翻譯: English 中文 GB

約翰福音4:1-26

撒瑪利亞婦人:之一

4:1 主知道法利賽人聽見他收門徒,
施洗比約翰還多,
4:2 (其實不是耶穌親自施洗,乃是他的門徒施洗,)
4:3 他就離了猶太,又往加利利去。
4:4 必須經過撒瑪利亞。
4:5 於是到了撒瑪利亞的一座城,名叫敘加,
靠近雅各給他兒子約瑟的那塊地。
4:6 在那里有雅各井。
耶穌因走路困乏,就坐在井旁。那時約有午正。

4:7 有一個撒瑪利亞的婦人來打水。
耶穌對她說:“請你給我水喝。”
4:8 那時門徒進城買食物去了。

4:9 撒瑪利亞的婦人對他說:
“你既是猶太人,怎么向我一個撒瑪利亞婦人要水喝呢?”
原來猶太人和撒瑪利亞人沒有來往。

4:10 耶穌回答說:
“你若知道神的恩賜,和對你說:
‘給我水喝’的是誰,你必早求他,
他也必早給了你活水。”

4:11 婦人說:
“先生,沒有打水的器具,井又深,
你從哪里得活水呢?
4:12 我們的祖宗雅各將這井留給我們。他自己和兒子并牲畜也都喝這井里的水,
難道你比他還大嗎?”

4:13 耶穌回答說:“凡喝這水的,還要再渴。
4:14 人若喝我所賜的水,就永遠不渴。
我所賜的水,要在他里頭成為泉源,
直涌到永生。”

4:15 婦人說:
“先生,請把這水賜給我,叫我不渴,
也不用來這么遠打水。”

4:16 耶穌說:“你去叫你丈夫也到這里來。”

4:17 婦人說:“我沒有丈夫。”

耶穌說:“你說沒有丈夫是不錯的。
4:18 你已經有五個丈夫。
你現在有的并不是你的丈夫。你這話是真的。”

4:19 婦人說:“先生,我看出你是先知。
4:20 我們的祖宗在這山上禮拜。
你們倒說,應當禮拜的地方是在耶路撒冷。”

4:21 耶穌說:
“婦人,你當信我。時候將到,
你們拜父,也不在這山上,也不在耶路撒冷。
4:22 你們所拜的,你們不知道。
我們所拜的,我們知道。因為救恩是從猶太人出來的。
4:23 時候將到,如今就是了,
那真正拜父的,要用心靈和誠實拜他,
因為父要這樣的人拜他。
4:24 神是個靈(或無‘個’字),所以拜他的,必須用心靈和誠實拜他。”

4:25 婦人說:“我知道彌賽亞(就是那稱為基督的)要來。
他來了,必將一切的事都告訴我們。”

4:26 耶穌說:“這和你說話的就是他。”


問題討論

誰是撒瑪利亞人?
耶穌與這位婦女談話要逾越哪些障礙?
耶穌為什么要水?
vs 13,14 如何解釋耶穌說他能給別人讓他們永不再渴的活水,而他自己卻渴了這個佯謬呢?
vs 16 為什么耶穌要讓她去叫她的丈夫?(尤其是他知道她沒有丈夫?)
vs 19 耶穌是如何向她証明他是從神來的?
vs 20-21 依照新約,應該在什么地方敬拜神?這與猶太人或撒瑪利亞人當時所認為的有何不同?
vs 23-24 用心靈和誠實來敬拜神是什么意思?
vs 26 這位婦女對彌賽亞的期望是什么?耶穌是如何滿足這些期望的?
最後,這個遭遇的哪些方面可以應用到我們現在的傳教里?


注釋

vs 1-3 當耶穌逐漸成為受歡迎的人物時,他不得不應付當時的政治情勢以在他被捉和被殺之前完成他的使命。所以在他事奉的最後階段之前,他盡量避免與政治、宗教首腦的直接沖突。

vs 4-7 撒瑪利亞座落在猶太和加利利之間。這里所說的這塊地在舊約里曾被提到。

創世紀33:19  “就用一百塊銀子向示劍的父親,哈抹的子孫買了支帳棚的那塊地,”
約書亞記24:32  “以色列人從埃及所帶來約瑟的骸骨,葬埋在示劍,就是在雅各從前用一百塊銀子向示劍的父親,哈抹的子孫所買的那塊地里。這就作了約瑟子孫的產業。”
撒瑪利亞人很可能是亞述侵占巴勒斯坦以後留下來的屬北王朝的以色列人。他們的神學屬於異端,這在北王朝的聖經史上并不罕見。他們相信約書亞在基利心山上造了作為以色列早期敬拜中心的聖所,這就是這位井旁的婦女在第二十節所指的。

vs 7-8 有意味的是耶穌雖然要水喝,而他其實并不想要水。他真正想要的是讓這位婦女悔改以與神和好。雖然神會向我們要屬物質的東西,而我們需要進一步搞清楚他真正想要的是什么。他命令以色列人用動物獻祭,其實“神所要的祭,就是憂傷的靈。神啊,憂傷痛悔的心,你必不輕看。”詩篇51:17所以我們要領會聖經的精神而不光是字面意義。

vs 9 猶太人厭惡撒瑪利亞人。耶穌本人曾被他的敵人貶稱為撒瑪利亞人。約翰福音8:48)猶太人與撒瑪利亞人之間的偏見與現在猶太人與穆斯林之間的偏見沒多大兩樣。而耶穌卻與之不同。後來他命令他的使徒到猶太和撒瑪利亞以外去、到地極去,傳福音,在猶太人里、撒瑪利亞人里還有外邦人里招門徒。而另一個障礙則是性別間的隔閡。雖然現在沒有那么嚴重,在當時的社會里男女是不輕易來往的。一個猶太人與一個撒瑪利亞人交談已經不多見,而與一個婦女交談則更是罕見。這里有個問題就是她怎么知道他是猶太人。也許服飾上有些區別。

民數記15:38-40 “你吩咐以色列人,叫他們世世代代在衣服邊上作繸子,又在底邊的繸子上釘一根藍細帶子。你們佩帶這繸子,好叫你們看見就記念遵行耶和華一切的命令,不隨從自己的心意、眼目行邪淫,象你們素常一樣。使你們記念遵行我一切的命令,成為聖潔,歸與你們的神。”
治愈患血漏的女人里那位婦女摸到後就痊愈了的就是這樣的繸子。這位撒瑪利亞婦女可能就是從服飾看出他是猶太人的。

vs 10 在此所說的“知道”不是“熟悉”,而是“領悟”的意思。人需要領悟某些東西纔能接受神的恩典。他們需要領悟到永生的生命通過罪的赦免是可以得到的。他們需要領悟到給予者是耶穌、彌賽亞、神的兒子、我們罪的挽回祭,他有權柄赦免罪。但欠缺精神的人會因為過於在乎世上屬物質的東西而難於領悟這些。一但領悟了,自然的反應就是祈求。祈求需要一定程度的謙卑。在祈求時我們就通過承認神的恩慈而榮耀神。

vs 11 她的回答使人想起尼哥底母所說的:“人已經老了,如何能重生呢?”耶穌常常用比喻的方式說話,因為他不單單與人的頭腦交流,還通過他們的良心和直覺與他們的靈交流。這里他是在與她的直覺談話,之後還要與她的良心交談。作為基督徒,我們需要學習這種交流方式。

vs 12 “我們的祖宗雅各”表明她是以色列人,盡管不是猶太人。(“猶太人”一詞不用來包括所有的以色列人,而專指那些被巴比倫擄去後又返回的。它來源於被巴比倫占領、擄去的南王朝“猶太國”一詞。北王朝與其是分離的,并在早些時候被亞述占領,撒瑪利亞人是從北王朝遺留下來的。)

vs 13-14 永生的生命的一個側面就是知足。保羅寫道:“我無論在什么景況,都可以知足,這是我已經學會了。”腓立比書4:11既使是在今生也知足,因為有神的看顧和供應。“你們存心不可貪愛錢財,要以自己所有的為足。因為主曾說:‘我總不撇下你,也不丟棄你。’”希伯來書13:5還有就是今生的東西只是暫時的,而神所賜的是永恆的。基督徒里頭有這永恆的生命泉源,它不但使我們感受到基督,還成為別人生命的泉源,就像耶穌說他是生命的泉源一樣。更重要的是,生命的泉水還包含通過罪的赦免與神永久地和好,確保人永恆地得救。

vs 15-16 她對他通過她的直覺和愿望觸及到了她的靈魂表示認可,而他現在必須轉移到她的良心。因為使人得救的信不只是理解耶穌的比喻。它還包括帶來從罪里悔改的憂傷、痛悔的靈。如果人不愿對付他們的罪,那么他們是不能得救的。

vs 17-18 這位婦女有罪地與不是她丈夫的人同居。在此之前她還已經有過五個丈夫也必使她羞辱。也許這就是她趁中午最熱,別人都在屋里休息的時候,獨自來井邊的原故,因為這樣可以避開別人。因她可能被視為名聲不好的女人。

vs 19-20 被曝了光以後,這位婦女馬上把話題轉到熱門的神學議題上。撒瑪利亞人與猶太人之間主要的分歧就是應在哪里敬拜神。猶太人認為應在耶路撒冷的神殿,而撒瑪利亞人則認為應在基利心山上的聖所。

vs 21 從神看來,敬拜不在於地點。指出了這一點,耶穌就破除了猶太人與撒瑪利亞人之間的一個主要隔閡。

vs 22 然而耶穌還是強調了“我們”與“你們”。他把猶太人而不是撒瑪利亞人區別出來,稱他們是救贖的源泉,盡管猶太人和撒瑪利亞人祖先相同。因為彌賽亞是一個猶太人而不是撒瑪利亞人。而且神的話是由猶太人而不是撒瑪利亞人傳下來的。耶穌所指出的猶太人與撒瑪利亞人間的主要區別就在於猶太人更知道神。如我說的,撒瑪利亞人就像現在的穆斯林一樣,自稱接受聖經,卻不真正地知道聖經說了些什么。他們稱耶穌為先知,卻對聖經所說的耶穌知之甚微。他們敬拜“神”,而他們對神的概念卻與聖經不符。

vs 23 神對敬拜的絮節不感興趣。他對人禱告卻不知道自己在說什么,唱歌卻不知道自己在唱什么一類的敬拜不感興趣。敬拜必須誠實、誠肯而且是真實的。就像耶穌在約翰福音第三章對比靈和肉一樣。用靈來敬拜就不在乎屬物的敬拜形式。可以在任何時間、任何地點。用靈來敬拜就不要求服飾或屬物的形式。可大聲,也可不出聲。事實上,用靈敬拜不一定要禱告。保羅說:“所以弟兄們,我以神的慈悲勸你們,將身體獻上,當作活祭,是聖潔的,是神所喜悅的。你們如此事奉,乃是理所當然的。”羅馬書12:1按神的命令用神給我們的恩賜來事奉他,這本身就是用靈敬拜。用靈來誠實地敬拜,這纔是神所要的。

vs 24 神不是由物質構成的。他不是物質的,也不需要物質的東西。“創造宇宙和其中萬物的神,既是天地的主,就不住人手所造的殿,也不用人手服事,好像缺少什么。自己倒將生命、氣息、萬物,賜給萬人”使徒行傳17:24,25“神所要的祭,就是憂傷的靈。神啊,憂傷痛悔的心,你必不輕看。”詩篇51:17 這些纔是我們能獻給神的屬靈的祭。

vs 25 不光是猶太人期盼彌賽亞的到來。撒瑪利亞人也視他為救主。

vs 26 這是耶穌明確地說他就是彌賽亞的几處之一。他遠離高傲的,而把自己顯現給謙卑的。




庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Wednesday, 29-Jul-2015 17:23:10 EDT

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 4:1-26 (web)

The Samaritan Woman: Part I

4:1 Therefore when the Lord knew that the Pharisees
had heard that Jesus was making and baptizing more disciples than John
4:2 (although Jesus himself didn't baptize, but his disciples),
4:3 he left Judea, and departed into Galilee.
4:4 He needed to pass through Samaria.
4:5 So he came to a city of Samaria, called Sychar,
near the parcel of ground that Jacob gave to his son, Joseph.
4:6 Jacob's well was there. Jesus therefore,
being tired from his journey, sat down by the well. It was about the sixth hour{noon}.

4:7 A woman of Samaria came to draw water.
Jesus said to her, "Give me a drink."
4:8 For his disciples had gone away into the city to buy food.

4:9 The Samaritan woman therefore said to him,
"How is it that you, being a Jew, ask for a drink from me, a Samaritan woman?"
(For Jews have no dealings with Samaritans.)

4:10 Jesus answered her,
"If you knew the gift of God, and who it is who says to you,
'Give me a drink,' you would have asked him,
and he would have given you living water."

4:11 The woman said to him,
"Sir, you have nothing to draw with, and the well is deep.
From where then have you that living water?
4:12 Are you greater than our father, Jacob, who gave us the well,
and drank of it himself, as did his children, and his cattle?"

4:13 Jesus answered her, "Everyone who drinks of this water will thirst again,
4:14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never thirst again;
but the water that I will give him will become in him
a well of water springing up to eternal life."

4:15 The woman said to him,
"Sir, give me this water, so that I don't get thirsty,
neither come all the way here to draw."

4:16 Jesus said to her, "Go, call your husband, and come here."

4:17 The woman answered, "I have no husband."

Jesus said to her, "You said well, 'I have no husband,'
4:18 for you have had five husbands;
and he whom you now have is not your husband. This you have said truly."

4:19 The woman said to him, "Sir, I perceive that you are a prophet.
4:20 Our fathers worshiped in this mountain,
and you Jews say that in Jerusalem is the place where people ought to worship."

4:21 Jesus said to her,
"Woman, believe me, the hour comes,
when neither in this mountain, nor in Jerusalem, will you worship the Father.
4:22 You worship that which you don't know.
We worship that which we know; for salvation is from the Jews.
4:23 But the hour comes, and now is,
when the true worshippers will worship the Father in spirit and truth,
for the Father seeks such to be his worshippers.
4:24 God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth."

4:25 The woman said to him, "I know that Messiah comes," (he who is called Christ).
"When he has come, he will declare to us all things."

4:26 Jesus said to her, "I am he, the one who speaks to you."


Discussion Questions

Who were the Samaritans?
In speaking with this woman what barriers was Jesus crossing?
What was Jesus' purpose in asking for water?
vs 13,14 How do you resolve the paradoxical statement that Jesus claims to be able to give others water so that they will never thirst, yet He himself thirsts?
vs 16 Why did Jesus asked her to call her husband? (Especially since he knew she didn't have a husband?)
vs 19 How did Jesus prove to her he was a prophet of God?
vs 20-21 In accordance with New Testament Christianity, in what location in particular should God be worshipped? How does this differ from the thinking of the Jews and Samaritans in those days?
vs 23-24 What does it mean to worship in spirit and in truth?
vs 26 What expectations did the woman have concerning the Messiah? And how were they met in Jesus?
And finally, what aspects of this encounter can be applied to evangelism today?


Comments

vs 1-3 As Jesus was becoming a popular figure he had to deal with the politics of the situation so as to fulfill his mission before being brought to trial and being put to death. As such he made attempts to avoid direct confrontation with political and religious leaders until the end of his ministry.

vs 4-7 Samaria lies between Judea and Galilee. This piece of land it refers to is mentioned in the Old Testament

Gen 33:19  "For a hundred pieces of silver, he bought from the sons of Hamor, the father of Shechem, the plot of ground where he pitched his tent."
Joshua 24:32  "And Joseph's bones, which the Israelites had brought up from Egypt, were buried at Shechem in the tract of land that Jacob bought for a hundred pieces of silver from the sons of Hamor, the father of Shechem. This became the inheritance of Joseph's descendants."
The Samaritans were most likely Israelites of the Northern Kindom left behind by the Assyrians when they conquered Palestine. Their theology may be likened to a cult as was not uncommon in the Biblical history of the Northern Kingdom. They believed that Joshua built a sanctuary on Mt. Gerizim, which was the center for all early Israelite worship, to which the woman at the well alluded in vs 20.

vs 7-8 Interesting to note that though Jesus asked for a drink he really didn't want the water. What he wanted was to be refreshed by reconciling this woman to God in repentance. Though God may ask material things of us, yet we need to look beyond these in understand what He really wants. He commanded the Israelites to make animal sacrifices, but "the sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart."Ps 51:17 Therefore let us read the spirit and not just the letter of the Bible.

vs 9 Jews were antipathetic towards Samaritans. At one point Jesus himself was derogatorily called a Samaritan by his enemies. (John 8:48) The prejudice between Jews and Samaritans is not unlike that between Jews and Muslims today. But not so with Jesus. Later he would commission his apostles to go beyond Judea to Samaria and to the ends of the earth preaching the gospel and making disciples of Jews, Samaritans and Gentiles. But another boundary was then gender gap. Though not as distinct today in this culture, men and woman of that time and culture did not mix casually. Thus a Jew speaking to a Samaritan was odd enough, but even more so speaking to a woman. There is however the issue as to how she knew he was a Jew. There may have been some distinction in dress.

Numbers 15:38-40 "Speak to the Israelites and say to them: 'Throughout the generations to come you are to make tassels on the corners of your garments, with a blue cord on each tassel. You will have these tassels to look at and so you will remember all the commands of the LORD, that you may obey them and not prostitute yourselves by going after the lusts of your own hearts and eyes. Then you will remember to obey all my commands and will be consecrated to your God."
It was such a tassel that the woman with the flow of blood took hold of to be healed. And from this form of dress the Samaritan woman may have inferred he was a Jew.

vs 10 "Know" here is not speaking of being familiar with but rather "perceiving". There are things that people need to perceive to receive God's gift. They need to perceive the gift of eternal life is available to them through the forgiveness of sins. And they need to perceive the giver as Jesus, the Messiah, the Son of God, the atoning sacrifice for our sins who has the authority to forgive sins. But the unspiritually minded may be too caught up in the material things of this world to exercise such discernment. But having perceived these things the natural response should be to ask. Asking takes a degree of humility. But in asking we are also glorifying God by acknowledging his graciousness to us.

vs 11 In her response one is reminded of Nicodemus "How can a man be born when he is old?" Jesus often speaks allegorically, for he is trying to communicate not simply with the person's mind, but also with their spirit through their conscience and intuition. Here Jesus speaks to her intuition and later he will do so to her conscience. As Christians we also need to learn to communicate in such a manner.

vs 12 "Our father Jacob" indicates she was an Israelite, though not a Jews. (The word "Jew" is not used for Israelites in general, but specifically for those who returned from the Babylonian captivity. It comes from the word "Judah", which was the Southern Kingdom taken into captivity by Babylon. The Northern Kingdom was separate from them and taken by the Assyrians a bit earlier of which the Samaritans were a remnant)

vs 13-14 One aspect of eternal life is contentment. Paul writes, "I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances." Php 4:11 It's a contentment experience even in this life due to the security and provision God provides. "Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, 'Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.'" Heb 13:5 Furthermore things in this life are transitory, but what God provides is eternal. Christians have this permanent source of life within us which brings us not only the experience of Christ but also becomes a source of life to others just as Jesus here is portraying himself as the well of life. But more specifically the water of life also involves a permanent reconciliation with God through the forgiveness of sins, securing one's salvation eternally.

vs 15-16 She acknowledged He made contact with her spirit through her intuition and desires, but now he had to move on to her conscience. For the faith that saves does not involve simply understanding Jesus' allegories. It involves a broken and contrite spirit leading to repentance from sin. If a person is not willing to deal with their sin, then they will not be saved.

vs 17-18 The woman was living in sin with a man who was not her husband. And the fact that she previously had gone through five husbands must have also been humiliating. Perhaps this is why she is alone in coming to the well, at noon time when it was the hottest of the day, when others would be indoors or rest, so as to avoid them. For she may have been despised and a woman of a bad reputation.

vs 19-20 Have been exposed, the woman quickly tries to change the subject to a hot theological topic. The main division the Samaritans see between them and Jews is about where to worship God. The Jews made a big deal about the temple in Jerusalem and the Samaritans made a big deal about sanctuary on Mt. Gerizim.

vs 21 But worship from God's point of view is not about location. The figures of such things as the tabernacle with its sacrifices and rituals were only a passing shadow of what was to come, the substance of which can now be found in Christianity. By saying this Jesus broke down a major barrier between Jews and Samaritans.

vs 22 However, significantly Jesus speaks of "we" versus "you". He distinguishes Jews alone and not Samaritans being the source from which salvation comes, despite their common roots. For the Messiah was a Jew and not a Samaritan. And the Word of God was passed on through the Jews and not the Samaritans. The primary distinction Jesus makes between Jews and Samaritans is that Jews know God better. As I said Samaritans are kind of like Muslims today who claim to accept the Bible, but don't really know what it says. They claim Jesus as a prophet, but have little knowledge of the Biblical Jesus. They worship "God", but their concept of God is not completely true to the Bible.

vs 23 God is not interested in ritual worship. He is not interested in the kind of worship where people say prayers but don't really know what they're praying about, or sing songs but not knowing what they're singing about. Worship must be honest and sincere and in accordance with what is actually true. As in John 3 Jesus contrasted the spirit with the flesh. To worship in spirit one is not obsessed over the physical forms of worship. It can be done in any place at any time. There's no particular form of dress or physical forms for those who worship in spirit. And one can worship out loud or silently. In fact worshipping in spirit does not even have to be associated with prayer. Paul writes, "Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God's mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God-- this is your spiritual act of worship." Rom 12:1 Simply serving God in accordance to his commands in whatever capacity God has gifted us is itself worshipping in spirit.  To worship in spirit and in accordance with truth, this is the kind of worship God desires.

vs 24 God is not made of matter. He is not material and does not need material things. "The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by hands.  And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything,"Acts 17:24,25  But "The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart." Ps 51:17 These are the kind of spiritual things we can offer to God.

vs 25 The anticipation of the coming of the Messiah was not limited to the Jews. The Samaritans also view him as their savior as well.

vs 26 Here's one of the places where Jesus explicitly states that he is the Messiah. He stands far off from the proud but reveals himself to the humble.


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015