翻譯: English 简体中文

約翰福音 9:1-23

瞎眼的人、之一

復明

9:1 耶穌過去的時候,看見一個人生來是瞎眼的。
9:2 門徒問耶穌說:
“拉比,這人生來是瞎眼的,是誰犯了罪?是這人呢?是他父母呢?”

9:3 耶穌回答說:
“也不是這人犯了罪,也不是他父母犯了罪,
是要在他身上顯出神的作為來。
9:4 趁著白日,我們必須作那差我來者的工。
黑夜將到,就沒有人能作工了。
9:5 我在世上的時候,是世上的光。”

9:6 耶穌說了這話,就吐唾沫在地上,
用唾沫和泥抹在瞎子的眼睛上,
9:7 對他說:“你往西羅亞池子堨h洗”(西羅亞翻出來,就是奉差遣)。
他去一洗,回頭就看見了。

反應

9:8 他的鄰舍和那素常見他是討飯的,就說:
“這不是那從前坐著討飯的人嗎?”
9:9 有人說:“是他。”
又有人說:“不是,卻是像他。”
他自己說:“是我。”
9:10 他們對他說:“你的眼睛是怎麼開的呢?”
9:11 他回答說:
“有一個人,名叫耶穌,他和泥抹我的眼睛,對我說:
‘你往西羅亞池子去洗。’
我去一洗,就看見了。”
9:12 他們說:“那個人在哪堙H”
他說:“我不知道。”

審問

非難

9:13 他們把從前瞎眼的人帶到法利賽人那堙C
9:14 耶穌和泥開他眼睛的日子是安息日。
9:15 法利賽人也問他是怎麼得看見的。
瞎子對他們說:“他把泥抹在我的眼睛上,我去一洗,就看見了。”
9:16 法利賽人中有的說:
“這個人不是從神來的,因為他不守安息日。”
又有人說:“一個罪人怎能行這樣的神蹟呢?”
他們就起了紛爭。
9:17 他們又對瞎子說:
“他既然開了你的眼睛,你說他是怎樣的人呢?”
他說:“是個先知。”

父母

9:18 猶太人不信他從前是瞎眼,
後來能看見的,
等到叫了他的父母來,
9:19 問他們說:“這是你們的兒子嗎?你們說他生來是瞎眼的,
如今怎麼能看見了呢?”
9:20 他父母回答說:
“他是我們的兒子,生來就瞎眼,這是我們知道的。
9:21 至于他如今怎麼能看見,我們卻不知道。
是誰開了他的眼睛,我們也不知道。
他已經成了人,你們問他吧,他自己必能說。”
9:22 他父母說這話,是怕猶太人,
因為猶太人已經商議定了,若有認耶穌是基督的,
要把他趕出會堂。
9:23 因此他父母說:“他已經成了人,你們問他吧。”

問題討論

為什麼有人生來就有失明或類似的缺陷呢?
耶穌在第3節婸〞滿壯@為”指的是什麼?
第4節 神要你做的工是什麼?
假如說你明天就死了,你能不能說你已經完成神要你做的工了呢?
第6-7節 你說為什麼耶穌要用泥抹在這個人的眼睛上并要他去洗呢?
第8-12節 別人對你成為基督徒的反應是什麼?
你從哪些方面顯得是另一個人了呢?
第16節 基督徒是如何以類似于“安息日”的人的教條錯誤地互相衡量的?
第18-23節 你的父母或那些與你親近的人對你成為基督徒的反應是什麼?

注釋

第1-2節 在門徒的頭腦堙A這個人眼睛是瞎的毫無疑問是因為有人犯了罪。這也是健康發財福音的思維方法。他們沒有好好讀約伯記。因為除了犯罪以外,遭受苦難還有其它的原因。但肉體很容易用這種輕蔑的態度對待遭難的人,因為這樣就使人免去了同情和對他們的責任。這種“他活該”的態度或更宿命的“聽之任之”的態度就取代了同情。

第3節 這并不是說他們是無罪的,這只是說他眼瞎不是由于他或他父母犯的某個罪。耶穌說的關于這個人的話是不是能夠普遍地應用取決于如何理解這句話。耶穌說:“要在他身上顯出神的作為來。”是什麼意思呢?我們可以理解這指的是耶穌使他復明這件工。但從他對審問他的人所作的回答看,神很明顯地還在他身上作了更多的工。就像主一樣,他似乎精于神學辯論和見解,甚至使宗教權貴都感到驚慌失措。神的工在這個人身上顯示出來,因為在這堣@個人在還不能看見時就看見了。

第4-5節 他說的黑夜指的是什麼呢?因為他就是世上的光,所以我認為他離開的時候可被認作黑夜。“我在世上的時候”似乎是指他以肉身存在于世上。然而這個時間也有可能延伸到他存在于基督徒堛滷郱|時代。“基督在我堶惇△菕【加拉太書 2:20】但這也許與他的本意有所不同。他也許是指將來會不再有神蹟。但在他升天以後,使徒還在繼續行神蹟,盡管在他們的時代神蹟很少。沒有人能作工的黑夜是什麼呢?“工”可能包括大使命和新約堜R令基督徒作的工。從個人的角度講,“黑夜”可以指死,屆時基督徒的工就完成了。它也可指基督徒將得到獎勵的復活。但我不認為他會把這種時候與“黑夜”而不是與安息聯系起來。事實上,保羅寫到:“黑夜已深,白晝將近。” 【羅馬書 13:12】“白晝”指的是復活──主的白晝。所以, “黑夜”最可能是指他的死到五旬節他通過聖靈住在信徒埵茩奐s出現在世上的那段時間。

另一個應用就是像耶穌那樣去行。在世上的時候,他有一種責任感要完成神要他作的工。我們也要搞清神要我們作的工,積極地去作。我們活著要有使命感。

第6-7節 耶穌曾經只摸一下或說句話就使盲人復明(【路加福音 18:42,43】)。所以,有點讓人不太清楚的是為什麼這次耶穌要和泥抹在瞎子的眼睛上。其結果是這個人不得不到別處去洗,而回來時耶穌已經走了。(第12節)這個人被留下來作見証,在被審時為自己辯護。也許,這正是耶穌把泥抹在他眼睛上的用意所在。有些人從這段經文引申出許多諸如用水施洗之類的東西,但安全起見還是根據聖經上明確地講這類問題的地方來討論這些議題,不然的話,我們就可比喻地得出幾乎任何對的或錯的教義。

第8-12節 現在,可以看見了,這個人看上去與以前有什麼不一樣呢?一個不同的地方就是他現在可以直接地看人了。還有,因為他第一次能夠看見東西,無疑他的面部表情會與他還是瞎子時很不一樣。由神生也會有類似的效果。人一下子醒悟了,發覺了神的存在。我們意識到我們的罪被赦免了,我們的命運是向著天堂的。但我們也可看透別人的靈魂,從某種意義上比他們自己還更知道他們。我們可以無懼地面對真理。所以那些由神生的在別人眼媟|與以前不一樣,如保羅寫到:“若有人在基督堙A他就是新造的人。”【歌林多後書 5:17】

“請說實話,女士。”這是舊偵探片堭`說的一句話,但也可以作為基督徒作見証的原則。如我曾說過的那樣,傳道的第一准則就是說實話。他只是給他們陳述了這件事的事實。

第13-17節 “這個人不是從神來的,因為他不守安息日。”這也是許多基督徒容易犯的一個神學錯誤。因為他們把“安息日”的真實含意與他們的人的教條聯系在一起。基督徒甚至會因為這樣的原因互相瞧不起說:“某某不是屬神的因為……他禮拜六去教會而不是禮拜天去,或者禮拜天而不是禮拜六去,或者其它的某一天去,或者在家埵茪ㄛO在教會的禮拜堂婸E會,或者聖餐的儀式不大一樣或不夠頻繁,或者參加某種體育運動,或者在電視上看‘基督徒受洗’的節目,等等”但如我在前面指出的那樣,耶穌治好這個人,使他擺脫了疾病的折磨而享安息,其實是與安息日的精神相一致的。當心人的教條。基督徒一般說來無論他們的精神領袖告訴他們什麼他們都信。但聖經說:“一切的靈,你們不可都信。總要試驗那些靈是出于神的不是。因為世上有許多假先知已經出來了。” 【約翰一書 4:1】

根據這個神蹟,這個從前瞎眼的人得出結論:耶穌是個從神來的先知。

第18-23節 成為基督徒會使那些本很親近的人與之疏遠,怕因為這種關系而受聯累。這常常包括家庭成員。耶穌說:“你們不要想我來,是叫地上太平。我來并不是叫地上太平,乃是叫地上動刀兵。因為我來,是叫‘人與父親生疏,女兒與母親生疏,媳婦與婆婆生疏。人的仇敵,就是自己家堛漱H。’” 【馬太福音 10:34-36】 這個瞎子的父母就害怕被趕出會堂。不知道在他被逐出後他父母是不是還與他保持關系。也許不。這也正是基督徒的生活。


2020年09月25日

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

John 9:1-23 (web)

The Blind Man: Part I

The Healing

1  As he passed by, he saw a man blind from birth.
2  His disciples asked him,
"Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?"

3  Jesus answered,
"Neither did this man sin, nor his parents;
but, that the works of God might be revealed in him.
I must work the works of him who sent me, while it is day.
The night is coming, when no one can work.
While I am in the world, I am the light of the world."

6  When he had said this, he spat on the ground,
made mud with the saliva, anointed the blind manís eyes with the mud,
7  and said to him, "Go, wash in the pool of Siloam" (which means "Sent").
So he went away, washed, and came back seeing.

The Reaction

8  The neighbors therefore, and those who saw that he was blind before, said,
"Isnít this he who sat and begged?"
9  Others were saying, "It is he."
Still others were saying, "He looks like him."
He said, "I am he."
10  They therefore were asking him, "How were your eyes opened?"
11  He answered,
"A man called Jesus made mud, anointed my eyes, and said to me,
ĎGo to the pool of Siloam, and wash.í
So I went away and washed, and I received sight."
12  Then they asked him, "Where is he?"
He said, "I donít know."

The Interrogation

The Criticism

13  They brought him who had been blind to the Pharisees.
14  It was a Sabbath when Jesus made the mud and opened his eyes.
15  Again therefore the Pharisees also asked him how he received his sight.
He said to them, "He put mud on my eyes, I washed, and I see."
16  Some therefore of the Pharisees said,
"This man is not from God, because he doesnít keep the Sabbath."
Others said, "How can a man who is a sinner do such signs?"
There was division among them.
17  Therefore they asked the blind man again,
"What do you say about him, because he opened your eyes?"
He said, "He is a prophet."

The Parents

18  The Jews therefore did not believe concerning him,
that he had been blind, and had received his sight,
until they called the parents of him who had received his sight,
19  and asked them, "Is this your son, who you say was born blind?
How then does he now see?"
20  His parents answered them,
"We know that this is our son, and that he was born blind;
21  but how he now sees, we donít know;
or who opened his eyes, we donít know.
He is of age. Ask him. He will speak for himself."
22  His parents said these things because they feared the Jews;
for the Jews had already agreed that if any man would confess him as Christ,
he would be put out of the synagogue.
23  Therefore his parents said, "He is of age. Ask him."


Discussion Questions

Why are there people born blind or with other such deformities?
What "works" does Jesus refer to in vs 3?
vs 4 What work has God given you to do?
If you were to die tomorrow could you say that you have finished the work God gave you to do?
vs 6-7 Why do you suppose Jesus covered the man's eyes with mud and tell him to go away and wash?
vs 8-12 How did others react to you becoming a Christian?
In what ways did you appear to be a different person?
vs 16 In what ways do Christans also misevaluate one another
based upon human dogma concerning such things as "Sabbath"?
vs 18-23 How have your parents or those close you reacted to becoming a Christian?


Comments

vs 1-2 There was no question in the disciple's minds that for this man to be blind someone had to have sinned. Such also is the mindset of the health and wealth gospel. They haven't learned from Job. For there are other reasons for suffering affliction besides sin. But the flesh would like to take on such a contemptuous attitude towards the afflicted, for it then frees one up from a sense of compassion and responsibility towards them. This "he deserves it" atttitude or the more fatalistic attitude of "whatever will be will be" is substituted for compassion.

vs 3 It is not that they were sinless, but rather that his blindness was not due to a particular sin which he or his parents committed. But it's a matter of interpretation whether what Jesus says of this man can be applied universally. What did Jesus mean "that the works of God might be revealed in him"? We could take this to mean that his being healed was the work Jesus was referred to. But based on his response to his interrogators it is apparent that God had been doing other works in him as well. For just as the Lord, he seemed quite astute at theological debate and insight even confounding the religious elite. The work of God was evident in him for here's a man who could see before he could see.

vs 4-5 What is the night he is referring to? As he is the light of the world, when he leaves the world I would suppose that such a time would be reckoned night.  "While I am in the world" appears to refer to his physical presence. But then again it's possible to extend such a time to the church age in which he is present in the Christians. "Christ lives in me" Galatians 2:20 But this may be a different sense than what he was referring to. He could be referring to the cessation of miracles in the future. But then again when he ascended, the apostles still continued to do miracles, though such miracles were rare after their time. What is the night in which no man can work? "Work" may also include the Great Commission and such Christian works as are commanded in the New Testament. On an individual basis "Night" would then refer to death, in which the Christian's work is finished. Or it might refer to the resurrection in which the Christians are rewarded. But I wouldn't think he would associate such times with "night" so much as with the Sabbath. In fact Paul writes, "The night is far gone, and the day is near." Rom 13:12 "day" referring to the resurrection - the day of the Lord. Most likely "night" refers to that time period between his death and Pentecost in which he reestablished his presence on earth by proxy through the Holy Spirit dwelling in the assembly of believers.

Another application is to walk as Jesus did. While on the earth he had a sense of responsibility to fulfill certain works which God had given him to do. We must also identify the works which God has given us to do and do them. We must live with a sense of mission.

vs 6-7 Jesus had cured those who were blind simply by touching them or by simply speaking to them (Lk 18:42,43). Therefore it is not clear why in this case Jesus made made mud and put it on his eyes. But the effect was that he had to go somewhere to wash it off and when he returned Jesus was apparently gone. (vs 12) The man was left on his own to give testimony and to defend himself under interrogation. Perhaps this was simply the result Jesus intended in putting mud in his eyes. Some will take the passage and try to infer all kinds of things about water baptism and such, but safer to deal with such issues when they are taught explicitly, else we could end up inferring just about any doctrine true or false allegorically.

vs 8-12 Now being able to see, how was it that the man looked different? One thing was that he could now look at people directly. Furthermore, being the first time he had even seen things, no doubt the expression on his face was much different than when he was blind. His countenance would be much different. (Oops! Almost spelled this "continence", which refers to something quite different). But there are also similar effects in being born of God. One is suddenly enlightened and the presence of God is detected. We realizes that our sins are forgiven and our destiny is heavenwards. But we can also look into to the souls of others, in some ways knowing more about them than they know about themselves. We can fearlessly look truth in the face. Thus those born of God may appear to be different people than before, as Paul writes, "Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation." 2Cor 5:17

"Just the facts ma'am." This was a phrase from an old detective show, but it is also a principle of Christian witness. As I said the #1 principles of preaching is simply TO TELL THE TRUTH. He simply told them the facts of the case.

vs 13-17 "This man is not from God, because he doesnít keep the Sabbath." Here's a theological error that many Christians make as well. For they associated what "keeping the Sabbath" meant with their own human dogma. Thus Christians will despise even one another for such reasons saying, "Such and such a person is not of God because ... he goes to church on Saturday instead of Sunday, or Sunday instead of Saturday, or some other day of the week, or meets in a home instead of a church building, or does communion differently or not as frequently, or plays some sport or watches TV on 'the Christian Sabbath', etc. etc. etc." But as I had pointed out previously, that in healing this man Jesus was in fact keeping in the Spirit of the Sabbath giving him rest from his affliction. Beware of human dogma. Christians have generally been programmed to believe whatever their spiritual leaders tell them. But the Bible says, "Donít believe every spirit, but test the spirits, whether they are of God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world." 1Jn 4:1

Based on this miracle, the blind man inferred that Jesus was a prophet from God.

vs 18-23 Becoming a Christian may cause those who were formerly close to distance themselves from such a person for fear of being persecuted by association. This often involves family members. Jesus said, "Donít think that I came to send peace on the earth. I didnít come to send peace, but a sword. For I came to set a man at odds against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. A manís foes will be those of his own household." Matt 10:34-36 The blind man's parents were afraid of being put out of the synagogue. But I wonder whether they still associated with their son after he was ostracized. Probably not. Such is also the Christian life.



The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources Jul 29,2015