翻譯: English 中文 GB

提摩太前書
第一章上

1:1 奉我們救主神和我們的盼望基督耶穌之命,
  作基督耶穌使徒的保羅,

1:2 寫信給那因信主作我真兒子的提摩太:愿恩惠、憐憫、平安,
  從父神和我們主基督耶穌歸與你。

1:3 我往馬其頓去的時候,曾勸你仍住在以弗所,
  好囑咐那幾個人不可傳異教
1:4 也不可聽從荒渺無憑的話語和無窮的家譜。
  這等事只生辯論,并不發明神在信上所立的章程。
1:5 但命令的總歸就是愛﹔

1:6 有人偏離這些,反去講虛浮的話,
1:7 想要作教法師,
  卻不明白自己所講說的,所論定的。

1:8 我們知道律法原是好的,只要人用得合宜﹔
1:9 因為律法不是為義人設立的,
  乃是為不法和不服的,不虔誠和犯罪的,不聖潔和戀世俗的,弒父母和殺人的,
1:10 行淫和親男色的,搶人口和說謊話的,并起假誓的,或是為別樣敵正道的事設立的。
1:11 這是照著可稱頌之神
  交托我榮耀福音說的。


問題討論

第1-2節 保羅在這一節埵V提摩太提醒保羅的使徒權威,為什麼說這很重要?
保羅還用了其它什麼方式提醒提摩太他在他之上的權威?

第3-4節 基督徒是不是應該避勉教授或討論任何會引起爭議的問題(或提倡爭議)?
因為保羅本人(甚至在這封信堙^也教了許多有爭議的,甚至是會帶來分爭的事,那麼除了是否會引起爭議之外他還用什麼來衡量以決定什麼該教,什麼不該教呢?
如何判斷一個教訓是不是有助于神的事工?
請舉一個在教訓中應該避免的例子。

第5節 仔細分析這個例子是不是能夠造就在這句經文堜畛羲滿A人的三個方面。
一個人的心,良心和信心對他實踐基督徒的信為什麼很重要?

第6節 有沒有遇到這樣的人或聽見他們在廣播、電視上慷慨陳詞,而他們自己卻不明白自己所講說的呢?基督徒應該是光明之子,真理之子,可為什麼在基督徒說話時,說真話卻往往不重要呢?為什麼誹謗的謠言和荒誕的謬語會充斥于基督教的媒體呢?為什麼基督徒會不經意地把他們自己的看法,無論是不是與聖經相抵觸,當作是“神的話”呢?

第7-11節 因為“律法本是叫我們知罪,是把我們引向基督,從而可以因信稱義的教師”,而且保羅自己也從摩西律法的經文堭o出應用,那麼基督徒是不是應該避免教聖經的前五本書(律法)呢?如果不是的話,保羅認為這些律法教師的不對之處在哪堜O?(參見羅馬書 2:17-27加拉太書 2


注釋

好教師必須避免: 反之,他們應該著重于那些可以促進如下幾樣的教訓:
 
清潔的心 基督徒應該在聖潔的前題下去愛
無虧的良心 良心 基督徒應該練習辨明自身的和世界的善與惡
無偽的信心 確定的信 基督徒的信不應該只是試探性的信或輕而易舉就離棄的信,而是由于完完全全地相信神不但曾經說話,而且能夠實踐他的應許,因而在神的永恆的話上建立起的不可動搖的信。當這種信在被應用在人的整個生命中時就會顯現出來。

可以通過問這些問題來衡量教材:


附加注釋

我們的救主和我們的盼望

提摩太前書 1:1 奉我們救主神和我們的盼望基督耶穌之命,作基督耶穌使徒的保羅,

保羅的書信多以提醒讀者他的權柄,他的使徒職位開始,這說明他的話的分量,以及我們為什麼要學習他所講的這些話。

在此我們注意到神和耶穌基督的許多方面,具體地說,神是我們的救主,耶穌基督是我們的盼望。他在這封信媮晹h次說到拯救,他說神“愿意萬人得救【提摩太前書 2:4】,神“是萬人的救主,更是信徒的救主。【提摩太前書 4:10】而盼望指的是對將要顯現出的拯救盼望。

所以在我們學習這封信的時候,我們應當記住,無論保羅具體在說什麼,這封信的主要講的是拯救。


信堛滲u兒子

提摩太前書 1:2 寫信給那因信主作我真兒子的提摩太:愿恩惠、憐憫、平安,從父神和我們主基督耶穌歸與你。

【使徒行傳16:1-3】堸O載了保羅與提摩太的初次相遇。從那塈畯怐器D當時提摩太已經是耶穌基督的門徒,深得當地信徒的稱贊。保羅想要帶他參加他的事工。提摩太的母親是猶太人,父親是希臘人。當時猶太人非常歧視外邦人。就連耶路撒冷教會堛熊S太基督徒在給寡婦分派食物時都有這種歧視的表現,“那時,門徒增多,有說希利尼話的猶太人,向希伯來人發怨言。因為在天天的供給上忽略了他們的寡婦。”【使徒行傳 6:1】為了避免這種歧視,保羅就給提摩太行了割禮。這樣在給猶太人傳道的時候,提摩太可以告訴他們自己是受了割禮的,因而可不被猶太人視作外人。事實上,按現在猶太人的傳統,提摩太應算作是猶太人,因為他母親是猶太人。我們注意到,保羅沒有給提多行割禮,因為他是外邦人。

保羅稱自己是提摩太的父親。這并不是因為他把提摩太領到基督。然而今天許多人因為自己帶某人一起禱告接受基督就自認為是那人屬靈的“父親”,盡管之後就各奔東西了。那樣算不得是父親。保羅是提摩太的良師。他訓練了他。他教導了他。提摩太是保羅的事工中的學徒。提摩太也是保羅盡職的兒子。保羅在給腓立比人的信中說:“因為我沒有別人與我同心,實在挂念你們的事。別人都求自己的事,并不求耶穌基督的事。但你們知道提摩太的明証,他興旺福音與我同勞,待我像兒子待父親一樣。”【腓立比書 2:20-22】

接下來,保羅做的第一件事就是為提摩太禱告,愿恩惠、憐憫、平安歸于他。鑒此,在為你的孩子禱告時,把這三樣也包括進去。


檢驗教義

提摩太前書 1:3 我往馬其頓去的時候,曾勸你仍住在以弗所,好囑咐那幾個人不可傳異教,

在其它地方,異教被比喻作毒瘡或面酵。比如,“但要遠避世俗的虛談,因為這等人必進到更不敬虔的地步。他們的話如同毒瘡,越爛越大,”【提摩太後書 2:16,17】在加拉太書堙A當說到死守割禮的教義時,保羅說:“一點面酵能使全團都發起來。”【加拉太書 5:9】聽任其發展就會進一步地在基督徒中導至敗壞。所以聖經教我們首先要認出它們,然後把它們清除或孤立起來,盡管這個過程的本身不可避免地會有衝突。但這種衝突正是耶穌和保羅的事奉的特點,所以基督徒們不應回避。


避免荒渺無憑的辯論

提摩太前書 1:4 也不可聽從荒渺無憑的話語和無窮的家譜。這等事只生辯論,并不發明神在信上所立的章程。

學習聖經的目的是要堅固我們的信心,使我們建立神的德行。但靠著沒有憑據的猜測是不能堅固信心的。反之,這種事只能招致無益的辯論,因為對這樣的事沒有什麼實在的,有確據的話可說。

與此相反,讓我們看一看聖經著者的態度,比如路加:“這些事我既從起頭都詳細考察了,就定意要按著次序寫給你,使你知道所學之道都是確實的。”【路加福音 1:3-4】,或彼得:“我們從前將我們主耶穌基督的大能和他降臨的事告訴你們,并不是隨從乖巧捏造的虛言,乃是親眼見過他的威榮。”【彼得後書 1:16】


目的──清潔的心和無虧的良心、無偽的信心

提摩太前書 1:5 但命令的總歸就是愛﹔這愛是從清潔的心和無虧的良心、無偽的信心生出來的。

這個命令指的是什麼呢?就是保羅給提摩太命令,要他囑咐基督徒不可傳異教,或那些純屬猜測的事。為什麼呢?因為這些不能使我們在信堳堨蒍囿獐w行。特別地,這些不能使我們在三個方面在愛堳堨葝w行。首先,建立神的德行淨化人的心靈,而心靈是人的愿望和動機的基礎。第二個方面是良心。建立人德行的教義可以帶來健康的良心──這種良心不是讓我們從不感到虧心,而是在我們犯了罪時讓我們感到虧心,在我們行了善時讓我們感到暢快。這就是健康的良心。而偏離正道的教義往往要麼不為做壞事而虧心,要麼為不該虧心的事而感到虧心。第三個方面是使我們得到建立的教義可以造就真誠無偽的信,勞固地建立在神的道上,而不使以那些純屬猜測的事為基礎。真誠無偽的信是付之于應用的信。這與那些醉心于太師椅神學或虛構的故事或純屬猜測的事相反。


避免虛浮的話

提摩太前書 1:6 有人偏離這些,反去講虛浮的話,

“虛浮的話”是那些虛空的、無意義的、空洞的話。他在提摩太後書堣S一次囑咐提摩太,提醒他:“務要傳道。無論得時不得時,總要專心,并用百般的忍耐、各樣的教訓,責備人,警戒人,勸勉人。因為時候要到,人必厭煩純正的道理,耳朵發痒,就隨從自己的情欲,增添好些師傅,并且掩耳不聽真道,偏向荒渺的言語。”【提摩太後書 4:2-4】這堜珣j調的就是要回避那些沒又真憑實據的事,而把注意力放在確實的事上。

但我們人類出于本性渴望新奇的事,奇異的觀點,新的啟示,因此很容易被偏異的理論吸引。神給的是從天上賜下的嗎哪,是神的道。但以色列人卻對嗎哪感到厭倦,說:“我們記得,在埃及的時候不花錢就吃魚﹔也記得有黃瓜、西瓜、韭菜、蔥、蒜。現在我們的心血枯竭了,除這嗎哪以外,在我們眼前并沒有別的東西!”【民數記 11:5-6】


天真的教師

提摩太前書 1:7 想要作教法師,卻不明白自己所講說的,所論定的。

這屬于半壺水效應,當人一知半解的時候就自認為是內行。也許最危險的司機不是初學駕駛的人,而是那些車開了半年左右的就自認是老油子的人。雅各警告說不要輕看教師這個角色:“我的弟兄們,不要多人作師傅,因為曉得我們要受更重的判斷。”【雅各書 3:1】

教師們,包括耶穌和新約的著者們,常以類推,比喻,或推理的方法來運用舊約。但如果對聖經的基本概念沒有堅實的理解,很容易把任何事都塞進對舊約事件的理解中去。所以最好遵循這樣的解經方法:經上明確講的優先于推斷出的,經上強調的優先于經上沒有強調的。


律法原是好的

提摩太前書 1:8 我們知道律法原是好的,只要人用得合宜﹔

合宜地運用律法就是用正確的解經原則去解釋和應用律法。比如,保羅曾兩次引用“牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。”【申命記 25:4】保羅用此來肯定傳福音的人有權得到報酬這個觀點(【哥林多前書 9:9】【提摩太前書 5:18】)。但他同時還以主對此明確的教訓作為根據:“主也是這樣命定,叫傳福音的靠著福音養生。”【哥林多前書 9:14】

另一個例子是馬可福音第十章中關于離婚的問題,耶穌根據律法書堛熔臚@本書──創世記,以婚姻的起源來說明婚姻的基本原則。而法利賽人在按字面理解律法中其它有關的經文時則沒有考慮到這一點。

所以摩西律法對基督的生活是有關的,只是要用得合宜,合乎新約的原則。


律法是為惡人設立的

提摩太前書 1:9 因為律法不是為義人設立的,乃是為不法和不服的,不虔誠和犯罪的,不聖潔和戀世俗的,弒父母和殺人的,

注意到保羅把“義人”與他的行為聯系起來。今天,在基督徒中往往在這一點上有誤解,只考慮罪得赦免而在神面前稱義。但聖經教我們說義與人的行為并非毫無關聯。

注意到,比如,【哥林多前書 6:9-11a 】說:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。你們中間也有人從前是這樣。”保羅在這埵A一次把義或不義與人的行為聯系起來。在哥林多的基督徒堙A有些在他們未得救以前屬于這些類的人。但在得救以後,就不再那樣去做了。的確,“惟有不作工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。”【羅馬書 4:5】,但在那之後,他們就不繼續在不敬神中生活了。

所以,讓我們認識到當我們基督徒說我們自己或其他基督徒是義的時候,我們不光是說我們因為罪得赦免而在神面前稱義,我們同時也是在講這個人的行為。我們說到做到了嗎?


更多的惡行

提摩太前書 1:10 行淫和親男色的,搶人口和說謊話的,并起假誓的,或是為別樣敵正道的事設立的。

這節經文接著上節繼續例數不義的行為。經上還有多處這樣例舉這類不義行為的地方,比如【哥林多前書 6:9,10】。這堿O其它幾個地方:

“因為你們確實地知道,無論是淫亂的,是污穢的,是有貪心的,在基督和神的國堻ㄛO無分的。有貪心的,就與拜偶像的一樣。”【以弗所書 5:5】
“情欲的事,都是顯而易見的:就如奸淫、污穢、邪蕩、拜偶像、邪術、仇恨、爭競、忌恨、惱怒、結黨、紛爭、異端、嫉妒(有古卷在此有“凶殺”二字)、醉酒、荒宴等類,我從前告訴你們,現在又告訴你們,行這樣事的人必不能承受神的國。”【加拉太書 5:19-21】
“惟有膽怯的、不信的、可憎的、殺人的、淫亂的、行邪術的、拜偶像的和一切說謊話的,他們的分就在燒著硫磺的火湖堙C這是第二次的死。”【啟示錄 21:8】

看來他們對什麼行為屬于那些在神的國媯L分的人有很清楚的分類和理解。在【提摩太前書 1:10】堙A說謊話被看作與親男色和搶人口同樣嚴重。在【啟示錄 21:8】堙A膽怯與殺人一樣嚴重。也許,把這些看得同樣嚴重會對我們有所啟發──把諸如嫉妒、膽怯、說謊話等比我們現在看得更為嚴重。

為擴展這些類別保羅又說:“或是為別樣敵正道的事設立的。”雖然是不是所有正確的教義都涉及人的行為有待辯論,但很多正確的教義的確如此。所以,當我們在鑒別一個教義是不是正確的時候,可以看一看這個教義如何應用到人的行為上。


交托給保羅的福音

提摩太前書 1:11 這是照著可稱頌之神交托我榮耀福音說的。

神把福音交托給使徒保羅。值得一提的是許多其它宗教對“耶穌”表示敬意,雖然他們說的其實不是聖經上說的耶穌。但許多這樣的人──比如穆斯林──卻對使徒保羅充滿了敵意。事實上,就連有些基督徒也惱怒或拒絕保羅的教訓──比如他對女人的觀點。但事實上如果一個人拒絕保羅所傳的福音,那麼他所拒絕的其實是耶穌。保羅的福音就是基督的福音。


Sep 13,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

1Timothy 1:1-11 (web)

1:1 Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus according to
the commandment of God our Savior, and Christ Jesus our hope;

1:2 to Timothy, my true child in faith: Grace, mercy, and peace,
from God our Father and Christ Jesus our Lord.

1:3 As I exhorted you to stay at Ephesus when I was going into Macedonia,
that you might charge certain men not to teach a different doctrine,
1:4 neither to pay attention to myths and endless genealogies,
which cause disputes, rather than God's stewardship, which is in faith--
1:5 but the end of the charge is

1:6 from which things some, having missed the mark, have turned aside to vain talking;
1:7 desiring to be teachers of the law, though they understand neither what they say,
nor about what they strongly affirm.
 
1:8 But we know that the law is good, if a man uses it lawfully,
1:9 as knowing this, that law is not made for a righteous man,
but for the lawless and insubordinate, for the ungodly and sinners, for the unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,
1:10 for the sexually immoral, for homosexuals, for slave-traders, for liars, for perjurers, and for any other thing contrary to the sound doctrine;
1:11 according to the gospel of the glory of the blessed God,
which was committed to my trust.

