翻譯: English GB

你將要死

以賽亞書 38:1-6

那時希西家病得要死,亞摩斯的兒子先知以賽亞去見他,對他說:

“耶和華如此說:你當留遺命與你的家,因為你必死不能活了。”
希西家就轉臉朝牆,禱告耶和華說:
“耶和華啊,求你記念我在你面前怎樣存完全的心,按誠實行事,又作你眼中所看為善的。”
希西家就痛哭了。耶和華的話臨到以賽亞說:
“你去告訴希西家,說耶和華你祖大衛的神如此說:我聽見了你的禱告,看見了你的眼淚,我必加增你十五年的壽數。并且我要救你和這城脫離亞述王的手,也要保護這城。”

“在耶和華眼中,看聖民之死極為寶貴。”【詩篇 116:15】每個人到時候都要死。但也許神宣告希西家將至的死主要不是預告性的,而是要激起反應。因為希西家已經証明是一個禱告的人,在艱難的時候求告主。但從他的反應我們可以學到什麼呢?

在記錄史實而不是教導的部分,我們得自己通過這些部分與聖經中更明確教導的部分的聯系推斷出要學的。換句話說,在這塈畯怓搢鴔あ霈a是如何作出反應的,但從這塈畯怳ㄙ器D他理想的反應應該是什麼。

希西家想要他的生命得以延長。這一點他在接下來他感謝神回答他禱告的一段婸§o很清楚。一個有意思的討論問題是如果神告訴你你就要死了,你將如何禱告呢?你知道嗎,你將要死──也許不是今天,也許不是明天,但有一天。

看一看希西家在這堛疑咩i:“耶和華啊,求你記念我在你面前怎樣存完全的心,按誠實行事,又作你眼中所看為善的。”對于很多福音派的基督徒來說,這簡直就是法利賽人的墨守律法主義,就像寓言堛漕滬茠k利賽人的禱告一樣:“神啊,我感謝你,我不像別人,勒索、不義、奸淫,也不像這個稅吏。我一個禮拜禁食兩次,凡我所得的,都捐上十分之一。”【路加福音 18:11a-12】這是不值得稱贊的。與此相對比的是稅吏的值得稱贊的禱告:“神啊,開恩可憐我這個罪人。”【路加福音 18:13b】看來希西家的禱告介于兩者之間──也就是說神憐憫我這個忠心的仆人。我們將在下一段堿搢鴔あ霈a耽心他罪性的狀態,雖然在這堥S有說到這一點。

法利賽人和稅吏的寓言是關于假冒為善,而不是關于什麼形式的禱告能夠討神的歡心。這個寓言是關于態度。如果一個人,比如希西家,真是存完全的心,按誠實行事,并且真地做在神的眼所看為善的事,那的確是神所關注的。這對比于那些聲稱是基督徒,但卻故意以罪的生活方式生活,以為他們只要承認他們是罪人就可以得到神的回答。他們采用了稅吏的禱告形式,卻沒有他的態度和心。

下次在你求神幫助的時候,考慮像希西家那樣禱告:“耶和華啊,求你記念我在你面前怎樣存完全的心,按誠實行事,又作你眼中所看為善的。”這些是你與主同行時的特徵嗎?如果不是的話,為什麼呢?“耶和華遠離惡人,卻聽義人的禱告。”【箴言 15:29】


不如死了更好

從結果看,如果希西家的生命沒有延長對所有人都更好。在那延長的十五年間:

這樣看來如果希西家沒有禱告求他的生命得到延續,他會留下更好的名聲。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

You Are Going to Die

Isaiah 38:1-6
In those days Hezekiah became ill and was at the point of death. The prophet Isaiah son of Amoz went to him and said,
"This is what the LORD says: Put your house in order, because you are going to die; you will not recover."
Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the LORD,
"Remember, O LORD, how I have walked before you faithfully and with wholehearted devotion and have done what is good in your eyes." '
And Hezekiah wept bitterly. Then the word of the LORD came to Isaiah:
"Go and tell Hezekiah, ‘This is what the LORD, the God of your father David, says: I have heard your prayer and seen your tears; I will add fifteen years to your life. And I will deliver you and this city from the hand of the king of Assyria. I will defend this city."


"Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints." Psalms 116:15  And everyone must die at some point. But perhaps God announced Hezekiah's impending death not so much predictively, but in order to invoke a reaction. For Hezekiah had proven to be a man of prayer, calling upon the Lord in times of distress. But what can be learned from his reaction?
As these are historical sections and not directly didactic we are left only to infer lessons correlating them with sections of the Bible which teach more explicitly. In other words in this case we see how Hezekiah reacted, but we don't know how ideally he should have reacted.
Hezekiah wanted his life extended. This he makes clear in the section following this one in which he thanks God for answering him. An interesting discussion question is how would you pray if God were to tell you that you are about to die? Well guess what? You are about to die - may be not today and maybe not tomorrow, but some day.

In viewing Hezekiah's particular prayer here, namely, "Remember, O LORD, how I have walked before you faithfully and with wholehearted devotion and have done what is good in your eyes." to many an evangelical Christian this smacks of Pharisaical legalism as in the parable of in which the Pharisee prays, "God, I thank you that I am not like other men— robbers, evildoers, adulterers— or even like this tax collector.  I fast twice a week and give a tenth of all I get." Lk 18:11,12 which was not commendable. This in contrast to the Tax Collector's prayer which was commended, "God, have mercy on me, a sinner." Lk 18:13 It seems Hezekiah's prayer falls in between - namely God have mercy on me a faithful servant. We will see in the next section that Hezekiah was concerned about his sinful state, though that isn't brought out here.

The parable of the Pharisee and the Tax collector is about hypocrisy. It is not about forms of prayer that impress God. It is about attitude. If a person, like Hezekiah, actually is faithful and devout and actually doing what is right in God's eyes, that is something that God pays attention to. This in contrast to those who claim to be Christians but who willfully live lifestyles of sin who think that they can get God to answer their prayers simply by admitting they are sinners. They take the form of the tax collector's prayer but not the attitude of heart.
Next time you ask God for help consider praying as Hezekiah did, "Remember, O LORD, how I have walked before you faithfully and with wholehearted devotion and have done what is good in your eyes." Are these characteristics of your walk with the Lord. If not why not?   "The LORD is far from the wicked but he hears the prayer of the righteous." Proverbs 15:29


Better Off Dead

Now it turns out that it may have been better for everyone if Hezekiah's life had not been extended. During those 15 extended years:
Thus it seems it would have been better for Hezekiah's legacy if he had never prayed to have his life extended.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources