翻譯: English GB

你所倚靠的有什麼可仗賴的呢?

以賽亞書 36:4

拉伯沙基對他們說:“你們去告訴希西家,說亞述大王如此說:你所倚靠的有什麼可仗賴的呢?”

主按照他在摩西律法堛瘧筆i(【申命記 28:15+】),讓亞述王西拿基立給北王國以色列帶來審判。然而狂傲的西拿基立卻決意還要攻打南王國猶大。(有權威的人企圖把手伸到他們合法的權威范圍之外,這很典型。)

這個亞述將軍對猶大和猶大王希西家的奚落就像耶穌在曠野受到魔鬼的試探一樣。但它們提出耐人尋味的問題。這第一個問題所意味的是猶大的信念是突出的。我們基督徒也應該有這樣的盼望和信念,這會使人也來問我們,比如彼得寫到:“有人問你們心中盼望的緣由,就要常作准備,以溫柔、敬畏的心回答各人。”【彼得前書 3:15b】是什麼會使人問我們這樣的問題呢?信念在艱難的情況下真正地顯示出來,比如彼得寫這句話的上下文堛滷“峞A和我們在以賽亞書這堿搢鴘滷“峞A一個小國家遭到一個比他們強大很多的大國的攻擊。因此,受到逼迫和患難的基督徒只要持守他們的信念就有一個傳福音的自然渠道,如希伯來書的作者說:“一面被毀謗,遭患難,成了戲景,叫眾人觀看﹔一面陪伴那些受這樣苦難的人。因為你們體恤了那些被捆鎖的人,并且你們的家業被人搶去,也甘心忍受,知道自己有更美、長存的家業。所以你們不可丟棄勇敢的心,存這樣的心必得大賞賜。”【希伯來書 10:33-35】并且,“我實實在在地告訴你們,一粒麥子不落在地埵漱F,仍舊是一粒。若是死了,就結出許多子粒來。”【約翰福音 12:24】

我們的信念或確信得救的根據是什麼呢?這首先是基于神的道,基于神對拯救的應許。但這樣一個應許不是無條件的。“然而神堅固的根基立住了,上面有這印記說:‘主認識誰是他的人。’又說:‘凡稱呼主名的人總要離開不義。’”【提摩太後書 2:19】如果我們是他的就安全了。我們通過信基督成為他的,我們的罪通過基督得到赦免,而且我們通過基督成為聖潔。他已經把我們從我們的罪堭洏X來,并正在把我們從我們固有的罪性堭洏X來。因此拯救的效果應該從我們的生活堿搘X來。“我們若遵守他的誡命,就曉得是認識他。”【約翰一書 2:3】而且,“從此就顯出誰是神的兒女,誰是魔鬼的兒女:凡不行義的就不屬神,不愛弟兄的也是如此。”【約翰一書 3:10】“所以凡聽見我這話就去行的,好比一個聰明人,把房子蓋在磐石上。”【馬太福音 7:24】“那磐石就是基督。”【哥林多前書 10:4】“因為那已經立好的根基就是耶穌基督,此外沒有人能立別的根基。”【哥林多前書 3:11】

我們從希西家和他的百姓的反應看出他們所倚靠,所仗賴的的確是主。事實上,對于神來說,我們所經歷的苦難并不重要,重要的是我們對苦難的反應。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

A Confident Basis

Isaiah 36:4
The field commander said to them, "Tell Hezekiah, "`This is what the great king, the king of Assyria, says: On what are you basing this confidence of yours?

In accordance with his warnings in the Law of Moses (Deut 28:15+) the Lord had assigned Sennacherib king of Assyria to bring judgment upon the Northern kingdom of Israel. However in defiance Sennacherib determined to attack the Southern kingdom of Judah as well. (Typical of authorities forces themselves on others outside of their legitimate realm of authority)

Like Jesus being tempted by the devil in the wilderness so were the tauntings of this field commander to Judah and its king Hezekiah. Nonetheless they present questions to consider.What is implied in this first question is that the confidence Judah had was outstanding. So also we Christians should have such a hope and confidence that it would lead people to question us as well, as Peter writes, "Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have." 1Peter 3:15 What would lead people to ask us such a question? Confidence is really revealed under duress such as the context in which Peter was writing and such as the situation we see here in Isaiah in which this small nation of Judah is under attack by a much larger and powerful nation. And thus Christians under persecution and tribulation have a natural avenue for evangelism by just holding on to their confidence, as the writer of Hebrews says, "Sometimes you were publicly exposed to insult and persecution; at other times you stood side by side with those who were so treated. You sympathized with those in prison and joyfully accepted the confiscation of your property, because you knew that you yourselves had better and lasting possessions. So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded."Heb 33-35 And "Most assuredly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it produces much grain." John 12:24

What is the basis of our confidence or our assurance of salvation? It is based firstly upon God's Word, that is his promise of salvation. But such a promise is not unconditional God's solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: "The Lord knows those who are his," and, "Everyone who confesses the name of the Lord must turn away from wickedness." 2Tim 2:19 If we are His then we are secure. We become His through faith in Christ, through whom we have forgiveness of sins, but also through whom we have sanctification. He saved us from our sins and is saving us from our innate sinfulness. Thus the effect of salvation should be evident in our lives.  "We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands." 1John 2:3  And  "This is how we know who the children of God are and who the children of the devil are: Anyone who does not do what is right is not a child of God; nor is anyone who does not love his brother." 1John 3:10 "Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock." Matthew 7:24 "and that rock was Christ." 1Cor 10:4 And  "no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ." 1Cor 3:11

We will see from  the reaction of Hezekiah and his people that they were indeed putting their confidence in the Lord. In fact it's not so important to God all the troubles we go through, but rather how we react to them.

The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources