翻譯: English GB

請差遣我

以賽亞書 6:8-10

8 我又聽見主的聲音說:
 “我可以差遣誰呢?誰肯為我們去呢?”
 我說:“我在這堙A請差遣我。”

9 他說:“你去告訴這百姓說:
 ‘你們聽是要聽見,卻不明白。
 看是要看見,卻不曉得。’

10 要使這百姓心蒙脂油,
 耳朵發沉,眼睛昏迷。
 恐怕眼睛看見,耳朵聽見,
 心堜白,回轉過來,便得醫治。”

主動

考慮到當時以賽亞周圍有很多天使,而他只是一個罪人,一個普通的人。但當他聽到這個工作機會時,他沒有停下來想也許別的某個人比他更稱職。他也沒有等別人先發話。(有時“耐心”就是猶豫。)他看到他自己可用于這件工作,因為沒有被今生的事物纏身。保羅給提摩太寫到:“凡在軍中當兵的不將世務纏身,好叫那招他當兵的人喜悅。”【提摩太後書 2:4】而他很熱切地要事奉。誰肯為我們去呢?考慮人們為他們自己找的借口:

神要我們甘心情愿地事奉他,而不要作難,不要勉強(【哥林多後書 9:7】),因此在新約堙A你找不到很多直接和明確的命令,但有很多原則。那些想事奉基督的人必須主動。要為“工作機會”把耳朵敞開。

蒙脂油的心

至于第9、10節,這個預言究竟是預告性的還是原因性的?其應用是什麼?以賽亞書 6:9-10曾多次在新約堻Q引用:

關于他們不明白寓言

“因為這百姓油蒙了心,耳朵發沉,眼睛閉著。恐怕眼睛看見,耳朵聽見,心堜白,回轉過來,我就醫治他們。”【馬太福音 13:15】

“叫他們看是看見,卻不曉得。聽是聽見,卻不明白。恐怕他們回轉過來,就得赦免。”【馬可福音 4:12】

他說:“神國的奧秘只叫你們知道﹔至于別人,就用比喻,‘叫他們看也看不見,聽也聽不明。’”【路加福音 8:10】

關于他們盡管耶穌的神蹟仍然認不出他

“主叫他們瞎了眼,硬了心,免得他們眼睛看見,心堜白,回轉過來,我就醫治他們。”【約翰福音 12:40】

關于保羅與羅馬的猶太人的經歷
他們在他很長的陳述之後仍然不明白福音

“因為這百姓,油蒙了心,耳朵發沉,眼睛閉著。恐怕眼睛看見,耳朵聽見,心堜白,回轉過來,我就醫治他們。”【使徒行傳 28:27】

甚至這些經節堛瑰野峇]是多種多樣的。因為耶穌有時在對眾人說話的方式需要一些直覺才能明白,必須在正確的意義上理解他所說的。但如果不以正確的靈去聽,耶穌的教導會很難懂,因此就產生了異端和諸如此類的。但這堶n說的是耶穌做出某些努力使人待在黑暗堙C【約翰福音 12:40】就是另外一個例子,因為這一節的前面幾節如下:

12:34 眾人回答說:“我們聽見律法上有話說,基督是永存的。你怎麼說:‘人子必須被舉起來’呢?這人子是誰呢?”
12:35 耶穌對他們說:“光在你們中間還有不多的時候,應當趁著有光行走,免得黑暗臨到你們。那在黑暗埵璅囿滿A不知道往何處去。
12:36 你們應當趁著有光,信從這光,使你們成為光明之子。”耶穌說了這話,就離開他們,隱藏了。
12:37 他雖然在他們面前行了許多神蹟,他們還是不信他。

注意耶穌是如何在某種意義上使他們待在黑暗堙A盡管正在講他們要信從這光。因為他沒有說明他的意思。但他所說的對蒙揀選的人來說是足夠清楚的。耶穌說:“我為審判到這世上來,叫不能看見的可以看見﹔能看見的反瞎了眼。”【約翰福音 9:39】那些以為他們能看見的就是那些拒絕基督的猶太人,這正像今天很多信宗教的人不相信耶穌是神的兒子一樣。他們的眼睛其實是瞎的,但只有在給他們講耶穌時才能看出他們其實是瞎子。因此,今天也有些信宗教的人自認他們是義人,但給他們一講耶穌和他的教導,他們就炸了。

與耶穌形成對比的是保羅試圖把福音非常清楚地表達出來,但雖然他自己也是猶太人,猶太人一般都似乎不能理解福音。

應用是什麼
無論我們的結論是把【以賽亞書 6:9-10】當作原因性的去應用,在給猶太人講福音時以含糊的和直覺性的方式去講,還是把它當作預告性的,描寫這種人對福音來說是瞎子和心蒙脂油,我們今天所面臨的問題在于如何把它應用到今天傳福音堙C比如這適用于外邦人嗎?我不以為如此,因為注意到保羅在使徒行傳第二十八章堥漪q話的上下文:

27 因為這百姓,油蒙了心,耳朵發沉,眼睛閉著。恐怕眼睛看見,耳朵聽見,心堜白,回轉過來,我就醫治他們。’
28 所以你們當知道,神這救恩,如今傳給外邦人他們也必聽受。”

而且我們看到,雖然教會一開始主要是猶太人,使徒們都是猶太人,但今天卻主要是外邦人,他們被看作是瞎子但現在卻能看見了。而猶太人今天除了一小部分人以外對福音來說是都是瞎子。

“這是怎麼樣呢?以色列人所求的,他們沒有得著,惟有蒙揀選的人得著了,其餘的就成了頑梗不化的。如經上所記:‘神給他們昏迷的心,眼睛不能看見,耳朵不能聽見,直到今日。’”【羅馬書 11:7-8】【以賽亞書 29:10】

為什麼神要使他們心硬
這堛滬鴢h似乎是在他們長時間故意悖逆之後,神就使他們的心硬。我們在羅馬書第一章堣]看到這個原則,那婸”麈咱藶怚L們的罪性。甚至基督徒也被警告說:“總要趁著還有今日,天天彼此相勸,免得你們中間有人被罪迷惑,心奡N剛硬了。”【希伯來書 3:13】

為什麼神差遣以賽亞去給聽不見的人傳
因為有時無論人的反應如何,必須要把該說的說出來。先知的主要職責就是講真理。影響人,使他們改變他們的心是第二位的。注意到雖然耶穌的事奉主要是恩慈的事奉,他也在這種意義上履行了說預言的職責:

“你們這假冒為善的文士和法利賽人有禍了!因為你們建造先知的墳,修飾義人的墓,說:‘若是我們在我們祖宗的時候,必不和他們同流先知的血。’這就是你們自己証明,是殺害先知者的子孫了。你們去充滿你們祖宗的惡貫吧!你們這些蛇類、毒蛇之種啊!怎能逃脫地獄的刑罰呢?所以我差遣先知和智慧人并文士,到你們這堥荂C有的你們要殺害,要釘十字架。有的你們要在會堂媄@打,從這城追逼到那城。叫世上所流義人的血,都歸到你們身上。從義人亞伯的血起,直到你們在殿和壇中間所殺的巴拉加的兒子撒迦利亞的血為止。”【馬太福音 23:29-35】

這種說話的方式不但沒有使人悔改,反而使他被釘了十字架。在我們像基督所行的那樣去行時,這種說話的方式也應該被看作是我們事奉的一個合法部分。我這樣說是對比于有些基督徒過于耽心怕“使人失去興趣”。使人對基督產生興趣并不是傳福音的主要目標


Jul 29,2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Send Me

Isaiah 6:8-10

8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying,
"Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?"
And I said, "Here am I. Send me!"
9 He said, "Go and tell this people:
"‘Be ever hearing, but never understanding;
be ever seeing, but never perceiving.’
10  Make the heart of this people calloused;
make their ears dull and close their eyes.
Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears,
understand with their hearts, and turn and be healed."

Initiative

Consider that Isaiah was surrounded by heavenly hosts and he was just a sinner, an ordinary human being. But when he heard of the job opening he didn't stop to think that maybe someone else was more qualified for the job. Nor did he wait for someone else to speak up. (Sometimes "patience" is just reluctance) He saw himself as available for the job, not entangled with the affairs of this life. Paul writes to Timothy, "No one serving as a soldier gets involved in civilian affairs— he wants to please his commanding officer." 2Tim 2:4 And he was eager to serve. Who will go for us? Consider the excuses people make to themselves: God wants us to serve him willingly and not out of reluctance or under compulsion (2Cor 9:7), and therefore you cannot find a lot of direct and explicit commands in the New Testament, though many principles. Those who want to serve Christian must be willing to take initiative. And keep your ears open for "job openings".

Calloused Hearts

As for verses 9,10 is the prophecy predictive or causative? What is the application?
Isaiah 6:9,10 has been quoted many times in the New Testament:
With respect to their not understanding the parables:

Matthew 13:15  For this people’s heart has become calloused; they hardly hear with their ears, and they have closed their eyes. Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them.’

Mark 4:12  so that, "‘they may be ever seeing but never perceiving, and ever hearing but never understanding; otherwise they might turn and be forgiven!’"

Luke 8:10  He said, "The knowledge of the secrets of the kingdom of God has been given to you, but to others I speak in parables, so that, "‘though seeing, they may not see; though hearing, they may not understand.’

