翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多前書
第十章

無法的基督徒

10:1 弟兄們,我不愿意你們不曉得,
  我們的祖宗從前都在云下,
  都從海中經過。

10:2 都在云堙B海堥洗歸了摩西。
10:3 并且都吃了一樣的靈食,
10:4 也都喝了一樣的靈水﹔
  所喝的是出于隨著他們的靈磐石,那磐石就是基督。

10:5 但他們中間多半是神不喜歡的人
  所以在曠野倒斃。

10:6 這些事都是我們的鑒戒,
  叫我們不要貪戀惡事,像他們那樣貪戀的。


10:7 也不要拜偶像,像他們有人拜的。如經上所記:
  “百姓坐下吃喝,起來玩耍。”【出埃及記 32:6】
10:8 我們也不要行奸淫,像他們有人行的,
  一天就倒斃了二萬三千人。


10:9 也不要試探主(“主”有古卷作“基督”),像他們有人試探的,就被蛇所滅。

10:10 你們也不要發怨言,像他們有發怨言的,就被滅命的所滅。

10:11 他們遭遇這些事都要作為鑒戒,并且寫在經上,正是警戒我們這末世的人。
10:12 所以,自己以為站得穩的,須要謹慎,免得跌倒。
10:13 你們所遇見的試探,無非是人所能受的。
  神是信實的,
  必不叫你們受試探過于所能受的。
  在受試探的時候,總要給你們開一條出路,
  叫你們能忍受得住。

10:14 我所親愛的弟兄啊,你們要逃避拜偶像的事。

避免像征著不宜東西的事

10:15 我好像對明白人說的,你們要審察我的話。
10:16 我們所祝福的杯,豈不是同領基督的血嗎?
  我們所掰開的餅,豈不是同領基督的身體嗎?

10:17 我們雖多,仍是一個餅、一個身體,
  因為我們都是分受這一個餅。

10:18 你們看屬肉體的以色列人,
  那吃祭物的豈不是在祭壇上有分嗎?


10:19 我是怎麼說呢?
  豈是說祭偶像之物算得什麼呢?或說偶像算得什麼呢?

10:20 我乃是說:外邦人所獻的祭是祭鬼,
  不是祭神,我不愿意你們與鬼相交。

10:21 你們不能喝主的杯,又喝鬼的杯﹔
  不能吃主的筵席,又吃鬼的筵席。


10:22 我們可惹主的憤恨嗎?我們比他還有能力嗎?

要照顧別人的良心

10:23 凡事都可行,但不都有益處。
  凡事都可行,但不都造就人。


10:24 無論何人,不要求自己的益處,乃要求別人的益處。
10:25 凡市上所賣的,你們只管吃,
  不要為良心的緣故問什麼話。

10:26 因為地和其中所充滿的都屬乎主。【詩篇 24:1】
10:27 倘有一個不信的人請你們赴席,你們若愿意去,
  凡擺在你們面前的,只管吃,不要為良心的緣故問什麼話。


10:28 若有人對你們說:“這是獻過祭的物,”
  就要為那告訴你們的人,并為良心的緣故不吃。

10:29 我說的良心不是你的,乃是他的。
    我這自由為什麼被別人的良心論斷呢?


10:30 我若謝恩而吃,為什麼因我謝恩的物被人毀謗呢?

10:31 所以,你們或吃或喝,無論作什麼,
  都要為榮耀神而行。

10:32 不拘是猶太人,是希利尼人,是神的教會,你們都不要使他跌倒﹔
10:33 就好像我凡事都叫眾人喜歡,
  不求自己的益處,
  只求眾人的益處,叫他們得救。


問題討論

基督徒應從以色列在曠野的例子堶吇釣リ偵礡H
他們在曠野堛漕狺l與現代的哪些行為相似?
這一段與自由恩典神學有什麼抵觸?
具體有哪些基督徒今天可以自由參與的事,保羅有可能會告誡基督徒避免?
“玩耍”與拜偶像有什麼關系?
現在有哪些不合聖經的儀式基督徒應該避免參與?
你有沒有遇見過你忍受不住的試探?

注釋

考慮後果

哥林多前書 10:1-5 弟兄們,我不愿意你們不曉得,我們的祖宗從前都在云下,都從海中經過。都在云堙B海堥洗歸了摩西。并且都吃了一樣的靈食,也都喝了一樣的靈水﹔所喝的是出于隨著他們的靈磐石,那磐石就是基督。但他們中間多半是神不喜歡的人,所以在曠野倒斃。

受洗是公開表示一個人的從屬。當摩西跟隨云柱從海中經過,到達曠野時,以色列人通過跟隨摩西表現出了他們的從屬。然而,一個人公開的表示與他內心所相信的未必一致。一個人的信是通過他的生活方式在一段很長的時間媗膆雈X來的。“又向誰起誓,不容他們進入他的安息呢?豈不是向那些不信從的人嗎?這樣看來,他們不能進入安息,是因為不信的緣故了。”【希伯來書 3:18-19】有很多人受洗到基督教信仰堥荂A但最後卻不能進入安息。

保羅沒有肯定這些人的得救狀態這個問題。因為一個基督徒是否已經得救是從他的行為在多大程度上像神的兒女看出來的。有些人陷入罪中,比如摩西,受到責罰。但有些人,他們只是在名義上是神的子民,他們一心所想的就是繼續犯罪:

“因為我們得知真道以後,若故意犯罪,贖罪的祭就再沒有了。惟有戰懼等候審判和那燒滅眾敵人的烈火。人干犯摩西的律法,憑兩三個見証人尚且不得憐恤而死﹔何況人踐踏神的兒子,將那使他成聖之約的血當作平常,又褻慢施恩的聖靈,你們想,他要受的刑罰該怎樣加重呢?”【希伯來書 10:26-29】

但無論哪種情況,保羅寫這些是要激勵哥林多的基督徒在看到這些結果後,端正他們的行為。

因此,“弟兄們,你們要一同效法我,也當留意看那些照我們榜樣行的人。因為有許多人行事是基督十字架的仇敵。我屢次告訴你們,現在又流淚地告訴你們:他們的結局就是沉淪,他們的神就是自己的肚腹,他們以自己的羞辱為榮耀,專以地上的事為念。我們卻是天上的國民,并且等候救主,就是主耶穌基督從天上降臨。”【腓立比書 3:17-20】


保守你心

哥林多前書 10:6-11 這些事都是我們的鑒戒,叫我們不要貪戀惡事,像他們那樣貪戀的。也不要拜偶像,像他們有人拜的。如經上所記:“百姓坐下吃喝,起來玩耍。”我們也不要行奸淫,像他們有人行的,一天就倒斃了二萬三千人。也不要試探主(“主”有古卷作“基督”),像他們有人試探的,就被蛇所滅。你們也不要發怨言,像他們有發怨言的,就被滅命的所滅。他們遭遇這些事都要作為鑒戒,并且寫在經上,正是警戒我們這末世的人。

“你要保守你心,勝過保守一切(或作“你要切切保守你心”),因為一生的果效,是由心發出。”【箴言 4:23】你心堛犖@望將決定你生命的方向,的確,還有你的命運。所以要控制你把你的心放在什麼事上。首先看看應該把心放在什麼事上,而哪些欲望應該避免。然後有心地這樣去做。

比如,如果你發現你對經濟感到不安或對你的現狀感到不滿,經上說:“你們存心不可貪愛錢財,要以自己所有的為足。因為主曾說:‘我總不撇下你,也不丟棄你。’”【希伯來書 13:5】我們也不應該把我們的心放在肉體的情欲上。如果你在不公正地受苦或如果主把你放在困難的情形堙A那麼要溫順地回應。對神的溫順是靈堛漱@種狀態,處在這種狀態的人認為神為我們做的都是好的,所以毫無怨言或抵抗。這也意味著我們要學會放棄我們自己在生活中的期望,而以神的愿望取而代之。


要為受到試探做好准備

哥林多前書 10:12-14 所以,自己以為站得穩的,須要謹慎,免得跌倒。你們所遇見的試探,無非是人所能受的。神是信實的,必不叫你們受試探過于所能受的。在受試探的時候,總要給你們開一條出路,叫你們能忍受得住。我所親愛的弟兄啊,你們要逃避拜偶像的事。

“親愛的弟兄啊,你們既然預先知道這事,就當防備,恐怕被惡人的錯謬誘惑,就從自己堅固的地步上墜落。”【彼得後書 3:17】“務要謹守、儆醒,因為你們的仇敵魔鬼,如同吼叫的獅子,遍地游行,尋找可吞吃的人。”【彼得前書 5:8】

盡管事實上“凡從神生的就不犯罪,”【約翰一書 3:9a】,聖徒還是會像所有的人那樣受到誘惑。逃避誘惑是有路的。有些也許包括完全避免會導致誘惑的情形。或者學會從誘惑逃脫。或像耶穌在曠野那樣抵擋誘惑。但無論是哪種情形,我們都沒有犯罪的借口。因為神不會讓我們受到我們無法忍受的誘惑。“豈不曉得你們獻上自己作奴仆,順從誰,就作誰的奴仆嗎?或作罪的奴仆,以至于死﹔或作順命的奴仆,以至成義。感謝神,因為你們從前雖然作罪的奴仆,現今卻從心媔隍A了所傳給你們道理的模范。你們既從罪堭o了釋放,就作了義的奴仆。”【羅馬書 6:16-18】耶穌說:“所有犯罪的就是罪的奴仆”【約翰福音 8:34】這種行為不是聖徒的特征。

所以,不要對自己說:“我忍不住”,因為那其實是對神的信實表示懷疑。


禮儀可以反映出一個人的信仰

哥林多前書 10:15-22 我好像對明白人說的,你們要審察我的話。我們所祝福的杯,豈不是同領基督的血嗎?我們所掰開的餅,豈不是同領基督的身體嗎?我們雖多,仍是一個餅、一個身體,因為我們都是分受這一個餅。你們看屬肉體的以色列人,那吃祭物的豈不是在祭壇上有分嗎?我是怎麼說呢?豈是說祭偶像之物算得什麼呢?或說偶像算得什麼呢?我乃是說:外邦人所獻的祭是祭鬼,不是祭神,我不愿意你們與鬼相交。你們不能喝主的杯,又喝鬼的杯﹔不能吃主的筵席,又吃鬼的筵席。我們可惹主的憤恨嗎?我們比他還有能力嗎?

在從聖經所暗示的原則得出正確的應用時就顯示出智慧。保羅沒有主張聖禮主義,但吃主的聖餐有其意義,反映并表達了我們的信,他曾在【哥林多前書 5:6-8】堻﹞嬰a說到這一點。

反之,我們不應該參加與我們的信仰相抵觸的儀式。比如,我認為基督徒不應該參與伊斯蘭教的慶典,肯定他們的“神”。他們的“神”否認耶穌基督是神的兒子,否認他在十字架上的死,否認他從死奡_活。當然也不應該參與印度教或佛教的慶典或咱們中國人的祭祖儀式,這些對他們來說都有與我們的信仰相抵觸的意義。許多都是在祭鬼,而不是祭神。

當你參與非基督教的儀式時,也許是出于與這個世界的友好關系,也許是出于社會壓力,考慮一下這樣做如何表達了你的信仰。你不去也許會得罪他們。但在得罪他們和得罪神之間你愿意選則哪一個呢?

比如,耶穌說:“然而有几件事我要責備你,因為在你那堙A有人服從了巴蘭的教訓。這巴蘭曾教導巴勒將絆腳石放在以色列人面前,叫他們吃祭偶像之物,行奸淫的事。”【啟示錄 2:14】“然而有一件事我要責備你,就是你容讓那自稱是先知的婦人耶洗別教導我的仆人,引誘他們行奸淫,吃祭偶像之物。”【啟示錄 2:20】“所以你當悔改。若不悔改,我就快臨到你那堙A用我口中的劍,攻擊他們。”【啟示錄 2:16】


把你的自由用在有益處的事上

哥林多前書 10:23-24 凡事都可行,但不都有益處。凡事都可行,但不都造就人。無論何人,不要求自己的益處,乃要求別人的益處。

他在前面曾說:“凡事我都可行。但不都有益處。凡事我都可行,但無論哪一件,我總不受他的轄制。食物是為肚腹,肚腹是為食物。但神要叫這兩樣都廢壞。身子不是為淫亂,乃是為主。主也是為身子。”【哥林多前書 6:12-13】

