翻譯: English 简体中文

以弗所書

5:21-33

合宜的關系

婚姻堛漲X宜行為

5:21 又當存敬畏基督的心,彼此順服

5:22 你們作妻子的,當順服自己的丈夫,如同順服主。
5:23 因為丈夫是妻子的頭,
  如同基督是教會的頭。
  他又是教會全體的救主。

5:24 教會怎樣順服基督,妻子也要怎樣凡事順服丈夫。

5:25 你們作丈夫的,要愛你們的妻子,
  正如基督愛教會,為教會舍己。
5:26 要用水借著道,把教會洗淨,成為聖潔,
5:27 可以獻給自己,作個榮耀的教會,
  毫無玷污、皺紋等類的病,
  乃是聖潔沒有瑕疵的。

5:28 丈夫也當照樣愛妻子,如同愛自己的身子﹔
  愛妻子便是愛自己了。

5:29 從來沒有人恨惡自己的身子,
  總是保養顧惜,正像基督待教會一樣,

5:30 因我們是他身上的肢體
  (有古卷在此有“就是他的骨他的肉”)。

5:31 “為這個緣故,人要離開父母,
  與妻子連合,二人成為一體。”

5:32 這是極大的奧秘,但我是指著基督和教會說的。
5:33 然而你們各人都當愛妻子,如同愛自己一樣﹔
  妻子也當敬重她的丈夫。


問題討論

妻子

丈夫


注釋

絕對順服

以弗所書 5:21 又當存敬畏基督的心,彼此順服。

表達我們對基督的敬畏的一個方法就是順從他設立在我們之上的權威。“在上有權柄的,人人當順服他,因為沒有權柄不是出于神的。凡掌權的都是神所命的。所以抗拒掌權的,就是抗拒神的命。”【羅馬書 13:1-2a】衡量一個人對基督的敬畏的一個方法就是看他對神在他生活中設立的人的權威的態度。

彼此順服不是說每一個人都順服其他每一個人(那有點像平等主義的解釋)。因為如果是那樣的話,就沒有權威可言,權威就成了一個虛無的概念。反之,這句經文說的是在權柄之下的人要順從在他們之上有權柄的人。在以弗所書第五章和第六章堳O羅給那些在有權威的和那些在權威之下的分了類,并說明了兩者間的關系。


妻子當順服自己的丈夫

以弗所書 5:22 你們作妻子的,當順服自己的丈夫,如同順服主。

在女權主義盛行的摩登時代堙A這也許是現代的女權主義者最恨惡的一節經文。但正因如此,這是基督徒婦女可以因實踐她們的信而出眾的地方之一。西方女權主義盛行的社會甚至不承認丈夫有神所賜與的、合法的、在他妻子之上的權威。事實上現代社會在很大程度上具有神在以賽亞書堜珨〞滲S點:“至于我的百姓,孩童欺壓他們,婦女轄管他們。我的百姓啊,引導你的使你走錯,并毀壞你所行的道路。”【以賽亞書 3:12】但對基督徒來說:“不要效法這個世界,只要心意更新而變化,叫你們察驗何為神的善良、純全、可喜悅的旨意。”【羅馬書 12:2】

妻子順服自己丈夫的方式是她們順服主的方式的一個反映。把基督當作主來順服會在你的婚姻堣洉M出來。的確,那些欣然地接受了她們事奉和順從于主的角色的婦女會發現順從自己的丈夫是很自然的,這甚至是為基督感化別人的一個方式,即使自己的丈夫不是信徒。一個女人順服自己的丈夫是一件美麗的事。

“你們作妻子的,要順服自己的丈夫。這樣,若有不信從道理的丈夫,他們雖然不聽道,也可以因妻子的品行被感化過來。這正是因看見你們有貞潔的品行和敬畏的心。你們不要以外面的辮頭發,戴金飾,穿美衣為妝飾﹔只要以堶惘s著長久溫柔、安靜的心為妝飾。這在神面前是極寶貴的。因為古時仰賴神的聖潔婦人,正是以此為妝飾,順服自己的丈夫。”【彼得前書 3:1-5】


丈夫是妻子的頭

以弗所書 5:23-24 因為丈夫是妻子的頭,如同基督是教會的頭。他又是教會全體的救主。教會怎樣順服基督,妻子也要怎樣凡事順服丈夫。

關于男人是頭保羅說:“ 我愿意你們知道,基督是各人的頭,男人是女人的頭,神是基督的頭。”【哥林多前書 11:3】丈夫是妻子的頭,就如基督是教會的頭一樣。所以在考慮什麼是婚姻關系中的順服時,我們可以看一看聖經婸〞滷郱|對基督的順服。教會與基督的關系能用平等來概括嗎?當然不能。丈夫與妻子的關系也同樣。

雖然隨著這個權威而來的有責任,但同時也有權柄和控制。正如基督和他的教會,丈夫和他的妻子也一樣。因為如果丈夫只有責任,但對他的妻子沒有權柄和控制,那就好比只承認基督對他的教會的責任,但對其沒有權柄和控制。那是荒謬的。藐視丈夫的權威同樣會藐視基督的權威,這不是基督徒應該做的。

教會應如何順服基督呢?首先要有一個順從的態度,愿意按他說的去做。因此,要尋求主明確地命令了些什麼,主暗示的命令是什麼,他的對教會的目的和作用的旨意是什麼,并由此按照他的旨意得出應用。再者就是教會要口婸{基督為主。從這個比喻,妻子可以得出關于如何對待她們丈夫的應用。

“因為古時仰賴神的聖潔婦人正是以此為妝飾,順服自己的丈夫。就如撒拉聽從亞伯拉罕,稱他為主。”【彼得前書 3:5-6a】


凡事

“凡事”指的是丈夫合法的權威范疇之內的所有事,這很廣泛,包括家堛漕ヾA比如關于對子女的教育,對時間的安排,去哪個教會,還有關于教導,事奉,待客,捐助和家庭的所有經濟事宜,等等。但不包括由其他權威,比如民間的權威建立起來的關于罪和有關的條例,這并不影響丈夫的權威。

丈夫是神所設立的權威角色,不取決于丈夫對這個問題的看法。因此,如果丈夫疏忽扮演他的這個角色將為之受到審判。同樣,妻子也是神所設立的從屬角色,無論她的觀點如何。她若忽略扮演她的這個角色,也將受到審判。


作丈夫的要愛你們的妻子

以弗所書 5:25 你們作丈夫的,要愛你們的妻子,正如基督愛教會,為教會舍己。

注意到聖經在教導妻子們要服從她們的丈夫的同時,還教導丈夫們要愛他們的妻子。這是在任何縱向關系中愛的語言。在權威之下的通過順服和因之而來的尊敬表達對權威的愛。那些處在權威位置的則通過對那些在權威之下的人的恩慈來表達愛。

考慮一下作這樣一個丈夫所需要的謙卑。“你們當以基督耶穌的心為心:他本有神的形像,不以自己與神同等為強奪的,反倒虛己,取了奴仆的形像,成為人的樣式。既有人的樣子,就自己卑微,存心順服,以至于死,且死在十字架上!”【腓立比書 2:5-8】

丈夫的作用是基督的作用的反映。

丈夫的作用的某些方面:

供給
“神的神能已將一切關乎生命和虔敬的事賜給我們,”【彼得後書 1:3a】

教導
“她們若要學什麼,可以在家堸搹菑v的丈夫﹔”【哥林多前書 14:35a】

管教
“凡我所疼愛的,我就責備管教他。所以你要發熱心,也要悔改。”【啟示錄 3:19】

和好
“耶和華說:‘背道的以色列啊,回來吧。我必不怒目看你們﹔因為我是慈愛的,我必不永遠存怒。’這是耶和華說的。‘只要承認你的罪孽,就是你違背耶和華你的神,在各青翠樹下向別神東奔西跑,沒有聽從我的話。’這是耶和華說的。耶和華說:‘背道的兒女啊,回來吧。因為我作你們的丈夫,’”【耶利米書 3:12-14】
“但如今他借著基督的肉身受死,叫你們與自己和好,都成了聖潔,沒有瑕疵,無可責備,把你們引到自己面前。”【歌羅西書 1:22】

鼓勵
“但愿我們主耶穌基督和那愛我們,開恩將永遠的安慰并美好的盼望賜給我們的父神,安慰你們的心,并且在一切善行善言上堅固你們。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 2:16-17】

至于行使權威,考慮基督給他教會的命令有哪些類,這些命令的目的是什麼。他有關于他們自己的潔淨的命令,有關于養育下一代的命令,有關于感化世人,使他們與神和好的命令。


洗淨你的妻子

以弗所書 5:26-27 要用水借著道,把教會洗淨,成為聖潔,可以獻給自己,作個榮耀的教會,毫無玷污、皺紋等類的病,乃是聖潔沒有瑕疵的。

耶穌為教會所做的事的重點是使她成為聖潔,無可指摘。保羅要我們從此對丈夫的作用學到些什麼呢?其意思顯然是要培養妻子,使她變得對自己有吸引力。又因為基督徒丈夫的價值觀是與基督一致的,所以其過程和目標顯然也應該是相似的。也就是說,一個女人只有敬畏神才有吸引力。要用神的道教她,要以造就她為念來處理罪的問題。如彼得所寫的那樣,要使她“只要以堶惘s著長久溫柔、安靜的心為妝飾。這在神面前是極寶貴的。”【彼得前書 3:4】當然,就如基督與他的教會那樣,這需要合作。

當然,在這個過程中丈夫要體諒妻子,就如基督那樣。彼得提到:“你們作丈夫的,也要按情理和妻子同住(“情理”原文作“知識”)﹔因她比你軟弱(“比你軟弱”原文作“是軟弱的器皿”),與你一同承受生命之恩的,所以要敬重她,這樣便叫你們的禱告沒有阻礙。”【彼得前書 3:7】


愛妻子如同愛自己的身體

以弗所書 5:28-32 丈夫也當照樣愛妻子,如同愛自己的身子﹔愛妻子便是愛自己了。從來沒有人恨惡自己的身子,總是保養顧惜,正像基督待教會一樣,因我們是他身上的肢體(有古卷在此有“就是他的骨他的肉”)。為這個緣故,人要離開父母,與妻子連合,二人成為一體。這是極大的奧秘,但我是指著基督和教會說的。

保羅還提到:“妻子沒有權柄主張自己的身子,乃在丈夫﹔丈夫也沒有權柄主張自己的身子,乃在妻子。”【哥林多前書 7:4】與此恰恰相反,那些主張人工流產的女權主義者說:“這是我的身子,我想怎樣就怎樣。”基督徒婦女應該認識到她們的身子不完全是她們自己的。同樣在說到基督與教會時經上寫到:“你們就是基督的身子,并且各自作肢體。”【哥林多前書 12:27】“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】

婚姻的奧秘是什麼呢?婚姻是被設來像徵基督與教會間的關系。基督徒在婚姻堛漸媦衧O要力圖符合那個設計。通過理解基督與教會之間關系,我們可以更多地領會神關于婚姻關系的旨意。反過來,通過理解和經歷婚姻,我們可以更進一步地理解神給基督與教會間所預設的關系。


丈夫當愛妻子,妻子當敬重丈夫

以弗所書 5:33 然而你們各人都當愛妻子,如同愛自己一樣﹔妻子也當敬重她的丈夫。

一樁婚姻堶Y沒有這些成分就不能被看作是“美滿”的婚姻。事實上如果一個人沒有下屬就不能行使權威。如果沒有妻子的合作,丈夫就不能扮演他的角色﹔如果沒有丈夫通過行使在妻子之上的權柄來配合,妻子也不能實踐順服。特別地,隨著權柄而來的是實踐恩慈的機會。因為若沒有某種權能,無論是權威還是資源,一個人就無法實踐恩慈。但在這個角色中,丈夫要以恩慈行使其權柄。因此保羅還寫到:“你們作妻子的,當順服自己的丈夫,這在主堶惇O相宜的。你們作丈夫的,要愛你們的妻子,不可苦待她們。”【歌羅西書 3:18-19】

“你們作丈夫的,也要按情理和妻子同住(“情理”原文作“知識”)﹔因她比你軟弱(“比你軟弱”原文作“是軟弱的器皿”),與你一同承受生命之恩的,所以要敬重她,這樣便叫你們的禱告沒有阻礙。”【彼得前書 3:7】


2020年09月19日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Ephesians 5:21-5:33 (web)

Proper Role Relationships

Behaving Properly in Marriage

5:21 subjecting yourselves one to another in the fear of Christ.
5:22 Wives, be subject to your own husbands, as to the Lord.
5:23 For the husband is the head of the wife,
and Christ also is the head of the assembly,
being himself the savior of the body.
5:24 But as the assembly is subject to Christ,
so let the wives also be to their own husbands in everything.

5:25 Husbands, love your wives,

even as Christ also loved the assembly, and gave himself up for it;
5:26 that he might sanctify it, having cleansed it by the washing of water with the word,
5:27 that he might present the assembly to himself gloriously,
not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing;
but that it should be holy and without blemish.
5:28 Even so ought husbands also to love their own wives as their own bodies.
He who loves his own wife loves himself.
5:29 For no man ever hated his own flesh;
but nourishes and cherishes it, even as the Lord also does the assembly;
5:30 because we are members of his body, of his flesh and bones.
5:31 "For this cause a man will leave his father and mother,
and will be joined to his wife. The two will become one flesh."
5:32 This mystery is great, but I speak concerning Christ and of the assembly.
5:33 Nevertheless each of you must also love his own wife even as himself;
and let the wife see that she respects her husband.





Categorical Submission

Eph 5:21 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.

One way in which we can express our reverence for Christ is by submitting to the authorities under which he has placed us. "Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God. Consequently, he who rebels against the authority is rebelling against what God has instituted" Rom 13:1-2a One way to measure one's reverence for Christ is by one's attitude towards and the degree to which one properly submits to the human authorities God has established in one's life.

To submit to one another of course does not mean that every individual submits to every other individual (which is a sort of egalitarian interpretation). For in that case there would be no recognized authority to begin with, rendering the concept of "authority" null. Rather this verse means for the one under authority to submit to the one who is in authority over them. In Ephesians 5 and 6 Paul categorizes who are those in authority and their subordinates and speaks about the role relationships between the two.

Wife submit to your husband

Eph 5:22 Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord.

In this modern age of feminism this is perhaps one of the most contemptible verses in the Bible to the modern feminist, and as such it is one of the ways in which Christian women can be outstanding in the practice of their faith. As it is Western feminist society doesn't even recognize the role of husband as one having  a legitimate God given role of authority over his wife. In fact much of modern society can be characterized as God had spoken in Isaiah, "Their children are rebellious and women rule over them. O my people, your guides lead you astray; they turn you from the path." Isaiah 3:12 But as for Christians, "do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is— his good, pleasing and perfect will." Rom 12:2

The manner in which wives submit to their husbands is a reflection of the manner in which they submit to the Lord. Being submissive to the Lordship of Christ will be reflected in your marriage. Indeed women who have embraced their role of service and subordination to the Lord will find taking on the role of submission and subordination to their husband to be natural, and indeed even a way in which to influence others for Christ, even if their husband is an unbeliever. A women's submission to her husband is a beautiful thing.

"Wives, in the same way be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives,  when they see the purity and reverence of your lives. Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes.  Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight. For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful. They were submissive to their own husbands" 1Peter 3:1-5

Husband head of the wife

Eph 5:23,24  For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.

Concerning male headship Paul says, "Now I want you to realize that the head of every man is Christ, and the head of the woman is man, and the head of Christ is God." 1Cor 11:3 And the husband is head of his wife in a similar manner in which Christ is head of the church. So in considering what constitutes submission in a marriage relationship we can draw upon what the Bible says of the subordinate role of the church to Christ. Would the relationship between the church and Christ be characterized as egalitarian? Certainly not. Likewise concerning the husband's relationship with his wife.

Now while with this authority comes responsibility, there also comes power and control. Just as with regards to Christ and his church, so also with regards to a husband and his wife. For if the husband is only reckoned to have reponsibility, but no power or control over his wife, then that is like reckoning Christ with the responsibility of running his church, but having no power or control over it. It's absurd. Treating the authority of husbands with contempt is to likewise treat the authority of Christ with contempt, which is not something Christians should do.

How does the church submit to Christ? It first of all takes on an attitude of subordination and embraces the intention to do what he said. And as such it seeks to find out what the Lord has commanded explicitly and implicitly and what are his intentions concerning the purpose and role of the church so as to derive applications in accordance with his will. And secondly is the church's practice of  verbally acknowledging the lordship of Christ. From this analogy wives can derive applications as to how they may treat their husbands appropriately.

"in this manner, in former times, the holy women who trusted in God also adorned themselves, being submissive to their own husbands, as Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord" 1Peter 3:5,6

In Everything

"In everything" refers to everything which is within their husband's legitimate realm of authority, which is extensive, incorporating domestic matters as in raising kids, scheduling, what church to go to, matters of teaching and ministry, hospitality, generosity and all financial matters, to name a few.  But excludes sin and such regulations established by other authority figures, such as civil authorities which don't impinge upon the husband's authority.

The role of husband is a legitimate God authorized role of authority regardless of the husband's view of the matter. And as such the husband will be subject to judgement if he neglects to exercise his role. Likewise the role of wife is a legitimate God authorized role of subordination regardless of her viewpoint. And she likewise will be subject to judgement if she neglects to play the role.

Husbands love your wives

Eph 5:25  Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her

Notice that while wives were instructed to obey their husbands, the husband is instructed to love his wife. This is the language of love in any vertical relationship. The one under authority expresses love for the authority through obedience and consequently respect. Those in authority express love by being gracious to their subordinates.

Consider the humiliation it may take to be such a husband. "Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death— even death on a cross!" Php 2:5-8

A husband's role is reflect in that of Christ.

Some Aspects of the role of Husband:

To Provide
2Peter 1:3  "His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness"

To Instruct
1Cor 14:35a "If they want to inquire about something, they should ask their own husbands at home"

To Discipline
Rev 3:19 "Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest, and repent."

To Reconcile
Jer 3:12-14 "’Return, faithless Israel,’ declares the LORD, ‘I will frown on you no longer, for I am merciful,’ declares the LORD, ‘I will not be angry forever. Only acknowledge your guilt— you have rebelled against the LORD your God, you have scattered your favors to foreign gods under every spreading tree, and have not obeyed me,’" declares the LORD. "Return, faithless people," declares the LORD, "for I am your husband."
Col 1:22  "But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation—"

To Encourage
2Th 2:16,17 "May our Lord Jesus Christ himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word."

And with regards to the exercise of authority, consider the kinds and purpose of the Lord's commands to his church. He has commands concerning their own sanctification, the preparation of then next generation, and concerning influencing those in the world to be reconciled to God.

Sanctify your Wife

Eph 5:26,27  to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless.

Jesus' priority with regards to the church is to make her holy and blameless. What is the implications Paul wants us to infer concerning the husband's role? The implication appears to be to nurture the wife in such a way as to make her attractive to oneself. Now as the values of a Christian husband are aligned with Christ, it would appear the process and goals would be similar. That is, a woman is only so attractive as she is godly. Teach her through the Word of God, deal with issues of sin with her edification in mind. And as Peter wrote, to develop in her "the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight." 1Peter 3:4 And of course, just as with Christ and his church, cooperation is required.

Of course husbands are to be considerate in this process, as is Christ. Peter mentions, "Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers." 1Peter 3:7

Your Wife Your Body

Eph 5:28-32  In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself.  After all, no one ever hated his own body, but he feeds and cares for it, just as Christ does the church—for we are members of his body.  "For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh." (Genesis 2:24) This is a profound mystery— but I am talking about Christ and the church.

Paul mentions, "The wife’s body does not belong to her alone but also to her husband. In the same way, the husband’s body does not belong to him alone but also to his wife." 1Cor 7:4 Thus in contrast to pro-abortion feminists who say, "It's my body and can do what I damn well please with it", Christian women are to recognize that their body is not solely their property. Likewise concerning Christ and the church it is written, "Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it." 1Cor 12:27 and "he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again."2Cor 5:15

What is the mystery of marriage? Marriage was designed to be an analogy of the relationship between Christ and the church. The Christian's objective in marriage is to try to conform to that design. Thus by understanding the intended relationship between Christ and the church we can learn more about God's intentions concerning the marriage relationship. And conversely, by understanding and experiencing marriage, we can further our understanding of the relationship intended between Christ and the church.

Huband Loves, Wife Respects

Eph 5:33  However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

A marriage cannot be considered "working" unless these elements are present. In fact as one cannot practice authority if one has no subordinates, the husband cannot play his role without the cooperation of his wife. Nor can the wife practice subordination if the husband doesn't cooperate by commanding her and exercising authority over her. In particular with power comes the opportunity to practice grace. For without power of some sort, be it one of authority or resources, one cannot practice grace. But given the role, the husband is to exercise authority with grace. Thus Paul also writes, "Wives, submit to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord. Husbands, love your wives and do not be harsh with them." Col 3:18,19

"Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers." 1Peter 3:7

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources

Mar 21,2016