翻譯: English 中文 GB

哥林多後書 第十章

屬靈的爭戰

10:1 我保羅就是與你們見面的時候是謙卑的,
  不在你們那堛漁伬啈V你們是勇敢的,
  如今親自借著基督的溫柔、和平勸你們。

10:2 有人以為我是憑著血氣行事,
  我也以為必須用勇敢待這等人。
  求你們不要叫我在你們那堛漁伬唌A有這樣的勇敢。

10:3 因為我們雖然在血氣中行事,卻不憑著血氣爭戰。

10:4 我們爭戰的兵器,本不是屬血氣的,
  乃是在神面前有能力,可以攻破堅固的營壘,

10:5 將各樣的計謀,各樣攔阻人認識神的
    那些自高之事一概攻破了,
  又將人所有的心意奪回,
  使他都順服基督。

10:6 并且我已經預備好了,等你們十分順服的時候,
  要責罰那一切不順服的人。

10:7 你們是看眼前的嗎?
  倘若有人自信是屬基督的,
  他要再想想,
  他如何屬基督,我們也是如何屬基督的。

10:8 主賜給我們權柄是要造就你們,
    并不是要敗壞你們。
  我就是為這權柄稍微夸口,也不至于慚愧。

10:9 我說這話,免得你們以為我寫信是要威嚇你們。
10:10 因為有人說:
  “他的信又沉重,又利害,
   及至見面,卻是氣貌不揚、言語粗俗的。

10:11 這等人當想,
  我們不在那堛漁伬唌A信上的言語如何,
  見面的時候,行事也必如何。

10:12 因為我們不敢將自己和那自薦的人同列相比。
  他們用自己度量自己,用自己比較自己,
    乃是不通達的。

10:13 我們不愿意分外夸口,
  只要照神所量給我們的界限夠到你們那堙C

10:14 我們并非過了自己的界限,好像夠不到你們那堙A
  因為我們早到你們那堙A傳了基督的福音。

10:15 我們不仗著別人所勞碌的分外夸口﹔
  但指望你們信心增長的時候,所量給我們的界限,
  就可以因著你們更加開展,

10:16 得以將福音傳到你們以外的地方,
  并不是在別人界限之內,借著他現成的事夸口。

10:17 但“夸口的當指著主夸口。”(【耶利米書 9:23-24】)
10:18 因為蒙悅納的,
  不是自己稱許的,乃是主所稱許的。


問題討論

第1-2節 保羅對待哥林多的聖徒從哪些方面講就像父母對待孩子一樣?從這兩節以及第9-11節看,哥林多的聖徒從哪些方面講就像孩子一樣?
第3-5節 辯論各種觀點在基督徒的生活中有什麼用處?
從一個實際的角度出發,基督徒的爭戰與世人打仗有什麼不同?
第6節 他說:“等你們十分順服的時候,要責罰那一切不順服的人”是什麼意思?
一個人的順服什麼時候才能完全?你怎麼能夠知道?
第7節 你怎麼能夠知道你是不是屬基督的?(約翰一書塈騤埴茼a說明了這個問題。)
我們會如何錯誤地從表面上判斷別人?你有沒有這樣做過?
第8節 保羅對權威的看法──甚至包括他自己的權威──與世人對權威的看法有什麼不同?
第12節 如果我們不把自己與別人作比較,那麼我們用什麼標准來衡量自己呢?
第13-18節 基督徒會如何把別人的功勞或者自己所沒有做的工作錯誤地歸功到自己身上?
你的界限(因而你的權威)是什麼?

注釋

一個謙卑的請求

哥林多後書 10:1-2 我保羅就是與你們見面的時候是謙卑的,不在你們那堛漁伬啈V你們是勇敢的,如今親自借著基督的溫柔、和平勸你們。有人以為我是憑著血氣行事,我也以為必須用勇敢待這等人。求你們不要叫我在你們那堛漁伬唌A有這樣的勇敢。

“謙卑”這個詞還可見于其它地方,比如:“我心堿X和謙卑,你們當負我的軛,學我的樣式,這樣,你們心奡N必得享安息。”【馬太福音 11:29】但保羅不是口是心非,就像耶穌不是口是心非一樣。因為耶穌雖然卑微,但他是對那些可教的才這樣。注意到耶穌在馬太福音第二十三章是如何對待那些假冒為善的宗教精英的,還有那些在殿埵璅くg婪的人。

