翻譯: English 中文 GB

與宗教精英的衝突

如果你跟隨耶穌,那麼就不可避免地會與機構化的宗教領袖發生衝突。誰是耶穌最大的敵人呢?是像彼拉多那樣的羅馬世俗官員嗎?大多數猶太人視羅馬人(非猶太人)為他們最大的敵人。但耶穌卻不是這樣。事實上,在他受審的時候,彼拉多想把釋放他,宣告他無罪。但猶太宗教領袖卻堅持要治他于死地,如耶穌預言的那樣:“人子必須受許多的苦,被長老、祭司長和文士棄絕,并且被殺,第三日復活。” 【路加福音 9:22】這正符合他教導的原則:“人的仇敵,就是自己家堛漱H。”【馬太福音 10:36】

機構化主義的敗壞效果

(一個關于這個問題更詳細的文章請見http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/institute_b5.html慣穿整個基督教歷史,其最大的敵人常常不是世上的領袖,而是它自己的機構化領袖。而誰會告訴你這一點呢?你大概不可能從機構化的領袖那媗巨麭o一點。然而他們把自己說成是合法的基督教唯一的發言人。在耶穌的時代如此,甚至直到現在仍然如此。運動似乎總是不可避免地通過它的機構化而敗壞。在我們的罪性中所固有的就是權力會敗壞。機構化建立了權力的位置,這些位置不可避免地成為敗壞的根源。這并不是說在基督教的實踐上我們不應該建立機構。但我們必須看到為了整個身體的造就,必須要認識到機構化的短處。

考慮各種形式的政府。因為權力的敗壞,獨裁形式的政府時間長了總是不可避免地要變壞。在過去五十年堙A世界得益于民主,其中所固有的相互制約保証了敗壞的領袖不能太出格。教會的領袖必須受到檢驗它必須允許自己受到檢驗。如過領袖不允許自己受到檢驗,不但敗壞會發生,而且這表明敗壞已經在起作用了。因為只有高傲的人才不允許自己受到檢驗。如果領袖有的高傲的特徵,機構就已經危險了。

然而典型的教會領導形式容易使自己受到這樣的敗壞。教會的領袖一直是獨裁式的。你到一個教會去,你基本上就是去聽課。反饋不受鼓勵,對領袖的批評也同樣。很少有教會甚至允許他們的成員討論他們個人對聖經的理解。在這種情況下個人怎樣對待敗壞的領袖呢?基督徒基本上以他們的腳來投票。結果,教派就產生了。有些教會聲稱他們有內在的檢驗和平衡的系統,其中一組精英將確保牧師不出格,但誰能保証他們不出格呢?

“民主”式的教會也免不了敗壞。有多大一部分猶太人跟隨了耶穌呢?少部分,一個餘剩。受眾人歡迎的往往偏離真理。世上大多數把他們自己稱作“基督徒”的人其實不把耶穌當作主對待。大多數不認真對待聖經。當你讓這樣的大多數來管理教會會怎麼樣呢?這樣的教會也會像他們一樣。他們會選誰作領袖呢?像他們那樣的人,給他們講他們想聽的話的人。而餘剩則沒有發言權。唯名的基督徒已經以建立“講課”的形式把他們的發言權奪走,因為不允許他們在這些講課中發言。規則和條例被建立起來,不允許那些不受眾人歡迎的堅持聖經的信徒與領袖有不同意見。結果怎樣呢?他們往往只有離開。

這并不是說機構化的教會是由一些唯名的基督徒建立起來的。因為事情往往是這樣的:一個信徒從不愿改變,不愿聽他的,敗壞的教會出來。他建立一個新教會。這個教會變得很受人歡迎,結果開始敗壞,唯名的基督徒開始主導這個教會。餘剩的少數失去他們的發言權,其中很多離去,使得唯名的基督徒更加主導機構。這個機構變成了機構化主義的一個紀念碑。

這不是一件一定可以被糾正的事。這是自然的規律。歷史上,基督教的領袖曾著迷于建立完美的機構。那不是基督的目標。以前不是他的目標,現在也不是他的目標。機構的建立是為了給每個信徒最終的成熟創造一個環境,結果機構本身卻成了一個目的。

“他所賜的,有使徒,有先知,有傳福音的,有牧師和教師。為要成全聖徒,各盡其職,建立基督的身體,直等到我們眾人在真道上同歸于一,認識神的兒子,得以長大成人,滿有基督長成的身量。” 【以弗所書 4:11-13】

今天,如果你提起“教會”這個詞,大多數人所想到的是一幢建筑物或一個機構。但基督的教會是人。如果你毀掉它的建筑物和節目,你還沒有碰到它。但那些著迷于建筑物的人往往不懂得耶穌。

“你們拆毀這殿,我三日內要再建立起來。”【約翰福音 2:19】

耶穌在某種程度上參與了猶太人的會堂,但往往受到宗教領袖輕慢的對待,他預言到:

“你們要防備人。因為他們要把你們交給公會,也要在會堂媄@打你們。”【馬太福音 10:17】

“人要把你們趕出會堂。并且時候將到,凡殺你們的,就以為是事奉神。” 【約翰福音 16:2】

如果你跟隨耶穌,你一般同樣會在基督教教會婺g受這樣的遭遇。

對宗教領袖的批評

“你們這假冒為善的文士和法利賽人有禍了!……你們這些蛇類、毒蛇之種啊!怎能逃脫地獄的刑罰呢?所以我差遣先知和智慧人并文士,到你們這堥。有的你們要殺害,要釘十字架。有的你們要在會堂媄@打,從這城追逼到那城。”【馬太福音 23:13,33-34】

假冒為善是高傲的靈的結果。自認在靈堸炊H一等的態度中所固有的是對別人居高臨下的論斷。聖經的確教我們要審判我們自己,并要審判別人。耶穌自己就審判了別人(特別是宗教領袖),比如他在馬太福音第二十三章堜畛羲爾隉C但這種審判必須要公正,沒有偏見﹔基于實質,而不是外表,如耶穌說:“不可按外貌斷定是非,總要按公平斷定是非。” 【約翰福音 7:24】但宗教領袖審判不但帶著偏見,而且他們忽略了對自己的審判。保羅,身為法利賽人,也做了這樣的觀察:

“你稱為猶太人,又倚靠律法,且指著神夸口﹔既從律法中受了教訓,就曉得神的旨意,也能分別是非(或作“也喜愛那美好的事”)﹔又深信自己是給瞎子領路的,是黑暗中人的光,是蠢笨人的師傅,是小孩子的先生,在律法上有知識和真理的模范。你既是教導別人,還不教導自己嗎?你講說人不可偷竊,自己還偷竊嗎?你說人不可奸淫,自己還奸淫嗎?你厭惡偶像,自己還偷竊廟中之物嗎?你指著律法夸口,自己倒犯律法,玷辱神嗎?‘神的名在外邦人中,因你們受了褻瀆’,正如經上所記的。”【羅馬書 2:17-24】

高傲使人忽視自己的罪性。但為什麼這個特徵在宗教領袖們身上這麼突出呢?有兩個原因:

  1. 領袖的位置吸引高傲的人。
  2. 謙卑的人在成為領袖後常變得高傲。這是因為權力敗壞的結果。

神常常把謙卑的人安排到權威的位置。比如摩西。他是一個謙卑的人,然而神不讓他進應許之地,因為他驕傲地做了一見自負的事。類似地,大衛王開始很好,但最後卻很差。這很常見。

耶穌是怎樣對待高傲的人呢?他羞辱他們。這不是為了毀滅他們。就像父親管教兒子是為了他自己好一樣,耶穌羞辱高傲的人是要使他們造就重要的謙卑品質,沒有謙卑的品質他們就不能得救。他用下面這些方法羞辱他們:



批評的語氣

作為對批評的反應,如果批評得到點子上的話,高傲的人對批評的實際內容沒有什麼可說的。那麼為了把問題岔開,他們常常會抓住批評所使用的語氣語調。因此,看一下耶穌和他的使徒們在批評因宗教而高傲的人時所使用的語氣的先例會對我們很有啟發。

當耶穌與因宗教而高傲的人說話時,他似乎總是在語氣上毫無保留。他的語氣是極端的,甚至是侮辱性的。注意到上面從【馬太福音 23:33】堣犍峈滿G“你們這些蛇類、毒蛇之種啊!怎能逃脫地獄的刑罰呢?”對世俗的權威也同樣,“正當那時,有幾個法利賽人來對耶穌說:‘離開這堨h吧,因為希律想要殺你。’耶穌說:‘你們去告訴那個狐狸說:今天明天我趕鬼治病,第三天我的事就成全了。’”【路加福音 13:31,32】

當然,要看到這些話是在指出這種人的假冒為善這個上下文婸〞滿C在馬太福音第二十三章堙A耶穌例數了一系列他那個時代的宗教精英的假冒為善的特徵,他們的假冒為善其實與人類歷史上所有在這種位置上的人沒有多大區別。

甚至在保羅面對彼得的罪時也同樣,他毫不“客氣”,而且很嚴厲:“後來磯法到了安提阿,因他有可責之處,我就當面抵擋他。”【加拉太書 2:11】而且他是當著眾人這樣做的:“但我一看見他們行得不正,與福音的真理不合,就在眾人面前對磯法說:‘你既是猶太人,若隨外邦人行事,不隨猶太人行事,怎麼還勉強外邦人隨猶太人呢?’”【加拉太書 2:14】這種公開的責備與他對提摩太的指示是一致的:“控告長老的呈子,非有兩三個見証就不要收。犯罪的人,當在眾人面前責備他,叫其餘的人也可以懼怕。”【提摩太前書 5:19-20】長老,也就是正式的教師們,應該受到更嚴厲的審判嗎?是的,他們應該受到更嚴厲的審判,如雅各寫到:“我的弟兄們,不要多人作師傅,因為曉得我們要受更重的判斷。” 【雅各書 3:1】耶穌和他的使徒們都是這樣做的。

耶穌和他的使徒們會把基督徒領袖堛漲釣リH描繪成狼。這堳O羅鼓勵我們考慮這樣的概念。“我知道我去之後,必有凶暴的豺狼進入你們中間,不愛惜羊群。就是你們中間,也必有人起來,說悖謬的話,要引誘門徒跟從他們。所以你們應當儆醒!”【使徒行傳 20:29-31a】耶穌也說:“你們要防備假先知。他們到你們這堥荂A外面披著羊皮,堶惚o是殘暴的狼。憑著他們的果子,就可以認出他們來。”【馬太福音 7:15-16a】不能只看他們嘴上怎麼說。因為“怨恨人的用嘴粉飾,心堳o藏著詭詐。他用甜言蜜語,你不可信他,因為他心中有七樣可憎惡的。他雖用詭詐遮掩自己的怨恨,他的邪惡必在會中顯露。” 【箴言 26:24-26】

除了直接了當地批評,耶穌還在寓言堬菾d在宗教堸甽う漱H。法利賽人與稅吏的寓言就是這樣一個例子,還有好撒瑪利亞人的寓言,忠心有見識的管家與不義的仆人的寓言等。

在約翰福音第八章堙A耶穌用這些話說這樣的人:“倘若神是你們的父,你們就必愛我﹔因為我本是出于神,也是從神而來,并不是由著自己來,乃是他差我來。你們為什麼不明白我的話呢?無非是因你們不能聽我的道。你們是出于你們的父魔鬼,你們父的私欲,你們偏要行。他從起初是殺人的,不守真理,因他心堥S有真理。他說謊是出于自己,因他本來是說謊的,也是說謊之人的父。我將真理告訴你們,你們就因此不信我。” 【約翰福音 8:42-45】這種語氣就是耶穌為如何對待敵對真理的宗教精英所樹立的先例。坦率,不恭維,毫無詭詐。但那些屬真理的人則欣賞真話。


高傲的人的反應

1、敵對

謙卑和驕傲最容易的衡量就是看一個人對個人批評的反應。這也是每個人衡量自己的一個好辦法。驕傲的人不能對批評作出好的回答,但有智慧的人則能很好地回答。

“不要責備褻慢人,恐怕他恨你﹔
  要責備智慧人,他必愛你。”
【箴言 9:8】

所羅門不是在下一道命令,而是在做出一個觀察。在理解箴言和耶穌的教導時必須懂得這類修辭法,比如:“你們不要論斷人,免得你們被論斷。”【馬太福音 7:1】,這也不是一個命令,而是一個箴言式的觀察。如果你論斷別人,他們就會論斷你。耶穌“凡恨他弟兄的就是殺人的,你們曉得凡殺人的沒有永生存在他堶情C”【約翰一書 3:15】

聖經上一個關于未得救的教會領袖的例子就是丟特腓。關于他,使徒約翰寫到:“我曾略略地寫信給教會,但那在教會中好為首的丟特腓不接待我們。所以我若去,必要提說他所行的事,就是他用惡言妄論我們。還不以此為足,他自己不接待弟兄,有人愿意接待,他也禁止,并且將接待弟兄的人趕出教會。親愛的兄弟啊,不要效法惡,只要效法善。行善的屬乎神,行惡的未曾見過神。” 【約翰三書 1:9-11】

2、聾子、啞吧和瞎子

高傲使人眼瞎。耶穌行了各種各樣的神蹟,甚至使生來就瞎眼的人得以看見,使拉撒路從死奡_活,但無論什麼都不能說服高傲的宗教領袖。他們看不見証據,因為不能理智地思考。他們對他們自己的罪性,甚至他們的假冒為善也是瞎子。

他們對基督的教導是聾子。他們不能理解他的意思。“你們為什麼不明白我的話呢?無非是因你們不能聽我的道。”【約翰福音 8:43】“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們﹔不屬神的就不聽從我們。”【約翰一書 4:6a】

他們是啞吧,因為他們不能講真理,而只能撒謊和誹謗基督。

3、吸血鬼宗合症

“凡作惡的便恨光,并不來就光,恐怕他的行為受責備。”【約翰福音 3:20】這就是領袖們把基督徒從他們的機構趕走的原因之一──避免暴露在真理之下。與此相反,聖經教導基督徒說:“那暗昧無益的事,不要與人同行,倒要責備行這事的人。” 【以弗所書 5:11】在宗教堸甽う漱H只關心他們自己在公眾中的形像,如耶穌說:“他們一切所做的事都是要叫人看見,”【馬太福音 23:5a】雖然從表面上看他們似乎“好”,看一下如果他們的公眾形像受到真理的威脅時他們愿意接受什麼樣的衡量。

預期什麼和做什麼

耶穌說:“你們要記念我從前對你們所說的話:‘仆人不能大于主人。’他們若逼迫了我,也要逼迫你們。若遵守了我的話,也要遵守你們的話。”【約翰福音 15:20】“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。只是作惡的和迷惑人的,必越久越惡,他欺哄人,也被人欺哄。”【提摩太後書 3:12-13】遭受宗教上高傲的人的逼迫是像耶穌那樣去行的一部分。因此,與其避免它,不如擁抱它!

在你跟隨基督的時候,不要因反對你的最大的敵對來自機構化的宗教領袖或自認為是宗教精英的人而感到吃驚。這不是什麼新鮮事。你應該做什麼呢?按耶穌所做的那樣去做。無懼地羞辱高傲的人。今天有在基督徒中一句流行的話是WWJD:基督會怎麼做?但最好是WDJD: 基督怎麼做的?因為似乎很多基督徒心堥S有歷史上的耶穌,而只有一個在他們自己頭腦堻y出來的“耶穌”。當你像耶穌所行的那樣去行時,你就會看到其他基督徒其實是如何看待聖經堛滬C穌的。

“那忍受罪人這樣頂撞的,你們要思想,免得疲倦灰心。” 【希伯來書 12:3】還有,人為人子恨惡你們,拒絕你們,辱罵你們,棄掉你們的名,以為是惡,你們就有福了。當那日,你們要歡喜跳躍,因為你們在天上的賞賜是大的。他們的祖宗待先知也是這樣。” 【路加福音 6:22,23】


Jul 29,2015

Chinese Translations: GB Big5

Conflicts with the Religious Elite

If you are follow Jesus it almost inevitable that you will experience conflicts with institutional religious leaders. Who were Jesus' greatest enemies? Was it the secular Roman leadership, like Pilate? Most of the Jews saw the Romans (non-Jews) as their greatest enemies. But this was not the case with Jesus. In fact when he was brought to trial, Pilate wanted to let him go declaring him an innocent man. It was the Jewish religious leadership that insisted on him being put to death, as Jesus' prophecied: "The Son of Man must suffer many things and be rejected by the elders, chief priests and teachers of the law, and he must be killed and on the third day be raised to life." Luke 9:22 Which was also in accordance with the principle he taught that: "a man's enemies will be the members of his own household." Mt 10:36