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS

vs 1-2 Why was it important in this section for Paul to remind Timothy of his apostolic authority?
In what other ways did Paul remind Timothy of his authority over him?

vas 3-4 Should Christians avoid teaching or dealing with any subjects that are controversial (or promote controversy)?
Since Paul himself (even in this letter) teaches many things that have been controversial and even divisive, what else is he measuring to determine what should be taught?
How do you determine whether a teaching promotes God's work?
What is an example of a teaching that should be avoided?

vs 5 Now evaluate as to whether that teaching edifies any of the three aspects of a person mentioned in this verse.
What is so important about a person's heart, his conscience, and his convictions with respect to his practice of the Christian faith?

vs 6 Ever run into people or hear them speak confidently on the radio or tv about something and you know that they don't really know what they're talking about? If Christians are supposed to be children of light and truth, why is it that truth is often not a priority when Christians speak? Why do slanderous rumors and myths often dominate the Christian media? And why do Christians often so casually use the term "word of God" to refer to whatever their personal opinion is regardless of whether it contradicts the Bible?

vs 7-11 Since "the law is our tutor to lead us to Christ that we may be justified by faith" and since Paul himself derives applications taking verses from the law of Moses, should Christians avoid teaching the first five books of the Bible (The Law)? If not, then what is Paul upset about these teachers of the law? (xref Rom 2:17-27, Gal 2)


COMMENTARY

A good teacher must avoid: Rather they should focus on teachings that promote the following:
 
A pure heart The Heart A Christian should practice love only in the context of holiness
A good conscience The Conscience A Christian should practice discerning good and evil in himself and in the world
A sincere faith The Convictions A Christian's faith should not be merely experimental or one which easily falls away, but characterized by unwavering convictions based on the enduring Word of God having been fully convinced that God has spoken and is able to do what He promised as demonstrated in applying his faith thoughout his life.

One can evaluate teaching materials by asking the questions:

Additional Comments


Our Savior and Our Hope

1Tim 1:1 Paul, an apostle of Jesus Christ, by the commandment of God our Savior and the Lord Jesus Christ, our hope

As is common in his letters Paul starts off reminding the reader of his authorization, his appointed office as an apostle, which gives particular weight to his words and for this reason we study them.

Here we notice that of the many aspects of God and Jesus Christ, in this case he speaks of God our Savior and Jesus Christ our hope. Interesting that among other places he speaks of salvation in this letter, he speaks of God "desiring all men to be saved" (1Tim 2:4), and of "God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of those who believe." (1Tim 4:10) The hope is of course the feeling of anticipation of the salvation which is yet to be revealed.

So as we study through this letter we should keep in mind that whatever particulars Paul is writing of, this letter may primarily concern salvation.


A True Son in the Faith

1Tim 1:2 To Timothy, a true son in the faith: Grace, mercy, and peace from God our Father and Jesus Christ our Lord.

Paul first met Timothy in Acts 16:1-3. There we learn that Timothy was already a disciple of Jesus Christ and well spoken of by the Christian community there. Paul desired to utilize him in his ministry. But he came from a family where his father was Greek and his mother Jewish. The Jews generally held very significant prejudice against Gentiles. Even the Jewish Christians in the church of Jerusalem displayed elements of that prejudice when it came to the distribution of bread to the widows, for "there arose a complaint against the Hebrews by the Hellenists, because their widows were neglected in the daily distribution." Acts 6:1 So to help overcome such prejudice in the case of Timothy he circumcised him, and thus among the Jews they would minister to Timothy could admit to being circumcised, making him an insider among the Jews. Timothy was in fact a Jew as the tradition even holds today that one is a Jew if one's mother is Jewish. However we note that Paul did not circumcise Titus, as he was a Gentile.

Without digressing more on that subject we note that Paul characterizes himself as Timothy's father. Not that he led him to Christ. Yet there are many today who consider themselves spiritual "fathers" who simply prayed a prayer with a person to receive Christ and then let them go on their way. That is not being a father to the person. Paul mentored Timothy. He discipled him. He instructed him. Timothy was Paul's apprentice in the ministry. And so also Timothy behaves as a dutiful son to Paul. Paul writes to the Philippians saying of him, "I have no one else like him, who takes a genuine interest in your welfare. For everyone looks out for his own interests, not those of Jesus Christ. But you know that Timothy has proved himself, because as a son with his father he has served with me in the work of the gospel." Php 2:20-22

Then the first thing that Paul does is pray for Timothy that he would receive grace, mercy and peace. So among the other concerns to pray for your children, include these three things.


Scrutinize Doctrine

1Tim 1:3  As I urged you when I went into Macedonia——remain in Ephesus that you may charge some that they teach no other doctrine

Deviant doctrines are elsewhere characterized as cancer or leaven, such as in 2Tim 2:16,17 "shun profane and idle babblings, for they will increase to more ungodliness. And their message will spread like cancer", and in Galatians concerning the doctrine of the circumcision he says, "A little leaven leavens the whole lump." To just leave them alone is to invite further corruption of the Christian community. And so the Bible instructs first of all to identify them and then to purge or otherwise isolate them, much as that process itself will inevitably invite conflict. But that kind of conflict is characteristic of Jesus and Paul's ministry, and so the Christian need not shy away from it.


Avoid Speculative Arguments

1Tim 1:4 nor give heed to fables and endless genealogies, which cause disputes rather than godly edification which is in faith.

Bible study is about developing convictions unto godly edification. But one cannot develop convictions based upon things which are largely speculative. Rather things which are highly speculative invite vain disputes as there may be little substance to say anything for certain.

In contrast to that notice the attitude of the Bible authors, such as Luke "it seemed good to me also, having had perfect understanding of all things from the very first, to write to you an orderly account, most excellent Theophilus, that you may know the certainty of those things in which you were instructed." Luke 1:3,4 Or Peter "we did not follow cunningly devised fables when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but were eyewitnesses of His majesty."


The Goal - Heart, Conscience and Faith

1Tim 1:5 Now the purpose of the commandment is love from a pure heart, from a good conscience, and from sincere faith

What commandment? It was Paul's command for Timothy to stop Christians from preaching deviant doctrines or those that are highly speculative. Why? Because they do no lead to godly edification in the faith. And in particular they do not lead to being edified in love in three areas. First of all godly edification results in a purifying of one's heart, which is the seat of one's desires, the basis of one's motivations. Good doctrine deals with issues of hypocrisy and right desires. Secondly is the issue of the conscience. Edifying doctrine results in a healthy conscience - which is not to say a conscience which is guilt-free, but a conscience that feels guilty when one sins, and feels good when it does what is right. That's a healthy conscience. Whereas deviant doctrines often either avoid issues of guilt or place guilt on the wrong thing, or otherwise get things out of balance with respect to the conscience. And thirdly edifying doctrine results in a sincere faith, being solidly based upon the Word of God, as opposed to mere opinions based upon highly speculative stories. Furthermore a sincere faith is a faith which is applied. This as opposed to those who obsess over issues of armchair theology or fables or other highly speculative ideas.


Avoid Idle Speculations

1Tim 1:6 from which some, having strayed, have turned aside to idle talk.

"idle talk" is that which is vain, meaningless, empty. He warns Timothy again of this in 2Tim 4:2-4 reminding him to preach the word "For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine, but according to their own desires, because they have itching ears, they will heap up for themselves teachers; and they will turn their ears away from the truth, and be turned aside to fables." I wonder if the "Left Behind" series with its associated movies falls in that category. The emphasis concerning things which are largely speculative is to avoid them. Focus on what is known for certain.

The problem is that our human nature yearns for some new thing, some extraordinary idea, some new revelation, and thusly are people drawn away into deviant theology. What God has provided is manna from heaven, which is the Word of God. But Israel got tired of manna, saying, "We remember the fish which we ate freely in Egypt, the cucumbers, the melons, the leeks, the onions, and the garlic; but now our whole being is dried up; there is nothing at all except this manna before our eyes!"Num 11:5,6


Naive Teachers

1Tim 1:7 desiring to be teachers of the law, understanding neither what they say nor the things which they affirm.

This is a sort of sophomoric effect where people get a little knowledge and experience and reckon themselves experts. Perhaps the most dangerous drivers are not beginners, but rather those who have driven for about 6 months and thereupon reckon themselves experts. 

Teachers, including Jesus and the New Testament authors, often utilize the Old Testament by way of analogy, allegory, or inference. But if one doesn't have a solid understanding of the fundamental concepts of scripture, one can easily end up reading just about anything into Old Testament events. And thus best to follow the hermeneutic that whatever is clear in scripture takes precedent over what might be inferred, and what is emphasized in scripture takes precedence over what is not emphasized.


Law can be Good

1Tim 1:8 But we know that the law is good if one uses it lawfully

To use it lawfully is to interpret and apply it using proper Biblical hermeneutics (principles of interpretation). For example twice Paul utilizes Deut 25:4 "You shall not muzzle an ox while it treads out the grain." This he applies as affirming the idea that one who preaches the gospel has a right to get paid for it. (1Cor 9:9; 1Tim 5:18) But he also backs this up with the explicit teaching of the Lord by saying, "Even so the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should live from the gospel." 1Cor 9:14, which is in line with what was practiced.

Another example is in Mark 10 concerning the subject of divorce, Jesus utilized verses in the first book of the Law to reveal the most fundamental principles concerning marriage from its very inception, which the Pharisees hadn't taken into account in their literal application of other verses from the Law.

Thus Law of Moses has relevance to the Christian life, as long as it is applied properly and consistent with New Testament principles.


Law Designed for the Wicked

1Tim 1:9 "knowing this: that the law is not made for a righteous person, but for the lawless and insubordinate, for the ungodly and for sinners, for the unholy and profane, for murderers of fathers and murderers of mothers, for manslayers,"

Notice that Paul associates a "righteous person" in accordance with his behavior. Today often there is a misconception on this point in the Christian community, where a person being righteous is only regarded with respect to his judicial standing before God. But the Bible teaches that there is also a connection to the person's behavior.

Notice for example in 1Cor 6:9-11a "Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived. Neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor homosexuals, nor sodomites, nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you." Notice again Paul associates the concept of righteous or unrighteous with one's behavior. Some among the Corinthians Christians fell into these categories prior to their being saved. But after becoming righteous they no longer behaved that way. True that "to him who does not work but believes on Him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is accounted for righteousness" Rom 4:5, but they don't continue to live ungodliness after that point.

Therefore let us recognize that when we Christians speak about ourselves and other Christians as being righteous, we are making a statement not just with respect to such a person's judicial standing before God, but also we are making a claim concerning such a person's behavior. Do you live up to such a claim?


More Bad Behavior

1Tim 1:10 "for fornicators, for sodomites, for kidnappers, for liars, for perjurers, and if there is any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine"

This verse continues on the list of behaviors of the unrighteous from the previous verse. Such lists are found in a number of places, such as 1Cor 6:9,10. And here's some others:

Eph 5:5 "this you know, that no fornicator, unclean person, nor covetous man, who is an idolater, has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God."

Gal 5:19-21 "Now the works of the flesh are evident, which are: adultery, fornication, uncleanness, lewdness, idolatry, sorcery, hatred, contentions, jealousies, outbursts of wrath, selfish ambitions, dissensions, heresies, envy, murders, drunkenness, revelries, and the like; of which I tell you beforehand, just as I also told you in time past, that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God."

Rev 21:8 "But the cowardly, unbelieving, abominable, murderers, sexually immoral, sorcerers, idolaters, and all liars shall have their part in the lake which burns with fire and brimstone, which is the second death."

It seems they had a very clear and categorical understanding as to what constituted the behavior of those who did not inherit the kingdom of God. Interesting that they made no attempt at prioritizing these. In the case of 1Tim 1:10 lying is given equal emphasis as sodomy and kidnapping. In Rev 21:8 cowardice is given equal emphasis as murder. Perhaps it would be instructive if each was viewed with equal severity - reckoning more severe than we do presently things like envy, cowardice, lying and selfish ambition.

To extend the categories Paul furthermore says, "if there is any other thing that is contrary to sound doctrine" While it could be argued that some amount of sound doctrine may not touch upon a person's behavior, much of sound doctrine does. Therefore in evaluating whether doctrine is sound, one test it to identify how the doctrine applies to one's behavior.


Gospel Committed to Paul

1Tim 1:11 "according to the glorious gospel of the blessed God which was committed to my trust."

God entrusted the gospel to the apostle Paul. It is noteworthy that many of those of other religions give deference to a "Jesus", though they don't really mean the Biblical Jesus. But many such people - such as Muslims - have an outright hostile attitude towards the apostle Paul. In fact even among Christians there are those who are angered by or otherwise reject what Paul teaches - like his views on women. But the fact is that if one rejects the gospel which Paul preaches, one rejects Jesus. Paul's gospel is the gospel of Christ.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015