翻譯: English 中文 GB

不結果子的無花果樹

路加福音13:6-9 于是用比喻說:“一個人有一棵無花果樹栽在葡萄園堙C他來到樹前找果子,卻找不著。就對管園的說:‘看哪,我這三年來到這無花果樹前找果子,竟找不著。把它砍了吧,何必白占地土呢?’管園的說:‘主啊,今年且留著,等我周圍掘開土,加上糞。以後若結果子便罷。不然再把它砍了。’”

問題討論

不結果的無花果樹代表誰?管園的代表誰?園主代表誰?
他們是如何不結果子的?
他們是如何“白占地土”的?
耶穌要做什麼使這不結果的樹結果?
把它砍了是什麼意思?


注釋

這個喻言的上下文是人們在議論人在災難中死去的事。耶穌在第4-5節婸﹛G“你們以為那些人比一切住在耶路撒冷的人更有罪嗎?我告訴你們,不是的。你們若不悔改,都要如此滅亡。”那些過著舒適生活的人很容易假定那些不幸的人遭難是出于他們自己的過錯。他們一定是更壞的罪人。但整個聖經証明事實并非如此。最終極的例子要算是耶穌自己的死。猶太人認為他們自己道德高尚,因而具有愛論斷人和假冒為善的特點。

這個喻言的主題是結出悔改的果子。其特別的應用指的是猶太國,雖然其中有些人悔改了,信了基督,但大多數人硬了心。耶穌借用了在下面提到的以賽亞的預言。而其更廣泛的應用則是指把人從唯名主義引到對基督的真正的信。

耶穌發現他為猶太人整體的轉變所做出的努力基本上沒猶什麼結果。而且他最終會被拒絕,并被他們殺害。他就是管園的。他的父就是園主。盡管沒有結什麼果子,他還是為猶太人代禱,就如神要毀滅他們時,摩西為他們代禱一樣。

他所尋找的果子就是悔改的果子,就如第5節所說的那樣。如果一個人說他信,但他的信卻沒有外在的效果,這種信是死的,沒有能使人得救得價值,沒有什麼好處。耶穌多方給人的信施肥。對高傲的,他用羞辱給他們施肥﹔對卑微的,他以神跡提供醫治,以肯定他們的信。但他總是用他的道來造就。

何必白占地土呢?

不結果子的人使教會的資源流失。當然要把新信的人訓練成結果子的勞工需要數年的時間。但這種努力經常是白費的。他們變成了壓板凳的,很少有信的應用。自己也許會覺得很信教,覺得道德比別人高尚,就像當時的法利賽人一樣,但缺乏必要的謙卑來結果子。

“神兩次,三次,向人行這一切的事,為要從深坑救回人的靈魂,使他被光照耀與活人一樣。” 約伯記 33:29,30


不信的枝子
以賽亞書 5:1-7

“我要為我所親愛的唱歌,是我所愛者的歌,論他葡萄園的事:我所親愛的有葡萄園,在肥美的山岡上。他刨挖園子,撿去石頭,栽種上等的葡萄樹,在園中蓋了一座樓,又鑿出壓酒池。指望結好葡萄,反倒結了野葡萄。耶路撒冷的居民和猶大人哪,請你們現今在我與我的葡萄園中斷定是非。我為我葡萄園所作之外,還有什麼可作的呢?我指望結好葡萄,怎麼倒結了野葡萄呢?現在我告訴你們,我要向我葡萄園怎樣行:我必撤去籬笆,使它被吞滅,拆毀牆垣,使它被踐踏。我必使它荒廢,不再修理,不再鋤刨,荊棘蒺藜倒要生長。我也必命云不降雨在其上。”

“萬軍之耶和華的葡萄園,就是以色列家,他所喜愛的樹,就是猶大人。他指望的是公平,誰知倒有暴虐(或作“倒流人血”)。指望的是公義,誰知倒有冤聲。”


Rap

A man had a fig tree planted in his yard
And could find no fruit though he looked very hard
So he said to the man who took care of the tree
"I've been coming here for how many years? Three!
I've found no fruit inspite of the toil.
Why should it even use up the soil?"
"Sir," he replied, "Leave it one more year,
I'll dig around it and fertilize with care.
If then it bears fruit, that will be good!
If not, we'll make it into firewood."



Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Barren Fig Tree

Lk 13:6-9 He spoke this parable. "A certain man had a fig tree planted in his vineyard, and he came seeking fruit on it, and found none. He said to the vine dresser, ‘Behold, these three years I have come looking for fruit on this fig tree, and found none. Cut it down. Why does it waste the soil?’ He answered, ‘Lord, leave it alone this year also, until I dig around it, and fertilize it. If it bears fruit, fine; but if not, after that, you can cut it down.’" (web)


Discussion Questions

Who does the barren fig tree represent? Who the caretaker? And who the owner?
In what way are they barren?
In what way do they "use up the soil."?
What does Jesus do to try and produce fruitfulness from this barren tree?
What does it mean to be cut down?


Comments

The context of this is that people were talking about people who died in disasters and in senseless ways. Jesus says in verse 4,5, "Do you think they were more guilty than all the others living in Jerusalem? I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish." For those who live comfortable lives, it's easy to presume that it's their own fault that people are subject to misfortune. They must somehow be worst sinners. But throughout the Bible, this has proven to not necessarily be the case. The ultimate counter example will be Jesus' own death. The Jews in particular where characteristically judgmental and hypocrites, considering themselves morally superior.

The subject of this parable is producing fruits of repentance. The particular application is directed towards the Jewish nation which, although some had repented and come to faith in Christ, the majority were hardened in heart. Jesus was doing a take on Isaiah's prophecy mentioned below. The more general application is toward those who are being led through nominalism to true faith in Christ.

Jesus found that his efforts in converting the Jews as a whole to faith in himself was largely unfruitful. And ultimately he would be rejected and killed by them. He was the caretaker of the vineyard. His father was the owner. Despite the barrenness, he intercedes for the Jews, much as Moses had done when God was going to destroy them.

The fruitfulness he was looking for was fruits of repentance, as verse 5 indicates. If a person says he believes, but has no outworkings to his faith, such faith is a dead faith, having no salvific value and being good for nothing. Jesus fertilizes people's faith in a number of ways. To the proud, he'll fertilize with humiliation. To the humble he may provide miraculous signs of healing, so as to affirm their faith. But he always uses his word to edify.

Why should it use up the soil?

Unfruitful people are a drain on the church. Of course it may take a number of years discipling and training new converts to become fruitful laborers. But many times, such effort seems wasted. They become mere pew-sitters, having little or no application of faith, perhaps feeling religious and feeling morally superior to others, like the Pharisees were, but lacking in the necessary humility to produce fruit.

Don't test God's patience. God won't endure the stiff-necked for long. "God does all these things to a man-- twice, even three times-- to turn back his soul from the pit, that the light of life may shine on him." Job 33:29,30


The Unfuitful Vine of Isaiah 5:1-7

"I will sing for the one I love a song about his vineyard: My loved one had a vineyard on a fertile hillside. He dug it up and cleared it of stones and planted it with the choicest vines. He built a watchtower in it and cut out a winepress as well. Then he looked for a crop of good grapes, but it yielded only bad fruit. Now you dwellers in Jerusalem and men of Judah, judge between me and my vineyard. What more could have been done for my vineyard than I have done for it? When I looked for good grapes, why did it yield only bad? Now I will tell you what I am going to do to my vineyard: I will take away its hedge, and it will be destroyed; I will break down its wall, and it will be trampled. I will make it a wasteland, neither pruned nor cultivated, and briers and thorns will grow there. I will command the clouds not to rain on it."

"The vineyard of the LORD Almighty is the house of Israel, and the men of Judah are the garden of his delight. And he looked for justice, but saw bloodshed; for righteousness, but heard cries of distress."


Rap

A man had a fig tree planted in his yard
And could find no fruit though he looked very hard
So he said to the man who took care of the tree
"I've been coming here for how many years? Three!
I've found no fruit inspite of the toil.
Why should it even use up the soil?"
"Sir," he replied, "Leave it one more year,
I'll dig around it and fertilize with care.
If then it bears fruit, that will be good!
If not, we'll make it into firewood."


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


May 10,2010