翻譯: English 简体中文

約翰福音 4:43-54

本地的信

4:43 過了那兩天,耶穌離了那地方,往加利利去。
4:44 因為耶穌自己作過見証說:“先知在本地是沒有人尊敬的。”
4:45 到了加利利,加利利人既然看見他在耶路撒冷過節所行的一切事,就接待他。
因為他們也是上去過節。
4:46 耶穌又到了加利利的迦拿,就是他從前變水為酒的地方。

有一個大臣,他的兒子在迦百農患病。

4:47 他聽見耶穌從猶太到了加利利,
就來見他,求他下去醫治他的兒子。
因為他兒子快要死了。
4:48 耶穌就對他說:
“若不看見神蹟奇事,你們總是不信。”
4:49 那大臣說:“先生,求你趁著我的孩子還沒有死,就下去。”
4:50 耶穌對他說:“回去吧。你的兒子活了。”
那人信耶穌所說的話,就回去了。
4:51 正下去的時候,
他的仆人迎見他,說:“他的兒子活了。”
4:52 他就問什麼時候見好的。
他們說:
“昨日未時熱就退了。”
4:53 他便知道這正是耶穌對他說:
“你兒子活了”的時候。他自己和全家就都信了。
4:54 這是耶穌在加利利行的第二件神蹟,是他從猶太回去以後行的。

問題討論

為什麼一般說來,先知在本地是不受人尊敬呢?
舉幾個現在的例子。
耶穌說:“若不看見神蹟奇事,你們總是不信。”是什麼意思?
他說的“信”是什麼意思?信什麼?
為什麼我們要尋求旁証來証明耶穌所說的?
為什麼有人認為耶穌還不夠?
如果知道耶穌這個人可以行神蹟?你會向他求什麼?

注釋

熟悉生不敬。在這塈畯怚i以感覺到與撒瑪利亞人的對比──那些對耶穌來說是國人的──和那些與他一同長大的猶太人。我們讀過馬太福音堛漱@件事:
來到自己的家鄉,在會堂堭訄V人,甚至他們都希奇,說:“這人從哪埵陶o等智慧和異能呢?這不是木匠的兒子嗎?他母親不是叫馬利亞嗎?他弟兄們不是叫雅各、約西(有古卷作“約瑟”)、西門、猶大嗎?他妹妹們不是都在我們這媔隉H這人從哪埵陶o一切的事呢?”他們就厭棄他(“厭棄他”原文作“因他跌倒”)。耶穌對他們說:“大凡先知,除了本地本家之外,沒有不被人尊敬的。”耶穌因為他們不信,就在那堣ㄕh行異能了。【馬太福音 13:54-58】
而在約翰福音這婸‘[利利在看到他的神蹟後接受了他。然而撒瑪利亞人接受為彌賽亞、全世界的救主,他家鄉的人卻只相信他能行神蹟。今天有許多人,包括穆斯林在內,在有限的意義上“信”耶穌。他們也許相信他是一位先知或他能行神蹟。而耶穌所說的最終的、使人得救的信是信他是神的兒子、彌賽亞、救世主。

若不看見神蹟奇事,你們總是不信。”
我們必須明白他說這話的意思。首先,這是一個泛泛的說法,就像“先知在本地是沒有人尊敬的。”一樣。一般說來先知在本地不受人尊敬,一般說來你們總要看見神蹟奇事才信。但這并不是說每個具體情況下都是如此。雖然他是在與這個大臣講話,但“你們”卻是復數,所以他指的是周圍的人的普遍態度。

那麼他是什麼意思呢?難道如果他沒有行神蹟人不信他有什麼不對嗎?沒有什麼不對的。神的話是用神蹟肯定的。而這堶C穌說的是他們在有了足夠的証據後還要要求更多的。例如,在他行了使餅增多,給五千人吃飽以後,人們接下來馬上問他:“你行什麼神蹟,叫我們看見就信你。你到底作什麼事呢?”【約翰福音 6:30】現在,人也一樣要求神給他們個徵兆或行個神蹟他們才信,而對以經行在聖經堛滲威搦o視而不見。這種程度的懷疑表明故意不愿信,而這樣的人缺乏達到得救的信所必需的屬靈品質。但這并不是說這樣一個人不可能培養出這樣的品質。在這塈畯怓搢鴙C穌就在解除這個大臣的懷疑,以使他能夠達到這樣的信。

這也不是說神蹟會自動地帶來信心。因為耶穌說:“若不聽從摩西和先知的話,就是有一個從死奡_活的,他們也是不聽勸。”【路加福音 16:31】

回去吧。你的兒子活了。

再看看與此類似的一個在【路加福音 7:1-10】媄鬗_百夫長的故事。他來找耶穌求他醫治他的仆人。他說:“主啊,不要勞動。因你到我舍下,我不敢當。我也自以為不配去見你,只要你說一句話,我的仆人就必好了。”耶穌贊揚他的信心說:“我告訴你們,這麼大的信心,就是在以色列中,我也沒有遇見過。”這與大臣求耶穌與他一同到他家去救他的兒子形成對比。雖然耶穌似乎是在批評他的請求,但事實上在路加福音8媞瑀|堂的睚魯求耶穌到他家堨h醫治他的女兒,耶穌沒說什麼就去了。但這塈畯旼曋|到耶穌對這種請求的看法。他是想讓這個人能有百夫長那樣的信心。對主來說這比治好他的兒子更重要。于是考驗他的信心,只告訴他他的兒子會好的,而全看這個人是不是信他。似乎,他想讓這個人想更大的事情。你想治好你的兒子嗎?小事一樁。他已經好了。這也使我們想起那位撒瑪利亞婦女所說的:“我們的祖宗在這山上禮拜。你們倒說,應當禮拜的地方是在耶路撒冷。” 【約翰福音 4:20】許多信教的人糾纏于諸如地點或絮節一類的事情。聽說讓他到約旦河中沐浴治好大麻瘋,乃縵發怒說:“我想他必定出來見我,站著求告耶和華他神的名,在患處以上搖手,治好這大麻瘋。” 【列王記下 5:11】神做事常與我們想像的不同或簡簡單單的說句話使我們把注意力從地點和絮節一類的事情上移開,這樣這些東西就不至成為我們信的目標。

有許多人來到耶穌以滿足他們的需求。然而如果不領悟到耶穌是誰,他們最必需的屬靈需求是無法得到滿足的。他們來到井旁只圖解一時之渴,卻沒有想到求生命的泉水。你要向耶穌求什麼呢?健康嗎?財富嗎?還是求饒恕你的罪呢?



2020年09月25日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 4:43-54 (web)

Hometown Faith

4:43 After the two days he went out from there and went into Galilee.
4:44 For Jesus himself testified that a prophet has no honor in his own country.
4:45 So when he came into Galilee, the Galileans received him,
having seen all the things that he did in Jerusalem at the feast, for they also went to the feast.
4:46 Jesus came therefore again to Cana of Galilee, where he made the water into wine.

There was a certain nobleman whose son was sick at Capernaum.
4:47 When he heard that Jesus had come out of Judea into Galilee,
he went to him, and begged him that he would come down and heal his son,
for he was at the point of death.
4:48 Jesus therefore said to him,
"Unless you see signs and wonders, you will in no way believe."
4:49 The nobleman said to him, "Sir, come down before my child dies."
4:50 Jesus said to him, "Go your way. Your son lives."
The man believed the word that Jesus spoke to him, and he went his way.
4:51 As he was now going down,
his servants met him and reported, saying "Your child lives!"
4:52 So he inquired of them the hour when he began to get better.
They said therefore to him,
"Yesterday at the seventh hour,{1:00 P. M.} the fever left him."
4:53 So the father knew that it was at that hour in which Jesus said to him,
"Your son lives." He believed, as did his whole house.
4:54 This is again the second sign that Jesus did, having come out of Judea into Galilee.


Discussion Questions

Why is it generally true that a prophet has no honor in his own home?
What are examples today of this principle?
What did Jesus mean by "Unless you see miracles you will not believe"?
What does he mean by "believe"? Believe what?
Why should we seek external validation of Jesus' claims?
Why do some not consider Jesus' miracles sufficient?
Having learned that this man Jesus could do miracles, what would you have asked him for?


Comments

Familiarity breeds contempt. Here we get a sense of contrast between the Samaritans - those who were foreign to Jesus - and the Jews which he grew up with. We read of the incident of Matt 13:54-58
Coming to his hometown, he began teaching the people in their synagogue, and they were amazed. "Where did this man get this wisdom and these miraculous powers?" they asked.  "Isn't this the carpenter's son? Isn't his mother's name Mary, and aren't his brothers James, Joseph, Simon and Judas? Aren't all his sisters with us? Where then did this man get all these things?" And they took offense at him. But Jesus said to them, "Only in his hometown and in his own house is a prophet without honor." And he did not do many miracles there because of their lack of faith.
But here in John it speaks of the Galilieans receiving him, having witnessed his miracles. But while the Samaritans accepted him as the Messiah, the Savior of the world, those in his hometown would at most only believe he could do miracles. There are many people today, including Muslims, who "believe" in Jesus in a limited sense. They may believe he is a prophet or that he could do miracles. But the ultimate and saving faith which Jesus speaks of is a faith that he is the Son of God, the Messiah, the Savior of the world.

"Unless you see miracles you will not believe"
We must understand the sense in which he says this. First of all this is a generalization as is the expression "prophet has no honor in his own country". Generally speaking a prophet has no honor in his own country, and generally speaking unless you see miracles you will not believe. But this is not saying that such is true in every particular case. Though he is speaking to the nobleman yet "you" is plural and thus he is addressing the general attitude of the surrounding society.

But what does he mean? Is it not unreasonable for people to believe in him if he did no miracles? Yes. The Word of God is affirmed by miracles. But what Jesus is talking about is the demanding of more than sufficient evidence. For example after doing miraculous signs such as the multiplying of the loaves the people asked of him, "What miraculous sign then will you give that we may see it and believe you? What will you do?" John 6:30 So also today there are people who demand that God give them a sign or a miracle today for them to believe and yet ignore what miracles were already done in the Bible. Such a degree of skepticism is indicative of a willful disbelief and such a person lacks the spiritual quality necessary to come to saving faith. But this is not to say that such a person cannot develop that quality. Even here we see Jesus working with this nobleman's skepticism so as to instill in him such faith.

But this is also not to say the miracles automatically impart faith. For Jesus taught that "If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead." Luke 16:31

"You may go. Your son will live."

Consider a similar incident concerning the Centurion of Luke 7:1-10 who approached Jesus via proxy to heal his servant. He said, "Lord, don't trouble yourself, for I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. That is why I did not even consider myself worthy to come to you. But say the word, and my servant will be healed." And Jesus commends him for his faith saying, "I tell you, I have not found such great faith even in Israel." In contrast to this the royal official here requests Jesus to come with him to heal his son. Yet Jesus appears to rebuke him for the proposition, though in fact in Luke 8 Jairus, a ruler of the synagogue, requests Jesus to come and heal his daughter, to which Jesus complies without comment. But here we are given insight into Jesus' perception concerning such requests. Jesus wants to impart to this man the kind of faith the Centurion had. And this is more important to the Lord than the actual healing of his son. And thus he challenges his faith by simply telling him that his son will live and leaving it up to the man to believe him or not. It's like he wanted the man think of bigger things. You want your son healed? This is a trivial thing. He's healed. We're also reminded of what the Samaritan woman pointed out that "Our fathers worshiped on this mountain, but you Jews claim that the place where we must worship is in Jerusalem." John 4:20 Many religious people are caught up on location issues or ritualistic issues. Upon receiving word just to wash in the Jordan, Naaman the leper responded, "I thought that he would surely come out to me and stand and call on the name of the LORD his God, wave his hand over the spot and cure me of my leprosy." 2Kings 5:11 God often does things differently or simply through a word just to take our focus off of issues of location and ritual so that these don't become the object of our faith.

There are many who come to Jesus to meet their needs. But their essential spiritual needs cannot be met without the revelation of who Jesus is. They come to the well only to temporarily satisfy their thirst but don't think to ask for the water of life. What would you ask Jesus for? Health? Wealth? Or would you ask him for the forgiveness of your sins?


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015