翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多前書
第九章

放棄個人的權利和自由來事奉神

9:1 我不是自由的嗎?我不是使徒嗎?
  我不是見過我們的主耶穌嗎?
  你們不是我在主堶惟狶@之工嗎?

9:2 假若在別人我不是使徒,在你們我總是使徒。
  因為你們在主堨翱O我作使徒的印証。

9:3 我對那盤問我的人就是這樣分訴。

9:4 難道我們沒有權柄靠福音吃喝嗎?
9:5 難道我們沒有權柄娶信主的姊妹為妻,帶著一同往來,
  仿佛其余的使徒和主的弟兄,并磯法一樣嗎?

9:6 獨有我與巴拿巴沒有權柄不做工嗎?
9:7 有誰當兵自備糧餉呢?
  有誰栽葡萄園不吃園堛漯G子呢?
  有誰牧養牛羊不吃牛羊的奶呢?


9:8 我說這話,豈是照人的意見?
  律法不也是這樣說嗎?

9:9 就如摩西的律法記著說:
  “牛在場上踹谷的時候,
  不可籠住它的嘴。
【申命記 25:4】
  難道神所挂念的是牛嗎?

9:10 不全是為我們說的嗎?
  分明是為我們說的。
  因為耕種的當存著指望去耕種﹔
  打場的也當存得糧的指望去打場。

9:11 我們若把屬靈的種子撒在你們中間,
  就是從你們收割奉養肉身之物,這還算大事嗎?

9:12 若別人在你們身上有這權柄,何況我們呢?
  然而我們沒有用過這權柄,倒凡事忍受,
  免得基督的福音被阻隔。


9:13 你們豈不知為聖事勞碌的就吃殿中的物嗎?
  伺候祭壇的就分領壇上的物嗎?


9:14 主也是這樣命定,叫傳福音的靠著福音養生。

9:15 但這權柄我全沒有用過。我寫這話,
  并非要你們這樣待我。

  因為我寧可死,也不叫人使我所夸的落了空


我有責任要傳福音

9:16 我傳福音原沒有可夸的,
  因為我是不得已的。若不傳福音,我便有禍了。


9:17 我若甘心作這事,就有賞賜﹔
  若不甘心,責任卻已經托付我了。


9:18 既是這樣,我的賞賜是什麼呢?
  就是我傳福音的時候,叫人不花錢得福音
  免得用盡我傳福音的權柄

我甘心作了眾人的仆人

9:19 我雖是自由的,無人轄管,然而我甘心作了眾人的仆人,
  為要多得人。


9:20 向猶太人,我就作猶太人,為要得猶太人。
  向律法以下的人,我雖不在律法以下,還是作律法以下的人,
  為要得律法以下的人。


9:21 向沒有律法的人,我就作沒有律法的人,為要得沒有律法的人。
  其實我在神面前,不是沒有律法,在基督面前,正在律法之下。


9:22 向軟弱的人,我就作軟弱的人,為要得軟弱的人。
  向什麼樣的人,我就作什麼樣的人。無論如何,總要救些人。


9:23 凡我所行的,都是為福音的緣故,為要與人同得這福音的好處。

為要得著獎賞

9:24 豈不知在場上賽跑的都跑,但得獎賞的只有一人。
  你們也當這樣跑,好叫你們得著獎賞。


9:25 凡較力爭勝的,諸事都有節制。
  他們不過是要得能壞的冠冕。
  我們卻是要得不能壞的冠冕。


9:26 所以,我奔跑,不像無定向的﹔我斗拳,不像打空氣的。
9:27 我是攻克己身,叫身服我。
  恐怕我傳福音給別人,自己反被棄絕了。


問題討論

保羅放棄了自己的哪些權利?
為什麼如果保羅行使自己的權利會影響福音的傳播?
保羅在第9節堣犍峇F律法(申命記 25:4)并將其應用在基督徒身上。基督徒不是不在律法之下嗎?
鑒于保羅的應用,應該如何將摩西律法應用到基督徒的生活中?
保羅通過他的表現要得到的冠冕是什麼?
你有沒有為了事奉基督而放棄什麼個人的權利和自由?
是什麼促使你為了事奉基督的身體而放棄這些個人的權利和自由?

注釋

被肯定的蒙召

哥林多前書 9:1-3 我不是自由的嗎?我不是使徒嗎?我不是見過我們的主耶穌嗎?你們不是我在主堶惟狶@之工嗎?假若在別人我不是使徒,在你們我總是使徒。因為你們在主堨翱O我作使徒的印証。我對那盤問我的人就是這樣分訴。

在這一章堙A保羅肯定了然而同時又放棄了他作為福音的傳播者的權利。在這堙A他肯定了他所蒙的召,如他在他所有的書信堜珨”鴘漕獐芊G“奉神旨意,蒙召作耶穌基督使徒的保羅同兄弟所提尼”【哥林多前書 1:1】作為使徒,他在屬靈的事上不在任何人的權柄之下。他曾在去大馬色的路上遇到主,亞拿尼亞也証實了這件事,他說:“兄弟掃羅,在你來的路上向你顯現的主,就是耶穌,打發我來,叫你能看見,又被聖靈充滿。”【使徒行傳 9:17】主對保羅說:“你起來站著,我特意向你顯現,要派你作執事作見証,將你所看見的事,和我將要指示你的事,証明出來。我也要救你脫離百姓和外邦人的手。我差你到他們那堨h,要叫他們的眼睛得開,從黑暗中歸向光明,從撒但權下歸向神。又因信我,得蒙赦罪,和一切成聖的人同得基業。”【使徒行傳 26:16-18】保羅不但受到耶穌基督的肯定和使命,主說:我將要指示你的事,表明主將親自給他啟示。這是我們把保羅的話當作聖經的根據。在給帖撒羅尼迦聖徒的信堙A他也承認了這一點:“為此,我們也不住地感謝神,因你們聽見我們所傳神的道,就領受了,不以為是人的道,乃以為是神的道。這道實在是神的,并且運行在你們信主的人心中。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:13】使徒彼得也同樣說保羅的書信是聖經:“并且要以我主長久忍耐為得救的因由,就如我們所親愛的兄弟保羅,照著所賜給他的智慧,寫了信給你們。他一切的信上,也都是講論這事。信中有些難明白的,那無學問不堅固的人強解,如強解別的經書一樣,就自取沉淪。”【彼得後書 3:16】

雖然以上這些是使徒所特有的,他在後面的分訴可以被所有事奉福音的人用來肯定他們的蒙召。也就是說,你的事奉對別人有什麼影響呢?耶穌說:“你們要防備假先知。他們到你們這堥荂A外面披著羊皮,堶惚o是殘暴的狼。憑著他們的果子,就可以認出他們來。荊棘上豈能摘葡萄呢?蒺藜堸Z能摘無花果呢?”【馬太福音 7:15-16】哥林多的聖徒以及其它几個教會本身就是他蒙召的証據。耶穌說:“你們多結果子,我父就因此得榮耀,你們也就是我的門徒了。”【約翰福音 15:8】


難道我們沒有權利嗎?

哥林多前書 9:4-7 難道我們沒有權柄靠福音吃喝嗎?難道我們沒有權柄娶信主的姊妹為妻,帶著一同往來,仿佛其余的使徒和主的弟兄,并磯法一樣嗎?獨有我與巴拿巴沒有權柄不做工嗎?有誰當兵自備糧餉呢?有誰栽葡萄園不吃園堛漯G子呢?有誰牧養牛羊不吃牛羊的奶呢?

福音的事奉者當然有這樣的權利。但那些沒有結婚的或做事謀生的人往往受到輕視。事實上,今天在大部分機構化的教會媢篕琱W把結婚和不做事謀生作為當牧師的條件。看來保羅,提摩太和巴拿巴(也許甚至包括耶穌基督)都會因這些偏見被認作是不夠格的。權利與資格有所不同。不能因為一個人放棄了個人的權利就認為他不夠資格事奉。

你會為更好地事奉基督放棄哪些權利呢?


不可籠住牛的嘴

哥林多前書 9:8-10 我說這話,豈是照人的意見?律法不也是這樣說嗎?就如摩西的律法記著說:“牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。”難道神所挂念的是牛嗎?不全是為我們說的嗎?分明是為我們說的。因為耕種的當存著指望去耕種﹔打場的也當存得糧的指望去打場。

重要的是要認識到外幫人基督徒不在律法的條例之下,我們要按律法的靈去生活。與摩西律法有關的條例,比如保羅引自【申命記 25:4】的這個條例,有其應用,因為它們指向一般的原則──律法的靈──我們可以由之得出我們自己的應用──我們自己的條例。保羅在此給我們提供了一個例子。

【申命記 25:4】我們得出人應該能夠從他的工作得到益處。其應用之一就是福音的事奉者有權利從他的事奉中得到報酬。這還有其它的應用,比方說如果我是雇主的話,就應該立一些規定,使得雇員能夠從他們在工作中所使用的資源堭o到益處。如果你籠住牛的嘴,那麼你就太吝嗇了。這樣做的人自己也許覺得是在節約,但其實這是貪婪。注意到律法還說:“在你們的地收割庄稼,不可割盡田角,也不可拾取所遺落的,要留給窮人和寄居的。我是耶和華你們的神。”【利未記 23:22】這就是律法限制貪婪的方式。

貪婪往往導致基督徒忽視他們服事其它基督徒的責任和他們對窮人的義務。你是如何限制貪婪,使其不致于主導你的生活呢?


放棄個人的權利以更好的事奉

哥林多前書 9:11-15 我們若把屬靈的種子撒在你們中間,就是從你們收割奉養肉身之物,這還算大事嗎?若別人在你們身上有這權柄,何況我們呢?然而我們沒有用過這權柄,倒凡事忍受,免得基督的福音被阻隔。你們豈不知為聖事勞碌的就吃殿中的物嗎?伺候祭壇的就分領壇上的物嗎?主也是這樣命定,叫傳福音的靠著福音養生。但這權柄我全沒有用過。我寫這話,并非要你們這樣待我。因為我寧可死,也不叫人使我所夸的落了空。

保羅和巴拿巴甘愿放棄他們的權利,不因他們的事奉收取報酬。事實上這也是他向以弗所教會的長老所推荐的:“我未曾貪圖一個人的金、銀、衣服。我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人,又當記念主耶穌的話,說:‘施比受更為有福。’”【使徒行傳 20:33-35】我的一個朋友,在離開他的教會時給大家讀了【使徒行傳二十章】堳O羅的一席話。但他不得不在讀到第32節就停住了。因為與保羅不同,他選擇了因他的事奉而得到報酬。

最好是學習保羅的榜樣。除了作出慷慨大方的榜樣這個問題之外,選擇行使因事奉而得到報酬這個權利的另一個問題就是這樣做會使福音受到阻隔。因為這會使人懷疑一個人的動機──是不是有貪婪的因素包含在堶情C保羅寫到:“我們不像那許多人,為利混亂神的道。乃是由于誠實,由于神,在神面前憑著基督講道。”【哥林多後書 2:17】如果當時有“那許多人”,現在是不是少些了呢?還有一個問題就是因為在經濟上有賴于他們的聽眾,有可能會下意識地為聽眾的耳朵撓痒。不要低估肉體的情欲欺騙人的力量。

再者,一個事奉的人若放棄自己在經濟上得到報償的權利,選擇工作事奉,其本身就是慷慨大方的一個舉動,因為這不但可以使其有足夠的資源來慷慨大方地幫助有需的人,而且可以使別人也可將資源慷慨大方地用在窮人身上。但不是所有的人都有條件作這樣的選擇。


自愿事奉

哥林多前書 9:16-18 我傳福音原沒有可夸的,因為我是不得已的。若不傳福音,我便有禍了。我若甘心作這事,就有賞賜﹔若不甘心,責任卻已經托付我了。既是這樣,我的賞賜是什麼呢?就是我傳福音的時候,叫人不花錢得福音,免得用盡我傳福音的權柄。

因為主托付了保羅傳福音,主會讓他為此負責。同樣,主也給我們所有人交托了職責,將讓我們為之負責。保羅不是自愿開始傳福音的。事實上他不是主動要去服事而是被征去的。雖然保羅不是自愿開始傳福音的,但他自愿放棄娶妻和得到報酬的權利,為了要更好地事奉神。

“有人強逼你走一婺禲A你就同他走二堙C”【馬太福音 5:41】主迫使他走了一婺竷h傳福音。但保羅因自愿地放棄了他個人的權利而走了第二堙C你愿意與主走多遠呢?多遠是奴仆,多遠是兒子?你愿為更好地事奉主放棄哪些權利呢?


贏得一個聽眾

哥林多前書 9:19-23 我雖是自由的,無人轄管,然而我甘心作了眾人的仆人,為要多得人。向猶太人,我就作猶太人,為要得猶太人。向律法以下的人,我雖不在律法以下,還是作律法以下的人,為要得律法以下的人。向沒有律法的人,我就作沒有律法的人,為要得沒有律法的人。其實我在神面前,不是沒有律法,在基督面前,正在律法之下。向軟弱的人,我就作軟弱的人,為要得軟弱的人。向什麼樣的人,我就作什麼樣的人。無論如何,總要救些人。凡我所行的,都是為福音的緣故,為要與人同得這福音的好處。

保羅放棄他自己的自由,成為眾人的奴仆,以贏得盡可能多的人,他自愿超過他的責任所要求的。他這樣做的具體辦法就是遵重人的習俗,穿與他們同樣的衣服,說他們的語言,吃他們所吃的飯,以避免文化隔閡。

有意思的是保羅認為贏得盡量多的人不只取決于他的講道,還取決于他的生活方式。他不認為人都徹底墮落了,沒有自由意識,而認為他們是否被揀選取決于他們的自由意識對福音的反應。他不認為有一定數目的“被揀選的”,他們不可避免地會信,而認為有多少人信部分地取決于他自己是不是愿意放棄他的權利和自由。所以在他看來得救不但取決于聽者的自由意識,還取決于傳道人的自由意識。他相信人有自由意識,神不是像控制木偶一樣來操縱人,他認為救贖工是無限的,為所有人的,但恩典是有可能受到抵抗的。

有些傳道的人持有宿命論的觀點,否認自由意識。這種觀點對那些不愿放棄他們的權利的人來說是很方便的,因為他們認為無論他們做什麼對別人是沒有影響的。(事實上這種教義在基督徒中流行了一千多年,妨礙了福音的傳播。直到几百年前,有些基督徒決定自己查考一下聖經。

考慮一下在把別人贏得到基督堛犒L程中,你會放棄哪些自由,克服哪些隔閡。


著眼于目標的生活

哥林多前書 9:24-27 豈不知在場上賽跑的都跑,但得獎賞的只有一人。你們也當這樣跑,好叫你們得著獎賞。凡較力爭勝的,諸事都有節制。他們不過是要得能壞的冠冕。我們卻是要得不能壞的冠冕。所以,我奔跑,不像無定向的﹔我斗拳,不像打空氣的。我是攻克己身,叫身服我。恐怕我傳福音給別人,自己反被棄絕了。

雅各類似地寫到:“忍受試探的人是有福的。因為他經過試驗以後,必得生命的冠冕,這是主應許給那些愛他之人的。”【雅各書 1:12】主對士每拿教會說:“你務要至死忠心,我就賜給你那生命的冠冕。”【啟示錄 2:10b】保羅在他的生命即將結束時說:“那美好的仗我已經打過了,當跑的路我已經跑盡了,所信的道我已經守住了。從此以後,有公義的冠冕為我存留,就是按著公義審判的主到了那日要賜給我的。不但賜給我,也賜給凡愛慕他顯現的人。”【提摩太後書 4:7-8】

要得著賞賜就必需守規則。因為“人若在場上比武,非按規矩,就不能得冠冕。”【提摩太後書 2:5】還需要經過嚴格的訓練。運動員在准備參賽時,節制飲食,誡酒和性生活。保羅走得更遠,他為了事奉放棄結婚,不為事奉收取報酬。一個人必須心懷目標,堅守到底。耶穌在他的生命即將結束時禱告說:“你所托付我的事,我已成全了。”【約翰福音 17:4】你的生活是不是有其目的呢?你心堿O不是有一個可以衡量的目標,有一個主將讓你為之負責的任務呢?還是你只是漫無目標地活著?



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Corinthians 9 (web)

Giving Up Personal Rights and 
Freedoms to Serve God

9:1 Am I not free? Am I not an apostle?
Haven't I seen Jesus Christ, our Lord? Aren't you my work in the Lord?
9:2 If to others I am not an apostle, yet at least I am to you;
for you are the seal of my apostleship in the Lord.
9:3 My defense to those who examine me is this.

9:4 Have we no right to eat and to drink?
9:5 Have we no right to take along a wife who is a believer,
even as the rest of the apostles, and the brothers of the Lord, and Cephas?
9:6 Or have only Barnabas and I no right to not work?
9:7 What soldier ever serves at his own expense?
Who plants a vineyard, and doesn't eat of its fruit?
Or who feeds a flock, and doesn't drink from the flock's milk?

9:8 Do I speak these things according to the ways of men?
Or doesn't the law also say the same thing?

9:9 For it is written in the law of Moses,
"You shall not muzzle an ox while it treads out the grain." (Deut 25:4)
Is it for the oxen that God cares,

9:10 or does he say it assuredly for our sake?
Yes, it was written for our sake, because he who plows ought to plow in hope,
and he who threshes in hope should partake of his hope.

9:11 If we sowed to you spiritual things, is it a great thing if we reap your fleshly things?
9:12 If others partake of this right over you, don't we yet more?
Nevertheless we did not use this right, but we bear all things,
that we may cause no hindrance to the gospel of Christ.

9:13 Don't you know that those who serve around sacred things eat from the things of the temple,
and those who wait on the altar have their portion with the altar?

9:14 Even so the Lord ordained that those who proclaim the gospel should live from the gospel.

9:15 But I have used none of these things,
and I don't write these things that it may be done so in my case;

for I would rather die, than that anyone should make my boasting void.

I am obligated to preach the gospel

9:16 For if I preach the gospel, I have nothing to boast about;
for necessity is laid on me; but woe is to me, if I don't preach the gospel.

9:17 For if I do this of my own will, I have a reward.
But if not of my own will, I have a stewardship entrusted to me.

9:18 What then is my reward?
That, when I preach the gospel, I may present the gospel of Christ without charge,
so as not to abuse my authority in the gospel.

But I make myself a slave

9:19 For though I was free from all, I brought myself under bondage to all,
that I might gain the more.

9:20 To the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain Jews;
to those who are under the law, as under the law,
that I might gain those who are under the law;

9:21 to those who are without law, as without law (not being without law toward God,
but under law toward Christ), that I might win those who are without law.

9:22 To the weak I became as weak, that I might gain the weak.
I have become all things to all men, that I may by all means save some.

9:23 Now I do this for the gospel's sake, that I may be a joint partaker of it.

To win the prize

9:24 Don't you know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize?
Run like that, that you may win.

9:25 Every man who strives in the games exercises self-control in all things.
Now they do it to receive a corruptible crown, but we an incorruptible.

9:26 I therefore run like that, as not uncertainly. I fight like that, as not beating the air,
9:27 but I beat my body and bring it into submission,
lest by any means, after I have preached to others, I myself should be rejected.


Discussion Questions

What rights does Paul have that he gave up?
Why might Paul's exercising of his rights hinder the gospel?
In vs 9 Paul quotes the Law (Deut 25:4) and applies it to Christians. Yet Christians are not under the Law.
So in view of Paul's application, how should the Laws of Moses be applied to the Christian life?
What is the crown that Paul is trying to obtain by his performance?
Are there personal rights and freedoms that you have given up to serve Christ?
What motivates you to serve the body of Christ by giving up such personal rights and freedoms?


COMMENTS

#1Co 9:1,2   Paul vindicateth his apostolical character,
#1Co 9:3-14  and right to a maintenance from the churches,
#1Co 9:15-18 though he relinquished that right for the
furtherance of the gospel, not content with
doing only his indispensable duty,
#1Co 9:19-23 but voluntarily subjecting himself in many
points, where he was otherwise free, in order
thereby to win over more converts to Christ.
#1Co 9:24,25 Those who contend for a corruptible crown use
much labour and abstinence.
#1Co 9:26,27 So doth the apostle strive for one that is
incorruptible.



A Calling Affirmed

1Cor 9:1-3 Am I not free? Am I not an apostle? Have I not seen Jesus our Lord? Are you not the result of my work in the Lord? Even though I may not be an apostle to others, surely I am to you! For you are the seal of my apostleship in the Lord. This is my defense to those who sit in judgment on me.

