翻譯: English 简体中文

約翰福音 7:26-53

住棚節、之二

7:26 你看他還明明地講道,他們也不向他說什麼。
難道官長真知道這是基督嗎?
7:27 然而我們知道這個人從哪堥荂C
只是基督來的時候,沒有人知道他從哪堥荂C”
7:28 那時耶穌在殿堭訄V人,大聲說:
“你們也知道我,也知道我從哪堥荂C我來并不是由于自己,
但那差我來的是真的。你們不認識他。
7:29 我卻認識他。因為我是從他來的,他也是差了我來。”

7:30 他們就想要捉拿耶穌。只是沒有人下手,
因為他的時候還沒有到。
7:31 但眾人中間有好些信他的,說:
“基督來的時候,
他所行的神蹟豈能比這人所行的更多嗎?”
7:32 法利賽人聽見眾人為耶穌這樣紛紛議論,
祭司長和法利賽人就打發差役去捉拿他。

7:33 于是耶穌說:“我還有不多的時候和你們同在,以後就回到差我來的那堨h。
7:34 你們要找我,卻找不著。我所在的地方,你們不能到。”
7:35 猶太人就彼此對問說:
“這人要往哪堨h,叫我們找不著呢?
難道他要往散住希利尼中的猶太人那堨h教訓希利尼人嗎?
7:36 他說:‘你們要找我,卻找不著,我所在的地方,你們不能到。’
這話是什麼意思呢?”

7:37 節期的末日,就是最大之日,
耶穌站著高聲說:“人若渴了,可以到我這堥茬隉C
7:38 信我的人,就如經上所說:
‘從他腹中要流出活水的江河來。’”
7:39 耶穌這話是指著信他之人要受聖靈說的。
那時還沒有賜下聖靈來,因為耶穌尚未得著榮耀。
7:40 眾人聽見這話,
有的說:“這真是那先知。”
7:41 有的說:“這是基督。”但也有的說:
“基督豈是從加利利出來的嗎?
7:42 經上豈不是說:‘基督是大衛的後裔,
從大衛本鄉伯利恆出來的嗎?’”
7:43 于是眾人因著耶穌起了分爭。
7:44 其中有人要捉拿他,只是無人下手。

7:45 差役回到祭司長和法利賽人那堙C
他們對差役說:“你們為什麼沒有帶他來呢?”
7:46 差役回答說:“從來沒有像他這樣說話的。”
7:47 法利賽人說:“你們也受了迷惑嗎?
7:48 官長或是法利賽人豈有信他的呢?
7:49 但這些不明白律法的百姓是被咒詛的。”
7:50 內中有尼哥底母,就是從前去見耶穌的,對他們說:
7:51 “不先聽本人的口供,不知道他所作的事,
難道我們的律法還定他的罪嗎?”
7:52 他們回答說:“你也是出于加利利嗎?
你且去查考,就可知道加利利沒有出過先知。”
8:1 于是各人都回家去了。耶穌卻往橄欖山去。


問題討論

耶穌是從哪來的?
你是從哪來的?(【約翰福音 17:16】
為什麼猶太人認為外邦人的地方在界限以外?
耶穌散居到外邦人堣F嗎?
水和住棚節有什麼關系?
水代表什麼?
這種水今天是如何從基督徒流出的?
在此之前有人接受到聖靈嗎?為什麼?
基督徒得到的靈與耶穌升天以前的聖徒有什麼不同?


