翻譯: English GB

使心堶韏w

以賽亞書 63:17

耶和華啊,你為何使我們走差離開你的道,
使我們心堶韏w不敬畏你呢?
求你為你仆人,為你產業支派的緣故轉回來。

那麼神會如何回答上面這個問題呢?我們是不是只不過是玩偶,神使我們的心硬呢?如果是那樣的話,神這樣做是不是不公正呢?因為如果我們只不過是玩偶,那麼就不能公正地讓我們為罪負責,并且神得為人的罪負責。

但注意到這堛漱W下文,和其它說到神使心剛硬的地方。這堛漱W下文表明這些人已經走差,離開神,而在此之後神才把他們交給他們罪性的、悖逆的心。羅馬書第一章描述了這個過程:

原因“因為他們雖然知道神,卻不當作神榮耀他,也不感謝他。”【羅馬書 1:21a】
結果“神任憑他們逞著心堛滷§行污穢的事,”【羅馬書 1:24b】

原因“他們將神的真實變為虛謊,”【羅馬書 1:25a】
結果“神任憑他們放縱可羞恥的情欲。”【羅馬書 1:26b】

原因“他們既然故意不認識神,”【羅馬書 1:28a】
結果“神就任憑他們存邪僻的心行那些不合理的事﹔”【羅馬書 1:28b】

以色列的情況也同樣。他們悖逆,之後神才任憑他們敗壞。因此神的回答可以是他們先硬了他們自己的心,如經上寫到:“就不可硬著心,像在曠野惹他發怒,試探他的時候一樣。”【希伯來書 3:8】“常存敬畏的便為有福,心存剛硬的必陷在禍患堙C”【箴言 28:14】有些人也許會指出關于法老的事,神在那婸﹛G“但我要使(或作“任憑”。下同。)他的心剛硬,他必不容百姓去。”【出埃及記 4:21b】但經上還說:“你們為何硬著心像埃及人和法老一樣呢?神在埃及人中間行奇事,埃及人豈不釋放以色列人,他們就去了嗎?”【撒母耳記上 6:6】因此把責任放在法老和埃及人身上,更一般地,把控制我們的心的狀態的責任放在我們身上。

因為我們的罪性,我們的心自然地處于悖逆神的罪性狀態,我們有犯罪的傾向。因著信,我們與神的恩典合作,逆著我們的罪性在義中行,因為神給了我們得勝的能力。但如果我們悖逆,神會放開他的手,拿走恩典,任憑罪性情欲的洪水控制我們的肉身,于是我們又成了罪及其惡果的奴仆。而對于那些由神生的人則不再如此,因為“凡從神生的就不犯罪,因神的道(原文作“種”)存在他心堙Q他也不能犯罪,因為他是由神生的。”【約翰一書 3:9】因此你不會看到那些由神生的人生活在罪的生活方式中。然而,即使偶爾的罪也能敗壞,使我們受到管教。因此,無論如何,“你要保守你心,勝過保守一切(或作“你要切切保守你心”),因為一生的果效,是由心發出。”【箴言 4:23】


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Hardening the Heart

Isaiah 63:17
Why, O LORD, do you make us wander from your ways
and harden our hearts so we do not revere you?
Return for the sake of your servants, the tribes that are your inheritance.


Comment

So what would be God's answer to the above question?  Are we but puppets that God hardens our hearts to sin? And if so is God unjust in doing so? For if we are but puppets then we cannot be justly held accountable for sin, and in fact God would be accountable for people sinning.

But notice the context here and other places when it speaks of God hardening the heart. The context indicates that such people had already turned away and afterwards God gave them over to their sinful rebellious heart. Romans chapter 1 describes this process:

Cause: "although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him" Rom 1:21
Effect: "God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts" Rom 1:24

Cause: "They exchanged the truth of God for a lie" Rom 1:25
Effect: "Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts." Rom 1:26

Cause: "since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God" Rom 1:28
Effect: "The gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what ought not to be done." Rom 1:28

And so also in the case of Israel. They rebelled and then God gave them over. Thus God's answer would be that they first hardened their own heart as it is written, "do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion, during the time of testing in the desert" Heb 3:8 "Blessed is the man who always fears the LORD, but he who hardens his heart falls into trouble." Pr 28:14 Some may point out the argument concerning Pharoah where God says, "I will harden his heart so that he will not let the people go."Ex 4:21 But then again it is also written, "Why do you harden your hearts as the Egyptians and Pharaoh did? When he treated them harshly, did they not send the Israelites out so they could go on their way?" 1Sam 6:6, thus placing the responsibility upon Pharaoh and the Egyptians and us in general to control the state of our heart.

Due to our sinful nature the natural state of our heart is one of sinful rebelliousness against God and we have the propensity to sin. By faith in cooperating with the grace of God we walk in righteousness contrary to our sinful nature because God gives us power to overcome. But if we rebel God may life his hand taking away that grace and allow the flood of sinful lusts to gain control of our flesh and again we are enslaved to sin and its consequences. Though this is not so much the case of those born of God since "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because Godís seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." 1John 3:9 And thus you won't find those born of God living a lifestyle of sin. Yet even occasional sin can corrupt and subject us to discipline. Thus in any case "Watch over your heart with all diligence, For from it flow the springs of life."Pr 4:23


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources