翻譯: English 中文 GB

彼得前書
2:13-25

順從,之一:公民和雇員

以在社會中的好行為來榮耀神

2:13 你們為主的緣故,要順服人的一切制度,

    或是在上的君王,

  2:14 或是君王所派罰惡賞善的臣宰。

  2:15 因為神的旨意原是要你們行善,
    可以堵住那糊涂無知人的口。


  2:16 你們雖是自由的,卻不可借著自由遮蓋惡毒(或作“陰毒”),
    總要作神的仆人。


  2:17 務要尊敬眾人:親愛教中的弟兄,敬畏神,尊敬君王。

2:18 你們作仆人的,凡事要存敬畏的心順服主人,
  不但順服那善良溫和的,就是那乖僻的也要順服。


  2:19 倘若人為叫良心對得住神,
    就忍受冤屈的苦楚,這是可喜愛的。

    2:20 你們若因犯罪受責打,能忍耐,有什麼可夸的呢?
      但你們若因行善受苦,能忍耐,
      這在神看是可喜愛的。

      2:21 你們蒙召原是為此,因基督也為你們受過苦,
        給你們留下榜樣,叫你們跟隨他的腳蹤行。

        2:22 他并沒有犯罪,“口堣]沒有詭詐。【以賽亞書 53:9】
        2:23 他被罵不還口,受害不說威嚇的話,
          只將自己交托那按公義審判人的主。


        2:24 他被挂在木頭上,親身擔當了我們的罪,
          使我們既然在罪上死,就得以在義上活。
          因他受的鞭傷,你們便得了醫治。


        2:25 你們從前好像迷路的羊,
          如今卻歸到你們靈魂的牧人監督了。


問題討論

在何種程度上“順從”被社會看作是一種美德?
我們應該順從人間的哪種制度?
順從人的權威有什麼益處?
神建立政府權威的目的是什麼?
我們作為基督徒從何種意義上講是自由的?
基督徒會如何濫用這種自由?
有哪些不尊重合法權威的例子?
奴役是罪嗎?
現代“奴役”哪些例子?
你是不是應該只順從那些待你好的?
應該如何對待不公的受苦?
基督是如何在順從這個方面給我們作榜樣的?

注釋

順從人間合法的權威

彼得前書 2:13-14 你們為主的緣故,要順服人的一切制度,或是在上的君王,或是君王所派罰惡賞善的臣宰。

如果合法的人間權威在他們合法的權柄范疇之內行使他們的權威,順從人間的權威是一件好事。事實上在彼得的時候基督徒不得不拒絕順從權威。因為當時的皇帝要求基督徒拜他,他沒有神給的權威下這樣的命令。因為所有人間的權威都有有限的范疇,在這個范疇之外他們就不是合法的權威,比如他們若命令人們去犯罪。然而,如果一個人走出了他合法的權威范疇之外,比如皇帝要求別人拜他,那并不意味著他在合法的權威范疇內就不再是合法的權威。但以理就是一個實踐這種順從的好榜樣。

同樣在這件事上保羅寫到:“在上有權柄的,人人當順服他,因為沒有權柄不是出于神的。凡掌權的都是神所命的。所以抗拒掌權的,就是抗拒神的命。抗拒的必自取刑罰。作官的原不是叫行善的懼怕,乃是叫作惡的懼怕。你愿意不懼怕掌權的嗎?你只要行善,就可得他的稱贊。因為他是神的用人,是與你有益的。你若作惡,卻當懼怕。因為他不是空空的佩劍。他是神的用人,是伸冤的,刑罰那作惡的。所以你們必須順服,不但是因為刑罰,也是因為良心。”【羅馬書 13:1-5】

他還說:“我因此自己勉勵,對神,對人,常存無虧的良心。”【使徒行傳 24:16】常存無虧的良心的一部分就是順從人間的權威。


以行善堵住毀謗人的口

彼得前書 2:15 因為神的旨意原是要你們行善,可以堵住那糊涂無知人的口。

記得他在前几節說:“你們在外邦人中,應當品行端正,叫那些毀謗你們是作惡的,因看見你們的好行為,便在鑒察的日子(“鑒察”或作“眷顧”),歸榮耀給神。你們為主的緣故,要順服人的一切制度,或是在上的君王,或是君王所派罰惡賞善的臣宰。”【彼得前書 2:12-14】看上去對于什麼算“善行”,彼得最先想到的是順從人間的權威。所以你今天就能行的一件善事就是順從人間的合法權威,服從他們的條例、命令和政策。如果你想知道神對你一生的愿望,這就是了!

作為對比,彼得在他的第二封信的第二章塈i誡我們要當心假教師:“他們因有貪心,要用捏造的言語在你們身上取利。他們的刑罰,自古以來并不遲延,他們的滅亡也必速速來到(原文作“也不打盹”)。”【彼得後書 2:3】我提到這一點是因為他接下來說:“那些隨肉身,縱污穢的情欲,輕慢主治之人的,更是如此。”【彼得後書 2:10a】雖然每個人,包括有權威的人,都要受到不帶偏見的仔細檢驗,但輕慢權威的角色則是另一會事。要當心那些反感在任何權威之下,并同樣去教別人,借著我們敗壞的罪性挑起一種非法的反叛感的人。因為肉身尋求沒有任何限制的自由,所以肉身會對在權威之下反叛。


行善不需拘束

彼得前書 2:16 你們雖是自由的,卻不可借著自由遮蓋惡毒(或作“陰毒”),總要作神的仆人。

猶大警告說:“因為有些人偷著進來,就是自古被定受刑罰的,是不虔誠的,將我們神的恩變作放縱情欲的機會,并且不認獨一的主宰,我們(“我們”或作“和我們”)主耶穌基督。”【猶大書 1:4】

如果我們不接受耶穌為主宰,不按他說的去做,我們就是在拒絕認他為主。因此,耶穌說:“你們為什麼稱呼我‘主啊,主啊,’卻不遵我的話行呢?”【路加福音 6:46】如我們曾提到過的,罪性憎惡在權威之下。你會發現有些聲稱是基督徒的人覺得順從耶穌的主宰是可有可無的。你會發現有些人以為神對他們的恩典是他們做惡的執照。雖然他們覺得他們有永恆的保証,并宣告“自由恩典”,但他們最終會發現他們事實上會被定罪。

與此相反,有些聲稱是基督徒的人提倡律法的捆綁,比如保羅在使徒行傳和加拉太書堜珗鴷I的那些“奉割禮”的人。因此他指教基督徒說:“基督釋放了我們,叫我們得以自由,所以要站立得穩,不要再被奴仆的軛挾制。”【加拉太書 5:1】但他還在几節之後說:“弟兄們,你們蒙召是要得自由,只是不可將你們的自由當作放縱情欲的機會,總要用愛心互相服事。”【加拉太書 5:13】


務要尊敬

彼得前書 2:17 務要尊敬眾人:親愛教中的弟兄,敬畏神,尊敬君王。

尊敬權威是第五誡──當孝敬父母──的延伸。第五誡的靈就是要尊敬那些有在你之上權威的人。但在有的情形下,榮耀那些尚未掙得榮耀的人似乎與直覺相反。“敗壞之先,人心驕傲。尊榮以前,必有謙卑。”【箴言 18:12】所以,如果權威是高傲的人,為什麼要榮耀他呢?或者他是個愚昧人,經上說:“將尊榮給愚昧人的,好像人把石子包在機弦堙C”【箴言 26:8】而且,“追求公義仁慈的就尋得生命、公義和尊榮。”【箴言 21:21】關于人間權威的答案在于我們應該尊敬其位置,未必尊敬其人。榮耀這個角色,榮耀這個職位。如果在其位的人配得榮耀,就榮耀他。因此耶穌說:“文士和法利賽人坐在摩西的位上,凡他們所吩咐你們的,你們都要謹守遵行。但不要效法他們的行為,因為他們能說不能行。”【馬太福音 23:2-3】

但對基督徒弟兄來說,只是榮耀則太膚淺了,這就是為什麼他說要愛信徒。所以不要簡單地榮耀基督徒弟兄,要愛他們。

至于敬畏神,他指的不只是尊敬。“敬畏”譯自希臘文“φοβεω”,意思是懼怕。耶穌和他的使徒給我們許多關于懼怕神的教訓。耶穌說:“那殺身體不能殺靈魂的,不要怕他們。惟有能把身體和靈魂都滅在地獄堛滿A正要怕他。”【馬太福音 10:28】那婸〞漱ㄔu是“尊敬”。

尊敬每個人,愛信徒,敬畏神,尊敬人間的權威,這些都是好的。


仆人要順服

彼得前書 2:18 你們作仆人的,凡事要存敬畏的心順服主人,不但順服那善良溫和的,就是那乖僻的也要順服。

彼得在這堳的是“溫柔”的美德。關于耶穌,經上寫到:“他像羊被牽到宰殺之地,又像羊羔在剪毛的人手下無聲,他也是這樣不開口。”【使徒行傳 8:32】

“對神的溫柔就是這樣一種屬靈的狀態,我們接受神對我們是好的,因而毫不爭辯,毫不抗拒。……溫柔或溫順與自以為是和只圖己利相反。它生于相信神的善和神對情形的控制。溫柔的人不總是考慮自己。”《電子聖經希臘辭典》

約瑟的兄弟想要殺他。但最後的結果卻是好的。約瑟後來對他的兄弟說:“從前你們的意思是要害我,但神的意思原是好的,要保全許多人的性命,成就今日的光景。”【創世紀 50:20】

名著《湯姆叔叔的小屋》講述了很久以前非裔美國人的遭遇。湯姆叔叔是一位被奴役的基督徒。他受到殘忍的對待,但總是恩慈地對待他的主人,饒恕他的主人。然而非裔美國人對這本書的一般反應卻是嘲弄,貶低湯姆叔叔,拿湯姆叔叔取樂。甚至今天,“湯姆叔叔”在黑人圈子堣斑Q看做是貶義詞。這就是今日世界的靈。雖然今天人們強調個人的權利和自由,但他們缺乏溫柔和恩慈的靈。

溫柔與長久忍受苦難手牽手。在援引你的個人權利之前要三思。


忍受冤屈

彼得前書 2:19-20 倘若人為叫良心對得住神,就忍受冤屈的苦楚,這是可喜愛的。你們若因犯罪受責打,能忍耐,有什麼可夸的呢?但你們若因行善受苦,能忍耐,這在神看是可喜愛的。

當說到不公正的受苦這個問題時,人們最常問的問題就是為什麼神允許不公正的受苦發生。但彼得所想到的卻不是這個問題。因為即使沒有清楚的答案,神在他所允許發生的事堣斑Q看作是正確的和善的。彼得所想到的是忍受不公的苦難是不是可稱贊的。別的不說,任何在今生所遭受的不公平或不公正的苦難都將得到補償。這個事實有助于我們經受得住我們可能遭受的痛苦。

再者,不公正的受苦在神看來是可夸贊的有其重大的意義,它解釋了基督究竟是怎樣贖罪的。基督受罪是不公的。他作為一個無罪的羔羊遭受痛苦──一個具體情況的犧牲品。的確,神安排了這些情形,但基督的死是謀殺,而不是執行死刑。司提反在說到猶太人的領袖在基督的死堜狶篝t的角色時說:“如今你們又把那義者賣了,殺了。”【使徒行傳 7:52】神是公義的,因此基督所受的不公的苦難必須得到補償。然而考慮到基督是誰,他所得到的補償足以為全世界的罪付清贖價。這樣,一面是因神公義的性質──對基督不公受難給予補償──付清了神的公義性的另一方面對我們的罪需付出代價的要求。神的公平感因此平息了他的忿怒。


基督忍受不公正的苦難的榜樣

彼得前書 2:21-23 你們蒙召原是為此,因基督也為你們受過苦,給你們留下榜樣,叫你們跟隨他的腳蹤行。“他并沒有犯罪,口堣]沒有詭詐。”他被罵不還口,受害不說威嚇的話,只將自己交托那按公義審判人的主。

這就是溫柔。誠然,他對遭受苦難并非完全不作答。事實上,當一個官員打他的臉的時候,他回答說:“我若說得不是,你可以指証那不是﹔我若說得是,你為什麼打我呢?”【約翰福音 18:23】但這不是威嚇的話。

耶穌沒有把他的受審和接下來釘十字架看作是神對他的審判。他的父差他來執行一項自殺的使命──作為一個無辜的犧牲者而死,這樣,審斷公正的神就要為他所遭受的苦難作出補償,并用這個補償來為世界的罪付出贖價。這就是為什麼神在舊約堨蓱w了用無罪的,純潔的羔羊來像征基督的使命:“神的羔羊,除去(或作“背負”)世人罪孽的。”【約翰福音 1:29】

難道我們基督徒不正是為這樣的事──遭受不公的苦難──蒙召的嗎?的確是這樣。如果你正確地過基督徒的生活,你將會遭受苦難。“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】但讓我們鼓起勇氣,因為遭受任何不公的苦難都是值得的。


因他受的鞭傷,你們便得了醫治

彼得前書 2:24 他被挂在木頭上,親身擔當了我們的罪,使我們既然在罪上死,就得以在義上活。因他受的鞭傷,你們便得了醫治。【以賽亞書 53:5】

我們說基督為罪作了挽回祭。“神設立耶穌作挽回祭,”【羅馬書 3:25a】“他為我們的罪作了挽回祭,”【約翰一書 2:2a】但更准確地說,這個常被譯為“挽回祭”的詞“ιλαστηριον”是平息忿怒的意思。神的忿怒被基督的死所平息,因為神的公平的感覺平息了他的忿怒。為了給我們的罪付出價碼,基督必須不公地遭受苦難。他是為我們的罪死。彼得在這奡ㄓ峈漸H賽亞書說:“哪知他為我們的過犯受害,為我們的罪孽壓傷﹔因他受的刑罰我們得平安,因他受的鞭傷我們得醫治。”【以賽亞書 53:5】

在為罪付出贖價之後,罪就不再作為欠的債記在我們的帳上。因此信徒現在對于罪的永恆的結果來說是死了。稱義──罪得赦免──取決于神的忿怒得到平息,已經完成。結果那些已經稱義的人就能夠過義的生活。“所以,我們借著洗禮歸入死,和他一同埋葬,原是叫我們一舉一動有新生的樣式,像基督借著父的榮耀從死奡_活一樣。”【羅馬書 6:4】就如信的人隨基督同死一樣,我們也同他一樣從死奡_活。


羊回來了

彼得前書 2:25 你們從前好像迷路的羊【以賽亞書 53:6】,如今卻歸到你們靈魂的牧人監督了。

彼得再一次提及以賽亞書:“我們都如羊走迷,各人偏行己路。耶和華使我們眾人的罪孽都歸在他身上。”【以賽亞書 53:6】這并不是說迷路是基督徒的特征,因為他說的是:“你們從前好像迷路的羊”,而不是:“你們現在好像迷路的羊”。而且迷路不是所有羊的特征。就像浪子回頭一樣,在悔改和與神和好之後,我們就醫好了這種行為。“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】“他們從我們中間出去,卻不是屬我們的。若是屬我們的,就必仍舊與我們同在。他們出去,顯明都不是屬我們的。”【約翰一書 2:19】

這婸※繴是一個牧者說的是他是我們的主。他要求我們服從他的命令。他要求我們跟隨他的領引。他不只是看著我們,他還督管我們。作為基督徒,我們沒有想做什麼就做什麼的自由。那些認為在基督堛漲菪挬N是可以犯罪的自由的人就否認了耶穌基督是我們的主宰,是我們的主。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Peter 2:13-25 (web)

Submission I: Citizens & Employees

Glorifying God through
Honorable Behavior in the Society

2:13 Therefore subject yourselves to every ordinance of man for the Lord's sake:
 
whether to the king, as supreme;
2:14 or to governors, as sent by him for vengeance on evil-doers
and for praise to those who do well.

2:15 For this is the will of God, that by well-doing
you should put to silence the ignorance of foolish men:

2:16 as free, and not using your freedom for a cloak of wickedness,
but as bondservants of God.

2:17 Honor all men. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honor the king.
 

2:18 Servants, be in subjection to your masters with all fear;
not only to the good and gentle, but also to the wicked.
 
2:19 For it is commendable if someone endures pain,
suffering unjustly, because of conscience toward God.
2:20 For what glory is it if, when you sin, you patiently endure beating?
But if, when you do well, you patiently endure suffering,
this is commendable with God.
2:21 For to this you were called, because Christ also suffered for us, leaving you {TR reads "us" instead of "you"} an example, that you should follow his steps,
2:22 who did not sin, "neither was deceit found in his mouth."(Is 53:9)
2:23 Who, when he was cursed, didn't curse back. When he suffered, didn't threaten, but committed himself to him who judges righteously;

2:24 who his own self bore our sins in his body on the tree,
that we, having died to sins, might live to righteousness;
by whose stripes you were healed.

2:25 For you were going astray like sheep; but are now returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.
{"Overseer" is from the Greek episkopon, which can mean overseer, curator, guardian, or superintendent.}


Discussion Questions

To what extent is "submission" reckoned as a virtue in the society?
What kinds of human institutions should we submit to?
What benefits come from submitting to human authority?
For what purposes has God established government authorities?
In what way are we, as Christians, free?
And how might Christians misuse that freedom?
What are examples of showing disrespect to legitimate authorities?
Is slavery sin?
What might be examples of modern day "slaves"?
Should you only obey those who treat you well?
How should you react to unjust suffering?
How does Christ serve as an example in the area of submission?


Comments


Submit to Legitimate Human Authority

1Peter 2:13,14  Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every authority instituted among men: whether to the king, as the supreme authority, or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right.

The practice of submission to human authority is a good thing, given that it is with regards to legitimate human authority acting within their legitimate realm of authority. In fact in Peter's time Christians had to disobey authority. For there came a time when the Emperor required Christians to worship him, which was not his God-given right to command. For all human authority has only a limited realm of authority outside of which they are not legimate authority, such as if they were to command people to sin. However if one steps outside of their legitimate realm of authority, such as the Emperor demanding worship, that does not mean they are no longer to be reckoned legitimate authority figures within their legitimate realm of authority. Daniel was an excellent example of one who practiced this type of submission.

Likewise Paul writes on this subject saying, "Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted, and those who do so will bring judgment on themselves. For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and he will commend you. For he is God’s servant to do you good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for he does not bear the sword for nothing. He is God’s servant, an agent of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongdoer. Therefore, it is necessary to submit to the authorities, not only because of possible punishment but also because of conscience." Rom 13:1-5

And he says, "I strive always to keep my conscience clear before God and man." Acts 24:16 Part of having a clear conscience is submitting to legitimate human authority.


Silence Slanderers by Doing Good

1Peter 2:15 "For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish men."
 

Remember that he said just a few verses ago, "Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us." 1Peter 2:12 It seems the first thing that came to Peter's mind as to what constitutes "good deeds" is submission to human authority. So one good deed you can do today is to submit to legitimate human authority with regards to their regulations, commands, policies. And if you want to know God's will for your life, well there you go!

In contrast Peter warns in his second letter, chapter 2, of false teachers "In their greed these teachers will exploit you with stories they have made up. Their condemnation has long been hanging over them, and their destruction has not been sleeping." 2Peter 2:3 I bring this up because he goes on to say of them, "This is especially true of those who follow the corrupt desire of the sinful nature and despise authority. " 2Peter 2:10a Now much as every person is subject to scrutiny without prejudice, including authority figures, it is quite another matter to despise the role of authority. Beware of those who despise being under any authority and who teach likewise, invoking an illegitimate sense of rebelliousness in accordance with the corrupt desires of our sinful nature. For as the flesh seeks freedom from limitations, so it rebells against being under authority.


Feel Free to Do what is Right

1Peter 2:16 Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover-up for evil; live as servants of God.

Jude warns, "certain men whose condemnation was written about long ago have secretly slipped in among you. They are godless men, who change the grace of our God into a license for immorality and deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord." Jude 1:4

If we're not submitting to Jesus' Lordship by doing what he said, we are denying him as Lord. Thus Jesus said, "Why do you call me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say?" Luke 6:46 And as I mentioned, the sinful nature despises being under authority. You will find alleged Christians who feel that submitting to Christ's Lordship is optional. You will find those who feel the grace of God gives them a license to sin. Though they feel they have eternal security and declare "free grace", yet they may in fact end up being condemned.

