翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音1:35-51

招使徒

1:35 再次日,約翰同兩個門徒站在那里。
1:36 他見耶穌行走,就說:“看哪,這是神的羔羊。”
1:37 兩個門徒聽見他的話,就跟從了耶穌。
1:38 耶穌轉過身來,看見他們跟著,就問他們說:
“你們要什么?” 他們說:“拉比,
在哪里住?”(拉比翻出來,就是夫子。)
1:39 耶穌說:“你們來看。”
他們就去看他在哪里住。這一天便與他同住,
那時約有申正了。

1:40 聽見約翰的話跟從耶穌的那兩個人,一個是西門彼得的兄弟安得烈。
1:41 他先找著自己的哥哥西門,對他說:
“我們遇見彌賽亞了。”(彌賽亞翻出來就是基督。)
{“彌賽亞”(希伯來語)和“基督”(希臘語)都是“受膏者”的意思。}
1:42 于是領他去見耶穌。耶穌看著他說:
“你是約翰的兒子西門(‘約翰’馬太十六章十七節稱‘約拿’),你要稱為磯法。”
(磯法翻出來就是彼得。)

1:43 又次日,耶穌想要往加利利去,遇見腓力,
就對他說:“來跟從我吧。”
1:44 這腓力是伯賽大人,和安得烈、彼得同城。
1:45 腓力找著拿但業,對他說:
“摩西在律法上所寫的,和眾先知所記的那一位,我們遇見了,
就是約瑟的兒子拿撒勒人耶穌。”
1:46 拿但業對他說:“拿撒勒還能出什么好的嗎?”
腓力說:“你來看。”
1:47 耶穌看見拿但業來,就指著他說:
“看哪,這是個真以色列人,他心里是沒有詭詐的。”
1:48 拿但業對耶穌說:“你從哪里知道我呢?”耶穌回答說:
“腓力還沒有招呼你,你在無花果樹底下,我就看見你了。”
1:49 拿但業說:
“拉比,你是神的兒子,你是以色列的王。”
1:50 耶穌對他說:
“因為我說在無花果樹底下看見你,你就信嗎?
你將要看見比這更大的事。”
1:51 又說:“我實實在在地告訴你們,你們將要看見天開了,
神的使者上去下來在人子身上。”


問題討論

vs 38 你所追尋的是什么呢?你想通過學習聖經得到什么呢?
在你看來,神與你一起住在你家有什么利和弊呢?
vs 40-42 如果你中了樂透獎,你會第一個告訴誰呢?
歌林多後書4:13  但我們既有信心,正如經上記著說:“我因信,所以如此說話。”我們也信,所以也說話。
你對別人說基督有多主動呢?
vs 43-51 拿但業是怎么看待任何出自拿撒勒的人或物的?如何把這應用到今天──彌賽亞出自拿撒勒就象╴╴╴╴出自╴╴╴╴。
耶穌是如何刻划拿但業的品格的?與其品格相反的例子是什么?
你覺得拿但業是疑心太重還是信得太快?
什么神跡能使你相信耶穌的確是他所說的那一位?


注釋

第一種就象那些去教會尋求神而由他們的牧師領到基督的。不幸的是今天許多人將傳福音拘限于此。因為每個人應該更進一步地將他周圍的人領到基督。第三類人則極少得到那些機構觀念極強的人的承認。這是那些甚至在還沒有被重生的狀況下被聖靈帶著讀聖經,并在精神的旅途上領著他們達到對基督的信的極點的。施洗約翰就是這樣一個例子,聖靈事實上向他指出了誰是基督。

vs 38 “你們要什么?”每個人似乎都在尋求什么。每個人都在一定程度上不滿于現狀。然而象安得烈那樣的回答是主所喜悅的。許多人為他們自己尋求物質的東西,而安得烈則單單是尋求與主同住。與主同住意味著我們必須與神和好。如果你想按自己的規矩與主同住,那么你就誤解了主到底是什么樣的。可悲的是,許多夫妻在結婚時并不真正知道對方是什么樣的人。同樣,許多“基督徒”使自己與聖經遠離,不住在神的話里,因為他們對神的觀點與聖經里關于神說法有沖突。你真的樂意聖經里的神住到你家里嗎?

vs 41 “我們遇見彌賽亞了。” 有意思的是,主的確可以尋見。保羅對雅典人說:“他從一本造出萬族的人(“本”有古卷作“血脈”),住在全地上,并且預先定准他們的年限,和所住的疆界。要叫他們尋求神,或者可以揣摩而得,其實他離我們各人不遠。” 使徒行傳17:26,27耶穌說:“我又告訴你們,你們祈求,就給你們﹔尋找,就尋見﹔叩門,就給你們開門。”路加福音11:9神希望我們用信去尋找他,而且我們的確能夠找到他。“你們尋求我,若專心尋求我,就必尋見。”耶利米書29:13 但在找到他以後,一個自然的反應就是告訴別人。

vs 42 稱彼得為磐石與他當時的品格相去甚遠。(“彼得”就是“磐石”的意思)因為甚至直到耶穌死的時候,彼得都是易沖動,動搖不定,反復無常。然而,所指的是他將要變成的那個人。這是成為基督徒的另一層面。與基督待在一起能使我們變成不同的人。他給予我們的救贖不僅僅是對罪的饒恕,還包括一個變化,在其中我們的生活方式將被概括為義的生活而且我們的弱點將被治愈。

安得烈只是短暫地與耶穌待了一下就繼續與他的哥哥彼得去打魚謀生。對觀福音(指馬太福音、馬可福音、路加福音)記載了隨後耶穌在安得烈和彼得打魚的時候去招喚他們。許多剛接觸到基督的人對他有良好的映象,然而對他所要求的跟隨他的投入程度缺乏了解。

vs 46 “拿撒勒還能出什么好的嗎?” 人可能會料想在地上高傲的,重要的,及廣受歡迎的人中找到主。而主卻頻頻地出現在謙卑的和被羞辱的人中間,正如作為一個拿撒勒木匠的兒子長大所代表的。他居身于卑微的人中。你又如何呢?你是一個被人詰問“拿撒勒還能出什么好的嗎?”的拿撒勒人,然而里面卻有那位王住著呢?還是一個耶路撒冷人,一個驕傲的城市,里面卻住著將主釘十字架的宗教權貴呢?

雖然拿但業蔑視拿撒勒,這樣喜歡攀比是猶太人的一個普遍特征,他最為突出的特點是他的坦誠。他不象許多政客和宗教領袖那樣口是心非地將自己藏在面具後面。他的行為會被有些人看作是粗魯無禮,而耶穌卻褒獎這種品格的積極一面為“沒有詭詐”。拿但業似乎也意識到自己的這個個性,因為它不是猶太人中的普遍的品格。

拿但業開始很懷疑,就如所期望的那樣。因為,與伊斯蘭教不同,神不希望我們盲目地信任何一個自稱是神的先知的人。作為耶穌傳道的一個特點,他通過神跡來証實他是誰。這一次,他顯示知道拿但業在見到他之前的具體細節。拿但業以信作為反應,但耶穌似乎給他的信踩了剎車。這暗示拿但業在某種意義上相信得太快了。因為許多人聽見他們喜歡聽的領受得很快,但不接受他們不愿聽的。在路加福音第八章里耶穌在撒種的寓言里說有些人信得很快但在付之于應用時就退後了。他所感興趣的不是那種信。他提供比主觀感受更大的証據來肯定他是誰。因為誠實的懷疑者是不容易被轉化的,但一經轉化他們的信卻往往有更深的根基。

應用:不要過快地接受或拒絕耶穌。反之,在作出結論以前要仔細而透徹地審核。今天,基督徒在試圖讓別人信的時候缺乏耐心,結果剛給人講了福音的鳳毛麟角就要求別人作出決定。人不能人為地編造出能使人得救的信,這種信必須在跟隨耶穌基督時通過與聖靈合作而產生出來。


NIV version used in comments



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:10 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 1:35-51 (web)

The Calling of the Apostles

1:35 Again, the next day, John was standing with two of his disciples,
1:36 and he looked at Jesus as he walked, and said, "Behold, the Lamb of God!"
1:37 The two disciples heard him speak, and they followed Jesus.
1:38 Jesus turned, and saw them following, and said to them,
"What are you looking for?" They said to him, "Rabbi"
(which is to say, being interpreted, Teacher), "where are you staying?"
1:39 He said to them, "Come, and see."
They came and saw where he was staying, and they stayed with him that day.
It was about the tenth hour.{4:00 PM.}

1:40 One of the two who heard John, and followed him, was Andrew, Simon Peter's brother.
1:41 He first found his own brother, Simon, and said to him,
"We have found the Messiah!" (which is, being interpreted, Christ).
{"Messiah" (Hebrew) and "Christ" (Greek) both mean "Anointed One".}
1:42 He brought him to Jesus. Jesus looked at him, and said,
"You are Simon the son of Jonah. You shall be called Cephas"
(which is by interpretation, Peter).

1:43 On the next day, he was determined to go out into Galilee, and he found Philip.
Jesus said to him, "Follow me."
1:44 Now Philip was from Bethsaida, of the city of Andrew and Peter.
1:45 Philip found Nathanael, and said to him,
"We have found him, of whom Moses in the law, and the prophets, wrote:
Jesus of Nazareth, the son of Joseph."
1:46 Nathanael said to him, "Can any good thing come out of Nazareth?"
Philip said to him, "Come and see."
1:47 Jesus saw Nathanael coming to him, and said about him,
"Behold, an Israelite indeed, in whom is no deceit!"
1:48 Nathanael said to him, "How do you know me?" Jesus answered him,
"Before Philip called you, when you were under the fig tree, I saw you."
1:49 Nathanael answered him,
"Rabbi, you are the Son of God! You are King of Israel!"
1:50 Jesus answered him,
"Because I told you, 'I saw you underneath the fig tree,' do you believe?
You will see greater things than these!"
1:51 He said to him, "Most assuredly, I tell you, hereafter you will see heaven opened,
and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man."


Discussion Questions

vs 38 What do you seek? What do you hope to get out of Bible study?
What do you see as the pros and cons of God coming to live with you in your house?
vs 40-42 If you won the lottery who would you like to tell first?
2Co 4:13  It is written: "I believed; therefore I have spoken." With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak,
How active are you in speaking of Christ with others?
vs 43-51 How did Nathanael view anything coming out of Nazareth? How would you apply this today - The Messiah coming from Nazareth is like ______________ coming from ______________.
How did Jesus characterize Nathanael? And what is an example of a type of person opposite to that?
Would you say that Nathanael was too much of a skeptic or was he too quick to believe?
What miraculous things would convince you that Jesus is who he claims to be?


Comments

Order of events: Given that all these events up to chapter 4 occurred prior to John the Baptist being imprisoned, this was the first recorded calling of the apostles (though not as apostles at this point). For the calling of the apostles recorded in the synoptics occurred after John's imprisonment. These are not in conflict, but rather separate events and thus explains the differences in the details of these events between John and the synoptics.

Diverse Calling:

The first may be likened to those who seek God by going to church and are led to Christ by their pastor. Unfortunately that seems the limit many place on evangelism today. For each should then go on to lead others around them to Christ. And then there is a third category seldom acknowledged by those of a more institutional mindset. There are those whom Jesus comes to without the direct intervention of others. These are those whom even in their unregenerate state the Spirit may lead to read the Bible and lead them on a spiritual journey culminating in their faith in Christ. John the Baptist himself may be exemplary of this to whom quite literally the Spirit pointed out Christ.

vs 38 "What do you seek?" It seems that everyone seeks something. Everyone has a degree of discontentedness. But it is those who respond as Andrew did that please the Lord. Many seek material things for themselves, but Andrew simply sought to abide with the Lord. To abide with the Lord means that we must be reconciled to God. If you wish to abide with the Lord on your own terms, then you have been mislead as to what the Lord is like. Sadly many couples get married without really knowing what the other is like. So also many "Christians" distance themselves from the Bible, not abiding in His Word, for their view of God is in conflict with what the Bible says about God. Would you really be comfortable with the idea of the God of the Bible moving into your house?

vs 41 "We have found the Messiah" It is interesting that the Lord can indeed be found. Paul speaking to the Athenians says, "he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us." Acts 17:26,27 And Jesus said, "Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you." Luke 11:9 God expects us to seek Him by faith and indeed we will find him "You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart." Jer 29:13  But having found him, a natural response of faith is to tell someone else.

vs 42 Calling Peter a stone was far a description of his present personality. For Peter was impulsive, wavering and erratic even up to Jesus' death. Rather Jesus was pointing to what he would become. This is another aspect of coming to Christ. Spending time with Jesus will make us different people. The salvation he offers is not just the forgiveness of sins, but also incorporates a change within such that our lifestyle is characterized by righteous living and our weaknesses are healed.

Andrew only visited with Jesus briefly and went on his business fishing with his brother Peter. Later the synoptics (Matthew, Mark, Luke) record Jesus calling Andrew and Peter while they were fishing. Many first introduced to Christ have a good impression of him, but lack the realization of the degree of commitment he demands in following him.

vs 46 "Can any good thing come out of Nazareth?" People may expect to find the Lord among the proud, important, and popular of the land. But the Lord is more frequently among the humble and humiliated as growing up as  a carpenter's son in Nazareth represents. He makes his dwelling among the lowly. What about yourself? Are you a Nazareth of which people ask "Can any good thing come out of Nazareth?", and yet have the King dwelling in you? Or are you a Jerusalem, a proud city where dwell the religious elite who crucified the Lord?

Though Nathanael held Nazareth in contempt as was a common trait particularly among Jews to compare one another, what was perhaps most characteristic of him was his frankness. He was not duplicitous hiding behind a mask as many politicians and religious leaders do. But as such his behavior may be interpreted by some as rude. Yet Jesus appears to commend the positive aspects of this character trait as free from guile. Of which Nathanael seems also consciously aware, as it was not a common trait among Jews.

Nathanael was skeptical, as is to be expected. For, unlike Islam, God does not expect us to place a blind faith in whoever claims to be a prophet of God. As would be characteristic of his ministry Jesus affirmed who he was through a miracle. In this case he revealed knowing particulars about Nathanael before meeting him. Nathanael reacted with faith, but Jesus appears to put on the brakes to his faith. What is implied is that Nathanael was in some sense too quick to believe. For many will quickly listen to things they want to hear, but then reject what they don't want to hear. In Luke 8 Jesus speaks in the parable of the sower of some believing quickly but then falling away when it comes time to apply their faith. He isn't interested in that kind of faith. He provides greater evidence than mere subjective experiences to affirm who he is. For the honest skeptic is not easily converted, but having been convinced their faith tends to be more deeply rooted.

Application: Don't be too quick to accept or reject Jesus. Rather make a careful and thorough examination before drawing a conclusion. Today Christians are often too impatient in trying to convert others to the faith and end up giving them only bits and pieces of the gospel before demanding a decision be made. A person cannot artificially fabricate his own saving faith, it has to be developed over time in cooperation with the Holy Spirit as one follows Jesus Christ.


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015