翻譯: English 中文 GB

帖撒羅尼迦前書
第二章

以使人得救的信來傳講福音

2:1 弟兄們,
   你們自己原曉得我們進到你們那堙A
    并不是徒然的。

2:2 我們從前在腓立比被害受辱,
    這是你們知道的。
   然而還是靠我們的神放開膽量,
    在大爭戰中把神的福音傳給你們。

2:3 我們的勸勉
   不是出于錯誤,
   不是出于污穢,
   也不是用詭詐。

2:4 但神既然驗中了我們,
    福音托付我們,
   我們就照樣講,
    是要討人喜歡,
    是要討那察驗我們心的神喜歡。

2:5 因為我們從來沒有用過諂媚的話,
    是你們知道的﹔
   也沒有藏著貪心,
    是神可以作見証的。

2:6 我們作基督的使徒,
    然可以叫人尊重,
   卻沒有向你們或向別人求榮耀,

2:7 只在你們中間存心溫柔,
   親乳養自己的孩子

2:8 我們既是這樣愛你們,
   不但愿意將神的福音給你們,
   連自己的性命也愿意給你們,
    因你們是我們所疼愛的。

2:9 弟兄們,
   你們記念我們的辛苦勞碌,晝夜作工,
   傳神的福音給你們,
    免得叫你們一人受累。

2:10 我們向你們信主的人,
   是何等聖潔、
      公義、
      無可指摘,
    有你們作見証,
    也有神作見証。

2:11 你們也曉得我們怎樣
    勸勉你們,
    安慰你們,
    囑咐你們各人,
   好像父親待自己的兒女一樣

2:12 要叫你們行事對得起
   那召你們進他國,得他榮耀的神。

以使人得救的信來接受福音

2:13 為此,我們也不住地感謝神,
   因你們聽見我們所傳神的道,就領受了,
   不以為是人的道,乃以為是神的道。
   這道實在是神的,
    并且運行在你們信主的人心中。

2:14 弟兄們,
   你們曾效法猶太中,
    在基督耶穌堹囿漲U教會,
   因為你們也受了本地人的苦害,
    像他們受了猶太人的苦害一樣。

2:15 這猶太人殺了主耶穌和先知,
   又把我們趕出去。
   他們不得神的喜悅,且與眾人為敵,

2:16 不許我們傳道給外邦人使外邦人得救,
   常常充滿自己的罪惡。
   神的忿怒臨在他們身上已經到了極處。

2:17 弟兄們,
   我們暫時與你們離別,
    是面目離別,
    心堳o不離別,
   我們極力地想法子,很愿意見你們的面。

2:18 所以我們有意到你們那堙A
   我保羅有一兩次要去,只是撒但阻擋了我們。

2:19 我們的盼望和喜樂,并所夸的冠冕,是什麼呢?
   豈不是我們主耶穌來的時候,
   你們在他面前站立得住嗎?

2:20 因為你們就是我們的榮耀,我們的喜樂。


問題討論

第3-6節 在你傳福音的時候,人們如何知道你這麼做是出于純潔的動機?
你認為在懷疑者聽一個傳道者傳道的時候通常會問他們自己什麼問題?
第7-12節 做父母的哪些方面需要被引進到基督徒的事奉堙H
父親與母親的作用有什麼區別?
從保羅對基督徒事奉的觀點和他事奉的榜樣塈畯怚i以學到什麼關于作父母的東西?
你覺得在現在的文化媥i育你的孩子時你有什麼不足?
在你的事奉中有哪些方面有所不足?
第8節 在你自己的事奉中,你是不是能問心無愧地對那些你所事奉的人說:“我們既是這樣愛你們,不但愿意將神的福音給你們,連自己的性命也愿意給你們,因你們是我們所疼愛的。”?甚至對你自己的孩子,你是不是能夠問心無愧地這樣這樣說?
第9節 為什麼保羅有一份世俗的工作,而不作一位“領工資的全職基督徒同工”?
(另見歌林多前書第九章使徒行傳 20:33-35
第13節 你把什麼看作是“神的道”?有沒有什麼在別人看來也許是“神的道”,而你卻不以為然?
第14節 你怎麼知道神的道運行在信主的人心中?
第17節 你盼望見到誰?為什麼?


