翻譯: English 简体中文

約翰福音 2:1-12

變水為酒

2:1 第三日,在加利利的迦拿有娶親的筵席,耶穌的母親在那堙C
2:2 耶穌和他的門徒也被請去赴席。
2:3 酒用盡了,耶穌的母親對他說:“他們沒有酒了。”
2:4 耶穌說:“母親(原文作‘婦人’),我與你有什麼相幹?
  我的時候還沒有到。”

2:5 他母親對用人說:“他告訴你們什麼,你們就作什麼。”
2:6 照猶太人潔淨的規矩,有六口石缸擺在那堙A每口可以盛兩三桶水。
  (兩三桶大約有二十到三十美制加侖,
  十六到二十英制加倫,或七十五到一百一十五公升。
2:7 耶穌對用人說:“把缸倒滿了水。”
  他們就倒滿了,直到缸口。

2:8 耶穌又說:“現在可以舀出來,送給管筵席的。”
  他們就送了去。

2:9 管筵席的嘗了那水變的酒,
   并不知道是哪堥茠滿A只有舀水的用人知道。
   管筵席的便叫新郎來,

2:10 對他說:
  “人都是先擺上好酒,等客喝足了,
  才擺上次的。你倒把好酒留到如今。”

2:11 這是耶穌所行的頭一件神蹟,是在加利利的迦拿行的,
   顯出他的榮耀來。他的門徒就信他了。

2:12 這事以後,耶穌與他的母親、弟兄和門徒,都下迦百農去,
   在那埵矰F不多幾日。


問題討論

誰給婚筵帶來的酒最多?
第4節 為什麼耶穌在幫忙時似乎有點遲疑?
第5節 用人需要為提供酒做什麼呢?
當我們缺乏必要的資源來盡我們的職責時,我們要做什麼呢?
第6,7節 耶穌提供的酒是剛剛夠還是過于豐富?如何將這個原理運用到我們的恩典和事奉?
第9節 誰看到了耶穌的神蹟?
第10節 耶穌提供的是發過酵的酒呢還是沒有發過酵的酒?換句話說,是好酒陳酒呢還是新酒?


注釋

第3節 他們沒有酒了

在宴席上用酒并不與聖經相悖。“在這山上萬軍之耶和華,必為萬民用肥甘設擺筵席,用陳酒和滿髓的肥甘,并澄清的陳酒,設擺筵席。”【以賽亞書 25:6】在筵席上沒有了酒是件令人窘迫的事情并且會使婚筵特別是新郎丟臉,因為第九節暗示新郎要負責准備酒。

第4節 我與你有什麼相幹?

從希臘文最直接的翻譯就是:“婦人,我與你有什麼相幹?”從這句話讓我感到有點:“你又不是我的上司。”的味道。天主教把這解釋成與此相反,馬利亞是耶穌的上司,是她發起了耶穌的事奉。而事實上,耶穌在這堿O回答了一個恆切的禱告,這是神的特徵。

為什麼耶穌不主動去做?

這使人聯想起馬太福音第十五章堛漕漲鴙{南婦人,耶穌開始好像對她的請求有所遲疑。而實際上耶穌是在考驗她的信心。當時的問題是耶穌事奉的重心完全在猶太人,而她不是猶太人。但這堛滌暋D是時間。在兩個情形下耶穌都似乎在找借口不愿進一步的行動。在這件事堙A馬利亞是另一個例子,就如耶穌在寡婦切求的寓言堜珣郋阞漕獐芊C耶穌使“抱怨”變成“酒”,結果為基督“贏得”人。

當神要我們做什麼的時候,我們常常找借口。而諷刺地,當我們想要神做什麼的時候,神也找借口。但在兩種情形下,恆切最後都會勝出。

至于“婦人”一詞,是希臘文中對婦女的通稱。在《欽定譯本》堙A這個詞有129次被譯作“woman”,92次被譯作“wife”,包括那位被耶穌醫好女兒的迦南婦人和耶穌在井旁遇見的撒瑪利亞婦人。這給人的印象是耶穌把馬利亞放在她應有的位置上,正如他更明顯地在如下這一段堙G“有人告訴他說:‘看哪,你母親和你弟兄站在外邊,要與你說話。’他卻回答那人說:‘誰是我的母親?誰是我的弟兄?’就伸手指著門徒說:‘看哪,我的母親,我的弟兄。’”【馬太福音 12:47-49】與天主教所教馬利亞具有的特權地位相反,并且耶穌要讓她知道這一點。類似地,經上說:“耶穌正說這話的時候,眾人中間,有一個女人大聲說:‘懷你胎的和乳養你的有福了。’耶穌說:‘是,卻還不如聽神之道而遵守的人有福。’”【路加福音 11:27-28】

第5節 他告訴你們什麼,你們就做什麼。

這是恆切的一個例子,停下禱告,開始行動,假定神會參與進來。讓神采取行動。馬利亞在還沒有得到耶穌的許可時就開始了行動。也許這讓我們學到的就是,如果我們假定神也會參與我們的行動的話,神真的會參與我們的行動。從馬太福音第十五章耶穌與迦南婦人的互動也可以得出這樣的應用。

至于給用人的命令,讓我們都聽從這個命令,我們普通的,水一般的生活就能變成酒,我們的五餅兩魚就能變成筵席。順服會帶來累累的碩果。

第7節 好酒是怎樣釀成的

從表面上看,只是這些用人在做事。他們把石缸堶侉﹞F水,又舀出來,送給管筵席的。但如果沒有耶穌,他們這樣舀出來的也只是水。“我栽種了,亞波羅澆灌了﹔惟有神叫他生長。可見栽種的算不得什麼,澆灌的也算不得什麼﹔只在那叫他生長的神。栽種的和澆灌的都是一樣,但將來各人要照自己的工夫得自己的賞賜。”【哥林多前書 3:6-8】

第10節 好酒

有些認為喝酒有罪的人提出說耶穌把水變成了葡萄汁。但其實并不是這麼回事。管筵席的認為它是“好酒”。耶穌說過一個寓言。

“也沒有人把新酒裝在舊皮袋堙C若是這樣,新酒必將皮袋裂開,酒便漏出來,皮袋也就壞了。但新酒必須裝在新皮袋堙C沒有人喝了陳酒又想喝新的,他總說:‘陳的好。’”【路加福音 5:37-39】
好酒是陳酒,發過酵的,不是葡萄汁。那是最好的酒,耶穌為婚宴制了大約五百七十公升成年好酒。神的恩典不是僅僅足夠,而是過于豐富。在述說神給他的恩典時,大衛說:“我的福杯滿溢。”【詩篇 23:5】所以如果你求告豐富供應的主,你會發現自己被沉浸在他的祝福之中。

第11節 誰看到了神蹟?

親眼目睹了神蹟的有耶穌的母親、用人和他的門徒。因為耶穌說:“我的時候還沒有到。”還不到他公開顯現出來的時候。所以他是在私下行這個神蹟。新郎無疑會吃一驚,但不大會承認他的疏忽。管筵席的可能會完全蒙在鼓堙C離耶穌越近就越容易看出証明耶穌是神的兒子的神蹟。如果你想看到他行神蹟,你就得跟隨他。

這個神蹟的目的

從多種意義上講,這都是一個獨特的神蹟。其目的似乎是讓客人們誤以為新郎為挑選婚筵的酒做了超乎尋常的努力,以避免他的尷尬。也許這意味著神有時會做某些事來遮掩我們的錯誤或誤判所帶來的羞恥,挽救我們的公眾形像。



2022年07月22日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 2:1-12 (web)

Turning Water to Wine

2:1 The third day, there was a marriage in Cana of Galilee. Jesus' mother was there.
2:2 Jesus also was invited, with his disciples, to the marriage.
2:3 When the wine ran out, Jesus' mother said to him, "They have no wine."
2:4 Jesus said to her, "Woman, what does that have to do with you and me?
My hour has not yet come."
2:5 His mother said to the servants, "Whatever he says to you, do it."
2:6 Now there were six water pots of stone set there after the Jews' manner of purifying, containing two or three metretes apiece.
{2 to 3 metretes is about 20 to 30 U. S. Gallons,
16 to 25 imperial gallons, or 75 to 115 litres.}
2:7 Jesus said to them, "Fill the water pots with water."
They filled them up to the brim.
2:8 He said to them, "Now draw some out, and take it to the ruler of the feast."
So they took it.
2:9 When the ruler of the feast tasted the water now become wine,
and didn't know where it came from (but the servants who had drawn the water knew),
the ruler of the feast called the bridegroom,
2:10 and said to him,
"Everyone serves the good wine first, and when the guests have drunk freely,
then that which is worse. You have kept the good wine until now!"
2:11 This beginning of his signs Jesus did in Cana of Galilee,
and revealed his glory; and his disciples believed in him.
2:12 After this, he went down to Capernaum, he,
and his mother, his brothers, and his disciples; and they stayed there a few days.


Discussion Questions

Who ended up bring most of the wine to the wedding feast?
vs 4 Why did Jesus seem reluctant to help?
vs 5 What did the servant have to do to provide wine?
When we lack the necessary resources to fulfill our obligations, what must we also do?
vs 6,7 Does it sound like Jesus provided just enough and no more or did he wastefully provide an overabundance of wine? How might this principle also be applied to our gifts and services?
vs 9 Who was aware of Jesus' miracle?
vs 10 Did Jesus provide fermented or unfermented wine? In other words was good wine old wine or new wine?


Comments

vs 3 They have no wine
The usage of wine in banquets was not inconsistent with the Bible. "On this mountain the LORD Almighty will prepare a feast of rich food for all peoples, a banquet of aged wine-- the best of meats and the finest of wines." Isaiah 25:6 To have run out of wine would be an embarrasment and bring shame upon the wedding party and the groom in particular as verse 9 implies it was the bridegrooms responsibility to see to the wine.

vs 4 Why do you involve me? 

Most literally word for word from the Greek the KJV has "Woman, what have I to do with thee?" Or as we may say it today, Woman, what am I going to do with you?. The sense I read these verses is "You're not the boss of me." Catholics interpret this in the very opposite that Mary was the boss of Jesus, and in this case initiated His ministry. Whereas Jesus simply gave into a persistent request as was characteristic of God.

Why didn't Jesus take the initiative?

One is reminded of the incident with the Canaanite woman of Matthew 15 in which Jesus at first appears reluctant to respond to her request. But what was really happening was that he was testing her faith. At that time the issue was the focus of His ministry being exclusively to the Jews of which she was not. But here the issue was one of timing. In both cases he seemingly discouraged further action by giving an excuse. This incident with Mary is another example of persistence paying off as Jesus' parable of the Persistent Widow also teaches. Jesus turned "whining" into "wining" which resulted in "winning" people for Christ.

When God wants us to do something we often give excuses. But ironically when we want God to do something God may give excuses. Perhaps in both cases persistence may win out.

As for the term "woman", it is a generic term just as it is in English. The KJV translates this Greek word as "woman" 129 times in the NT and 92 times as "wife". Jesus addresses a number of people as "woman", including the Canaanite mother whose daughter he healed and the woman at the well. As such the impression is that Jesus is putting her in her place, much as he does also in Mt 12:47-49 Then one said to Him, "Look, Your mother and Your brothers are standing outside, seeking to speak with You." But He answered and said to the one who told Him, "Who is My mother and who are My brothers?" And He stretched out His hand toward His disciples and said, "Here are My mother and My brothers! Contrary to Catholicism Mary holds no special privileged position, and Jesus wants her to know this. For likewise it says, one of the women in the crowd raised her voice and said to Him, "Blessed is the womb that bore You and the breasts at which You nursed." But He said, "On the contrary, blessed are those who hear the word of God and observe it." Lk 11:27,28

vs 5 Do whatever he tells you. 

Here's an example of persistence - stop praying and start taking action presuming God will get Himself involved. Commit God to a course of action. For Mary takes a course of action without Jesus' permission. But perhaps the lesson is that God may commit Himself to your cause if take action presuming He will too. This same application can be inferred from His interaction with the Canaanite woman of Mt 15.

As for the command given the servants, good idea for all of us to heed such a command and perhaps our ordinary watery lives will turn to wine, or our 5 loaves and 2 fish into a feast. Obedience leads to fruitfulness.

vs 10 Good wine
Some who reckon it sinful to drink alcohol have proposed that Jesus turned the wine into grape juice. But that was not the case. The governor of the feast reckoned it "good wine". Jesus tells a parable.

Luke 5:37-39 "And no one pours new wine into old wineskins. If he does, the new wine will burst the skins, the wine will run out and the wineskins will be ruined. No, new wine must be poured into new wineskins. And no one after drinking old wine wants the new, for he says, 'The old is better.'"
The good wine was old, aged wine, fermented, not grape juice. That was the best wine and Jesus produced about 150 gallons of it for the party. God's grace is not simply sufficient, it is overabundant. In describing God's grace to him David says,  "my cup overflows."  Ps 23:5 So if you are in need, just call upon the Lord who supplies abundantly and you may find yourself drowning in his blessings.

vs 11 Who saw the miracle?
It was Jesus' mother, the servants and his disciples that beheld miracle first hand. For as Jesus said, it was not His time to be revealed publicly. So he did this miracle privately. The groom was no doubt surprised but unlikely to admit his negligence. The master of the feast may have been ignorant of it altogether. The closer one is to Jesus the more one recognizes the signs which affirm him to be the Son of God. If you want to see him do miracles you have to follow him.

The Purpose of the Miracle
In many senses this is a unique miracle. Its point seemed to have been to avoid shame by misleading the guests into thinking the bridegroom had gone out of his way in selecting wines. Perhaps what's implied is that God will at times do things to hide the shame of our mistakes or miscalculations just for the sake of our own public image.


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015