翻譯: English GB

壓傷的蘆葦

以賽亞書 42:1-4

“看哪,我的仆人,我所扶持,所揀選,心堜珜蒏悚滿A我已將我的靈賜給他,他必將公理傳給外邦。他不喧嚷,不揚聲,也不使街上聽見他的聲音。壓傷的蘆葦他不折斷,將殘的燈火他不吹滅。他憑真實將公理傳開。他不灰心,也不喪膽,直到他在地上設立公理,海島都等候他的訓誨。”

以賽亞說的這個“仆人”是誰?是以色列嗎?新約引用這幾節說這個仆人就是耶穌基督。

“耶穌知道了,就離開那堙A有許多人跟著他,他把其中有病的人都治好了。又囑咐他們,不要給他傳名。這是要應驗先知以賽亞的話,說:【以賽亞書 42:1-4】【馬太福音 12:15-17】

舊約以比喻的方式說話,這些事實在舊約埵h少有些被隱藏起來。

如果我們像耶穌所行的那樣去行,如何把這幾節應用到我們身上呢?

首先我們必須是仆人。也就是說我們必須順從主。

“我實實在在地告訴你們,子憑著自己不能做什麼,惟有看見父所做的,子才能做。父所做的事,子也照樣做。父愛子,將自己所作的一切事指給他看,還要將比這更大的事指給他看,叫你們希奇。”【約翰福音 5:19-20】

“并且他替眾人死,是叫那些活著的人不再為自己活,乃為替他們死而復活的主活。”【哥林多後書 5:15】

還有就是要受聖靈的指引。

“當時,耶穌被聖靈引到曠野,受魔鬼的試探。”【馬太福音 4:1】

“因為凡被神的靈引導的,都是神的兒子。”【羅馬書 8:14】

另外就是使命本身。

“你怎樣差我到世上,我也照樣差他們到世上。”【約翰福音 17:18】
正如耶穌長期的使命是將公理傳給外邦,我們蒙召是要把通過信耶穌基督,罪得到饒恕的信息傳到萬邦。

喊叫

但不喧嚷,不揚聲,也不使街上聽見我們的聲音的意思和應用是什麼呢?耶穌不是有時也揚起他的聲音嗎?

節期的末日,就是最大之日,耶穌站著高聲說:“人若渴了,可以到我這堥茬隉C信我的人,就如經上所說:‘從他腹中要流出活水的江河來。’”【約翰福音 7:37-38】

說了這話,就大聲呼叫說:“拉撒路出來!”【約翰福音 11:43】

約在申初,耶穌大聲喊著說:“以利,以利,拉馬撒巴各大尼?”就是說:“我的神,我的神,為什麼離棄我?”【馬太福音 27:46】

而且耶穌也并非從來沒有因他的言語得罪人。因為他常常以貶損的方式說話。

“你們這假冒為善的文士和法利賽人有禍了!因為你們好像粉飾的墳墓,外面好看,堶惚o裝滿了死人的骨頭和一切的污穢。”【馬太福音 23:27】

甚至使用激怒人的言語。

“你們去充滿你們祖宗的惡貫吧!你們這些蛇類、毒蛇之種啊!怎能逃脫地獄的刑罰呢?”【馬太福音 23:32-33】

因此如果我們要搞懂以賽亞書堛熙o幾節,我們就必須注意在應用到耶穌基督時沒有矛盾。

這會不會是指耶穌講話的一般方式呢?因為他常常以提問或用寓言來回答問題,雖然其內容往往是貶損的。然而我們從效仿主榜樣的保羅看到,他也與人辯論和爭辯。

“保羅進會堂,放膽講道,一連三個月,辯論神國的事,勸化眾人。”【使徒行傳 19:8】

“奉主的名,放膽傳道。并與說希利尼話的猶太人,講論辯駁。他們卻想法子要殺他。”【使徒行傳 9:29】

但耶穌是否曾經如此地義憤,以至于訴之于暴力呢?我們看到對他在殿堜珧答滿A有這個印像的確是可以理解的。

“耶穌就拿繩子作成鞭子,把牛羊都趕出殿去,倒出兌換銀錢之人的銀錢,推翻他們的桌子。”【約翰福音 2:15】

那麼,“他不喧嚷,不揚聲,也不使街上聽見他的聲音”究竟是什麼意思呢?我想,這個問題的答案可以在馬太福音第十二章媕野帠o幾節的那一段塈鋮魽C這堿O那一段的上下文:

“法利賽人出去,商議怎樣可以除滅耶穌。耶穌知道了,就離開那堙A有許多人跟著他,他把其中有病的人都治好了。又囑咐他們,不要給他傳名。這是要應驗先知以賽亞的話,說:”【馬太福音 12:14-17】

第一個應用就是離開那些強烈拒絕聽的人與人對話到他們還愿意聽和討論的程度,如保羅所做的。但我要說,如果他們拒絕你,以至于到了要殺你的地步,那麼很有可能他們已經不會再聽你的了。在這種情況下,我們也許應該像耶穌那樣離開。在你交流真理的時候,往往到某個時候你會感到他們不再聽了。如果他們不聽,再多說又有什麼益處呢?甚至耶穌也命令說:“凡不接待你們,不聽你們話的人,你們離開那家,或是那城的時候,就把腳上的塵土跺下去。”【馬太福音 10:14】不幸的是,這種事不但發生在向教外的人傳福音的時候,甚至發生在向教內的人傳福音的時候。

第二就是遠避虛榮和虛名事實上有的時候耶穌似乎故意說一些使他不受眾人歡迎的話。“從此,他門徒中多有退去的,不再和他同行。”【約翰福音 6:66】基督徒個人和基督教機構都不應該為他們自己造名聲或在屬世的意義上尋求眾人的歡迎。反之,我們要榮耀主,為他造名聲。甚至耶穌有時都除去他的名望──在這媗顑J別人不要給他傳名──因為他的時候還沒有到來。現在這個時候到來了。但如果我們自己或我們的機構受眾人歡迎,我們就要當心。有時,一個人應當考慮如何除去自己的名望。否則,神自己就會來給你做。

因此,從一方面講我們蒙召要與那些愿意聽我們的人相交。但從另一方面講我們要注意我們的動機,做事不要出于貪圖虛榮和虛名。

壓傷的蘆葦他不折斷

我們看到耶穌的事奉反映出這一點,比如他說:“健康的人用不著醫生,有病的人才用得著,我來本不是召義人,乃是召罪人。”【馬可福音 2:17】他主要與那些在靈埵陳f的人相交──更不用說在身體上有病的人。但要明白從上下文看,他說的不是每一個在靈埵陳f的人。比如文士和法利賽人──那些外表上的義人──他們可以說在靈堣]是病人,與“罪人”和稅吏以及其他被人鄙視為明顯的罪人相同。

他也有一個對“義人”的事奉,但與對“壓傷的蘆葦”和“將殘的燈火”的事奉有截然不同的特徵。比如對約翰福音第八章堛漕滬茼瘝]時被拿,被帶到他那堥審的婦人。他沒有按照摩西律法所要求的那樣用石頭把她打死,而是告訴她從此不要再犯罪了。他給她時間去悔改。這對我們考慮應用恩慈和恩典的原則很有啟發。因為如果耶穌是在今天做同樣這件事,很多人會認為他說的從此不要再犯罪這句話本身就是在扔石頭。

這也教導我們不要對那些“幾乎是基督徒”的人太嚴厲。雖然福音召他們悔改,不但在信堣]在行為上,然而他們還沒有像那些已經由神生的人那樣,有勝過罪的內在的力量。他們還不具有在靈塈颽隻釆籅漱H所具有的識別善惡、真假的洞察力。

他不灰心

這并不是說他從來沒有遇到過挫折。“耶穌說:‘噯,這又不信又悖謬的世代啊,我在你們這堶n到幾時呢?我忍耐你們要到幾時呢?把他帶到我這堥荍a。’”【馬太福音 17:17】但他將在他的事奉堸礅龤C因此、“那忍受罪人這樣頂撞的,你們要思想,免得疲倦灰心。”【希伯來書 12:3】如果一個基督徒把自己看作是基督的跟隨者,那麼他就不應該在使命媟n白旗。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

A Bruised Reed

Isaiah 42:1-4
"Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him and he will bring justice to the nations. He will not shout or cry out, or raise his voice in the streets. A bruised reed he will not break, and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out. In faithfulness he will bring forth justice; he will not falter or be discouraged till he establishes justice on earth. In his law the islands will put their hope."


Comment

Who is the "servant" Isaiah speaks of? Is it Israel? The New Testament referring to these verses identifies the servant as Jesus Christ.
Matt 12: 15-17 Many followed him, and he healed all their sick,  warning them not to tell who he was.  This was to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah: [Isaiah 42:1-4]
Such facts are somewhat hidden in the Old Testament with its allegorical ways of saying things.

If we are to walk as Jesus did how do these verses apply to us?

First we must be a servant. That is to walk in subservience to the Lord.

"I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does." John 5:19,20

"And he died for all, that those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again." 2Cor 5:15

Secondly to be directed by the Spirit.
 Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil. Matthew 4:1

those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God. Romans 8:14

And then there's the mission itself
As you sent me into the world, I have sent them into the world. John 17:18
As Jesus' long term mission brings justice to the nations, so we are called to bring justification to the nations bringing the message of the forgiveness of sins through faith in Jesus Christ.

Shouting

But what does it mean and what is the application of the idea of not shouting or raising our voices in the streets? It's not as if Jesus hadn't raised his voice at times,
On the last and greatest day of the Feast, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, "If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink.  Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, streams of living water will flow from within him." John 7:37,38

When he had said this, Jesus called in a loud voice, "Lazarus, come out!" John 11:43

About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a loud voice, <"Eloi, Eloi, lama> <sabachthani?"> Matthew 27:46

Nor is it as if Jesus never offended people when he spoke. For he often spoke in a derogatory manner.
Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you are like whitewashed tombs which indeed appear beautiful outwardly, but inside are full of dead menís bones and all uncleanness. Matthew 23:27
Even using inflamatory speech
Fill up, then, the measure of your fathersí guilt. Serpents, brood of vipers! How can you escape the condemnation of hell? Matthew 23:32,33
Thus if we are to understand the verse in Isaiah, we have to make sure not to contradict how it actually applies to Jesus Christ.

Could it refer to Jesus' general style of argument. For he would often answer a question with a question or with a parable, though the content of which was often derogatory. We see however in his apostle Paul who claimed to be following the Lord's example that he was involved in arguments and disputes.

Paul entered the synagogue and spoke boldly there for three months, arguing persuasively about the kingdom of God. Acts 19:8

And he spoke boldly in the name of the Lord Jesus and disputed against the Hellenists, but they attempted to kill him. Acts 9:29

But did Jesus even get so outraged as to turn to violence? We'll actually that could understandably be the impression of his actions in the temple area.
When He had made a whip of cords, He drove them all out of the temple, with the sheep and the oxen, and poured out the changersí money and overturned the tables. John 2:15
So what does it mean that He will not shout or cry out, or raise his voice in the streets? I think the answer is given if we go back to the Matthew 12 passage in which Matthew actually applies this verse. Here is the context:
But the Pharisees went out and plotted how they might kill Jesus. Aware of this, Jesus withdrew from that place. Many followed him, and he healed all their sick, warning them not to tell who he was. This was to fulfill what was spoken through the prophet Isaiah:
The first application is to withdraw from those who vehemently refuse to listen. Dialog with people to the degree to which they are open to listening and discussion, as Paul also practiced. But I would say if they rejected you to the point where they're now trying to kill you then it's probably a good guess that they are no longer listening to you. In such a case perhaps we are to withdraw from them as Jesus did. As you're trying to communicate truth there is often a point where you discern they are no longer listening. Well what good is it to say more if they are no longer listening. Even Jesus commanded "If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town." Matthew 10:14 It's unfortunate that this kind of thing occurs not only in preaching the gospel to outsiders, but even in discipling insiders.

Secondly is to withdraw from fame and popularity. In fact at times it seems Jesus said things just to make himself unpopular. "From that time many of His disciples went back and walked with Him no more." John 6:66 Neither individual Christians nor Christian Institutions should seek to make a name for themselves or to become popular in a worldly sense. Rather we should glorify the Lord and make a name for Him. Even Jesus purges his popularity at times - in this case telling others not to tell who he was - for His time had not yet come. But now it has come. But we should beware if we or our institution becomes popular. At times one should consider how to purge one's popularity. Or perhaps God will do it Himself.

So on the one hand we are called to associated primarily with those who listen to us. But on the other hand we need to keep our motives in check so as not to be motivated out of fame and popularity.

A Bruise Reed He Will Not Break

We see this in Jesus ministry reflected for example in his statement, "It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners."Mark 2:17 He associated himself primarily with the spiritually sick - not to mention the physically sick. But understand the context that he is not talking about everyone who is spiritually sick. For certainly the Scribes and Pharisees - those reckoned outwardly righteous - were arguably just as spiritually sick as the "sinners" and tax collectors who were despised as overt sinners.

He also had a ministry to the "righteous", but it was characteristically different than to the "bruised reeds" and "dimily burning wicks." For example to the adulterous woman of John 8 brought to him for judgment. He didn't stone her to death as the Law of Moses required, but he did tell her not to sin anymore. He provided time for her to repent. This is instructive when we consider the misapplication of the principle of mercy and grace. For if Jesus had done the same thing today, many would consider that just his remark to not sin anymore would have itself been taken as stone throwing.

It is instructive not to be too harsh on the "almost Christians" Though the gospel calls them to repent, not only in faith but in behavior, yet they don't have the innate power as those born of God have to overcome sin. Nor have they the spritual insight of the mature spiritual man with which to recognize degrees of good and evil; truth and falseness.

He will Not be Discouraged

Not to say that he won't be frustrated. Matthew 17:17 "O unbelieving and perverse generation," Jesus replied, "how long shall I stay with you? How long shall I put up with you?" But he will persist in his ministry. Therefore "consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart." Hebrews 12:3  If a Christian reckons themselves to be followers of Christ then they shouldn't throw in the towel when it comes to the mission.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources