創造了天和地,并獨立于他的被造物。摩西律法以用于宗教儀式和節日的用具來像徵“聖潔”,“其中的祭司強解我的律法,褻瀆我的聖物,不分別聖的和俗的,也不使人分辨潔淨的和不潔淨的,又遮眼不顧我的安息日。我也在他們中間被褻慢。”【以西結書 22:26】這塈畯怓搢鴗ˉ鉹妒囿漱@層意思就是它們不一定是有罪性的,而更一般地講它們是通常的或普通的。如果我們以我們對待其它普通關系的方式對待神,我們就沒有以聖潔的方式對待我們與神的關系。這影響我們如何陳述福音。我不認為我們應該模糊地說作為基督徒就是要與神有個人關系,這是福音派堛漱@個常用語。因為人會誤以為這指的是一般的普通關系,比如你與另外一個人的關系。真正的基督徒生活的特徵是與神的聖潔關系,而不是一個通常的個人關系。

他的榮光充滿全地

神的榮光從他的創造堣洉M出來。比如人有神的形像和榮光(【哥林多前書 11:7】)。而且,“有天上的形體,也有地上的形體。但天上形體的榮光是一樣,地上形體的榮光又是一樣。日有日的榮光,月有月的榮光,星有星的榮光﹔這星和那星的榮光,也有分別。”【哥林多前書 15:40-41】

殿充滿了煙云

我曾聽到一位牧師說講壇上有薄靄時,長凳上就有厚霧。當然他的意思是說當他自己沒有搞清某個問題時,聽的人就更搞不清他想說什麼。但也許這埵閉Y種關聯。神還在聖經塈O的地方用到煙、霧或云。以色列人被云領著走過曠野。事實上以賽亞在第四章奡ㄗ麭o件事:“耶和華也必在錫安全山,并各會眾以上,使白日有煙云,黑夜有火焰的光。因為在全榮耀之上必有遮蔽。”【以賽亞書 4:5】我們注意到以賽亞書堛熙o一段與發生在西乃山上摩西接受律法那件事的相似之處。“西乃全山冒煙,因為耶和華在火中降于山上。山的煙氣上騰,如燒窯一般,遍山大大地震動。”【出埃及記 19:18】還有在啟示錄堙G“因神的榮耀和能力,殿中充滿了煙。”【啟示錄 19:18a】還有注意到這與他的忿怒之間的關聯:“我在急難中求告耶和華,向我的神呼求。他從殿中聽了我的聲音。我的呼求入了他的耳中。那時因他發怒,地就搖撼戰抖。天的根基也震動搖撼。從他鼻孔冒煙上騰。從他口中發火焚燒,連炭也著了”【撒母耳記下 22:7-9】殿充滿了煙云也與神的榮光聯系在一起,“甚至祭司不能站立供職,因為耶和華的榮光充滿了殿。那時所羅門說:‘耶和華曾說他必住在幽暗之處。’”【列王記上 8:11-12】(注意到有時神阻止我們事奉他,以使我們敬畏他,很像馬大和馬利亞的那件事。)云也與神的聖潔聯系起來。“會眾聚集攻擊摩西、亞倫的時候,向會幕觀看,不料,有云彩遮蓋了,耶和華的榮光顯現。”【民數記 16:42】

云和煙代表神故意使我們對他的認識模糊。甚至作為基督徒,保羅也表達了這個真理說:“我們如今仿佛對著鏡子觀看,模糊不清(“模糊不清”原文作“如同猜謎”)﹔到那時,就要面對面了。我如今所知道的有限﹔到那時就全知道,如同主知道我一樣。”【哥林多前書 13:12】從某種意義上講,這種模糊限制了我們對神真誠的敬拜。稱神為聖潔意味著什麼現在還不能被完全理解。但我們可以真誠地承認神已經向我們顯現的關于他的事,我們越順從他,他就會越多地向我們顯現(【約翰福音 14:21】)。

門檻的根基震動

這指的是進殿的入口。來到聖潔的神面前是一件可畏的事。因此我們明白以賽亞的反應,這是下一個默想的主題。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Holy, Holy, Holy

Isaiah 6:1b-4

1 I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted,
and the train of his robe filled the temple.
Above him were seraphs, each with six wings:
With two wings they covered their faces,
with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying.
And they were calling to one another:
"Holy, holy, holy is the LORD Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory."
At the sound of their voices the doorposts and
thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.

A Revelation of Jesus Christ

John writes in John 12:38-41 Therefore they could not believe, because Isaiah said again:  "He has blinded their eyes and hardened their hearts, Lest they should see with their eyes, Lest they should understand with their hearts and turn, So that I should heal them." These things Isaiah said when he saw His glory and spoke of Him. There John quotes Isaiah 6:9,10 indicating that John is saying that these verses here referring to the LORD are referring to Jesus Christ. Jesus is the LORD.

The Lord's Robe

With the Lord's robe filling the temple it's not possible to step into the temple without stepping on his robe. This illustrates that the Lord is lord of the whole temple. As previously noted Uzziah had tried to usurp the authority of the priests in the temple, essentially making himself lord of the temple. Individually and corporally we are the Lord's temple. (1Cor 3:16; Eph 2:21) Therefore let us behave appropriately. "He died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15

Holy, Holy, Holy

A triune saying for the Triune God. This is perhaps the most outstanding characteristic manifest when one is in the presence of God. A similar event is recorded in Revelation 4:8 Each of the four living creatures had six wings and was covered with eyes all around, even under his wings. Day and night they never stop saying: "Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty, who was, and is, and is to come." Holy means not simply that God is sinless or that he despises the presence of sin, but more generally that he is separate and distinct in all aspects. Thus for example God alone is to be worshipped and no other. God alone created the heavens and earth and is independent from His creation. Under the Law of Moses "holiness" was allegorized in the utensils used in religious ceremonies and holy days, "Her priests do violence to my law and profane my holy things; they do not distinguish between the holy and the common; they teach that there is no difference between the unclean and the clean; and they shut their eyes to the keeping of my Sabbaths, so that I am profaned among them." Ezekiel 22:26  Here we get the sense concerning things not holy that it is not that they are sinful, but more generally that they are common and ordinary. We treat our relationship with God in an unholy manner if we treat Him in the same manner as we treat any other ordinary relationship. This affects how we present the gospel. I don't think we should be so vague as to say that to be a Christian is to have a personal relationship with God, which is a common Evangelical expression. For people could misconstrue such to refer to an ordinary common relationship such as you have with another person. It is a holy relationship with God which characterizes the true Christian life, not simply a common personal relationship.

The whole earth is full of his glory

God's glory is reflected in his creation. For example man is in the image and glory of God (1Cor 11:7). So also "There are also celestial bodies, and bodies terrestrial: but the glory of the celestial is one, and the glory of the terrestrial is another. There is one glory of the sun, and another glory of the moon, and another glory of the stars: for one star differeth from another star in glory." 1Cor 15:40,41

The temple was filled with smoke

I've heard a pastor once say that when there is mist in the pulpit there's fog in the pew. Of course he means that when he personally is not clear in his own mind on an issue, then it's going to be perceived still foggier when he tries to communicate it. But perhaps there is some correlation here. This manifestation of smoke, fog or cloud God used elsewhere in the scriptures. The people of Israel were led through the desert by a cloud. And in fact Isaiah mentioned this in chapter 4 saying, "Then the LORD will create over all of Mount Zion and over those who assemble there a cloud of smoke by day and a glow of flaming fire by night; over all the glory will be a canopy." Isaiah 4:5 And we notice a close similarity to the Isaiah passage here and what occurred on Mount Sinai where Moses received the Law. "Mount Sinai was covered with smoke, because the LORD descended on it in fire. The smoke billowed up from it like smoke from a furnace, the whole mountain trembled violently" Ex 19:18  And in Rev 15:8 "And the temple was filled with smoke from the glory of God and from his power" And notice also a correlation between these and His anger "In my distress I called to the LORD; I called out to my God. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came to his ears. The earth trembled and quaked, the foundations of the heavens shook; they trembled because he was angry.  Smoke rose from his nostrils; consuming fire came from his mouth, burning coals blazed out of it." 2Sam 22:7-9 A cloud filling the temple is also associated with God's glory, as in the dedication of the first temple. "And the priests could not perform their service because of the cloud, for the glory of the LORD filled his temple. Then Solomon said, 'The LORD has said that he would dwell in a dark cloud.'" 1Kings 8:11-12 (Note that God sometimes hinders us from serving Him to put us in awe of Himself, much as also in the Martha/Mary incident) The cloud is associated with God's holiness. Numbers 16:42 "But when the assembly gathered in opposition to Moses and Aaron and turned toward the Tent of Meeting, suddenly the cloud covered it and the glory of the LORD appeared."

The cloud and smoke represent God's intentional vagueness as to our knowledge of Him. And even as a Christian Paul expresses this truth saying, "Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known." 1Cor 13:12 In one sense this vagueness limits our genuine worship of God. The implications of calling God holy cannot be fully comprehended in the present. But we can genuinely acknowledge what God has revealed to us about Himself, and as we obey Him more is revealed. (John 14:21)

The doorposts and thresholds shook

These refer to the entry ways into the temple. It is a fearful thing to enter into the presence of the holy God. And thus we understand Isaiah's reaction, which is the subject of the next meditation.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015