翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多前書
第五章

審判犯罪的基督徒

5:1 風聞在你們中間有淫亂的事,
  這樣的淫亂連外邦人中也沒有,
  就是有人收了他的繼母。

5:2 你們還是自高自大,并不哀痛,
  把行這事的人從你們中間趕出去。

5:3 我身子雖不在你們那堙A心卻在你們那堙A
  好像我親自與你們同在,
  已經判斷了行這事的人。

5:4 就是你們聚會的時候,
  我的心也同在,
  奉我們主耶穌的名,
  并用我們主耶穌的權能,

5:5 要把這樣的人交給撒但,
  敗壞他的肉體,
   使他的靈魂在主耶穌的日子可以得救。


5:6 你們這自夸是不好的。
  豈不知一點面酵能使全團發起來嗎?

5:7 你們既是無酵的面,
  應當把舊酵除淨,
  好使你們成為新團。

  因為我們逾越節的羔羊基督已經被殺獻祭了。

5:8 所以,我們守這節不可用舊酵,
  也不可用惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、邪惡的酵,
  只用誠實真正的無酵餅。


5:9 我先前寫信給你們說:
  不可與淫亂的人相交。

5:10 此話不是指這世上一概行淫亂的,
  或貪婪的、勒索的,或拜偶像的﹔
  若是這樣,你們除非離開世界方可。

5:11 但如今我寫信給你們說:
  若有稱為弟兄是行淫亂的,
  或貪婪的,或拜偶像的,或辱罵的,
  或醉酒的,或勒索的,
  這樣的人不可與他相交,
  就是與他吃飯都不可。


5:12 因為審判教外的人與我何干?
  教內的人豈不是你們審判的嗎?

5:13 至于外人,有神審判他們。
  你們應當把那惡人從你們中間趕出去。
【申命記 17:7】


問題討論

如何解釋這命令與歌林多前書 4:5間表面看上去的矛盾?
那麼,如何解釋馬太福音 7:1你們不要論斷人,免得你們被論斷。”呢?
我們應該在何種程度上容忍其它基督徒的罪?
處理基督徒明目張膽犯罪的恰當方式是什麼?
(參見馬太福音 18:15-17
不與犯罪的基督徒相交有什麼害處?
有什麼益處?
第9-13節 對待犯罪的非基督徒與犯罪的基督徒應有什麼不同?
為什麼?


注釋

不要遷就容讓明目張膽的罪

哥林多前書 5:1-2 風聞在你們中間有淫亂的事,這樣的淫亂連外邦人中也沒有,就是有人收了他的繼母。你們還是自高自大,并不哀痛,把行這事的人從你們中間趕出去。

不成熟的基督徒的特征之一就是為不重要的事紛爭,但在重要的事上卻遷就容讓。前一章婸”儠袌_基督徒的事奉,“貴重這個,輕看那個”。爭論你們中間誰是最大的。這些事只有等主到來時才能決定。但這一章說的是審判明目張膽犯罪的基督徒。我們應該當心,不要急于判斷別的基督徒的動機,因為很容易在判斷那些只能間接推斷的事上出錯,但如果是明目張膽地犯罪,而且是可以衡量的,那麼就應該審判。

這在現代的“大家開心”的基督教堳雂ㄗ歡迎,很少實行。基督徒允許其它基督徒繼續犯罪,不加制止。通常如果你因另一基督徒犯罪而責備他,他們會把這本身看作是罪。他們甚至會聯合其它的基督徒來控告你的非基督徒式的行為,其原因不過是因為你責備了某個人的罪。

哥林多教會還因為他們容讓罪而自高自大。像今天的很多基督徒一樣,他們不覺得在他們當中的罪有什麼不好。這是不成熟的一個征兆。他們在他們應該合一的事上紛爭(比如對待屬靈領袖合屬靈恩賜的態度),但卻在應該分開來的事上合一(教會堛爾o)。


有效的管教

哥林多前書 5:3-5 我身子雖不在你們那堙A心卻在你們那堙A好像我親自與你們同在,已經判斷了行這事的人。就是你們聚會的時候,我的心也同在,奉我們主耶穌的名,并用我們主耶穌的權能,要把這樣的人交給撒但,敗壞他的肉體,使他的靈魂在主耶穌的日子可以得救。

“肉體”譯自希臘文“σαρξ”,在英文新國際版(NIV)堙A這個詞被譯為“sinful nature”(罪性)。也就是說,保羅要撒但來懲罰這個人的肉體。保羅自己也在主給了他天上的異像之後受益于這樣的經歷。又恐怕我因所得的啟示甚大,就過于自高,所以有一根刺加在我肉體上,就是撒但的差役要攻擊我,免得我過于自高。”【哥林多後書 12:7】保羅還為類似的原因把其它人交給撒但。“其中有許米乃和亞力山大,我已經把他們交給撒但使他們受責罰,就不再謗瀆了。”【提摩太前書 1:20】其目的是使這個人經受某種形式的磨難以使他悔改或幫助他維持適當程度的謙卑。

“我們受審的時候,乃是被主懲治,免得我們和世人一同定罪。”【哥林多前書 11:32】

利用撒但來達到這樣的效果需要得到許可。與媒體描寫的不同,撒但其實處在神的權柄之下,只能做神允許他做的事。所以在約伯記媦誚先得到神的許可才來傷害約伯。撒但還需要神的許可來試探彼得。主又說:“西門,西門,撒但想要得著你們,好篩你們,像篩麥子一樣。”【路加福音 22:31】(假如基督徒學會請求神的許可,至少不差于撒但不是很好嗎?)把人交給撒但需要基督徒求告主去這樣做。無論你是否相信,有時這樣做是恰當的,但不是為了報仇。而是出于愛,因為有些人需要得到教訓才能悔改。

也許下次你的孩子調皮不聽話的時候,你可以給他提起這件事來告誡他。


一點面酵

哥林多前書 5:6-8 你們這自夸是不好的。豈不知一點面酵能使全團發起來嗎?你們既是無酵的面,應當把舊酵除淨,好使你們成為新團。因為我們逾越節的羔羊基督已經被殺獻祭了。所以,我們守這節不可用舊酵,也不可用惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、邪惡的酵,只用誠實真正的無酵餅。

這三節解釋了其它几處關于無酵餅所像征的意義。

他又對他們講個比喻說:“天國好像面酵,有婦人拿來,藏在三斗面堙A直等全團都發起來。”【馬太福音 13:33】

這個寓言其實是在講教會堛爾o。目前,教會由真正的信徒和那些只是名義上的“基督徒”組成。哥林多教會就是一個例子。保羅類似地勸告說:

“你們向來跑得好,有誰攔阻你們,叫你們不順從真理呢?這樣的勸導不是出于那召你們的。‘一點面酵能使全團都發起來。’”【加拉太書 5:7-9】

加拉太教會堛滬掩繫N是假弟兄,那些奉割禮,引進假教義的人。耶穌也用面酵比喻假教義說:“我對你們說:‘要防備法利賽人和撒都該人的酵,’這話不是指著餅說的。你們怎麼不明白呢?”門徒這才曉得他說的,不是叫他們防備餅的酵,乃是防備法利賽人和撒都該人的教訓。【馬太福音 16:11-12】所以面酵指的不但是罪的行為,還可指假教訓。

與這些相反,無酵餅指的是真誠和真理。耶穌代表無酵餅。在逾越節之前一個吃無酵餅的晚餐堙A耶穌把他的身體與無酵餅聯系起來。然而,今天的基督徒有多麼真誠呢?他們有多麼關心真理呢?基督徒不應該撒謊,誣告或做假証。他們不應該帶上假面具或說謊話。

很少的一點假冒就能敗壞整個教會。


不要與生活在罪中的基督徒相交

哥林多前書 5:9-11 我先前寫信給你們說:不可與淫亂的人相交。此話不是指這世上一概行淫亂的,或貪婪的、勒索的,或拜偶像的﹔若是這樣,你們除非離開世界方可。但如今我寫信給你們說:若有稱為弟兄是行淫亂的,或貪婪的,或拜偶像的,或辱罵的,或醉酒的,或勒索的,這樣的人不可與他相交,就是與他吃飯都不可。

與那些自稱是基督徒,但卻以罪的生活方式生活的人相交就是贊同他們的罪,因而就參與了他們的罪。更進一步地,說他們自己“稱為弟兄”,保羅就對他們的得救狀態不加肯定。但至于保羅說的是哪種罪,顯然這些是明目張膽的,公開的,并且他們不愿從中悔改的罪。還有几處像保羅在這堻o樣例舉數種罪,比如:

“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。”【哥林多前書 6:9-10】
“因為你們確實地知道,無論是淫亂的,是污穢的,是有貪心的,在基督和神的國堻ㄛO無分的。有貪心的,就與拜偶像的一樣。不要被人虛浮的話欺哄。因這些事,神的忿怒必臨到那悖逆之子。”【以弗所書 5:5-6】
“情欲的事都是顯而易見的:就如奸淫、污穢、邪蕩、拜偶像、邪朮、仇恨、爭競、忌恨、惱怒、結黨、紛爭、異端、嫉妒(有古卷在此有“凶殺”二字)、醉酒、荒宴等類。我從前告訴你們,現在又告訴你們,行這樣事的人必不能承受神的國。”【加拉太書 5:19-21】

而這些之所以嚴重的是把這些當作一個人的生活方式。

淫亂是很明顯的,雖然事實上在自稱為基督徒的人堙A婚前性行為,甚至同居并不罕見。不要與他們相交。對那些貪婪,勒索別人錢財的也同樣。還有那些習慣性地誹謗別人,或醉酒的人,這也包括那些用毒品的人。雖然這些條目都不完全,但其意思就是不要與自稱是基督徒,但卻以罪的生活方式生活的人交往。

你們不要自欺:“濫交是敗壞善行。”【哥林多前書 15:33】


把那惡人從你們中間趕出去

哥林多前書 5:12-13 因為審判教外的人與我何干?教內的人豈不是你們審判的嗎?至于外人,有神審判他們。“你們應當把那惡人從你們中間趕出去。”【申命記 17:7】

保羅引用【申命記】來說明律法的一個應用。摩西律法與基督徒的生活不是無關的。雖然我們不受其條例的約束,但我們可以從其命令中得出合益的應用。

那些教會以外的人已經處在審判之中──事實上,他們必須從這個審判中被救出。因為,“信他的人不被定罪。不信的人罪已經定了,因為他不信神獨生子的名。”【約翰福音 3:18】,而“信子的人有永生。不信子的人得不著永生(原文作‘不得見永生’),神的震怒常在他身上。”【約翰福音 3:36】審判他們不是我們的任務。我們的任務是救他們。

但對那些聲稱已經得救,就是那些自稱是基督徒的人來說,則是另一回事。基督徒有義務審判其它的基督徒。在基督徒中,饒恕不是無條件的,其條件就是犯了罪的基督徒要認罪。耶穌說:“倘若你的弟兄得罪你,你就去,趁著只有他和你在一處的時候,指出他的錯來。他若聽你,你便得了你的弟兄。他若不聽,你就另外帶一兩個人同去,要憑兩三個人的口作見証,句句都可定准。若是不聽他們,就告訴教會。若是不聽教會,就看他像外邦人和稅吏一樣。”【馬太福音 18:15-17】

在歷史上,教會曾因濫用這個概念受到傷害。在初世紀時,教會往往為受洗之類不足以定罪的事把基督徒趕出去,有些基督徒甚至遭到殺害。然而今天我們往往面臨與此相反的問題,機構化教會的領袖往往不遵從這個命令,強迫聖徒與自稱為弟兄但以罪的生活方式生活的人交往。而不出所料,一點面酵能使全團發起來。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Corinthians 5 (web)

Judging Sinful Christians

5:1 It is actually reported that there is sexual immorality among you,
and such sexual immorality as is not even named among the Gentiles,
that one has his father's wife.
5:2 You are puffed up, and didn't rather mourn,
that he who had done this deed might be removed from among you.

5:3 For I most assuredly, as being absent in body but present in spirit,
have already, as though I were present, judged him who has done this thing.
5:4 In the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, you being gathered together,
and my spirit, with the power of our Lord Jesus Christ,
5:5 are to deliver such a one to Satan for the destruction of the flesh,
that the spirit may be saved in the day of the Lord Jesus.

5:6 Your boasting is not good. Don't you know that a little yeast leavens the whole lump?
5:7 Purge out the old yeast, that you may be a new lump, even as you are unleavened.

For indeed Christ, our Passover, has been sacrificed in our place.
5:8 Therefore let us keep the feast, not with old yeast,
neither with the yeast of malice and wickedness,
but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.
5:9 I wrote to you in my letter to have no company with sexual sinners;
5:10 yet not at all meaning with the sexual sinners of this world,
or with the covetous and extortioners, or with idolaters;
for then you would have to leave the world.

5:11 But as it is, I wrote to you not to associate with anyone who is called a brother who
is a sexual sinner, or covetous, or an idolater, or a slanderer, or a drunkard, or an extortioner.
Don't even eat with such a person.

5:12 For what have I to do with also judging those who are outside?
Don't you judge those who are within?
5:13 But those who are outside, God judges.
"Put away the wicked man from among yourselves."(Deut 17:7)



Discussion Questions

How do you resolved the commands in this chapter to judge others with the command in 1Cor 4:5?
And what about Mt 7:1 "Judge not, that ye be not judged."?
How tolerant should we be of the sins of other Christians?
What is the proper way of dealing with the situation when Christians are committing blatant sin?
(Xref Matt 18:15-17)
What detriment is there from disassociating from sinful Christians?
What benefits?
vs 9-13 How should you treat sinful non-Christians differently than sinful Christians?
Why?


Comments


Don't Tolerate Blatant Sin

1Cor 5:1,2  It is actually reported that there is sexual immorality among you, and of a kind that does not occur even among pagans: A man has his fatherís wife. And you are proud! Shouldnít you rather have been filled with grief and have put out of your fellowship the man who did this?

A sign of an immature Christian is one who divides over trivial things while tolerating things he shouldn't. The previous chapter was referring to judging the value of one Christian's service relative to another's. It is judging who is greatest among you. These cannot be determined until the Lord comes. But this chapter is dealing with judging blatant sin among Christians. And I do mean "blatant" (offensively conspicuous). We should be careful not to judge too quickly the motives of other Christians for it's easy to be wrong about things which can only be inferred, but if sin is blatant and measurable, it should be dealt with.

This is unpopular and seldom practiced in modern "feel-good" Christianity. Christians will allow the lawlessness of other Christians to continue on unchecked. More commonly if you rebuke another Christian for sin, they will consider that itself to be sin. They may even gather other Christians together to accuse you of unChristlike behavior, simply because you rebuked someone for sin.

The Corinthian church was proud of its toleration of sin. Like many Christians today, they were comfortable with sin in their midst. Here's a sign of immaturity. They were divided over things they should have been united on (like attitude towards spiritual leaders and spiritual gifts), and they united over things they should have divided over (sin in the church).



Effective Discipline

1Cor 5:3-5  Even though I am not physically present, I am with you in spirit. And I have already passed judgment on the one who did this, just as if I were present. When you are assembled in the name of our Lord Jesus and I am with you in spirit, and the power of our Lord Jesus is present, hand this man over to Satan, so that the sinful nature may be destroyed and his spirit saved on the day of the Lord.

"sinful nature" is literally the word "flesh" ("sarx"). That is, Paul intended for Satan to "knock his sarx off" - if you're familiar with the idiom. Paul himself had benefited from such an experience when the Lord gave him a vision of heaven. "To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me." 2Cor 12:7 And Paul had also delivered others to Satan for like purpose. 1Tim 1:20 "Of whom is Hymenaeus and Alexander; whom I have delivered unto Satan, that they may learn not to blaspheme" The intention is to have the person experience humiliation in some form so as to bring them to repentance or help them to maintain a proper level of humility.

"When we are judged by the Lord, we are being disciplined so that we will not be condemned with the world." 1Cor 11:32
To utilize Satan for such a purpose requires permission. Unlike what is often portray in the media, Satan is under God's authority and only does what God permits him to do. Thus in the book of Job Satan required God's permission to harm Job. And Satan needed the Lord's permission to tempt Peter. Luke 22:31  "Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat." (Wouldn't it be nice if Christians learned to seek God's permission at least as much as Satan does?)  Handing the man over to Satan required the Christians to pray for the Lord to do so. And believe it or not, at times it is appropriate to do so, but not in a spiriit of vengeance. Rather in love some need the necessary discipline to bring them to repentance.

Perhaps this is something you may warn your kids about the next time they rebel.



 A Little Yeast

1Cor 5:6-8  Your boasting is not good. Donít you know that a little yeast works through the whole batch of dough? Get rid of the old yeast that you may be a new batch without yeastó as you really are. For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been sacrificed. Therefore let us keep the Festival, not with the old yeast, the yeast of malice and wickedness, but with bread without yeast, the bread of sincerity and truth.

This verse explains a number of other verses dealing with the symbolism of unleavened bread.

Mt 13:33 He told them still another parable: "The kingdom of heaven is like yeast (leaven) that a woman took and mixed into a large amount of flour until it worked all through the dough."
This parable is actually about sin in the Christian church. Presently the church is made up of true believers and and those who are merely called "Christians". The Corinthian church is an example. Paul gives similar advice in
"You were running a good race. Who cut in on you and kept you from obeying the truth? That kind of persuasion does not come from the one who calls you.  'A little yeast works through the whole batch of dough.'" Galatians 5:7-9
The yeast in Galatians was the false brethren, those of the group of the circumcision who introduced false doctrine. And Jesus also makes reference to yeast being false doctrine in Matt 16:11,12. Thus yeast refers to both sinful behavior and false teachings.

In contrast to these, the unleavened bread is that of sincerity and truth. Jesus represents this unleavened bread. For the communion service in which Jesus associated his flesh with the bread, was actually a celebration of the week of unleavened bread just before the passover.Yet how sincere are Christians today? How concerned about truth? Christians should not be involved in lying, slandering and falsifying information. They should not put on a false face or speak deceitfully.

It doesn't take much hypocrisy to corrupt the whole church.



Don't Associate with Christians Living in Sin

1Cor 5:9-11  I have written you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral peopleó not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world. But now I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat.

To associate with those who call themselves Christians but who live a sinful lifestyle is to condone their sin and thus be a participant in it. Furthermore in saying "anyone who calls himself", Paul is leaving open the issue of their actual salvation status. For what a person calls himself does not necessarily reflect what he actually is. But with regards to what kind of sins Paul is speaking of, it is apparent that these are blatant, obvious and of which they refuse to repent.  There are a number of places which list some categories of sins as Paul does here, such as in the next chapter (1Cor 6:9,10) and Eph 5:5,6 and Gal 5:19-21. But it is the sense of accepting these as one's lifestyle which is so offensive.

Sexual immorality is a rather obvious one, though in fact it is not uncommon for alleged Christians to engage in premarital sex and even cohabit. Don't associate with them. But likewise in the case for those greedy for money and those who swindle others out of money. And for those who characteristically slander others and for alcoholics, which implies also drug abusers. While none of these lists are comprehensive, the idea is don't associate with alleged Christians living a lifestyle of sin.

 Do not be misled: "Bad company corrupts good character." 1Cor 15:33


Expel the Wicked Insider

1Cor 5:12,13  What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? God will judge those outside. "Expel the wicked man from among you." (Deut 17:7)

Paul, quoting Deuteronomy, shows an application of the Law.. The Law of Moses is not irrelevant to the Christian life. Though we are not bound to its regulations we are to infer appropriate applications from its commands.

Those outside the church already stand in judgement - a judgement that in fact they have to be saved from. For  "Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already" John 3:18 and "Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for Godís wrath remains on him." John 3:36 It is not our business to judge them. For they already stand condemned. Our business is to save them.

But as for those who allege to be saved, namely those alleging to be Christians, that's a different story. Christians are to judge other Christians. And forgiveness is not unconditional among Christians, but requires that the fellow Christian confess their sins, as Jesus said in Matt 18:15-17, or else be disassociated from.

The church has suffered much from the abuse of this concept. In earlier centuries churches often expelled Christians on an illegitimate basis over issues like baptism, some even being murdered. Though today we tend to face the opposite problem where institutional leadership is complacent with regards to this instruction forcing the saints to associate with alleged brothers living a lifestyle of sin. And predictably a little leaven leavens the whole batch.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015