翻譯: English 简体中文

約翰福音 8:1-30

誰是無罪的

8:1 于是各人都回家去了。耶穌卻往橄欖山去。
8:2 清早又回到殿堙C
眾百姓都到他那堨h,他就坐下教訓他們。
8:3 文士和法利賽人,帶著一個行淫時被拿的婦人來,
叫她站在當中。
8:4 就對耶穌說:“夫子,這婦人是正行淫之時被拿的。
8:5 摩西在律法上吩咐我們,把這樣的婦人用石頭打死。
你說該把她怎麼樣呢?”
8:6 他們說這話,乃試探耶穌,要得著告他的把柄。
耶穌卻彎著腰,用指頭在地上畫字。
8:7 他們還是不住地問他,耶穌就直起腰來,對他們說:
“你們中間誰是沒有罪的,誰就可以先拿石頭打她。”
8:8 于是又彎著腰,用指頭在地上畫字。
8:9 他們聽見這話,
就從老到少,一個一個地都出去了,
只剩下耶穌一人,還有那婦人仍然站在當中。
8:10 耶穌就直起腰來,對她說:
“婦人,那些人在哪堜O?沒有人定你的罪嗎?”
8:11 她說:“主啊,沒有。”耶穌說:
“我也不定你的罪。去吧。從此不要再犯罪了。”

世界的光

8:12 耶穌又對眾人說:
“我是世界的光。跟從我的,就不在黑暗堥哄A
必要得著生命的光。”
8:13 法利賽人對他說:
“你是為自己作見証。你的見証不真。”
8:14 耶穌說:“我雖然為自己作見証,我的見証還是真的。
因我知道我從哪堥荂A往哪堨h。
你們卻不知道我從哪堥荂A往哪堨h。
8:15 你們是以外貌(原文作‘憑肉身’)判斷人,我卻不判斷人。
8:16 就是判斷人,我的判斷也是真的。因為不是我獨自在這堙A
還有差我來的父與我同在。
8:17 你們的律法上也記著說:‘兩個人的見証是真的。’
8:18 我是為自己作見証,
還有差我來的父也是為我作見証。”
8:19 他們就問他說:“你的父在哪堙H”
耶穌回答說:“你們不認識我,也不認識我的父。
若是認識我,也就認識我的父。”
8:20 這些話是耶穌在殿堛漁w房教訓人時所說的。
也沒有人拿他,因為他的時候還沒有到。

8:21 耶穌又對他們說:
“我要去了,你們要找我,并且你們要死在罪中。
我所去的地方,你們不能到。”
8:22 猶太人說:“他說:‘我所去的地方,你們不能到,’
難道他要自盡嗎?”
8:23 耶穌對他們說:“你們是從下頭來的,我是從上頭來的。
你們是屬這世界的,我不是屬這世界的。
8:24 所以我對你們說,你們要死在罪中,
你們若不信我是基督,必要死在罪中。”

8:25 他們就問他說:“你是誰?”
耶穌對他們說:“就是我從起初所告訴你們的。
8:26 我有許多事講論你們,判斷你們﹔
但那差我來的是真的,
我在他那堜疻巨ㄙ滿A我就傳給世人。”
8:27 他們不明白耶穌是指著父說的。
8:28 所以耶穌說:你們舉起人子以後,
必知道我是基督,并且知道我沒有一件事是憑著自己作的。
我說這些話乃是照著父所教訓我的。
8:29 那差我來的是與我同在。他沒有撇下我獨自在這堙A
因為我常作他所喜悅的事。”
8:30 耶穌說這話的時候,就有許多人信他。


問題討論

第1-11節
猜想一下耶穌在地上寫的是什麼?
律法處治通奸的條例是什麼?
耶穌不同意律法嗎?
他寬恕了通奸罪嗎?
為什麼現在人們覺得通奸比起謀殺來不過是小事一樁?
這符合摩西的律法嗎?
耶穌是用什麼來淡化這個情形的?
耶穌向這個婦人扔石頭了嗎?
第12-20節為什麼說耶穌的見証是真的?
第24節 耶穌稱他自己是誰?
如果人接受這個事實會怎麼樣?
你要怎麼做呢?
第28節 “舉起人子”是什麼意思?
當他被舉起時發生了什麼?
(另見【約翰福音 3:14】; 12:32


注釋

誰是無罪的

第1-11節
這段經文常為放蕩者濫用。宗教權貴想用一個有爭議的問題來試探耶穌,逼他做出左右不是的決定。首先,我們注意到,這婦人是正在行淫之時被他們捉住的。那麼,如果她“正在行淫”,與她通奸的男人到哪去了?也許正是這群告她的人堛漱@個勾引她通奸的。我們不知到這個婦人是不是妓女,如果是那樣的話,只要給她點錢就能很容易地誘使她通奸﹔也許,她是個普通的良家婦女,或是未出嫁的閨女與有婦之夫通奸。後面這幾種情形更會得到眾人的同情,這些宗教首領大概更會選擇這樣的目標,以期挑動眾人反對耶穌,如果他決定要用石頭打死她的話。

律法是這樣說的:“與鄰舍之妻行淫的,奸夫淫婦都必治死。” 【利未記 20:10】其實如果是我的話,我會讓他們先把奸夫帶來再說。然而,耶穌有他的用意。那麼他在地上寫的是什麼呢?我猜想,他很可能在寫十誡,就如他把十誡給摩西時那樣。“耶和華在西乃山和摩西說完了話,就把兩塊法版交給他,是神用指頭寫的石版。” 【出埃及記 31:18】他這樣做是要幫助人來聽他所要作的回答。因為雖然她的確犯了法,所有的人也都在不同的地方犯了法。

耶穌在這埵}沒有反對律法。他沒有不同意律法。(歸根結底,律法是他寫的!)他只是要求,就這個婦人的這件案子,扔第一塊石頭的人按照律法是無罪的。這就使告她的人轉攻為守。正像所羅門說的那樣:“時常行善而不犯罪的義人,世上實在沒有。” 【傳道書 7:20】他們可以進一步地試探耶穌,問他有什麼權力要加上這麼一個條件。然而耶穌可以進一步地把他們每一個人的罪都說出來,發現他們每一個人其實也都該定死罪。所以,用“罪”這張牌就淡化了這個情形。

那麼耶穌是不是認可通奸了呢?當然不是。他告訴那個婦人:“去吧。從此不要再犯罪了。”然而今天,在徒有虛名的基督徒中,如果你對放蕩的人說不要再犯罪了,那麼你將會被定罪,似乎你扔了石頭!的確,如果你照著耶穌的樣子做的話,你將成為那些宗教權貴投石的對像。

現在再來看看律法,有意思的是按照摩西律法,謀殺和通奸都是死罪。那是神的觀點。那麼請告訴我,為什麼在這個國家媬拲可定死罪,而通奸卻不受任何處罰呢?事實上,通奸在許多州可以作為離婚的理由,但在授與財產時,卻對其不加任何考慮。前總統克林頓就與新聞媒體一道展示出,我們生活在一塊奸淫的土地上。在此,這種行為不受任何懲罰,因為它是這堛熙W范。

基督徒中也過多地容忍了放蕩行為。保羅寫到:“我先前寫信給你們說,不可與淫亂的人相交。此話不是指這世上一概行淫亂的,或貪婪的,勒索的,或拜偶像的,若是這樣,你們除非離開世界方可。但如今我寫信給你們說,若有稱為弟兄,是行淫亂的,或貪婪的,或拜偶像的,或辱罵的,或醉酒的,或勒索的,這樣的人不可與他相交,就是與他吃飯都不可。因為審判教外的人與我何幹?教內的人豈不是你們審判的嗎?至于外人有神審判他們。你們應當把那惡人從你們中間趕出去。” 【歌林多前書 5:9-13】然而,如果一個現代徒有虛名的基督徒生活在保羅的時代的話,他會把這個命令拂在一邊,而好像他就是主似地說:“誰沒有罪就扔第一塊石頭吧。”而事實上,保羅在這婸‘u有當審判教外人的時候才要應用這個原則。神是無罪的,他將審判教外的人。但我們有責任審判教內的人。那是聖經講的!

耶穌在這堥S有定她的罪并不等于她的罪已經被赦免。他在此根本沒有提到饒恕她的罪。而這堣]沒有提到她悔改。他在前面講到他當時在世上的使命時說:“我卻不判斷人。” 【約翰福音 8:15】但在他第二次到來時,他將施行審判。在此,他給她提供一個悔改的機會。這也正是他給我們給的。不悔改將來就會被審判。

真實的見証

第12-20節 他在這堜珨〞熙\多見証他已經在【約翰福音 5:31-47】說過了。然而,注意這個佯謬:
“我若為自己作見証,我的見証就不真。”【約翰福音 5:31】
“我雖然為自己作見証,我的見証還是真的。”【約翰福音 8:14】
在第一種情形堨L是在法律意義上講,他的見証被別的証人所証實。
而在第二種情形堨L只是說他的見証是真的,因為他還有父為他作見証。他所行的神蹟証明了他的見証,這一點被約翰福音第九章堛瑤M子更詳細地說明。

在第19節堨L說到“認識”。但這不是“γινωσκω”──相關知識,而是“οιδα”,感覺到的知識。他的意思是,如果你感知到我是誰,你就會感知到我父為我作的見正。

那麼其應用是什麼呢?基督徒應該充滿信心地相信,在我們為基督作見証時,我們的見証是真的,因為我們只不過是在重復聖經所講的,而聖經已經被父用神蹟証明了。正像拒絕耶穌就是拒絕父一樣,拒絕我們所傳的福音就是拒絕神。

第21,24節 這堿O另一個佯謬:

【約翰福音 8:15】“我卻不判斷人。”
【約翰福音 8:21】“你們要死在罪中。”
審判與識別有所不同。他不是在審判他們,而是道出了他們的結果。許多現代福音派的人把這兩個概念搞混淆了,結果在不論斷別人的名義下去掉了福音媢儭o的審判這一部分,因而使福音失真。他們不鼓勵基督徒識別罪。如果我們告訴不信的人除非他們悔改,信基督,否則就會死在他們的罪中,那并不是在審判他們。因為神已經宣告了這一類人的審判。但不可避免地,與我們交談的具體某些人會在審判日落在那一類堙C事實上,耶穌告訴那些與他談話的人這個條件:“你們若不信我是基督,必要死在罪中。”【約翰福音 8:24】第26節所暗示的審判日將會到來。

第22節 他要殺自己嗎?從某種意義上說,他們是對的,因為耶穌在論到他的命時說: “沒有人奪我的命去,是我自己舍的。我有權柄舍了,也有權柄取回來。”【約翰福音 10:18】十字架是個自殺的使命。

第23節 耶穌是從天上來的,他不是從地上來的。那麼基督徒呢?我們難道不是在這個世界上生的嗎?是的,然而耶穌也是。但就他的門徒,耶穌說:“他們不屬世界,正如我不屬世界一樣。” 【約翰福音 17:16】“我們知道我們是屬神的,全世界都臥在那惡者手下。” 【約翰一書 5:19】  “他們是屬世界的,所以論世界的事,世人也聽從他們。我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們。不屬神的就不聽從我們。從此我們可以認出真理的靈和謬妄的靈來。”約翰一書4:5.6

第25-30節 “你是誰?”耶穌迫使他們根據他的自述得出答案。他不需要做直接的回答。當我們把耶穌舉起的時候,就得到了關于他是誰的啟示。他說:“我若從地上被舉起來,就要吸引萬人來歸我。” 【約翰福音 12:32】是的,這些涉及舉起耶穌的經文(【約翰福音 3:14】【約翰福音 8:28】【約翰福音 12:32】)都有雙重意義。它們可以指他被神在他釘十字架和升天時舉起,同時也指在我們的心中將他舉起。希臘文“舉起”一詞有“高舉、贊揚”的意思。所以,第28節也可譯成:“當你們舉起人子時,你們就會知道我的確是我說的那位了。”所以,如果我們想讓人得到對耶穌的信的話,就要舉起主耶穌基督。

“我常作他所喜悅的事。”愿這也成為我們的目標。
“總要察驗何為主所喜悅的事。”【以弗所書 5:10】
“好叫你們行事為人對得起主,凡事蒙他喜悅,”【歌羅西書 1:10】
“你們既然受了我們的教訓,知道該怎樣行,可以討神的喜悅,就要照你們現在所行的,更加勉勵。”【帖撒羅尼迦前書 4:1】


2020年09月25日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 8:1-30 (web)

He that is without sin

8:1 but Jesus went to the Mount of Olives.
8:2 Now very early in the morning, he came again into the temple,
and all the people came to him. He sat down, and taught them.
8:3 The scribes and the Pharisees brought a woman taken in adultery.
Having set her in the midst,
8:4 they told him, "Teacher, we found this woman in adultery, in the very act.
8:5 Now in our law, Moses commanded us to stone such.
What then do you say about her?"
8:6 They said this testing him, that they might have something to accuse him of.
But Jesus stooped down, and wrote on the ground with his finger.
8:7 But when they continued asking him, he looked up and said to them,
"He who is without sin among you, let him throw the first stone at her."
8:8 Again he stooped down, and with his finger wrote on the ground.
8:9 They, when they heard it, being convicted by their conscience,
went out one by one, beginning from the oldest, even to the last.
Jesus was left alone with the woman where she was, in the middle.
8:10 Jesus, standing up, saw her and said,
"Woman, where are your accusers? Did no one condemn you?"
8:11 She said, "No one, Lord." Jesus said,
"Neither do I condemn you. Go your way. From now on, sin no more."

The Light of the World

8:12 Again, therefore, Jesus spoke to them, saying,
"I am the light of the world. He who follows me will not walk in the darkness,
but will have the light of life."
8:13 The Pharisees therefore said to him,
"You testify about yourself. Your testimony is not valid."
8:14 Jesus answered them, "Even if I testify about myself, my testimony is true,
for I know where I came from, and where I am going;
but you don't know where I came from, or where I am going.
8:15 You judge according to the flesh. I judge no one.
8:16 Even if I do judge, my judgment is true, for I am not alone,
but I am with the Father who sent me.
8:17 It's also written in your law that the testimony of two people is valid.
8:18 I am one who testifies about myself,
and the Father who sent me testifies about me."
8:19 They said therefore to him, "Where is your Father?"
Jesus answered, "You know neither me, nor my Father.
If you knew me, you would know my Father also."
8:20 Jesus spoke these words in the treasury, as he taught in the temple.
Yet no one arrested him, because his hour had not yet come.

8:21 Jesus said therefore again to them,
"I am going away, and you will seek me, and you will die in your sins.
Where I go, you can't come."
8:22 The Jews therefore said, "Will he kill himself, that he says,
'Where I am going, you can't come?'"
8:23 He said to them, "You are from beneath. I am from above.
You are of this world. I am not of this world.
8:24 I said therefore to you that you will die in your sins;
for unless you believe that I am he, you will die in your sins."

8:25 They said therefore to him, "Who are you?"
Jesus said to them, "Just what I have been saying to you from the beginning.
8:26 I have many things to speak and to judge concerning you.
However he who sent me is true;
and the things which I heard from him, these I say to the world."
8:27 They didn't understand that he spoke to them about the Father.
8:28 Jesus therefore said to them, "When you have lifted up the Son of Man,
then you will know that I am he, and I do nothing of myself,
but as my Father taught me, I say these things.
8:29 He who sent me is with me. The Father hasn't left me alone,
for I always do the things that are pleasing to him."
8:30 As he spoke these things, many believed in him.


Discussion Questions

vs 1-11
What do you speculate Jesus wrote in the sand?
What did the Law say about adultery?
Did Jesus disagree with the Law?
Did he condone adultery?
Why in this country is adultery reckoned so trivially compared to murder?
And is that consistent with the Law of Moses?
What did Jesus make use of here to diffuse the situation?
Did Jesus throw a stone at this woman?
vs 12-20 Why was Jesus' testimony valid?
vs 24 Who did Jesus claim to be?
What will happen to people who don't accept that fact?
So what are you going to do about it?
vs 28 What does it mean to lift up the Son of Man?
What happens when he is "lifted up"?
(See also John 3:14; 12:32)


Comments

He who is without sin

vs 3-11
Here's a passage often abused by the licentious. The religious elite wanted to challenge Jesus with a controvesial issue so as to force him to make an unpopular decision one way or another. First we notice that they took a woman who was in the very act of committing adultery. So if she was in the "very act", then where is the man she was committing adultery with? Perhaps one these very men themselves had lured her into committing adultery. We don't know if this woman was a prostitute, in which case it would have been easy enough by paying her to commit adultery, or if she was an ordinary housewife or young woman committing adultery with a married man. These latter may have been held with more sympathy among the crowd and thus may have been more likely the target these religious leaders chose, so as to enrage the crowd against Jesus if he chose to stone her.

The Law states: "If a man commits adultery with another man's wife-- with the wife of his neighbor-- both the adulterer and the adulteress must be put to death." Lev 20:10 Actually if I were Jesus here I'd probably first ask for them to present the adulterer before continuing. But in a sense Jesus does this. What did he write in the sand? I think he most likely wrote down the 10 commandments just as he did when he presented them to Moses. "When the LORD finished speaking to Moses on Mount Sinai, he gave him the two tablets of the Testimony, the tablets of stone inscribed by the finger of God." Ex 31:18 In this way he was preparing the people for his response. For though she broke the law, so has everyone else in various areas.

Jesus did not speak against the law here. He did not disagree with the law. (After all, he wrote it!) He simply requested that in this particular case for this particular woman that the person throwing the first stone at her in accordance with the law be without sin. This turned the tables on her accusers. For as Solomon has said, "There is not a righteous man on earth who does what is right and never sins." Ecc 7:20 They could have further challenged Jesus asking what gives him the right to impose such a requirement. But then again Jesus could have pressed them further concerning their individual sins and found each of them worthy of death as well. Thus playing the "sin" card diffused the situation.

Essentially what Jesus did was rather than tell them not to stone the woman, he was telling them - OK, along with this woman, who else should we stone? It made them think that each one of them may be worthy of stoning under the Law of Moses, seeing as even picking up sticks on the Sabbath is punishable by death.

Was Jesus condoning adultery? Certainly not. He told the woman to go and sin no more. Not only did he not condone her behavior, he didn't forgive her. What he was saying that, for now I don't condemn you, in order to give you time to repent. This is much as it says in Rom 2:3-5 "So when you, a mere man, pass judgment on them and yet do the same things, do you think you will escape Godís judgment? Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, tolerance and patience, not realizing that Godís kindness leads you toward repentance? But because of your stubbornness and your unrepentant heart, you are storing up wrath against yourself for the day of Godís wrath, when his righteous judgment will be revealed." The idea is that God will tolerate sin so to give people time to repent. But if they fail to do so, greater wrath awaits, not only due to the original sin, but because they disregarded God's grace.

This is often the case today in popular antinomian Christianity where, if you were to tell the licentious not to sin any more, you will be condemned by others as if you were throwing stones! Indeed if you follow Jesus' example you will be the one the religious elite will thrown stones at!

Now concerning civil law, it's interesting that under the Law of Moses murder and adultery were both punishable by death. That's God's point of view. Then tell me, in this country why is it that murder is punishable by death or life in prison while adultery has no penalty associated with it? Indeed in many states while adultery provides a basis for divorce, the fact of adultery does not even come into play when it comes to settlement issues. As former-President Clinton has demonstrated along with the media we live in an adulterous land where such behavior goes unpunished because it is the norm.

There is too much licentious behavior tolerated in the Christian community as well. Paul writes, "I have written you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people-- not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world.  But now I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat. What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside?  God will judge those outside. Expel the wicked man from among you." 1Cor 5:9-13 However if a modern antinomian Christian lived in Paul's time he would brush off this command as if he were the Lord saying "He who is without sin cast the first stone". But in fact Paul has that application in here when he speaks of judging those outside. God who is without sin will judge them. But we are responsible to judge those inside. That's what the Bible says!

Jesus not condemning her here does not necessarily mean that she had been forgiven. He mentions nothing of the forgiveness of her sins here. Nor does it mention anything of her repenting. As he said previously speaking of his present mission on earth, "I pass judgment on no one." John 8:15 But in his second coming he will come to pass judgment. But here he provides an opportunity for her to repent. And that's what he's given us as well. Failing to do so will bring judgment in the future.

Valid Testimony

vs 12-20 Much of what he says about affirming testimonies he had also dealt with in John 5:31-47 However, notice this paradox:
John 5:31 "If I testify about myself, my testimony is not valid."
John 8:14 "Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid"
The actual word for "valid" alethes, is the same word for "true". Thus most translations simply say "true". Unlike English, there appears no distinction in Koine Greek between "valid" and "true", but this ambiguity may affect the interpretation.  Not only John 5:31, but in this very passage in John 8:17 Jesus noted, "In your own Law it is written that the testimony of two men is valid." That's a sensible translation, for the testimony of two men is not necessarily "true", for they could both be lying. But in a legal sense the testimony of two is to be reckoned valid.

But when Jesus said, "Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is valid" (NIV) This is better translated, "Even if I testify on my own behalf, my testimony is true" For Jesus knows that it is in fact true because he came from God who gave him that testimony. But they have a valid point in that though he may know it to be true, his testimony alone should not be considered sufficient validation. And thus he goes on to speak of the Father bearing witness to him. By which I take to allude to the miracles he was doing. For he made this same point elsewhere. In fact in the John 5 passage he mentions of the witness of John the Baptist and of the Father. And in John 10 "If I do not do the works of My Father, do not believe Me; but if I do, though you do not believe Me, believe the works, that you may know and believe that the Father is in Me, and I in Him."

Nicodemus himself acknowledged this line of reasoning in John 3:2 "Rabbi, we know you are a teacher who has come from God. For no one could perform the miraculous signs you are doing if God were not with him." And the former blind man of John 9 said, "Nobody has ever heard of opening the eyes of a man born blind. If this man were not from God, he could do nothing." Jn 9:32,33

Such validated testimony imputes greater culpability. (The more evidence you have, the more you will be held responsible). Thus he says in John 15:24 "If I had not done among them what no one else did, they would not be guilty of sin. But now they have seen these miracles, and yet they have hated both me and my Father."

In verse 19 he speaks of "knowing". But this is not "ginosko" - relational knowledge, but "eido" which is perceptive knowledge. What he is saying is that if you had perceived who I am, then you would have perceived also the testimony of my Father for me.

What's the application? Christians should also be confident that as we testify of Christ our testimony is valid for we are simply repeating what the Bible says and that has already been affirmed by the Father through miracles. Just as those who rejected Jesus rejected the Father, so also those who reject our message reject God.

vs 21,24 Here's another paradox:

John 8:15 "You judge by human standards; I pass judgment on no one."
John 8:21 "you will die in your sin."
In fact Jesus was very judgmental. But John 8:15 I take it that Jesus is speaking by way of ellipsis, which is to say, "You judge by human standards; I pass judgment on no one in that manner." He made this point previously in John 7:24 "Stop judging by mere appearances, and make a right judgment." A right judgment is not simply based on outward appearance.

vs 22 Will he kill himself? In some sense they were correct, for Jesus speaking of his life says, "No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again." John 10:18 The cross was a suicide mission.

vs 23 Jesus is from above and he is not of this world, but what of the Christians? Have we not been born of the earth? Yes, but then again so was Jesus. But of his disciples Jesus says, "They are not of the world, even as I am not of it." John 17:16"We know that we are children of God, and that the whole world is under the control of the evil one." 1John 5:19  "They are from the world and therefore speak from the viewpoint of the world, and the world listens to them. We are from God, and whoever knows God listens to us; but whoever is not from God does not listen to us. This is how we recognize the Spirit of truth and the spirit of falsehood." 1John 4:5.6

vs 25-30 "Who are you?" Jesus forces them to infer the answer from what he has said of himself. He needs not answer directly. We come to the revelation of who Jesus is when we exalt him. For he says, "when I am lifted up (or "exalted") from the earth, will draw all men to myself." John 12:32 And yes these verses speaking of lifting up Jesus (John 3:14; 8:28; 12:32) do have dual meanings. For these could refer to his being exalted by God in his crucifixion and ascension, but these also could speak of exalting him in our hearts. The word "lifted up" in Greek means "to exalt" and is translated "exalt" 14 out of 20 times in the King James. Thus verse 28 can read "When you have exalted the Son of Man, then you will know that I am the one I claim to be" Thus if we want people to come to faith in Christ let us exalt the Lord Jesus Christ.

"I do always those things that please him." May this be also our goal.
Eph 5:10 "and find out what pleases the Lord."
Col 1:10 "we pray this in order that you may live a life worthy of the Lord
and may please him in every way:"
1Th 4:1 "we instructed you how to live in order to please God."


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015