翻譯: English GB

新耶路撒冷

以賽亞書 60:19-22

日頭不再作你白晝的光,
月亮也不再發光照耀你,
耶和華卻要作你永遠的光,你神要為你的榮耀。
你的日頭不再下落,你的月亮也不退縮﹔
因為耶和華必作你永遠的光,你悲哀的日子也完畢了。
你的居民都成為義人,永遠得地為業,
是我種的栽子,我手的工作,使我得榮耀。
至小的族要加增千倍,微弱的國必成為強盛。
我耶和華要按定期速成這事。”

啟示錄第二十一章的新耶路撒冷

雖然以賽亞自己沒有得到這個故事如何結尾的細節,他在這婸〞獄P新約堭狴傺的第二十一章很相似。注意其相似之處:

“看哪,神的帳幕在人間,他要與人同住。他們要作他的子民,神要親自與他們同在,作他們的神。神要擦去他們一切的眼淚。不再有死亡,也不再有悲哀、哭號、疼痛,因為以前的事都過去了。”【啟示錄 21:3b-4】

“我未見城內有殿,因主神全能者和羔羊為城的殿。那城內又不用日月光照,因有神的榮耀光照,又有羔羊為城的燈。列國要在城的光埵璅哄A地上的君王必將自己的榮耀歸與那城。城門白晝總不關閉,在那堶鴩S有黑夜。人必將列國的榮耀尊貴歸與那城:凡不潔淨的,并那行可憎與虛謊之事的,總不得進那城﹔只有名字寫在羔羊生命冊上的才得進去。”【啟示錄 21:22-27】

然而“新耶路撒冷”不是地理上的一座城。她是教會──基督的新娘。

“我又看見聖城新耶路撒冷由神那堭q天而降,預備好了,就如新婦妝飾整齊,等候丈夫。”【啟示錄 21:2】

“拿著七個金碗,盛滿末後七災的七位天使中有一位來對我說:‘你到這堥荂A我要將新婦,就是羔羊的妻,指給你看。’我被聖靈感動,天使就帶我到一座高大的山,將那由神那堭q天而降的聖城耶路撒冷指示我。”【啟示錄 21:9-10】

你的居民都成為義人

雖然沒有痛苦、悲哀都很好,但我覺得很突出的是將不再有罪這個事實。也就是說,所有的人都將行義。這是如何成就的呢?一定是因為神將潔淨我們,以至我們所固有的罪性將被永久地,徹底地清洗掉。

至小的族要加增千倍

基督徒往往低估他們對社會的影響。我猜想使徒們對他們將對世界造成的影響知之甚少。數以十億計的人受到聖經作者的影響。在我們把聖經傳給社會中的人和後人時,我們將成為聖經作者的伙伴。由神生的人中最小的也至少將影響上千的人。如果你已經由神生,不要低估神可以通過你所成就的事。


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

The New Jerusalem

Isaiah 60:19-22
The sun will no more be your light by day,
nor will the brightness of the moon shine on you,
for the LORD will be your everlasting light, and your God will be your glory.
Your sun will never set again, and your moon will wane no more;
the LORD will be your everlasting light, and your days of sorrow will end.
Then will all your people be righteous and they will possess the land forever.
They are the shoot I have planted, the work of my hands, for the display of my splendor.
The least of you will become a thousand, the smallest a mighty nation.
I am the LORD; in its time I will do this swiftly."


Comment

The New Jerusalem of Revelation 21

While Isaiah himself was not given all the details of how the story ends, what he refers to here is quite similar to the New Jerusalem of Revelation 21. Notice the similarities.
"Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away." Rev 21:3,4

"I did not see a temple in the city, because the Lord God Almighty and the Lamb are its temple. The city does not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God gives it light, and the Lamb is its lamp. The nations will walk by its light, and the kings of the earth will bring their splendor into it. On no day will its gates ever be shut, for there will be no night there. The glory and honor of the nations will be brought into it. Nothing impure will ever enter it, nor will anyone who does what is shameful or deceitful, but only those whose names are written in the Lambís book of life."Rev 21:22-27

However the "New Jerusalem" is not actually a physical city. Rather it is the Church - the Bride of Christ.
"I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband." Rev 21:1

"One of the seven angels who had the seven bowls full of the seven last plagues came and said to me, "Come, I will show you the bride, the wife of the Lamb."  And he carried me away in the Spirit to a mountain great and high, and showed me the Holy City, Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God." Rev 21:9

Then will all your people be righteous

Now much as it is all well and good that there's no suffering, but what I find very significant is the fact that there will be no sin. That is, all will behave in a righteous manner. How is that going to be accomplished? It must be that God will sanctify us in such a way that we will be permanently and completely purified from all innate sinfulness.

The least of you will become a thousand

Christians may often underestimate their impact upon the society. I suspect that apostles had no idea the degree to which they would impact the world. Billions have been influenced by the writers of the Bible. And we all become partners with them as we communicate the Bible to the society at large and to the coming generations. The least among those born of God will impact at least a thousand people. If you've been born of God, do not underestimate what God can do through you.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources