翻譯: English GB

外邦人和太監

以賽亞書 56:3-7

與耶和華聯合的外邦人不要說:“耶和華必定將我從他民中分別出來。”太監也不要說:“我是枯樹。”

因為耶和華如此說:

“那些謹守我的安息日,揀選我所喜悅的事,持守我約的太監,我必使他們在我殿中,在我牆內,有記念,有名號,比有兒女的更美﹔我必賜他們永遠的名不能剪除。

還有那些與耶和華聯合的外邦人,要事奉他,要愛耶和華的名,要作他的仆人,就是凡守安息日,不幹犯,又持守他(原文作“我”)約的人,我必領他們到我的聖山,使他們在禱告我的殿中喜樂。他們的燔祭和平安祭在我壇上必蒙悅納﹔因我的殿必稱為萬民禱告的殿。”

外邦人和太監一般是受到歧視的。因此這一段的要點是關于神接受并賜福于那些有合宜的行為,但卻因非法的原因受到歧視的人。

有些人因為種族的原因受到歧視。雖然猶太人今天抱怨反猶太主義(在很多情況下這些抱怨是因為合法的原因),但自從以斯拉和尼希米,我們在聖經堿搢鴢雃h猶太人(順便說一句,包括使徒們)都對外邦人有很嚴重的歧視。

以尼希米為例。的確,我認為大多新約堛[視外邦人的態度可以追溯到他的時代。

“當日,人念摩西的律法書給百姓聽,遇見書上寫著說,亞捫人和摩押人永不可入神的會﹔因為他們沒有拿食物和水來迎接以色列人,且雇了巴蘭咒詛他們,但我們的神使那咒詛變為祝福。以色列民聽見這律法,就與一切閑雜人絕交。”【尼希米記 13:1-3】

“那些日子,我也見猶大人娶了亞實突、亞捫、摩押的女子為妻。他們的兒女說話,一半是亞實突的話,不會說猶大的話,所說的是照著各族的方言。我就斥責他們,咒詛他們,打了他們幾個人,拔下他們的頭發,叫他們指著神起誓,必不將自己的女兒嫁給外邦人的兒子,也不為自己和兒子娶他們的女兒。”【尼希米記 13:23-25】

他後來讓他們與他們娶的外邦人妻子離婚。(不知波阿斯對此會有什麼反應!)神通過先知瑪拉基責備尼希米說:“你們還說:‘這是為什麼呢?’因耶和華在你和你幼年所娶的妻中間作見証。她雖是你的配偶,又是你盟約的妻,你卻以詭詐待她。”【瑪拉基書 2:14】我們在新約堿搢麈姘鴷~邦人的愛和接受與此完全不同。事實上即使是不信的人,我們在哥林多前書第七章堿搢魽A神也沒有命令信徒與不信的配偶離婚。

太監在猶太人社會埵P樣受到歧視,甚至在今天也在某種程度上也如此。有意思是耶穌基督自己也基本上是一個太監。(“因為有生來是閹人,也有被人閹的,并有為天國的緣故自閹的。這話誰能領受,就可以領受。”【馬太福音 19:12】)注意到在這一段堶C穌用“太監”指一個單身的人。如果你單身,沒有孩子──那麼你就可以算作是一個太監。由家庭主導的社會歧視太監。因此太監似乎理當就該受到羞辱──是嘲笑的對像。但神的特徵卻是與那些受到非法歧視的人相交。這堨L應許他們名號“比有兒女的更美”

而至于外邦人“我必領他們到我的聖山,使他們在禱告我的殿中喜樂。他們的燔祭和平安祭在我壇上必蒙悅納﹔因我的殿必稱為萬民禱告的殿。”注意到最後這句話。你以前在哪媗巨ㄨL呢?你是在耶穌進入聖殿,趕出在殿堸絮R賣的人,推倒兌換銀錢之人的桌子時聽見這句話的。要明白神對他的子民的潔淨心媯J急,如同火燒,他對那些非法地受到蔑視的人也同樣心媯J急,如同火燒。

因此,雖然合宜的行為是相交所必須的,但在把人排除在與你相交的基督徒圈子之外時要當心。因為很多教會以非法的緣故回避或趕出合法的基督徒。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Foreigners and Eunuchs

Isaiah 56:3-7
 Let no foreigner who has bound himself to the LORD say, "The LORD will surely exclude me from his people." And let not any eunuch complain, "I am only a dry tree."

For this is what the LORD says:

"To the eunuchs who keep my Sabbaths, who choose what pleases me and hold fast to my covenantó to them I will give within my temple and its walls a memorial and a name better than sons and daughters; I will give them an everlasting name that will not be cut off.

And foreigners who bind themselves to the LORD to serve him, to love the name of the LORD, and to worship him, all who keep the Sabbath without desecrating it and who hold fast to my covenantó these I will bring to my holy mountain and give them joy in my house of prayer. Their burnt offerings and sacrifices will be accepted on my altar; for my house will be called a house of prayer for all nations."


Comment

Foreigners and eunuchs were generally despised. Thus the gist of this passage deals with God's acceptance and blessing of those who are despised for illegitimate reasons if they behave properly.

There are those despised for racial or ethnic reasons. Much as Jews today complain of antisemitism (and indeed in many cases for legitimate reasons), yet since Ezra and Nehemiah we see many of the Jews in the Bible (Including, by the way, even the apostles) had a great deal of contempt for Gentiles.

Let's take Nehemiah as an example. Indeed I think much of the New Testament anti-Gentile attitude can be traced to his time.

On that day the Book of Moses was read aloud in the hearing of the people and there it was found written that no Ammonite or Moabite should ever be admitted into the assembly of God...  When the people heard this law, they excluded from Israel ALL who were of foreign descent. Neh 13:1,3
Moreover, in those days I saw men of Judah who had married women from Ashdod, Ammon and Moab. Half of their children spoke the language of Ashdod or the language of one of the other peoples, and did not know how to speak the language of Judah. I rebuked them and called curses down on them. I beat some of the men and pulled out their hair. I made them take an oath in Godís name and said: "You are not to give your daughters in marriage to their sons, nor are you to take their daughters in marriage for your sons or for yourselves. Neh 13:23-35
He then had them divorce their foreign wives. (Wonder how Boaz would have reacted!) God rebuke Nehemiah through the prophet Malachi saying, You ask, "Why?" It is because the LORD is acting as the witness between you and the wife of your youth, because you have broken faith with her, though she is your partner, the wife of your marriage covenant. Mal 2:14 In the New Testament we get a much different sense of God's love and acceptance of Gentiles. In fact even with respect to unbelievers we see in 1Cor 7 God does not command believers to divorce their unbelieving spouses.

Eunuchs were likewise despised in the Jewish society, and even today to degrees. Interestingly enough Jesus Christ himself was essentially a eunuch. ("For some are eunuchs because they were born that way; others were made that way by men; and others have renounced marriage because of the kingdom of heaven. The one who can accept this should accept it." Matt 19:12) Notice in that passage that Jesus interprets "eunuch" as simply referring to a single person. Are you single, childless - well then you're a eunuch. Family oriented societies despise eunuchs. And so the eunuch is made to be humiliated - an object of scorn. But on the other hand it seems quite characteristic of God to associate with those who are illegitimately despised. Here he promises them a name (a legacy) "Better than that of (having) sons and daughters"

And of foreigners "Even them I will bring to My holy mountain, And make them joyful in My house of prayer. Their burnt offerings and their sacrifices Will be accepted on My altar; For My house shall be called a house of prayer for all nations." Now notice this last phrase. Where have you heard it before. You heard it when Jesus went into a rampage in the temple throwing out the money changers. Realize that while God is zealous for the sanctification of his people, He is also just as zealous concerning those who are treated with illegitimate contempt.

Therefore while proper behavior is necessary for fellowship, beware who you exclude from your Christian community. For many churches shun or otherwise exclude legitimate Christians for illegitimate reasons.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources