翻譯:English 简体中文

約翰福音 17:1-26

耶穌的臨別禱告

17:1 耶穌說了這話,就舉目望天說:

耶穌為自己禱告

“父啊,時候到了。
愿你榮耀你的兒子,使兒子也榮耀你﹔
17:2 正如你曾賜給他權柄,管理凡有血氣的,
叫他將永生賜給你所賜給他的人。
17:3 認識你獨一的真神,并且認識你所差來的耶穌基督:
這就是永生。
17:4 我在地上已經榮耀你,
你所托付我的事,我已成全了。
17:5 父啊,現在求你使我同你享榮耀,
就是未有世界以先,我同你所有的榮耀。

耶穌為他的門徒禱告

17:6 你從世上賜給我的人,
我已將你的名顯明與他們。
他們本是你的,你將他們賜給我,
他們也遵守了你的道。
17:7 如今他們知道,凡你所賜給我的,都是從你那堥茠滿C
17:8 因為你所賜給我的道,我已經賜給他們。
他們也領受了,又確實知道,我是從你出來的,并且信你差了我來。

17:9 我為他們祈求,不為世人祈求,
卻為你所賜給我的人祈求﹔因他們本是你的。
17:10 凡是我的都是你的,你的也是我的,
并且我因他們得了榮耀。
17:11 從今以後,我不在世上,他們卻在世上,我往你那堨h。
聖父啊,求你因你所賜給我的名保守他們

叫他們合而為一,像我們一樣。
17:12 我與他們同在的時候,因你所賜給我的名保守了他們,
我也護衛了他們。
其中除了那滅亡之子,沒有一個滅亡的,
好叫經上的話得應驗。
17:13 現在我往你那堨h,我還在世上說這話,
是叫他們心堨R滿我的喜樂。
17:14 我已將你的道賜給他們。
世界又恨他們,因為他們不屬世界,
正如我不屬世界一樣。
17:15 我不求你叫他們離開世界,
只求你保守他們脫離那惡者(或作“脫離罪惡”)。
17:16 他們不屬世界,正如我不屬世界一樣。
17:17 求你用真理使他們成聖﹔你的道就是真理。
17:18 你怎樣差我到世上,我也照樣差他們到世上。
17:19 我為他們的緣故,自己分別為聖,
叫他們也因真理成聖。

耶穌為所有信的人禱告

17:20 我不但為這些人祈求,
為那些因他們的話信我的人祈求,
17:21 使他們都合而為一﹔正如你父在我堶情A我在你堶情A
使他們也在我們堶情A叫世人可以信你差了我來。
17:22 你所賜給我的榮耀,我已賜給他們,
使他們合而為一,像我們合而為一。
17:23 我在他們堶情A你在我堶情A使他們完完全全地合而為一,
叫世人知道你差了我來,也知道你愛他們如同愛我一樣。
17:24 父啊,我在哪堙A愿你所賜給我的人也同我在哪堙A叫他們看見你所賜給我的榮耀﹔
因為創立世界以前,你已經愛我了。
17:25 公義的父啊,世人未曾認識你,我卻認識你。
這些人也知道你差了我來。
17:26 我已將你的名指示他們,還要指示他們,
使你所愛我的愛在他們堶情A我也在他們堶情C”

問題討論

第3節 “永生”是什麼?
第4節 假如你今天就快要死了,你能像耶穌那樣對神說:“我在地上已經榮耀你,你所托付我的事,我已成全了。”嗎?
第6節 那些賜給耶穌的人的特徵是什麼?
第6-19節 耶穌為門徒求了些什麼?
第20-26節 耶穌為所有信的人求了些什麼?
他說合而為一是什麼意思?如何實現合而為一?
第17節 因真理成聖是什麼意思?
如何把耶穌在這一章給我們立的榜樣應用到我們自己的事奉堙H

注釋

第1節 在耶穌給人說了神以後,他又給神說人。雖然我們也許都希望在人的眼媞a耀神,但出于人的本性,除非我們贏得他們的耳朵,得到他們的尊敬,人是不會聽的。在此之前,神通過他讓耶穌行的神蹟為耶穌贏得了這樣的耳朵,在此,耶穌想的是圍繞著他的死和復活的事。所以,在我們宏揚耶穌榮耀他的時候不光是將人引向他,而且在我們傳福音的時候,神也會用合宜的方式榮耀我們以使我們能夠贏得耳朵。榮耀你的孩子,使你的孩子也能榮耀你。

第2節 耶穌有一切人之上的權柄,不但是為拯救,也是為定罪。因為到頭來,當人面對神的審判時,他們所面對的將是耶穌。(【約翰福音 5:22】)耶穌說把永生賜給所有神賜給他的人。他曾在此之前說到父賜給他的人:

差我來者的意思,就是他所賜給我的,叫我一個也不失落,在末日卻叫他復活。【約翰福音 6:39】
耶穌又說:“所以我對你們說過,若不是蒙我父的恩賜,沒有人能到我這堥荂C”【約翰福音 6:65】 
我父把羊賜給我,他比萬有都大,誰也不能從我父手塈漭L們奪去。【約翰福音 10:29】
但這些并不排除一個人究竟是不是神賜給耶穌的人包含了這個人自己所做的選擇。如果人在造就使人得救的信時與聖靈合作,就會最終被帶到耶穌。因為耶穌就是道路、真理、生命,不借著他,沒有人能到父那堨h。類似地,神也將賜人給我們,讓我們把他們帶到基督。

第3節 什麼是永生?聖經媄鬗_永生的概念不只是永恆的存在。每個人都會永遠地存在。但那也許是永恆的生命,也許是永恆的定罪。永生是通過耶穌基督與神建立的關系。第一個句子說的是基本條件。“認識”譯自“γινωσκω”,意思是切身的知識。認識神的兒子的就有生命﹔不認識神的兒子就沒有生命。所以永生雖然有許多層面的意義,最基本的就是要與神和耶穌基督有正確的關系,切身地認識他們。

第4節 這個經節應該激勵目標型的人。耶穌明白他的生命就是要完成神交給他的具體任務。他不是在試圖掙自己的救贖,而是在為使別人得救做工。我們基督徒也應如此。我們既已得救,就應為使別人得救的原故做工。我們應記住神要我們去完成什麼,神要我們去做什麼。那樣,在我們這一生結束時,我們可以像耶穌那樣說:“我在地上已經榮耀你,你所托付我的事,我已成全了。”或如保羅所說:“那美好的仗我已經打過了。當跑的路我已經跑盡了。所信的道我已經守住了。” 【提摩太後書 4:7】

第5節 太初以先,耶穌做為【約翰福音 1:1】所說的道,與神同在,他就是神。耶穌在此求的是哪種榮耀呢?以前他說的是世上的榮耀。而現在,他說的是世上的榮耀以外的榮耀。我想,耶穌在這婸〞漪O他被升到天上,當著天使的面被榮耀,屬于天上的榮耀。有一天,信徒也將面對這樣的榮耀,如他所說:“我又告訴你們,凡在人面前認我的,人子在神的使者面前也必認他。” 【路加福音 12:8】

第6,7節 接受基督包括接受他是誰和接受他說的是什麼。但這并不是說一定要理解他的話的所有的含意。神學家們有時過多地要求人對每一個神學細節的理解和共識,否則就認為這個人不在基督堙C使徒們雖然已經跟耶穌在一起待了許多年,但從他們問的問題和講論中可以看出,他們當時也并不沒有把所有的都搞懂。在基督徒堙A也有神學上的分歧,比如對一些經文的解釋和應用,但重要的是,是否相信耶穌是他所說的那一位﹔不論屬于哪個教派,是否真正地努力“遵守神的道”。

第9節 這堶C穌專門為他的門徒禱告。他說:“不為世人祈求,”指的是緊接下來的這段禱告。但耶穌的確特別關照那些與他最接近的人。

第10節 雖然耶穌處在父的主權之下,但就像兒子分享他父親所擁有的一樣,天父也讓耶穌分享他所有的一切。我們在前面,例如【約翰福音 5:22】堿搢魽A神將所有的審判都交給兒子,以使一切都像榮耀父一樣來榮耀子。而在這堨L具體說的是他的門徒是他與他的父所共同擁有的。在他們中得著榮耀將變得越來越明顯,因為使徒們最後為基督付出了生命。

第11-12節 信徒們在神的權能和主耶穌基督的權柄的保護下有平安。從好牧人的比喻可以看出,使羊平安、不受狼的侵害不是羊自己的責任,而是牧人的責任。

“合而為一”不能被視為律法。它是神所建立的、他自己與那些由神生的人的自然關系的外在表現。與神合一就使得人與人之間合一。另見“基督徒的合一”。

但猶大代表了羊群堛滲T,就如基督徒堛滲T一樣,注定了要滅亡。

第13節 前面他為了門徒們能在苦難中有喜樂,向他們保証他們的禱告會得到回答。同樣,他說這些話使他們能夠得到鼓勵。但耶穌在這婸〞漪O他自己的喜樂,雖然他面臨的是十字架。

“我們既有這許多的見証人,如同云彩圍著我們,就當放下各樣的重擔,脫去容易纏累我們的罪,存心忍耐,奔那擺在我們前頭的路程,仰望為我們信心創始成終的耶穌(或作“仰望那將真道創始成終的耶穌”),他因那擺在前面的喜樂,就輕看羞辱,忍受了十字架的苦難,便坐在神寶座的右邊。” 【希伯來書 12:1,2】
第14,16節 門徒們也會像耶穌一樣遭到世人的恨惡。約翰後來寫到:“弟兄們,世人若恨你們,不要以為希奇。我們因為愛弟兄,就曉得是已經出死入生了。沒有愛心的,仍住在死中。凡恨他弟兄的,就是殺人的。你們曉得凡殺人的,沒有永生存在他堶情C”【約翰一書 3:13-15】

耶穌說:“他們不屬世界,”,這句話就向基督徒堿y行的:“基督徒不一定完美,只是外國人”這一錯誤概念挑戰。其實基督徒不止是外國人。我們是從天上生的。我們是新的被造物。(【歌林多後書 5:17】)我們是天上的公民。(【腓立比書 3:20】)我們不屬世界,就像耶穌不屬世界一樣。

第15節 我們盼望離開這個世界,但我們有使命要完成,要像耶穌那樣去行。但我們: “務要謹守、儆醒,因為你們的仇敵魔鬼,如同吼叫的獅子,遍地游行,尋找可吞吃的人。你們要用堅固的信心抵擋他,因為知道你們在世上的眾弟兄也是經歷這樣的苦難。”【彼得前書 5:8,9】

第17節 使他們成聖就使他們從世上區別開來。聖經使基督徒從世上區別開來。使徒寫到:“我們是屬神的,認識神的就聽從我們。不屬神的就不聽從我們。從此我們可以認出真理的靈和謬妄的靈來。”【約翰一書 4:6】

第18節 如我曾提到的,我們是被派來完成使命的。這是一個我們需要完成的使命,我們將要對它負責。它是一個救那些失落者的使命。

第19節 耶穌將他自己區別開來,給基督徒樹立了可跟隨的榜樣。

第20節 這堶C穌把他的思緒由他直接的門徒轉到他們以後的門徒,直到我們的時代。那些強調機構的基督徒們常貶低個人的價值,但耶穌想的卻是那些個人,首先為他自己的門徒禱告,又為他們的門徒禱告。其應用就是要為具體的個人的具體需求禱告,然後推廣到為所有有這種需求的人禱告。雖然大多數人需要求告的都很相近,但我們還是需要保持它的個性,而不能把它模糊地分散到一個沒有個人性的機構上。比如,“教會”一詞本身在有些教派堣w經變得如此地沒有個人性,以至于指的不過是建筑物或機構,最多只包括神職人員,而不是像耶穌所說的那樣:“那些因他們的話信我的

第21,23節 耶穌與神的關系,就像光與太陽的關系一樣。“他是神榮耀所發的光輝,是神本體的真像。”【希伯來書 1:3】 耶穌是神的身體。基督徒是耶穌的外在表現。我們是耶穌所穿的。我們是神的衣裳。但作為神的衣裳,我們必須:“總要披戴主耶穌基督,不要為肉體安排,去放縱私欲。”【羅馬書 13:14】 “并且穿上新人,這新人是照著神的形像造的,有真理的仁義和聖潔。” 【以弗所書 4:24】  基督以聖靈住在我們堶情A聖靈把我們變得像基督。這種超自然的幹預使我們被認作神的孩子。(【約翰一書 3:9,10】

第22節 榮耀已經定了,只是還沒有顯露出來。我們的榮耀的頂點在于將來。(【羅馬書 8:18】

第24節 永生就是切身地認識神,認識主耶穌基督。(【約翰福音 17:3】)如果我們都看見了耶穌的榮耀,我們就會放棄我們生活中空虛的野心來跟隨他。許多人雖然稱耶穌為主但卻不按他說的去做,因為他們沒有明白主到底意味著什麼。如果我們舉起他就會把人引向他。

第26節 有神的愛在我們堶惜]暗示了有神的榮耀在我們堶情C在第24節堙A創立世界以前,神就賜榮耀給耶穌,因為神愛他。


基督徒的責任

在我們這一生將要結束時,我們應當能夠說:

第4節 我在地上已經榮耀你。你所托付我的事,我已成全了。
第6節 你從世上賜給我的人,我已將你的名顯明與他們。
第14節 我已將你的道賜給他們。
第18節 你怎樣差我到世上,我也照樣差他們到世上。
第26節 我已將你的名指示他們。


2020年09月27日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 17 (web)

Jesus' Prayer of Departure

1  Jesus said these things, and lifting up his eyes to heaven, he said,

Jesus Prays for Himself

"Father, the time has come.
Glorify your Son, that your Son may also glorify you;
even as you gave him authority over all flesh,
he will give eternal life to all whom you have given him.
This is eternal life, that they should know you,
the only true God, and him whom you sent, Jesus Christ.
I glorified you on the earth.
I have accomplished the work which you have given me to do.
Now, Father, glorify me with your own self
with the glory which I had with you before the world existed.

Jesus Prays for his Disciples

I revealed your name to the people
whom you have given me out of the world.
They were yours, and you have given them to me.
They have kept your word.
Now they have known that all things whatever you have given me are from you,
for the words which you have given me I have given to them, and they received them, and knew for sure that I came forth from you, and they have believed that you sent me.

I pray for them. I donít pray for the world,
but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours.
10  All things that are mine are yours, and yours are mine,
and I am glorified in them.
11  I am no more in the world, but these are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them through your name which you have given me,
that they may be one, even as we are.
12  While I was with them in the world, I kept them in your name.
Those whom you have given me I have kept.
None of them is lost, except the son of destruction,
that the Scripture might be fulfilled.
13  But now I come to you, and I say these things in the world,
that they may have my joy made full in themselves.
14  I have given them your word.
The world hated them, because they are not of the world,
even as I am not of the world.
15  I pray not that you would take them from the world,
but that you would keep them from the evil one.
16  They are not of the world even as I am not of the world.
17  Sanctify them in your truth. Your word is truth.
18  As you sent me into the world, even so I have sent them into the world.
19  For their sakes I sanctify myself,
that they themselves also may be sanctified in truth.

Jesus Prays for all Believers

20  Not for these only do I pray,
but for those also who believe in me through their word,
21  that they may all be one; even as you, Father, are in me, and I in you,
that they also may be one in us; that the world may believe that you sent me.
22  The glory which you have given me, I have given to them;
that they may be one, even as we are one;
23  I in them, and you in me, that they may be perfected into one;
that the world may know that you sent me, and loved them, even as you loved me.
24  Father, I desire that they also whom you have given me be with me where I am, that they may see my glory, which you have given me,
for you loved me before the foundation of the world.
25  Righteous Father, the world hasnít known you, but I knew you;
and these knew that you sent me.
26  I made known to them your name, and will make it known;
that the love with which you loved me may be in them, and I in them."


Discussion Questions

vs 3 What is "eternal life"?
vs 4 If you were about to die today could you say to God as Jesus did, "I glorified you on the earth. I have accomplished the work which you have given me to do."?
vs 6 What is characteristic of those given to Jesus?
vs 6-19 What particular things did Jesus request for his disciples?
vs 20-26 And for all believers?
What does he mean by being one and how can it be achieved?
vs 17 What does it mean to be sanctified in the truth?
How might we apply Jesus' example in this chapter to our own ministry?


Comments

vs 1 After Jesus talked to men about God he then talked to God about men. Though we may all wish to glorify God in the eyes of men, yet it is human nature that people won't listen till we win a hearing, gaining their respect. God had won such a hearing for Jesus previously through the miracles he had given him to do and here Jesus has in mind the events surrounding his death and resurrection. So also not only is it that when we lift up Jesus glorifying him that we draw people to him, but also as we minister the gospel it is in God's interest to glorify us in some appropriate manner so that we might win a hearing. Glorify your sons that your sons may glorify you.

vs 2 Jesus has authority over everyone, not only for salvation but for condemnation. For in the end when people face God's judgment it will be Jesus they will face. (John 5:22) Jesus speaks of dispensing eternal life to all the Father has given him. He spoke of the Father giving people to him previously:

John 6:39  This is the will of my Father who sent me, that of all he has given to me I should lose nothing, but should raise him up at the last day.
John 6:65  He said, "For this cause have I said to you that no one can come to me, unless it is given to him by my Father."
John 10:29  My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all. No one is able to snatch them out of my Fatherís hand.
But these do not preclude the idea of one's choice also being involved in qualifying to be given to Jesus. But if one is cooperating with the Holy Spirit in developing saving faith, such a person will eventually be led to Christ. For he is the way, the truth and the life and no one comes to the Father but by him. But in a similar manner God will also give us men to bring to Christ.

vs 3 What is eternal life? The Biblical concept of eternal life is not simply the idea of an eternal existence. Everyone has eternal existence. But it's either eternal life or eternal condemnation. Eternal life is a relationship with God through Jesus Christ. "That" refers to "essentially". "Know" here is ginosko - personal relational knowledge. Those who have the Son have life. Those who don't have the Son of God don't have life. Thus though there many aspects to eternal life, essentially it is having a right relationship with God and Jesus Christ, knowing them personally

vs 4 Here's a verse which should motivate the objective minded. Jesus understood that his life was about accomplishing particular tasks that God had given him to do. He wasn't trying to earn his own salvation, though he was working to gain salvation for others. So also with us Christians. Having been saved we work for the sake of other people's salvation. And we should keep in mind what it is that God wants us to accomplish. What is it that God wants us to do. So at the end of our lives we may be able to say with Jesus, "I glorified you on the earth. I have accomplished the work which you have given me to do." Or with Paul, "I have fought the good fight. I have finished the course. I have kept the faith." 2Tim 4:7

vs 5 Before the world existed, Jesus was the Word of John 1:1 who in the beginning was with God and who was God. What kind of glory was that of which Jesus was requesting? Previously he spoke of his earthly glory. But now he speaks of a glory absent of the earthly. I think Jesus here is speaking of his ascension into heaven, being glorified in the presence of the angels, a heavenly glory which believers will also face one day as he said, "I tell you, everyone who confesses me before men, him will the Son of Man also confess before the angels of God." Luke 12:8

vs 6,7 Accepting Christ incorporates accepting who he is and what he said. But this is not to say that one will necessarily understand all the implications of what he said. Theologians at times demand too much understanding and consensus on every theologial detail before reckoning people to be in Christ. The apostles themselves didn't understand everything by this time even after having been with Jesus for years, as is apparent by their questions and comments in the gospels. So also there are theological disagreements between legitimate Christians as to interpretations and applications of various verses, but the important thing is whether one believes Jesus is who he claims to be and whether he is sincerely trying to "keep his word", regardless of what denomination he belongs to.

vs 9 Now Jesus prays for his disciples exclusively. By "I don't pray for the world" he means just with reference to his immediate prayer. But Jesus does take special care of those closest to him.

vs 10 Though Jesus is under the Father's authority, yet just as a son shares in his father's possessions, so also the Father has allowed Jesus to share in all his things. We previously saw, for example, in John 5:22 that God entrusted all judgment to the Son that all may honor the Son just as they honor the Father. But in particular here he is speaking of his disciples being a common possession shared in by himself and his Father. Being glorified in them will become increasingly apparent as the apostles end up giving their lives for Christ.

vs 11-12 The believers are kept safe and secure by the power of God and in accordance with the authority of the Lord Jesus Christ. One is drawn to the illustration of the good shepherd in that it is not the sheep's responsibility to keep himself in the flock and protected from the wolves. That is the shepherd's responsibility.

Unity ("being one") cannot be legislated. Rather it should be an outworking of the natural relationship God has established between himself and those who have been born of God. Unity with God results in unity with one another. See also "Christian Unity".

But Judas represented the wolf among sheep doomed to destruction just as there are wolves among the Christian community.

vs 13 Previously he promised answers to prayer partly for the sake of the disciples experiencing joy in the midst of tribulation. So also he offers these words as a source of encouragement to them. But also Jesus speaks here about his own joy, even though he faced the cross.

"Therefore let us also, seeing we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, lay aside every weight and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God." Heb 12:1,2
vs 14,16 The disciples will experience the same kind of contempt by the world which Jesus also experienced. John later writes, "Donít be surprised, my brothers, if the world hates you. We know that we have passed out of death into life, because we love the brothers. He who doesnít love his brother remains in death.  Whoever hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life remaining in him."1John 3:13-15

Jesus saying "they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world." challenges the popular misconception in the Christian community that "Christians are not perfect, just forgiven", often used as a bumper-sticker. Actually Christians are more than just forgiven. We are born from above. We are new creatures. (2Cor 5:17) And our citizenship is in heaven. (Php 3:20) We are not of the world even as Jesus was not of the world.

vs 15 We look forward to our being taken out of the world, but for now we have a mission to accomplish to walk as Jesus did. But we must "be sober and self-controlled. Being watchful. Our adversary the devil, walks around like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour.  Let us withstand him steadfast in your faith, knowing that our brothers who are in the world are undergoing the same sufferings." 1Peter 5:8,9

vs 17 To sanctify is to set apart. The Bible is what sets the Christians apart. For the apostle writes, "We are of God. He who knows God listens to us. He who is not of God doesnít listen to us. By this we know the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error." 1John 4:6

vs 18 As I mentioned, we are sent on a mission as the Lord himself had been sent on a mission. It is a mission which we are responsible to fulfill and to which we will be called into account. It is a mission to save the lost.

vs 19 Jesus sets himself apart in the world as the example for the Christians to follow.

vs 20 Here Jesus transitions his thought from his immediate disciples to the generation of disciples which will follow them even down to our own time. Corporate Christianity often devalues the individual, but Jesus has in mind the individuals, praying at first for his own disciples and extending his prayer to their disciples. An application of this is to pray for particular individuals with particular needs and then extend the prayer to all individuals with such needs. For most people aren't all that much different in what they need prayer for, and yet we need to keep it personal rather than vaguely focussing on an impersonal corporate body. Notice for example that the word "church" itself has become so impersonal in some sectors as to simply refer to a physical building or institution, or at most incorporating only the clergy rather than as Jesus says, "all who believe in me through their word."

vs 21,23 As the light is to the sun, so is Jesus to the Father. "His Son is the radiance of his glory, the very image of his substance."Heb 1:3 Jesus is as God's body. Christians are the outward expression of Jesus. We are what Jesus wears. We are God's clothes. But in behaving as God's clothes, we must also "put on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make no provision for the flesh, for its lusts." Rom 13:14 "and put on the new man, who in the likeness of God has been created in righteousness and holiness of truth." Eph 4:24  Christ lives in us in the person of the Holy Spirit who transforms us to be like Christ. And this supernatural intervention does also identify us as children of God. (1John 3:9,10)

vs 22 The glory was a done deal, but was yet to be revealed. The culmination of our glory yet lies in the future. (Rom 8:18)

vs 24 Eternal life is knowing God personally and knowing the Lord Jesus Christ. (John 17:3)  If we all saw Jesus in his glory we'd all give up our vain ambitions in life to follow him. For many though calling Jesus Lord don't do what he says, not having the revelation of what Lord means. And people will be drawn to him if we lift him up.

vs 26 To have God's love in us also implies having God's glory in us. For in verse 24 God glorified Jesus before the foundation of the earth because He loved him.


Christian Responsibilities

At the end of our lives we should be able to say:

vs 4 I glorified you on the earth
vs 4 I have accomplished the work which you have given me to do.
vs 6 I revealed your name to the people whom you have given me out of the world.
vs 9 I pray for them.
vs 12 I protected them and kept them safe
vs 14 I have given them your word
vs 18 I have sent them into the world
vs 22  I have given them the glory that you gave me
vs 26 I have made known to them your name


John 17 Rap

1 Father my time on earth is through
Glorify me to glorify you
2 You gave me the right to give life eternal
That I may save people from what is infernal
3 That they may know you, that is your intent
and Christ Jesus your Son, whom you have sent
4 While on the earth, I brought you glory
You gave me the work, and I finished the story
5 And now may I glory, when I come home
As I had long ago, before creatures did roam

6 I've revealed your name, to those you gave me
And they have obeyed, what you do decree
7 Now they do know, that all comes from you
Whatever I say, and whatever I do
8 They accepted my word, as holy and pure
They believed you sent me. Of this they were sure
9 Not for the world, but for these I have prayed
For those you have given. For those who have stayed
10 Yours are mine, and mine are for thee
And through them, glory's come to me.
11 I'm coming home, but they remain here
By the power of your name, protect them with care
12 I kept them safe, and gave them instruction
 None has been lost, but him doomed to destruction
13 I'm coming to you, but these things I say
So they may have joy, free from dismay
14Though given your word, yet they are despised
For they're not from the world, just as I am likewise
15 My prayer is not to take them, from this world of sin
But that you protect them, from the devil and his kin
16 They are not of the world, of this I've testified
17 By your word of truth, may they be sanctified
18 As you have sent me, them I've also sent
19 And sanctified myself, to save them from torment

20 My prayer is not for them alone, but also for those others
Who believe their message, those I call my brothers
21 May they be all one, just as you and me
That they may be in us, so that the world may see
22 To them I gave the glory, that to me you also gave
So may they be one as us, may it be how they behave.
23 I in them and you in me. 
May they be brought to unity.
So that the world may perceive
That you loved them as you loved me.

24 I want those you've given me, to be with me where I am.
To see the glory you've given me, before I was the lamb.
25 Though the world's a stranger, yet I know you well.
And these know you sent me, to save the world from hell.
26 I have made you known to them, and continue to do so.
That your love and me myself, may be in them also.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015