“可行”譯自希臘文“εξεστι”,這個詞可直譯為“合法”,他用這個詞不是指律法的靈──反映出律法的原則,而是指律法的條例──這些原則的具體應用。也就是說,當我們在律法的靈之下時,就不在律法的條例之下。

比如,律法的靈是:“不要拜別神。”律法的一個條例說:“不可為死人用刀划身,也不可在身上刺花紋。我是耶和華。”【利未記 19:28】因為在摩西的時代,這些事是外邦人宗教儀式的一部分,摩西不想讓他的百姓們在這條路上滑下去。基督徒不受條例的約束,但順著這個靈,考慮如何避免效法這個世界,以避免陷在罪堙A卻是大有智慧的。

在得出你自己的應用,自己的條例時,要考慮哪些事有益處。因為有些人得出一些其實沒有益處或不造就人的應用。事實上基督徒得出的許多應用造成了不必要的分爭和破壞。在得出應用時要記住不要求自己的益處。要考慮別人會受到什麼影響。“各人不要單顧自己的事,也要顧別人的事。你們當以基督耶穌的心為心:”【腓立比書 2:4-5】“吃蜜過多是不好的,考究自己的榮耀也是可厭的。”【箴言 25:27】


不要違被別人的良心

哥林多前書 10:25-29 凡市上所賣的,你們只管吃,不要為良心的緣故問什麼話。因為地和其中所充滿的都屬乎主。倘有一個不信的人請你們赴席,你們若愿意去,凡擺在你們面前的,只管吃,不要為良心的緣故問什麼話。若有人對你們說:“這是獻過祭的物,”就要為那告訴你們的人,并為良心的緣故不吃。我說的良心不是你的,乃是他的。我這自由為什麼被別人的良心論斷呢?

基督徒不應該違被自己的良心。但我們還要注意不要違被別人的良心。這是愛人如己的一個具體例子。你有喝酒的自由,但不應以別人受到試探而醉酒作為代價。女人有選擇自己衣著的自由,但不應以男人因之受到試探而陷在罪塈@為代價。哥林多的聖徒有自由吃自己想吃的食物,但不應為此而使弟兄去拜假神。

也就是說:“信心軟弱的,你們要接納,但不要辯論所疑惑的事。有人信百物都可吃,但那軟弱的,只吃蔬菜。吃的人不可輕看不吃的人,不吃的人不可論斷吃的人,因為神已經收納他了。你是誰,竟論斷別人的仆人呢?他或站住,或跌倒,自有他的主人在。而且他也必要站住,因為主能使他站住。有人看這日比那日強﹔有人看日日都是一樣。只是各人心堶n意見堅定。”【羅馬書 14:1-5】但不要違被別人的良心。


放棄自由以使人得救

哥林多前書 10:30-33 我若謝恩而吃,為什麼因我謝恩的物被人毀謗呢?所以,你們或吃或喝,無論作什麼,都要為榮耀神而行。不拘是猶太人,是希利尼人,是神的教會,你們都不要使他跌倒﹔就好像我凡事都叫眾人喜歡,不求自己的益處,只求眾人的益處,叫他們得救。

注意到這個原則不只是對聖徒弟兄,還包括未得救的人。在前一章堳O羅說:“我雖是自由的,無人轄管,然而我甘心作了眾人的仆人,為要多得人。”【哥林多前書 9:19】作仆人的意思就是為了把人贏得到基督堙A放棄自己的自由。你愿為多人得救,或避免他們跌倒在罪堙A放棄些什麼呢?



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Corinthians 10 (web)

Lawless Christianity

10:1 Now I would not have you ignorant, brothers,
that our fathers were all under the cloud, and all passed through the sea;
10:2 and were all baptized into Moses in the cloud and in the sea;
10:3 and all ate the same spiritual food;
10:4 and all drank the same spiritual drink.
For they drank of a spiritual rock that followed them, and the rock was Christ.
10:5 However with most of them, God was not well pleased,
for they were overthrown in the wilderness.
10:6 Now these things were our examples,
to the intent we should not lust after evil things, as they also lusted.

10:7 Neither be idolaters, as some of them were. As it is written,

"The people sat down to eat and drink, and rose up to play." (Ex 32:6)
10:8 Neither let us commit sexual immorality, as some of them committed,
and in one day twenty-three thousand fell.

10:9 Neither let us test the Lord, as some of them tested, and perished by the serpents.

10:10 Neither grumble, as some of them also grumbled, and perished by the destroyer.

10:11 Now all these things happened to them by way of example,
and they were written for our admonition, on whom the ends of the ages have come.

10:12 Therefore let him who thinks he stands be careful that he doesn't fall.
10:13 No temptation has taken you except what is common to man.
God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted above what you are able,
but will with the temptation also make the way of escape,
that you may be able to endure it.
10:14 Therefore, my beloved, flee from idolatry.

Avoid inappropriate symbolism

10:15 I speak as to wise men. Judge what I say.
10:16 The cup of blessing which we bless, isn't it a communion of the blood of Christ?
The bread which we break, isn't it a communion of the body of Christ?
10:17 Because we, who are many, are one bread, one body;
for we all partake of the one bread.
10:18 Consider Israel after the flesh.
Don't those who eat the sacrifices have communion with the altar?

10:19 What am I saying then?
That a thing sacrificed to idols is anything, or that an idol is anything?
10:20 But I say that the things which the Gentiles sacrifice, they sacrifice to demons,
and not to God, and I don't desire that you would have communion with demons.
10:21 You can't both drink the cup of the Lord and the cup of demons.
You can't both partake of the table of the Lord, and of the table of demons.

10:22 Or do we provoke the Lord to jealousy? Are we stronger than he?

Be sensitive to other people's conscience

10:23 "All things are lawful for me," but not all things are profitable.
"All things are lawful for me," but not all things build up.

10:24 Let no one seek his own, but each one his neighbor's good.
10:25 Whatever is sold in the butcher shop, eat,
asking no question for the sake of conscience,

10:26 for "the earth is the Lord's, and its fullness."
10:27 But if one of those who don't believe invites you to a meal, and you are inclined to go,
eat whatever is set before you, asking no questions for the sake of conscience.

10:28 But if anyone says to you, "This was offered to idols,"
don't eat it for the sake of the one who told you, and for the sake of conscience.
For "the earth is the Lord's, and all its fullness."
10:29 Conscience, I say, not your own, but the other's conscience.

For why is my liberty judged by another conscience?
10:30 If I partake with thankfulness, why am I denounced for that for which I give thanks?

10:31 Whether therefore you eat, or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.
10:32 Give no occasions for stumbling, either to Jews, or to Greeks, or to the assembly of God;
10:33 even as I also please all men in all things, not seeking my own profit,
but the profit of the many, that they may be saved.


Discussion Questions

What warnings should Christians heed to from Israel's example in the desert?
What kinds of modern behavior might their examples in the desert be likened to?
How does this passage come in conflict with Free Grace Theology?
What specific activities which Christian are free to engage in might Paul have exhorted the Christians to avoid today?
What does "playing" have to do with idolatry?
What are examples today of unBiblical ceremonies Christians should avoid?
Have you even been subjected to a temptation you couldn't handle?

Comments

Consider the Consequences

1Cor 10:1-5 For I do not want you to be ignorant of the fact, brothers, that our forefathers were all under the cloud and that they all passed through the sea. They were all baptized into Moses in the cloud and in the sea. They all ate the same spiritual food and drank the same spiritual drink; for they drank from the spiritual rock that accompanied them, and that rock was Christ. Nevertheless, God was not pleased with most of them; their bodies were scattered over the desert

Baptism is a public declaration of one's allegiance. The people of Israel demonstrated their allegiance in following Moses as he followed the cloud through the sea into the desert. Nevertheless, one's public allegiance may differ from one's private convictions. One's true faith is revealed in the long run by one's lifestyle. "And to whom did God swear that they would never enter his rest if not to those who disobeyed? So we see that they were not able to enter, because of their unbelief." Heb 3:18,19 There are many who are baptized into the Christian faith but who end up disqualified.

Paul leaves open the question as to the salvation status of such people. For a Christian's assurance of salvation is to be proportional to the degree to which he behaves as a child of God should. There are those who fall into sin and are disciplined, like Moses. But there are those, God's people in name only, who diliberately keep on sinning

"If we deliberately keep on sinning after we have received the knowledge of the truth, no sacrifice for sins is left, but only a fearful expectation of judgment and of raging fire that will consume the enemies of God. Anyone who rejected the law of Moses died without mercy on the testimony of two or three witnesses. How much more severely do you think a man deserves to be punished who has trampled the Son of God under foot, who has treated as an unholy thing the blood of the covenant that sanctified him, and who has insulted the Spirit of grace?" Heb 10:26-29
Whichever the case it is certain that he writes this to motivate the Corinthian Christians to behave properly in view of the consequences.

So "Join with others in following my example, brothers, and take note of those who live according to the pattern we gave you. For, as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is on earthly things. But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ." Philippians 3:17-20



Guard Your Heart

1Cor 10:6-11 Now these things occurred as examples to keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did.  Do not be idolaters, as some of them were; as it is written: "The people sat down to eat and drink and got up to indulge in pagan revelry." We should not commit sexual immorality, as some of them did— and in one day twenty-three thousand of them died. We should not test the Lord, as some of them did— and were killed by snakes. And do not grumble, as some of them did— and were killed by the destroying angel. These things happened to them as examples and were written down as warnings for us, on whom the fulfillment of the ages has come.

Pr 4:23 "Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life." Your heart's desires will determine the direction of your life, and indeed your fate. Therefore control what you set your heart on. Determine what you should set your heart on and the desires you should avoid. Make a conscious attempt to do so.

For example if you find that you are feeling insecure financially or discontent with your circumstances, it says, "Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, 'Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.'" Heb 13:5  Nor should we set our hearts on the lusts of the flesh. Concerning unjust suffering or if the Lord has put you in difficult circumstances, respond with meekness. Meekness toward God is that disposition of spirit in which we accept His dealings with us as good, and therefore without grumbling or resisting. This also means we need to learn to give up our expectations in life to God.



Be Prepared for Temptations

1Cor 10:12-14 So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it. Therefore, my dear friends, flee from idolatry.

"Therefore, dear friends, since you already know this, be on your guard so that you may not be carried away by the error of lawless men and fall from your secure position." 2Peter 3:17  "Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour." 1Peter 5:8

Despite the fact that "No one who is born of God will continue to sin" 1John 3:9a, the saints are subject to the same kind of temptations which are common to all men. There are ways to escape temptations. Some may involved avoiding circumstances which lead to temptation in the first place. Or to learn to flee from temptation. Or to resist it as Jesus did in the wilderness. But in any case we can never excuse ourselves for sinning. For God does not allow tempations beyond what we can handle. "Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey— whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness? But thanks be to God that, though you used to be slaves to sin, you wholeheartedly obeyed the form of teaching to which you were entrusted. You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness." Rom 6:16-18 And Jesus said, "Everyone who sins is a slave to sin."John 8:34, a behavior of which is not characteristic of the saints.

Therefore watch that you never say to yourself  "I couldn't help myself", for in doing so you call into question God's faithfulness.



Ceremonies are to Reflect One's Faith

1Cor 10:15-22  I speak to sensible people; judge for yourselves what I say. Is not the cup of thanksgiving for which we give thanks a participation in the blood of Christ? And is not the bread that we break a participation in the body of Christ? Because there is one loaf, we, who are many, are one body, for we all partake of the one loaf. Consider the people of Israel: Do not those who eat the sacrifices participate in the altar? Do I mean then that a sacrifice offered to an idol is anything, or that an idol is anything? No, but the sacrifices of pagans are offered to demons, not to God, and I do not want you to be participants with demons. You cannot drink the cup of the Lord and the cup of demons too; you cannot have a part in both the Lord’s table and the table of demons. Are we trying to arouse the Lord’s jealousy? Are we stronger than he?

Wisdom is shown in inferring right applications from the principles to which the scriptures allude. Though Paul doesn't preach sacramentalism, the ceremony of communion has meaning which is to reflect and to express our faith, part of which he spoke about previously in 1Cor 5:6-8

Conversely you should not be involved in a ceremony which contradicts your faith. For example I don't think Christians should be ecumenically involved with Islamic ceremonies affirming their god who denies Jesus Christ being the Son of God, denies his death on the cross, denies his resurrection from the dead. And certainly not being involved in Hindu or Buddhist ceremonies or Chinese ancestor worship which have meaning to them which contradicts our faith. For many worship demons and not God.

