翻譯: English 中文 GB

帖撒羅尼迦前書
第三章

建立信心

3:1 我們既不能再忍,
  就愿意獨自等在雅典,
3:2 打發我們的兄弟,
   在基督福音上作神執事的提摩太前去
   (“作神執事的”有古卷作“與神同工的”),
  堅固你們,并在你們所信的道上勸慰你們,
3:3 免得有人被諸般患難搖動﹔

  因為你們自己知道我們受患難原是命定的。
3:4 我們在你們那堛漁伬唌A預先告訴你們,
   我們必受患難,
   以後果然應驗了,你們也知道。
3:5 為此,我既不能再忍,
   就打發人去,要曉得你們的信心如何,
     恐怕那誘惑人的到底誘惑了你們,
     叫我們的勞苦歸于徒然。

3:6 但提摩太剛才從你們那埵^來,
   將你們信心和愛心的好消息報給我們,
    又說你們常常記念我們,
     切切地想見我們,
     如同我們想見你們一樣。

3:7 所以弟兄們,
    我們在一切困苦患難之中,
   因著你們的信心就得了安慰。

3:8 你們若靠主站立得穩,我們就活了。
3:9 我們在神面前,因著你們甚是喜樂,
   為這一切喜樂,可用何等的感謝為你們報答神呢?

3:10 我們晝夜切切地祈求,
    要見你們的面,
     補滿你們信心的不足。
3:11 愿神我們的父和我們的主耶穌一直引領我們到你們那堨h。

3:12 又愿主叫你們彼此相愛的心,
    并愛眾人的心,都能增長,充足,
     如同我們愛你們一樣。
3:13 好使你們當我們主耶穌同他眾聖徒來的時候,
    在我們父神面前,心堸磼T,成為聖潔,無可責備。


問題討論

第4節 對基督徒來說遭受患難是不是不可避免的?
第5節 保羅是如何衡量他所作的工是不是有用的?
第6節 你有哪些基督徒朋有你經常見面?為什麼?
第8節 保羅在這婸﹛G“我們就活了”是什麼意思?
第10節 在你看來,他們的信心有什麼不足?
第13節 什麼將使得基督徒在主的日子無可責備?


注釋

命定受患難

帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:1-4 我們既不能再忍,就愿意獨自等在雅典,打發我們的兄弟,在基督福音上作神執事的提摩太前去(“作神執事的”有古卷作“與神同工的”),堅固你們,并在你們所信的道上勸慰你們,免得有人被諸般患難搖動﹔因為你們自己知道我們受患難原是命定的。我們在你們那堛漁伬唌A預先告訴你們,我們必受患難,以後果然應驗了,你們也知道。

“我們”指的是誰呢?當時與保羅同行的有西拉和提摩太。從“獨自等在雅典”這個說話的語氣可以明顯地看出保羅把提摩太看作是他的事奉堣ㄔi缺少的。有意思的是奉召的是保羅,為使徒的是保羅,然而他卻把其它參與他的事工的人看作是不可缺少的。他不把他們看作是他的組織堛熊L名的成員,而是神的事工堛漲P工。這表現出保羅的謙卑,盡管他的領導地位。

基督徒是命定要遭受患難的。保羅布道說:“我們進入神的國,必須經歷許多艱難。”【使徒行傳 14:22】他還對提摩太說:“凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。”【提摩太後書 3:12】這是預料之中基督徒的生活。但基督徒同時也應希望從他們的領導那堭o到鼓勵。

個人可以堅固它人的信心。基督徒在為他們的信遭受患難的時候需要得到鼓勵。這個世界埵章L多使人恢心的東西妨礙信心。但鼓勵不應基于空頭保証和謊言,而要基于真理。在這堙A保羅特別地用他們自己對患難的忍耐來鼓勵面臨患難的帖撒羅尼迦人。溫順地面對患難可以鼓勵其它面對患難的人。


未確定的轉變

帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:5 為此,我既不能再忍,就打發人去,要曉得你們的信心如何,恐怕那誘惑人的到底誘惑了你們,叫我們的勞苦歸于徒然。

在保羅告別帖撒羅尼迦人前往雅典去的時候,他不確知他們的得救狀態。當時,他們“信了”,并被稱作基督徒。但使人得救的信心的質量會從一個人的行為中表現出來。使人得救的信能夠經受得起他們所面臨的迫害。否則,他們就白信了,他們的信心的質量不足于使他們得救。那麼保羅在他們中間的勞苦就歸于徒然。保羅同樣地告訴哥林多的基督徒說:“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H”【哥林多後書 13:5】

有意思的是保羅是以結果來衡量他的工作的有效性。他的目的不只是宣講福音,雖然這是他的使命。他可以像約拿那樣把該說的話說完了事,不管結果怎樣。但保羅知道基督派他的目的。基督的目地不只是傳福音,而是要救人。保羅不是以有多少人對他的信息作出反響來衡量效果,而是看那些聲稱信了的人的信心的質量。


鼓勵傳道人

帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:6-9 但提摩太剛才從你們那埵^來,將你們信心和愛心的好消息報給我們,又說你們常常記念我們,切切地想見我們,如同我們想見你們一樣。所以弟兄們,我們在一切困苦患難之中,因著你們的信心就得了安慰。你們若靠主站立得穩,我們就活了。我們在神面前,因著你們甚是喜樂,為這一切喜樂,可用何等的感謝為你們報答神呢?

使保羅相信他在他們中間所做的工不是白費的是他們的信和愛。約翰寫到:“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10】還有:“我們若遵守他的誡命,就曉得是認識他。”【約翰一書 2:3】從他們對弟兄的愛,他們互相之間的愛,以及對保羅和他的同工的愛,保羅可以肯定他們正確地領受了福音。

他們的愛和忍耐是他們的信心的應用。他們的信不只是懂得傳給他們的信息,而是領受傳給他們的道。保羅與他們建立起了互相依存的關系,這一點也不令人吃驚。保羅雖然是使徒,有基督住在他堶情A但只有那些受他傳道的人能夠正確地以使人得救的信領受福音,他才覺得活了。這描寫的是保羅的感情狀態而不是他的行動。因為我相信如果他們還沒有做出正確的反應的話,他會繼續給他們傳道的,盡管他的情緒也許會比較低落。傳道的人需要得到鼓勵,因為與他們打交道的多是不信的人,其中只有很少的人會對福音做出積極的反應。而這些人中,只有很少的人會表現出使人得救的信。

保羅在這婸〞熙葝痐ㄛO出于盲目的信,甚至不是因為他在基督堛漲鼽m,而是基于他所見到的事──因看到他們對他所傳的福音而做出的反應的喜樂。這種喜樂只有那些親身經歷過的人才能懂得,這種喜樂有點像父母看到自己的兒女虔敬地生活所感受的。這是因為一個人的生命對另一個人來說很重要而感受到的滿足。當觀看的基督徒懷著喜樂歡迎新信主的人進如神的國時,給這個人傳福音的人會感受到更大的喜樂。同樣,保羅給哥林多人寫到:“我大大地放膽向你們說話。我因你們多多夸口,滿得安慰。我們在一切患難中分外的快樂。”【哥林多後書 7:4】為什麼保羅要告訴帖撒羅尼迦人這個呢?他要讓他們感到特別,而他們的確如此。就如他們因他們的工作鼓勵了他一樣,他也用表達他情感的話來鼓勵他們。這種相互的鼓勵是基督徒間的弟兄關系的一部分。


代禱

帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:10-13 我們晝夜切切地祈求,要見你們的面,補滿你們信心的不足。愿神我們的父和我們的主耶穌一直引領我們到你們那堨h。又愿主叫你們彼此相愛的心,并愛眾人的心,都能增長,充足,如同我們愛你們一樣。好使你們當我們主耶穌同他眾聖徒來的時候,在我們父神面前,心堸磼T,成為聖潔,無可責備。

為事奉的機會禱告,以使它人在信心上成熟。

基督徒的愛心的增長禱告。如果一個人的愛心有所增長,那麼他就會更為聖潔。一個人的愛更多,那麼他的生活就更加無可責備。因為愛會改變一個人心堛犖@望,幫助他作出選擇,改良他的行為。若想達到聖潔而沒有愛,結果就會成墨守律法,導致當時猶太人的宗教精英的那種假冒為善的行為。所以,保羅沒有只為他們無可責備禱告,而是先為他們的愛心增加禱告,這樣他們就會成為無可責備。

在說到基督的到來時,保羅希望增強他們對這一事件的盼望,讓他們對他們在那一日將成為無可責備樹立起信心,因為他們以信為基礎的愛。當基督回來時,那些愛它人──特別時其它基督徒──的基督徒,將自信他們將是無可責備的。雖然他們不是無罪的,但他們的信的質量達到了神的要求,使得基督所作的救贖工可以應用到他們,因為他們的罪將被赦免,他們已由神生,這已從他們的行為中表現出來。

“住在愛堶悸滿A就是住在神堶情A神也住在他堶情C這樣,愛在我們堶控o以完全,我們就可以在審判的日子坦然無懼。因為他如何,我們在這世上也如何。”【約翰一書 4:16b-17】



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Thessalonians 3 (web)

Established in the Faith

3:1 Therefore, when we couldn't stand it any longer,
we thought it good to be left behind at Athens alone,
3:2 and sent Timothy, our brother and God's servant in the gospel of Christ,
to establish you, and to comfort you concerning your faith;
3:3 that no one be moved by these afflictions.
 
For you know that we are appointed to this task.
3:4 For most assuredly, when we were with you,
we told you beforehand that we are to suffer affliction,
even as it happened, and you know.

3:5 For this cause I also, when I couldn't stand it any longer, sent that I might know your faith,
for fear that by any means the tempter had tempted you, and our labor would have been in vain.

3:6 But when Timothy came just now to us from you,
and brought us glad news of your faith and love,
and that you have good memories of us always, longing to see us,
even as we also long to see you;
 

3:7 for this cause, brothers, we were comforted over you
in all our distress and affliction through your faith.
 
3:8 For now we live, if you stand fast in the Lord.

3:9 For what thanksgiving can we render again to God for you,
for all the joy with which we rejoice for your sakes before our God;
 

3:10 night and day praying exceedingly that we may see your face,
and may perfect that which is lacking in your faith?

3:11 Now may our God and Father himself, and our Lord Jesus Christ, direct our way to you;

3:12 and the Lord make you to increase and abound in love one toward another,
and toward all men, even as we also do toward you,

3:13 to the end he may establish your hearts blameless in holiness before our God and Father,
at the coming of our Lord Jesus with all his saints.


Discussion Questions

vs 4 Is suffering persecution inevitable for Christians?
vs 5 How did Paul measure the usefulness of his work?
vs 6 What old Christian friend do you long to see and why?
vs 8 What does Paul mean by "now we are really living"?
vs 10 What do you suppose was lacking in their faith?
vs 13 What will prepare Christians to be blameless in the day of Christ?



Destined for Trials

1Thess 3:1-4 So when we could stand it no longer, we thought it best to be left by ourselves in Athens.  We sent Timothy, who is our brother and God’s fellow worker in spreading the gospel of Christ, to strengthen and encourage you in your faith, so that no one would be unsettled by these trials. You know quite well that we were destined for them. In fact, when we were with you, we kept telling you that we would be persecuted. And it turned out that way, as you well know.

Who is "we"? Paul had been traveling with Silas and Timothy. And it is apparent from the phrase "left by ourselves" that Paul sees Timothy as essential to his ministry. Interesting that Paul was the one who was called. It was Paul who was the apostle. Yet he treats others involved in his ministry as essential. They are not treated like just another faceless member of his team, but rather co-workers on God's team. This shows Paul's sense of humility in spite of his leadership position.

Christians are destined for trials. Paul preached, "We must go through many hardships to enter the kingdom of God" Acts 14:22 and to Timothy he said, "everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted" 2Tim 3:12 This is to be expected of the Christian life. But Christians also should expect encouragement from their leadership.

Individuals can strengthen the faith of others. And Christians are in need of encouragement to endure in their faith. There is enough discouragement in the world to hinder belief. But encouragement should not be based on false promises and lies, but upon truth. In particular it was their example of endurance in the face of persecution through which Paul wanted to encourage the Thessalonians in their own struggle. Embracing trials with meekness encourages others who face trials.



Uncertain Conversions

1Thess 3:5  For this reason, when I could stand it no longer, I sent to find out about your faith. I was afraid that in some way the tempter might have tempted you and our efforts might have been useless.

When he left them to go to Athens Paul was not sure of the salvation status of the Thessalonians. At the time, they "believed" and would have been called Christians. But the quality of faith that saves should reveal itself by a person's performance. It should endure through such persecutions that they faced. Else, they believed in vain, and the quality of their faith would have been deficient to qualify them for salvation. Thus Paul's work among them would have been useless. Thus Paul likewise tells the Corinthians, "Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith; test yourselves. Do you not realize that Christ Jesus is in you— unless, of course, you fail the test?" 2Cor 13:5

Interesting that Paul measured the usefulness of his work by the results. It was not simply the communication of the gospel that was the objective, though this was his commission. He could have simply carried out his commission as Jonah and tell the message and not care about the response. But Paul identified with Christ's purpose in sending him. Christ's purpose was not just to communicate the message, but to save people. Paul didn't measure the results by the number of people who responded to the message. Rather Paul looked at the quality of the faith of those who claimed to believe.



Encourage Evangelists

1Thess 3:6-9 But Timothy has just now come to us from you and has brought good news about your faith and love. He has told us that you always have pleasant memories of us and that you long to see us, just as we also long to see you. Therefore, brothers, in all our distress and persecution we were encouraged about you because of your faith. For now we really live, since you are standing firm in the Lord. How can we thank God enough for you in return for all the joy we have in the presence of our God because of you?

What convinced Paul that his work had not been useless among them was their faith and love. John writes, "This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10 and "We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands." 1John 2:3 It was their love of the brethren, both among themselves and towards Paul and his men, that gave Paul confidence that they had received the message appropriately.

Their love and endurance were applications of their faith. Not a faith that simply understands the message, but a faith that receives it.Paul developed a symbiotic relationship with his disciples, which is not surprising. It appears that Paul, despite being an apostle and having Christ living in him, would not have felt really alive if those he preached to did not positively respond to the message with saving faith. This is describing Paul's emotional state and not his action. For I'm sure he would have continued to preach if they hadn't responded, although he would have been somewhat depressed. Evangelists need encouragement. For they deal much with unbelievers only few of whom will have a positive response to the message. And few of them will go on to demonstrate saving faith.

The joy Paul refers to is not one born of a blind faith, nor is it even the joy of his position in Christ, but rather it is a joy based on things which are seen - a joy based on their response to his message. Such joy can only be understood by those who have experienced it, though it is like the joy of a parent seeing their child go on to live a godly life. It is a sense of satisfaction that one's life meant something essential to someone else. While onlooking Christians welcome new converts into the kingdom with joy, the one who actually communicated the gospel to them and was central to their receiving of the message experiences the greater joy. Likewise to the Corinthians Paul writes, "I have great confidence in you; I take great pride in you. I am greatly encouraged; in all our troubles my joy knows no bounds." 2Cor 7:4  Why was Paul telling the Thessalonians this?  In order to make them feel special, which they were. Just as they encouraged him by their works, so he encouraged them by words expressing his feelings. This mutual encouragement is part of what constitutes Christian fellowship.



Intercede in Prayer

1Thess 3:10-13  Night and day praying exceedingly that we may see your face and perfect what is lacking in your faith.  Now may our God and Father Himself, and our Lord Jesus Christ, direct our way to you. And may the Lord make you increase and abound in love to one another and to all, just as we do to you, so that He may establish your hearts blameless in holiness before our God and Father at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ with all His saints.

Pray for opportunities to minister in some capacity so that others may mature in their faith.

Pray for Christian's love to increase If a person's love increases so will their holiness. The more one loves, the more one will achieve a blameless life. For love affects the desires of the heart and the desires of the heart affect one's choices and behavior. Trying to achieve holiness without love ends up in legalism and the kind of hypocritical behavior characteristic of the Jewish religious elite of Jesus' day. Consequently Paul doesn't pray that they be blameless, but rather that their love increases so that they will be blameless.

In speaking of the return of Christ Paul wants to enhance their HOPE in such an event by giving them the assurance that they will be blameless on that day based on their evidence of their LOVE which is a product of their FAITH. When Christ's returns, those Christians who have been exercising love to others - especially to other Christians - will have confidence on that day that they are blameless. Not that they have been sinless, but that they have exercised the quality of faith that God requires for Christ's atoning work to be applied to them for their sins to be forgiven and they have been born of God as has been revealed by their behavior.

1John 4:16b,17 Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like him.

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015