The Corrupting Effect of Institutionalism

(An extensive article on this subject can be found at http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/institute.html) Throughout the history of Christianity, its greatest enemy has often been not the world's leadership, but its own institutional leadership. And who is going to tell you this? It is unlikely you'll hear this from institutional leaders. Yet they have made themselves as if the exclusive spokesmen of what constitutes legitimate Christianity. As in Jesus' time so even up to the present. It seems almost inevitable that movements will become corrupted through their institutionalization. Inherent in our sinful nature is the fact that power corrupts. Institutionalism established positions of power which inevitably becomes sources of corruption. This is not to say that we shouldn't institutionalize the practice of Christianity. But we must realize that there are shortcomings which must be realize for the sake of the edification of the body.

Consider forms of government. Because power corrupts it's almost inevitable that dictatorial forms of government will turn out bad in the long run. In the last 50 years, the world has seen the benefit of democracies where there's inherently a check and balance system in place so that corrupt leadership doesn't get out of control. Church leadership must be subject to scrutiny. It must allow itself to be subject to scrutiny. If leadership does not allow themselves to be scrutinized, not only will corruption result, but such is indicative that corruption is already in play. For only the proud don't allow themselves to be scrutinized. And if leadership is characteristically proud, then the institution is already sick.

Yet the typical form of church government lends itself to such corruption. Church leadership has been primarily dictatorial. You go to a church and you basically get lectured at. Feedback is not encouraged nor is criticism of the leadership. Few churches even allow for discussion among the membership of their personal interpretations of the Bible. How can an individual deal with corrupt leadship under such circumstances? Basically Christians have voted with their feet. Denominationalism has resulted. Some churches will claim that they have a built in check and balance system in which an elite group of individuals will keep the pastor in line, but then who is allowed to keep them in line?

"Democratic" type of churches are also not free from corruption. What percentage of the Jewish population followed Jesus? A minority, a remnant. Whatever is popular tends to be deviant from the truth. The majority of people in the world who call themselves "Christians" don't actually treat Jesus as Lord. Most don't take the Bible seriously. Now what happens when you put such a majority in charge of an institutional church? The church will look just like them. Who are they going to vote for in choosing leadership? Someone just like them who will tell them just what they want to hear. The remnant doesn't have a voice. The nominal Christians have taken away their voice by establishing a "lecture" format in which they are not allowed to speak. Rules and regulations are established whereby the unpopular Biblical believers are not allowed to disagree with the leadership. What happens as a result? Often they simply leave.

This is not to say that institutional churches have been established by a bunch of nominal Christians. For often what happens in this: A believer comes out of a corrupt church that won't change and won't listen to him. He establishes a new church. It becomes popular and therefore it becomes corrupt, nominal Christians become dominant. The remnant minority lose their voice, many of whom leave, making the nominal Christians to be even more dominant in the institution. The institution becomes a monument to nominalism.

This is not necessarily something that can be fixed. This is just what happens. Historically, Christian leadership has been obsessed over establishing the perfect institution. That is not Christ's objective. It was not his objective then and it is not his objective now. Institutionalism was established to facilitate the maturing of individual believers to the end that they would be involved in ministry but it has becomes an end itself.

"It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers, to prepare God's people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ." Eph 4:11-13
Today if you use the word "church", most people think of a building or an institution. But Christ' church is people. If you destroy its buildings and programs, you haven't touched it. But those obsessed over buildings often don't understand Jesus.

"Destroy this temple, and I will raise it again in three days." John 2:19

Jesus was involved to an extent in the Jewish synagogues, but he was often treated contemptuously by the religious leadership, and he prophecies:

"Be on your guard against men; they will hand you over to the local councils and flog you in their synagogues." Mat 10:17

"They will put you out of the synagogue; in fact, a time is coming when anyone who kills you will think he is offering a service to God." John 16:2

And this is generally the kind of experience you may have in Christian churches if you follow Jesus.

Criticism of Religious Leadership

"Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! ... You snakes! You brood of vipers! How will you escape being condemned to hell? Therefore I am sending you prophets and wise men and teachers. Some of them you will kill and crucify; others you will flog in your synagogues and pursue from town to town." Matt 23:13,33,34

Hypocrisy is the effect of spiritual pride. Innate within the attitude of spiritual superiority is a condescending judgmentalism of others. The Bible does instruct us to judge ourselves and to judge others. Jesus himself was judging others (the religious leaders in particular) in his statements throughout Matthew 23, for example. But such judgements are to be impartial, without prejudice, based on substance and not mere appearance, as Jesus said, "Stop judging by mere appearances, and make a right judgment." John 7:24 But the religious leaders not only were judging with prejudice, they wee also neglecting to judge themselves. Paul, himself a Pharisee, also made this observation:

"Now you, if you call yourself a Jew; if you rely on the law and brag about your relationship to God; if you know his will and approve of what is superior because you are instructed by the law; if you are convinced that you are a guide for the blind, a light for those who are in the dark, an instructor of the foolish, a teacher of infants, because you have in the law the embodiment of knowledge and truth-- you, then, who teach others, do you not teach yourself? You who preach against stealing, do you steal? You who say that people should not commit adultery, do you commit adultery? You who abhor idols, do you rob temples? You who brag about the law, do you dishonor God by breaking the law? As it is written: "God's name is blasphemed among the Gentiles because of you." Rom 2:17-24
Pride causes one to ignore one's own sinfulness. But why is pride so characteristic of religious leaders? For two reasons: God often arranges for the humble to take positions of authority. Take Moses, for example. He was a humble man, yet he was not allowed to enter the promise land because of a pridefully vain act he committed. Similarly with King David. Started off well, but finished poorly. This is quite common.

How does Jesus deal with proud people? He humiliates them. This was not for their destruction, but for their benefit. As a father chastises his son for his own good, so Jesus humilates the proud to develop in them the essential character quality of humility, without which they cannot be saved. He humilates them by:



Critical Rhetoric

In reaction to criticism, the proud may not have much to say about the actual content of the criticism, if it be true. And so to deflect the issue they may often allude to the tone of the critical rhetoric being used. So it would be instructive to view the precedent that Jesus and his apostles set with regards to the kind of rhetoric they utilized in criticizing the religiously proud.

When Jesus spoke to the religiously proud, it seems he held nothing back with regards to rhetoric. His rhetoric was extreme, even insulting. Note above the quote from Mt 23:33 "You snakes! You brood of vipers! How will you escape being condemned to hell?" And likewise with secular authorities, At that time some Pharisees came to Jesus and said to him, "Leave this place and go somewhere else. Herod wants to kill you."  He replied, "Go tell that fox, ‘I will drive out demons and heal people today and tomorrow, and on the third day I will reach my goal.’" Lk 13:31,32

Realize, of course, that such comments were in the context of the hypocrisy Jesus noted of such people. In Matthew chapter 23 He gives a litany of the hypocrisy characteristic of the religious elite of His day, hypocrisy of which in fact is not so much different than one can find throughout history of people in such positions.

Likewise even when Paul confronted Peter with his sin, he was not "polite" but harsh, "When Peter came to Antioch, I opposed him to his face, because he was clearly in the wrong." Gal 2:11 and he did so publically, "When I saw that they were not acting in line with the truth of the gospel, I said to Peter in front of them all, 'You are a Jew, yet you live like a Gentile and not like a Jew. How is it, then, that you force Gentiles to follow Jewish customs?'" Gal 2:14 And such public rebuke is consistent with his instruction to Timothy, "Do not receive an accusation against an elder except from two or three witnesses. Those who are sinning rebuke in the presence of all, that the rest also may fear." 1Tim 5:19,20 Should elders, namely official teachers, be judged more harshly? Yes, they should be judged more strictly, as James writes, "We who teach will be judged more strictly." James 3:1 Both Jesus and His apostles practiced this.

There are those in Christian leadership whom Jesus and His apostles would characterized as wolves. Here Paul encourages us to entertain such an idea. "I know that after I leave, savage wolves will come in among you and will not spare the flock. Even from your own number men will arise and distort the truth in order to draw away disciples after them. So be on your guard!" Acts 20:29-31a And Jesus here. "Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ravenous wolves. You will know them by their fruits." Mt 7:15-16a Don't go merely by words. For "He who hates, disguises it with his lips, And lays up deceit within himself; When he speaks kindly, do not believe him, For there are seven abominations in his heart; Though his hatred is covered by deceit, His wickedness will be revealed before the assembly." Pr 26:24-26

Besides directness to the put of open insults, Jesus also humiliates the religiously proud in parables. The parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collector is such an example, as well as the parable of the good Samaritan, the parable of the Faithful and Wicked Servants, the parable of the Wicked Tenants and so forth.

In John 8 Jesus speaks of such people in these terms, "If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and now am here. I have not come on my own; but he sent me. Why is my language not clear to you? Because you are unable to hear what I say. You belong to your father, the devil, and you want to carry out your father’s desire. He was a murderer from the beginning, not holding to the truth, for there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks his native language, for he is a liar and the father of lies.  Yet because I tell the truth, you do not believe me!" John 8:42-45 This kind of rhetoric Jesus established as a precedent in dealing with the religious elite who are hostile to the truth. It is frank, unflattering and without guile. But those who are of the truth appreciate that which is true.


The Reaction of the Proud

1. Hostility

Humility and Pride is most easily measured by one's reaction to personal criticism. And this is a good way each individual can measure such in themselves. Proud people do not respond well to criticism, but wise men do respond well. Solomon is not giving a command, but making an observation. This type of figure of speech must be understood when interpreting proverbs and much of Jesus' teaching, such as "Judge not and you shall not be judged" Mat 7:1, which is also not a command, but a proverbial observation. If you judge others, they will judge you. Jesus criticized others and so others criticized him even to the point of murder.And "anyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life in him." 1John 3:15

An example in the Bible of a church leader who was unsaved is Diotrephes of whom the apostle John write, "I wrote to the church, but Diotrephes, who loves to be first, will have nothing to do with us. So if I come, I will call attention to what he is doing, gossiping maliciously about us. Not satisfied with that, he refuses to welcome the brothers. He also stops those who want to do so and puts them out of the church. Dear friend, do not imitate what is evil but what is good. Anyone who does what is good is from God. Anyone who does what is evil has not seen God." 3John 1:9-11

2. Deaf, Dumb & Blind

Pride leads to spiritual blindness. Jesus does all kinds of miracles even healing a man born blind and raising Lazarus from the dead, but nothing convinces the proud religious leaders. They are blind to the evidence, being incapable of thinking reasonably. They are blind also to their own sinfulness, even to their hypocrisy.

And they are deaf to the teachings of Christ. They can't understand what he means. "Why is my language not clear to you? Because you are unable to hear what I say" John 8:43 " We are from God, and whoever knows God listens to us; but whoever is not from God does not listen to us." 1John 4:6a

They are dumb in that they can't speak the truth, but rather utter lies and slanders against Christ.

3. The Vampire Syndrome

"Everyone practicing evil hates the light and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed." John 3:20 This is one reason why such leaders will expel Christians from their institutions - just to avoid being exposed to the truth. In contrast the Christian is instructed, "Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them." Eph 5:11 The religiously proud are only concerned about their own public image, as Jesus said, "Everything they do is done for men to see" Mt 23:5a While they may appear "good" on the surface, watch what measures they are willing to take if their public image is threatened by the truth.

What to Expect & What to do

As Jesus said, "Remember the words I spoke to you: 'No servant is greater than his master.' If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. If they obeyed my teaching, they will obey yours also." John 15:20 "In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil men and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived." 2Tim 3:12,13 Experiencing persecution from the religiously proud is part of what constitutes walking as Jesus did. So rather than avoid it, embrace it!

As you follow Christ, don't be surprised if the greatest source of hostility against you comes from institutional religious leaders or those who think themselves the religious elite. It's nothing new. What should you do? Just what Jesus did. Fearlessly humiliate the proud. There's a popular saying today among Christians: WWJD: What Would Jesus Do? Better if this were WDJD: What Did Jesus Do? For it seems that many Christians do not have in their mind the historical Biblical Jesus, but a "Jesus" whom they make up in their own mind. When you walk as Jesus did you will see how other Christians really view the Biblical Jesus.

"Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart." Heb 12:3 and  "Blessed are you when men hate you, And when they exclude you, And revile you, and cast out your name as evil, For the Son of Man’s sake. Rejoice in that day and leap for joy! For indeed your reward is great in heaven, For in like manner their fathers did to the prophets." Lk 6:22,23


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources
Jun 22,2013