When you, perhaps out of friendship with the world and social pressure, participate in non-Christian ceremonies, consider what you are communicating about your faith. You may offend them by abstaining. But better to offend them than to offend God - don't you think?

For example Jesus said, "I have a few things against you: You have people there who hold to the teaching of Balaam, who taught Balak to entice the Israelites to sin by eating food sacrificed to idols and by committing sexual immorality." Rev 2:14 and "I have this against you: You tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophetess. By her teaching she misleads my servants into sexual immorality and the eating of food sacrificed to idols." Rev 2:20 So "Repent therefore! Otherwise, I will soon come to you and will fight against them with the sword of my mouth." Rev 2:16



Use Your Freedom Constructively

1Cor 10:23,24 "Everything is permissible"— but not everything is beneficial. "Everything is permissible"— but not everything is constructive. Nobody should seek his own good, but the good of others.

He had said this previously in 1Cor 6:12,13 "Everything is permissible for me"— but not everything is beneficial. "Everything is permissible for me"— but I will not be mastered by anything. Food for the stomach and the stomach for food"— but God will destroy them both. The body is not meant for sexual immorality, but for the Lord, and the Lord for the body.

By "permissible" (which literally is "lawful"), he is referring not to the spirit of the Law which is reflected in its principles, but rather to the regulations of the law, namely the particular applications of those principles. That is, while we are under the spirit of the Law, Christians are free from the regulations of the law.

As an example of one of the general cases, the spirit of the law is "don't  worship false gods". A regulation in the law is to not “You shall not make any cuts in your body for the dead nor make any tattoo marks on yourselves: I am the LORD.” Lev 19:28 For such things the pagans did in Moses' time as part of their religious ceremony and he did not want his people falling in with them in a slippery-slope fashion. Christians are not bound to that regulation, but nonetheless there is wisdom in considering applications along the same line of avoiding imitating the world, which could lead to one's falling into sin.

When developing your own applications, your own regulations, consider things which are constructive. For people have come up with applications which are not actually beneficial or constructive. In fact many applications Christians come up with are unnecessarily divisive and destructive. In developing applications remember not to look out just for yourself. Consider how others are affected. "Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others. Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus." Php 2:4,5 And "it is not good to eat too much honey, nor is it honorable to seek one’s own honor." Pr 25:27



Don't Violate One's Conscience

1Cor 10:25-29  Eat anything sold in the meat market without raising questions of conscience, for, "The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it." If some unbeliever invites you to a meal and you want to go, eat whatever is put before you without raising questions of conscience. But if anyone says to you, "This has been offered in sacrifice," then do not eat it, both for the sake of the man who told you and for conscience’ sake— the other man’s conscience, I mean, not yours. For why should my freedom be judged by another’s conscience?

Christians are not to violate their own conscience. But we are also not to violate the conscience of another. This is an example of  loving our neighbor as ourself. Beware of utilizing your freedom at the expense of others. You are free to drink wine, but not at the expense of tempting another to get drunk. Women are free to dress as they like, but not at the expense of tempting men to sin sexually. The Corinthians were free to eat what they wanted, but not at the expense of causing a brother to endorse a false god.

That is, "Accept him whose faith is weak, without passing judgment on disputable matters. One man’s faith allows him to eat everything, but another man, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The man who eats everything must not look down on him who does not, and the man who does not eat everything must not condemn the man who does, for God has accepted him. Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand. One man considers one day more sacred than another; another man considers every day alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind." Rom 14:1-5   But don't vioate the conscience of another.



Relinquish Freedoms to Win Others

1Cor 10:30-33  If I take part in the meal with thankfulness, why am I denounced because of something I thank God for? So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God— even as I try to please everybody in every way. For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.

Notice that this principle is not only with regards to fellow saints, but also to the unsaved. In the previous chapter Paul said, "Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible." 1Cor 9:19 To be a slave in this sense is to freely give up one's rights and priviledges so as to win others to Christ. What freedoms might you reliquish so that the many may be saved, or at least to keep them from stumbling into sin?


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015