翻譯: English 中文 GB

以弗所書

2:1-2:10

傳化到神的家庭

由死入生

2:1 你們在過犯罪惡之中,他叫你們活過來。

2:2 那時,你們在其中行事為人,

  隨從今世的風俗,順服空中掌權者的首領,
  就是現今在悖逆之子心中運行的邪靈。


2:3 我們從前也都在他們中間,放縱肉體的私欲,
  隨著肉體和心中所喜好的去行,
  本為可怒之子,和別人一樣。


2:4 然而神既有丰富憐憫

  因他愛我們的大愛,


2:5 當我們死在過犯中的時候,
  便我們與基督一同活過來
  (你們得救是本乎)。

2:6 他又我們與基督耶穌一同復活
  一同坐在天上,


2:7 要將他極丰富的恩典,
  就是他在基督耶穌埵V我們所施的恩慈
  顯明給後來的世代看。


2:8 你們得救是本乎,也因著信。
  這并不是出于自己,乃是神所賜的﹔


2:9 也不是出于行為,免得有人自夸。

2:10 我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌堻y成的,
  為要叫我們行善,就是神所預備叫我們行的。


問題討論

觀察

  • 保羅如何概括我們成為基督徒之前的行為和生活方式的特點?
  • 注意到第2:6節與第1:20節之間的平行。
  • 他還把前一段堛滬些重要的詞用到這一段堙H
  • 根據這一段,如何概括和總結神所做的和我們所做的?
  • 解釋

  • 鑒于第2:2節婸〞“行事為人”指的是過去的事,你認為基督徒的生活與非基督徒的生活會有什麼不同?
  • 第2:5節婸〞叫我們與基督一同活過來得救是什麼意思?(這是很基本的!)
  • 第2:6節堸繴復活坐在天上有什麼重要意義?
  • 神做這些的目的是什麼?(2:7)
  • 我們得救是不是取決于我們的表現?(2:8-9)參考【羅馬書 4:1-8】
  • 信與作工的關系是什麼?(2:10)參考【雅各書 2:14-26】
  • 應用

    (如果沒有應用,就沒有關系)

  • 你注意到或希望看到一個成為基督徒的人的生活方式有什麼改變?
  • 你今天會做什麼以保証你將進天堂?
  • 從這堿搢麈咫w經為我們准備好了善工要我們去做,這對你具體的事奉有什麼影響?你如何發現這些善工究竟是什麼?


  • 注釋

    這一段的主題是拯救,而其重點不是稱義,而是從不義的行為到義的行為的拯救。今天往往有些人只強調一個人在基督堛漲鼽m,而忽略拯救對一個人的行為的作用。甚至有些人只說拯救是不進地獄的保險,而只字不提人的行為的改變。

    你們曾是死的

    以弗所書 2:1-3 你們死在過犯罪惡之中,他叫你們活過來。那時,你們在其中行事為人,隨從今世的風俗,順服空中掌權者的首領,就是現今在悖逆之子心中運行的邪靈。我們從前也都在他們中間,放縱肉體的私欲,隨著肉體和心中所喜好的去行,本為可怒之子,和別人一樣。

    死在過犯罪惡之中說的不只是一個人的位置,還有他的行為。一個死在過犯罪惡之中的人的行為就是順服于罪性的欲望和肉體的私欲。撒但通過我們的肉體及它人的肉體來影響我們。那些順從肉體的私欲的人是跟隨撒但的,他們聽信那些宣揚符合他們肉體私欲的信息的人。“凡屬基督耶穌的人,是已經把肉體,連肉體的邪情私欲,同釘在十字架上了。”【加拉太書 5:24】

    那些現在“被揀選的”,就是基督徒,都曾經是神忿怒的對像。“和別人一樣”表明過去我們與那些現在尚未得救的人沒有區別。就如保羅對哥林多的基督徒說:“你們豈不知不義的人不能承受神的國嗎?不要自欺!無論是淫亂的、拜偶像的、奸淫的、作孌童的、親男色的、偷竊的、貪婪的、醉酒的、辱罵的、勒索的,都不能承受神的國。你們中間也有人從前是這樣。”【哥林多前書 6:9-11a】

    以弗所書的這几節可以幫助有些人糾正對【羅馬書 9:22-23】的誤解,那兩節經文說:“倘若神要顯明他的忿怒,彰顯他的權能,就多多忍耐寬容那可怒預備遭毀滅的器皿﹔又要將他丰盛的榮耀彰顯在那蒙憐憫、早預備得榮耀的器皿上。”【羅馬書 9:22-23】“器皿”指的是類別。就個人來說,屬于哪一類是可以改變的。所以,雖然你以前曾是忿怒的對像(可怒之子),在去往地獄的道上,但你已經變成了蒙憐憫的對像。


    活過來

    以弗所書 2:4-5 然而神既有丰富的憐憫,因他愛我們的大愛,當我們死在過犯中的時候,便叫我們與基督一同活過來(你們得救是本乎恩)。

    拯救不是靠完美的行為掙來的。“因我們還軟弱的時候,基督就按所定的日期為罪人死。”【羅馬書 5:6】救贖與借貸不同,放貸人要求借貸人出示相當數量的財產作貸款的低押。你一無所有,但神把一切都付清了。神使罪人稱義,如經上所記:“惟有不作工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。”【羅馬書 4:5】神稱人為義不是因為人是好人,因為從來就沒有真正的“好人”。唯一的條件就是信基督,其証據就是他們的信所作的工。


    復活和坐在天上

    以弗所書 2:6-7 他又叫我們與基督耶穌一同復活,一同坐在天上,要將他極丰富的恩典,就是他在基督耶穌埵V我們所施的恩慈,顯明給後來的世代看。

    這兩節說的是我們的位置。注意到第一章婸”魽G使他從死復活他在天上坐在自己的右邊,”【以弗所書 1:20】原文在這堥洏峈漪O過去時態,指的是發生在過去的事。這樣看來,基督徒作為一個類別是與基督一同死,一同復活,一同坐在天上的。雖然我們還在盼望將來我們肉身的復活,與基督一同坐在天上,但與此同時,我們還看到這些事的某些方面已經在我們身上發生了。基督已從死奡_活,我們也已與基督一同復活。基督坐在神的右手邊,我們也坐在神的右手邊。我們已復活說的是一個與神的活的關系。我們坐在神的右邊說的是我們在基督堛澈O障,因為已經因信稱義,以及我們作為使節在世上作神的工的權柄。我們還因著基督能夠在禱告中來到神的面前,得到盡我們的職責所需的恩惠。

    這一節還意味著對我們人生的目的這個問題的回答。人生的意義和目的就在于,作為神的恩典的對像,榮耀神的恩慈。


    得救是本乎恩

    以弗所書 2:8-9 你們得救是本乎恩,也因著信。這并不是出于自己,乃是神所賜的﹔也不是出于行為,免得有人自夸。

    有些人被誤導,把不是保羅本意的意思讀進這兩節堨h。讓我們仔細地分析原文來清除誤解,明白其原本的意思。

    “你們得救是本乎恩”在前面已經提到:“當我們死在過犯中的時候,便叫我們與基督一同活過來(你們得救是本乎恩)。”【以弗所書 2:5】這埵陪蚋衝隍滌暋D。“本乎恩”在希臘文(這本書寫作時所用的語言)原文作“χαριζ”,也就是與格的“恩”。問題在于,保羅想說的是與格的方法(以恩典的方法)還是與格的方式(恩慈地)。我認為保羅的本意是後者。因為恩慈地描繪的是神是如何拯就我們的,因為他有一個恩慈的態度。而在另一方面,“因著信”,使用屬格的介詞“δια”,專指手段或方法。“信”是方法,“恩”是方式。神抓住我們的信,把我們救出來。他恩慈地這樣做。但沒有信的人則不能得救。就如羅伯遜(Robertson)在他的《新約詞畫》(Word Pictures of the New Testament)婸”獐芊G“‘恩典’在于神,‘信’在于我們。”

    有些人把“這并不是出于自己,乃是神所賜的”解釋成信是賜給的。但這兩節不支持這個觀點。因為“這”是中性的,而“信”陰性的,所以“乃是”指的不是信。“乃是”指的是中性的“所賜的”。其意思就是:“所賜的不是出于你自己,乃是神所賜的”。但這本身不能解釋“所賜的”究竟是什麼。保羅說的究竟是“(信)乃是神所賜的……”還是“(得救)乃是神所賜的……”?

    至于“所賜的”,在新約堻q常用來表達這個意思的詞有兩個:“δωρεα”和“δωρον”。“δωρεα”強調的是白白給的,而“δωρον用來表示獻祭的供物。保羅在這堥洏峈漪O“δωρον”,暗指神通過基督在十字架上所做的挽回祭。拯救是神獻上的祭,而不是靠人自己做工得來的。保羅在羅馬書和加拉太書婺埏犰a說明了這一點,把通過信基督而得來的義和通過人所做的工所得來的律法的義,以行為為基礎得救的概念作比較。

    “所以凡有血氣的,沒有一個因行律法能在神面前稱義,因為律法本是叫人知罪。但如今神的義,在律法以外已經顯明出來,有律法和先知為証:就是神的義,因信耶穌基督,加給一切相信的人,并沒有分別﹔因為世人都犯了罪,虧缺了神的榮耀﹔如今卻蒙神的恩典,因基督耶穌的救贖,就白白地稱義。”【羅馬書 3:20-24】

    于是我們有:你們通過信,本著神的恩得救。這挽回祭并不是出于你們自己,乃是神所賜的﹔也不是出于行為,免得有人自夸。

    因為如果“信”是賜給我們的話,那麼給神獻的祭就是信,而不是基督在十字架上作的挽回工。還有就是關于自夸的問題。是不是如果神沒有賜給我們信我們就有自夸的?聖經不是這樣說的。“倘若亞伯拉罕是因行為稱義,就有可夸的﹔只是在神面前并無可夸。經上說什麼呢?說:‘亞伯拉罕信神,這就算為他的義。’”【羅馬書 4:2-3】在這媢鴾顒漪O作工與信,不是信是賜給的或不是賜給的。在以弗所書所作的也是同樣的對比。然而在羅馬書的這兩節堳O羅根本沒有提到“信”是賜給的。他只是說因信稱義而不是因行為稱義所以沒有什麼可以自夸的。

    信就如一個快要被淹死的人伸出手來,被救他的人拉出來一樣。但那是不是使信變成作工了呢?聖經不這樣認為。因為經上說:“作工的得工價,不算恩典,乃是該得的﹔惟有不作工的,只信稱罪人為義的神,他的信就算為義。”【羅馬書 4:4-5】所以聖經不把信當作作工,也不把信看作是被神單方面地賜給我們的。聖經不把即將被淹死的人伸出手來看作是為得救而作工。神沒有責任要救這個人。神救我們純粹是出于恩典。但神的確以與我們互相作用的方式幫助我們建立信。這其實很容易理解。如果伸出手代表信,那麼如果沒有任何希望,這個人就沒有任何理由伸出手來。但通過神的道,神給了我們盼望,因為信道是從聽道來的。福音的信息就如一條划到快要被淹死的人旁邊的船。這鼓勵他憑著信伸出手來。如果他信了而且伸出手來,那麼他就得救了。是的,有些人把他們的信放在其它的宗教上。但這些宗教本身就如正在下沉的船。然而就信是賜給的這個問題,聖經沒有把信描繪成人是快要被淹死的玩偶,而神像耍玩偶的一樣任意地使某些人伸出他們的手來,完全與他們自己的選擇無關。

    我們在以前提到的另一幅圖像就是如果我給人一件禮物,唯一的條件就是他們伸手來拿。他們伸手來拿不能被看作是他們靠作工來掙得這件禮物,好像他們伸手來拿就為之付出價錢了一樣。他們不能說:“你其實不真是恩慈,這件禮物也不是白給的,因為我需要伸手來拿,那是在作工!”那將是愚蠢的。我們的信就是向神伸出手來。的確,神幫助我們建立信,神是主動這樣做的,但這是通果與神合作達到的。


    為行善而造的

    以弗所書 2:10 我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌堻y成的,為要叫我們行善,就是神所預備叫我們行的。

    我們得救不是因為作工,但這并不是說作工在基督徒生活中是沒有位置的。保羅還解釋說:“因為神救眾人的恩典已經顯明出來,教訓我們除去不敬虔的心和世俗的情欲,在今世自守,公義,敬虔度日,等候所盼望的福,并等候至大的神和(或作無“和”字)我們救主耶穌基督的榮耀顯現。他為我們舍了自己,要贖我們脫離一切罪惡,又潔淨我們,特作自己的子民,熱心為善。”【提多書 2:11-14】

    而以弗所書則更進一步地說是神使我們成為熱心為善的人。

    “我們原是他的工作,在基督耶穌造成的,為要叫我們行善,就是所預備叫我們行的。”

    記得經上說:“若有人在基督堙A他就是新造的人,舊事已過,都變成新的了。”【哥林多後書 5:17】這不只是因為在得救之後基督徒應該熱心做善工,更是因為神不但使基督徒稱義,而且把我們變成自然地要熱心做善工的人。因此我們還看到:“我們遵守神的誡命,這就是愛他了,并且他的誡命不是難守的。因為凡從神生的,就勝過世界﹔使我們勝了世界的,就是我們的信心。”【約翰一書 5:3-4】

    這是由神生的結果。注意到以弗所書從一開始就在講信徒在基督堛澈O証,因為神保証了他的歸宿,這不只是說他將來要到哪堨h,還意味著他在今生要變成什麼樣子。從罪中得救不是靠做“好”人掙來的,然而信基督會有不可避免的效果。如果這些效果在你的生活中尚不明顯,那麼就有必要懷疑你是不是已經由神生,我建議應用這節經文:“你們總要自己省察有信心沒有,也要自己試驗。豈不知你們若不是可棄絕的,就有耶穌基督在你們心媔隉H”【哥林多後書 13:5】

    但對那些由神生的來說,神不但把我們造成自然行善的人,而且預備了善工讓我們去做。像基督在世上行的那樣去行。神預備了讓基督去做的善工,他在十字架上的挽回工就是最好的例子,在他的事奉中,他說了這樣一些話:

    “趁著白日,我們必須作那差我來者的工。”【約翰福音 9:4】
    “我實實在在地告訴你們,子憑著自己不能作什麼,惟有看見父所作的,子才能作。父所做的事,子也照樣作。”【約翰福音 5:19】
    “我沒有一件事是憑著自己作的。我說這些話乃是照著父所教訓我的。”【約翰福音 8:28】
    “我的食物就是遵行差我來者的旨意,作成他的工。”【約翰福音 4:34】

    神把什麼工作交給你去作了呢?讓聖靈引導你去做神的工。“因為凡被神的靈引導的,都是神的兒子。”【羅馬書 8:14】



    庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
    問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
    索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
    查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

    Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 2:1-2:10 (web)

The Transition into God's Family

From Death to Life

2:1 You were made alive when you were dead in transgressions and sins,
2:2 in which you once walked according to the course of this world,
according to the prince of the powers of the air,
the spirit who now works in the children of disobedience;
2:3 among whom we also all once lived in the lust of our flesh,
doing the desires of the flesh and of the mind,
and were by nature children of wrath, even as the rest.
2:4 But God, being rich in mercy,
for his great love with which he loved us,
2:5 even when we were dead through our trespasses,
made us alive together with Christ
(by grace you have been saved),
2:6 and raised us up with him,
and made us to sit with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus,
2:7 that in the ages to come he might show
the exceeding riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus;
2:8 for by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God,
2:9 not of works, that no one would boast.

2:10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works,
which God prepared before that we would walk in them.
 


Discussion Questions

Observation

  • What sort of behavior and lifestyle does Paul propose characterized our condition before we become Christians?
  • Notice the parallel between 2:6 and 1:20
  • What other sigificant word or words does he carry over from the previous section?
  • How might you summarize or categorize what God has done versus what we have done according to this section?
  • Interpretation

  • In view of the phrase used to live(2:2) being in past tense, how we might expect Christian's lives to be different than non-Christians?
  • What does it mean made us alive with Christ and saved in 2:5?(pretty basic!)
  • What is the significance of being raised and seated with Christ in 2:6?
  • And what is God's purpose in doing so?(2:7)
  • Is our salvation dependent upon our performance?(2:8,9) xref(Rom 4:1-8)
  • What is the relationship between faith and works?(2:10)
  • Application

    (If there's no application, there's no relevance)

  • What changes have you noticed or that you would expect in the lifestyle of a person who becomes a Christian?
  • What might you do today to assure that you will go to heaven?
  • Given the statement that God has already prepared good works for you to do in advance, how does this affect your view towards your particular ministry? How might you discover what these good works are?


  • Comments

    Although salvation is the theme of this section, in particular the emphasis is not upon justification, but rather salvation from sinful behavior unto righteous behavior. Often today there are those who emphasize one's position in Christ while neglecting the effect salvation has on one's behavior. And there are even those today who present salvation as simply a fire insurance policy which while saving one from hell speaks nothing of changing the person's behavior.


    You were Dead

    Eph 2:1-3 As for you, you were dead in your transgressions and sins, in which you used to live when you followed the ways of this world and of the ruler of the kingdom of the air, the spirit who is now at work in those who are disobedient. All of us also lived among them at one time, gratifying the cravings of our sinful nature and following its desires and thoughts. Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath.

    Being dead in sin is not simply a person's position, but speaks of his behavior. The behavior of one who is dead in sin is a life of conforming oneself to the sinful desires  and cravings of the flesh. Satan influences through our flesh and through the flesh of others. Those who conform their lives to their fleshly desires are followers of Satan and they listen to those who preach messages consistent with their fleshly desires. "Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature (the flesh) with its passions and desires." Gal 5:24

    Those who are presently the "chosen", namely Christians, were formerly objects of wrath. "Like the rest" indicates that there was no difference between us and all those who are presently unsaved. Like Paul said to the Corinthians, "Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And that is what some of you were." 1Cor 6:9-11a

    These verses in Ephesians help to clear up misconceptions some have concerning Rom 9:22,23 which says, "What if God, choosing to show his wrath and make his power known, bore with great patience the objects of his wrath-- prepared for destruction? What if he did this to make the riches of his glory known to the objects of his mercy, whom he prepared in advance for glory--" "Objects" here refer to categories. On an individual basis what category people are in can change. So while you were formerly objects of wrath on your way to hell, you became objects of mercy.



    Made alive

    Eph 2:4,5 But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions— it is by grace you have been saved.

    Salvation is not earned through perfect behavior. Rom 5:6 "You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly." Salvation is not like a loan in which the loan officer demands you yourself provide an equal amount of collateral to cover your loan. You've got nothing to offer. God pays it all. God justifies the wicked, as it is written: "to the man who does not work but trusts God who justifies the wicked, his faith is credited as righteousness." Rom 4:5 God doesn't justify people as long as they are good, for they are never "really" good. The only qualification is faith in Christ as evidenced by their works of faith.



    Raised and Seated

    Eph 2:6,7 And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages he might show the incomparable riches of his grace, expressed in his kindness to us in Christ Jesus.

    These verses speak of our status. Notice the reference back to Ephesians 1:20 "raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms" And notice also the past tense being used, or the aorist in particular which speaks of historic past here. With these in mind, Christians as a category are identified with Christ in his death and resurrection and being seated with him in the heavenly realms. Although we look forward to the experience of our physical resurrection from the dead and being seated with Christ in the future, yet realize also that even now aspects of this have already come to pass for us. Christ was raised, so we are raised with Christ. Christ was seated at his right hand, so we in Christ are seated at his right hand. Our being raised speaks of a living relationship with God. Our being seated speaks of our security in Christ, having been justified by faith, and also our authority as ambassadors to carry out God's work on earth. And  we have authority also with Christ in prayer to enter into God's presence to obtain the grace needed to fulfill our responsibilities.

    This verse also implies an answer to the question as to what is our purpose in life. The meaning and purpose of life is to glorify God's graciousness by being objects of his grace.



    Saved by Grace

    Eph 2:8,9 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith— and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—  not by works, so that no one can boast.

    Some have been led astray reading into these verses meaning which Paul didn't intend. So lets us carefully analyze the original language to clear up misconceptions and get at the intended meaning.

    "By grace you have been saved" had already been mentioned in Ephesians 2:5 "made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions-- it is by grace you have been saved." (niv) But there a translational issue here. The phrase "by grace" in Greek (the original language of authorship) is simply the word "grace" in the dative. At issue is whether Paul intended the dative of means (by means of grace) or the dative of manner (with grace, or graciously). I would argue that Paul intended the latter. For graciously describes the manner in which he saves us, as he has an attitude of graciousness. "by faith", on the other hand, is using the preposition "dia" in the genitive which exlusively indicates instrument or mechanism of salvation. "Faith" is the means, "Gracious" is the manner. God grabs hold of our faith and pulls us to safety. He does so graciously. But those without faith are not saved. Or as Robertson puts it in Robertson's NT Word Pictures, "Grace" is God’s part, "faith" ours.

    Now there are those who interpret the phrase "And this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God," to be referring to faith being a gift. But such an idea cannot be support by this passage. According to Greek grammar the gender of "this" must match what it's referring to. "this" is neuter, while "faith" is feminine, and therefore "it is" is not referring to faith. Furthermore "this" is in the nominative case and therefore the subject of the sentence and "gift" is a predicate nominative. Much like in English if I said "This is a gift", "This" is the subject and "gift" is the predicate nominative. The meaning is clearer if we write it this way, "This is a gift of God, being saved by grace through faith".

    Concerning the word "gift", there are two words most commonly used for "gift" in the New Testament. "dorea" emphasizes the freeness of a gift, while "doron" is used for sacrificial offerings. It is this second that Paul is using, alluding to the sacrificial offering God made through Christ's atoning work on the cross. Salvation is the sacrificial offering of God, as opposed to being obtained by one's own works.  He speaks extensively of this in Romans and Galatians, contrasting the righteousness obtained through faith in Christ as opposed to the righteousness of the law which is obtained through one's works, being a performance-based salvation concept.

    Romans 3:20-24 "Therefore no one will be declared righteous in his sight by observing the law; rather, through the law we become conscious of sin.  But now a righteousness from God, apart from law, has been made known, to which the Law and the Prophets testify. This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe. There is no difference, for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus."
    Thus we have "for graciously you have been saved through faith, and that sacrificial offering  is not from yourselves, but from God, not of works, that no one would boast."

    Thus if "faith" is the gift, then it is faith and not the atoning work of Christ on the cross which is the sacrificial offering made to God. Furthermore is the issue of boasting. Is it true that if God does not give us faith as a gift that there would be reason to boast? Not according to the Bible. "For if Abraham was justified by works, he has something to boast about, but not toward God.  For what does the Scripture say? 'Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.'" Rom 4:2,3 Here the contrast is between works and faith. It is not between faith being a gift versus faith not being a gift. And the same contrast is drawn in the Ephesian's passage as well. Yet Paul mentions nothing here in Romans about the necessity of "faith" being a gift. He simply states that since it is by faith and not by works therefore there's nothing to boast about.

    Faith is like a drowning man reaching his hand up to be pulled up by someone else. But doesn't that make faith a work? Not according to the Bible. For it is written, "Now to him who works, the reward is not counted as grace, but as debt. But to him who doesn’t work, but believes in him who justifies the ungodly, his faith is accounted for righteousness." Rom 4:4,5 Thus the Bible does not categorize faith as a work, but neither does it categorize it as a gift in the sense of being given in a monergistic fashion. The Bible would not view the drowning man holding up his hand as trying to work for his salvation. And God is under no obligation to save the man. It is purely out of grace that he does so. But God does help to develop our faith in a synergistic fashion. And it is quite easy to understand. Supposed the raised hand represents faith. The man would have no reason to raise his hand if there were no hope. But through the Word God gives hope, for faith comes from hearing the messsage. The message is like a boat which pulls up along side the drowning man. It encourages him to reach out in faith. If he believes and reaches out, he is saved. Yes there are other religions that others try to reach out to and put their faith in. But such religions are themselves like sinking ships. But as for the issue of faith being a gift, the Bible does not portray faith in a manner in which people are just drowning puppets and God as a puppet master arbitrarily forces some to raise their arms, completely apart from any choice on their own part.

    And another illustration, which I mentioned previously, is that if I hand a free gift to someone with only the requirement that they reach out and take it, their reaching out and taking it is not viewed as work that they do to earn the gift, as if by reaching out they are paying for it. They cannot say, "You are not really gracious and the gift is not really free, for I had to do all that work in reaching out and taking it!" That would be foolish. Our faith is our reaching out to God. True that God helps us to develop saving faith and that He takes the initiative in this, but such is accomplished in cooperation with Him.



    Created for Good Works

    Eph 2:10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

    We are not saved by works, but this is not to say that works have no place in the Christian life. For he also explains in Titus 2:11-14 "For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men. It teaches us to say "No" to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age, while we wait for the blessed hope-- the glorious appearing of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ, who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good."

    But Ephesians goes further to say that it is God who makes us into people eager to do good works.

    "For we are God's workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works,
    which God prepared in advance for us to do."
    Remember where it says in 2Corinthians 5:17 "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!"It is not simply that Christians, having been saved, should strive to eagerly do good works, but rather that God not only justifies Christians, but also transforms us into people who are naturally eager to do good works. Thus we find also in 1John 5:3,4 "This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, for everyone born of God overcomes the world."

    These are effects of being born of God. And notice also the theme all the way from the beginning of Ephesians of the security the believer has in Christ in view of the fact that God secures his destiny, not only in terms of where he will go in the future, but what he becomes even now in this life. For salvation from sin is not earned through making oneself into a "good" person, but rather there are inevitable effects of putting one's faith in Christ. If these effects are not evident in your life, then there is reason to doubt that you have been born of God and I would recommend 2Cor 13:5 be applied.

    But for those born of God, not only have we been created as people who naturally do good works, but also God has prepared good works for us to do. Walk as Jesus did. God prepared good works for him to do, his atoning work on the cross being the ultimate example, but also throughout his ministry he said things like,

  • "As long as it is day, we must do the work of him who sent me." John 9:4
  • "I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does." John 5:19
  • "I do nothing on my own but speak just what the Father has taught me." John 8:28
  • "My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work." John 4:34
  • What is the work which God has given you to do? Let the Holy Spirit lead you into God's work. "For those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God." Rom 8:14

    The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


    Jul 29,2015