“隨從肉身”意思就是“案照肉身的欲望行事”,這個說法還可見于:“主知道搭救敬虔的人脫離試探,把不義的人留在刑罰之下,等候審判的日子。那些隨肉身,縱污穢的情欲,輕慢主治之人的,更是如此。”【彼得後書 2:9-10a】

在許多情形下,隨從肉身就是按這個世界的情欲和准則行事。“因為凡世界上的事,就像肉體的情欲,眼目的情欲,并今生的驕傲,都不是從父來的,乃是從世界來的。這世界和其上的情欲都要過去,”【約翰一書 2:16-17a】

在這堙A以及在加拉太書堙A有些人認為保羅是隨從肉身,討人的喜歡。但在加拉太書堨L寫到:“我們已經說了,現在又說:若有人傳福音給你們,與你們所領受的不同,他就應當被咒詛!我現在是要得人的心呢?還是要得神的心呢?我豈是討人的喜歡嗎?若仍舊討人的喜歡,我就不是基督的仆人了。”【加拉太書 1:9-10】

雖然有些人以投肉身的所好來贏得眾人的歡心,保羅不是他們中的一個。


世界的爭戰

哥林多後書 10:3 因為我們雖然在血氣中行事,卻不憑著血氣爭戰。

“在血氣中行事”直譯過來就是“在肉身中行事”,這堛熙s接詞是“εν”,這與第二節“隨從肉身”堛熙s接詞不同,在那堛熙s接詞在希臘文堿O“κατα”,表示遵從。比如保羅寫到:“不要效法這個世界,”【羅馬書 12:2a】

這個世界的爭戰首先是針對人的肉身的欲望──人的偏見、貪婪、貪圖。世界恨它的仇敵,但基督徒要愛他們的仇敵。屬靈的爭戰應該有益于我們的仇敵,而屬世的爭戰是要毀滅仇敵。屬世的爭戰使用的武器是屬肉身的,能夠對肉身帶來傷害。事實上,曾有某些基督徒在屬靈爭戰時就像伊思蘭恐怖分子一樣,甚至把與他們對聖經有不同見解的人燒死。然而基督徒的爭戰是在觀念的范疇堛滿C


觀念的爭戰

哥林多後書 10:4-5 我們爭戰的兵器,本不是屬血氣的,乃是在神面前有能力,可以攻破堅固的營壘,將各樣的計謀,各樣攔阻人認識神的那些自高之事一概攻破了,又將人所有的心意奪回,使他都順服基督。

注意到保羅不是在肉身的范疇堛屁唌A而是在觀念的范疇堛屁唌A讓每一個心意都服從基督。言語是我們爭戰的武器,其基礎是“聖靈的寶劍,就是神的道。”【以弗所書 6:17b】但不是沒有思考的灌輸,像比如伊思蘭教那樣。基督徒的信樣包含著講道理。當一個人推敲各種想法時──比較各種宗教和哲學時──基督教就會得勝。

保羅曾與人辯論。“每逢安息日,保羅在會堂媗G論,勸化猶太人和希利尼人。”【使徒行傳 18:4】雖然他避免愚拙無學問的辯論(【提摩太後書 2:23】)。同樣,亞波羅“在眾人面前極有能力,駁倒猶太人,引聖經証明耶穌是基督。”【使徒行傳 18:28】

對世界的問題和屬世的觀點,我們應該有講道理的回答。


成熟帶來責任

哥林多後書 10:6 并且我已經預備好了,等你們十分順服的時候,要責罰那一切不順服的人。

也就是說,當他們成熟起來時,他們就將受到更嚴格的檢驗。在生活中不也正是這樣嗎?雅各寫到,比如,對教師來說:“我的弟兄們,不要多人作師傅,因為曉得我們要受更重的判斷。”【雅各屬 3:1】小孩子的行為不當是一回事,而成人若行為不當就是很嚴重的事了,因為他們自己是作為榜樣來行事的。

這種責罰是對別人的愛的一部分,如經上寫到:“因為主所愛的,他必管教,又鞭打凡所收納的兒子。你們所忍受的是神管教你們,待你們如同待兒子。焉有兒子不被父親管教的呢?”【希伯來書 12:6-7】

