翻譯: English 中文 GB

加拉太書
第六章

對那些你有責任的人的態度

挽回

6:1 弟兄們,若有人偶然被過犯所勝,
  你們屬靈的人,就當用溫柔的心,把他挽回過來。
  又當自己小心,恐怕也被引誘。

服事

6:2 你們各人的重擔要互相擔當,如此就完全了基督的律法。

對自己的態度

謙卑

6:3 人若無有,自己還以為有,就是自欺了。

個人的責任

6:4 各人應當察驗自己的行為。
  這樣,他所夸的就專在自己,不在別人了。

6:5 因為各人必擔當自己的擔子。

對那些在你之上有權柄的人的態度

支持屬靈的權威

6:6 在道理上受教的,當把一切需用的供給施教的人。

種與收:激勵

原則

6:7 不要自欺,神是輕慢不得的。
  人種的是什麼,收的也是什麼。

6:8 順著情欲撒種的,必從情欲收敗壞﹔
  順著聖靈撒種的,必從聖靈收永生。

應用

6:9 我們行善,不可喪志﹔
  若不灰心,到了時候就要收成。

6:10 所以有了機會,就當向眾人行善,
  向信徒一家的人更當這樣。


以肉體夸口

以十字架夸口

6:11 請看我親手寫給你們的字是何等的大呢。
6:12 凡希圖外貌體面的人都勉強你們受割禮,
  無非是怕自己為基督的十字架受逼迫。

6:13 他們那些受割禮的,連自己也不守律法﹔
  他們愿意你們受割禮,不過要借著你們的肉體夸口。

6:14 但我斷不以別的夸口,只夸我們主耶穌基督的十字架﹔
  因這十字架,就我而論,世界已經釘在十字架上﹔
  就世界而論,我已經釘在十字架上。

6:15 受割禮不受割禮都無關緊要,要緊的就是作新造的人。
6:16 凡照此理而行的,愿平安、憐憫加給他們和神的以色列民。

6:17 從今以後,人都不要攪擾我,
  因為我身上帶著耶穌的印記。


6:18 弟兄們,愿我主耶穌基督的恩常在你們心堙C阿們。

問題討論

第1節 你認為保羅在這件事上對加拉太的基督徒是不是溫柔?
如何解釋第2節第5節間的沖突?
“基督的律法”是什麼?
第3,4節 為什麼“謙卑”這麼重要?
第6節 你認為這個命令是不是只限于收取報酬的專職的人?
第7-9節 這堨峇偵簳蚇E勵要順著聖靈撒種?
我們如何才能順著聖靈撒種?
第9節 如果要有收獲,基督徒還需造就哪些品德?
這與我們生活所在的文化有什麼沖突?
第10節 為什麼說:“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。我們應當彼此相愛,這就是你們從起初所聽見的命令。不可像該隱,他是屬那惡者,殺了他的兄弟。為什麼殺了他呢?因自己的行為是惡的,兄弟的行為是善的。弟兄們,世人若恨你們,不要以為希奇。我們因為愛弟兄,就曉得是已經出死入生了。沒有愛心的,仍住在死中。凡恨他弟兄的就是殺人的,你們曉得凡殺人的沒有永生存在他堶情C主為我們舍命,我們從此就知道何為愛。我們也當為弟兄舍命。”約翰一書 3:10-16還有:“愛神的,也當愛弟兄,這是我們從神所受的命令。”約翰一書 4:21
第11節 保羅為什麼在這奡ㄗ鴠L親手寫的字的特點?
第12節 為什麼傳受割禮會免受逼迫?
保羅(和耶穌)所受的迫害主要來自哪堙H
第14節 世人以哪些種事夸口?耶利米書 9:23,24
除了十字架以外,我們基督徒還以什麼夸口?

注釋

對他人的態度
之一:挽回的態度

加拉太書 6:1 弟兄們,若有人偶然被過犯所勝,你們屬靈的人,就當用溫柔的心,把他挽回過來。又當自己小心,恐怕也被引誘。

也就是說,如果有人有什麼隱藏的罪被發現了,那麼要用溫柔的心把他挽回過來。但對那些大膽,公開犯罪,并以之自豪的人,比如:“風聞在你們中間有淫亂的事,這樣的淫亂連外邦人中也沒有,就是有人收了他的繼母。你們還是自高自大,并不哀痛,把行這事的人從你們中間趕出去。”【哥林多前書 5:1-2】保羅沒有說要以溫柔的心待他,而是說:“要把這樣的人交給撒但,敗壞他的肉體,使他的靈魂在主耶穌的日子可以得救。”【哥林多前書 5:5】

那些墨守律法的人往往會在每件事上都過于嚴厲地對他們的基督徒弟兄,所以當他們發現某個弟兄被誘惑的時候就過于嚴厲地作出反應,而在這樣做的時候,他們自己就犯了罪。


對他人的態度
之二:服事的態度

加拉太書 6:2 你們各人的重擔要互相擔當,如此就完全了基督的律法。

注意到在後面的一節堳O羅說:“因為各人必擔當自己的擔子。”【加拉太書 6:5】所以他在這婸〞漪O太重,一個人自己無法承擔的重擔。因為“各人不要單顧自己的事,也要顧別人的事。”【腓立比書 2:4】

基督的律就是要互相相愛,比如他在約翰福音婸﹛G“我賜給你們一條新命令,乃是叫你們彼此相愛。我怎樣愛你們,你們也要怎樣相愛。”【約翰福音 13:34】保羅在加拉太書堣]說:“因為全律法都包在‘愛人如己’這一句話之內了。”【加拉太書 5:14】墨守律法的人應該好好考慮這一點。


對自己的態度
之一:謙卑的態度

加拉太書 6:3 人若無有,自己還以為有,就是自欺了。

前一節堜珓的無私取決于保羅在這一節所說的謙卑。注意到腓立比書也說到無私地考慮他人與謙卑的關系:

“凡事不可結黨,不可貪圖虛浮的榮耀。只要存心謙卑,各人看別人比自己強。各人不要單顧自己的事,也要顧別人的事。”【腓立比書 2:3-4】

謙卑是基督徒生活中最重要的品質,其它的品質都是以其為基礎的

但墨守律法的人往往強調人的教訓和傳統。所以教派的教義和教派的領袖被過分地夸大了,而對這些的效忠成了驕傲的資本以及基督徒間不必要的分爭的根源。

而事實上,虛己強于自負。比如,看一看耶穌,他卑微,虛己。“你們當以基督耶穌的心為心。他本有神的形像,不以自己與神同等為強奪的,反倒虛己,取了奴仆的形像,成為人的樣式。既有人的樣子,就自己卑微,存心順服,以至于死,且死在十字架上。”【腓立比書 2:5-8】施洗約翰是這樣說他自己的事奉的:“他必興旺,我必衰微。”【約翰福音 3:30】所以,不要讓教派的分歧給基督在他的教會堜珧答漣諵U陰影。


對自己的態度
之二:盡責的態度

加拉太書 6:4-5 各人應當察驗自己的行為。這樣,他所夸的就專在自己,不在別人了。因為各人必擔當自己的擔子。

墨守律法的人往往因為那些在基督埵釵菪恁A可以按各人的良心去做的事論斷別人。保羅在羅馬書媮蕭蚳麭o件事時說:

“信心軟弱的,你們要接納,但不要辯論所疑惑的事。有人信百物都可吃,但那軟弱的,只吃蔬菜。吃的人不可輕看不吃的人,不吃的人不可論斷吃的人,因為神已經收納他了。你是誰,竟論斷別人的仆人呢?他或站住,或跌倒,自有他的主人在。而且他也必要站住,因為主能使他站住。有人看這日比那日強﹔有人看日日都是一樣。只是各人心堶n意見堅定。”【羅馬書 14:1-5】

所以在論斷人的時候,基督徒首先應將其應用到自己身上。察看一下自己,看自己在多大程度上盡到了基督徒生活中應盡的責任,你是不是擔起了該擔的擔子,是不是不必要地把自己的擔子讓他人去擔。

保羅在衡量自己的時候說:“我們所夸的,是自己的良心,見証我們憑著神的聖潔和誠實,在世為人,不靠人的聰明,乃靠神的恩惠,向你們更是這樣。”【哥林多後書 1:12】


對權威的態度
支持屬靈權威的態度

加拉太書 6:6 在道理上受教的,當把一切需用的供給施教的人。

保羅在這堳的可能是在經濟上支持施教的人這個概念。他兩次引用【申命記 25:4】來支持這個原則,而且提到“主也是這樣命定”的。

就如摩西的律法記著說:“牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。【申命記 25:4】難道神所挂念的是牛嗎?不全是為我們說的嗎?分明是為我們說的。因為耕種的當存著指望去耕種﹔打場的也當存得糧的指望去打場。我們若把屬靈的種子撒在你們中間,就是從你們收割奉養肉身之物,這還算大事嗎?若別人在你們身上有這權柄,何況我們呢?然而我們沒有用過這權柄,倒凡事忍受,免得基督的福音被阻隔。你們豈不知為聖事勞碌的,就吃殿中的物嗎?伺候祭壇的,就分領壇上的物嗎?主也是這樣命定,叫傳福音的靠著福音養生。【哥林多前書 9:9-14】

雖然他在教這個原則,保羅和巴拿巴并沒有行使他們在經濟上得到報償的這個權力,免得這樣做會阻礙福音。他在提摩太前書媮縐麇郱|的長老時也說到這個原則。

那善于管理教會的長老,當以為配受加倍地敬奉﹔那勞苦傳道教導人的,更當如此。因為經上說:“牛在場上踹谷的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。【申命記 25:4】又說:“工人得工價是應當的。【路加福音 10:7】【提摩太前書 5:17-18】

加倍地敬奉指的是尊敬和經濟上的支持。

庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源效法保羅的榜樣,不行使這個權力。我們同時也鼓勵傳講神的道的同工效法保羅的榜樣。這樣,他們可以像保羅在使徒行傳堥獐侄﹛G“我未曾貪圖一個人的金、銀、衣服。我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人,又當記念主耶穌的話,說:‘施比受更為有福。’”【使徒行傳 20:33-35】


收與種:原則

加拉太書 6:7-8 不要自欺,神是輕慢不得的。人種的是什麼,收的也是什麼。順著情欲撒種的,必從情欲收敗壞﹔順著聖靈撒種的,必從聖靈收永生。

換句話說,如何投資我們自己會有其必然的結果。我們的時間,我們的精力,我們的努力都會有某種結果。有些人嘲弄神說:“看,我犯了罪,現在不是活得好好的嗎?”也許你不會馬上看到結果,但你會結果子的。所以問題在于,你想看到你的生命結出什麼樣的果子,有什麼樣的效果。如果我們把自己投資于滿足我們肉身的欲望,那麼其結果就是敗壞﹔如果我們把自己投資于屬靈的事,那麼結果就是永生──而且不光是我們自己。


收與種:應用

加拉太書 6:9-10 我們行善,不可喪志﹔若不灰心,到了時候就要收成。所以有了機會,就當向眾人行善,向信徒一家的人更當這樣。

如果你恆心行善,那麼你必然會結好果子。你可以相信這個原則。所以要尋找行善的機會,不但是向信徒,而且是向所有的人,以基督的名行善,“他為我們舍了自己,要贖我們脫離一切罪惡,又潔淨我們,特作自己的子民,熱心為善。”【提多書 2:14】

但為什麼保羅說:向信徒一家的人更當這樣呢?這是基督徒生活的重點。耶穌說:“我賜給你們一條新命令,乃是叫你們彼此相愛。我怎樣愛你們,你們也要怎樣相愛。你們若有彼此相愛的心,眾人因此就認出你們是我的門徒了。”【約翰福音 13:34-35】他在這堣ㄛO在說愛所有的人,這個命令特指的是愛基督徒弟兄姐妹。所以,在你在考慮你可以做什麼善事的時候,應首先考慮你可以為信徒們做些什麼。


外在的樣子,之一

加拉太書 6:11 請看我親手寫給你們的字是何等的大呢。

保羅沒有說他給加拉太人的信有多長,而說到他手寫的字的大小。為什麼他寫的字會這麼大呢?而這與加拉太人有什麼關系呢?

我所看到的一個猜測是他第一次去加拉太的時候染上了一種眼病,樣子看上去使人厭惡。這也許可以解釋他為什麼前面在這封信婸﹛G“那時你們若能行,就是把自己的眼睛剜出來給我,也都情愿。這是我可以給你們作見証的。”【加拉太書 4:15】

這堳O羅提醒他們,盡管他外在的樣子,他們接受了他。這與下一節合起來看就使我們看出他為什麼會這麼說。


外在的樣子,之二

加拉太書 6:12 凡希圖外貌體面的人都勉強你們受割禮,無非是怕自己為基督的十字架受逼迫。

保羅在前面提醒加拉太人他們接受他并不是因為他外表的樣子。事實上,他們接受了他盡管他外表的樣子令人厭惡。與之相反,這些假教師是膚淺的。他們所炫耀的是屬肉身的事,他們主要關心的也是屬肉身的事,比如割禮。

至于他們的動機,這個異端的倡導者們試圖引進一種更合墨守律法的猶太人心意的基督教──一種排斥十字架的道理的基督教。記得保羅在前面說:“弟兄們,我若仍舊傳割禮,為什麼還受逼迫呢?若是這樣,那十字架討厭的地方就沒有了。”【加拉太書 5:11】

“因為十字架的道理,在那滅亡的人為愚拙,在我們得救的人卻為神的大能。”【哥林多前書 1:18】

所以,不要沖淡十字架的道理。如果你正確地傳講福音的話,你會不可避免地招至某些人的憤怒。這是必然的。

“不但如此,凡立志在基督耶穌媟q虔度日的也都要受逼迫。只是作惡的和迷惑人的,必越久越惡,他欺哄人,也被人欺哄。”【提摩太後書 3:12-13】


你借著什麼夸口?

加拉太書 6:13-14 他們那些受割禮的,連自己也不守律法﹔他們愿意你們受割禮,不過要借著你們的肉體夸口。但我斷不以別的夸口,只夸我們主耶穌基督的十字架﹔因這十字架,就我而論,世界已經釘在十字架上﹔就世界而論,我已經釘在十字架上。

雅各寫到:“因為凡遵守全律法的,只在一條上跌倒,他就是犯了眾條。”【雅各書 2:10】而奉割禮的人走過了頭,結果恰恰違背了律法的靈。假冒為善在墨守律法的人中很常見。耶穌在【馬太福音 23:13-33】堳出了這一點,保羅也同樣在羅馬書婸﹛G“你稱為猶太人,又倚靠律法,且指著神夸口﹔既從律法中受了教訓,就曉得神的旨意,也能分別是非(或作“也喜愛那美好的事”)﹔又深信自己是給瞎子領路的,是黑暗中人的光,是蠢笨人的師傅,是小孩子的先生,在律法上有知識和真理的模范。你既是教導別人,還不教導自己嗎?你講說人不可偷竊,自己還偷竊嗎?你說人不可奸淫,自己還奸淫嗎?你厭惡偶像,自己還偷竊廟中之物嗎?你指著律法夸口,自己倒犯律法,玷辱神嗎?神的名在外邦人中,因你們受了褻瀆,正如經上所記的。”【羅馬書 2:17-24】

奉割禮的人所尋求的是加拉太基督徒的認可。但從這封信的一開始保羅就說明他所求的不是這種認可,他所求的甚至不是其它使徒的認可。反之,從他自己堅定的信,他傳講基督的十字架的道理──基督的死、埋葬、復活的重大意義,這些帶來了救贖。他同樣地對哥林多的基督徒說:

“弟兄們,從前我到你們那堨h,并沒有用高言大智對你們宣傳神的奧秘。因為我曾定了主意,在你們中間不知道別的,只知道耶穌基督并他釘十字架。”【哥林多前書 2:1-2】


新造的人

加拉太書 6:15 受割禮不受割禮都無關緊要,要緊的就是作新造的人。

同樣,保羅寫到:“若有人在基督堙A他就是新造的人。舊事已過,都變成新的了。”【哥林多後書 5:17】耶穌說:“我實實在在地告訴你,人若不重生,就不能見神的國。”【約翰福音 3:3】禮儀即不能拯救也不能潔淨肉體。“從肉身生的就是肉身。從靈生的就是靈。”【約翰福音 3:6】或如保羅所說:“你們既靠聖靈入門,如今還靠肉身成全嗎?你們是這樣的無知嗎?”【加拉太書 3:3】所以,從聖靈生的就順從律法的靈,而未必在字面上順從律法。“因為那字句是叫人死,精意是叫人活(“精意”或作“聖靈”)。”【哥林多後書 3:6】


神的以色列民

加拉太書 6:16 凡照此理而行的,愿平安、憐憫加給他們和神的以色列民。

照此理而行就是順著聖靈而行。“神的以色列民”就是這樣去行的。而這些奉割禮的人,盡管他們生為猶太人,但并不屬于“神的以色列民”。因為他們沒有按這個理去行。“因為從以色列生的,不都是以色列人﹔”【羅馬書 9:6】“惟有堶惕@的,才是真猶太人﹔真割禮也是心堛滿A在乎靈,不在乎儀文。”【羅馬書 2:29】


結語

加拉太書 6:17-18 從今以後,人都不要攪擾我,因為我身上帶著耶穌的印記。弟兄們,愿我主耶穌基督的恩常在你們心堙C阿們。

保羅通過像基督那樣忍受敵人的逼迫証明他對在十字架上遭受苦難這個的道理效忠,他為了事奉,被他們污辱,遭受他們的苦害。在哥林多後書堙A他把自己與那些假使徒(可能還是這些奉割禮的人)作了這樣的對比:

“他們是希伯來人嗎?我也是。他們是以色列人嗎?我也是。他們是亞伯拉罕的後裔嗎?我也是。他們是基督的仆人嗎?(我說句狂話)我更是。我比他們多受勞苦,多下監牢,受鞭打是過重的,冒死是屢次有的。被猶太人鞭打五次,每次四十,減去一下。被棍打了三次,被石頭打了一次,遇著船壞三次,一晝一夜在深海堙C又屢次行遠路,遭江河的危險,盜賊的危險,同族的危險,外邦人的危險,城堛漲M險,曠野的危險,海中的危險,假弟兄的危險。受勞碌,受困苦,多次不得睡,又飢又渴,多次不得食。受寒冷,赤身露體。除了這外面的事,還有為眾教會挂心的事,天天壓在我身上。”【哥林多後書 11:22-28】

想一想你為基督受了哪些苦,而你愿意為基督受哪些苦



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Galatians 6 (web)

Attitude towards those for whom you are responsible

Attitude Towards Self

Attitude towards those who are in authority over you

Sowing and Reaping: Motivational


Pride in the Flesh
vs
Pride in the Cross

6:11 See with what large letters I write to you with my own hand.

6:12 As many as desire to look good in the flesh, they compel you to be circumcised;
only that they may not be persecuted for the cross of Christ.
6:13 For even they who receive circumcision don't keep the law themselves,
but they desire to have you circumcised, that they may boast in your flesh.
6:14 But far be it from me to boast, except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ,
through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.
6:15 For in Christ Jesus neither is circumcision anything, nor uncircumcision, but a new creation.
6:16 As many as walk by this rule, peace and mercy be on them, and on God's Israel.

6:17 From now on, let no one cause me any trouble,
for I bear the marks of the Lord Jesus branded on my body.

6:18 The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit, brothers. Amen.


Discussion Questions

vs 1 Would you evaluate Paul as being gentle in handling the Galatians in this matter?
How do you resolve the contradiction between vs 2 and vs 5?
What is "the law of Christ"?
vs 3,4 Why is "humility" so important?
vs 6 Do you think this commanded is limited to payed-professionals?
vs 7-9 What motivation is given here to sow to the Spirit?
In what ways can we sow to the Spirit?
vs 9 What other characteristic must Christians develop if they expect to reap?
How does this conflict with culture in which we live?
vs 10 Why "In this the children of God are manifest, and the children of the devil: whosoever doeth not righteousness is not of God, neither he that loveth not his brother. For this is the message that ye heard from the beginning, that we should love one another. Not as Cain, who was of that wicked one, and slew his brother. And wherefore slew he him? Because his own works were evil, and his brother's righteous. Marvel not, my brethren, if the world hate you. We know that we have passed from death unto life, because we love the brethren. He that loveth not his brother abideth in death. Whosoever hateth his brother is a murderer: and ye know that no murderer hath eternal life abiding in him. Hereby perceive we the love of God, because he laid down his life for us: and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren."? (1John 3:10-16; 1John 4:21)
vs 11 Why does Paul make reference to this characteristic of his handwriting?
vs 12 Why would preaching circumcision cause one to avoid persecution?
From where was the main source of Paul's (and Jesus') persecution coming?
vs 14 What kinds of things to people in the world boast about? (Jer 9:23,24)
What kinds of things do we as Christians boast about other than the cross?

Comments

Attitude towards others
Part I: An Attitude of Restoration

Gal 6:1 Brothers, if someone is caught in a sin, you who are spiritual should restore him gently. But watch yourself, or you also may be tempted.

That is, if someone's sin had been hidden, but  is found out, then restore that one gently. In contrast to that are those who blatantly and openly sin, being proud of it, like the Christian of 1Cor 5 who was sleeping his mother in law. Paul didn't deal gently with him, but rather handed the man over to Satan for discipline.

Those who are overly legalistic may also tend to be overly harsh in dealing with their fellow Christians concerning every matter, so that when they catch a fellow Christian in sin they are tempted to overreact with harshness, and by doing so they themselves sin.



Attitude towards others
Part II: An Attitude of Service

Gal 6:2 Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

Realize that in a few verses Paul will also say, that "each one should carry his own load." So what he is saying here is with regards to loads which are too burdensome for oneself alone. For "each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others." Php 2:4

The law of Christ is to love one another as he said in John 13:34 "A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another." Paul mentioned this kind of thing also Gal 5:14 as being the summary of the law. Something for legalists to consider.



Attitude Towards Self
Part I: An Attitude of Humility

Gal 6:3 If anyone thinks he is something when he is nothing, he deceives himself.

The selflessness alluded to in the previous verse is really contingent upon the humility which Paul alludes to in this verse. Notice also in Php 2:3-4 the relationship between humility and a selfless concern for others:

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.  Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.
Humility is the most essential of character qualities in the Christian life upon which all other character qualities are contingent.

But with legalism one tends to exalt the teaching and traditions of man. Thus denominational doctrines and denominational leaders become overinflated, and allegiances to such become a matter of pride and an unnecessary source of conflict within the Christian community.

Better in fact to make nothing of oneself than to make something of oneself. Consider Jesus, for example, he made nothing of himself. Php 2: 5-8 "Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped,  but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death— even death on a cross!" Or consider what John the Baptist said concerning his ministry, "He must become greater; I must become less." John 3:30  So let not denominational differences overshadow what Christ is doing in his Church.



Attitude Towards Self
Part II: An Attitude of Personal Accountability

Gal 6:4,5  Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else, for each one should carry his own load.

Legalists have a tendency to judge others over issues of which Christians are free to act in accordance with their own conscience. Paul speaks of this application in Romans saying:

Accept him whose faith is weak, without passing judgment on disputable matters. One man’s faith allows him to eat everything, but another man, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The man who eats everything must not look down on him who does not, and the man who does not eat everything must not condemn the man who does, for God has accepted him. Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand.  One man considers one day more sacred than another; another man considers every day alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind. Rom 14:1-5
So when it comes to judgment, let a Christian firstly apply it to himself. Examine yourself as to whether and to what degree you are fulfilling your personal responsibilities in living the Christian life, and whether you are bearing your own load, or unnecessarily burdening others with what you should be taking personal responsiblity for.

Thus Paul evaluated himself saying, "Now this is our boast: Our conscience testifies that we have conducted ourselves in the world, and especially in our relations with you, in the holiness and sincerity that are from God." 2Cor 1:12



Attitude towards Authority
An Attitude of Support Spiritual Authorities

Gal 6:6 Anyone who receives instruction in the word must share all good things with his instructor.

What Paul might be alluding to here is the idea of providing instructors with some kind of financial compensation.  A couple of times in scripture he invoked Deut 25:4 to support this principle, and also mentioned of the "Lord's command" with respect to this idea.

1Co 9:9-14  For it is written in the Law of Moses: "Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain." (Deut 25:4) Is it about oxen that God is concerned? Surely he says this for us, doesn’t he? Yes, this was written for us, because when the plowman plows and the thresher threshes, they ought to do so in the hope of sharing in the harvest. If we have sown spiritual seed among you, is it too much if we reap a material harvest from you? If others have this right of support from you, shouldn’t we have it all the more? But we did not use this right. On the contrary, we put up with anything rather than hinder the gospel of Christ. Don’t you know that those who work in the temple get their food from the temple, and those who serve at the altar share in what is offered on the altar? In the same way, the Lord has commanded that those who preach the gospel should receive their living from the gospel.

Though he taught this principle, Paul and Barnabus did not actually exercise their right for financial compensation as it may have hindered the gospel in doing so. He also mentions this principle in 1Tim with regards to church elders.

1Tim 5:17,18 The elders who direct the affairs of the church well are worthy of double honor, especially those whose work is preaching and teaching For the Scripture says, "Do not muzzle the ox while it is treading out the grain," and "The worker deserves his wages." (Deut 25:4)

The double honor being respect and financial compensation.

As for us at the Berean Christian Bible Study Resources, we follow Paul's example and do not exercise this right. And we encourage fellow teachers and preachers of the Word to follow Paul's example so that they can speak as Paul did to the elders in Acts 20 saying, "I have not coveted anyone’s silver or gold or clothing. You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’" Acts 20:33-35


Sowing and Reaping: Principle

Gal 6:7,8 Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life.

In other words, there are inevitable consequences to how we invest ourselves. Our time, our energy, our efforts all will reap some kind of fruit. There are those who mock God saying, "See I sinned and there were no immediate consequences." You may not see the effect right away, but you will bear fruit. So the question is, what kind of fruit or effect would you like to see coming from your life? If we invest ourselves in satisfying the cravings of our sinful flesh, the effects will be destructive. But if we invest ourselves in spiritual matters, the effects will lead to eternal life - and not just for ourselves.



Sowing and Reaping: Application

Gal 6:9,10 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

If you persist in doing good, you will inevitably bear good fruit. This is a principle you can count on. So look for opportunities to do good, and not just to believers but to all people, and in the name of Jesus "who gave himself for us to redeem us from all wickedness and to purify for himself a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good." Titus 2:14

But why does Paul say "especially to those who belong to the family of believers"? This is the priority in the Christian life. Jesus said, "A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another." John 13:34,35 He wasn't speaking of loving others in generally here, but rather this commandment was specifically referring to loving fellow Christians. So when considering what good you can do, consider firstly what you might do for fellow believers.



Outward Impression I

Gal 6:11 See what large letters I use as I write to you with my own hand!

Paul is not referring to the length of his epistle to the Galatians but rather to the size of the characters he's making in his own handwriting. So why is his handwriting so large? And what relevance does that have to the Galatians?

One speculation I've come across is that when he first entered Galatia he contracted an eye disease known as opthalmia the symptoms of which gave one a repulsive appearance. This may well explain his comment in Gal 4:15 where he says, "I can testify that, if you could have done so, you would have torn out your eyes and given them to me."

Here Paul is reminded them they had received him despite his outward appearance. The relevance will become evident when viewed in conjuction with the next verse.



Outward Impression II

Gal 6:12 Those who want to make a good impression outwardly are trying to compel you to be circumcised. The only reason they do this is to avoid being persecuted for the cross of Christ.

Paul previously reminded the Galatians that they had not received him on the basis of outward appearance. In fact they received him in spite of his outward appearance. In contrast, the false teachers are shallow. They just tried to make a good showing in the flesh, and were primarily concerned for the things of the flesh like circumcision.

As to their motivation, the cult leaders were trying to introduce a version of Christianity which would be more palatable for legalistic Jews - a version which excluding the preaching of the cross. Remember Paul previously noted, "Brothers, if I am still preaching circumcision, why am I still being persecuted? In that case the offense of the cross has been abolished." Gal 5:11

"The message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God." 1Cor 1:18
So don't water down the message of the cross. And if you're preaching the gospel correctly, you inevitably will offend certain people. That's the way it's supposed to be.
"In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted, while evil men and impostors will go from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived." 2Tim 3:12,13


What's Your Boast?

Gal 6:13,14 Not even those who are circumcised obey the law, yet they want you to be circumcised that they may boast about your flesh. May I never boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

The circumcision break the very spirit of the law. Hypocrisy is common among legalists. Jesus pointed this out in Matthew 23:13-33, as did Paul in Romans 2:17-24.

The circumcision was looking for an endorsement by the Galatian Christians. But from the beginning of this epistle Paul noted that he sought no such endorsement, not even from the apostles. Rather from personal conviction he preached the cross of Christ - the significance of Christ's death, burial, and resurrection, which brings salvation. Thus he likewise said to the Corinthians

"When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified." 1Cor 2:1,2


A New Creation

Gal 6:15 Neither circumcision nor uncircumcision means anything; what counts is a new creation.

Likewise Paul writes, "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!"2Cor 5:17 And Jesus said, "No one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again." John 3:3 Rituals done to the flesh neither save nor sanctify. "Flesh gives birth to flesh, but the Spirit gives birth to spirit." John 3:6 Or as Paul said in Gal 3:3 "Are you so foolish? Having begun in the Spirit, are you now being made perfect by the flesh?" (NKJV) So those born of the Spirit follow the spirit of the law rather than necessarily following the letter of the law. "For the letter kills, but the Spirit gives life." 2Cor 3:6b



The Israel of God

Gal 6:16  Peace and mercy to all who follow this rule, even to the Israel of God.

And what is the rule but to walk by the Spirit. The "Israel of God" walk in this manner. The group of the circumcision, though they were Jews by birth, were not part of the "Israel of God". For they did not walk in accordance with this principle. "For not all who are descended from Israel are Israel." Rom 9:6 And "man is a Jew if he is one inwardly; and circumcision is circumcision of the heart, by the Spirit, not by the written code." Rom 2:29



Final Words

Gal 6:17,18  Finally, let no one cause me trouble, for I bear on my body the marks of Jesus. The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit, brothers. Amen.

Paul had proven his allegience to the message of the cross suffering as Christ did in bearing the reproach of his enemies, being stigmatized by them, and suffering physically for the sake of the ministry. In 2Cor he makes a similar comparision between himself and false apostles (probably also of the circumcision), by saying,

"Are they Hebrews? So am I. Are they Israelites? So am I. Are they Abraham’s descendants? So am I. Are they servants of Christ? (I am out of my mind to talk like this.) I am more. I have worked much harder, been in prison more frequently, been flogged more severely, and been exposed to death again and again. Five times I received from the Jews the forty lashes minus one. Three times I was beaten with rods, once I was stoned, three times I was shipwrecked, I spent a night and a day in the open sea, I have been constantly on the move. I have been in danger from rivers, in danger from bandits, in danger from my own countrymen, in danger from Gentiles; in danger in the city, in danger in the country, in danger at sea; and in danger from false brothers. I have labored and toiled and have often gone without sleep; I have known hunger and thirst and have often gone without food; I have been cold and naked. Besides everything else, I face daily the pressure of my concern for all the churches." 2Cor 11:22-28
Consider what you have suffered for Christ and what you are willing suffer.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015