翻譯: English 中文 GB

帖撒羅尼迦後書
第一章

與神的國相稱的生活

1:1 保羅、西拉、提摩太,
   寫信給帖撒羅尼迦
    在神我們的父與主耶穌基督堛滷郱|。

1:2 愿恩惠、平安,
   從父神和主耶穌基督,
  歸與你們。

1:3 弟兄們,我們該為你們常常感謝神,
   這本是合宜的﹔
  因你們的信心格外增長,
  并且你們眾人彼此相愛的心也都充足。

1:4 甚至我們在神的各教會堿飢A們夸口,
   都因你們在所受的一切逼迫患難中,
    仍舊存忍耐和信心。

1:5 這正是神公義判斷的明証。
   叫你們可算配得神的國,
   你們就是為這國受苦。

1:6 神既是公義的,
   就必將患難報應那加患難給你們的人。

1:7 也必使你們這受患難的人,
   與我們同得平安。
  那時,主耶穌同他有能力的天使從天上在火焰中顯現,

1:8 要報應那不認識神
    和那不聽從我主耶穌福音的人。

1:9 他們要受刑罰,
   就是永遠沉淪,
     離開主的面和他權能的榮光。

1:10 這正是主降臨要在他聖徒的身上得榮耀,
   又在一切信的人身上顯為希奇的那日子。
   (我們對你們作的見証,你們也信了。)

1:11 因此,我們常為你們禱告,
   愿我們的神看你們配得過所蒙的召。
   又用大能成就你們一切所羨慕的良善,
    和一切因信心所作的工夫。

1:12 叫我們主耶穌的名在你們身上得榮耀,
   你們也在他身上得榮耀,
    都照著我們的神并主耶穌基督的恩。


問題討論

第3節 你有沒有注意到你認識的某個人的品德在成長?
第4節 什麼樣的情形會養育信心和愛心?
在生活中經歷很少的困難會有什麼損害?
第5,11節 可算配得神的國是什麼意思?
這與一個人的得救狀態有什麼關系?
第6-9節 如何解釋在表面上看神的公義和神的愛之間的矛盾?
神的品質與眾人對“好、愛和善”的理解有什麼不同?
第8節 哪種人會經受永遠的沉淪?
第9節 什麼是永遠沉淪?
第10節 為什麼保羅能夠充滿信心地說帖撒羅尼迦的聖徒將逃脫這樣的審判?你對你自己將會逃脫有這樣的信心嗎?
第11節 如何把這些融合到你的禱告生活堨h?


注釋

為成長感謝神

帖撒羅尼迦後書 1:1-4 保羅、西拉、提摩太,寫信給帖撒羅尼迦在神我們的父與主耶穌基督堛滷郱|。愿恩惠、平安,從父神和主耶穌基督,歸與你們。弟兄們,我們該為你們常常感謝神,這本是合宜的﹔因你們的信心格外增長,并且你們眾人彼此相愛的心也都充足。甚至我們在神的各教會堿飢A們夸口,都因你們在所受的一切逼迫患難中,仍舊存忍耐和信心。

“我們感謝神我們主耶穌基督的父,常常為你們禱告,因聽見你們在基督耶穌堛信心,并向眾聖徒的愛心。是為那給你們存在天上的盼望。這盼望就是你們從前在福音真理的道上所聽見的。”【歌羅西書 1:3-5】

“你們若充充足足地有這几樣,就必使你們在認識我們的主耶穌基督上不至于閑懶不結果子了。”【彼得後書 1:8】

基督徒的品質和特征應該不斷地增長,而不是原封不動。神播下種子,是要它增長。看一看在過去的几年堙A你的信心和你對基督徒弟兄的愛是如何增長的。

“因此,你們是大有喜樂,但如今,在百般的試煉中暫時憂愁,叫你們的信心既被試驗,就比那被火試驗仍然能壞的金子更顯寶貴,可以在耶穌基督顯現的時候,得著稱贊、榮耀、尊貴。”【彼得前書 1:6-7】

保羅怎麼知道他們的信心在增長呢?信心是由人對逼迫和試煉所作出的反應顯出來的。同樣,愛也由人的行為表現出來。信和愛不只是感覺。它們是可以看得見的。當時,世上有些地方在迫害基督徒,但基督徒不應膽怯,隱藏他們的信而作秘密的基督徒,而應該公開地承認基督,與基督徒弟兄認同,并接受隨之而來的逼迫。否則,他們的信很可能是虛假的。

一件可以幫助基督徒克服膽怯的事就是看那些公開面對迫害的人的見証。保羅寫到:“并且那在主堛漣怚S,多半因我受的捆鎖,就篤信不疑,越發放膽傳神的道,無所懼怕。”【腓立比書 1:14】


可算配得

帖撒羅尼迦後書 1:5 這正是神公義判斷的明証。叫你們可算配得神的國,你們就是為這國受苦。

也就是說,當那些拒絕福音的人對基督徒表現出如此的敵意時,就顯明神給他們定罪是正確的。當基督徒以他們當做的那樣去做的時候,就顯明神算他們配得神的國是正確的。但如果救贖是白給的禮物,那麼“可算配得”難到不暗示某種工作或努力嗎?的確,耶穌說:“你們要努力進窄門。”【路加福音 13;24】他說的是那些將來“算為配得那世界”的人(【路加福音 20:35】)。他還說:“不背著他的十字架跟從我的,也不配作我的門徒。”【馬太福音 10:38】雖然得救是白白得來的,但不是無條件的。其條件就是信基督。信不是工作,信是一種態度,但還是需要努力才能付之于應用。今天有些人不鼓勵基督徒努力把他們的信付之于應用,他們傳一種不著重應用的信,而不是聖經上所說的信。使人得就的信是作工的信。他們在試煉之下的忍耐是他們的信的証據

現在考慮你自己,看看你是不是可算配得神的國,憑什麼神可算你配得。如果得救的條件是信,那麼你的信有什麼証據呢?如果有人因為你是基督徒對你進行審判,有沒有足夠的証據使這個案子成立呢?


預期神的報應

帖撒羅尼迦後書 1:6-10 神既是公義的,就必將患難報應那加患難給你們的人。也必使你們這受患難的人,與我們同得平安。那時,主耶穌同他有能力的天使從天上在火焰中顯現,

要報應那不認識神和那不聽從我主耶穌福音的人。他們要受刑罰,就是永遠沉淪,離開主的面和他權能的榮光。這正是主降臨要在他聖徒的身上得榮耀,又在一切信的人身上顯為希奇的那日子。(我們對你們作的見証,你們也信了。)

經上寫到:親愛的弟兄,不要自己伸冤,寧可讓步,聽憑主怒(或作“讓人發怒”)。因為經上記著:“主說:‘伸冤在我,我必報應。’”【羅馬書 12:19】雖然基督徒要以溫柔對待敵意,我們需記住神最終會懲罰那些不公義地把患難加給基督徒的人。不但他們,神還會懲罰那些不認識神或拒絕順服耶穌的福音的人。

永遠沉淪這個懲罰看上去似乎過于嚴重,但事實將會如此。耶穌和他的使徒在這一點上都很明確。比如耶穌說:“凡罵弟兄是‘魔利’的,難免地獄的火。”【馬太福音 5:22】在路加福音第十六章堙A他描述了這樣一個地方,在那埵酗@個人,“他在陰間受痛苦。”【路加福音 16:23】所以耶穌警告說:“那殺身體不能殺靈魂的,不要怕他們。惟有能把身體和靈魂都滅在地獄堛滿A正要怕他。”【馬太福音 10:28】作為証據,考慮魔鬼和那敵基督的,“他們必晝夜受痛苦,直到永永遠遠。”【啟示錄 20:10】

“不認識神”是什麼意思呢?令人吃驚的是,“認識”這個詞,保羅使用的是“ειδω”,而不是“γιυωσκω”。“γιυωσκω”是關系性的知識。而“ειδω”是通過感覺而獲得的知識。所以,這婸〞漱ㄛO這些人與神沒有個人的關系,而是說這些人缺乏感覺,因而不認識神。還有,這堛漁仴A是完成時,表明他們“不認識神”時由過去一直延續到現在的。也就是說:“從來沒有認識神。”以弗所書在描寫這種情況時說:“他們心地昏昧,與神所賜的生命隔絕了,都因自己無知,心堶韏w。”【以弗所書 4:18】

“聽從”譯自“υπακουω”。其意思是聽話、順從。比如,父母常對他們的孩子說:“你為什麼不話?”,意思是說:“你為什麼不順從?”這堥洏峈漪O現在時,表示那些由神生的人的生活方式。這個詞還用在希伯來書堙G

“他既得以完全,就為凡順從他的人,成了永遠得救的根源。”【希伯來書 5:9】

因此不順從的人將被投入地獄,也許會大出他們的預料。“凡稱呼我:‘主啊,主啊’的人,不能都進天國。惟獨遵行我天父旨意的人,才能進去。”【馬太福音 7:21】

有意思的是“信”這個詞在這堥洏峇F現在時和不定過去時兩種時態。

為什麼保羅因為帖撒羅尼迦人在某一時刻信就能夠說他們將被包括在那些信的人(現在時,表示持續意思)堜O?他怎麼知道他們會繼續信呢?解釋這一點的唯一辦法是用聖徒的堅忍不拔的教義。也就是說,不但“一朝得救,永遠得救”,而且“一但有了使人得救的信,就會永遠信”。正因為如此,當他基于他們的表現,確証了他們的信達到了使人得救的質量之後,他就可以很有把握地預言他們的將來。在【帖撒羅尼迦前書 3:5】堙A他對他們的狀態有所疑問,但在衡量他們在逼迫之下的的表現之後,他們很明顯地對基督有真正的信。而在他們對基督有真正的信之後,他相信他們會繼續下去。


因信心所作的工夫

帖撒羅尼迦後書 1:11-12 因此,我們常為你們禱告,愿我們的神看你們配得過所蒙的召,又用大能成就你們一切所羨慕的良善和一切因信心所作的工夫。叫我們主耶穌的名在你們身上得榮耀,你們也在他身上得榮耀,都照著我們的神并主耶穌基督的恩。

禱告求神看他們配得所蒙的召不但是一個請求,更是因看到他們忍受逼迫和對基督徒弟兄的愛而對他們的肯定。所以鑒于他們所羨慕的良善和真誠的信,他向神禱告,求神成就他們一切所羨慕的良善和一切因信心所作的工夫。

信心會激勵我們去行動。我們需要覺察到聖靈的激勵,因為聖靈幫助我們從信心推斷出應用。你的什麼行為是由你的信心所激勵的呢?現在花時間去為你自己和別的基督徒禱告,求神將成就你們一切所羨慕的良善和一切因信心所作的工夫。成就這些會給主耶穌帶來榮耀,結果也會給他的仆人帶來榮耀,不論是今生還是永生。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

2Thessalonians 1 (web)

Living Worthy of the Kingdom

1:1 Paul, Silvanus, and Timothy,
to the assembly of the Thessalonians in God our Father, and the Lord Jesus Christ:
1:2 Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.
1:3 We are bound to always give thanks to God for you, brothers, even as it is appropriate,
because your faith grows exceedingly,
and the love of each and every one of you towards one another abounds;
1:4 so that we ourselves boast about you in the assemblies of God
for your patience and faith in all your persecutions and in the afflictions which you endure.

1:5 This is an obvious sign of the righteous judgment of God,
to the end that you may be counted worthy of the Kingdom of God, for which you also suffer.

1:6 Since it is a righteous thing with God to repay affliction to those who afflict you,
1:7 and to give relief to you that are afflicted with us,

when the Lord Jesus is revealed from heaven with his mighty angels in flaming fire,
1:8 giving vengeance to those who don't know God,
and to those who don't obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus,
1:9 who will pay the penalty:
eternal destruction from the face of the Lord and from the glory of his might,
1:10 when he comes to be glorified in his saints,
and to be admired among all those who have believed
(because our testimony to you was believed) in that day.
1:11 To this end we also pray always for you,
that our God may count you worthy of your calling,
and fulfill every desire of goodness
and work of faith, with power;
1:12 that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you,
and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Discussion Questions

vs 3 What characteristics have you recognized that someone you know has been growing in that you have come to appreciate?
vs 4 Under what kind of circumstances fertilize faith and love?
What is detrimental about experiencing few difficulties in life?
vs 5,11 What does it mean to be counted worthy of the kingdom?
How is this related to one's salvation status?
vs 6-9 How do you reconcile that apparent contradiction between God's love and His justice?
How is God's character contrary to the popular ideas of what is considered "good, loving and kind"?
vs 8 What categories of people will experience eternal destruction?
vs 9 What is eternal destruction? Annihilation?
vs 10 How can Paul speak so confidently about the Thessalonian's future state of escape from such judgment? Do you have such confidence that you will escape?
vs 11 How can you incorporate these three ideas into your own prayer life?


Comments

Thank God for Growth

2Thess 1:1-4  Paul, Silas and Timothy, To the church of the Thessalonians in God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ: Grace and peace to you from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. We ought always to thank God for you, brothers, and rightly so, because your faith is growing more and more, and the love every one of you has for each other is increasing. Therefore, among God’s churches we boast about your perseverance and faith in all the persecutions and trials you are enduring.

Col 1:3-5 We always thank God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, when we pray for you,  because we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and of the love you have for all the saints— the faith and love that spring from the hope that is stored up for you in heaven and that you have already heard about in the word of truth, the gospel

2Peter 1:8  For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Christian character qualities were meant to grow, not to be stagnant. When God plants a seed he intends for it to grow. Consider in what ways you have grown in your faith and in your love for fellow Christians these past years.

1Peter 1:6,7 In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that your faith— of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire— may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed.

How did Paul know their faith was growing? Faith is revealed by one's response to persecutions and trials. And likewise love is revealed by one's actions. Faith and love are not things simply to be felt. They are to be seen. In parts of the world there's persecution against Christians as at that time, but Christians should not cower and hide their faith as secret Christians but should publically identify with Christ and with the Christian community and accept the persecutions which come with that position, else it may very well be that their faith is not genuine.

One thing that helps Christians to overcome cowardice is by considering the testimony of those who take a public stand in the face of persecution. Paul writes, "Because of my chains, most of the brothers in the Lord have been encouraged to speak the word of God more courageously and fearlessly." Php 1:14



Counted Worthy

2Thess 1:5  All this is evidence that God’s judgment is right, and as a result you will be counted worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you are suffering.

That is, when those who reject the gospel portray such hostility against Christians, it shows that God is right in condemning them. And when Chistians behave as Christians should, it shows God is right in counting them worthy of the kingdom. But if salvation is a free gift, doesn't "counted worthy" imply some kind of work or effort. Indeed Jesus said, "Make every effort to enter through the narrow door" Luke 13:24 and he spoke of those "worthy of taking part" in the age to come. (Luke  20:35) and he says, "anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me."Mt 10:38 Though salvation is free, it is not unconditional. It is conditioned upon Christian faith. Faith is not a work, it's an attitude, but nonetheless requires effort to apply. Now there are those today who would discourage Christians from making an effort at applying their faith, who preach a non-application oriented faith which is not Biblical faith. The faith that saves is the faith that works. Their perseverance under trial was evidence of their faith.

Now consider yourself as to whether you are worthy of the kingdom and by what measure God will reckon you worthy. For if salvation is conditioned upon faith, what evidence is there of your faith? And if you were put on trial for being a Christian would there be enough evidence to convict you?



Anticipate God's Vengeance

2Thess 1:6-10 God is just: He will pay back trouble to those who trouble you and give relief to you who are troubled, and to us as well. This will happen when the Lord Jesus is revealed from heaven in blazing fire with his powerful angels. He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus. They will be punished with everlasting destruction and shut out from the presence of the Lord and from the majesty of his power on the day he comes to be glorified in his holy people and to be marveled at among all those who have believed. This includes you, because you believed our testimony to you.

It is written, Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: "It is mine to avenge; I will repay," says the Lord. Rom 12:19 While Christians are to respond to hostility with meekness, let us keep in mind that God will eventually punish those who unjustly trouble Christians. And not only them. He will also punish those who do not know God or refuse to obey the Gospel of Jesus.

Now while everlasting destruction would seem too severe a punishment, that is the way it is. Jesus was clear on this as was his apostles. For example Jesus said, "anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell." Mt 5:22 In Luke 16 he describes such a place where a man was "in hell, where he was in torment". Luke 16:23 Thus Jesus warned, "Do not be afraid of those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather, be afraid of the One who can destroy both soul and body in hell."Mt 10:28 And as evidence of such torment being eternal consider the fate of the devil and the anti-Christ. "They will be tormented day and night for ever and ever" Rev 20:10

What does it mean "do not know God"? Surprisingly, Paul uses the word "oida" for "know" rather than "ginosko". "Ginosko" is relational knowledge. But "oida" is knowledge gained through perception. So this is not saying that such people do not have a personal relationship with God, but rather that these people are ignorant of God due to their lack of perception. Futhermore, the tense is perfect, indicating that their not "knowing" was something continuous from the past to the present. It really should be "have not perceived God". Eph 4:18 describes such a condition saying, "They are darkened in their understanding and separated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them due to the hardening of their hearts."

"Obey" is "hupakouo". This is a listening type of obedience, often used by parents in speaking thusly to their children, "Why don't you listen to me?", meaning "Why don't you obey me?" It is in the present tense which imparts a lifestyle sense characteristic of those born of God. It is used also in Hebrews:

"once made perfect, he became the source of eternal salvation for all who obey him" Heb 5:9
And thus the disobedient will go to hell also, perhaps much to their surprise.
 "Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven." Matt 7:21
There's an interesting play between the present tense and the aorist tense of "believe" in this verse. How can Paul say that these Thessalonians will be included among those who will have believed (in a present continuous sense) just because they had come to believe at some point in time? He doesn't know whether they will continue to believe. The only way to resolve this is through the doctrine of the Perseverance of the Saints. Not only
once saved, always saved", but "once having believed with salvific faith, one will always believe". And thus, having been convinced that their faith was of salvific value, based upon their performance, he could speak confidently of their future. In 1Thess 3:5 he had expressed doubt as to their status, but upon evaluation of their performance under pressure it was clear they came to genuine faith in Christ. And having come to genuine faith in Christ he was confident that they would continue in it.


Acts Prompted by Faith

2Thess 1:11,12 With this in mind, we constantly pray for you, that our God may count you worthy of his calling, and that by his power he may fulfill every good purpose of yours and every act prompted by your faith. We pray this so that the name of our Lord Jesus may be glorified in you, and you in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ.

Praying that God may count them worthy is less of a request than it is an endorsement in light of their endurance through persecutions and love for fellow Christians. And thus in view of their good purposes and genuine faith he prays that God may fulfill their every good purpose and every act which had been prompted by their faith.

Faith prompts us to action. We need to sense the prompting of the Holy Spirit who helps us infer applications of our faith. What actions have been prompted by your faith?  Take time to pray now for yourself and other Christians that God may fulfill every good intention and every act prompted by faith. Such fulfillment brings glory to the Lord Jesus, and consequently back to his servants, whether in this life or the next.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015