保羅在這婸〞熙o種責罰是什麼呢?一個具體的例子可見于:“這樣的人,受了眾人的責罰,也就夠了。”【哥林多後書 2:6】,指的是哥林多前書第五章婸〞漱@個人,他曾被交給撒但:“要把這樣的人交給撒但,敗壞他的肉體,使他的靈魂在主耶穌的日子可以得救。”【哥林多前書 5:5】


看得深一點

哥林多後書 10:7-8 你們是看眼前的嗎?倘若有人自信是屬基督的,他要再想想,他如何屬基督,我們也是如何屬基督的。主賜給我們權柄是要造就你們,并不是要敗壞你們。我就是為這權柄稍微夸口,也不至于慚愧。

有些人聲稱是基督徒,但把神的道只當作是觀點而已。他們不把保羅的教訓看作比他們自己的感覺更有分量。他們把他的權威看作只是名義上的。今天,聲稱是信徒的人對保羅關于性別的明確命令的反應最能顯示出這一點。有些人不認為保羅是錯的,但扭曲他所寫的來為他們的感覺辯護,如彼得寫到:“就如我們所親愛的兄弟保羅,照著所賜給他的智慧,寫了信給你們。他一切的信上,也都是講論這事。信中有些難明白的,那無學問不堅固的人強解,如強解別的經書一樣,就自取沉淪。”【彼得後書 3:15b-16】因此保羅所寫的是聖經的一部分。

因為有人與保羅爭教會的權威,保羅用主給他的使徒的權柄來勸教會不要信那些非法的權威,他們是在試圖毀壞教會。因此在現實中,我們要用保羅所寫的和聖經堥銗扛熙﹞壎J細檢驗所有的教訓和教師。


威嚇的信

哥林多後書 10:9-11 我說這話,免得你們以為我寫信是要威嚇你們。因為有人說:“他的信又沉重,又利害,及至見面,卻是氣貌不揚、言語粗俗的。”這等人當想,我們不在那堛漁伬唌A信上的言語如何,見面的時候,行事也必如何。

從這塈A可以看到哥林多的某些“基督徒”對保羅的輕視。最近我與幾個信徒在一起查經,其就中有像那樣的人,他們雖然聽見聖經說的是什麼,但不覺得怎麼樣,不認為聖經說的算得了什麼。但我們如何對待神得道會有其結果的。

有意思的是保羅寫的信其實與他本人沒有區別,耶穌也同樣。但寫下來的話似乎被看得更重,比說的話更有力。我猜想這其中是不是有某種原則。我是想說,神留給我們寫下來的話──聖經。把話寫下來份量就重一些,這似乎有一定的道理。一個人可以通過談話與人分享他的想法,但如果他把它寫成書,似乎就會留下更深的印象。

但寫作雖然能更有力地表達一個人的信仰,但它缺乏寶劍磨礪寶劍那樣的相互作用,這在他們那個時候因為沒有電子郵件,只能面對面的時候才有可能。這似乎也說明講課,如大多數教會實行的那樣,效果最差,因為講課是口頭上說的,但又不讓有反饋和討論。事實上我的經驗似乎也是這樣。換句話說,如果把要講的道寫下來發給會眾去讀,也許比口頭上說出來更有效。

這些關于交流的形式不是太重要。但如果一個人真想引人注目,他們可以扮演假冒為善──說一套,而做另一套,但他們的話就算不得什麼。有些人聲稱保羅是這樣的。


不要過高地抬舉自己

哥林多後書 10:12-13 因為我們不敢將自己和那自薦的人同列相比。他們用自己度量自己,用自己比較自己,乃是不通達的。我們不愿意分外夸口,只要照神所量給我們的界限夠到你們那堙C

用自己比較自己就好比先射了箭,然後在箭射到的地方劃上靶子。為什麼以你射了箭之後劃的靶子來夸口呢?但當你問有神論的非基督徒他們必須做什麼才能進天堂時,其回答往往是達到他們自己的標准。很少有人考慮到神的標准可能會不同于他們自己的標准,有人甚至根本不讓神對此有發言權。但如果一個惡人覺得他的道德比另一惡人的道德更高尚,那有什麼益處呢?在一個人把他稱作是“良善的”時,耶穌對他說:“你為什麼稱我是良善的?除了神一位之外,再沒有良善的。”【路加福音 18:19】因為,“沒有行善的,連一個也沒有。”【羅馬書 3:12b】

然而歷史表明,有一種精英主義滲透到機構化的基督教中。一種精英主義還在福音書堸O載的耶穌時代的那些宗教精英身上表現出來。這種人身上沒有謙卑的美德。施洗約翰雖然曾是名人,但在說到耶穌時他說:“他必興旺,我必衰微。”【約翰福音 3:30】然而在一個人出了名之後,無論是在宗教圈子媮椄O在世俗社會堙A他往往會失去自己的謙卑。制約驕傲的一個辦法就是對夸口和夸口的程度加以限制。

首先,關于我們所夸口的,耶利米寫到:耶和華如此說:“智慧人不要因他的智慧夸口,勇士不要因他的勇力夸口,財主不要因他的財物夸口。夸口的卻因他有聰明,認識我是耶和華,又知道我喜悅在世上施行慈愛、公平和公義,以此夸口。”這是耶和華說的。【耶利米書 9:23-24】

關于我們的夸口,耶穌在登山寶訓奡ㄜ狾b做禁食、禱告和行善這類事時要在暗中做,而為這些事夸口會失去因做這些事而將得到的賞賜。在這堙A保羅說把他的夸口限制在神所量給他們的界限堙A在這奡N是他對哥林多的基督徒的影響。

你發現你自己在以什麼夸口呢?你對這樣的夸口定了什麼界限來抑制你的罪性堜狻T有的驕傲呢?


不要把別人的功勞歸到自己名下

哥林多後書 10:14-18 我們并非過了自己的界限,好像夠不到你們那堙A因為我們早到你們那堙A傳了基督的福音。我們不仗著別人所勞碌的分外夸口﹔但指望你們信心增長的時候,所量給我們的界限,就可以因著你們更加開展,得以將福音傳到你們以外的地方,并不是在別人界限之內,借著他現成的事夸口。但夸口的當指著主夸口。因為蒙悅納的,不是自己稱許的,乃是主所稱許的。

把別人的功勞歸到自己名下是撒謊和偷盜的一種形式。事實上在使徒行傳堹咻]為一對基督徒夫婦夸大他們為教會做的而把他們殺了。但你可以參與別人的勞苦。耶穌對他的門徒說:“我差你們去收你們所沒有勞苦的。別人勞苦,你們享受他們所勞苦的。”【約翰福音 4:38】但基督徒經常夸口他們把某某人領到基督,而忽略了別人在這上面的勞苦。

至于成熟,這媟t示的就是屬靈的成熟會帶來更多的參與。事實上與結果子一起,參與是對成熟的一個衡量。正像當一個人長大以後,就對他有結婚生孩子的希望,在基督徒成熟以後,也應當參與事奉,為神結果子。“我的弟兄們,這樣說來,你們借著基督的身體,在律法上也是死了,叫你們歸于別人,就是歸于那從死奡_活的,叫我們結果子給神。”【羅馬書 7:4】因此,找一個工場,開始幹活!

第17節所指的很可能又是我們在前面提到的【耶利米書 9:23-24】。他還在他的第一封信奡ㄗ麭o兩節。“但你們得在基督耶穌堿O本乎神,神又使他成為我們的智慧、公義、聖潔、救贖。如經上所記:‘夸口的當指著主夸口。’”【哥林多前書 1:30-31】保羅為此樹立了榜樣,他說:“但我斷不以別的夸口,只夸我們主耶穌基督的十字架﹔因這十字架,就我而論,世界已經釘在十字架上﹔就世界而論,我已經釘在十字架上。”【加拉太書 6:14】

關于自夸,箴言說:“要別人夸獎你,不可用口自夸﹔等外人稱贊你,不可用嘴自稱。”【箴言 27:2】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Corinthians 10 (web)

Waging Spiritual Warfare

10:1 Now I Paul, myself, entreat you by the humility and gentleness of Christ;
I who in your presence am lowly among you, but being absent am of good courage toward you.
10:2 Yes, I beg you that I may not, when present,
show courage with the confidence with which I intend to be bold against some,
who consider us to be walking according to the flesh.
10:3 For though we walk in the flesh, we don't wage war according to the flesh;
10:4 for the weapon are not of the flesh,
but mighty before God to the throwing down of strongholds,
10:5 throwing down imaginations and every high thing
that is exalted against the knowledge of God,
and bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ;
10:6 and being in readiness to avenge all disobedience,
when your obedience will be made full.
10:7 Do you look at things only as they appear in front of your face?
If anyone trusts in himself that he is Christ's, let him consider this again with himself,
that, even as he is Christ's, so also we are Christ's.
10:8 For though I should boast somewhat abundantly concerning our authority,
(which the Lord gave for building you up, and not for casting you down)
I will not be disappointed,
10:9 that I may not seem as if I desire to terrify you by my letters.
10:10 For, "His letters," they say, "are weighty and strong,
but his bodily presence is weak, and his speech is despised."
10:11 Let such a person consider this,
that what we are in word by letters when we are absent,
such are we also in deed when we are present.
10:12 For we are not bold to number or compare ourselves
with some of those who commend themselves.
But they themselves, measuring themselves by themselves,
and comparing themselves with themselves, are without understanding.
10:13 But we will not boast beyond proper limits,
but within the boundaries with which God appointed to us, which reach even to you.
10:14 For we don't stretch ourselves too much, as though we didn't reach to you.
For we came even as far as to you with the gospel of Christ,
10:15 not boasting beyond proper limits in other men's labors,
but having hope that as your faith grows,
we will be abundantly enlarged by you in our sphere of influence,
10:16 so as to preach the gospel even to the parts beyond you,
not to boast in what someone else has already done.
10:17 But "he who boasts, let him boast in the Lord."(Jer 9:23,24)
10:18 For it isn't he who commends himself who is approved,
but whom the Lord commends.

Discussion Questions

vs 1-2 In what ways is Paul's dealing with the Corinthians like parents dealing with children and in what ways did the Corinthians behave as children in these verses along with 9-11?
vs 3-5 What part does debating ideas have in the Christian life?
In a practical sense, how do Christians wage war differently than those in the world?
vs 6 What does he mean about punishing every act of disobedience when their obedience is complete?
When is someone's obedience complete? And how would you know it is?
vs 7 How do you know you belong to Christ? (Extensively covered in 1John)
How might we misevaluate people on the surface and have you ever done so?
vs 8 How did Paul's view of authority - even his own - differ from that of the world?
vs 12 If we are not to compare ourselves against one another, then upon what standard are we to evaluate ourselves?
vs 13-18 In what ways might Christians wrongly take credit for the work of others, or for work they have not done?
What is your realm of responsibility? (And therefore of your authority)


Comments


A Meek Appeal

2Cor 10:1,2  By the meekness and gentleness of Christ, I appeal to you— I, Paul, who am "timid" when face to face with you, but "bold" when away! I beg you that when I come I may not have to be as bold as I expect to be toward some people who think that we live by the standards of this world.

"timid" here is the world "lowly" or "humble" used for example in Mt 11:29 "Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls." But Paul was not being duplicitous anymore that Jesus was. For while Jesus was lowly, he was so with regards to the teachable. But notice even how Jesus responded to the hypocrisy of the religious elite in Matthew 23 and to those who were practicing greed and coveteousness in the temple.

"live by the standards of this world" is a correct interpretation but is literally, "as if we walked according to the flesh.", a phrase he uses in Romans chapter 8 verses 1 and 4. "There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit." Rom 8:1 and Peter also writes, "the Lord knows how to deliver the godly out of temptations and to reserve the unjust under punishment for the day of judgment, and especially those who walk according to the flesh in the lust of uncleanness and despise authority" 2Peter 2:9-10a

In many cases walking according to the flesh is the same as living by the standards of the world with regards to its desires. "For everything in the world— the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does— comes not from the Father but from the world. The world and its desires pass away" 1John 2:16-17a

In this case, much as in the book of Galatians, some reckoned Paul to be walking in the flesh with regards to pleasing man. But in Galatians he writes, "If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let him be eternally condemned! Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ." Gal 1:9,10

While are those ministers who pander to the flesh so to gain popularity, Paul was not one of them.


The War of the Worlds

2Cor 10:3 For though we live in the world, we do not wage war as the world does.

"Live in the world" is literally "walk in the flesh", the conjunction being "en", which is not the same as the phrase in verse 2 "walked according to the phrase", in which the conjunction is "kata" in Gk, indicating conformity. Thus Paul writes, "Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world" Rom 12:2a

The world wages war by firstly playing upon one's fleshly desires - one's prejudices, greed, covetousness. The world hates its enemies, but Christians are to love their enemies. Spiritual warfare is supposed to be beneficially to one's enemies, while the world wages war to destroy one's enemies. And secondly the weapons of warfare are of the flesh bringing physical harm. And in fact there have been those in the Christian community that wage war in the spiritual realm like Islamic terrorists, even burning at the stake those who oppose their interpretation of the Bible. But Christian warfare is in the realm of ideas.


The War of Ideas

2Cor 10:4,5 The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds. We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

Note that Paul fought not in the physical realm, but in the realm of ideas, taking every thought to the obedience of Christ. Words are the weapons of our warfare, the basis being "the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God." Eph 6:17b But not in the sense of mindless indoctrination, as is the case in Islam for example. Rather reason is involved in the Christian faith. When one scruntizes ideas - comparing religions and philosophies, Christianity wins out.

Paul argued with people. Acts 18:4 "Every Sabbath he reasoned in the synagogue, trying to persuade Jews and Greeks." Though he avoided foolish and stupid arguments. (2Tim 2:23) Likewise Apollos "vigorously refuted the Jews in public debate, proving from the Scriptures that Jesus was the Christ." Acts 18:28

We should have reasonable answers to the world's questions and responses to worldly viewpoints.

Maturity invokes Accountability

2Cor 10:6 And we will be ready to punish every act of disobedience, once your obedience is complete.

Which is to say that once they've matured they will be subject to greater scrutiny. And isn't that the case in life?  It's one thing for a child to misbehave, but it's a serious matter when an adult misbehaves as they set themselves up as the model to follow.

Such punishment is part of loving others as it is written, "the Lord disciplines those he loves, and he punishes everyone he accepts as a son. Endure hardship as discipline; God is treating you as sons. For what son is not disciplined by his father?" Heb 12:6,7

What would constitutes the kind of punishment Paul is alluding to? One example is given in 2Cor 2:6 "The punishment inflicted on him by the majority is sufficient for him.", alluding to the man in 1Cor chapter 5 whom was handed over to Satan "so that the sinful nature may be destroyed and his spirit saved on the day of the Lord." 1Cor 5:5

Look Deeper

2Cor 10:7,8 You are looking only on the surface of things. If anyone is confident that he belongs to Christ, he should consider again that we belong to Christ just as much as he.  For even if I boast somewhat freely about the authority the Lord gave us for building you up rather than pulling you down, I will not be ashamed of it.

There are those who allege to be Christians but who treat the Word of God as mere opinion. They view Paul's teachings as having no more weight their their own feelings. They view his authority as only in name. Today this is most revealing when alleged believers respond to Paul's gender specific commands. Paul's word is scripture. And those who don't like it either consider Paul to be wrong, or distort his writings to conform to however they feel, as Peter writes, "Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him. He writes the same way in all his letters, speaking in them of these matters. His letters contain some things that are hard to understand, which ignorant and unstable people distort, as they do the other Scriptures, to their own destruction." 2Peter 3:15b-16 So Paul writings are classified as Scripture.

And as there were those who were competing with Paul for authority over the church, Paul invokes the status the Lord gave him as an apostle to disuade the church from putting their confidence in illegitimate authorities who were trying to tear down the church. So in practice we scrutinize all teachings and all teachers in light of Paul writings, along with the rest of scripture.


Scary Letters

2Cor 10:9-11 I do not want to seem to be trying to frighten you with my letters. For some say, "His letters are weighty and forceful, but in person he is unimpressive and his speaking amounts to nothing." Such people should realize that what we are in our letters when we are absent, we will be in our actions when we are present.

Here you can see the contempt that some of the Corinthian "Christians" have for Paul. I was in a Bible study recently with alleged belivers like that where there were those who heard what the Bible said, but were unimpressed and reckoned what the Bible said amounted to nothing. But there are consequences to how we receive the Word of God.

It's interesting that Paul in actuality was no different in letter than in presence, and likewise with Jesus. And yet the written word is viewed as more weightier and forceful than the spoke word. I wonder if there's some principle there. I mean, afterall, God left us with the written word - the scriptures. There's something about having something in writing which gives it greater weight. A person may share his opinion in conversation, but if he makes it into a book, that somehow leaves a stronger impression.

But while writing is superior in expressing one's convictions, it lacks the interactive quality of sword sharpening sword conversations, which, as they didn't have email in those days, was limited to being there. That would also make lectures, as practiced by most churches, to be least effective, as they are spoken, but no feedback or discussion is allowed. And in fact that seems to be the case in my experience. In other words, sermons may be more effective if they are simply written down and handed out to the congregation to read rather than spoken.

These issues of forms of communication are minor matters. But if one really wants to unimpress people, they simply have to play the hypocrite - saying one thing and yet doing the opposite, in which case your word will pretty much amount to nothing. And this is what some alleged of Paul.


Don't Make More of Yourself Than You Should

2Cor 10:12-13 We do not dare to classify or compare ourselves with some who commend themselves. When they measure themselves by themselves and compare themselves with themselves, they are not wise. We, however, will not boast beyond proper limits, but will confine our boasting to the field God has assigned to us, a field that reaches even to you.

Comparing oneself with oneself is like shooting an arrow and then drawing a target around whereever it lands. Why boast about hitting a target that you drew after you shot the arrow? Yet when asking the theistic non-Christian as to what they think they must do to go to heaven the response is often to live up to their own standards of goodness. Seldom do any consider that God's standards may be different than their standards, or even let God have a say in answering the question. And if an evil man feels that's he's morally better than another evil man, what good is that? In response to a man calling him "good". "Why do you call me good?" Jesus answered. "No one is good— except God alone." Lk 18:19  For "there is no one who does good, not even one." Rom 3:12b

Yet there's a sort of elitism that characteristically infiltrates the ranks of institutional Christianity as history has shown. An elitism which is also reflected in the gospels by the hypocrisy of the religious elite of Jesus' day. Humility is a lost virtue among such people. While a celebrity at the time, John the Baptist said of Jesus, "He must become greater; I must become less." John 3:30 Yet characteristically when one becomes a celebrity, whether in the religious or secular realms, they lose their humilty. One way a person may regulate his pride is by restricting what he boasts of and the degree to which he boasts of it.

First concerning the object of our boasting Jeremiah writes, "This is what the LORD says: "Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight," declares the LORD." Jer 9;23,24 

But concerning the regulation of our boasting, in his sermon on the mount Jesus advocated such things as fasting, prayer, and charity be done in secret, and that boasting of such results in some loss of reward for such service. Here Paul speaks of limiting his boasting to the field God has assigned to them, which was namely his influence on the Corinthian Christians in this case.

What do you find yourself boasting about and what limits have you placed on such boast so to regulate your pride inherent in your sinful nature?


Don't Take Credit for Other People's Work

2Cor 10:14-18  We are not going too far in our boasting, as would be the case if we had not come to you, for we did get as far as you with the gospel of Christ. Neither do we go beyond our limits by boasting of work done by others. Our hope is that, as your faith continues to grow, our area of activity among you will greatly expand, so that we can preach the gospel in the regions beyond you. For we do not want to boast about work already done in another man’s territory.  But, "Let him who boasts boast in the Lord." For it is not the one who commends himself who is approved, but the one whom the Lord commends.

Taking credit for other people's work is a form of lying and stealing. In fact in Acts 5 God killed a Christian couple for boasting about doing more for the church than they actually were doing. But you can enter into other people's labor. Jesus said to his disciples, "I sent you to reap what you have not worked for. Others have done the hard work, and you have reaped the benefits of their labor." John 4:38 Yet often Christians boast of their leading someone to Christ while ignoring the hard work others have done to that end.

But with regards to maturity, what is implied here is that spiritual maturity will result is more participation. In fact that's a measure of maturity, as it is fruitfulness. Just as it is expected that when people get older they get married and have kids, so also when Christians mature they participate in ministry bearing fruit to God. "So, my brothers, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit to God." Rom 7:4 So stake out some territory and get to work!

Again the quote in verse 17 is likely an allusion to Jer 9:23,24 which I mentioned previously. He's mentioned it also in his first letter to them. "It is because of him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God— that is, our righteousness, holiness and redemption. Therefore, as it is written: "Let him who boasts boast in the Lord." 1Cor 1:30,31 And Paul sets the example saying, "May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world." Gal 6:14

As for commending oneself, proverbs says, "Let another praise you, and not your own mouth; someone else, and not your own lips." Prov 27:2




The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources

Edition: Jul 29,2015