翻譯: English 中文 GB

彼得前書
4:1-11

受苦,之二

與基督受苦的心志認同

為神而活
4:1 基督既在肉身受苦,
  你們也當將這樣的心志作為兵器,
  因為在肉身受過苦的,就已經與罪斷絕了。

4:2 你們存這樣的心,從今以後,
  就可以不從人的情欲,只從神的旨意,在世度余下的光陰。

4:3 因為往日隨從外邦人的心意
  行邪淫、惡欲、醉酒、荒宴、群飲,并可惡拜偶像的事,
  時候已經夠了。

4:4 他們在這些事上,
  見你們不與他們同奔那放蕩無度的路,
  就以為怪,毀謗你們。

因為我們都將死
4:5 他們必在那將要審判活人、死人的主面前交賬。
4:6 為此,就是死人也曾有福音傳給他們,

  要叫他們的肉體按著人受審判,
  他們的靈性卻靠神活著。


事奉,使神得榮耀
4:7 萬物的結局近了﹔
  所以你們要謹慎自守,儆醒禱告。

4:8 最要緊的是彼此切實相愛,
  因為愛能遮掩許多的罪。

4:9 你們要互相款待,不發怨言。
4:10 各人要照所得的恩賜彼此服事,
  作神百般恩賜的好管家。

4:11 若有講道的,要按著神的聖言講﹔
  若有服事人的,要按著神所賜的力量服事。
  叫神在凡事上因耶穌基督得榮耀。
  原來榮耀權能都是他的,直到永永遠遠。阿們。


問題討論

如果你決定為基督而活,是不是不可避免地會為之受苦?(【提摩太後書 3:12】
我們將面臨哪種苦難?
你有沒有發現你與你的基督徒朋友的共同點遠比與你的非基督徒朋友和同事的共同點多?
外邦人選擇做的這些事的現代翻版是什麼?
他們是不是以你不參與他們的這些事為怪?
你有可能用哪一句簡單的話來警告他們審判日的到來?
你會如何把你的恩賜用在事奉堙H

注釋

信心的一個結果 逼迫
信心的活動 禱告
相愛
款待
服事
信心的回答 喜樂

為基督的原故受苦

彼得前書 4:1-2 基督既在肉身受苦,你們也當將這樣的心志作為兵器,因為在肉身受過苦的,就已經與罪斷絕了。你們存這樣的心,從今以後,就可以不從人的情欲,只從神的旨意,在世度余下的光陰。

這很像:“你們當以基督耶穌的心為心:他本有神的形像,不以自己與神同等為強奪的,反倒虛己,取了奴仆的形像,成為人的樣式。既有人的樣子,就自己卑微,存心順服,以至于死,且死在十字架上!”【腓立比書 2:5-8】事實上基督徒生活的很大一部分含有這樣一個態度。不僅僅是行為,還包括態度──像基督所行的那樣去行,并抱著基督那樣的態度,以與基督相同的原因去行事,也就是說按神的旨意行事,不顧這樣做對自己的肉身,自己的資源,或自己的人格的後果。

經上還說:“凡屬基督耶穌的人,是已經把肉體,連肉體的邪情私欲,同釘在十字架上了。”【加拉太書 5:24】因為神的恩典“教訓我們除去不敬虔的心和世俗的情欲,在今世自守,公義,敬虔度日,”【提多書 2:12】一個人若按神的旨意去生活就不可避免地會使肉身受苦。若不是因為別的原因,至少“因為情欲和聖靈相爭,聖靈和情欲相爭。這兩個是彼此相敵,使你們不能作所愿意作的。”【加拉太書 5:17】


人們覺得你奇怪?

彼得前書 4:3-4 因為往日隨從外邦人的心意行邪淫、惡欲、醉酒、荒宴、群飲,并可惡拜偶像的事,時候已經夠了。他們在這些事上,見你們不與他們同奔那放蕩無度的路,就以為怪,毀謗你們。

至于屬世的人的罪的生活方式,他們是沒有借口的。彼得在這婸“外邦人的心意行”這樣的事。罪人之所以這樣是因為他們選擇要這樣做的。惡人出于他們的自由意識選擇了罪的生活方式,因此是要為之負責的。因為神不會因人們無法控制的事讓他們負責。因此罪人咎取罪責是因為罪人做出了要犯罪的選擇。

同樣基督徒有選擇不犯罪的自由。因為彼得給基督徒的指示包含了我們對服從的意愿。同樣保羅寫到:“不要效法這個世界”【羅馬書 12:2a】“所以要治死你們在地上的肢體,就如淫亂、污穢、邪情、惡欲和貪婪,貪婪就與拜偶像一樣。因這些事,神的忿怒必臨到那悖逆之子。當你們在這些事中活著的時候,也曾這樣行過。但現在你們要棄絕這一切的事,以及惱恨、忿怒、惡毒(或作“陰毒”)、毀謗,并口中污穢的言語。不要彼此說謊,因你們已經脫去舊人和舊人的行為,穿上了新人。這新人在知識上漸漸更新,正如造他主的形像。”【歌羅西書 3:5-10】

至于世界對我們從我們先前的生活方式悔改的反應,耶穌對他屬世的弟兄說:“世人不能恨你們,卻是恨我,因為我指証他們所做的事是惡的。”【約翰福音 7:7】無論是用言語還是以生活方式,基督徒都見証這個世界的惡,因此會招致對我們的敵意。這是基督徒生活的一部分。


報應!

彼得前書 4:5 他們必在那將要審判活人、死人的主面前交賬。

“神既是公義的,就必將患難報應那加患難給你們的人﹔也必使你們這受患難的人與我們同得平安。那時,主耶穌同他有能力的天使從天上在火焰中顯現,要報應那不認識神和那不聽從我主耶穌福音的人。他們要受刑罰,就是永遠沉淪,離開主的面和他權能的榮光。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 1:6-9】所以惡待基督徒的人,你們需要給自己准備好一些理由。

這使我們想起馬太福音第二十五章堸礞_如何對待基督徒──基督的弟兄們──的審判。

順便說一下,審判活人、死人的是誰呢?彼得在別處說:“他吩咐我們傳道給眾人,証明他(耶穌)是神所立定的,要作審判活人、死人的主。”【使徒行傳 10:42】同樣保羅說:“并在將來審判活人、死人的基督耶穌面前”【提摩太後書 4:1b】


傳福音的一個原因

彼得前書 4:6 為此,就是死人也曾有福音傳給他們,要叫他們的肉體按著人受審判,他們的靈性卻靠神活著。

也就是說,那些已經死去的基督徒,彼得說的也許是那些因他們的信受迫害而死去的(按照人對肉體的審判),很像基督的死,這些人曾有福音傳給他們,因此雖然他們現在已被世界殺死了,他們的靈對神卻是活著的。彼得在這封信埵菮l至終總是在鼓勵被揀選的人持守信心,盡管面對世界對他們的敵意。

同樣彼得在前面說:“你們在外邦人中,應當品行端正,叫那些毀謗你們是作惡的,因看見你們的好行為,便在鑒察的日子(“鑒察”或作“眷顧”),歸榮耀給神。”【彼得前書 2:12】為基督徒申冤大多是在將來。


有效禱告的先決條件

彼得前書 4:7 萬物的結局近了﹔所以你們要謹慎自守,儆醒禱告。

禱告需要自制。我們中許多人沒有禱告的真正原因是什麼呢?是因為我們沒有能夠自己控制我們的肉身。甚至在禱告時,清醒的頭腦和自制也是必要的。在耶穌講的法利賽人與稅吏的寓言堙A法利賽人熱心地為他自己禱告。他的禱告只是使他自己感到在宗教上比別人優越的方法之一。而“禱告會”有時會演變成“閑話會”──成為基督徒聽到關于別人的最新閑言的地方,或抱怨他們的弟兄的地方。

還有,萬物的結局近了有其嚴重的意義。然而今天的禱告有很多是為有關今生的、暫時的憂愁禱告,而不是為永恆的事禱告。保羅同樣地寫到:“弟兄們,你們卻不在黑暗堙A叫那日子臨到你們像賊一樣。你們都是光明之子,都是白晝之子,我們不是屬黑夜的,也不是屬幽暗的。所以我們不要睡覺,像別人一樣,總要儆醒謹守。因為睡了的人是在夜間睡,醉了的人是在夜間醉。但我們既然屬乎白晝,就應當謹守,”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 5:4-8a】


最要緊的

彼得前書 4:8 最要緊的是彼此切實相愛,因為愛能遮掩許多的罪。

彼此相愛是基督徒的共同特征。事實上這是衡量一個人是不是已由神生的一個標准,如約翰說:“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10】,因此這也是一個人得救的保証的一個基礎,“我們因為愛弟兄,就曉得是已經出死入生了。”【約翰一書 3:14a】這堛漪D戰是要成熟以至超出這一點,而彼此深深地或“切實地”相愛。保羅在寫給帖撒羅尼迦基督徒的信婸﹛G“又愿主叫你們彼此相愛的心,并愛眾人的心,都能增長,充足,如同我們愛你們一樣。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:12】彼得自己在這封信的前一部分說:“以致愛弟兄沒有虛假,就當從心堜憐馱褸磟蛪R(“從心堙谷野j卷作“從清潔的心”)。”【彼得前書 1:22b】

彼得說:“愛能遮掩許多的罪”是什麼意思呢?不太清楚。聖經堨籉韝ㄓ茞M楚的地方往往成為有問題的教義的基礎。所以讓我們當心不要把太多的讀進聖經堨h。讓我們不要把人們對這樣的經文的猜測太當真。

有些人說彼得說的是因愛就忽視罪。因此那些愛別人的就不指出罪來。然而在其它用到這個短語的地方使這種解釋變得可疑。雅各使用了類似的短語說:“這人該知道叫一個罪人從迷路上轉回,便是救一個靈魂不死,并且遮蓋許多的罪。”【雅各書 5:20】使一個罪人轉離他的錯誤似乎與忽視罪相反。如果不管他的錯誤,如何使他從他的錯誤轉回呢?

也許“遮掩”這個詞的將來時態──也就是說“將遮掩”──可以給我們提供一些線索。雖然有些翻譯,比如NIV或和合本沒有說“將遮掩”,但在兩節經文的希臘文都是用的將來時態。這樣的一個解釋也許就是說切實的愛的效果,結果或產物就是在將來某個時刻,罪將被饒恕。而現在罪并沒有被忽視。

然而,一節有關的經文說:“恨能挑啟爭端﹔愛能遮掩一切過錯。”【箴言 10:12】在這堙A遮掩罪是與挑啟爭端作對比。然而我認為作者的意思不是說因愛就忽視罪。我認為他的意思與恨能毀壞,而愛能醫治相仿。


熱情待客

彼得前書 4:9 你們要互相款待,不發怨言。

也就是說:“聖徒缺乏要幫補。客要一味地款待。”【羅馬書 12:13】對于當時很多人所面臨的那種逼迫,款待客人是實踐基督徒的愛的一個基本要素。基督徒被驅逐出以色列,成為無家可歸的,在很大程度上依賴于聖徒的熱情好客。但我們所有人都喜歡有一定程度的隱私,因此對這樣的要求會有報怨的誘惑。“發怨言”譯自希臘文“γογγνσμοζ”意思是“暗地堣ㄟ矽部A但沒有公開表露出來”。因此把怨言埋在心媮椄O不夠的。有一個熱情待客的靈包括甚至在自己心堣]不抱怨。這種態度應該是所有基督徒工作的特點,如保羅說:“凡所行的,都不要發怨言,起爭論,”【腓立比書 2:14】


恩賜──把它們派上用場!

彼得前書 4:10 各人要照所得的恩賜彼此服事,作神百般恩賜的好管家。

我估計應用這一節有兩個特別的障礙。一個是機構化的基督教對個人運用他們恩賜的限制。第二是個人對因施展他們的恩賜而負起責任感到猶豫。事實上有些人僅僅會為了避免做任何工作而說自己沒有什麼恩賜。“我們各人蒙恩,都是照基督所量給各人的恩賜。”【以弗所書 4:7】在身體的任何部分停止起到其應有的作用時,整個身體都會遭受損害。“惟用愛心說誠實話,凡事長進,連于元首基督。全身都靠他聯絡得合式,百節各按各職,照著各體的功用彼此相助,便叫身體漸漸增長,在愛中建立自己。”【以弗所書 4:15-16】


嚴肅認真地應用恩賜

彼得前書 4:11 若有講道的,要按著神的聖言講﹔若有服事人的,要按著神所賜的力量服事。叫神在凡事上因耶穌基督得榮耀。原來榮耀權能都是他的,直到永永遠遠。阿們。

這不是說一個人應該,以某種類似于靈恩派的方式,把他們自己的話當作神的話,因而免受撿驗。彼得說的是就如神說話那樣,你說話要經過思考。耶穌說:“我又告訴你們,凡人所說的閑話,當審判的日子,必要句句供出來。因為要憑你的話定你為義,也要憑你的話定你有罪。”【馬太福音 12:36-37】因此,“我的弟兄們,不要多人作師傅,因為曉得我們要受更重的判斷。”【雅各書 3:1】事實上,為什麼不引用聖經呢?在我自己寫的查經材料堙A我以紅色標識所引用的聖經,不但用以區別于我自己說的話,還作為一個個人的衡量,看我在多大程度上引用神的道,在多大程度上分享我個人的看法。這也是我用來評價其它教師的一個標准。所以,“你在神面前不可冒失開口,也不可心急發言。因為神在天上,你在地下,所以你的言語要寡少。”【傳道書 5:2】

基督徒事奉的一個先決條件就是對自己有不夠格的感覺,但同時相信神會提供我們事奉神所需要的能力。這往往是在我們與聖靈合作的時候通過時間和經驗培養起來的。但如果一條船停著不動,神也無法改變它的航向。如果一輛車是停著的,轉方向盤不能改變它的方向。所以讓我們動起來。我勸新信主的基督徒不要太急于找出自己的恩賜,而應盡自己的責任,在他們這樣做的時候,神就會顯示出他們的恩賜。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Peter 4:1-11 (web)

Suffering Persecution II

Identifying with Christ in His Sufferings

Live for God

4:1 Forasmuch then as Christ suffered for us in the flesh,
arm yourselves also with the same mind;
for he who has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin;
 
4:2 that you no longer should live the rest of your time in the flesh
for the lusts of men, but for the will of God.
4:3 For we have spent enough of our past time doing the desire of the Gentiles,
and having walked in lewdness, lusts, drunken binges,
orgies, carousings, and abominable idolatries.
 
4:4 They think it is strange that you don't run with them
into the same excess of riot, blaspheming:

Because we're all going to die

4:5 who will give account to him who is ready to judge the living and the dead.

4:6 For to this end was the gospel preached even to the dead,

that they might be judged indeed as men in the flesh,
but live as to God in the spirit.

Serve to bring glory to God

4:7 But the end of all things is near.
Therefore be of sound mind, self-controlled, and sober in prayer.
4:8 And above all things be earnest in your love among yourselves,
for love covers a multitude of sins.
4:9 Be hospitable one to another without grumbling.
4:10 According as each has received a gift,
be ministering it among yourselves,
as good stewards of the grace of God in its various forms.
 
4:11 If any man speaks, let it be as it were oracles of God.
If any man serves, let it be as of the strength which God supplies,
that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ,
to whom belong the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.

Discussion Questions

If you decide to live for Christ, is it inevitable that you will suffer for it? (2Tim 3:12)
What kind of sufferings do we face?
Do you find that have much more in common with you Christian friends than with your non-Christian friends and colleagues?
What kind of things might be modern versions of what the pagans choose to do.
Do these seem surprised that you don't join them in such?
What simple phrases might you use to warn them of the judgment day?
How might you use your gift to serve?


Comments

A Result of Faith Persecution
Activities of Faith Prayer
Love
Hospitality
Ministering
Response of Faith Rejoicing

Suffer for Christ's Sake

1Peter 4:1,2 Therefore, since Christ suffered for us in the flesh, arm yourselves also with the same mind, for he who has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin, that he no longer should live the rest of his time in the flesh for the lusts of men, but for the will of God.

Sounds much along the lines of Php 2:5-8 "Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death— even death on a cross!" In fact much of the Christian life involves such an attitude. Not simply action, but attitude - walking as Christ walked and with the same attitude, having the same kind of reasons for doing things as he had, namely doing the will of God despite the consequences to one's flesh, one's resources, one's dignity.

Also it says, "Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires." Gal 5:24 For the grace of God "teaches us to say 'No' to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age" Tit 2:12 It is inevitable that for a person to live for the will of God, they will suffer in the flesh. And if for no other reason but that "the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary to one another, so that you do not do the things that you wish." Gal 5:17 


People Think You're Strange?

1Peter 4:3,4 For you have spent enough time in the past doing what pagans choose to do— living in debauchery, lust, drunkenness, orgies, carousing and detestable idolatry. They think it strange that you do not plunge with them into the same flood of dissipation, and they heap abuse on you.

As for the sinful lifestyle characteristic of the worldly, there is no excuse. Peter here says such things "pagans choose to do". Sinners are so by choice. The wicked, out of their own free will, choose to live a lifestyle of sin, and so are accountable. For God would not hold people accountable for things over which they had no control. Thus sin incurs guilt because sinners choose to sin.

Likewise Christians are free to choose not to sin. For the instructions Peter is giving to Christians involves our willingness to obey. Likewise Paul writes, "Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world" Rom 12:2a So "Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming. You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices  and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator." Col 3:5-10

As for the world's reaction to our repentance from our former way of life, Jesus said to his worldly brothers, "The world cannot hate you, but it hates me because I testify that what it does is evil." John 7:7 Whether it be by words or lifestyle, the Christian testifies of the world's evil, thus invoking hostility upon ourselves. This is part of the Christian life.


Pay Back Time!

1Peter 4:5 But they will have to give account to him who is ready to judge the living and the dead.

"God is just: He will pay back trouble to those who trouble you and give relief to you who are troubled, and to us as well. This will happen when the Lord Jesus is revealed from heaven in blazing fire with his powerful angels. He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus. They will be punished with everlasting destruction and shut out from the presence of the Lord and from the majesty of his power" 2Th 1:6-9  So you who speak evil of the children of God, be prepared with some good excuse. This rhetoric of "us" versus "them" is common throughout the epistles. "They are of the world. Therefore they speak as of the world, and the world hears them. We are of God. He who knows God hears us; he who is not of God does not hear us." 1John 4:5,6


We're also reminded of the Sheep/Goat judgement of Matthew 25 in which the judgement is based upon how one had treated Christ's brethren.. But understand that not everyone is a child of God. The "you", the percentage of children of God in the world, is at best 5% of the population. "But you are not in the flesh but in the Spirit, if indeed the Spirit of God dwells in you. Now if anyone does not have the Spirit of Christ, he is not His." Rom 8:9 And " He who has the Son has life; he who does not have the Son of God does not have life." 1John 5:12

And by the way, who is it that will judge the living and the dead? Elsewhere Peter says, "He commanded us to preach to the people and to testify that he (Jesus) is the one whom God appointed as judge of the living and the dead." Acts 10:42  Likewise Paul says, "Christ Jesus will judge the living and the dead" 2Tim 4:1b As Paul says, "He has appointed a day on which He will judge the world in righteousness by the Man whom He has ordained. He has given assurance of this to all by raising Him from the dead." Acts 17:31


A Reason for Preaching the Gospel

1Peter 4:6 For this is the reason the gospel was preached even to those who are now dead, so that they might be judged according to men in regard to the body, but live according to God in regard to the spirit.

That is, for those Christians who have died, and perhaps Peter is speaking of those who have died as a consequence of their being persecuted for their faith (judged according to men in regard to the body) much as Christ died, these people had formerly had the gospel preached to them so that now, though killed by the world, they live to God in the spirit. For throughout this letter Peter is encouraging the elect to continue in the faith despite the hostility the world has against them.

Likewise Peter previously said, "having your conduct honorable among the Gentiles, that when they speak against you as evildoers, they may, by your good works which they observe, glorify God in the day of visitation." 1Peter 2:12 Vindication for the Christian is largely in the future.

Prerequisites for Effective Prayer

1Peter 4:7  The end of all things is near. Therefore be clear minded and self-controlled so that you can pray.

Prayer takes self-control. What is the real reason prayer alludes many of us? It's because we fail to exercise self-control over our flesh. Even in prayer clear mindedness and self-control must be exercised. In his parable of the Pharisee and the Tax Collector, the Pharisee was zealous to pray about himself. His praying was simply a way of making himself feel religously superior to others. Also "prayer meetings" can end up simply being "gossip meetings" - place where Christians can either here the latest gossip about the personal lives of others, or air their grievances against their brethren.

Furthermore there are serious implications to the fact that the end of all things is near. How much today prayer is dominated by temporal concerns of this life rather than issues of eternal concern. Likewise Paul writes, "You, brothers, are not in darkness so that this day should surprise you like a thief. You are all sons of the light and sons of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness. So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled. For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night. But since we belong to the day, let us be self-controlled" 1Thess 5:4-8a

Above all things

1Peter 4:8 And above all things have fervent love for one another, for "love will cover a multitude of sins."

It is a common characteristic of Christians to love each other. In fact it is a measure of whether one has been born of God, as John says in 1John 3:10 and consequently a basis for one's assurance of salvation, "We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love our brothers." 1John 3:14a The challenge is to mature beyond this and have a deep or "fervent" love for one another. Paul writes to the Thessalonians saying, "May the Lord make you increase and abound in love to one another and to all, just as we do to you" 1Thess 3:12 And Peter himself said earlier in this letter, "love one another fervently with a pure heart" 1Peter 1:22c

May seem obscure as to what Peter means by "love will cover a multitude of sins." But consider he's quoting from Pr 10:12 "Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all sins." And a related verse in Pr 17:9 "He who covers a transgression seeks love, But he who repeats a matter separates friends." So in the first covering all sins is put in contrast to stirring up strife. And furthermore given the second verse where covering a transgression (and yes all the "covers" are the same Greek word in the LXX as in 1Peter) with repeating a matter, it would seem reasonable that "covers a multitude of sins" means to not unnecessarily stir up strife by talking about someone's sins. It's essentially an overlooking of sins.

However as we can see throughout the gospels and letters to Christians not only general sins, put sins of individuals and groups are often brought up. But the purpose is not to stir up strife but to edify. Pr 17:9 seems to contrast covering a transgression with gossip. You've met those people who talk about every sin someone else has committed in their view. It's not love and people don't want gossipers as their friends.


Enthusiastic Hospitality

1Peter 4:9
Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling.

That is, "Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality." Rom 12:13 Hospitality would have been an essential ingredient in practicing Christian love in the midst of the type of persecution many faced those days. Christians were practically thrown out of Israel and being homeless would have had to rely on a good deal of hospitality. But all of us like a degree of privacy, so there is the temptation of begrudging such requests. The Greek lexicon tells us that "grumbling" means "a secret displeasure not openly avowed" So it's not sufficient to keep one's complaints to oneself. Having a spirit of hospitality involves not even complaining in oneself over the matter. And such an attitude should be characteristic of all Christian work as Paul says, "Do all things without complaining and disputing" Php 2:14


Gifts - Use them!

1Peter 4:10 Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.

In my estimation there are characteristically two major roadblocks to applying this verse. One is the restrictions institutional Christianity places upon individuals exercising their gifts. And secondly is the reluctance of individuals to take up the responsibility to exercise their gifts. In fact some will claim not be gift simply to avoid doing any work. "But to each one of us grace has been given as Christ apportioned it." Eph 4:7 When any part of the body stops functioning, the whole body suffers. "Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will in all things grow up into him who is the Head, that is, Christ.  From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work." Eph 4:15,16


Apply Gifts Seriously

1Peter 4:11 If anyone speaks, he should do it as one speaking the very words of God. If anyone serves, he should do it with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

Not that a person should, in some kind of charismaniac fashion, reckon their own words to be the words of God and thus above scrutiny. What Peter is saying is to be as thoughtful about what you say as God is about what He says. Jesus said, "I tell you that men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.  For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned." Mt 12:36,37  In fact why not quote the Bible? In my study guides I quote the Bible in red not only to distinguish it from my own words, but also as a personal measure as to the degree to which I'm quoting the Word of God and the degree to which I'm sharing my own opinion. This is one measure I use in evaluating other teachers as well. So "Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few." Ecc 5:2

A prerequisite for Christian ministry is a sense of our own inadequacy, but also a trust in God to provide us the ability to carry out His ministry. These often develop over time and experience as we cooperate with the Holy Spirit. But God can't direct a ship which is not moving. And if the car is parked, turning the wheel won't change its direction. So let's get moving. And I counsel young Christians not to be too concerning about identifying their gifts, but rather to fulfill their responsibilities and God will reveal their gifts while they do so.


1Peter 4:1-11 RAP

4:1 Since Christ suffered, have the same mind
For those who cease from sin will suffer as Christ in kind
2 Do not live your earthly life for your own desire
But rather live to do God's will and set your goals much higher
3 You spent enough time in the past doing what pagans do
Carousing at drunken orgies and worshipping idols too
4 They think it strange you do not plunge into the flood as they
5 They heap abuse, but God will judge them on the last day
6 For to this end the gospel was preached to those who are now dead
Though judged by men they live with God, just like the scriptures said
7 The end of all things is near, I say
Watch and be sober so you can pray
8 Love each other deeply, for love covers many a sin
9 Be hospitable without grumbling if someone need to move-in
10 As each one has received let him served one another
So that God may be praised by serving your brother.
11 If anyone speaks, let him speak as God would
If anyone serves, let him do as he should
With all the strength that God supplied
That in all things God may be glorified.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Nov 27,2016