With respect to not recognizing Jesus despite his miracles

John 12:40  "He has blinded their eyes and deadened their hearts, so they can neither see with their eyes, nor understand with their hearts, nor turn— and I would heal them."

With respect to Paul's experience with the Jews in Rome not comprehending the gospel even after a lengthy presentation

Acts 28:27  For this people’s heart has become calloused; they hardly hear with their ears, and they have closed their eyes. Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them.’

Even in these applications of the verses there is diversity. For Jesus at times spoke in a manner to the general public in which it took some intuition to understand and one must interpret his sayings in the right sense. But if one doesn't listen in the right spirit, then Jesus' teachings may be difficult to understand and thus are born cults and such. But the point is that Jesus made some effort to keep people in the dark. John 12:40 is another example for it is preceded by  the following:
12:34 The crowd spoke up, "We have heard from the Law that the Christ will remain forever, so how can you say, ‘The Son of Man must be lifted up’? Who is this ‘Son of Man’?"
35  Then Jesus told them, "You are going to have the light just a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, before darkness overtakes you. The man who walks in the dark does not know where he is going.
36  Put your trust in the light while you have it, so that you may become sons of light." When he had finished speaking, Jesus left and hid himself from them.
37  Even after Jesus had done all these miraculous signs in their presence, they still would not believe in him.
Notice how Jesus kept them in the dark in a sense even though speaking of putting their trust in the light. For he was not clarifying his meaning. But what he said was clear enough for the elect.  Jesus said, "For judgment I have come into this world, so that the blind will see and those who see will become blind." John 9:39 Those who reckoned they could see were the Jews who rejected Christ, just as many religious people today do not believe in Jesus as the Son of God. They are in actuality blind, but their blindness was not fully evident until they were presented with Jesus. So also there are religious people today who reckon themselves righteous, but present them with Jesus and his teachings and they explode.

In contrast to Jesus it appears that Paul tried to lay out the gospel very clearly but, though being a Jew himself, the Jews generally did not seem to be able to comprehend the gospel.

What's the Application?
Whether we conclude that Isaiah 6:9,10 was applied in a causative sense with respect to the presentation of the gospel to the Jews by presenting it in an obscure and intuitive manner, or whether it is predictive being descriptive of the blindness and hardness of heart of such people against the gospel, the question we're faced today is how does it apply in evangelism today. For example does it apply to the Gentiles? I don't think so for notice the context of Paul's statement in Acts 28:

27  For this people’s heart has become calloused; they hardly hear with their ears, and they have closed their eyes. Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears, understand with their hearts and turn, and I would heal them.’
28  "Therefore I want you to know that God’s salvation has been sent to the Gentiles, and they will listen!"
And so we see today that while the church start out primarily Jews as were the apostles, it is dominated by Gentiles who were reckoned blind but now see. The Jews today except for a small minority are blind to the gospel.

Romans 11:7,8 "What then? What Israel sought so earnestly it did not obtain, but the elect did. The others were hardened, as it is written: "God gave them a spirit of stupor, eyes so that they could not see and ears so that they could not hear, to this very day." (Isaiah 29:10)

Why did God harden their hearts?
It seems the principle here that God had hardened their hearts after a long time of willful disobedience. We see this principle also in Romans 1 where it speaks of God giving people over to their sinfulness. And even Christians are warned, "encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness." Hebrews 3:13

But why did God send Isaiah preach to those who couldn't hear?
Because sometimes things have to be said regardless of how people may react. The prophets primary duty is to tell the truth. Influencing people to change their minds is secondary. Notice that much as Jesus ministry was one of grace, he also practiced prophecy in this sense as well:

Matthew 23:20-35
"Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You build tombs for the prophets and decorate the graves of the righteous. And you say, ‘If we had lived in the days of our forefathers, we would not have taken part with them in shedding the blood of the prophets.’ So you testify against yourselves that you are the descendants of those who murdered the prophets.  Fill up, then, the measure of the sin of your forefathers!  "You snakes! You brood of vipers! How will you escape being condemned to hell?  Therefore I am sending you prophets and wise men and teachers. Some of them you will kill and crucify; others you will flog in your synagogues and pursue from town to town.  And so upon you will come all the righteous blood that has been shed on earth, from the blood of righteous Abel to the blood of Zechariah son of Berekiah, whom you murdered between the temple and the altar."
Rather than bring people to repentance, this kind of rhetoric got him crucified. As we walk as Christ walked this type of rhetoric should also be considered a legitimate part of our ministry. I say this in contrast to some Christian's obsessive concern over "turning people off". Turning people on to Christ is not the main objective of evangelism.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jun 01,2014