翻譯: English GB

耶西的枝子

以賽亞書 11:1-5

從耶西的本(原文作“𣎴”)必發一條,
從他根生的枝子必結果實。
耶和華的靈必住在他身上,
就是使他有智慧和聰明的靈,
謀略和能力的靈,
知識和敬畏耶和華的靈。

他必以敬畏耶和華為樂。
行審判不憑眼見,斷是非也不憑耳聞﹔
卻要以公義審判貧窮人,
以正直判斷世上的謙卑人,
以口中的杖擊打世界。
以嘴堛漁藈戮惡人。
公義必當他的腰帶,信實必當他脅下的帶子。

耶西是大衛王的父親,彌賽亞將從這樣一條線上來,在他凱旋進耶路撒冷時,眾人喊著說:“和散那歸于大衛的子孫!”【馬太福音 21:9b】現在的棕枝主日就是為了記念那件事。

耶西的本就是因被擄到巴比倫而被斬斷的王室宗親。但又通過基督,也就是以賽亞說的枝子,被重新建立。因此一個人要成為基督徒必先謙卑地成為一個𣎴子(“𣎴”讀dǔn,意思是墩子)。就像施洗約翰說的那樣:“他必興旺,我必衰微。”【約翰福音 3:30】因此使徒保羅在說到他先前的事時說:“只是我先前以為與我有益的,我現在因基督都當作有損的。”【腓立比書 3:7】

主幹上長著枝子,如耶穌說:“我是葡萄樹,你們是枝子。”【約翰福音 15:5a】常在基督堶情A我們就多結果子。因此關于這一段,作為基督徒我們可以與基督認同,如保羅說:“我已經與基督同釘十字架。現在活著的,不再是我,乃是基督在我堶惇△菕C”【加拉太書 2:20a】

我們生活和與基督一道作王是通過神的靈。我們由聖靈生,而且聖靈住在我們堶情C正是通過聖靈的智慧和啟示,我們才能夠更親近地認識神。保羅為以弗所的聖徒禱告說:“求我們主耶穌基督的神,榮耀的父,將那賜人智慧和啟示的靈賞給你們,使你們真知道他。”【以弗所書 1:17】作為我們的保惠師,聖靈教導我們,對我們為基督作見証。“但保惠師,就是父因我的名所要差來的聖靈,他要將一切的事指教你們,并且要叫你們想起我對你們所說的一切話。”【約翰福音 14:26】“但我要從父那堮t保惠師來,就是從父出來真理的聖靈。他來了,就要為我作見証。”【約翰福音 15:26】

聖靈也把對主的敬畏分賜給我們,因此基督徒嚴肅地對待生活,遠離惡事,順服于主而行,知道等待那些以罪的生活方式生活的人是被定罪(【哥林多前書 6:9-10】)。

當神派撒母耳到耶西的兒子們那堙A從他們中間選一個王時,撒母耳開始以外貌判斷他們。但是,“耶和華卻對撒母耳說:‘不要看他的外貌和他身材高大,我不揀選他。因為,耶和華不像人看人,人是看外貌。耶和華是看內心。’”【撒母耳記上 16:7】而當主自己來的時候,人也錯誤地判斷他。因為,“他被藐視,被人厭棄,多受痛苦,常經憂患。”【以賽亞書 53:3a】

基督還沒有在以賽亞在這堜珨〞熒N義上在地上作王。因為以賽亞說的是千禧年王國,屆時基督徒也要與基督一起作王,如經上所記:“他們都復活了,與基督一同作王一千年。”【啟示錄 20:4b】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The Branch of Jesse

Isaiah 11:1-5
A shoot will come up from the stump of Jesse; from his roots a Branch will bear fruit.  The Spirit of the LORD will rest on himó
the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding,
the Spirit of counsel and of power,
the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORDó
and he will delight in the fear of the LORD.

He will not judge by what he sees with his eyes, or decide by what he hears with his ears;  but with righteousness he will judge the needy, with justice he will give decisions for the poor of the earth. He will strike the earth with the rod of his mouth; with the breath of his lips he will slay the wicked. Righteousness will be his belt and faithfulness the sash around his waist.

Jesse was the father of King David and it was through such a line that the Messiah would come, and in his triumphal entry into Jerusalem, of which we celebrate as Palm Sunday, the crowds cried out "Hosanna to the Son of David!" Matt 21:9

The stump of Jesse is the kingly line which was chopped down through the Babylonian captivity. But it was restored through Christ who was the branch Isaiah speaks of. So also for one to become a Christian he must first become a stump in humiliation. And then as John the Baptist says, "He must increase and I must decrease."John 3:30 Thus the apostle Paul speaks of his former credentials saying, "But whatever was to my profit I now consider loss for the sake of Christ." Php 3:7

A main branch also has other branches coming from it, as Jesus said, "I am the vine; you are the branches." John 15:5  And by abiding in Christ we bear fruit. Thus as Christians we can identify with Christ in this passage as Paul says, " I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me." Gal 2:20

It is through the Spirit of God that we live and reign with Christ. We are born of the Spirit and the Spirit rests upon us. It is through the Spirit of wisdom and revelation that we can know God more intimately. Paul prays for the Ephesians saying, "I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better." Ephesians 1:17  As our Counselor, the Holy Spirit teaches us and testifies of Christ. John 14:26  "But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you." John 15:26  "When the Counselor comes, whom I will send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth who goes out from the Father, he will testify about me."

The Spirit also imparts the fear of the Lord, thus Christians take life seriously, departing from evil and walking in submission to the Lord, knowing that condemnation awaits those who live a lifestyle of sin. (1Cor 6:9,10)

When God sent Samuel to the sons of Jesse in order to chose a King among them, Samuel at first judged them by outward appearance. But the LORD said to Samuel, "Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart."1 Samuel 16:7  And so also when the Lord himself came people misjudged him. For "He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows, and familiar with suffering." Isaiah 53:3

Christ is yet to reign on earth in the sense Isaiah speaks of here. For Isaiah is speaking of the Millenial Kingdom in which Christians will also reign with Christ as it is written, "They came to life and reigned with Christ a thousand years." Rev 20:4


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015