In this chapter Paul affirms and reliquishes his rights and entitlements as a minster of the gospel. Here he affirms his calling, as he says in all of his letters: "Paul, called to be an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God" 1Cor 1:1  As an apostle he was free from accountability to other men. He had seen the Lord on the road to Damascus as also was affirmed by Ananias saying, "Brother Saul, the Lord— Jesus, who appeared to you on the road as you were coming here— has sent me so that you may see again and be filled with the Holy Spirit."  Acts 9:17 And the Lord said to Paul "Now get up and stand on your feet. I have appeared to you to appoint you as a servant and as a witness of what you have seen of me and what I will show you. I will rescue you from your own people and from the Gentiles. I am sending you to them to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, so that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me." Acts 26:16-18  Paul not only had the endorsement and commission of Jesus Christ, but in saying "what I will show you", the Lord indicated that he would be giving Paul personal revelation. the basis of which we accept Paul's word as scripture. Thus he also acknowledges in saying to the Thessalonians, "when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as the word of men, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is at work in you who believe." 1Th 2:13 And the apostle Peter  in 2Peter 3:16 likewise says that Paul's writings are scripture.

While the above is unique to the apostles, his final defense is something which all ministers of the gospel may use to affirm their calling. Namely, what impact has your ministry had on others? Jesus said, "Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. By their fruit you will recognize them."Mt 7:15,16 The Corinthians along with his other churches are themselves evidence of his calling. Jesus said, "This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples." John 15:8



Don't We Have the Right?

1Cor 9:4-7  Don’t we have the right to food and drink?  Don’t we have the right to take a believing wife along with us, as do the other apostles and the Lord’s brothers and Cephas? Or is it only I and Barnabas who must work for a living? Who serves as a soldier at his own expense? Who plants a vineyard and does not eat of its grapes? Who tends a flock and does not drink of the milk?

Of course ministers of the gospel have such rights. But those who are unmarried or work for a living are often looked down upon. In fact in much of the institutionalized Christian community today it's practically reckoned a requirement for ministers to be married and not work for a living in order to be reckoned qualified to minister. Seems Paul, Timothy and Barnabus (perhaps even Jesus Christ himself) would be reckoned disqualified based on such prejudicial things. A right or an entitlement is not the same as a qualification. Giving up personal rights and entitlements certainly should not disqualify a person from ministering.



Don't Muzzle the Ox

1Cor 9:8-10 Do I say this merely from a human point of view? Doesn’t the Law say the same thing? For it is written in the Law of Moses: "Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain." Is it about oxen that God is concerned? Surely he says this for us, doesn’t he? Yes, this was written for us, because when the plowman plows and the thresher threshes, they ought to do so in the hope of sharing in the harvest.

It's important to realize that while Gentile Christians are not under the regulaations of the Law, we are to live in accordance with the Spirit of the Law. The regulations associated with the Law of Moses, such as this one which Paul quotes from Deuteronomy 25:4, have application in that they point to general principles - the Spirit of the Law - upon which we may derive our own applications - our own regulations. Paul provides us an example of doing so here.

From Deut 25:4 we derive the principle that a person should benefit from his work. One application is that ministers of the gospel are entitled to get paid for ministering. But there are other applications as well. Like if I'm an employer, I should develop regulations allowing employees some benefits from the resources they utilize in their work. If you muzzle the ox, you're too stingy. To do so one may feel they are not being wasteful, but in fact they are being greedy. Notice the Law also says, "When you reap the harvest of your land, do not reap to the very edges of your field or gather the gleanings of your harvest. Leave them for the poor and the alien. I am the LORD your God.’" Lev 23:22 These are the kind of ways in which the Law regulated greed.

Greed often leads Christians to neglect their duties to ministering Christians and their responsibilities to the poor. How do you regulate greed from becoming dominant in your life?



Relinquish Personal Rights to Serve Better

1Cor 9:11-15  If we have sown spiritual seed among you, is it too much if we reap a material harvest from you? If others have this right of support from you, shouldn’t we have it all the more? But we did not use this right. On the contrary, we put up with anything rather than hinder the gospel of Christ. Don’t you know that those who work in the temple get their food from the temple, and those who serve at the altar share in what is offered on the altar? In the same way, the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should receive their living from the gospel. But I have not used any of these rights. And I am not writing this in the hope that you will do such things for me. I would rather die than have anyone deprive me of this boast.

Paul and Barnabus opted out of exercising their entitlement to financial compensation for their ministering. In fact this is what he recommended to the Ephesian elders, "I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing. You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’" Acts 20:33-35 A friend of mine, a Christian minister, upon leaving his church read to his congregation from Paul's speech in Acts 20. But he had to stop at verse 32 as, unlike Paul, he opted to get paid for his ministering.

Better to follow Paul's example. Along with the issue of being an example of generosity, one of the problems with ministers opting to exercise their entitlement to financial compensation is that it hinders the gospel. It hinders the gospel in calling into question ones motivation - whether there is an element of greed involved. Paul noted, "Unlike so many, we do not peddle the word of God for profit. On the contrary, in Christ we speak before God with sincerity, like men sent from God." 2Cor 2:17 If there were "so many" then, are there any less now? And there's also the issue of subconsciously being influenced to tickle the ears of their constituents upon whom they are financially dependent. Never underestimate the power of fleshly passions to deceive oneself.

Furthermore, for a minister to relinquish one's rights and entitlements to financial compensation and opting rather to BOTH work AND minister is itself an act of generosity, as it not only provides one the resources to practice generosity, but also it frees up the financial resources of others who can then utilize them to practice generosity towards the poor. But granted that not all are in circumstances in which this option is conveniently available.



Voluntary Service

1Cor 9:16-18 Yet when I preach the gospel, I cannot boast, for I am compelled to preach. Woe to me if I do not preach the gospel! If I preach voluntarily, I have a reward; if not voluntarily, I am simply discharging the trust committed to me. What then is my reward? Just this: that in preaching the gospel I may offer it free of charge, and so not make use of my rights in preaching it.

As the Lord had commissioned Paul to preach, the Lord would hold him accountable to do so. Likewise there are responsibilities the Lord has entrusted to all of us amd we will be held accountable to carry them out. Paul could not preach voluntarily. In fact he did not voluteer for this service but was drafted into it. However what Paul could do voluntarily was to give up his personal rights to a wife and to getting paid, in order to serve God better.

"If someone forces you to go one mile, go with him two miles." Mt 5:41 The Lord forced him to go the first mile preaching the gospel. But Paul voluntarily went the second mile by giving up his personal rights. How far are you willing to go with the Lord voluntarily? How far as a slave and how far as a son? What personal rights and freedoms might you relinquish to serve God better?



Winning a Hearing

1Cor 9:19-23  Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.

Paul voluntarily went beyond his duty to win as many as possible by relinquishing his freedom to become a slave to all. One practical way he did this was to avoid cultural barriers by conforming to the customs of the people, dressing as they do, speaking their language, eating their food, and working as they do.

It is interesting that Paul considered that to win as many as possible was not just a function of his preaching, but of his lifestyle. He was not of the viewpoint that people were totally depraved as to have no free will, but that their election was conditioned upon their free will response to the gospel. He was not of the viewpoint that there was a set number of "elect" who would inevitably come to faith, but rather that the number who would come to faith was partly dependent upon his own willingness to relinquish his personal rights and freedoms. Thus he viewed salvation as not only contingent upon the free will of the hearers, but also upon the free will of the preacher. He believed in people's free will, that God did not control people in a puppetlike manner, and viewed the atonement as unlimited, to be offered to all and that grace was resistable.

Now there are those preachers who have a more fatalistic perspective, denying free will. Such a viewpoint would be convenient for those who wouldn't want to relinquish their entitlements, seeing as they would view doing so would have no impact or influence upon others. (In fact such dogma became entrenched in Christian thinking for over a thousand years, which hindered missions movements until the last hundred or so years when some Christians  decided to examine the Bible themselves.) Consider what freedoms you may relinquish, what barriers to overcome, in the process of winning others to Christ.



A Goal-Oriented Life

1Cor 9:24-27 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.

Similarly the Lord says to the church in Smyrna, "Be faithful, even to the point of death, and I will give you the crown of life." Rev 2:10 And at the end of Paul's life he says, "I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day— and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing." 1Tim 4:7,8

To obtain the prize one must first know the rules. For "if anyone competes as an athlete, he does not receive the victor’s crown unless he competes according to the rules." 2Tim 2:5 One must also go into strict training. In Greek the word is "temperate" or "to exercise self-control" (1Cor 7:9) Athletes, in preparing themselves for the games, abstained from unwholesome food, wine, and sexual indulgence  Paul went even further, abstaining from marriage and from receiving a salary for his ministering. And one must persevere to the end with determination and with the goal in mind. At the end of his life Jesus prayed, "I have accomplished the work which you have given me to do." John 17:4 Are you living with purpose, with a measurable goal in mind, a task which the Lord will hold you accountable? Or are you living aimlessly?


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015