翻譯: English GB

禁食──不是軛

以賽亞書 58:3-7

他們說:‘我們禁食,你為何不看見呢?我們刻苦己心,你為何不理會呢?’看哪,你們禁食的日子,仍求利益,勒逼人為你們做苦工。你們禁食,卻互相爭競,以凶惡的拳頭打人。你們今日禁食,不得使你們的聲音聽聞于上。這樣禁食豈是我所揀選使人刻苦己心的日子嗎?豈是叫人垂頭像葦子,用麻布和爐灰鋪在他以下嗎?你這可稱為禁食,為耶和華所悅納的日子嗎?

我所揀選的禁食,
不是要松開凶惡的繩,解下軛上的索,
使被欺壓的得自由,折斷一切的軛嗎?
不是要把你的餅分給飢餓的人,
將飄流的窮人接到你家中,
見赤身的,給他衣服遮體,
顧恤自己的骨肉而不掩藏嗎?

如何在我們自己的生活中避免宗教的假冒為善呢?注意到在這堙A他們的假冒為善及其果子的根源是他們自私的動機。

不要以“我能從此得到什麼”這樣的態度來事奉基督。比如耶穌說:“這樣,你們做完了一切所吩咐的,只當說:‘我們是無用的仆人。所做的本是我們應分做的。’”【路加福音 17:10】雖然你有可能會得到冠冕,但要准備好把冠冕放在耶穌的腳下。因為即使是賞賜也是出于恩典。我們已經接受基督為主的人是基督的奴仆,我們不應該醉心于我們從中得到些什麼。我們心堶漸應該想到的是:“神想要我做什麼?”然後就是:“我怎麼能夠造就別人?”

我們在這堛`意到有些熱心于禁食的人將其純粹當作宗教儀式,以期得到神的悅納。但神似乎在說:“無知的人哪,你們以為因你們禁食就能得到我的悅納嗎?”我們在以賽亞書的這一段堿搢鴔漈T食當作宗教儀式并不能得到神的悅納,而其目的是要幫助那些受逼迫的和被蹂躪的人。特別地,如果你節制飲食,就意味著你可以給你的仆人從他們為你做飯的工作上騰出時間來,以及節省所有花在獲得和准備食物上的勞力。當然今天情況有所不同,特別是在比較發達的國家,花在獲得和准備食物上的勞力不再是太大的負擔。但更重要的是,我們從這堭o出一個一般的原則。我們可以問:“對有的人來說,照顧我們是不是一個特別大的負擔我有沒有辦法能夠永久性地或周期性地免去他們的這種負擔,要麼解下軛上的索,要麼幹脆把軛折斷?”

還有禁食可以把省下的資源用于有需的人。在這堶鼓咱豪酋峟鴩茩n用來准備食物的錢可用來幫助窮人。他還在這媯馱F其它的應用,比如給無家可歸的人提供住處,為沒有衣服的人提供衣服遮體,還有為你自己家的人提供所需──你自己的骨肉。

“在神我們的父面前,那清潔沒有玷污的虔誠,就是看顧在患難中的孤兒寡婦,并且保守自己不沾染世俗。”【雅各書 1:27】

“若寡婦有兒女,或有孫子、孫女,便叫他們先在自己家中學著行孝,報答親恩﹔因為這在神面前是可悅納的。”【提摩太前書 5:4】

“人若不看顧親屬,就是背了真道,比不信的人還不好,不看顧自己家堛漱H,更是如此。”【提摩太前書 5:8】

因此要遵循的第二個原則就是“看一看我可以犧牲些什麼來騰出資源(物資、錢、時間、精力、努力),幫助那些更有需的人和那些我有責任照看的人?”


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Fasting - It's no Yoke

Isaiah 58:3-7
‘Why have we fasted,’ they say, ‘and you have not seen it? Why have we humbled ourselves, and you. Your fasting ends in quarreling and strife, and in striking each other with wicked fists. You cannot fast as you do today and expect your voice to be heard on high.  Is this the kind of fast I have chosen, only a day for a man to humble himself? Is it only for bowing one’s head like a reed and for lying on sackcloth and ashes? Is that what you call a fast, a day acceptable to the LORD?

"Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen:
to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke,
to set the oppressed free and break every yoke?
Is it not to share your food with the hungry and
to provide the poor wanderer with shelter—
when you see the naked, to clothe him,
and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?


Comment

How can we avoid religious hypocrisy in our own lives? Well notice here that the root of their hypocrisy with its inherent fruits was their selfish motivation.

Don't have a "what do I get out of it" attitude in serving Christ. For as Jesus said, "when you have done everything you were told to do, should say, ‘We are unworthy servants; we have only done our duty.’" Luke 17:10  And though you may receive a crown, be ready to cast that crown down at the feet of Jesus. For even rewards are only of grace. We are slaves to Christ, we who have accepted Christ as our Lord, and shouldn't obsess over what we do or do not get out of it. Rather firstly have it on your mind "What does God want me to do?" and secondly "How can I edify others?"

We notice here that there were those who zealously devote themselves to fasting as a purely religious ritual to gain favor with God. But it's as if God were saying, "You idiots. You think I'm impressed just because you abstain from eating. You don't get it." We see in this passage in Isaiah that God's was not impressed with fasting itself as a religious ritual, but rather the purpose was to help the oppressed and down-troddened. In particular if you abstained from eating that means that you were to free up your servants from their work of providing the meals and all the labor associated with obtaining and preparing the food. Today of course circumstances, at least generally in the US, are different such that this area of obtaining and preparing food is not directly linked to seriously burdening someone. But more importantly we have here a general principle. We could ask, "Are there those who are seriously burdened in taking care of my needs? Is there a way I could either permanently or periodically release them from such a burden, either untying the cords of the yoke or breaking the yoke altogether?"

Secondly fasting freed up resources which could be directed to the needy. In this case the food itself or the money to prepare it could be redirected to the poor. He also gives other such applications here as housing the homeless, clothing the naked as well as providing for your own family - your own flesh and blood. For

Jas 1:27  Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

1Ti 5:4  But if a widow has children or grandchildren, these should learn first of all to put their religion into practice by caring for their own family and so repaying their parents and grandparents, for this is pleasing to God.

1Tim 5:8  If anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for his immediate family, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.

So the second principle to follow is "What sacrifices can I make to free up resources (material things, money, time, energy, effort) to redirect them to the more needy and to those for whom I am responsible?"


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources