翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音2:13-25

殿里的沖突

2:13 猶太人的逾越節近了,耶穌就上耶路撒冷去。
2:14 看見殿里有賣牛、羊、鴿子的,
并有兌換銀錢的人,坐在那里。
2:15 耶穌就拿繩子作成鞭子,把牛羊都趕出殿去,
倒出兌換銀錢之人的銀錢,推翻他們的桌子。
2:16 又對賣鴿子的說:
“把這些東西拿去!不要將我父的殿,當作買賣的地方。”
2:17 他的門徒就想起經上記著說:
“我為你的殿心里焦急,如同火燒。”詩篇69:9
2:18 因此,猶太人問他說:
“你既作這些事,還顯什么神跡給我們看呢?”
2:19 耶穌回答說:
“你們拆毀這殿,我三日內要再建立起來。”
2:20 猶太人便說:
“這殿是四十六年才造成的,你三日內就再建立起來嗎?”
2:21 但耶穌這話是以他的身體為殿。
2:22 所以到他從死里復活以後,
門徒就想起他說過這話,
便信了聖經和耶穌所說的。

2:23 當耶穌在耶路撒冷過逾越節的時候,
有許多人看見他所行的神跡,就信了他的名。
2:24 耶穌卻不將自己交托他們,因為他知道萬人。
2:25 也用不著誰見証人怎樣,
因他知道人心里所存的。


問題討論

vs 13-17 耶穌為什么發怒?
耶穌為什么有權力將那些人趕出殿去?
我們應該為什么事情象這樣發怒?
我們應該采取什么樣的行動?
馬可福音14:58馬可福音15:29里對耶穌的控告比較。
你是否經歷過被人歪曲你所說的話而遭人誹謗?
誰在試圖拆毀耶穌所說的殿?
後來結果如何?
在新約里除了這一章以外,“殿”的另外兩個涵意是什么?
(見歌林多前書6:19以弗所書2:21
考慮你如何把耶穌所說的應用到各種意義下的殿。
vs 23-25 為什么耶穌不將自己交托這些信徒?
他所找的是什么樣的信徒?


注釋

精神商業化

逾越節是記念神的憤怒越過那些房門被羊血所遮蓋的以色列人,而降在那些逼迫他們的人身上。而耶穌卻不愿越過兌換銀錢的人在殿里對他和他的人所犯的罪。他有什么權力把他們趕出去呢?很簡單,殿就是他的居所,而他們正在凌辱它。

賣獻祭用的動物似乎有助于敬拜的人滿足摩西律法的要求。那些住在城市里的人可能沒有動物來獻祭,而那些住在鄉下的人可能要趕很遠的路來殿里,可能還沒有合適的動物。所以殿里的商人可看作是在為幫住殿里的敬拜提供合宜的事奉。兌換銀錢的人的目的也是要滿足律法的要求。因為律法要求使用猶太貨幣。但許多人只有羅馬錢。

而事實上在這種交易很腐敗。兌換率為牟取暴利而設定。賣獻祭用的動物也是如此。而正是這種打著精神事奉幌子下的貪婪使主如此動怒,這種貪婪導致了使徒行傳5里亞拿尼亞和撒非喇的死,以及行邪朮的西門在使徒行傳8里被定罪。

對于基督徒的商業化主義,神的態度也是如此。人有權為他們的事奉得到報酬,如保羅在歌林多前書9 里所說的,律法也說:“牛在場上踹穀的時候,不可籠住它的嘴。”申命記25:4)然而貪婪很容易導致對這種特權的濫用。要么神的話為金錢的得失而被壓制或曲解,要么基督教機構為他們的服務或產品收取高昂的費用。有許多猶大將手伸進錢袋里。(約翰福音12:6)所以最好還是學保羅的榜樣,免費提供基督徒的服務。

殿

殿就是耶穌的身體。而基督的身體就是教會。以弗所書5:23  “因為丈夫是妻子的頭,如同基督是教會的頭。他又是教會全體的救主。” 耶穌熱心地,甚至憤怒地,要除掉他身體里的雜質。在加拉太書里保羅引用創世紀說:“把使女和她兒子趕出去。”使女代表錯誤的教義,而她兒子則代表假教師,在加拉太書里指那些奉割禮的人。保羅在說到審判有罪的基督徒時寫道:“你們既是無酵的面,應當把舊酵除淨,好使你們成為新團。因為我們逾越節的羔羊基督已經被殺獻祭了。所以,我們守這節不可用舊酵,也不可用惡毒(或作陰毒),邪惡的酵,只用誠實真正的無酵餅。” 歌林多前書5:7,8又繼續說:“但如今我寫信給你們說,若有稱為弟兄,是行淫亂的,或貪婪的,或拜偶像的,或辱罵的,或醉酒的,或勒索的。這樣的人不可與他相交。就是與他吃飯都不可。因為審判教外的人與我何干?教內的人豈不是你們審判的嗎?至于外人有神審判他們。你們應當把那惡人從你們中間趕出去。 歌林多前書5:11-13

然而對他居所的熱心今天在生活在崇尚多元化和時興重感覺而經不住推敲的教義里的基督徒中受到相當的壓制。

顯什么神跡給我們看呢?

雖然現在稱神為自己的父沒有什么奇怪,這在當時的猶太人中可不是個一般的說法。因為對他們來說神是遙遠的,不可親近的。稱神是他的父親,耶穌就宣告了他與神的特殊關系,就連摩西也沒有這種關系。耶穌宣告他之所以有權力把他們趕出去是因為那是他父親的殿。因此,猶太人要求他顯個神跡給他們看來証明他是神的兒子。這也表明他們接受神有個兒子,并且這個兒子能用神跡來証明他是神的兒子這一觀念。

那么為什么耶穌不在當時當地顯個神跡呢?也許其原因與神不隨便在不信的懷疑者要求下顯神跡的原因相同。他羞辱他們讓他們認識到他們的罪。他們不大可能是在真心地尋求他。反之,他們是想要反過來羞辱他。對這種人,耶穌不會進一步地將他們領向自己,除非他們悔改。他給謙卑的人領路,卻羞辱或離棄高傲的人。再說,任何敬畏神并與他有同樣熱心的猶太人都應該象他一樣有權力潔淨神的殿。如果要說權力的話,應該被質問的是那些商人,他們有什么權力可以在神的殿里放縱他們的貪欲。

耶穌後來給他們顯的神跡就是他從死里復活,自從彼得在五旬節的時候起,每傳福音必提及此,如我們聽到彼得所說的:“以色列人哪,請聽我的話:神借著拿撒勒人耶穌,在你們中間施行異能、奇事、神跡,將他証明出來,這是你們自己知道的。他既按著神的定旨、先見,被交與人,你們就借著無法之人的手,把他釘在十字架上殺了。神卻將死的痛苦解釋了,叫他復活。因為他原不能被死拘禁。”使徒行傳2:22-24

重建的殿

下面的几點值得回味。在聖經里有四種神的殿。 一個進一步的應用則是,神經常領著他的人經過多次的失敗,有時甚至到了在世人眼里看來徹底失敗的程度,然而恰在此時他讓那謙卑的得勝,就如讓他們從死里復活一樣,讓他們成功并且碩果累累。神將這樣的生命賜給他的孩子,使我們不可避免地會堅忍到底。

耶穌卻不將自己交托他們

vs 23-25 人信耶穌,而耶穌卻不信人。“耶和華如此說:‘倚靠人血肉的膀臂,心中離棄耶和華的,那人有禍了。’”耶利米書17:5 人的什么使耶穌不信他們呢?那就是人所故有的罪性。然而耶穌是可信的,因為既使是在肉體里時,他也沒有那種故有的罪性。他是沒有罪的。“因我們的大祭司,并非不能體恤我們的軟弱。他也曾凡事受過試探,與我們一樣。只是他沒有犯罪。”希伯來書4:15

人在看到他的神跡後就信了,這不奇怪。但言下之意是,他們此時此刻的信還不能說是經過深思熟慮而對人的信仰產生巨大影響的深深的確信,而只是膝蓋對肌肉的抽縮反應。可以稱之為“外在的信”。它是脆弱的并可能是短暫的信,只是表面上的,但對有些人它會導致生于確信的使人得救的信撒種的比喻刻畫了几種信的不同。耶穌顯神跡是有道理的。因為神不希望人盲目地沒有根據地信。但耶穌并不輕信他們的積極反應是出于深深的確信。今天有些名人特別是在演藝界的自我陶醉在他們的狂慕者對他們的崇拜里。而事實上這種崇拜常常是膚淺的短暫的。無疑,許多那些信了他的人後來又嘲弄他,喊著要把他釘十字架。




庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:09 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 2:13-25 (web)

Conflict in the Temple

2:13 The Passover of the Jews was at hand, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem.
2:14 He found in the temple those who sold oxen, sheep, and doves,
and the changers of money sitting.
2:15 He made a whip of cords, and threw all out of the temple, both the sheep and the oxen;
and he poured out the changers' money, and overthrew their tables.
2:16 To those who sold the doves, he said,
"Take these things out of here! Don't make my Father's house a marketplace!"
2:17 His disciples remembered that it was written,
"Zeal for your house will eat me up." (Ps 69:9)
2:18 The Jews therefore answered him,
"What sign do you show us, seeing that you do these things?"
2:19 Jesus answered them,
"Destroy this temple, and in three days I will raise it up."
2:20 The Jews therefore said,
"Forty-six years was this temple in building, and will you raise it up in three days?"
2:21 But he spoke of the temple of his body.
2:22 When therefore he was raised from the dead,
his disciples remembered that he said this,
and they believed the Scripture, and the word which Jesus had said.

2:23 Now when he was in Jerusalem at the Passover,
during the feast, many believed in his name, observing his signs which he did.
2:24 But Jesus didn't trust himself to them, because he knew everyone,
2:25 and because he didn't need for anyone to testify concerning man;
for he himself knew what was in man.


Discussion Questions

vs 13-17 Why was Jesus angry?
What right did Jesus have to drive these people from the temple?
What things should we be angry about in a similar manner?
What actions should we take?
vs 18-22 Was Jesus saying that he was going to destroy the temple?
Compare with the accusations against him in Mark 14:58 and Mark 15:29.
Have you ever had the experience of someone slandering you by misrepresenting what you said?
Who tried to destroy the temple that Jesus spoke of?
What happened later?
What are two other connotations for "temple" in the New Testament besides the two being used in this passage?
(See 1Cor 6:19 and Eph 2:21)
Consider how you might apply what Jesus said to each kind of temple.
vs 23-25 Why was Jesus reluctant to commit himself to these believers?
What kind of believers was he seeking?


Comments

Spiritual Commercialism

The passover was in commemoration of God wrath passing over the Israelites whose houses were covered by the blood of the Lamb, and His wrath came upon those who were oppressing them. Jesus was not about to pass over the offense against him and his people being done by the moneychangers on the temple grounds. What right does he have to drive them out? Very simply it's his house and they were abusing it.

It would seem that selling sacrificial animals would be helpful for the worshipers and necessary to fulfill the Law of Moses. Those in the city may not have animals to sacrifice and those in the country may have to travel far to get to the Temple and again may not have the appropriate animals. Thus one could view the temple merchants as providing a legitimate ministry to aid in the process of temple worship. The purpose of the money changers was in fulfillment of the Law. For the Law required Jewish money to be used. But many had only Roman money.

However in reality there was a great deal of corruption in this business. Exchange rates were modified so as to amass exorbitant profits. And so also with the selling of sacrificial animals. It was this greed in the midst of spiritual service that enraged the Lord so much, just as it led to the death of Ananias and Sapphira in Acts 5 and the condemnation of Simon the sorcerer in Acts 8.

Such is God's attitude towards commercialism in the Christian community as well. People have a right to get paid for their ministry as Paul advocates in 1Corinthians 9 and as the Law also says "Do not muzzle an ox while it is treading out the grain." (Deut 25:4) But greed comes easily leading to abuse of such privileges. The Word then becomes suppressed or misrepresented for the sake of financial gain. Or Christian ministries will charge exorbitant fees for their services and products. There are many Judas's with their hands in the money bag. (John 12:6) Better to follow Paul's example and provide Christian services free of charge.

The Temple

The temple was Jesus' body. But the body of Christ is the Church. Eph 5:23  "For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior." Jesus is zealous, even enraged, to get rid of impurities in his body. In Galatians Paul quotes Genesis saying, "Get rid of the slave woman and her son". The slave woman represents false doctrine and her son represents false teachers, which in the case in Galatians were the group of the circumcision.  And in the context of judging sinful Christians Paul writes, "Get rid of the old yeast that you may be a new batch without yeast-- as you really are. For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been sacrificed. Therefore let us keep the Festival, not with the old yeast, the yeast of malice and wickedness, but with bread without yeast, the bread of sincerity and truth." 1Cor 5:7,8 and continues "I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler. With such a man do not even eat.  What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside?  God will judge those outside. 'Expel the wicked man from among you.'" 1Cor 5:11-13

But the zeal for His house is rather suppressed today among Christians in the present age of ecumenical pluralism and popular feel-good antinomial Christianity.

What sign will you show us?

Though today calling God one's Father is not unusual, this was not a common expression among Jews. For to them God was distant and not intimate. By calling God his Father Jesus was advocating himself in a special relationship with God that not even Moses shared. And Jesus advocated that he had the right to drive them out because it was his Father's temple. For this reason the Jews asked a special sign to prove he was the Son of God which indicates they accepted the idea of God having a Son, and that the Son would be able to prove himself by miracles.

But why didn't Jesus do a miracle for them right then and there? Perhaps for the same reason why God doesn't casually do miracles whenever unbelieving skeptics ask. He humiliated these people convicting them of sin. It was unlikely that they were genuine in seeking him. Rather they were simply trying to humiliate him in return. For such people Jesus will lead no further to himself until they repent. The humble he guides, but the proud he humiliates or leaves behind. Besides, any God-fearing Jew with similar zeal should have had the right to as he in cleaning up the temple. If it's a matter of rights one should rather ask the temple merchants what right they have to practice greed on temple grounds.

The sign Jesus would leave them with would be his resurrection from the dead, which is spoken of whenever the gospel is preached all the way since the day of Pentecost as we hear in Peter's words, "Men of Israel, listen to this: Jesus of Nazareth was a man accredited by God to you by miracles, wonders and signs, which God did among you through him, as you yourselves know. This man was handed over to you by God's set purpose and foreknowledge; and you, with the help of wicked men, put him to death by nailing him to the cross. But God raised him from the dead, freeing him from the agony of death." Acts 2:22-24

Resurrected Temples

It is also interesting to consider the following. There are four kinds of temples of God in the Bible. A further application is that God often brings his people through failures even to the point of being reckoned by the world as defeated, but then he raises up the humble as if resurrecting them from the dead, and brings success and fruitfulness. And God has imparted such a life within his children that it is inevitable that we will persevere to the end.

Jesus would not entrust himself to them

vs 23-25 People believed in Jesus, but Jesus did not believe in people."This is what the LORD says: Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who depends on flesh for his strength." Jer 17:5 What was is it in man that leads Jesus not to trust in them? It was man's inherent sinful nature.

People believed when they saw his miracles, which is not surprising. But what is implied was that the kind of belief they had at that point was not being characterized as a deep conviction in which one has thought out the implications of one's faith, but simply a knee-jerk reaction to his miracles. One might call this an "Epi-faith". It was a fragile possibly transitory faith being simply on the surface, but for some it would lead to a saving faith born of conviction. The parable of the sower characterizes such difference in faith. It was reasonable for Jesus to do miracles. For God does not expect people to believe blindly without any evidence. But Jesus did not naively presume their positive reaction to his miracles to be born of a deep conviction. There are popular people especially in the entertainment industry today who are self-deluded concerning their fan's attitude towards them. But in fact such popularity is often shallow and transitory. No doubt that many of these who believed in him would later mock him and cry out for him to be crucified.


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015