翻譯: English GB

彼得後書 1:1-11

問安

1:1 作耶穌基督仆人和使徒的西門彼得,
  寫信給那因我們的神和(有古卷無“和”字)救主耶穌基督之義,
  與我們同得一樣寶貴信心的人:

1:2 愿恩惠、平安,
  因你們認識神和我們主耶穌,多多地加給你們。

基督徒的成熟結果子

1:3 神的神能已將一切關乎生命和虔敬的事賜給我們,
  皆因我們認識那用自己榮耀和美德召我們的主。

1:4 因此,他已將又寶貴、又極大的應許賜給我們,
1:8 你們若充充足足地有這幾樣,
  就必使你們在認識我們的主耶穌基督上
  不至于閑懶不結果子了。


1:9 人若沒有這幾樣,就是眼瞎,只看見近處的,
  忘了他舊日的罪已經得了潔淨。

基督徒的成熟產生對得救的肯定

1:10 所以弟兄們,
  應當更加殷勤,使你們所蒙的恩召和揀選堅定不移
  你們若行這幾樣,就永不失腳。
1:11 這樣,必叫你們豐豐富富地
  得以進入我們主救主耶穌基督永遠的國。


問題討論

作為基督徒,什麼知識對你的成長最重要?
第4節婸〞漲陪些應許?
第4節 是什麼導致世界的敗壞?
第5-7節 這些品德的例子有哪些?
第8節 為什麼這些能夠使你在基督的知識埵陵纂A多結果子?
結果子是什麼意思?
第9節 為什麼缺乏這些品德表明一個人忘記了他舊日的罪已經得了潔淨?
第10節 如何才能使你所蒙的召和揀選堅定不移?(這與靠做工得救有什麼不同?)
第11節 這是不是暗示有的人將不是豐豐富富地進天堂?這如何獎賞的典禮上反映出來?

注釋

恩惠和平安

彼得後書 1:1-2 作耶穌基督仆人和使徒的西門彼得,寫信給那因我們的神和(有古卷無“和”字)救主耶穌基督之義,與我們同得一樣寶貴信心的人:愿恩惠、平安,因你們認識神和我們主耶穌,多多地加給你們。

彼得的兩封信都是以他的身份開始,與保羅一樣。拒絕彼得的教訓就是拒絕耶穌基督的教訓。這封信是寫給信徒的,那些已經有了使人得救的信。

認識基督耶穌使人經歷豐富的恩惠和平安。恩惠是不配得的恩慈,比如我們對罪得赦免的經歷。平安有兩個方面。其一是結束了我們與神之間的敵對,如經上說:“我們既因信稱義,就借著我們的主耶穌基督得與神相和。”【羅馬書 5:1】其二就與神相和之後所經歷的平靜。“我留下平安給你們,我將我的平安賜給你們。我所賜的,不像世人所賜的。你們心堣ㄜn憂愁,也不要膽怯。”【約翰福音 14:27】所以,“應當一無挂慮,只要凡事借著禱告,祈求和感謝,將你們所要的告訴神。神所賜,出人意外的平安,必在基督耶穌堳O守你們的心懷意念。”【腓立比書 4:6-7】


通過認識獲得虔敬

彼得後書 1:3-4 神的神能已將一切關乎生命和虔敬的事賜給我們,皆因我們認識那用自己榮耀和美德召我們的主。因此,他已將又寶貴、又極大的應許賜給我們,叫我們既脫離世上從情欲來的敗壞,就得與神的性情有分。

“認識”(επιγνωσιζ)在第一章堨峇F三次,在第二章堨峇F一次。這是這封短信的一個主題。在希臘文堶茪H親自地認識基督是“γνωσιζ”。但在這堜摹o用的是“επιγνωσιζ”,意思是知道某件事。與基督有個人親自的關系首先包括知道關于他的事實。生命和虔敬首先包括我們從神的道堥茠漯壅恁C因為在聖經有又寶貴、又極大的應許,這給我們過基督徒的生活提供了基礎。

作為一個例子,保羅說到經上的幾個應許:

哥林多後書 6:16-18

然後接著說:“親愛的弟兄啊,我們既有這等應許,就當潔淨自己,除去身體、靈魂一切的污穢,敬畏神,得以成聖。”【哥林多後書 7:1】這正像彼得在這堜畛羲滿C因為加入神性包括態度的改變,這帶來行為的改變。這包含著應許的作用,也包含著信的作用。人如果不信,那麼應許就起不了作用。

世上的敗壞是從哪堥茠漫O?世上的敗壞是從情欲來的。因此解決這種敗壞的辦法不只是政策和人的條例,還包括改變人的欲望。

“你們死在過犯罪惡之中,他叫你們活過來。那時,你們在其中行事為人,隨從今世的風俗,順服空中掌權者的首領,就是現今在悖逆之子心中運行的邪靈。我們從前也都在他們中間,放縱肉體的私欲,隨著肉體和心中所喜好的去行,本為可怒之子,和別人一樣。”【以弗所書 2:1-3】“就要脫去你們從前行為上的舊人,這舊人是因私欲的迷惑漸漸變壞的。”【以弗所書 4:22】“我說:你們當順著聖靈而行,就不放縱肉體的情欲了。”【加拉太書 5:16】


加上美德

彼得後書 1:5-7 正因這緣故,你們要分外地殷勤:有了信心,又要加上德行﹔有了德行,又要加上知識﹔有了知識,又要加上節制﹔有了節制,又要加上忍耐﹔有了忍耐,又要加上虔敬﹔有了虔敬,又要加上愛弟兄的心﹔有了愛弟兄的心,又要加上愛眾人的心。

成為聖潔,變得成熟包括我們的努力。

彼得後書 1:5-7
美德
解釋
德行有了信,就要下決心得到,并應用基督徒的美德。
知識但在這樣做時要以正確的知識為基礎。
節制在從聖經堭o出應用之後,要自制,以把它們實際上行出來。
忍耐而且不要只行一次,要把得出的應用變成你基督徒生活的一部分。
虔敬在做到這些之後,永遠不要忘記神是你生命的源泉,你的行為,無論有多麼的美善,若不是以神為中心,都是不虔敬的。
愛弟兄的心你現在已經能夠幫助其它基督徒達到你所達到的地步。
愛眾人的心在你帶門徒的事奉上加上關心眾人的實際需要。


美德使人多結果子

彼得後書 1:8-9 你們若充充足足地有這幾樣,就必使你們在認識我們的主耶穌基督上不至于閑懶不結果子了。人若沒有這幾樣,就是眼瞎,只看見近處的,忘了他舊日的罪已經得了潔淨。

在第5-7節堜珨〞熙o些品德是程度的問題。每個人都在某種程度上有這些美德,但讓我們加增它們。“閑懶”譯自希臘文“αργοζ”一詞。比如在耶穌講的葡萄園堛熄惜u的寓言婸﹛G“看見市上還有站的人”【馬太福音 20:3b】對于你基督徒的信仰,你是不是有很多空閑呢?你是不是發現自己在事奉基督上什麼也不做呢?如果你造就了前面提到的這些美德,那將自然地使你多結果子。類似地,注意到撒種的寓言埵h結果子取決于土壤的質良。“那落在好土堛滿A就是人聽了道,持守在誠實善良的心堙A并且忍耐著結實。”【路加福音 8:15】

但正像這個寓言還提到種子落在荊棘堙A那些目光短淺的人也同樣。因為,“撒在荊棘堛滿A就是人聽了道,後來有世上的思慮,錢財的迷惑,把道擠住了,不能結實。”【馬太福音 13:22】這種人太為目前眼下的事所分心,不能把天上的事放在心堙C或者考慮種子落在石頭地上。“撒在石頭地上的,就是人聽了道,當下歡喜領受。只因心堥S有根,不過是暫時的。及至為道遭了患難,或是受了逼迫,立刻就跌倒了。”【馬太福音 13:20-21】這種人目光更短淺,他們根本就沒有考慮他們的信意味著什麼──會給他們帶來什麼屬世的困苦。因此他們不成長。但如果你珍視你的罪被洗淨,你的這些品德就會成長,因為其它所有的比起我們在基督堛滷狣奕ㄛO微不足道的。


美德使人能夠肯定

彼得後書 1:10-11 所以弟兄們,應當更加殷勤,使你們所蒙的恩召和揀選堅定不移。你們若行這幾樣,就永不失腳。這樣,必叫你們豐豐富富地得以進入我們主救主耶穌基督永遠的國。

雖然說“一朝得救,永遠得救”,但如果得救在人的生命中沒有明顯的效果,一個人就不能肯定“一朝得救”的確已經發生了,這使人質疑這個人的信是不是真的。因此約翰寫到:“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:9-10】因此一個人的得救有多麼確定取決于這個人的行為在多大程度上像神的兒女所應該的那樣。在你像神那樣的品質逐漸成熟的時,你對你得救狀態的確信程度也將漸長。

還有,當你的這些特征逐漸成熟時,你也將越來越不容易陷入罪中,而不成熟的人則往往在這些事上跌倒。我們還可在希伯來書堿搢鴗@個類似的經文:“就當放下各樣的重擔,脫去容易纏累我們的罪,存心忍耐,奔那擺在我們前頭的路程,”【希伯來書 12:1b】其中甚至提到“忍耐”,一個彼得在前面提到的品質。

還有一個對我們的激勵就是我們將被歡迎到永恆的王國堛漱閬﹛C因為按照天資的寓言,有些人將比別人受到更豐富的歡迎。有些人將受到更豐富的嘉獎。有些人則沒有那麼豐富。就如保羅的書信一樣,他給那些在事奉中努力工作的人給予特別的褒獎。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Peter 1:1-11 (web)

Greetings

1:1 Simon Peter, a servant and apostle of Jesus Christ,
to those who have obtained a like precious faith with us
in the righteousness of our God and Savior, Jesus Christ:
1:2 Grace to you and peace be multiplied
in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord,


Christian Maturity Produces Fruitfulness

1:3 seeing that his divine power has granted to us
all things that pertain to life and godliness,
through the knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and virtue;
1:4 by which he has granted to us his precious and exceedingly great promises;
that through these you may become partakers of the divine nature,
  • having escaped from the corruption that is in the world by lust.
  • 1:5 Yes, and for this very cause adding on your part all diligence,
  • in your faith supply moral excellence;
  • and in moral excellence, knowledge;
  • 1:6 and in knowledge, self-control;
  • and in self-control patience;
  • and in patience godliness;
  • 1:7 and in godliness brotherly affection;
  • and in brotherly affection, love.
  • 1:8 For if these things are yours and abound,
    they make you to be not idle nor unfruitful
    to the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    1:9 For he who lacks these things is blind, seeing only what is near,
    having forgotten the cleansing from his old sins.


    Christian Maturity Produces Assurance of Salvation

    1:10 Therefore, brothers,
    be more diligent to make your calling and election sure.
    For if you do these things, you will never stumble.
    1:11 For thus will be richly supplied to you the entrance
    into the eternal Kingdom of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

    Discussion Questions

    What knowledge is essential to your growth as a Christian?
    What are the promises spoken of in vs 4?
    vs 4 What causes the corruption found in the world?
    vs 5-7 What are examples of each of these character qualities?
    vs 8 Why will these make you effective and productive in your knowledge of Christ?
    And what does it mean to be effective and productive?
    vs 9 Why does the lack of these qualities indicate that a person has forgotten that he had been cleansed from past sins?
    vs 10 How can you make sure that you are saved? (How is this different from salvation by works?)
    vs 11 Does this imply that some will receive a not-so-rich welcome into heaven? How might this play out in an awards ceremony?



    Comments


    Grace and Peace

    2Peter 1:1,2 Simon Peter, a servant and apostle of Jesus Christ, To those who through the righteousness of our God and Savior Jesus Christ have received a faith as precious as ours: Grace and peace be yours in abundance through the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord.

    In both of his epistles Peter starts off with his credentials, as Paul also does. To reject what Peter teaches is to reject the teachings of Jesus Christ. The letter was written to believers, those who had obtained saving faith.

    The knowledge of Jesus Christ leads to the abundant experience of grace and peace. Grace is undeserved mercy, such as we experience in the forgiveness of sins. There are two aspects to peace. One is the ending of hostility between us and God as it says, "Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ" Rom 5:1 The second is the experience of tranquility as a consequence to our being reconciled with God. "Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid." John 14:27 So "be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus." Php 4:6,7


    Attain Godliness Through Knowledge

    2Peter 1:3,4 His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.

    "Knowledge" (epignosis) is used 3 times in chapter 1 and once in chapter 2. It's one of the themes in this short epistle. Knowing Christ personally is "gnosis" in Greek. But here Peter uses "epignosis" which means to know about something. An essential part of having a personal relationship with Christ first involves knowing facts about him. Life and godliness first involves knowledge which we get from the Word of God. For in the Bible are very great and precious promises which provide a basis for living the Christian life.

    As an example Paul notes a number of promises found in scripture:

    2Cor 6:16-18
    And goes on to say, "Since we have these promises, dear friends, let us purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit, perfecting holiness out of reverence for God." 2Cor 7:1 which is what Peter is likewise saying. For participating in the divine nature involves a changed attitude with leads to a changed behavior. But as promises are involved, so is faith. Promises have no impact if one does not believe.

    What is the source of the corruption found in the world? The corruption in the world is caused by evil desires. Consequently the solution to such corruption involves not merely changes to public policy or human regulations, but rather involves changing one' desires.

    "As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath." Eph 2:1-3 But "You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires" Eph 4:22 "So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature." Gal 5:16


    Add Virtues

    2Peter 1:5-7 For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love.

    Sanctification unto maturity involves effort on our part.

    2Peter 1:5-7 Virtues
    Paraphrase
    goodness Having believed, make up your mind to develop and apply Christian virtues.
    knowledge But do so based on proper information.
    self-control And having inferred applications from the Bible, control yourself to go out and actually do them.
    perseverance And don't do them just once, but develop applications that will become part of your lifestyle. 
    godliness And having attained such, never forget that God is the source of your life and that your behavior, no matter how virtuous, is ungodly unless God is central to it.
    brotherly kindness And now you are ready to help other Christians come to the point where you are.
    love And add to your discipleship ministry a genuine concern for the real needs of others in general.


    Virtues Invoke Fruitfulness

    2Peter 1:8,9 For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But if anyone does not have them, he is nearsighted and blind, and has forgotten that he has been cleansed from his past sins.

    These qualities mentioned in verses 5-7 are a matter of degree. Everyone has degrees of them, but let us increase in them. The word "ineffective" (argos Gk.) is more accurately "idle". For example it's used in Jesus' parable of the Workers in the Vineyard of those "standing idle in the marketplace" or as the NIV has it "doing nothing". Do you have alot of idleness with regards to your Christian faith? Do you find yourself doing nothing with regards to serving Christ? If you develop these attributes mentioned previously you will find yourself busy with the Lord's work because these character qualities will naturally lead you to fruitfulness. Likewise note the parable of the sower where fruitfulness was shown to be a function of the quality of the soil. "The seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop." Lk 8:15

    But just as the parable mentions the seed which fell among thorns, so also with regards to these others who are short- sighted. For "the one who received the seed that fell among the thorns is the man who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke it, making it unfruitful." Mt 13:22 Such people are too distracted by the here and now to take to heart the things above. Or consider in the same parable the seed on rocky ground. He "is the man who hears the word and at once receives it with joy. But since he has no root, he lasts only a short time. When trouble or persecution comes because of the word, he quickly falls away." Mt 13:20,21 Such people are too short-sighted to have considered the implications of their faith - the worldly troubles it would bring them. And thus they don't grow.  But if you cherish your having been cleansed from sins, you will grow in these attributes because everything else fades in significance to the redemption we have in Christ.


    Virtues Invoke Assurance

    2Peter 1:10,11 Therefore, my brothers, be all the more eager to make your calling and election sure. For if you do these things, you will never fall, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

    While it is true "once saved, always saved", one cannot be sure that the "once saved" actually occurred if the effects of salvation are not evident in one's life, calling into question whether one's faith was genuine. Thus John writes, "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God. This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:9,10 So one's assurance of salvation is to be proportional to degree to which one behaves as a child of God should. As you mature in godly character your confidence of your salvation status will also grow.

    And secondly as you mature in these attributes, you will be less likely to fall into sin, of which the immature often stumble over. A similar verse we find in Heb 12:1b "Let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us." Here it even mentions "perseverance", one of the attributes Peter mentioned earlier.

    Furthermore is the incentive of reward in the manner in which we will be welcomed into the eternal kingdom. For as the parable of the talents notes, some will be welcomed more richly than others. Some will be commended richly. Others not so richly. Just as in many of his letters, Paul gives special commendation to those who worked hard in the ministry.


    2Peter 1:1-11 RAP

    2:1 Peter an apostle and servant of Christ
    To those who obtained a faith so nice
    So precious to us it affects our behavior
    By the righteousness of our God and Savior
    3 May grace and peace to you abound
    As in the knowledge of God it may be found
    His power has given all we need
    For a godly life, if we heed
    To our knowledge of Him who called us by His glory
    And His goodness too, just as in the story.
    4 Through these He has given promises so great
    So that in God's nature you may participate
    And escape the corruption the world inspires
    Which are caused by evil desires
    5 For this very reason try very hard
    To add goodness to your faith just like God
    6 And to your goodness knowledge also self-control
    7 Perseverance and godliness add to your soul
    And be kind as brothers like your Father above
    And last but not least you must add love
    8 If these qualities in you grow
    They will make you fruitful from what you know
    9 But if one has not one of these kind
    He is nearsighted and even blind
    For wasn't the point to be cleansed from sin?
    And doesn't he now call Jesus kin?
    10 Be careful to make sure your call
    For if you do these things you will never fall
    11 And you will receive a rich entry
    Into the kingdom (maybe this century!)


    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


    Jul 29,2015