葡萄園堛熄惜u

馬太福音 20:1-16 “因為天國好像家主清早去雇人進他的葡萄園作工。和工人講定一天一錢銀子,就打發他們進葡萄園去。約在巳初出去,看見市上還有閑站的人。就對他們說:‘你們也進葡萄園去。所當給的,我必給你們。’他們也進去了。約在午正和申初又出去,也是這樣行。約在酉初出去,看見還有人站在那堙C就問他們說:‘你們為什麼整天在這媔~站呢?’他們說:‘因為沒有人雇我們。’他說:‘你們也進葡萄園去。’到了晚上,園主對管事的說:‘叫工人都來,給他們工錢,從後來的起,到先來的為止。’約在酉初雇的人來了,各人得了一錢銀子。及至那先雇的來了,他們以為必要多得。誰知也是各得一錢。他們得了,就埋怨家主說:‘我們整天勞苦受熱,那後來的只做了一小時,你竟叫他們和我們一樣嗎?’家主回答其中的一人說:‘朋友,我不虧負你。你與我講定的,不是一錢銀子嗎?拿你的走吧。我給那後來的和給你一樣,這是我愿意的。我的東西難道不可隨我的意思用嗎?因為我作好人,你就紅了眼嗎?’這樣,那在後的將要在前﹔在前的將要在後了(有古卷在此有‘因為被召的人多,選上的人少。’)。”

問題討論

工作相當于什麼?雇工相當于什麼?
這與【羅馬書 4:4,5】有什麼不同?
這個園主是不是不公平呢?他是不是不義呢?
從這個寓言你可得出什麼應用?
對于天上的賞賜,我們應該有什麼樣的期望?

注釋

注意第一批雇工事先有一個關于工錢的合同。有人把他們比作在摩西律法之下與神有一約定的猶太人。另外兩批雇工沒有事先定下工錢。他們與家主的關系是信任關系。他保証不虧待他們,但在他們工作時,他們相信家主不會虧待他們。有些人把他們比作基督徒,信靠神的良善品格會善待他們,不在律法或一套合同的規定之下。

那些到得早,做了更多工作的人忌妒那些做得少卻得到同樣多工錢的人,這并不意外。他們在乎的是律法和公義,因為他們與家主的合同關系正是如此。他們妒忌給那些後到雇工的恩典。因為不在“律法”之下,家主有自由對他們施恩惠。所以那些視他們與神的關系為律法關系的人妒忌那些在神的恩典之下的人。

那些把他們自己視為神的雇員的人要求公平。但那些視自己是神的仆人的不會抱怨神施予恩典的差異,就如寓言卑微的仆人所教的:“這樣,你們做完了一切所吩咐的,只當說:‘我們是無用的仆人。所做的本是我們應分做的。’”【路加福音 17:10】

更進一步,關于做正確的事,我們積蓄在天上的并不正比于我們過基督徒生活的時間。如果在很年青的時候就成了基督徒,他也許有幾十年的時間勤勉地過基督徒生活,但最後所得的與一個年紀較大時才成為基督徒,在死前只有較短時間過基督徒生活的人所得的相同。

類似地,如果兩個人同時成為基督徒,但一個比另一個死得早。那麼死得早的所做的工也許會少些,但因為先進入安歇,就比那個做工更久,後進安歇的人更早享受財富。

“我的東西難道不可隨我的意思用嗎?因為我作好人,你就紅了眼嗎?”這句話提醒我們,我們是在神的恩典之下做事。的確,作為神的仆人,如果真正把耶穌當做主,我們根本就不應該要神給我們任何報酬。他獎勵我們是出于他自己的恩惠。

這個寓言的另一側面則是考慮那些找了一整天工作,直到很晚才找到雇主的人的處境。任何一個曾失過業,在積蓄漸盡的窘況下花幾個月時間找工作的人都會知到所面臨的困難和壓力。在這堙A這些人似乎只是沒有遇到合適的機遇。而這位家主,因為是一個富有恩慈的人,想幫助這些機遇的受害者,給他們與那些因為機遇能夠早來工作的人一樣多的工錢。在生活中成功的人往往自負,看不起那些不幸的人,而沒能看到他們成功的很大的因素是他們控制之外的機遇。

考慮那些在後半生才成為基督徒的人。若撇開加爾文的哲學,如果他們死得早些,他們就已經進地獄了。在認識基督以後,若讓挑選的話,我想其中的大多數都會選擇早些得救的,竟管這意味著他們要工作得久一些。


Rap

There once was a man who owned a vineyard
And needed some men to work very hard
He hired some men early in the day
And told them a denarius would be their pay
And every few hours he hired more men
Telling them the same again and again
Then in the evening he gave them their wage
But the ones who came early expressed outrage
"We worked harder than anyone here.
Aren't you being just a bit unfair."
"I'm not being unfair to you.
A denarius was what you agreed to."
Now take your pay and go.
Even though you thinks it's low.
For I'll be gracious to whom I want.
I'll be generous even though you aren't.
For many who are victims of circumstance.
And hiring you early was a matter of chance.
There are Christians who live quite a long time.
Laboring all day taking care of the vine.
But some get saved after they are old
Or live a short while after entering the fold
But nonetheless on judgement day
Both may end up receiving the same pay
For the point is not simply doing his biz
But rather revealing how gracious he is.

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Parable of 
The Workers in the Vineyard

Matt 20:1-16  "For the Kingdom of Heaven is like a man who was the master of a household, who went out early in the morning to hire laborers for his vineyard.  When he had agreed with the laborers for a denarius a day, he sent them into his vineyard. He went out about the third hour, and saw others standing idle in the marketplace. To them he said, ‘You also go into the vineyard, and whatever is right I will give you.’ So they went their way. Again he went out about the sixth and the ninth hour, and did likewise. About the eleventh hour he went out, and found others standing idle. He said to them, ‘Why do you stand here all day idle?’ "They said to him, ‘Because no one has hired us.’ "He said to them, ‘You also go into the vineyard, and you will receive whatever is right.’ When evening had come, the lord of the vineyard said to his steward, ‘Call the laborers and pay them their wages, beginning from the last to the first.’ "When those who were hired at about the eleventh hour came, they each received a denarius.  When the first came, they supposed that they would receive more; and they likewise each received a denarius. When they received it, they murmured against the master of the household, saying, ‘These last have spent one hour, and you have made them equal to us, who have borne the burden of the day and the scorching heat!’ "But he answered one of them, ‘Friend, I am doing you no wrong. Didn’t you agree with me for a denarius? Take that which is yours, and go your way. It is my desire to give to this last just as much as to you. Isn’t it lawful for me to do what I want to with what I own? Or is your eye evil, because I am good?’ So the last will be first, and the first last. For many are called, but few are chosen."  (web)


Discussion Questions

What is the labor and who are laborers equivalent to?
How is this different from Romans 4:4,5?
Is the landowner being unfair? Unjust?
What applications can you infer from this parable?
What expectations should we have concerning heavenly rewards?


Comments

Note that the first set of laborers had a contractual agreement to get paid at a certain rate. Some have compare them with the Jews who under the law of Moses had a contractual agreement with God. The other two sets of laborers were not promised a set wage. Their relationship with the master was one of trust. He promised to give them what was right, but while they worked they simply had to trust the master to give them what was right. Some have likened them to Christians who rely upon God's good character to do good by them and are not under the law or regulations of a contractual agreement.

It is not surprising that those arriving earlier and doing more work would envy those who did less, yet receive the same pay. They were just concerned for issues of law and justice, for so was their contractual relationship with the master. They were jealous of the grace give the latter workers. For not being under a "law", the master was free to practice graciousness with regards to them. So those who view their relationship with God as a legal one envy those who are under God's grace.

Those who view themselves as God's employees demand fairness. But those who view themselves as God's slaves don't grumble over the disparity with which He dispenses His grace, as the parable of the unworthy servants as teaches, "When you have done everything you were told to do, should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done our duty.’" Lk 17:10

Furthermore, in terms of doing what is right, the rewards that we are storing up in heaven are not proportional to the total amount of time we practiced the Christian life. If someone becomes a Christian early in life he may spend decades diligently practicing the Christian life, but in the end receive the same as one who became a Christian later in life and practiced it for a short time before his death.

Similarly, if two became Christians at the same time, but one lived shorter than the other, then the one who lived shorter, and therefore may have done less total labor, would nonetheless have come to enter the rest first and enjoyed the treasures before the one the other who would labor longer, and entered last.

The phrase, "Don't I have the right to do what I want with my own money? Or are you envious because I am generous?" reminds us that we are operating under God's grace. Indeed, being servants of God, we shouldn't require God to pay us at all, if we truly call Jesus Lord. But He rewards us as His own graciousness dictates.

One other aspect to this is to consider the precarious position of those who were looking for work all day and only got hired in the last hour. If anyone has been unemployed and spent many months looking for a job as your savings decrease, you know difficulties and pressures you can face. In this case it seemed such men were just victims of circumstance, and the landowner, being a gracious man wanted to help these victims of circumstance by paying them the same as others whose circumstances allowed them to go to work earlier. People who are successful in this life often congratulate themselves and despise the unfortunate, but often don't consider that much of their success was simply due to circumstances not under their control.

Consider the precarious position of those who become Christians late in life. Barring Calvinistic philosophy, if they had died earlier, they would have gone to hell. Given a choice, after having come to know Christ, I suspect most of these would have preferred to have been saved early in life, though they may have had to labor longer.


Rap

There once was a man who owned a vineyard
And needed some men to work very hard
He hired some men early in the day
And told them a denarius would be their pay
And every few hours he hired more men
Telling them the same again and again
Then in the evening he gave them their wage
But the ones who came early expressed outrage
"We worked harder than anyone here.
Aren't you being just a bit unfair."
"I'm not being unfair to you.
A denarius was what you agreed to."
Now take your pay and go.
Even though you thinks it's low.
For I'll be gracious to whom I want.
I'll be generous even though you aren't.
For many who are victims of circumstance.
And hiring you early was a matter of chance.
There are Christians who live quite a long time.
Laboring all day taking care of the vine.
But some get saved after they are old
Or live a short while after entering the fold
But nonetheless on judgement day
Both may end up receiving the same pay
For the point is not simply doing his biz
But rather revealing how gracious he is.

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Nov 11,2012