Conversely there are alleged Christians who teach bondage to the Law, like the "circumcision" of whom Paul dealt with in Acts and Galatians. So he instructs Christians, "It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery." Gal 5:1 But he also says a few verses later, "You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love." Gal 5:13


Show Proper Respect

1Peter 2:17 Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king.

Honoring authority is an extension of the 5th commandment - to honor your father and mother. The spirit of the 5th commandment is honor those in authority over you. However in some cases it would seem counterintuitive to honor those who haven't earned it. "Before his downfall a man’s heart is proud, but humility comes before honor." Pr 18:12 So if the authority is proud, why honor them? Or if they are a fool, it says, "Like tying a stone in a sling is the giving of honor to a fool." Pr 26:8 But rather "He who pursues righteousness and love finds life, prosperity and honor." Pr 21:21 The answer with regards to human authority is that we're supposed to salute the office, but not necessarily the man. Honor the role. Honor the office. And if the man deserves it, honor the man. Thus Jesus said, "The teachers of the law and the Pharisees sit in Moses’ seat. So you must obey them and do everything they tell you. But do not do what they do, for they do not practice what they preach." Mt 23:2,3

But with regards to the Christian community honor alone is too shallow, which is why he says to love the believers. Don't simply honor fellow Christians. Love them.

As for fearing God, it is not mere reverence he's referring to. "Fear" is "phobeo" where we get "phobia" from. It means to be afraid of. Jesus and his apostles gave us lots of teaching about being afraid of God. Like Jesus said, "Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell." Mt 10:28 That doesn't speak of mere "reverence".

It's good to show proper respect to everyone, to love the believers, to fear God, and to honor legitimate human authority.


Slaves to Submit

1Peter 2:18 Slaves, submit yourselves to your masters with all respect, not only to those who are good and considerate, but also to those who are harsh.

"Meekness" is the character quality Peter is referring to. Of Jesus it is written, "He was led like a sheep to the slaughter, and as a lamb before the shearer is silent, so he did not open his mouth." Acts 8:32

"Meekness toward God is that disposition of spirit in which we accept His dealings with us as good, and therefore without disputing or resisting. ... Gentleness or meekness is the opposite to self-assertiveness and self-interest. It stems from trust in God’s goodness and control over the situation. The gentle person is not occupied with self at all." Online Bible Greek Lexicon

Joseph's brothers attempted to kill him. But it turned out for good in the long run. Joseph later said to his brothers, "You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives." Gen 50:20

A famous book "Uncle Tom's Cabin" tells of the plight of African Americans a while ago. Uncle Tom was a Christian enslaved. He was brutally mistreated but always was gracious to his master forgiving him. However, the general reaction to the book among the African American community was to deride, belittle and make fun of Uncle Tom for his meekness. Even today "Uncle Tom" is considered a derogatory term in the black community. Such is the spirit of the world today. While today people emphasize personal rights and freedoms, they lack a spirit of meekness and graciousness.

Meekness goes hand in hand with longsuffering. Think twice before invoking your personal rights.


Enduring Unjustified Suffering

1Peter 2:19,20 For it is commendable if a man bears up under the pain of unjust suffering because he is conscious of God. But how is it to your credit if you receive a beating for doing wrong and endure it? But if you suffer for doing good and you endure it, this is commendable before God.

Most commonly when the subject of unjust suffering comes up people ask as to why God allows unjust suffering. But this is not the issue that comes to Peter's mind. For even if there is no clear answer, God is considered right and good in what he allows. Rather what comes to mind is the commendability of enduring unjust suffering. Rest assured that there will be compensation for any unfairness or injustice suffered in this life. And this fact helps us to endure through the pain of whatever we may suffer.

Furthermore a significant implication of unjustified suffering being commenable to God, is that it explains exactly how Christ atoned for sin. Afterall Christ did not suffer in a just manner. He suffered as an innocent lamb - a victim of circumstance. True God orchestrated the circumstances, but his death was considered a murder and not a capital punishment. Stephen said of the Jewish leaders concerning Christ's death, "you have betrayed and murdered him" Acts 7:52 God is just and as such Christ was owed compensation for his unjustified sufferering, just as everyone who suffers unjustly will be compensated - given "credit" as it says here. But in consideration of who Christ was, the compensation owed him was sufficient to pay for the sins of the world. In this way one hand of God's judicial nature - giving credit to Christ who suffer unjustly - paid off the other hand of God's judicial nature which held us in ransom due to our sin. God's sense of fairness thus mollified his wrath.


Christ's example of Suffering Unjustly

1Peter 2:21-23 To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps. "He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth." (Isaiah 53:9) When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly.

This is meekness. True that he was not completely unresponsive to the suffering. In fact when one of the officials nearby struck him in the face, Jesus replied, "If I said something wrong, testify as to what is wrong. But if I spoke the truth, why did you strike me?" John 18:23 But this is not a threat.

Jesus did not view God as judging him in this trial and consequent crucifixion. His Father had sent him on a suicide mission - to be put to death as an innocent victim so that God, who judges justly, will compensate him for his suffering and with such compensation he would pay for the sins of the world. And this is why God instituted innocent, pure lambs being used as sacrifices in the Old Testament to symbolize Christ's mission, "the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!" John 1:29 "the Lamb that was slain from the creation of the world." Rev 13:8

Is not this kind of thing - suffer unjustly - what we Christians are also called to? Indeed. If you live the Christian life appropriately you will suffer. "In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 3:12 But let us take courage that any unjustified suffering we endure will be worth it.


Healed by His Wounds

1Peter 2:24  He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, so that we might die to sins and live for righteousness; by his wounds you have been healed. (Isaiah 53:5)

We say that Christ atoned for sin. "God presented him as a sacrifice of atonement" Rom 3:25a "He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins" 1John 2:2a  But more precisely the word often translated "atoned" actually means to appease. God's wrath was appeased by Christ's death in that God's sense of fairness mollified his wrath. To pay for our sins he had to suffer unujustly. It was for our sins that he died. Peter alludes to Isaiah here saying, "he was pierced for our transgressions, he was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon him, and by his wounds we are healed."

Having paid for sin, sin no longer incurs a debt to our account. And so believers are now dead with respect to the eternal consequences of sin. Justification - the forgiveness of sins - which was contingent upon God's wrath being appeased, has been accomplished. Consequently those who have been justified can now live for righteousness. "We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life." Rom 6:4 Just as believers are to die with Christ, so also we are to be raised.


Sheep Returned

1Peter 2:25 For you were like sheep going astray, (Isaiah 53:6) but now you have returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.

Again Peter alludes to Isaiah, "We all, like sheep, have gone astray, each of us has turned to his own way; and the LORD has laid on him the iniquity of us all." Is 53:6 It is not that Christians characteristically stray, for he says "you were like sheep going astray", not "you are like sheep going astray". And not all sheep characteristically stray. But like the prodigal son, having repented and having been reconciled to God, we have been healed from such behavior. "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God" 1John 3:9 and "They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us." 1John 2:19

Jesus as a Shepherd is to say he is our Lord. He demands we follow his instructions. He demands that he leads and we follow. He doesn't simply watch us, he oversees us. We are not free to do whatever we want as Christians. Those who feel that freedom in Christ is freedom to sin deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord.


1Peter 2:13-25 RAP

2:13 Submit yourselves for the Lord's sake 
To every authority that man may make 
14 To the king as supreme and governors too 
Sent to punish and reward whatever you do. 
15 This is the way God wants you to walk 
To silence the foolish and ignorant talk 
16 Live as free men without evil intents 
Servants of God, that only makes sense. 
17 Show proper respect, to all honor bring 
To Christians, and God and even the king 
18 Slaves submit to your masters too 
Whether they're good or bad, in whatever you do 
19 For isn't it good if a man bears the pain 
To suffer unjustly and so honor gain 
20 But if you suffer for the wrong you may do 
There's no credit God must give, no reward for you 
21 Christ also suffered and so you should to 
Follow His path that he set for you 
22 He committed no sin nor could you find 
Deceit in his mouth, no not of the kind 
23 They insulted Him, but he didn't react 
With vengeance and threats, and that is a fact. 
But entrusted Himself to God who's the judge 
For God's answer to sin was nothing to fudge 
24 He bore our sins when He hung on a tree 
So we might die to sins and live righteously 
25 By His wounds you are healed, though sheep gone astray 
but now have returned to the Shepherd to stay.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015