翻譯: English GB

行在暗中

以賽亞書 50:10

你們中間誰是敬畏耶和華,聽從他仆人之話的?這人行在暗中,沒有亮光,當倚靠耶和華的名,仗賴自己的神。

注意表達神的人的美德的關鍵詞:“敬畏”“聽從”“倚靠”“仗賴”。考慮比方說敬畏耶和華。有些人把這種敬畏看作是與對神的愛相對立的,或者把這種敬畏看作是表明以不純的動機聽從神。但事實上對神的敬畏是聖經提倡的順從的最合宜的動機。神的人因為多種原因敬畏神。首先是將要到來的審判。即使一個人認為自己已經從神的忿怒中被救了出來,他仍然要考慮關于賞賜的審判。畏懼神對未得救的人的忿怒也同樣。比如保羅在哥林多後書婸﹛G“因為我們眾人必要在基督台前顯露出來,叫各人按著本身所行的,或善或惡受報。我們既知道主是可畏的,所以勸人。”【哥林多後書 5:10-11】還有我們懼怕在今生由于我們徊避或不在乎我們的責任而成為神管教的對像。彼得也說:“你們既稱那不偏待人,按各人行為審判人的主為父,就當存敬畏的心,度你們在世寄居的日子。”【彼得前書 1:17】

當然如果懼怕被看作是對某人的敬畏,那麼順從就是那種內心的態度的果子或外在的標志。一般在“縱向關系”堻ㄛO這樣──那種包含權威和下屬的關系──比如父母與子女的關系,政府與公民的關系,丈夫與妻子的關系,等等。在權威之下的人通過順服表示對具有權威的人的愛──在實際中這意味著順從。因為若沒有順服的話,也就沒有順從。

但“行在暗中”又是什麼呢?耶穌不是說:“我是世界的光。跟從我的,就不在黑暗堥哄A必要得著生命的光。”【約翰福音 8:12b】但要明白當時彌賽亞還沒有來。事實上即使在耶穌的事奉中,他也警告他們在光明中行的機會是有限的:“光在你們中間還有不多的時候,應當趁著有光行走,免得黑暗臨到你們。那在黑暗埵璅囿滿A不知道往何處去。你們應當趁著有光,信從這光,使你們成為光明之子。”【約翰福音 12:35b-36a】在此他是在給慕道者這樣說的,無疑其中有很多人沒有繼續跟隨他。

在彌賽亞到來之前,甚至敬虔的人對于我們現在知道的恩典的福音的理解都是昏暗的。他們只有倚靠神在合適的時候顯現道路,比如保羅寫到:“我照神為你們所賜我的職分作了教會的執事,要把神的道理傳得全備。這道理就是歷世歷代所隱藏的奧秘,但如今向他的聖徒顯明了。”【歌羅西書 1:25-26】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Walking in Darkness

Isaiah 50:10
Who among you fears the LORD and obeys the word of his servant? Let him who walks in the dark, who has no light, trust in the name of the LORD and rely on his God.


Comment

Notice the key words expressing virtues of the man of God - "Fears", "obeys", "trusts", "relies". Consider for example the fear of the Lord. Some see such fear as contrary to love for God, or that such fear indicates a tainted motivation in obeying God. But in fact it is the fear of God which the Bible advocates as a most appropriate motivation in obedience. The man of God fears God for a number of reasons. There's first of all the coming judgment. And even if one reckon's oneself saved from the wrath of God, yet there is the judgment for rewards to consider. So also one fears God wrath on the unsaved. As Paul alludes to in 2Cor 5:10,11 "For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive what is due him for the things done while in the body, whether good or bad. Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade men." So also we fear to be subjected to God's discipline in this life if we shun or are slack concerning our responsibilities. Peter also says, "And if you call on the Father, who without partiality judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves throughout the time of your stay here in fear." 1Peter 1:17

Certainly if fear is at least viewed as a reverent respect for someone then obedience is the fruit or outward sign of that inward attitude. This is generally true in all "vertical relationships" - those relationships involving authority and subordination - such as parent/child, government/citizen, husband/wife and so forth. The manner in which the one under authority shows love towards the one in authority is through submission - which in practice means through obedience. For where there is no obedience neither is there submission.

But what is this "walking in darkness" part? Doesn't Jesus say, "Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life."John 8:12 But realize that the Messiah had not come at this point. In fact even during his ministry Jesus warned them of having limited opportunity to walk in the light, "You are going to have the light just a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, before darkness overtakes you. The man who walks in the dark does not know where he is going.  Put your trust in the light while you have it, so that you may become sons of light." John 12:35,36 Here he was speaking to seekers, no doubt many of whom did not continue to follow him.

Up to the coming of the Messiah even the godly were darkened in their understanding of what we know now as the gospel of grace. They had to just trust God to reveal the path at the proper time as Paul writes, "I have become its servant by the commission God gave me to present to you the word of God in its fullness— the mystery that has been kept hidden for ages and generations, but is now disclosed to the saints." Col 1:25,26


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources