翻譯: English 中文 GB

腓立比書
第四章

合一的心

4:1 我所親愛所想念的弟兄們,你們就是我的喜樂,我的冠冕。
   我親愛的弟兄,你們應當靠主站立得穩。

4:2 我勸友阿爹和循都基,要在主埵P心。
4:3 我也求你這真實同負一軛的,幫助這兩個女人,
   因為他們在福音上曾與我一同勞苦。還有革利免,
   并其余和我一同作工的。他們的名字都在生命冊上。

喜樂、請求、思考、繁殖

4:4 你們要靠主常常喜樂。我再說,你們要喜樂
4:5 當叫眾人知道你們謙讓的心。主已經近了。
4:6 應當一無挂慮,只要凡事借著禱告,祈求和感謝,
   將你們所要的告訴神。

4:7 神所賜出人意外的平安,必在基督耶穌堙A保守你們的心懷意念。
4:9 你們在我身上所學習的,所領受的,所聽見的,所看見的,
   這些事你們都要去行
   賜平安的神,就必與你們同在。

知足和慷慨

4:10 我靠主大大地喜樂,
   因為你們思念我的心,如今又發生。
   你們向來就思念我,只是沒得機會。

4:11 我并不是因缺乏說這話,
   我無論在什麼景況,都可以知足,這是我已經學會了。

4:12 我知道怎樣處卑賤,
   也知道怎樣處丰富,
   或飽足,或飢餓,或有余,或缺乏,
   隨事隨在,我都得了秘訣。

4:13 我靠著那加給我力量的,凡事都能作。
4:14 然而你們和我同受患難,原是美事。
4:15 腓立比人哪,
   你們也知道我初傳福音,離了馬其頓的時候,
   論到授受的事,除了你們以外,
   并沒有別的教會供給我。

4:16 就是我在帖撒羅尼迦,
   你們也一次兩次的,打發人供給我的需用。

4:17 我并不求什麼饋送,
   所求的就是你們的果子漸漸增多,
   歸在你們的賬上。

4:18 但我樣樣都有,并且有余。
   我已經充足,
    因我從以巴弗提受了你們的饋送,
     當作極美的香氣,為神所收納所喜悅的祭物。

4:19 我的神必照他榮耀的丰富,
   在基督耶穌堙A使你們一切所需用的都充足。

最後的問安

4:20 愿榮耀歸給我們的父神,直到永永遠遠。阿們。
4:21 請問在基督耶穌堛漲U位聖徒安。
   在我這堛熔釦怚S都問你們安。

4:22 眾聖徒都問你們安。
   在該撒家堛漱H特特的問你們安。

4:23 愿主耶穌基督的恩常在你們心堙C


問題討論

第2,3節 如何解決同工間的沖突?
第6,7節 你所挂慮的是什麼?
你是不是因耽心你所挂慮的事太屬世而不愿向神求?
你覺得你自己挂慮得太多還是太少?
以前為憂心的事禱告是如何給你平安的?
第8節 基督徒應該思考些什麼事?
是不是應該局限于聖經?
第9節 你從別人身上學來了什麼好習慣?
第11-13節 成為基督徒是如何使你滿足于你的境況的?
第15-19節 你建議別人為哪些慈善項目投資?


注釋

靠主站立得穩

腓立比書 4:1 我所親愛所想念的弟兄們,你們就是我的喜樂,我的冠冕。我親愛的弟兄,你們應當靠主站立得穩。

整本腓立比書都在講站立得穩。注意到我們對這本書的概括:

在福音堸磼w不移
1:1-11 同心合意地興旺福音
1:12-30 為福音無懼地爭辯
2:1-2 以合一的態度
3:3-11 以謙卑的態度
2:12-18 以著重應用的思維方式
2:19-30 與同工合作
3:1-14 抵擋靠墨守律法稱義的假教師
3:15-21 以成熟的態度
4:1-3 要同心
4:4-9 喜樂,祈求,思念,結果子
4:10-19 知足和慷慨
4:20-23 最後的問安

這一節媮椌`意到另一件事就是保羅覺得向他們表達他的情感會對造就起到作用。有效的基督徒事奉不只是教義。其中還包括人與人之間的關系。所以,應該考慮是否或在什麼程度上與信徒弟兄們建立起感情上的聯系。


合作

腓立比書 4:2-3 我勸友阿爹和循都基,要在主埵P心。我也求你這真實同負一軛的,幫助這兩個女人,因為他們在福音上曾與我一同勞苦。還有革利免,并其余和我一同作工的。她們的名字都在生命冊上

這是我們首次在聖經上看到“生命冊”這個詞。事實上另外唯一一處我們學到關于生命冊的地方是在啟示錄。啟示錄是後來由使徒約翰寫的。在那塈畯抩ヮ魽G“若有人名字沒記在生命冊上,他就被扔在火湖堙C”【啟示錄 20:15】所以,從神的忿怒中解救出來意味著你的名字被寫在生命冊上。有意思的是保羅有把握地肯定說她們已經得救了,盡管她們尚不完美的行為,因為在她們兩人之間似有隔閡。保羅本人也不是沒有這樣的問題,他曾因馬可的事與巴拿巴發生爭論而彼此分開。“于是二人起了爭論,甚至彼此分開。巴拿巴帶著馬可,坐船往居比路去。”【使徒行傳 15:39】同樣,保羅與巴拿巴曾與彼得以及其它在耶路撒冷的人為外邦人基督徒的事爭辯。所有這些最終都得到解決。至于事奉的事,往往是要麼神讓雙方都作出讓步,要麼讓他們分開事奉。

還有,關于宣告她們的名字都在生命冊上,從他所寫的可以看出這不是來自一個特別啟示,而是從她們的行為,她們的生活方式所顯示出的信,這些事向所有的人表明這是一個事實。同樣,在保羅所寫的許多信堙A他都充滿信心地在很多情況下肯定很多他的讀者的得救狀態。在這塈畯怐`意到這兩個女人,還有革利免和其它人曾與保羅一同勞苦。這種行為是那些由神生的人所必然的。所已,把你的信付之于行動中,就可以對你的得救狀態得出某種結論。


喜樂

腓立比書 4:4-5 你們要靠主常常喜樂。我再說,你們要喜樂。當叫眾人知道你們謙讓的心。主已經近了。

盡管今生的種種困難,我們有很好的原因喜樂,因為我們的歸宿,因為我們已經從神的忿怒中拯救出來。這堙A“謙讓的心”指的是和平謙卑,而不是好爭吵、苛刻的態度。保羅希望在友阿爹和循都基,以及其它人之間產生這種溫柔合作的態度。“謙讓的心”還出現于這些經節:“不要毀謗,不要爭競,總要和平,向眾人大顯溫柔。”【提多書 3:2】“惟獨從上頭來的智慧,先是清潔,後是和平,溫良柔順,滿有憐憫,多結善果,沒有偏見,沒有假冒。”【雅各書 3:17】“你們作仆人的,凡事要存敬畏的心順服主人。不但順服那善良溫和的,就是那乖僻的也要順服。”【彼得前書 2:18】在患難中喜樂需要有這種謙讓的心。但即使一個人有所灰心,你也應該受到鼓勵,因為“耶和華靠近傷心的人,拯救靈性痛悔的人。”【詩篇 34:18】所以,“雖然無花果樹不發旺,葡萄樹不結果,橄欖樹也不效力,田地不出糧食,圈中絕了羊,棚內也沒有牛。然而我要因耶和華歡欣,因救我的神喜樂。”【哈巴谷書 3:17-18】


一無挂慮,禱告

腓立比書 4:6-7 應當一無挂慮,只要凡事借著禱告,祈求和感謝,將你們所要的告訴神。神所賜,出人意外的平安,必在基督耶穌堳O守你們的心懷意念。

作一名禱告的勇士!如果你為什麼挂慮,那麼為其禱告。祈求你所需的,或把它交在神的手堨h處理。“你們要將一切的憂慮卸給神,因為他顧念你們。”【彼得前書 5:7】甚至耶穌在客西馬尼的園子堣]為他對釘十字架的憂慮禱告。神堅固他,使他能夠面對十字架。

這種平安是人所難于理解的──因信靠神而在心中所有的平安。向神禱告,直到你得到這種平安。這可以保守你的心不受罪惡欲望的誘惑,保守你的意念不受罪惡思念的擺布。“堅心倚賴你的,你必保守他十分平安,因為他倚靠你。”【以賽亞書 26:3】


思念這些事

腓立比書 4:8 弟兄們,我還有未盡的話。凡是真實的,可敬的,公義的,清潔的,可愛的,有美名的。若有什麼德行,若有什麼稱贊,這些事你們都要思念。

基督徒的生活不只是要做某些事和不能做某些事。還在于我們想些什麼,我們如何去思考。事實上應用在很大程度上是推斷和揣摩出聖經本意所指的應用。“神是個靈(或無‘個’字),所以拜他的,必須用心靈和誠實拜他。”【約翰福音 4:24】基督徒生活不是像在律法的約束之下那樣盲目地服從,而是像兒子明白了他父親的意圖之後那樣有知識地順服。比如當神命令亞伯拉罕殺他的兒子時,經上寫到:“他以為神還能叫人從死奡_活。他也仿佛從死中得回他的兒子來。”【希伯來書 11:19】所以,讓我們學會思考神的事。什麼是真實的?什麼是可敬的?什麼是公義的?什麼是清潔的?我們應該抱著這樣的問題來到聖經,來到我們的生活。比如在戰勝罪時,就含有思考。“思念”譯自希臘文“λογιζομαι”,這個詞還有“看作”或“算成”的意思,比如,“這樣,你們向罪也當看自己是死的﹔向神在基督耶穌堙A卻當自己是活的。”【羅馬書 6:11】與其它許多宗教所提倡的盲目的信不同,基督徒的信是思考的信耶和華說:“你們來,我們彼此辯論。”【以賽亞書 1:18a】


這些事都要去行

腓立比書 4:9 你們在我身上所學習的,所領受的,所聽見的,所看見的,這些事你們都要去行。賜平安的神,就必與你們同在。

雖然基督徒的信包括思考和推理,但如果沒有應用則不是信。事實上,我們的信是由我們所做的顯示出來的。所以如果你有信,就必然會有行為。我們要麼從聖經的命令直接得到應用,要麼從聖經中推斷出應用,或者通過觀察得出應用。考慮耶穌的生活方式。因為,“人若說他住在主堶情A就該自己照主所行的去行。”【約翰一書 2:6】耶穌說:“我給你們作了榜樣,叫你們照著我向你們所作的去作。”【約翰福音 13:15】你在像耶穌所行的那樣去行嗎?同樣保羅在前一章堣]提到這一點,他說:“弟兄們,你們要一同效法我,也當留意看那些照我們榜樣行的人。”【腓立比書 3:17】雅各說:“弟兄們,你們要把那先前奉主名說話的眾先知,當作能受苦能忍耐的榜樣。”【雅各書 5:10】我們正是在按照聖經和其中的榜樣,把我們的信付諸應用的過程中,體驗到與神的平安。所以,今天就把你的信應用在你的行為堨h。


尋找機會

腓立比書 4:10 我靠主大大地喜樂,因為你們思念我的心,如今又發生。你們向來就思念我,只是沒得機會。

有時神讓某些事發生以給基督徒提供顯示他們的愛的機會。保羅自己做工,自給自足,所以他在這婸‘L們沒有機會來顯示他們對他的思念。“如今我打算第三次到你們那堨h,也必不累著你們,因我所求的是你們,不是你們的財物。兒女不該為父母積財,父母該為兒女積財。”【哥林多後書 12:14】他還在別處說:“我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人。”【使徒行傳 20:34-35a】(如果今天傳道的基督徒遵照這樣的榜樣去做,就會騰出基督徒的資源來幫助那些真正有需的人。)但盡管這樣,比如像保羅在這堙A甚至主耶穌自己,總有事奉的機會。

如果你想顯示你的愛,那麼今天就尋找機會來滿足真正的需要。


學會知足

腓立比書 4:11-13 我并不是因缺乏說這話,我無論在什麼景況,都可以知足,這是我已經學會了。我知道怎樣處卑賤,也知道怎樣處丰富,或飽足,或飢餓,或有余,或缺乏,隨事隨在,我都得了秘訣。我靠著那加給我力量的,凡事都能作。

知足是在學會相信神有能力和愿望給我們提供所需的過程中發展起來的。這就是知足的密訣。

“你們存心不可貪愛錢財,要以自己所有的為足。因為主曾說:‘我總不撇下你,也不丟棄你。’”【希伯來書 13:5】

“然而敬虔加上知足的心便是大利了﹔因為我們沒有帶什麼到世上來,也不能帶什麼去。只要有衣有食,就當知足。”【提摩太前書 6:6-8】

你對什麼感到滿足了呢?你對你所擁有的知足了嗎?


主動地去助人

腓立比書 4:14-16 然而你們和我同受患難,原是美事。腓立比人哪,你們也知道我初傳福音,離了馬其頓的時候,論到授受的事,除了你們以外,并沒有別的教會供給我。就是我在帖撒羅尼迦,你們也一次兩次地打發人供給我的需用。

向別人要錢不是保羅的習慣。事實上他靠做工來自食其力。他對帖撒羅尼迦的基督徒說:“你們自己原知道應當怎樣效法我們。因為我們在你們中間,未嘗不按規矩而行。也未嘗白吃人的飯,倒是辛苦勞碌,晝夜作工,免得叫你們一人受累。”【帖撒羅尼迦後書 3:7-8】他還對以弗所的基督徒說:“我這兩只手,常供給我和同人的需用,這是你們自己知道的。我凡事給你們作榜樣,叫你們知道,應當這樣勞苦,扶助軟弱的人,又當記念主耶穌的話,說:‘施比受更為有福。’”【使徒行傳 20:34-35】但他贊賞那些主動捐贈的人。因為那是他自己所作的榜樣。

給人教授慷慨助人正該如此──用榜樣,而不是用命令。因為慷慨是恩慈的行為。所以保羅寫到:“‘少種的少收,多種的多收’,這話是真的。各人要隨本心所酌定的,不要作難,不要勉強,因為捐得樂意的人是神所喜愛的。”【哥林多後書 9:6-7】(更多關于基督徒的慷慨,請見http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/generosity.html

很難想像保羅建立的那些教會對在經濟上支持他會有所猶豫。但因為保羅從未明確地要錢,以及當時屬靈的成熟程度,這是可以理解的。神會強調有些神要我們做的事。但也有些事,雖然神想要我們去做,但他并不強調,而是讓我們從他的意愿中揣摩出來,主動地去做。從此可以真正地表現出我們的心在哪堙A以及我們屬靈的成熟程度。

你覺得神想讓你主動地去做什麼呢?


歸在你們的賬上

腓立比書 4:17-19 我并不求什麼饋送,所求的就是你們的果子漸漸增多,歸在你們的賬上。但我樣樣都有,并且有余。我已經充足,因我從以巴弗提受了你們的饋送,當作極美的香氣,為神所收納所喜悅的祭物。我的神必照他榮耀的丰富,在基督耶穌堙A使你們一切所需用的都充足。

最崇高的動機,或者說完美的愛,就是因事情是正確的就去做。為它人作好事,不是為求自己的益處,而只是為別人的益處。“不作害羞的事。不求自己的益處。不輕易發怒。不計算人的惡。不喜歡不義。只喜歡真理。”【哥林多前書 13:5-6】做事不需要正面的或負面的激勵。

然而,我們在聖經堥麭B都可以看到正面的獎勵或負面的處罰來使我們遵守神的指令。鼓勵我們發展一個受啟發的個人利益,認識到自己因行善而得到的益處。還有些地方則告誡我們惡行將給我們帶來的審判。因為聖經大多是寫給那些還沒有在愛上盡善盡美的人。

但如果你需要看到正面的賞賜的話,聖經上很多地方講到因慷慨助人而得到賞賜。見“在天堂退休金塈賳http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/hra.html。比如,關于慷慨助人,經上寫到:“那賜種給撒種的,賜糧給人吃的,必多多加給你們種地的種子,又增添你們仁義的果子。叫你們凡事富足,可以多多施舍,就借著我們使感謝歸于神。”【哥林多後書 9:10-11】


問眾聖徒安

腓立比書 4:20-23 愿榮耀歸給我們的父神,直到永永遠遠。阿們。請問在基督耶穌堛漲U位聖徒安。在我這堛熔釦怚S都問你們安。眾聖徒都問你們安。在該撒家堛漱H特特的問你們安。愿主耶穌基督的恩常在你們心堙C

几個世紀以來,“聖徒”這個詞在基督徒中漸漸停止了使用,而在天主教和東正教堳h被誤用來表示一類特別的基督徒──那些由于某種原因更聖潔或在靈塈騔u越。但事實上在聖經堙孛t徒”不過是教內人對教內人的稱呼。也就是說,“聖徒”一詞在當時的用法與現代的“基督徒”一詞是同義詞。而事實上“基督徒”一詞在聖經堨u出現了三次,是教外人對教內人的稱呼。所以,所有信耶穌的人都是聖徒。我向你們所有人問安。

注意到在短短的時間內甚至在該撒家堛熙ㄕ雩t徒。保羅本人很可能在其中起了作用。聖徒應該沒有偏見,承認在全球范圍內的弟兄關系。



庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習資源
問題? 看法? 請來電子郵件
索取庇哩亞基督徒聖經學習小組每日查經郵件
查尋BCBSR網站(用" "作詞句查尋)

Edition: Jul 29, 2015

Translations: Chinese GB Big5

Philippians 4 (web)

With Unity in Mind

4:1 Therefore, my brothers, beloved and longed for, my joy and crown,
so stand firm in the Lord, my beloved.

4:2 I exhort Euodia, and I exhort Syntyche, to think the same way in the Lord.
4:3 Yes, I beg you also, true yoke-fellow, help these women,
for they labored with me in the gospel, with Clement also,
and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life.

Rejoice, Request, Reason, Reproduce

4:4 Rejoice in the Lord always! Again I will say, Rejoice!
4:5 Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand.

4:6 In nothing be anxious, but in everything, by prayer and petition with thanksgiving,
let your requests be made known to God.
4:7 The peace of God, which surpasses all understanding,
will guard your hearts and your thoughts in Christ Jesus.

4:9 The things which you learned, received, heard, and saw in me:
do these things, and the God of peace will be with you.

With Contentment and Generosity

4:10 But I rejoice in the Lord greatly, that now at length you have revived your thought for me; in which you did indeed take thought, but you lacked opportunity.
4:11 Not that I speak in respect to lack,
for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content in it.
4:12 I know how to be humbled, and I know also how to abound.
In everything and in all things I have learned the secret
both to be filled and to be hungry, both to abound and to be in need.
4:13 I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.
4:14 However you did well that you shared in my affliction.

4:15 You yourselves also know, you Philippians,
that in the beginning of the gospel, when I departed from Macedonia,
no assembly shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving but you only.

4:16 For even in Thessalonica you sent once and again to my need.
4:17 Not that I seek for the gift, but I seek for the fruit that increases to your account.
4:18 But I have all things, and abound.
I am filled, having received from Epaphroditus the things that came from you,
a sweet-smelling fragrance, an acceptable and well-pleasing sacrifice to God.
4:19 My God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.

Final Greetings

4:20 Now to our God and Father be the glory forever and ever! Amen.
4:21 Greet every saint in Christ Jesus. The brothers who are with me greet you.
4:22 All the saints greet you, especially those who are of Caesar's household.
4:23 The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.


Discussion Questions

vs 2,3 How would you go about resolving conflicts between colaborers?
vs 6,7 What are you worried about?
Are you concerned that the things you worry about are too secular to present to God?
Do you consider yourself a person who worried too much or too little?
How has prayer given you peace from a past worry?
vs 8 What kinds of things should Christians think about?
Should they be limited to the Bible?
vs 9 What good habit have you developed copying someone else?
vs 11-13 How has becoming a Christian made you more content in your circumstances?
vs 15-19 What charities would you suggest others to invest in?


Comments


Stand Firm in the Lord

Php 4:1 Therefore, my brothers, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, that is how you should stand firm in the Lord, dear friends!

The whole letter to the Philippians is about standing firm. Note my outline:
 

Standing Firm in the Gospel
1:1-11 Fellowship in the Gospel
1:12-30 Fearlessly Contend for the Gospel
2:1-2 With an Attitude of  Unity 
2:3-11  With an Attitude of  Humility
2:12-18 With an Application Oriented Mindset
2:19-30 In Cooperation with Other Laborers
3:1-14 Against False Teachers of Legalistic Righteousness
3:15-21 With a Mature Attitude
4:1-3  With Unity in Mind
4:4-9 Rejoice, Request, Reason, Reproduce
4:10-19 With Contentment and Generosity
4:20-23 Final Greetings

And another thing to note in this verse is that Paul found it edifying to express his feelings for them. Effective Christian ministry isn't all about doctine. Among other things, it's also about interpersonal relationships. Therefore consider whether and to what extent you're developing an emotional attachment to fellow believers.



Cooperate

Php 4:2,3 I plead with Euodia and I plead with Syntyche to agree with each other in the Lord. Yes, and I ask you, loyal yokefellow, help these women who have contended at my side in the cause of the gospel, along with Clement and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life.

This is the first time in the Bible where we see the phrase "the book of life". In fact the only other place we learn of this book is in Revelation, which was written later by the apostle John. There we learn that "if anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire." Rev 20:15 So to be saved from God's wrath is to have your name written in the book of life. It is interesting the Paul confidently affirmed these were saved, despite their imperfect behavior, in that, at least in the case of the two women, there was some kind of dispute going on. Paul himself was not above such things, having parted company with Barnabus in a sharp dispute over Mark. "They had such a sharp disagreement that they parted company. Barnabas took Mark and sailed for Cyprus but Paul chose Silas and left" Acts 15:39 And likewise Paul and Barnabus together had to contend with Peter and the others in Jerusalem over the issue of Gentile Christians. But eventually al these got resolved. So while contentions may arise among Christians, see to it that they be eventually resolved. With regards to ministry matters it's often the case that either God is calling for compromise between the parties, or else for them to have separate ministries.

But again with regards to declaring these as having their names written in the book of life, it is apparent from his writings that this was not by special revelation, but simply that their behavior, their convictions as revealed by their lifestyle, indicated to all that this was the fact. And likewise does Paul write in many of his letters, confidently affirming, in many cases, the salvation status of many of his readers, despite the fact that is was clear their behavior was less than perfect and yet indicative of their salvation status. Here we notice that these women, and Clement and others were involved in laboring together with Paul. Such behavior is to be expected of those born of God. So put your faith into action and then something could be said of your salvation status.



Rejoice

Php 4:4,5  Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.

There is good reason to be glad, despite the difficulties of this life, in view of our destiny, having been saved from the wrath of God, our names being written in the book of life. "Gentleness" here is a peaceful humble attitude, one which is not quarrelsome or harsh. It is the kind of meek cooperative attitude which Paul hopes to invoke between Euodia and Syntyche, among others. Xrefs to "gentleness":  Titus 3:2; 1Peter 2:18 Rejoicing in the midst of tribulations is contingent upon such an attitude of gentleness. But even if one is discouraged, you can be encouraged by the fact that, "The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit." Ps 34:18  So "though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior." Hab 3:17,18



Don't Worry, Pray

Php 4:6,7 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Be a prayer worrier! If there's something you're worried about right now, then pray about it. Ask for for what you need, or put it in his hands to deal with it. "Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you." 1Peter 5:7 Even Jesus in the garden of Gethsemane prayed about his anxiety concerning his crucifixion. And God strengthened him to face it.

This is the peace that doesn't make sense - the peace of mind which is gained by faith in God. Pray until you attain such peace. It will guard your hearts from evil desires and your minds from evil thoughts."You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you." Is 26:3



Consider This

Php 4:8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable— if anything is excellent or praiseworthy— think about such things.

The Christian life is not just about doing certain things and abstaining from other things. It's also about what we think, how we reason. In fact applications are largely derived by reasoning out and inferring the scripture's intended applications. "God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth." John 4:24 The Christian life is not lived in blind obedience as if under the oppression of the law, but in an enlightened obedience as a son learning to take on his father's perspective. Thus for example while God commanded Abraham to kill his son, it is written that, "Abraham reasoned that God could raise the dead, and figuratively speaking, he did receive Isaac back from death." Heb 11:19  So let us learn to reason about the things of God. What is true? What is noble? What is right? What is pure? With these kinds of questions we should approach the scriptures and we should approach life. For example in overcoming sin, reasoning is involved. The same greek word for "think" here is also "reckon" or "count" as in Rom 6:11 "Reckon yourselves to be dead indeed to sin, but alive to God in Christ Jesus our Lord."  And  unlike the faiths of many other religions which advocate blind faith, Christian faith is a faith that reasons.   "Come now, and let us reason together," Says the LORD Isa 1:18a



Put it into Practice

Php 4:9 Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me— put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

While Christian faith involves thinking and reasoning, a faith which is not applied is no faith. In fact our faith is revealed by what we do. So if you have faith you'll have works too. We derive applications either directly by what the scriptures command, or by inference, and also by observation. Consider the lifestyle of Jesus. For "whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did." 1John 2:6 And Jesus said, "I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you." John 13:15 Are you walking as Jesus did? And as Paul noted in the previous chapter, he says, "Join with others in following my example, brothers, and take note of those who live according to the pattern we gave you." Php 3:17 And "my brethren, take the prophets, who spoke in the name of the Lord, as an example of suffering and patience." Jas 5:10  It's in the midst of applying our faith in accordance with the scriptures and with the examples therein that we experience peace with God. So today put your faith into action.



Look for Opportunities

Php 4:10 I rejoice greatly in the Lord that at last you have renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you have been concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it.

Sometimes God allows needs to arise just in order to provide an opportunity for Christians to show their love. Paul worked to be self-sufficient and thus his comment here about them having had no opportunity to show their concern. "After all, children should not have to save up for their parents, but parents for their children." 2Cor 12:14b And elsewhere he says, "You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak" Acts 20:34,35b (Oh that minstering Christians today would follow his example. That would free up resources to help those who are truly needy.) But even so, as in the case of Paul, and indeed of the Lord Jesus himself, opportunities will arise to provide some kind of service.

If you want to show your love, then today look for opportunities to meet a genuine need.



Learn to be Content

Php 4:11-13  I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

Contentment is developed as a result of learning to have confidence in God's ability and desire to provide what is needed. This is the secret of contentment.

"Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, 'Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.'" Heb 13:5

"Godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that." 1Tim 6:6-8

What are you content with? Are you content with what you have?



Take Initiative to Practice Generosity

Php 4:14-16 Yet it was good of you to share in my troubles.  Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only; for even when I was in Thessalonica, you sent me aid again and again when I was in need.

It was not Paul's habit to ask for money. In fact he worked to be self-supporting. To the Thessalonians he said, "We were not idle when we were with you, nor did we eat anyone’s food without paying for it. On the contrary, we worked night and day, laboring and toiling so that we would not be a burden to any of you." 2Th 3:7,8 And to the Ephesians, "You yourselves know that these hands of mine have supplied my own needs and the needs of my companions. In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’" Acts 20:34,35 But he appreciated and commended those who took initiative to pratice generosity. For that was the example he himself set.

And this is how generosity is to be taught - namely by example rather than by command. For generosity is an act of graciousness. Thus Paul writes, "Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. Each man should give what he has decided in his heart to give, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver." 2Cor 9:6,7 (For more on Christian Generosity see http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/generosity.html)

It's hard to imagine that the churches which Paul established would have been reluctant to be charitable to him. But given that Paul likely didn't explicitly ask for money, it's understandable, given the level of spiritual maturity at the time. There are things that God wants us to do of which he is emphatic. But there are also things he wants us to do of which he is not emphatic, but wants us to infer His will and take initiative. That's where are hearts and our level of spiritual maturity is really revealed.

Now what is it you suppose God may want you to take initiative on?



Credited to your Account

Php 4:17-19 Not that I am looking for a gift, but I am looking for what may be credited to your account. I have received full payment and even more; I am amply supplied, now that I have received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent. They are a fragrant offering, an acceptable sacrifice, pleasing to God. And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

The highest of motives, namely love, is to do the right thing simply because it's the right thing to do. It is to do good to others, not for one's own benefit, but simply for the benefit of others. Love rejoices in the truth and is not self-seeking (1Cor 13:5,6) It needs neither positive nor negative incentives to take action.

Yet throughout the Bible we are given both positive and negative incentives to comply with God's instructions. We are encouraged to develop an enlighted self-interest, coming to realize the personal benefits we are promised for good behavior. And elsewhere we are warned of the judgement we bring on ourselves for bad behavior. For much of the Bible is written to those yet to be perfected in love.

But if it's positive incentives you need, the Bible offers a great deal with regards to the topic of generosity. See "Investing in a Heavenly Retirement Account" http://www.bcbsr.com/topics/hra.html For example concerning the generous it is written, "He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. You will be made rich in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion" 2Cor 9:10,11



Greet the Saints

Php 4:20-23  To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen. Greet all the saints in Christ Jesus. The brothers who are with me send greetings. All the saints send you greetings, especially those who belong to Caesar’s household. The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Amen.

Over the centuries the term "saint" has fallen into disuse among Christians and misuse among Catholics and Orthodox as if "saints" refer to a special category of Christians - those who are somehow holier or spiritually superior. But in fact the Bible uses the word "saint" as simply what insiders call insiders. That is in the past the word "saint" was used synonomously with the modern usage of the word "Christian". In fact the word "Christian", which is only used three times in the Bible, is how outsiders referred to insiders. So all of you who believe in Jesus in the sense of which speaks of such belief, you are all "saints". I greet you all.

Notice that in just a short time there were saints even in Caesar's household. Paul himself may have had a hand in that. Saints should be free from prejudice and fellowship acknowledged on a global scale.


The Berean Christian Bible Study Resources


Jul 29,2015