注釋

放開膽量傳福音

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:1-2 弟兄們,你們自己原曉得我們進到你們那堙A并不是徒然的。我們從前在腓立比被害受辱,這是你們知道的。然而還是靠我們的神放開膽量,在大爭戰中把神的福音傳給你們。

使徒行傳第十六章堸O載到,在腓立比,保羅在逐出附在使女身上的巫鬼之後受到監禁。使女的主人非常惱怒,利用反猶太人情緒向官府告保羅。但保羅利用他羅馬公民的身分獲得釋放。

在使徒行傳第十七章堙A保羅到達帖撒羅尼迦,去猶太人的會堂。一連三個安息日本著聖經與他們辯論,証明耶穌是基督。有些猶太人信了,很多虔敬的希臘人也信了,還有一些尊貴的婦女也信了。但不信的猶太人心堸_了嫉妒,于是到官府去誣告他們,造成很大的騷亂。保羅和西拉便離開那堙A到庇哩亞去了。

“這地方的人,賢于帖撒羅尼迦的人,甘心領受這道,天天考查聖經,要曉得這道,是與不是。所以他們中間多有相信的。又有希利尼尊貴的婦女,男子也不少。但帖撒羅尼迦的猶太人,知道保羅又在庇哩亞傳神的道,也就往那堨h,聳動攪擾眾人。”【使徒行傳 17:11-13】

但這種敵對是必然的。所以盡管面臨強烈的反對,還是要放開膽量,傳播福音。


從來不用諂媚的話

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:3-5 我們的勸勉不是出于錯誤,不是出于污穢,也不是用詭詐。但神既然驗中了我們,把福音托付我們,我們就照樣講,不是要討人喜歡,乃是要討那察驗我們心的神喜歡。因為我們從來沒有用過諂媚的話,這是你們知道的﹔也沒有藏著貪心,這是神可以作見証的。

有些人,“口中說夸大的話,為得便宜諂媚人。”【猶大書 1:16】“用花言巧語誘惑那些老實人的心。”【羅馬書 16:18】然而,“凡油滑的嘴唇和夸大的舌頭,耶和華必要剪除。”【詩篇 12:3】

在你傳福音的時候,那些聽你說話的人怎麼能夠知道你這樣做是出于純潔的動機呢?通常,懷疑的人會問:

在事奉的時候,我們也應該問自己同樣的問題。而且不僅是看我們的動機,還要看別人對我們的動機的應像。為此,保羅雖然可以合法地為他的事奉得到報酬,他總是避免接受任何的這種報酬(【哥林多前書9】)。

我們想討誰的喜歡呢?假如人不喜歡你的事奉,你還會繼續去做嗎?想在基督埵釆藾搨n造就的一個態度就是不要在乎別人怎麼看我們,而只在乎神怎樣看我們。這能使一個基督徒安全。看一看所有那些聖經中“虔誠人”犯罪的例子,如果他們只顧神如何看他們,結果會是多麼的不一樣啊。這并不是說,我們不應該關心別人是不是明白我們。也不是說我們不應該關心別人。我所指的是別人對我們的態度。這種冷靜的態度需要謙卑。因為我們算什麼呢?我們憑什麼要在乎別人怎麼想我們呢?這是早期教會時很多基督徒所面臨的挑戰,因為在當時,基督教是不受歡迎的。


如同母親一樣溫柔

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:6-9 我們作基督的使徒,雖然可以叫人尊重,卻沒有向你們或向別人求榮耀,只在你們中間存心溫柔,如同母親乳養自己的孩子。我們既是這樣愛你們,不但愿意將神的福音給你們,連自己的性命也愿意給你們,因你們是我們所疼愛的。弟兄們,你們記念我們的辛苦勞碌,晝夜作工,傳神的福音給你們,免得叫你們一人受累。

從保羅的信中,我們可以學到很多如何給人傳福音的道理。其中很重要的在于一個人的態度。若要為神的事工盡責,務必要有父母的態度。從保羅如何對待他所事奉的人,我們也可學到如何做父母。保羅在這堥洏峓た黎慦滿圾nροφοζ”(意為“護士”)來說母親。他集中說的是母親照顧她孩子的所需的本能。特別地,保羅指出他不因事奉帖撒羅尼迦人而接受錢財,因為孩子不為母親照顧他們而給她報酬。保羅還寫到:“如今我打算第三次到你們那堨h,也必不累著你們,因我所求的是你們,不是你們的財物。兒女不該為父母積財,父母該為兒女積財。”【哥林多後書 12:14】


像父親那樣勸勉

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:10-12 我們向你們信主的人,是何等聖潔、公義、無可指摘,有你們作見証,也有神作見証。你們也曉得我們怎樣勸勉你們,安慰你們,囑咐你們各人,好像父親待自己的兒女一樣,要叫你們行事對得起那召你們進他國,得他榮耀的神。

孩子自然地會學父母的榜樣。所以傳福音的人應該以好行為做別人的榜樣。耶穌不只是命令我們去傳福音,而是去使人做他的門徒。“所以,你們要去使萬民作我的門徒,奉父子聖靈的名,給他們施洗(或作“給他們施洗,歸于父子聖靈的名。”)。凡我所吩咐你們的,都教訓他們遵守,我就常與你們同在,直到世界的末了。”【馬太福音 28:19-20】這是一個漫長、復雜的過程,需要有親密的關系。

就像父親一樣,保羅勸勉,叮囑,鼓勵他們。他注意他們的成長。事實上我們可以從保羅的事奉中學到如何作父親。作父親要做的很多事中之一就是勸勉,但不是惹氣,因為他說:“你們作父親的,不要惹兒女的氣,只要照著主的教訓和警戒,養育他們。”【以弗所書 6:4】


領受神的道

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:13 為此,我們也不住地感謝神,因你們聽見我們所傳神的道,就領受了,不以為是人的道,乃以為是神的道。這道實在是神的,并且運行在你們信主的人心中。

要讓聖經有效地領人得救,就必須把聖經當作是神的話來接受。聖經不只是一些已過世的神學家的觀點。與之相反,不能把聖經之外的東西當做神的話。神的道就是聖經。聖經所記錄的是主和他的使徒、先知的話。不要把聖經之後的神學家和傳道人(比如我本人)的觀點、布道或注釋當做絕無謬誤的真理。如果有人使用“現在讓牧師來給我們講神的話”之類的辭令來形容自己的話,要特別當心。事實上,這樣的布道中往往很少有神真正所說的話。

把使徒們所傳的神的道當做絕無謬誤的真理,是使人得救的信的表現。約翰寫到:“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們﹔不屬神的就不聽從我們。從此我們可以認出真理的靈和謬妄的靈來。”【約翰一書 4:6】而且,“神的道是活潑的,是有功效的。”【希伯來書 4:12a】并使基督徒獲得新生。“你們蒙了重生,不是由于能壞的種子,乃是由于不能壞的種子,是借著神活潑常存的道。”【彼得前書 1:23】所以,“當用各樣的智慧,把基督的道理丰丰富富的存在心堙]或作“當把基督的道理丰丰富富的存在心堙A以各樣的智慧”)。”【歌羅西書 3:16a】


做深信的人

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:14 弟兄們,你們曾效法猶太中,在基督耶穌堹囿漲U教會,因為你們也受了本地人的苦害,像他們受了猶太人的苦害一樣。

接受神的道的結果之一就是使人發展深深的信,盡管面對著激烈的反對。這些人表現出了膽量,這是神的兒女的特點。反之,膽怯的人列在被投入火湖堛漱H的首位。“惟有膽怯的、不信的、可憎的、殺人的、淫亂的、行邪朮的、拜偶像的和一切說謊話的,他們的分就在燒著硫磺的火湖堙C這是第二次的死。”【啟示錄 21:8】

這種逼迫是在預料之中的。“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】耶穌說:“你們若屬世界,世界必愛屬自己的。只因你們不屬世界,乃是我從世界中揀選了你們,所以世界就恨你們。”【約翰福音 15:19】


不要阻止福音

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:15-16 這猶太人殺了主耶穌和先知,又把我們趕出去。他們不得神的喜悅,且與眾人為敵,不許我們傳道給外邦人使外邦人得救,常常充滿自己的罪惡。神的忿怒臨在他們身上已經到了極處。

不信的人如何試圖阻撓福音的傳播呢?通過挑起對福音的敵意。記得那些試圖阻止保羅的猶太人,他們是怎麼做的呢?他們用誹謗和造謠來激起百姓的憤怒,甚至到官府去誣告。這一點也不奇怪,因為耶穌也遭遇了同樣的事。

同時注意到“使外邦人得救”這個說法。沒有福音,外邦人是無法得救的。“然而人未曾信他,怎能求他呢?未曾聽見他,怎能信他呢?沒有傳道的,怎能聽見呢?”【羅馬書 10:14】還注意從第16節我們看到,一個人做什麼能夠使神的忿怒臨在他們身上達到極處呢?阻止基督的福音的傳播“除他以外,別無拯救,因為在天下人間,沒有賜下別的名,我們可以靠著得救。”【使徒行傳 4:12】


你所夸的冠冕是什麼

帖撒羅尼迦前書 2:17-20 弟兄們,我們暫時與你們離別,是面目離別,心堳o不離別,我們極力地想法子,很愿意見你們的面。所以我們有意到你們那堙A我保羅有一兩次要去,只是撒但阻擋了我們。我們的盼望和喜樂,并所夸的冠冕,是什麼呢?豈不是我們主耶穌來的時候,你們在他面前站立得住嗎?因為你們就是我們的榮耀,我們的喜樂。

保羅的感情與帖撒羅尼迦的弟兄們是緊緊地聯在一起的,就想父母與他們的子女一樣。傳神的道應該與聽道的人有這樣的關系。這是相互的。這些帖撒羅尼迦人聽保羅傳道,并尊重他。盡管面對迫害,他們服從他的教訓,并將其付之于應用。所以,很容易理解保羅為什麼這麼喜愛他們。這種遭遇也更加深了他們的關系。一同受難的基督徒往往關系很密切,無論他們是不是在同一地方。保羅熱心地為他們所付出無疑有助于他們對他的忠心,也有助于他們堅固對他所傳的福音的信。而他們對他的忠心使得他更熱心地為他們付出。有效的事奉不只是交換見解。它還包括感情的交流。

撒但不斷地阻止基督徒之間的關系的發展。他要麼像這堻o樣通過境況來阻止他們間的接觸,要麼利用基督徒的罪性,趁著機會在他們中挑動紛爭。比如,保羅是這樣來迎戰撒但的詭計的:“你們赦免誰,我也赦免誰,我若有所赦免的,是在基督面前為你們赦免的。免得撒但趁著機會勝過我們。因我們并非不曉得他的詭計。”【哥林多後書 2:10-11】保羅并非不知道撒但的計謀。我們也不應該不知道。“務要謹守、儆醒,因為你們的仇敵魔鬼,如同吼叫的獅子,遍地游行,尋找可吞吃的人。你們要用堅固的信心抵擋他,因為知道你們在世上的眾弟兄也是經歷這樣的苦難。”【彼得前書 5:8-9】

你的冠冕是什麼呢?當你來到主的面前時,什麼是你的榮耀呢?保羅的榮耀是這些人。同樣,他對腓立比人說:“我所親愛所想念的弟兄們,你們就是我的喜樂,我的冠冕。我親愛的弟兄,你們應當靠主站立得穩。”【腓立比書 4:1】保羅認為他自己的成果取決于那些受到他影響的人的成果。讓我們喜樂,如果下一代的基督徒比我們更強。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Thessalonians 2 (web)

Presenting the Gospel with Salvific Faith

2:1 For you yourselves know, brothers, our visit to you wasn't in vain,
2:2 but having suffered before and been shamefully treated, as you know, at Philippi,
we grew bold in our God to tell you the gospel of God in much conflict.
 
2:3 For our exhortation is not of error, nor of uncleanness, nor in deception.
2:4 But even as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel,
so we speak; not as pleasing men, but God, who tests our hearts.
2:5 For neither were we at any time found using words of flattery,
as you know, nor a cloak of covetousness (God is witness),
2:6 nor seeking glory from men (neither from you nor from others),
when we might have claimed authority as apostles of Christ.
2:7 But we were gentle among of you, as when a nurse cherishes her own children.

2:8 Even so, affectionately longing for you, we were well pleased to impart to you,
not the gospel of God only, but also our own souls, because you had become very dear to us.
2:9 For you remember, brothers, our labor and travail; for working night and day,
that we might not burden any of you, we preached to you the gospel of God.
2:10 You are witnesses with God, how holy, righteously,
and blamelessly we behaved ourselves toward you who believe.

2:11 As you know how we exhorted, comforted,
and implored every one of you, as a father does his own children,
2:12 to the end that you should walk worthily of God,
who calls you into his own kingdom and glory.

Receiving the Gospel with Salvific Faith

2:13 For this cause we also thank God without ceasing, that,
when you received from us the word of the message of God,
you accepted it not as the word of men, but, as it is in truth,
the word of God, which also works in you who believe.
 
2:14 For you, brothers,
became imitators of the assemblies of God which are in Judea in Christ Jesus;
for you also suffered the same things from your own countrymen,
even as they did from the Jews;
2:15 who killed both the Lord Jesus and their own prophets,
and drove us out, and didn't please God, and are contrary to all men;
2:16 forbidding us to speak to the Gentiles that they may be saved;
to fill up their sins always. But wrath has come on them to the uttermost.
2:17 But we, brothers, being bereaved of you for a short season,
in presence, not in heart, tried even harder to see your face with great desire,
 
2:18 because we wanted to come to you--indeed, I, Paul, once and again-- but Satan hindered us.
2:19 For what is our hope, or joy, or crown of rejoicing?
Isn't it even you, before our Lord Jesus {TR adds "Christ"} at his coming?
2:20 For you are our glory and our joy.

Discussion Questions

vs 3-6 When you preach the gospel, how do the people you are speaking to know that you are doing so out of pure motives?
What common questions do you suppose skeptics ask themselves when they hear a preacher?
vs 7-12 What aspects of parenting need to be brought into Christian ministry?
What is the difference of role of the father and mother?
What can be learned about parenting from Paul's perspective and example of Christian ministry?
What aspects do you find lacking in parenting in your cultural upbringing?
And what aspects are lacking in your experience of ministry?
vs 8 In your own ministry, can you say to those you minster to, "We loved you so much that we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well, because you had become so dear to us."? Can you say this even to your own children?
vs 9 Why did Paul work at a secular job rather than becoming a "full-time salaried Christian worker"?
(see also 1Cor 9 and Acts 20:33-35)
vs 13 What have you come to accept as "the word of God"? What do you not consider "the word of God" that you find other might?
vs 14 How do you know that God's word is at work in those who believe?
vs 17 Who do you long to see and why?


Comments

Dare to Preach the Gospel

1Thess 2:1,2 You know, brothers, that our visit to you was not a failure. We had previously suffered and been insulted in Philippi, as you know, but with the help of our God we dared to tell you his gospel in spite of strong opposition.

In Acts 16 Paul went to Philippi where he was imprisoned after casting out a demon from a possessed slave girl. The girl's master was so angry that he aroused the civil authorities against Paul on the basis of anti-Jewish sentiment. But Paul exerted his rights as a Roman citizen and was released.

In Acts 17 upon arriving in Thessalonica, he went to the Jewish synagogue. And for three Sabbaths reasoned with them from the scriptures, proving Jesus to be the Christ. Some Jews believed and a large number of God-fearing Greeks and not a few prominent women. But the unbelieving Jews became jealous and slandered him to the civil authorities. This caused a great disturbance, and Paul and Silas left to Berea.

"These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so. Therefore many of them believed; also of honourable women which were Greeks, and of men, not a few. But when the Jews of Thessalonica had knowledge that the word of God was preached of Paul at Berea, they came thither also, and stirred up the people." Acts 17:11-13

But these kind of oppositions are to be expected. So dare to preach the gospel in spite of strong opposition.



Never Use Flattery

1Thess 2:3-6a  For the appeal we make does not spring from error or impure motives, nor are we trying to trick you.  On the contrary, we speak as men approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel. We are not trying to please men but God, who tests our hearts. You know we never used flattery, nor did we put on a mask to cover up greed— God is our witness.  We were not looking for praise from men, not from you or anyone else.

There are those who "boast about themselves and flatter others for their own advantage." Jude 1:6 and "by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people."Rom 16:18

When you preach the gospel, how do the people you are speaking to know that you are doing so out of pure motives? Common questions skeptics ask:

And we should ask these about ourselves when we minister. But not just whether these could be our motives. But also whether we may be giving people the impression that these may be our motives. Thus, for example, Paul generally avoided getting paid for minister even though he had a legitimate right to receive such pay (1Cor 9).

Who are we trying to please? Will you minster even if people don't appreciate it? One of the important attitudes to develop in maturing in Christ is the attitude of not caring what other people think of us, but rather to care what God alone thinks of us. This will keep a Christian safe. Think about all those examples of "godly" people sinning in the Bible and how it may have turned out quite different if they only cared what God thought about them. This is not to say that we should not care whether people understand us. Not does it mean that we should not empathize with others. It is other people's attitude towards us I am referring to. Such a dispassionate attitude requires humility. For who are we that we should be concerned about what others think of us. This was the kind of struggle that many of the Christians faced in the early church at a time when Christianity was unpopular.



Be Gentle like a Mother

1Thess 2:6a-9  As apostles of Christ we could have been a burden to you,  but we were gentle among you, like a mother caring for her little children. We loved you so much that we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well, because you had become so dear to us. Surely you remember, brothers, our toil and hardship; we worked night and day in order not to be a burden to anyone while we preached the gospel of God to you.

There are many things we learn in Paul's letters about how to minister to people. Much of it has to do with one's attitude.  To be responsible in carrying out God's ministry, one must have an attitude as a parent. And one can learn a bit about proper parenting from Paul in his dealings with those he ministered to. For mother, Paul uses the greek word for nurse. His is focussing on the mother's instinct to take care of the practical needs of her children. In particular Paul pointed out his not taking money from the Thessalonians for ministry, for children do not pay their mother to raise them. As he said elsewhere "Now I am ready to visit you for the third time, and I will not be a burden to you, because what I want is not your possessions but you. After all, children should not have to save up for their parents, but parents for their children." 2Cor 12:14



Exhort like a Father

1Thess 2:10-12 You are witnesses, and so is God, of how holy, righteous and blameless we were among you who believed. For you know that we dealt with each of you as a father deals with his own children, encouraging, comforting and urging you to live lives worthy of God, who calls you into his kingdom and glory.

By nature children follow their parent's example. Therefore the minister of the gospel should seek to behave properly as an example to follow. Jesus did not simply command us to preach the gospel, but to make disciples (Matt 28:19,20). That is a long, non-trivial process that requires intimate relationships to develop.

Like a father, Paul exhorts, commands and encourages them. He focusses on their maturing. And in fact one can learn about fathering by studying Paul's method of ministry. Among other things, fathering involves exhortation. Although not to the point of exasperation, as he says, "Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord." Eph 6:4



Accept the Word of God

1Thess 2:13 And we also thank God continually because, when you received the word of God, which you heard from us, you accepted it not as the word of men, but as it actually is, the word of God, which is at work in you who believe.

For the Bible to be effective in bringing one to salvation, one must accept it as the Word of God. It is not to be considered merely the opinions of a bunch of dead theologians. Conversely that which is not scripture should not be reckoned the Word of God. The Word of God is the Bible. It is the word of the Lord and his apostles and prophets which has been recorded. Don't gullibly treat opinions, sermons or commentaries by post-Biblical theologians and preachers (such as myself) as infallible truth. Beware of such rhetoric as "now the pastor will give us a word from God", referring to his own words. In fact often such sermons contain little of what the Word of God actually says.

Accepting the Word of God as the apostles preached it as infallible truth is, of course, indicative of saving faith. John writes, "We are from God, and whoever knows God listens to us; but whoever is not from God does not listen to us." 1John 4:6  Furthermore, "the word of God is living and active." Heb 4:12a and regenerates the Christian. "For you have been born again, not of perishable seed, but of imperishable, through the living and enduring word of God." 1Pe 1:23  Therefore "let the word of Christ dwell in you richly" Col 3:16a



Be People of Conviction

1Thess 2:14 For you, brothers, became imitators of God’s churches in Judea, which are in Christ Jesus: You suffered from your own countrymen the same things those churches suffered from the Jews

One effect of the acceptance of the Word of God is the developement of people of conviction who stand in spite of strong opposition. These people demonstrate a fearlessness which is characteristic of children of God. Conversely, cowards are first on the list to be thrown into the lake of fire. "The cowardly, the unbelieving, the vile, the murderers, the sexually immoral, those who practice magic arts, the idolaters and all liars— their place will be in the fiery lake of burning sulfur." Rev 21:8

And such trials are to be expected. "In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 3:12  Jesus said, "If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you." John 15:19



Don't Hinder the Gospel

1Thess 2:15,16 who killed the Lord Jesus and the prophets and also drove us out. They displease God and are hostile to all men in their effort to keep us from speaking to the Gentiles so that they may be saved. In this way they always heap up their sins to the limit. The wrath of God has come upon them at last.

How do unbelievers try and prevent the spread of the gospel? By developing hostility against it. Remember the Jews who tried to stop Paul. What did they do? They stirred up the crowds to anger through slander and even went to the civil authorities with slanderous accusations. This should not be surprising as Jesus faced the same.

Also notice the "so that they may be saved" phrase. Without the gospel, the Gentiles would not be saved. "How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?"Rom 10:14 Notice also from verse 16 what is the worse thing a person can do to heap up their sins to the limit and incur God's wrath? It is to hinder the communication of the gospel of Christ. "Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to men by which we must be saved." Acts 4:12



What is Your Crowning Achievement?

1Thess 2:17-20  But, brothers, when we were torn away from you for a short time (in person, not in thought), out of our intense longing we made every effort to see you. For we wanted to come to you— certainly I, Paul, did, again and again— but Satan stopped us.  For what is our hope, our joy, or the crown in which we will glory in the presence of our Lord Jesus when he comes? Is it not you? Indeed, you are our glory and joy.

Paul was emotionally attached to the Thessalonian Christians as parents naturally are to their children. Ministers of the word should have such an attachment to those they disciple. Problem is this has to be mutual. The Thessalonians listened to Paul and respected him. With regards to his teachings they were obedient and application-oriented even in the midst of hostility. So it's easy to understand why Paul was particularly attached to them. The circumstances also intensified their relationship. Christians who suffer together are also drawn closer together regardless of whether they're in the same place. Paul's dedication to them no doubt helped secure their allegiance to him and to the gospel he preached. And their allegiance further secured his devotion to them. Effective ministry is more than communication of ideas. Among other things it also incorporates the communication of ones' feelings.

Satan opposes the development of positive Christian relationships. Either he hinders contact through circumstances as in the case here, or he introduces conflicts internally by provoking the Christian's sinful nature resulting in divisiveness. For example Paul combats one of Satan's scheme with the following, "If you forgive anyone, I also forgive him. And what I have forgiven— if there was anything to forgive— I have forgiven in the sight of Christ for your sake, in order that Satan might not outwit us. For we are not unaware of his schemes." 2Cor 2:10-11 Paul was not unaware of Satan's schemes. Neither should we be unaware. "Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know that your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of sufferings." 1Peter 5:8,9

What is your crown? What is the thing that you will glory in when you enter the presence of the Lord? Paul glories in the impact he's had on other people. He says likewise to the Philippians, "Therefore, my brothers, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, that is how you should stand firm in the Lord, dear friends!" Php 4:1  Paul viewed his own fruitfulness as contingent upon the fruitfulness of those he had influenced. Let us  rejoice if the next generation of Christians does better than us.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015