注釋

耶穌的住棚節

這就是住棚節。“住棚”就是在某處暫時居住。以色列人曾在埃及和應許地之間的曠野堭r徊時暫時住棚。耶穌曾在世上暫時住棚。他們對他是從哪堥茠漲酗ㄕP的理解。他們知道他來自加利利。但大部分不知道他在世上的出生地是伯利恆,與關于彌賽亞的預言相一致。“伯利恆,以法他啊,你在猶大諸城中為小。將來必有一位從你那堨X來,在以色列中為我作掌權的。他的根源從亙古,從太初就有。”【彌迦書 5:2】  至于加利利,他們認為聖經上說那堣ㄔX先知,那其實是錯的。因為經上寫到,“從前神使西布倫地和拿弗他利地被藐視。末後卻使這沿海的路,約旦河外,外邦人的加利利地,得著榮耀。在黑暗中行走的百姓,看見了大光。住在死蔭之地的人,有光照耀他們。” 【以賽亞書 9:1,2】馬太曾在【馬太福音 4:15,16】堣犍帠o段經文來說明耶穌應驗了關于彌賽亞到來的預言。另外,先知約拿和以利亞都出自加利利。

有趣的是這一章的結尾和下一章的開始。其實第【8:1】節應該歸到第七章。《中文和合本》把第【7:53】節并入了第【8:1】節

《新國際版》 《和合本》
7:53 Then each went to his own home.
8:1 But Jesus went to the Mount of Olives. 于是各人都回家去了。耶穌卻往橄欖山去。

耶穌無家可回。他是來世上暫時住棚的。他把時時間用來在橄欖山上祈禱。耶穌說:“狐狸有洞,天空的飛鳥有窩,只是人子沒有枕頭的地方。”【路加福音 9:58】基督徒也是如此。我們的家在天上。“他們不屬世界,正如我不屬世界一樣。” 【約翰福音 17:16】

找基督

第33-36節 所以,我們可以盼望到天上的家堙C不信的人到不了那堙C但猶太人以為他在說到外邦人那堨h。因為他們瞧不起外邦人,不愿與他們來往。但從某種意義上說他們是對的,基督的確通過福音在外邦人中找到了家。事實上,為了躲避猶太人的殺害,保羅上訴該撒,并把福音帶到了羅馬。直至今日,除了一些殘餘之外,猶太人拒絕基督,基督則散居在外邦人中。許多人在找“基督”,卻找不到,因為他們找的地方不對。人要找基督應該先在他們的罪性和神的憤怒塈銦C然後,在基督堨L們會找到神的恩典,得到饒恕與和解。但是,高傲的人缺乏謙卑到正確的地方找基督。即使他們在聖經塈銦A也找不到他,因為他們沒有用正確的精神去找。

第37-38節 那些找到的人,就像那位井邊的婦女一樣,耶穌會給他們生命。他在這堣S像第四章堥獐侄”黖馱岩糽R的活水。住棚節是記念以色列人在曠野的徘徊。水在這種環境下是特別急需的,神甚至奇蹟地從磐石媯馴L們供應水。磐石裂開,有水從中流出。(【民數記 20:11】“所喝的是出于隨著他們的靈磐石,那磐石就是基督。”【歌林多前書 10:4】

他應許井邊那位婦女的是直涌到永生的泉源,而這堨L應許的是活水的江河。啟示錄也提到這樣一條河:“天使又指示我在城內街道當中一道生命水的河,明亮如水晶,從神和羔羊的寶座流出來。”【啟示錄 22:1】這是用比喻的方式說從基督徒堿y出生命的活水江河,通過對耶穌基督福音的信,把生命帶給別人。當我們榮耀基督,把他放在我們心中應有的位置上時,生命就會從我們流出,把所有的人吸引到他,如經上所說:“我若從地上被舉起來,就要吸引萬人來歸我。”【約翰福音 12:32】

以前沒有人得到過聖靈

第39節基督的靈就是我們由神生時所得到的活水。按照新約接受聖靈,這在基督升天以前從來沒有發生過。誰也沒有,大衛王沒有,亞伯拉罕沒有,所有先知都沒有,摩西也沒有,像基督徒這樣接受聖靈。許多基督徒都沒有意識到這一點,結果就錯誤地應用舊約媄鬗_那些還沒有由神生的人的經文,是的,他們包括大衛、亞伯拉罕、摩西等等,把這些經文錯誤地用在已經由神生的基督徒身上。的確,救贖總是由信得來的,就如保羅在羅馬書第四章堜痁藺的亞伯拉罕的稱義一樣。豁免主義者錯誤地認為以前的義人是靠律法稱義的。而事實并非如此。“沒有一個人靠著律法在神面前稱義,這是明顯的。”【加拉太書 3:11】而在新約之下,那些因信稱義的人被授以獲得聖靈和成為神的兒子的權力,這在以前是沒有的。
2020年09月27日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 7:26-53 (web)

The Feast of Tabernacles: Part II

7:26 Behold, he speaks openly, and they say nothing to him.
Can it be that the rulers indeed know that this is truly the Christ?
7:27 However we know where this man comes from,
but when the Christ comes, no one will know where he comes from."
7:28 Jesus therefore cried out in the temple, teaching and saying,
"You both know me, and know where I am from. I have not come of myself,
but he who sent me is true, whom you don't know.
7:29 I know him, because I am from him, and he sent me."

7:30 They sought therefore to take him; but no one laid a hand on him,
because his hour had not yet come.
7:31 But of the multitude, many believed in him. They said,
"When the Christ comes,
he won't do more signs than those which this man has done, will he?"
7:32 The Pharisees heard the multitude murmuring these things concerning him,
and the chief priests and the Pharisees sent officers to arrest him.

7:33 Then Jesus said, "I will be with you a little while longer, then I go to him who sent me.
7:34 You will seek me, and won't find me; and where I am, you can't come."
7:35 The Jews therefore said among themselves,
"Where will this man go that we won't find him?
Will he go to the Dispersion among the Greeks, and teach the Greeks?
7:36 What is this word that he said,
'You will seek me, and won't find me; and where I am, you can't come?'"

7:37 Now on the last and greatest day of the feast,
Jesus stood and cried out, "If anyone is thirsty, let him come to me and drink!
7:38 He who believes in me, as the Scripture has said,
from within him will flow rivers of living water."
7:39 But he said this about the Spirit, which those believing in him were to receive.
For the Holy Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus wasn't yet glorified.
7:40 Many of the multitude therefore,
when they heard these words, said, "This is truly the prophet."
7:41 Others said, "This is the Christ." But some said,
"What, does the Christ come out of Galilee?
7:42 Hasn't the Scripture said that the Christ comes of the seed of David,
and from Bethlehem, the village where David was?"
7:43 So there arose a division in the multitude because of him.
7:44 Some of them would have arrested him, but no one laid hands on him.

7:45 The officers therefore came to the chief priests and Pharisees,
and they said to them, "Why didn't you bring him?"
7:46 The officers answered, "No man ever spoke like this man!"
7:47 The Pharisees therefore answered them, "You aren't also led astray, are you?
7:48 Have any of the rulers believed in him, or of the Pharisees?
7:49 But this multitude that doesn't know the law is accursed."
7:50 Nicodemus (he who came to him by night, being one of them) said to them,
7:51 "Does our law judge a man,
unless it first hears from him personally and knows what he does?"
7:52 They answered him, "Are you also from Galilee?
Search, and see that no prophet has arisen out of Galilee."
7:53 Everyone went to his own house,


Discussion Questions

Where was Jesus from?
Where are you from? (John 17:16)
Why did the Jews reckon Gentile territory to be off limits?
Did Jesus disperse to the Gentiles?
What relevance does water have to the feast of tabernacles?
What does the water represent?
How does such water flow from Christians today?
Had anyone receive the Holy Spirit before this time? Why?
In what manner is the Spirit given to Christians that was not true of saints prior to Jesus' ascension?


Comments

Jesus' Tabernacling

This was the feast of Tabernacles. To "tabernacle" means to dwell in a place temporarily. The people of Israel tabernacled temporarily in their desert wanderings between Egypt and the Promise Land. Jesus was tabernacling on the earth. But his home was in heaven. There are different senses in which they knew where he was from. They knew he was from Galilee. But many didn't realize that his origin on earth was from Bethlehem in accordance with the Messianic prophecy. "But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, though you are small among the clans of Judah, out of you will come for me one who will be ruler over Israel, whose origins are from of old, from ancient times." Mic 5:2  But concerning Galilee, they were incorrect about the scriptures not saying anything of a prophet come from there. For it is written, "In the past he humbled the land of Zebulun and the land of Naphtali, but in the future he will honor Galilee of the Gentiles, by the way of the sea, along the Jordan--  The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of the shadow of death a light has dawned." Isaiah 9:1,2 A scripture which Matthew also points out in Matt 4:15,16 that Jesus fulfilled concerning the coming of the Messiah. And furthermore the prophets Jonah and Elijah were both from Galilee.

Interesting how the chapter ends and the next begins. In fact 8:1 should be included at the end of chapter 7.

7:53  Then each went to his own home.
8:1 But Jesus went to the Mount of Olives.
Jesus had no home to go to. He was tabernacling on the earth. But he spent time on the Mount of Olives to pray. Lu 9:58  Jesus replied, "Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head." So also with the Christian. Our home is in heaven. "They are not of the world, even as I am not of it." John 17:16

Finding Christ

vs 33-36 And thus we can look forward to going home to heaven. The unbelievers cannot go there. But the Jews reckoned him speak of going among the Gentiles. For they held the Gentiles in contempt and would not associate with them. And in a sense they were right in that Christ through the gospel did find a home among the Gentiles. In fact to escape death at hands of the Jews, the apostle Paul appealed to Caesar and brought the gospel to Rome. And to this day while other than the remnant, the Jews reject Christ, Christ has been dispersed among the Gentiles. Many seek "a Christ", but they can't find Jesus Christ because they're looking in the wrong places. To find Christ a person must first look into their own sinfulness and into the wrath of God. Then in Christ they will find the grace of God to be forgiven and reconciled.  But the proud lack the humility to seek Christ in the right places. And even though they look in the Bible they can't find him, for they look not with a right spirit.

vs 37-38 But for those who find him, just as with the woman at the well Jesus gives life. Again he speaks of living water here as he did in chapter 4. This feast of the tabernacles was in commemeration of the wandering of Israel in the desert. Water was especially needful in such an environment and God provided such miraculously even from the Rock. For the Rock split open and water flowed out. (Number 20:11) "They drank from the spiritual rock that accompanied them, and that rock was Christ."1Cor 10:4

But while he promised the woman at the well a well of living water springing up to eternal life, here he promises a river of living water. Such a river is also described in Revelation 22:1 "Then the angel showed me the river of the water of life, as clear as crystal, flowing from the throne of God and of the Lamb." But these are allegorical of the river of life abiding within the Christian bringing life to others through faith in the gospel of Jesus Christ. As we exalt Christ lifting him up into his proper place in our hearts so life flows from out of us to draw all men to himself, just as it is written,"But I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all men to myself."John 12:32

The Holy Spirit had previously not been given

vs 39 The Spirit of Christ is that living water whom we receive when we are born of God. The receiving of the Holy Spirit under the New Covenant is an event never experienced prior to Christ's ascension. No one, not King David, not Abraham, not any of the prophets nor Moses, had ever received the Spirit in the sense that the Christian does. Many in the Christian community do not realize this and end up misapplying verses in the Old Testament dealing with those who have not been born of God, yes even David, Abraham, Moses and so forth, and apply them inappropriately to Christians who have been born of God. Yes, salvation has always been by faith as Paul even reveals concerning Abraham's justification in Romans 4. Dispensationalists are incorrect if they say that godly men in the past were justified by the Law. They were not. Gal 3:11 "Clearly no one is justified before God by the law." But under the New Covenant those who have been justified by faith are given the right to receive the Holy Spirit and become sons of God, which previously was not the case.


NIV version used in comments


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015